DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/27/2024 and 04/15/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (No. US-20200319673-A1 “Lee”) in view of AN (No. US-10726762-B2 “An”).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches “An electronic device comprising:” (an electronic device includes; Para 0007);
“a first housing including a first side and a second side opposite the first side;” (the first housing structure 210 may be connected to a hinge structure (e.g., a hinge structure 264 in FIG. 3), and may have a first surface 211 provided to face the front surface of the electronic device 200 in an unfolded state of the electronic device 200, a second surface 212 directed in the direction opposite the first surface 211; Para 0060);
“a second housing including a third side and a fourth side opposite to the third side;” (the second housing structure 220 may be connected to a hinge structure (e.g., a hinge structure 264 in FIG. 3), and may have a third surface 221 provided to face the front surface of the electronic device 200 in an unfolded state of the electronic device 200, a fourth surface 222 directed in the direction opposite the third surface 221; Para 0061);
“at least one processor comprising processing circuitry;” (a processor (e.g., the processor 120 of FIG. 1) (e.g., including processing circuitry); Para 0110);
“at least one camera;” (The camera module 180 may capture a still image or moving images; Para 0048);
“at least one distance detection sensor;” (a distance between the first housing structure 210 and the second housing structure 220 ...may further include a sensor area; Para 0059);
“a flexible display;” (a display 230 (e.g., a flexible display or a foldable display); Para 0057);
“a hinge structure rotatably connecting the first housing and the second housing with respect to a folding axis and configured to provide an unfolded state in which the first side and the third side face a same direction, a folded state in which the first side and the third side face each other, or an intermediate state in which the first side and the third side form an angle between an angle in the unfolded state and an angle in the folded state;” (a pair of housing structures 210 and 220 rotatably coupled to each other through a hinge structure (e.g., a hinge structure 264 in FIG. 3) so as to be folded relative to each other, a hinge cover 265 covering a foldable portion of the pair of housing structures 210 and 220, and a display 230 (e.g., a flexible display or a foldable display); Para 0057); (the third surface 221 may face the first surface 211 in a folded state; Para 0061); (an intermediate state, the first housing structure 210 and the second housing structure 220 may be arranged at a certain angle with each other; Para 0075);
“a folding detection sensor configured to detect an angle between the first side and the third side of the flexible display; and” (the folding degree between the first housing structure 210 and the second housing structure 220 using at least one sensor (e.g., a Hall sensor) that may identify a folding state; Para 0115);
“memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to:” (wherein the memory is configured to store instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to control the electronic device to; Para 0008);
“display a first image on a first display area of the flexible display in the unfolded state;” (the first display 530 (e.g., the display 230 in FIG. 2A) may be implemented as a single flexible display; Para 0099); (generate a first image based on mapping data including the folding degree and characteristics of the first image, .... display the generated synthetic image; Para 0170);
“based on detecting the intermediate state, obtain folding information corresponding to an angle between the first side and the third side of the flexible display;” (in an intermediate state in which the first housing structure 210 and the second housing structure 220 are folded at a certain angle; Para 0071); (the second housing structure 220 (e.g., the first surface in FIG. 2A and the third surface 221 in FIG. 2A); Para 0099);
“generate a second image based on the first image and the second coordinate information of the second display area; and” (a second image corresponding to the bent area wherein the generated first image is overlaid in at least a partial area of the second image, and display the generated synthetic image; Para 0170);
“display the second image in the second display area of the flexible display, in the intermediate state.” (a second image corresponding to the bent area wherein the generated first image is overlaid in at least a partial area of the second image, and display the generated synthetic image; Para 0170);
Lee fails to teach “obtain first coordinate information of the first display area of the flexible display corresponding to the unfolded state;”, “based on the at least one distance detection sensor and the at least one camera, obtain user gaze information;” and “based on the user gaze information, the folding information, and the first coordinate information of the first display area, obtain second coordinate information of a second display area corresponding to the intermediate state;”
However, An teaches “obtain first coordinate information of the first display area of the flexible display corresponding to the unfolded state;” (obtain a deformation state of the flexible display device 100 by collecting and analyzing information regarding the deformation state by using at least one sensor. Here, the deformation state may include a folded state, a bent state, a rolled state, etc., as described above. In relation to a deformation state, the sensor 340 may obtain information regarding a deformation location (a coordinate value and a deformation line), a deformation direction, a deformation angle; Col 10, Line 26-34);
“based on the at least one distance detection sensor and the at least one camera, obtain user gaze information;” (obtain user gaze information regarding gaze of a user through gaze detecting sensors arranged at a predetermined interval in the flexible display 11. The gaze detecting sensors may include, for example, cameras; Col 5, Line 47-50);
“based on the user gaze information, the folding information, and the first coordinate information of the first display area, obtain second coordinate information of a second display area corresponding to the intermediate state;” (based on user gaze information and information regarding a deformation state of the flexible display device; Col 13, Line 55-57); (obtain information regarding a deformation location (a coordinate value, a deformation line, etc.); Col 13, Line 49-51); (Here, the deformation state may include a folded state, a bent state, a rolled state, etc., as described above; Col 10, Line 29-30);
An discloses gaze information of user which teaches the claimed subject matter of obtain user information. And obtaining coordinate value based on user gaze information, the folding state and other information from deformation state which teach the claimed subject matter. In combination with Lee’s teachings of a flexible electronic device, teaches the claimed subject matter.
Lee and An are analogous art as both of them are related to a flexible display device and visibility of curved portion of display.
The motivation for the above is to have a user friendly device for accurate visual distortion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Lee by obtaining first coordinate information of the first display area of the flexible display corresponding to the unfolded state, based on the at least one distance detection sensor and the at least one camera, obtain user gaze information and based on the user gaze information, the folding information, and the first coordinate information of the first display area, obtain second coordinate information of a second display area corresponding to the intermediate state as taught by An.
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches “The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first coordinate information comprises:
a first coordinate and a second coordinate with respect to the folding axis;” (the display 230 may be divided into a plurality of areas (e.g., two areas or four or more areas) according to the structure or functions thereof. Although the area of the display 230 may be divided with respect to the folding area 231 c or the folding axis; Para 0069);
“a third coordinate and a fourth coordinate with respect to vertices of the first display area within the first housing, in the unfolded state; and” (the first area 231 a and the second area 231 b may have a symmetric shape overall with respect to the folding area; Para 0069); (a portion of the first housing structure 210 and the second housing structure 220 according to an operating state of the electronic device 200 (an unfolded state or a folded state); Para 0070);
“a fifth coordinate and a sixth coordinate with respect to the vertices of the first display area within the second housing, in the unfolded state; and” (the first area 231 a and the second area 231 b may have a symmetric shape overall with respect to the folding area; Para 0069); (a portion of the first housing structure 210 and the second housing structure 220 according to an operating state of the electronic device 200 (an unfolded state or a folded state); Para 0070);
Lee discloses the area of a display may divided in two, four or more areas with respect to the folding axis and a plurality of areas according to the structure, housing structure, with respect to the folding axis. An discloses the coordinate values that in combination with Lee teaching of a plurality of areas, teach the claimed subject matter of a first, second, third, fourth, fifth, and sixth coordinate values.
“wherein the second coordinate information comprises:
a first coordinate and a second coordinate with respect to the folding axis; (the display 230 may be divided into a plurality of areas (e.g., two areas or four or more areas) according to the structure or functions thereof. Although the area of the display 230 may be divided with respect to the folding area 231 c or the folding axis; Para 0069);
“a seventh coordinate and an eighth coordinate with respect to vertices of the second display area within the first housing, in the intermediate state; and” (the first area 231 a and the second area 231 b may have a symmetric shape overall with respect to the folding area; Para 0069); (if the electronic device 200 is in an intermediate state in which the first housing structure 210 and the second housing structure 220 are folded at a certain angle; Para 0071);
“a ninth coordinate and a tenth coordinate with respect to the vertices of the second display area within the second housing, in the intermediate state.” (the first area 231 a and the second area 231 b may have a symmetric shape overall with respect to the folding area; Para 0069); (if the electronic device 200 is in an intermediate state in which the first housing structure 210 and the second housing structure 220 are folded at a certain angle; Para 0071);
Lee discloses the area of a display may divided in two, four or more areas with respect to the folding axis and a plurality of areas according to the structure, housing structure, with respect to the folding axis. An discloses the coordinate values that in combination with Lee teaching of a plurality of areas, teach the claimed subject matter of a first, second, seventh, eighth, ninth, and tenth coordinate values.
Regarding claim 3, while Lee fails to teach the limitations, An teaches “The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the second coordinate information of the second display area is obtained, based on:
a first value corresponding to a length from the folding axis to an end of the first display area;” (obtain information regarding a deformation location (a coordinate value, a deformation line, etc.); Col 13, Line 49-51); (obtain distance information regarding a distance from the flexible display device; Col 16, Line 51-52);
“a second value corresponding to a first angle formed by the first housing and a side perpendicular to the flexible display in the unfolded state and includes the folding axis;” (obtain information regarding a deformation location (a coordinate value, a deformation line, etc.); Col 13, Line 49-51); (gaze direction of the user may be expressed as an angle from −180 degrees to +180 degrees based on a straight line that passes through a pupil 720 of the user and is perpendicular to the flexible display; Col 12, Line 54-56);
“a third value corresponding to an angle formed by a direction perpendicular to the flexible display in the unfolded state and includes the folding axis, and a direction in which a user’s gaze faces an end of the first display area within the first housing in the unfolded state;” (obtain information regarding a deformation location (a coordinate value, a deformation line, etc.); Col 13, Line 49-51); (may extract the gazing point 710 by using information regarding a gaze direction of a user. At this time, the information regarding the gaze direction of the user may be expressed as an angle from −180 degrees to +180 degrees based on a straight line that passes through a pupil 720 of the user and is perpendicular to the flexible display; Col 12, Line 50-56);
“a fourth value corresponding to an angle formed by a direction perpendicular to the flexible display in the unfolded state and includes the folding axis, and a direction in which the user’s gaze faces an end of the first display area within the second housing in the unfolded state; and” (obtain information regarding a deformation location (a coordinate value, a deformation line, etc.); Col 13, Line 49-51); (may extract the gazing point 710 by using information regarding a gaze direction of a user. At this time, the information regarding the gaze direction of the user may be expressed as an angle from −180 degrees to +180 degrees based on a straight line that passes through a pupil 720 of the user and is perpendicular to the flexible display; Col 12, Line 50-56);
“a fifth value that is a vertical distance between the user’s gaze and the flexible display in the unfolded state.” (obtain information regarding a deformation location (a coordinate value, a deformation line, etc.); Col 13, Line 49-51); (obtaining distance information regarding a distance from the flexible display device to a pupil of the user; Col 16, Line 51-52); (based on a straight line that passes through a pupil 720 of the user and is perpendicular to the flexible display 110 (that is, a perpendicular line); Col 12, Lin 54-57);
An discloses a gaze direction, which is used to get the coordinate values, with an angle formed based on the perpendicular line from user’s gaze. This teaches the claimed subject matter of first-fifth value corresponding to a direction and distance.
The motivation for the above is to have accurate coordinate information for easier display for user accessibility.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Lee by a first value corresponding to a length from the folding axis to an end of the first display area; a second value corresponding to a first angle formed by the first housing and a side perpendicular to the flexible display in the unfolded state and includes the folding axis; a third value corresponding to an angle formed by a direction perpendicular to the flexible display in the unfolded state and includes the folding axis, and a direction in which a user’s gaze faces an end of the first display area within the first housing in the unfolded state; a fourth value corresponding to an angle formed by a direction perpendicular to the flexible display in the unfolded state and includes the folding axis, and a direction in which the user’s gaze faces an end of the first display area within the second housing in the unfolded state; and a fifth value that is a vertical distance between the user’s gaze and the flexible display in the unfolded state as taught by An.
Regarding claim 4, while Lee fails to teach the limitations, An teaches “The electronic device of claim 3, wherein the second coordinate information of the second display area is obtained, based on a sixth value corresponding to an angle formed by a direction perpendicular to the flexible display in the unfolded state and includes the folding axis, and a direction in which the user's gaze is viewed from the folding axis.” (the gaze direction of the user may be expressed as an angle from −180 degrees to +180 degrees based on a straight line that passes through a pupil 720 of the user and is perpendicular to the flexible display 110 (that is, a perpendicular line). For example, since a gaze direction 810 of a user in FIG. 8A is identical to the direction of a perpendicular line 820, information regarding the gaze direction 810 in FIG. 8A has a value of “+0 degree”, whereas information regarding a gaze direction 830 in FIG. 8B has a value of “−20 degrees”. The processor 130 may extract a gazing point of the user based on information regarding a gaze direction of the user; Col 13, Line 53-64);
An discloses the gaze direction as an angle relative to the perpendicular line to the flexible display. This in combination with the folding axis and display division taught by Lee teaches the claimed subject matter.
The motivation for the above is to have accurate coordinate information for easier display for user accessibility.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Lee by the second coordinate information of the second display area is obtained, based on a sixth value corresponding to an angle formed by a direction perpendicular to the flexible display in the unfolded state and includes the folding axis, and a direction in which the user's gaze is viewed from the folding axis as taught by An.
Regarding claim 5, while Lee fails to teach the limitation “based on the user gaze information, the folding information, and the first coordinate information of the first display area, obtain third coordinate information of a virtual display area, which is a change of the first display area, wherein the virtual display area is an area where a side connecting the user's gaze to an end of the first display area is in contact with a side including the first housing or a side including the second housing”.
An teaches “The electronic device of claim 1, wherein in order to obtain the second coordinate information, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
based on the user gaze information, the folding information, and the first coordinate information of the first display area, obtain third coordinate information of a virtual display area, which is a change of the first display area, wherein the virtual display area is an area where a side connecting the user's gaze to an end of the first display area is in contact with a side including the first housing or a side including the second housing; and” (based on user gaze information and information regarding a deformation state of the flexible display device; Col 13, Line 55-57); (obtain information regarding a deformation location (a coordinate value, a deformation line, etc.); Col 13, Line 49-51); (determine an activated region based on information regarding a deformation state of the flexible display device ; Col 7, Line 23-25);
However, Lee teaches “based on a length from the folding axis to an end of the virtual display area being greater than a length from the folding axis to the end of the first display area, obtain the second coordinate information, by changing the third coordinate information of the virtual display area to be closer to the folding axis.” (generate a first image based on mapping data in which the folding degree; Para 0116); (detecting a change in the folding degree while the synthetic image is displayed, changing characteristics of the first image based on the changed folding degree and the mapping data; Para 0217); (the mapping data may include data including a relationship between the folding degree between the first housing structure 210 and the second housing structure 220 and the size of the first image; Para 0121);
An discloses user gaze information with other information such as coordinate value and folding state through deformation location and state. Thus, having an activated region based on the information of the flexible display. This teaches the claimed subject matter in combination with Lee disclosing changing the folding degree based on mapping data and how the image is displayed. This teaches the claimed subject matter of changing the coordinate information of the display.
The motivation for the above is to have efficient coordinate information based on gaze, folding and coordinate information for user friendly display.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Lee by based on the user gaze information, the folding information, and the first coordinate information of the first display area, obtain third coordinate information of a virtual display area, which is a change of the first display area, wherein the virtual display area is an area where a side connecting the user's gaze to an end of the first display area is in contact with a side including the first housing or a side including the second housing as taught by An.
Regarding claim 6, while Lee fails to teach the limitation “based on the user gaze information, the folding information, and the first coordinate information of the first display area, obtain third coordinate information of a virtual display area, which is a change of the first display area, wherein the virtual display area is an area where a side connecting the user's gaze to the end of the first display area is in contact with a side including the first housing or a side including the second housing”.
An teaches “The electronic device of claim 1, wherein in order to obtain the second coordinate information, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
based on the user gaze information, the folding information, and the first coordinate information of the first display area, obtain third coordinate information of a virtual display area, which is a change of the first display area, wherein the virtual display area is an area where a side connecting the user's gaze to the end of the first display area is in contact with a side including the first housing or a side including the second housing; and” (based on user gaze information and information regarding a deformation state of the flexible display device; Col 13, Line 55-57); (obtain information regarding a deformation location (a coordinate value, a deformation line, etc.); Col 13, Line 49-51); (determine an activated region based on information regarding a deformation state of the flexible display device ; Col 7, Line 23-25);
However, Lee teaches “based on the length from the folding axis to the end of the virtual display area being less than the length from the folding axis to the end of the first display area, obtain the second coordinate information, by changing the third coordinate information of the virtual display area such that the length from the folding axis to the end of the virtual display area becomes the length from the folding axis to the end of the first display area.” (generate a first image based on mapping data in which the folding degree; Para 0116); (detecting a change in the folding degree while the synthetic image is displayed, changing characteristics of the first image based on the changed folding degree and the mapping data; Para 0217); (The recess 201 may have substantially the same size as the display 230; Para 0062); (the mapping data may include data including a relationship between the folding degree between the first housing structure 210 and the second housing structure 220 and the size of the first image; Para 0121);
An discloses user gaze information with other information such as coordinate value and folding state through deformation location and state. Thus, having an activated region based on the information of the flexible display. This teaches the claimed subject matter in combination with Lee disclosing changing an image based on mapping data and how the image is displayed, especially with the size of the display area. This teaches the claimed subject matter or changing the coordinate information of the display based on the length.
The motivation for the above is to have efficient coordinate information based on gaze, folding and coordinate information for user friendly display.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Lee by based on the user gaze information, the folding information, and the first coordinate information of the first display area, obtain third coordinate information of a virtual display area, which is a change of the first display area, wherein the virtual display area is an area where a side connecting the user's gaze to the end of the first display area is in contact with a side including the first housing or a side including the second housing as taught by An.
Regarding claim 7, while Lee fails to teach the “based on the user gaze information, the folding information, and the first coordinate information of the first display area, obtain third coordinate information of a virtual display area, which is a change of the first display area, wherein the virtual display area is an area where a side connecting the user's gaze to the end of the first display area is in contact with a side including the first housing or a side including the second housing”.
An teaches “The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
based on the user gaze information, the folding information, and the first coordinate information of the first display area, obtain third coordinate information of a virtual display area, which is a change in the first display area, wherein the virtual display area is an area where a side connecting the user's gaze to an end of the first display area is in contact with a side including the first housing or a side including the second housing; and” (based on user gaze information and information regarding a deformation state of the flexible display device; Col 13, Line 55-57); (obtain information regarding a deformation location (a coordinate value, a deformation line, etc.); Col 13, Line 49-51); (determine an activated region based on information regarding a deformation state of the flexible display device ; Col 7, Line 23-25);
However, Lee teaches “based on a length from the folding axis to an end of the virtual display area being greater than a length from the folding axis to the end of the first display area, control the electronic device to display a notification to indicate image loss.” (generate a first image based on mapping data in which the folding degree; Para 0116); (detecting a change in the folding degree while the synthetic image is displayed, changing characteristics of the first image based on the changed folding degree and the mapping data; Para 0217); (may refer to an application for displaying a screen (e.g., a notification bar or a quick view) related to the system; Para 0159);
An discloses user gaze information with other information such as coordinate value and folding state through deformation location and state. Thus, having an activated region based on the information of the flexible display. This teaches the claimed subject matter in combination with Lee disclosing changing the folding degree based on mapping data and how the notification of the image is displayed. This teaches the claimed subject matter of controlling the electronic device to display a notification.
The motivation for the above is to have efficient coordinate information based on gaze, folding and coordinate information for user friendly display.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Lee by based on the user gaze information, the folding information, and the first coordinate information of the first display area, obtain third coordinate information of a virtual display area, which is a change in the first display area, wherein the virtual display area is an area where a side connecting the user's gaze to an end of the first display area is in contact with a side including the first housing or a side including the second housing as taught by An.
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches “The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to display a text, an image, or a user interface (UI) for displaying information related to the second image on a portion of the flexible display within the first display area and a portion of the flexible display outside the second display area.” (the display 630 may display various still images or videos; Para 0111); (a system user interface (UI); Para 0159); (a display of which at least a portion may be transformed into a flat or curved surface. In an embodiment, the display 230 may include a folding area 231 c, a first area 231 a provided at one side of the folding area 231 c (e.g., at the right side of the folding area 231 c), and a second area; Para 0069);
Lee discloses a display the displays images or videos as well as a system UI that can display a portion of the display with the second area and first area. This teaches the claimed subject matter of displaying information of a portion of the flexible display.
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches “The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
display a third image on a third display area of the flexible display in the unfolded state; and” (may have a third surface 221 provided to face the front surface of the electronic device 200 in an unfolded state; Para 0061); (the second housing structure 220 may vary depending on whether the electronic device 200 is in an unfolded state; Para 0059); (third image ... and display the generated synthetic image; Para 0176);
“display the third image on the third display area of the flexible display, in the intermediate state.” (the second housing structure 220 may vary depending on whether the electronic device 200 is in an unfolded state, an folded state, or an intermediate state; Para 0059); (third image ... and display the generated synthetic image; Para 0176);
Lee discloses a second housing structure which includes a third surface area that relates to the third display area of the flexible display at and unfolded and intermate state thus, teaching the claimed subject matter.
Regarding claim 10, while Lee fails to teach the limitations “obtain first user gaze information, based on the at least one distance detection sensor and the at least one camera; obtain the second coordinate information of the second display area corresponding to the intermediate state, based on the first user gaze information, the folding information, and the first coordinate information of the first display area; and obtain second user gaze information, based on the at least one distance sensor and the at least one camera”.
An teaches “The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
obtain first user gaze information, based on the at least one distance detection sensor and the at least one camera;” (obtain user gaze information regarding gaze of a user through gaze detecting sensors arranged at a predetermined interval in the flexible display 11. The gaze detecting sensors may include, for example, cameras; Col 5, Line 47-50);
“obtain the second coordinate information of the second display area corresponding to the intermediate state, based on the first user gaze information, the folding information, and the first coordinate information of the first display area;” (based on user gaze information and information regarding a deformation state of the flexible display device; Col 13, Line 55-57); (obtain information regarding a deformation location (a coordinate value, a deformation line, etc.); Col 13, Line 49-51); (Here, the deformation state may include a folded state, a bent state, a rolled state, etc., as described above; Col 10, Line 29-30);
“obtain second user gaze information, based on the at least one distance sensor and the at least one camera;” (obtain user gaze information regarding gaze of a user through gaze detecting sensors arranged at a predetermined interval in the flexible display 11. The gaze detecting sensors may include, for example, cameras; Col 5, Line 47-50);
“obtain the second coordinate information of the second display area corresponding to the intermediate state, based on the first user gaze information, the folding information, and the first coordinate information of the first display area;” (based on user gaze information and information regarding a deformation state of the flexible display device; Col 13, Line 55-57); (obtain information regarding a deformation location (a coordinate value, a deformation line, etc.); Col 13, Line 49-51); (Here, the deformation state may include a folded state, a bent state, a rolled state, etc., as described above; Col 10, Line 29-30);
However, Lee teaches “generate the second image based on the first image and the second coordinate information of the second display area;” (a second image corresponding to the bent area wherein the generated first image is overlaid in at least a partial area of the second image, and display the generated synthetic image; Para 0170);
“display the second image on the second display area of the flexible display in the intermediate state;” (a second image corresponding to the bent area wherein the generated first image is overlaid in at least a partial area of the second image, and display the generated synthetic image; Para 0170);
“generate the second image, based on the first image and the second coordinate information of the second display area; and” (a second image corresponding to the bent area wherein the generated first image is overlaid in at least a partial area of the second image, and display the generated synthetic image; Para 0170);
“display the second image on the second display area of the flexible display in the intermediate state.” (a second image corresponding to the bent area wherein the generated first image is overlaid in at least a partial area of the second image, and display the generated synthetic image; Para 0170);
An discloses gaze information of user which teaches the claimed subject matter of obtain user information. And obtaining coordinate value based on user gaze information, the folding state and other information from deformation state which teach the claimed subject matter. It is obvious that the user gaze information can obtain a first or second user gaze information. In combination with Lee’s teachings of a flexible electronic device, teaches the claimed subject matter.
The motivation for the above is to accurate user information for user friendly display.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Lee by obtaining first user gaze information, based on the at least one distance detection sensor and the at least one camera, obtaining the second coordinate information of the second display area corresponding to the intermediate state, based on the first user gaze information, the folding information, and the first coordinate information of the first display area and obtaining second user gaze information, based on the at least one distance sensor and the at least one camera as taught by An.
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches “A method performed by an electronic device comprising:” (a method for operating an electronic device includes; Para 0009);
“displaying a first image on a first display area of a flexible display in an unfolded state;” (the first display 530 (e.g., the display 230 in FIG. 2A) may be implemented as a single flexible display; Para 0099); (generate a first image based on mapping data including the folding degree and characteristics of the first image, .... display the generated synthetic image; Para 0170);
“based on detecting an intermediate state, obtaining folding information corresponding to an angle between a first side and a third side of the flexible display;” (in an intermediate state in which the first housing structure 210 and the second housing structure 220 are folded at a certain angle; Para 0071); (the second housing structure 220 (e.g., the first surface in FIG. 2A and the third surface 221 in FIG. 2A); Para 0099);
“generating a second image based on the first image and the second coordinate information of the second display area; and” (a second image corresponding to the bent area wherein the generated first image is overlaid in at least a partial area of the second image, and display the generated synthetic image; Para 0170);
“displaying the second image in the second display area of the flexible display, in the intermediate state.” (a second image corresponding to the bent area wherein the generated first image is overlaid in at least a partial area of the second image, and display the generated synthetic image; Para 0170);
Lee fails to teach “obtaining first coordinate information of the first display area of the flexible display corresponding to the unfolded state;” “based on at least one distance detection sensor and at least one camera, obtaining user gaze information;” and “based on the user gaze information, the folding information, and the first coordinate information of the first display area, obtaining second coordinate information of a second display area corresponding to the intermediate state;”
However, An teaches “obtaining first coordinate information of the first display area of the flexible display corresponding to the unfolded state;” (obtain a deformation state of the flexible display device 100 by collecting and analyzing information regarding the deformation state by using at least one sensor. Here, the deformation state may include a folded state, a bent state, a rolled state, etc., as described above. In relation to a deformation state, the sensor 340 may obtain information regarding a deformation location (a coordinate value and a deformation line), a deformation direction, a deformation angle; Col 10, Line 26-34);
“based on at least one distance detection sensor and at least one camera, obtaining user gaze information;” (obtain user gaze information regarding gaze of a user through gaze detecting sensors arranged at a predetermined interval in the flexible display 11. The gaze detecting sensors may include, for example, cameras; Col 5, Line 47-50);
“based on the user gaze information, the folding information, and the first coordinate information of the first display area, obtaining second coordinate information of a second display area corresponding to the intermediate state;” (based on user gaze information and information regarding a deformation state of the flexible display device; Col 13, Line 55-57); (obtain information regarding a deformation location (a coordinate value, a deformation line, etc.); Col 13, Line 49-51); (Here, the deformation state may include a folded state, a bent state, a rolled state, etc., as described above; Col 10, Line 29-30);
An discloses gaze information of user which teaches the claimed subject matter of obtain user information. And obtaining coordinate value based on user gaze information, the folding state and other information from deformation state which teach the claimed subject matter.
The motivation for the above is to have user friendly device for accurate visual distortion
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Lee by obtaining first coordinate information of the first display area of the flexible display corresponding to the unfolded state, based on at least one distance detection sensor and at least one camera, obtaining user gaze information and based on the user gaze information, the folding information, and the first coordinate information of the first display area, obtaining second coordinate information of a second display area corresponding to the intermediate state as taught by An.
Claim 12 is directed to a method and its limitations are similar in scope and functions performed by the electronic device of claim 2. Therefore, claim 12 limitations are also rejected with the same rationale as regarding claim 2.
Claim 13 is directed to a method and its limitations are similar in scope and functions performed by the electronic device of claim 3. Therefore, claim 13 limitations are also rejected with the same rationale as regarding claim 3.
Claim 14 is directed to a method and its limitations are similar in scope and functions performed by the electronic device of claim 4. Therefore, claim 14 limitations are also rejected with the same rationale as regarding claim 4.
Claim 15 is directed to a method and its limitations are similar in scope and functions performed by the electronic device of claim 5. Therefore, claim 15 limitations are also rejected with the same rationale as regarding claim 5.
Claim 16 is directed to a method and its limitations are similar in scope and functions performed by the electronic device of claim 6. Therefore, claim 16 limitations are also rejected with the same rationale as regarding claim 6.
Claim 17 is directed to a method and its limitations are similar in scope and functions performed by the electronic device of claim 7. Therefore, claim 17 limitations are also rejected with the same rationale as regarding claim 7.
Claim 18 is directed to a method and its limitations are similar in scope and functions performed by the electronic device of claim 8. Therefore, claim 18 limitations are also rejected with the same rationale as regarding claim 8.
Claim 19 is directed to a method and its limitations are similar in scope and functions performed by the electronic device of claim 9. Therefore, claim 19 limitations are also rejected with the same rationale as regarding claim 9.
Regarding claim 20, Lee teaches “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions, that when executed by at least one processor, cause an electronic device to perform operations including:” (a processor (e.g., the processor 120) of the machine (e.g., the electronic device 101) may invoke at least one of the one or more instructions stored in the storage medium, and execute it... The machine-readable storage medium may be provided in the form of a non-transitory storage medium; Para 0223);
Claim 20 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium and its limitations are similar in scope and functions performed by the method of claim 11. Therefore, claim 20 limitations are also rejected with the same rationale as regarding claim 11.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20160048170-A1 (Kim) – Discloses displaying an image on a display of the electronic device, detecting a change in a curvature of a display, detecting a change in a gaze on the display, in response to detecting the change in the curvature of the flexible display, obtaining a change in a gaze on the flexible display, and changing the image displayed on the display based on the change in the curvature and the change in the gaze angle.
US-20220239832-A1 (Tyagi) – Discloses one or more sensors detecting a geometry of the electronic device. At least one imager, disposed to a first side of a deformable portion of the electronic device, captures at least one image while at least one other imager, disposed to a second side of the deformable portion of the electronic device, captures at least one other image.
US-20160133169-A1 (Park) – Discloses correcting image distortion may correct a luminance level of image data in accordance with a curvature of a curved display panel in a curved display device and a viewing distance of a viewer and display an image optimized for the curvature and the viewing distance on a full area of the curved display panel, whereby an image having no distortion may be provided to the viewer.
/B.D.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2612
/Said Broome/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2612