DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9-13, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Denoual et al. (US 20240406519 A1, hereinafter Denoual (claiming benefit to 09/29/2021)).
Concerning claims 1, 13, and 16, Denoual teaches an apparatus for processing media data comprising:
a processor (fig. 7: CPU 701; ¶0169); and
a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon, wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor (fig. 7: RAM 702/ROM 703; ¶¶0169-0178), cause the processor to:
perform a conversion between the media data and a media data file according to a format rule (figs. 4 and/or 5 disclose the encapsulation and parsing processes of media data in a media file; ¶¶0111-0112 – The encapsulation is according to a configuration), wherein the format rule specifies that a track reference of type of associated external stream track is allowed to be included in a media track (¶0167-168: “The kind of samples in the EST track is indicated by the sample entry of the track. The EST track is associated to a main source track (MST), for example a periodic track providing the media timeline like an audio or video track. Some samples in the MST may refer to some sparse samples in the EST through a specific sample group indicating the index of the sparse sample to align with a sample of the video. For example, a specific sample group entry is defined as follows (name and four-character code are just examples and any name or 4CC not conflicting with existing ones may be used)”).
Concerning claim 9, Denoual further teaches wherein the media track is a video track (¶0167: “The EST track is associated to a main source track (MST), for example a periodic track providing the media timeline like an audio or video track.”).
Concerning claim 10, Denoual further teaches wherein the media track is an audio track (¶0167: “The EST track is associated to a main source track (MST), for example a periodic track providing the media timeline like an audio or video track.”).
Concerning claim 11, Denoual further teaches wherein the conversion comprises generating the media data file from the media data (fig. 4; ¶0111).
Concerning claim 12, Denoual further teaches wherein the conversion comprises parsing the media data from the media data file (fig. 5; ¶0112).
Concerning claim 19, Denoual teaches a method for storing a media file, comprising:
generating the media file based on a format rule (figs. 4 and/or 5 disclose the encapsulation and parsing processes of media data in a media file; ¶¶0111-0112 – The encapsulation is according to a configuration), wherein the format rule specifies that a track reference of type of associated external stream track is allowed to be included in a media track (¶0167-168: “The kind of samples in the EST track is indicated by the sample entry of the track. The EST track is associated to a main source track (MST), for example a periodic track providing the media timeline like an audio or video track. Some samples in the MST may refer to some sparse samples in the EST through a specific sample group indicating the index of the sparse sample to align with a sample of the video. For example, a specific sample group entry is defined as follows (name and four-character code are just examples and any name or 4CC not conflicting with existing ones may be used)”); and
storing the media data file in a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium (¶¶0105-0107: storing the media file).
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of claims 1, 9-13, 16 and 18 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) presented above. Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) have been provided.
Claims 2-8, 14-15, 17-18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-8 of the remarks, filed 03/03/026, with respect to rejection of claims 1, 13, 16 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. In consideration of the filed amendments, the rejections have been withdrawn.
Conclusion
/James M Anderson II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425