DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (the composite tank – claims 1-10) in the reply filed on 3/6/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the buffer being a stiffener (i.e. a stiffener including a plurality of flow passages) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 2 currently references “the plurality of flow passage.” The Examiner believes the claim is intended to reference “the plurality of flow passages.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the flow structure" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 currently states “the buffer is a stiffener extending from one side of the vessel wall to an opposite side of the vessel wall.” This appears to contradict Paragraph [0074] of the specification, which states that flow passages are omitted from the stiffeners, as claim 1 has the buffer including flow passages. The claim has been examined below as best the Examiner can understand. Further correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the gap" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 currently states “the receiver comprises a first L-shaped bracket positioned opposite a second L-shaped bracket”. Claim 6 depends from claim 5 which states the receiver is integrally formed with the vessel wall. According to Paragraph [0082] of the specification, the first and second brackets are “placed”, and not integral. As such, claim 6 appears to directly contradict claim 5. For purposes of further consideration, claim 6 is being interpreted as depending from claim 1 and referencing “a receiver”. Further correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sheu et al. (US 6668561) (hereinafter Sheu).
Regarding Claim 1
Sheu teaches a composite storage tank (below – Fig. 1 and 3) for liquid hydrogen, the composite storage tank comprising: a vessel wall (20/30) defining a chamber to hold liquid hydrogen; and a buffer (40) located in the chamber, the buffer including a first side (at top end of tank) and a second side (at bottom end of tank), and including a plurality of flow passages (46) that fluidly connect the first side with the second side, each flow passage of the plurality of flow passages is a microchannel (Col. 2, Ln. 28 – Col. 3, Ln. 20).
Regarding Claim 2
Sheu teaches a flow structure includes a central chamber (i.e. within 42d, above) fluidly connected to one or more flow passages (46) of the plurality of flow passages.
Regarding Claim 3
Sheu teaches the plurality of flow passages (46) is interconnected.
Regarding Claim 4
Sheu teaches the buffer (40) is a stiffener (inasmuch as Applicant shows) extending from one side of the vessel wall to an opposite side of the vessel wall, as can be seen in Fig. 1 above.
Regarding Claim 7
Sheu teaches the plurality of flow passages (46) is formed in a flow structure, the flow structure including a plurality of flow channels directing liquid hydrogen toward at least one flow passage of the plurality of flow passages, as can be seen in the figures above.
Regarding Claim 8
Sheu teaches the plurality of flow channels includes at least one of rectilinear flow channels or curvilinear flow channels, depending on which two flow passages (46) (shown above) are in communication at any given time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stout (US 1616008).
Regarding Claim 5
Sheu teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above. Sheu teaches the buffer is adhered, bonded, molded, and/or otherwise coupled to the vessel wall. Sheu does not teach the buffer is connected to the vessel wall by a receiver integrally formed in the vessel wall.
Stout teaches a storage tank for liquid fuel (below – Fig. 1 and 3), the storage tank comprising: a vessel wall (1) defining a chamber to hold liquid; and a buffer (11) located in the chamber, the buffer including a first side and a second side, and including a plurality of flow passages (20) that fluidly connect the first side with the second side; and wherein the buffer is connected to the vessel wall by a receiver (14) integrally formed in the vessel wall (Pg. 1, Ln. 97 – Pg. 2, Ln. 63).
Sheu and Stout are analogous inventions in the field of liquid fuel tanks. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the tank of Sheu with the teachings of the buffer being connected to the vessel wall by an integral receiver in order to secure the buffer to the wall without the need for extra steps like riveting, welding, etc. (Pg. 2, Ln. 33-38).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Linde et al. (US 2024/0359809) (hereinafter Linde).
Regarding Claim 6
Sheu teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above. Sheu teaches the buffer is adhered, bonded, molded, and/or otherwise coupled to the vessel wall. Sheu does not teach the buffer is connected to the vessel wall by a receiver comprising a first L-shaped bracket positioned opposite a second L-shaped bracket to form a gap therebetween.
Linde teaches a storage tank for liquid hydrogen (below – Fig. 1a and 1b), the storage tank comprising: a vessel wall (15) defining a chamber to hold liquid hydrogen; and a buffer (12b) located in the chamber, the buffer including a first side and a second side, and including a plurality of flow passages (shown at O1) that fluidly connect the first side with the second side; wherein the buffer is connected to the vessel wall by a receiver comprising a first L-shaped bracket (13b – lower) positioned opposite a second L-shaped bracket (13b – upper, not shown) to form a gap therebetween (Paragraphs [0050] and [0054]).
Sheu and Linde are analogous inventions in the field of liquid hydrogen tanks. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the tank of Sheu with the teachings of the buffer being connected to the vessel wall a pair of L-shaped brackets of Linde in order stabilize the buffer within the tank (Paragraph [0054]).
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheu as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Newhouse (US 10088110).
Regarding Claims 9 and 10
Sheu teaches all the limitations of claim 7 as shown above. Sheu does not teach each flow channel of the plurality of flow channels has a rough surface, wherein the roughness of the rough surface is from 5 microns to 20 microns.
Newhouse teaches a composite storage tank for liquid hydrogen, the composite storage tank comprising: a vessel wall defining a chamber to hold liquid hydrogen; and a plurality of flow channels has a rough surface, wherein the roughness of the rough surface is from 5 microns to 20 microns (Col. 4, Ln. 54-65 and Col. 7, Ln. 11-44).
Sheu and Newhouse are analogous inventions in the field of tanks for liquid hydrogen. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the flow channels of Sheu with the teachings of the roughness of Newhouse in order to provide a surface that allows liquid to float though with gas being able to pass through the valleys of the roughened surface (Col. 7, Ln. 34-44).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Further pertinent prior art includes but is not limited to that which is listed in the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JENNIFER CASTRIOTTA/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/NATHAN J JENNESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3733 25 June 2026