DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 10/13/2025 is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 1-17 have been amended, claims 18-20 has been newly added. Currently claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, in the phrase “wherein the optical engine is configured to form the main image and to project the preformed main image to the optical device” on lines 8-9, and specifically, the preformed image lacks antecedent basis. Additionally, the specification does not disclose or further explain the term. It appears the preformed image refer to the same image formed by the optical engine and thus the limitation is considered redundant.
For purpose of examination the phrase has been interpreted to mean: -- wherein the optical engine is configured to form the main image and to project the main image to the optical device.
Claims 2-18 and 20 are rejected as they depend from claim 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-7, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Way Olan (US 20050057442 A1, hereinafter, “Way”, cited by the Applicant in IDS filed on 12/29/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Way teaches a light projection device (projection device 102, see figures 1-10) comprising:
- a light source (light source 106, see fig 1 and ¶ 21),
- an optical engine (Image forming device 108, including a digital mirror device 110 and LCD 120, se fig 1) including a digital micromirror device (110), the optical engine (108) being located downstream (as seen in fig 1) of the light source (106) and containing data information (data information from computer 114 or DVD player 116, see fig 1) corresponding to a main image (image formed by light from the light source 110 being reflected by mirrors of the micromirror device 110 with data information received from 114 or 116. See image in annotated figure below), and
- an optical device (output device 126, see fig 4, i.e. lens see ¶ 27) wherein the optical engine (108) is configured to form the main image (image) and to project the preformed main image (image) to the optical device (126), and
the optical device (126) is adapted to receive the main image (image) from the optical engine (108), and is configured to project a first portion (first portion of image seen on the screen 104 as sub-image 202) of the main image (image) as a first image (shown as numeral “1” in fig 2) in a first direction (inclined towards the right, as seen in fig 4) and to project a second portion (second portion of image seen on the screen 104 as sub-image 204) of said main image (image) as a second image (shown as numeral “2” in fig 2) in a second direction (inclined towards the left, as seen in fig 4), different from the first direction (inclined towards the right, as seen in fig 4).
Annotated figure 1 of Way has been reproduced below:
Regarding claim 2, Way teaches wherein said optical engine (108) is configured so as to form the main image (Image) as the reunion of the first image (“1”) and the second image (“2”), that are adjoined to each other (as seen in fig 2).
Regarding claim 3, Way teaches wherein said optical engine (108) is configured so that the second image (numeral “2” in fig 2) is different from the first image (numeral “1” in fig 2).
Regarding claim 5, Way teaches wherein the optical device (126) comprises at least one lens (lens, see ¶ 27), prism and/or mirror.
Regarding claim 6, Way teaches characterized in that it comprises:
a first optical device (a mirror in 110) arranged on the light path of the main image (image) such that that it receives the first image (shown as numeral “1” in fig 2) and configured to project said first image (shown as numeral “1” in fig 2) in a first direction, and
a second optical device (another mirror in 110) arranged on the light path of the main image (image) such that it receives the second image (shown as numeral “2” in fig 2) and configured to project said second image (shown as numeral “2” in fig 2) in a second direction (inclined towards the left, as seen in fig 4) different from the first direction (inclined towards the right, as seen in fig 4), preferably opposite to the first direction (inclined towards the right, as seen in fig 4).
Regarding claim 7, Way teaches wherein the optical device (126) is configured to project the first image (numeral “1” in fig 2) onto a first projection surface (surface of 302) and the second image (numeral “2” in fig 2) onto a second projection surface (surface of 304), preferably parallel to the first projection surface (surface of 302).
Regarding claim 18, Way teaches wherein the light source (106) comprises light-emitting diodes (white-light emitting diodes, see ¶ 21).
Regarding claim 20, Way teaches wherein the second projection surface (surface of 304) is parallel to the first projection surface (surface of 302).
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by May Gregory (US 7118228 B2, hereinafter, “May”, newly cited by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 1, May teaches a light projection device (projection system 100, see fig 1) comprising:
- a light source (lamp or a bulb, not shown, see col 3, lines 25-27),
- an optical engine (image-projection device 101, see fig 1) including a digital micromirror device (digital light projector DLP, see col 3, line 30 and col 9, lines 66-67 and col 10 lines 1-2), the optical engine (101) being located downstream (downstream of the light from the light source, in order to reflect light from the light source) of the light source (lamp) and containing data information (data from computing device 107, see fig 1) corresponding to a main image (image created by 101 with light from lamp), and
- an optical device (mirror 102, see fig 1) wherein the optical engine (101) is configured to form the main image (image created by 101 with light from lamp) and to project the preformed main image (image created by 101 with light from lamp) to the optical device (102), and
the optical device (102) is adapted to receive the main image (image created by 101 with light from lamp) from the optical engine (101), and is configured to project a first portion (right portion of image) of the main image (image created by 101 with light from lamp) as a first image (right image on viewing surface 104, see fig 1) in a first direction (to the right of 102) and to project
a second portion (left portion of image) of said main image (image created by 101 with light from lamp) as a second image (left image on viewing surface 104, see fig 1) in a second direction (to the left of 102), different from the first direction (to the right of 102).
Regarding claim 3, May teaches wherein said optical engine (101) is configured so that the second image (right image on 104) is different from (as projection device 101 may project separate images on multiple surfaces of a mirror 102, see col 9, lines 35-37) the first image (left image on 104).
Regarding claim 5, May teaches wherein the optical device (102) comprises at least one lens, prism and/or mirror (as 102 is a mirror).
Regarding claim 7, May teaches wherein the optical device (102) is configured to project the first image (right image on 104) onto a first projection surface (surface of right 104) and the second image (left image on 104) onto a second projection surface (surface of left 104), preferably parallel to the first projection surface (surface of right 104).
Regarding claim 19, May teaches a light projection device (projection system 100, see fig 1) comprising:
a light source (lamp or a bulb, not shown, see col 3, lines 25-27),
an optical engine (image-projection device 101, see fig 1) including a digital micromirror device (digital light projector DLP, see col 3, line 30 and col 9, lines 66-67 and col 10 lines 1-2), the optical engine (101) being located downstream (downstream of the light from the light source, in order to reflect light from the light source) of the light source (lamp) and containing data information (data from computing device 107, see fig 1) corresponding to a main image (image created by 101 with light from lamp) so as to project said main image (image created by 101 with light from lamp) along a predetermined light path (at least to the left and right directions, as seen in fig 1),
the light projection device (100) further comprising
an optical device (mirror 102, see fig 1) arranged on the light path (optical path of light 103, see fig 1) of the main image (image created by 101 with light from lamp) such that it receives the main image (image created by 101 with light from lamp), and is configured to project a first portion (right portion of image) of the main image (image created by 101 with light from lamp) as a first image (right image on viewing surface 104, see fig 1) in a first direction (to the right of 102) and to project a second portion (left portion of image) of said main image (image created by 101 with light from lamp) as a second image (left image of viewing surface 104, see fig 1) in a second direction (to the left of 102), different from the first direction (to the right of 102), wherein the second direction (to the left of 102) is opposite to the first direction (to the right of 102).
Regarding claim 20, Way teaches wherein the second projection surface (surface of left 104) is parallel to the first projection surface (surface of right 104).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Way in view of Kawabata (US 5548348 A, hereinafter “Kawabata”, cited by the Applicant in IDS filed on 12/29/2024).
Regarding claims 4 and 8-9, Way teaches wherein the optical engine (108) is configured so that the main image (image) comprises a middle zone (see border between 302 and 304, as seen in fig 4); said middle zone (border between 302 and 304) being located between the first image (numeral “1” on 302) and the second image (numeral “2” on 304) and delimiting said first image (numeral “1”) and said second image (numeral “2”); and
wherein the optical engine (108) is configured so that the first image (numeral “1” on 302) and the second image (numeral “2” on 304) are adjoined to each other sensibly in a central zone (central zone of 104) of the main image (image); and
wherein the optical engine (108) is configured so that the middle zone (see border between 302 and 304, as seen in fig 4) is located in the central zone (central zone of 104) of the main image (image).
Way does not explicitly teach the middle zone is a dead zone where no pixels are lit.
Kawabata teaches a light projection device (Distributed Projection Type Liquid Crystal Display Device, see figure 1) projecting a main image (projections on screens 17a, 17b) and including a middle zone (see zone between 17a and 17b, as seen in fig 1);
the middle zone (zone between 17a and 17b) is a dead zone where no pixels are lit (as seen in figure 1); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the dead zone as taught by Kawabata into the teachings of Way, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to achieve a clear contrast between projected images.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Way in view of Takemi et al. (US 7510285 B2, hereinafter “Takemi”, cited by the Applicant in IDS filed on 12/29/2024).
Regarding claim 10, Way does not explicitly teach wherein the light projection device is encased in a housing that includes a thermal management device, preferably a heatsink made of metal, for example aluminium.
Takemi teaches a light projection device (projector, see figures 1-4);
wherein the light projection device (projector) is encased in a housing (lower frame 4, see fig 1) that includes a thermal management device (blower 8 and exhaust slots 4b, see figures 1 and 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the thermal management device as taught by Takemi into the teachings of Way, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce the working temperatures within the device and thus extend its service life.
Claims 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Way in view of Peng et al (US 7095562 B1, hereinafter, “Peng”) in view of Way.
Regarding claim 11, Way does not teach wherein the light projection device is configured to be placed within a motor vehicle interior.
Peng teaches a light projection device (advanced compact head up display system 502, see figure 5);
wherein the light projection device (502) is configured to be placed within a motor vehicle interior (cockpit ceiling 506).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the light projection device as taught by Way into the device of Peng, since it has been held by the courts that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to expand the usability of the device to motor vehicles.
Regarding claim 12, Peng teaches a ceiling unit (cockpit ceiling 506, see figure 5) of a motor vehicle (aircraft, see figure 5) including a light projection device (image source 504) projects from the ceiling unit (as seen in figure 5); but
Peng does not teach the light projection device according to claim 1.
Way teaches a light projection device (projection device 102, see figures 1-10) comprising:
- a light source (light source 106, see fig 1 and ¶ 21),
- an optical engine (Image forming device 108, including a digital mirror device 110 and LCD 120, se fig 1) including a digital micromirror device (110), the optical engine (108) being located downstream (as seen in fig 1) of the light source (106) and containing data information (data information from computer 114 or DVD player 116, see fig 1) corresponding to a main image (image formed by light from the light source 110 being reflected by mirrors of the micromirror device 110 with data information received from 114 or 116. See image in annotated figure below), and
- an optical device (output device 126, see fig 4, i.e. lens see ¶ 27) wherein the optical engine (108) is configured to form the main image (image) and to project the preformed main image (image) to the optical device (126), and
the optical device (126) is adapted to receive the main image (image) from the optical engine (108), and is configured to project a first portion (first portion of image seen on the screen 104 as sub-image 202) of the main image (image) as a first image (shown as numeral “1” in fig 2) in a first direction (inclined towards the right, as seen in fig 4) and to project a second portion (second portion of image seen on the screen 104 as sub-image 204) of said main image (image) as a second image (shown as numeral “2” in fig 2) in a second direction (inclined towards the left, as seen in fig 4), different from the first direction (inclined towards the right, as seen in fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the light projection device as taught by Way into the teachings of Peng in order to synchronize with the sequential output of the sub-images to provide the adjacent display of sub-images, such that the portions of the image simultaneously appear to the human eye. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because the device increases the size and resolution of the display at closer distances to the screen.
Regarding claim 13, Peng teaches a dashboard (dashboard 1704, see figure 17) for a motor vehicle (aircraft) comprising a light projection device (image source 504); but
A dashboard (dashboard 1704, see fig 17) for a motor vehicle (aircraft) comprising a light projection device (compact image source 1702), characterized in that the light projection device (1702) projects from the dashboard (1704).
However, in an alternative embodiment of figure 5, Peng teaches the light projection device (504) can be retracted inside the dashboard (cockpit ceiling 506);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to make the light projection device foldable as taught by the alternative embodiment of Peng into the teachings of the current embodiment so that the light projection device is foldable up toward or into a cockpit ceiling of the vehicle. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a compact image source for projecting an image.
Peng teaches does not teach the light projection device according to claim 1
Way teaches a light projection device (projection device 102, see figures 1-10) comprising:
- a light source (light source 106, see fig 1 and ¶ 21),
- an optical engine (Image forming device 108, including a digital mirror device 110 and LCD 120, se fig 1) including a digital micromirror device (110), the optical engine (108) being located downstream (as seen in fig 1) of the light source (106) and containing data information (data information from computer 114 or DVD player 116, see fig 1) corresponding to a main image (image formed by light from the light source 110 being reflected by mirrors of the micromirror device 110 with data information received from 114 or 116. See image in annotated figure below), and
- an optical device (output device 126, see fig 4, i.e. lens see ¶ 27) wherein the optical engine (108) is configured to form the main image (image) and to project the preformed main image (image) to the optical device (126), and
the optical device (126) is adapted to receive the main image (image) from the optical engine (108), and is configured to project a first portion (first portion of image seen on the screen 104 as sub-image 202) of the main image (image) as a first image (shown as numeral “1” in fig 2) in a first direction (inclined towards the right, as seen in fig 4) and to project a second portion (second portion of image seen on the screen 104 as sub-image 204) of said main image (image) as a second image (shown as numeral “2” in fig 2) in a second direction (inclined towards the left, as seen in fig 4), different from the first direction (inclined towards the right, as seen in fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the light projection device as taught by Way into the teachings of Peng in order to synchronize with the sequential output of the sub-images to provide the adjacent display of sub-images, such that the portions of the image simultaneously appear to the human eye. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because the device increases the size and resolution of the display at closer distances to the screen.
Regarding claim 14, Peng teaches dashboard (dashboard 1704, see figure 17) for a motor vehicle (aircraft) comprising a top surface (upper surface of 1704) visible by a user inside the vehicle (aircraft), characterized in that the light projection device (compact image source 1702) is arranged sensibly in a central zone (as seen in figure 17) of the top surface (top surface of 1704) and the main image (image projected by 1702) projected respectively by the light projection device (1702) on opposing sides (L, R) of the top surface (surface of 1704, as images are projected on the entirety of 1704, as seen in fig 17, including left and right) and/or the light projection device; but
Peng does not explicitly teach the light projection device of claim 1.
Way teaches a light projection device (projection device 102, see figures 1-10) comprising:
- a light source (light source 106, see fig 1 and ¶ 21),
- an optical engine (Image forming device 108, including a digital mirror device 110 and LCD 120, se fig 1) including a digital micromirror device (110), the optical engine (108) being located downstream (as seen in fig 1) of the light source (106) and containing data information (data information from computer 114 or DVD player 116, see fig 1) corresponding to a main image (image formed by light from the light source 110 being reflected by mirrors of the micromirror device 110 with data information received from 114 or 116. See image in annotated figure below), and
- an optical device (output device 126, see fig 4, i.e. lens see ¶ 27) wherein the optical engine (108) is configured to form the main image (image) and to project the preformed main image (image) to the optical device (126), and
the optical device (126) is adapted to receive the main image (image) from the optical engine (108), and is configured to project a first portion (first portion of image seen on the screen 104 as sub-image 202) of the main image (image) as a first image (shown as numeral “1” in fig 2) in a first direction (inclined towards the right, as seen in fig 4) and to project a second portion (second portion of image seen on the screen 104 as sub-image 204) of said main image (image) as a second image (shown as numeral “2” in fig 2) in a second direction (inclined towards the left, as seen in fig 4), different from the first direction (inclined towards the right, as seen in fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the light projection device as taught by Way into the teachings of Peng in order to synchronize with the sequential output of the sub-images to provide the adjacent display of sub-images, such that the portions of the image simultaneously appear to the human eye. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because the device increases the size and resolution of the display at closer distances to the screen.
Regarding claim 15, Peng teaches a motor vehicle (aircraft, see figure 5) comprising a light projection device (advanced compact head up display system 502); but
Peng does not teach the light projection device according to claim 1.
Way teaches a light projection device (projection device 102, see figures 1-10) comprising:
- a light source (light source 106, see fig 1 and ¶ 21),
- an optical engine (Image forming device 108, including a digital mirror device 110 and LCD 120, se fig 1) including a digital micromirror device (110), the optical engine (108) being located downstream (as seen in fig 1) of the light source (106) and containing data information (data information from computer 114 or DVD player 116, see fig 1) corresponding to a main image (image formed by light from the light source 110 being reflected by mirrors of the micromirror device 110 with data information received from 114 or 116. See image in annotated figure below), and
- an optical device (output device 126, see fig 4, i.e. lens see ¶ 27) wherein the optical engine (108) is configured to form the main image (image) and to project the preformed main image (image) to the optical device (126), and
the optical device (126) is adapted to receive the main image (image) from the optical engine (108), and is configured to project a first portion (first portion of image seen on the screen 104 as sub-image 202) of the main image (image) as a first image (shown as numeral “1” in fig 2) in a first direction (inclined towards the right, as seen in fig 4) and to project a second portion (second portion of image seen on the screen 104 as sub-image 204) of said main image (image) as a second image (shown as numeral “2” in fig 2) in a second direction (inclined towards the left, as seen in fig 4), different from the first direction (inclined towards the right, as seen in fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the light projection device as taught by Way into the teachings of Peng in order to synchronize with the sequential output of the sub-images to provide the adjacent display of sub-images, such that the portions of the image simultaneously appear to the human eye. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because the device increases the size and resolution of the display at closer distances to the screen.
Regarding claim 16, Peng teaches a motor vehicle (aircraft, see figure 5) comprising a ceiling unit (advanced compact head up display system 502) comprising a light projection device (image source 504); but
Peng does not explicitly teach the light projection device of claim 12.
Way teaches a light projection device (projection device 102, see figures 1-10) comprising:
- a light source (light source 106, see fig 1 and ¶ 21),
- an optical engine (Image forming device 108, including a digital mirror device 110 and LCD 120, se fig 1) including a digital micromirror device (110), the optical engine (108) being located downstream (as seen in fig 1) of the light source (106) and containing data information (data information from computer 114 or DVD player 116, see fig 1) corresponding to a main image (image formed by light from the light source 110 being reflected by mirrors of the micromirror device 110 with data information received from 114 or 116. See image in annotated figure below), and
- an optical device (output device 126, see fig 4, i.e. lens see ¶ 27) wherein the optical engine (108) is configured to form the main image (image) and to project the preformed main image (image) to the optical device (126), and
the optical device (126) is adapted to receive the main image (image) from the optical engine (108), and is configured to project a first portion (first portion of image seen on the screen 104 as sub-image 202) of the main image (image) as a first image (shown as numeral “1” in fig 2) in a first direction (inclined towards the right, as seen in fig 4) and to project a second portion (second portion of image seen on the screen 104 as sub-image 204) of said main image (image) as a second image (shown as numeral “2” in fig 2) in a second direction (inclined towards the left, as seen in fig 4), different from the first direction (inclined towards the right, as seen in fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the light projection device as taught by Way into the teachings of Peng in order to synchronize with the sequential output of the sub-images to provide the adjacent display of sub-images, such that the portions of the image simultaneously appear to the human eye. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because the device increases the size and resolution of the display at closer distances to the screen.
Regarding claim 17, Peng teaches motor vehicle (aircraft, see fig 17) comprising a dashboard (1704) comprising a light projection device (1702);
Peng does not explicitly teach the light projection device according to claim 13.
Way teaches a light projection device (projection device 102, see figures 1-10) comprising:
- a light source (light source 106, see fig 1 and ¶ 21),
- an optical engine (Image forming device 108, including a digital mirror device 110 and LCD 120, se fig 1) including a digital micromirror device (110), the optical engine (108) being located downstream (as seen in fig 1) of the light source (106) and containing data information (data information from computer 114 or DVD player 116, see fig 1) corresponding to a main image (image formed by light from the light source 110 being reflected by mirrors of the micromirror device 110 with data information received from 114 or 116. See image in annotated figure below), and
- an optical device (output device 126, see fig 4, i.e. lens see ¶ 27) wherein the optical engine (108) is configured to form the main image (image) and to project the preformed main image (image) to the optical device (126), and
the optical device (126) is adapted to receive the main image (image) from the optical engine (108), and is configured to project a first portion (first portion of image seen on the screen 104 as sub-image 202) of the main image (image) as a first image (shown as numeral “1” in fig 2) in a first direction (inclined towards the right, as seen in fig 4) and to project a second portion (second portion of image seen on the screen 104 as sub-image 204) of said main image (image) as a second image (shown as numeral “2” in fig 2) in a second direction (inclined towards the left, as seen in fig 4), different from the first direction (inclined towards the right, as seen in fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the light projection device as taught by Way into the teachings of Peng in order to synchronize with the sequential output of the sub-images to provide the adjacent display of sub-images, such that the portions of the image simultaneously appear to the human eye. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because the device increases the size and resolution of the display at closer distances to the screen.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in page 10 that Way does not teach or suggest an optical engine configured to form a main image and to project the preformed main image to an optical device for projection of a first portion as a first image and projection of a second portion as a second image.
Stating that Way doesn't form a main image at all, and as described by Way, the first and second sub-images 202,204 are displayed in a sequence, i.e. one after the other, such that each each of the first and second sub-images appear simultaneously to the human eye, and therefore, since the images are projected in a sequence and are never projected simultaneously, the images are never actually displayed adjacent to each other at any time. Therefore, Way does not teach or suggest that a main image is formed by an optical engine and that the preformed main image is projected by the optical engine to an optical device configured to split the main image into two images that are simultaneously projected in different directions.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees,
Nowhere in the claim, or specifications, it is required the two images must be simultaneously projected, as stated in the argument above.
Note, the Applicant’s disclosure specifies, the light sources are LEDs (see ¶ 6) including RGB LEDs (see ¶ 24). One of ordinary skill would have recognized that most LEDs are powered by pulses of current such as PWM or other digital techniques. That is, LEDs are turned on and off constantly, especially on projection systems that use combinations of Red, Green and Blue LEDs. Thus, LEDs are powered at such high frequencies that any light beam appears constant to a human eye
The optical engine is disclosed as a digital micromirror device (see ¶ 6, 42), one of ordinary skill would have recognized all DMDs are driven by pulses of current, e.i. digital pulses on each mirror individually. DMDs use Pulse Width Modulation (PWM), meaning it constantly updates, even if the data for a pixel hasn't changed, and known as refreshing. Thus, DMDs mirrors vibrate independently at such a high frequency that any projected image, or images, appear on the screen at the same time to a human eye.
In light of the discussion above, one of ordinary skill would have recognized, LEDs in combination with DMS project images that appear to the observer as one image.
In conclusion, the Applicant’s arguments in this regard are not persuasive because the claim does not require images should be projected simultaneously, and because the state of the art and the disclosure does not provide any information regarding an unknown digital technique, different from the common knowledge in the art, that controls DMDs and LEDs to provide still images projected on a screen with non-existent flickering.
Applicant argues in page 10 that Figures 3-6 of Way are misleading as they show portions of a main image (202,204) being fed into a device called an "Image Forming Device 108", the name of which suggests that a main image is formed within the device. However, the main image is not formed within Image Forming Device 108; and that the Image Forming Device projects sub-images 202,204 sequentially, not simultaneously, causing the sub-images to be displayed on screen 107 sequentially.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Way clearly discloses in ¶ 22 that the image forming device 108 provides an image using the light from the light source 106. Moreover, the image forming device 108 includes a digital micromirror device, same device used by the Applicant’s claimed invention, thus the image is formed within the image forming device 108, and anticipating the claimed invention. Additionally, the claim does not require the images should be projected simultaneously.
Applicant argues in page 11, that Kawabata does not teach projecting a main image including a middle zone, and the middle zone is a dead zone. Stating that: The "main image" of Way is not actually formed by the image forming device 108 or digital mirror device 110. Instead, sub-images, which may be considered portions of the main image, are displayed sequentially, not simultaneously, side by side on a projection screen. In contrast, the main image of the Subject Application is formed by an optical engine 35 that projects the main image along a predetermined light path to an optical device, the optical device configured to project a first portion of the main image as a first image in a first direction and a second portion of the main image as a second image in a second direction. Similarly, the "main image" of Kawabata, like Way, is not formed until the reflected rays 20a and 20b are reflected by reflecting mirrors 21a and 21b and are projected by projection lenses 22a and 22b onto screens 17a and 17b. In the Subject Application, the dead zone is present as part of the main image when the main image is formed by the optical engine and before the main image is projected by the optical engine to the optical device. However, the dead zone of Kawabata is not part of a main image that is projected but instead is formed as part of the "main image" when the separate rays 20a and 20b are projected onto screens 17a and 17b.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As discussed for claim 1 argument above, the claim does not require the image should be projected simultaneously. It is noted that claimed direction are explicitly defined in the claim. The specification discusses the direction in ¶ 28, 46 as directly opposite images separated by 180 degrees or images projected on the same side of the dashboard, similar to Way’s device, thus the separation between directions does not appear to critical to the claimed invention. Kabawata is not brought to teach how the main image is projected as first and second images. Kabawata is brought to teach a projected image having a dead zone that benefits Way’s invention by easily showing a difference between the projected images. Therefore, the combination of references is motivated, and thus the prior art of record remains commensurate in scope for teaching the claimed limitations and the Applicants arguments in this regard are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in page 12, that incorporating a heat sink into Way’s invention is not an obvious modification.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Light sources, specifically LEDs emit heat, and excessive heat on LEDs reduces brightness, shifts color, and drastically shortens lifespan. Heat sinks have been commonly used to enhance heat dissipation, as is well known in the art. Additionally, digital micromirrors also emit heat and excessive heat degrades performance and reliability, causing mirror failures, reduced scan angles, and mechanical issues. Takemi teaches a device in the same field of endeavor having a heat sink, which is a known solution, to reduce excessive heat and expand the service life of the device.
Therefore, the combination of references is motivated, and thus the prior art of record remains commensurate in scope for teaching the claimed limitations and the Applicants arguments in this regard are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAR ROJAS CADIMA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875