DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 4/16/2026 is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 2 and 8 have been cancelled, claims 1, 3-7, 9-17 and 19 have been amended, thus currently claims 1, 3-7 and 9-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 6, the phrase “characterized in that the light projection device further comprises:” should be changed to -- the light projection device further comprises: --.
In claim 19, the phrase “arranged on the light path” should be changed to -- arranged on the predetermined light path --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 11, the phrase “wherein the light projection device is configured to be place wherein the second direction is opposite to the first direction di within a motor vehicle interior.” Is confusing.
As claim 11 directly depends from claim 1, it appears the claim attempts to further define the first and second direction, and a position the device within a motor vehicle interior, however, portions of one requirement seem mixed with the other requirement.
For purpose of examination the phrase above has been interpreted to mean: -- wherein the second direction is opposite to the first direction, and wherein the light projection device is configured to be placed within a motor vehicle interior --.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 3 recites the second image is different from the first image; however, this requirement was recited in claim 1, and thus, claim 3 fails to further limit claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20140092366 A1, hereinafter, “Chen”, newly cited by the Examiner) in view of Chung et al. (US 20130100527 A1, hereinafter, “Chung”. Newly cited by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a light projection device (multi-projection display system 200, see figures 1-4, and figures 5a-7 to show common elements and features to all embodiments) comprising:
- a light source (light source, better seen in fig 7 as light source 703),
- an optical engine (light valve 201, see fig 2) including a digital micromirror device (as 201 comprises digital micro-mirror display (DMD) chip, see ¶ 33), the optical engine (201) being located downstream (better seen in fig 7) of the light source (703) and containing data information (necessarily occurring as all DMDs require data signals, i.e. data information to work as intended and to project images) corresponding to a main image (images I1, I2), and
- an optical device (image splitter 202 and dividing reflective elements 205, see fig 2),
wherein the optical engine (201) is configured to form the main image (I1, I2) as a reunion of a first image (I1) and a second image (I2), that are adjoined to each other sensibly in a central zone (zone of first optical axis 403, see fig 4) of the main image (I1, I2) and to project the main image (I1, I2) to the optical device (202 and 205), and
wherein the optical device (202 and 205) is adapted to receive the main image (I1, I2) from the optical engine (201), and is configured to split the main image (I1, I2) into two independent images (as the images can be independent from each other, see ¶ 32) and to project a first portion (portion of I1, I2) of the main image (I1, I2), the first image (I1), in a first direction (to the left of 205, as seen in fig 2) and to project a second portion (another portion of I1, I2) of said main image (I1, I2), the second image (I2), in a second direction (to the right of 205, as seen in fig 2), different from the first direction (to the left, as seen in fig 2).
Chen does not explicitly teach the images are two different images.
Chung teaches a light projection device (projection system 300, see fig 3) for projecting images (first and second image light beams A and B);
the images (A and B) are two different images (see ¶ 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to project different images as taught by Chung into the teachings of Chen in order to allow additional user to view selected images. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to so that the needs of different viewers are satisfied since the projection system can respectively project two different images on different screens by utilizing the electronic signals in the projection apparatus having different image information.
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches wherein said optical engine (201) is configured so that the second image (I2) is different (as the images can be independent from each other, see ¶ 32) from the first image (I1).
Regarding claim 4, Chen teaches wherein the optical engine (201) is configured to form the main image (I1, I2) so that the main image (I1, I2) comprises a dead zone (see zone between I1 and I2 on 201, and resulting in gap G, as seen in fig 3a or 3b) where no pixels are lit (as seen in fig 4), said dead zone (zone between I1 and I2, also noted in G) being located between the first image (I1) and the second image (I2) and delimiting said first image (I1) and said second image (I2).
Regarding claim 5, Chen teaches wherein the optical device (202 and 205) comprises at least one lens, prism and/or mirror (as 205 is reflective).
Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches a light projection device (multi-projection display system 200, see figures 1-4, and figures 5a-7 to show common elements and features to all embodiments) comprising:
- a light source (703),
- an optical engine (201) including a digital micromirror device (DMD), the optical engine (201) being located downstream of the light source (703) and containing data information (necessarily occurring as all DMDs require data signals, i.e. data information to work as intended and to project images) corresponding to a main image (I1, I2). and
- an optical device (202 and 205),
wherein the optical engine (201) is configured to form the main image (I1, I2) as a reunion of a first image (I1) and a second image (I2), that are adjoined to each other (evident from figure 4) and to project the formed main image (I1, I2) to the optical device (202 and 205), and
the optical device (202 and 205) is adapted to receive the main image (I1, I2) from the optical engine (201), and is configured to split the main image (I1, I2) into two independent images (as the images can be independent from each other, see ¶ 32) and to project a first portion (a portion of I1, I2) of the main image (I1, I2), the a first image (I1), in a first direction (to the left of 205, as seen in fig 2) and to project a second portion (another portion of I1, I2) of said main image (I1, I2), the second image (I2) in a second direction (to the right of 205, as seen in fig 2), different from the first direction (to the left of 205, as seen in fig 2),
characterized in that the light projection device (200) further comprises:
- a first optical device (205a) arranged on the light path of the main image (I1, I2) such that that the first optical device (205a) receives the first image (I1) and configured to project said first image (I1) in the first direction (to the left of 205, as seen in fig 2), and
- a second optical device (205b) arranged on the light path of the main image (I1, I2) such that the second optical device receives the second image (I2) and configured to project said second image (I2) in the second direction (to the right of 205, as seen in fig 2) different from the first direction (to the left of 205, as seen in fig 2).
Chen does not explicitly teach the images are two different images.
Chung teaches a light projection device (projection system 300, see fig 3) for projecting images (first and second image light beams A and B);
the images (A and B) are two different images (see ¶ 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to project different images as taught by Chung into the teachings of Chen in order to allow additional user to view selected images. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to so that the needs of different viewers are satisfied since the projection system can respectively project two different images on different screens by utilizing the electronic signals in the projection apparatus having different image information.
Regarding claim 7, Chen teaches wherein the optical device (202 and 205) is configured to project the first image (I1) onto a first projection surface (206a) and the second image (I2) onto a second projection surface (206b).
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches wherein the optical engine (201) is configured so that the dead zone (zone between I1 and I2, also noted in G) is located in the central zone (zone of 403, see fig 4) of the main image (I1, I2).
Regarding claim 18, Chen teaches wherein the light source (703) comprises light-emitting diodes (light emitting diode and/or laser, see ¶ 33).
Regarding claim 19, Chen teaches light projection device (multi-projection display system 200, see figures 1-4, and figures 5a-7 to show common elements and features to all embodiments) comprising: a light source (703), an optical engine (201) including a digital micromirror device (DMD), the optical engine (201) being located downstream of the light source (703) and containing data information (necessarily occurring as all DMDs require data signals, i.e. data information to work as intended and to project images) corresponding to a main image (I1, I2) wherein the optical engine (201) is configured to form the main image (I1, I2) as a reunion of a first image (I1) and a second image (I2), that are adjoined to each other (evident from figure 4) to project said main image (I1, I2) along a predetermined light path (along 403, as seen in fig 4), the light projection device (200) further comprising an optical device (202 and 205) arranged on the light path (along 403) of the main image (I1, I2) such that it receives the main image (I1, I2), and is configured to split the main image (I1, I2) into two independent images (as the images can be independent from each other, see ¶ 32) and to project a first portion (a portion of I1, I2) of the main image (I1, I2) as a first image (I1) in a first direction (to the left of 205, as seen in fig 2) and to project a second portion (another portion of I1, I2) of said main image (I1, I2) as a second image (I2) in a second direction (to the right of 205, as seen in fig 2), different from the first direction (to the left of 205, as seen in fig 2), wherein the second direction (to the right of 205, as seen in fig 2) is opposite to the first direction (to the left of 205, as seen in fig 2).
Chen does not explicitly teach the images are two different images.
Chung teaches a light projection device (projection system 300, see fig 3) for projecting images (first and second image light beams A and B);
the images (A and B) are two different images (see ¶ 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to project different images as taught by Chung into the teachings of Chen in order to allow additional user to view selected images. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to so that the needs of different viewers are satisfied since the projection system can respectively project two different images on different screens by utilizing the electronic signals in the projection apparatus having different image information.
Regarding claim 20, Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the second projection surface (206b) is parallel to the first projection surface (206a).
However, in an alternative embodiment of figure 5a Chen discloses magnitudes for angles .alpha. and .beta. can be freely adjusted, that is beta of 506a, could be modified to be parallel to beta of 506b (see ¶ 41); and wherein the second projection surface (506b) is parallel to the first projection surface (506a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to make the first and second projection surfaces as taught by the second embodiment of Chen into the current embodiment in order to aim the images into a desired direction. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to further customize light projection.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20140092366 A1, hereinafter, “Chen”, newly cited by the Examiner) in view of Chung et al. (US 20130100527 A1, hereinafter, “Chung”. Newly cited by the Examiner) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takemi et al. (US 7510285 B2, hereinafter “Takemi”, cited by the Applicant in IDS filed on 12/29/2024).
Regarding claim 10, Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the light projection device is encased in a housing that includes a thermal management device comprising a heatsink made of metal.
Takemi teaches a light projection device (projector, see figures 1-4);
wherein the light projection device (projector) is encased in a housing (lower frame 4, see fig 1) that includes a thermal management device (blower 8 and exhaust slots 4b, see figures 1 and 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the thermal management device as taught by Takemi into the teachings of Chen, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce the working temperatures within the device and thus extend its service life.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20140092366 A1, hereinafter, “Chen”, newly cited by the Examiner) in view of Chung et al. (US 20130100527 A1, hereinafter, “Chung”. Newly cited by the Examiner) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Watanabe et al. (US 11237390 B2, hereinafter “Watanabe” newly cited by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 11, Chen teaches wherein the second direction (to the right of 205, as seen in fig 2) is opposite (as seen in fig 2) to the first direction (to the right of 205, as seen in fig 2), but
Chen does not teach wherein the light projection device is configured to be place within a motor vehicle interior.
Watanabe teaches the light projection device (projection device 10, see fig 1);
wherein the light projection device (10) is configured to be place within a motor vehicle interior (cabin, before the windshield, see fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the light projection device of Chen in a motor vehicle interior as taught by Watanabe, in order to display high-definition images on a windshield. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide the driver with basic information on the windshield and in the driver’s line of sight, thus keeping the driver’s eyes on the road.
Claims 12-14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng et al (US 7095562 B1, hereinafter, “Peng”, previously cited by the Examiner) in view of Chen et al. (US 20140092366 A1, hereinafter, “Chen”, newly cited by the Examiner) and Chung et al. (US 20130100527 A1, hereinafter, “Chung”. Newly cited by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 12 and 16, Peng teaches a ceiling unit (cockpit ceiling 506, see figure 5) of a motor vehicle (aircraft, see figure 5) including a light projection device (image source 504) projects from the ceiling unit (as seen in figure 5); and
a motor vehicle (aircraft, see figure 5) comprising a ceiling unit (advanced compact head up display system 502) comprising a light projection device (image source 504); but
Peng does not teach the light projection device according to claim 1.
Chen teaches a light projection device (multi-projection display system 200, see figures 1-4, and figures 5a-7 to show common elements and features to all embodiments) comprising:
- a light source (light source, better seen in fig 7 as light source 703),
- an optical engine (light valve 201, see fig 2) including a digital micromirror device (as 201 comprises digital micro-mirror display (DMD) chip, see ¶ 33), the optical engine (201) being located downstream (better seen in fig 7) of the light source (703) and containing data information (necessarily occurring as all DMDs require data signals, i.e. data information to work as intended and to project images) corresponding to a main image (images I1, I2), and
- an optical device (image splitter 202 and dividing reflective elements 205, see fig 2),
wherein the optical engine (201) is configured to form the main image (I1, I2) as a reunion of a first image (I1) and a second image (I2), that are adjoined to each other sensibly in a central zone (zone of first optical axis 403, see fig 4) of the main image (I1, I2) and to project the main image (I1, I2) to the optical device (202 and 205), and
wherein the optical device (202 and 205) is adapted to receive the main image (I1, I2) from the optical engine (201), and is configured to split the main image (I1, I2) into two independent images (as the images can be independent from each other, see ¶ 32) and to project a first portion (portion of I1, I2) of the main image (I1, I2), the first image (I1), in a first direction (to the left of 205, as seen in fig 2) and to project a second portion (another portion of I1, I2) of said main image (I1, I2), the second image (I2), in a second direction (to the right of 205, as seen in fig 2), different from the first direction (to the left, as seen in fig 2).
Peng as modified by Chen does not explicitly teach the images are two different images.
Chung teaches a light projection device (projection system 300, see fig 3) for projecting images (first and second image light beams A and B);
the images (A and B) are two different images (see ¶ 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to project different images as taught by Chung into the teachings of Peng as modified by Chen in order to allow additional user to view selected images. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to so that the needs of different viewers are satisfied since the projection system can respectively project two different images on different screens by utilizing the electronic signals in the projection apparatus having different image information.
Regarding claims 13-14 and 17, Peng teaches a dashboard (dashboard 1704, see figure 17) for a motor vehicle (aircraft) comprising a light projection device (image source 504); and a dashboard (dashboard 1704, see fig 17) for a motor vehicle (aircraft) comprising a light projection device (compact image source 1702), characterized in that the light projection device (1702) projects from the dashboard (1704); and
the dashboard (dashboard 1704, see figure 17) for a motor vehicle (aircraft) comprising a top surface (upper surface of 1704) visible by a user inside the vehicle (aircraft), characterized in that the light projection device (compact image source 1702) is arranged sensibly in a central zone (as seen in figure 17) of the top surface (top surface of 1704) and the main image (image projected by 1702) projected respectively by the light projection device (1702) on opposing sides (L, R) of the top surface (surface of 1704, as images are projected on the entirety of 1704, as seen in fig 17, including left and right) and/or the light projection device; and
a motor vehicle (aircraft, see figure 5) comprising a light projection device (advanced compact head up display system 502).
Peng teaches does not teach the light projection device can be retracted inside the dashboard.
However, in an alternative embodiment of figure 5, Peng teaches the light projection device (504) can be retracted inside the dashboard (cockpit ceiling 506);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to make the light projection device foldable as taught by the alternative embodiment of Peng into the teachings of the current embodiment so that the light projection device is foldable up toward or into a cockpit ceiling of the vehicle. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a compact image source for projecting an image.
Peng teaches does not teach the light projection device according to claim 1.
Chen teaches a light projection device (multi-projection display system 200, see figures 1-4, and figures 5a-7 to show common elements and features to all embodiments) comprising:
- a light source (light source, better seen in fig 7 as light source 703),
- an optical engine (light valve 201, see fig 2) including a digital micromirror device (as 201 comprises digital micro-mirror display (DMD) chip, see ¶ 33), the optical engine (201) being located downstream (better seen in fig 7) of the light source (703) and containing data information (necessarily occurring as all DMDs require data signals, i.e. data information to work as intended and to project images) corresponding to a main image (images I1, I2), and
- an optical device (image splitter 202 and dividing reflective elements 205, see fig 2),
wherein the optical engine (201) is configured to form the main image (I1, I2) as a reunion of a first image (I1) and a second image (I2), that are adjoined to each other sensibly in a central zone (zone of first optical axis 403, see fig 4) of the main image (I1, I2) and to project the main image (I1, I2) to the optical device (202 and 205), and
wherein the optical device (202 and 205) is adapted to receive the main image (I1, I2) from the optical engine (201), and is configured to split the main image (I1, I2) into two independent images (as the images can be independent from each other, see ¶ 32) and to project a first portion (portion of I1, I2) of the main image (I1, I2), the first image (I1), in a first direction (to the left of 205, as seen in fig 2) and to project a second portion (another portion of I1, I2) of said main image (I1, I2), the second image (I2), in a second direction (to the right of 205, as seen in fig 2), different from the first direction (to the left, as seen in fig 2).
Peng as modified by Chen does not explicitly teach the images are two different images.
Chung teaches a light projection device (projection system 300, see fig 3) for projecting images (first and second image light beams A and B);
the images (A and B) are two different images (see ¶ 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to project different images as taught by Chung into the teachings of Peng as modified by Chen in order to allow additional user to view selected images. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to so that the needs of different viewers are satisfied since the projection system can respectively project two different images on different screens by utilizing the electronic signals in the projection apparatus having different image information.
Claims 12-14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (US 11237390 B2, hereinafter “Watanabe” newly cited by the Examiner) in view of Chen et al. (US 20140092366 A1, hereinafter, “Chen”, newly cited by the Examiner) and Chung et al. (US 20130100527 A1, hereinafter, “Chung”. Newly cited by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 15, Watanabe teaches a motor vehicle (vehicle, see col, 4, lines 65-67) having a light projection device (in-vehicle head-up display, see fig 1); but
Watanabe does not explicitly teach the light projection device according to claim 1.
Chen teaches a light projection device (multi-projection display system 200, see figures 1-4, and figures 5a-7 to show common elements and features to all embodiments) comprising:
- a light source (light source, better seen in fig 7 as light source 703),
- an optical engine (light valve 201, see fig 2) including a digital micromirror device (as 201 comprises digital micro-mirror display (DMD) chip, see ¶ 33), the optical engine (201) being located downstream (better seen in fig 7) of the light source (703) and containing data information (necessarily occurring as all DMDs require data signals, i.e. data information to work as intended and to project images) corresponding to a main image (images I1, I2), and
- an optical device (image splitter 202 and dividing reflective elements 205, see fig 2),
wherein the optical engine (201) is configured to form the main image (I1, I2) as a reunion of a first image (I1) and a second image (I2), that are adjoined to each other sensibly in a central zone (zone of first optical axis 403, see fig 4) of the main image (I1, I2) and to project the main image (I1, I2) to the optical device (202 and 205), and
wherein the optical device (202 and 205) is adapted to receive the main image (I1, I2) from the optical engine (201), and is configured to split the main image (I1, I2) into two independent images (as the images can be independent from each other, see ¶ 32) and to project a first portion (portion of I1, I2) of the main image (I1, I2), the first image (I1), in a first direction (to the left of 205, as seen in fig 2) and to project a second portion (another portion of I1, I2) of said main image (I1, I2), the second image (I2), in a second direction (to the right of 205, as seen in fig 2), different from the first direction (to the left, as seen in fig 2).
Watanabe as modified by Chen does not explicitly teach the images are two different images.
Chung teaches a light projection device (projection system 300, see fig 3) for projecting images (first and second image light beams A and B);
the images (A and B) are two different images (see ¶ 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to project different images as taught by Chung into the teachings of Watanabe as modified by Chen in order to allow additional user to view selected images. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to so that the needs of different viewers are satisfied since the projection system can respectively project two different images on different screens by utilizing the electronic signals in the projection apparatus having different image information.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-7 and 9-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/OMAR ROJAS CADIMA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875