DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended independent claim 1 by incorporating the limitations of claims 12 and 14 which are thereby canceled. Independent claim 1 now recites the feature of “wherein the supporting assembly comprises at least two elongated jacking elements, which are arranged parallel to and spaced apart from each other, wherein the jacking elements comprise a first jacking element and a second jacking element, the driving assembly is configured to drive the first jacking element and the second jacking element close to or away from each other so that the first jacking element and the second jacking element enter into or exit from between the diaphragm and the second hot-pressing plate, and further the driving assembly is configured to drive the first jacking element and the second jacking element to ascend and descend synchronously along a compression direction so as to lift or flatten the diaphragm.”
However, Applicant's arguments filed August 7, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that the reference Wuxi1 (CN219017721U) with machine translation, used to reject claims 1-2, 5-12 and 14-17 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) does not disclose or suggest the features of a “first jacking element and a second jacking element,” with the driving assembly configured to “drive the first jacking element and the second jacking element close to or away from each other,” and “ascend and descend synchronously,” as is now recited in amended claim 1. Wuxi1, in contrast, discloses a hot-pressing apparatus having a single, solid support plate jacking up a protective film and a separate spacing adjustment mechanism connected to a clamping mechanism at the ends of the film to maintain film tension. The examiner erroneously maps the claim 1 “first and second jacking elements” to the “first movable part – 3232” and “second movable part – 3233” of the Wuxi1 spacing mechanism. However, Wuxi1 does not disclose or suggest a splitting of the jacking component into multiple elements capable of relative lateral movement and instead is strictly limited to moving the film clamping mechanisms in a tensioned state during deformation. There is only a component that physically enters under the film and jacks it upward called a “support plate – 41” which is indivisible and lacks the physical structure to split into a first jacking element” and “second jacking element” that can be driven “close to or away from each other “to dynamically adjust the width of the transferring-supporting surface. (Applicant arguments/remarks 08/07/2026 pp.8-9).
Examiner counter argues that under broadest reasonable interpretation, Wuxi1 anticipates the limitations of claims 12 and 14 incorporated into claim 1 as it did prior to their cancelation. In particular, the two spacing adjustment mechanisms – 323 are respectively disposed on both sides of the first hot press plate – 10 with a first clamping mechanism – 321 and a second clamping mechanism – 322 which move simultaneously and synchronously during operation which are selectively connected to the two spacing adjustment mechanisms (paragraphs [0059] [0060]). Additionally, in another embodiment optionally, a first movable part – 3232 and second movable part – 3233 are explicitly described as being driven to move closer to or further away from each other, so as to adjust the distance between the first clamping mechanism – 321 and the second clamping mechanism – 322. (paragraph [0061]).
The applicant argues that claim 19 which further recites a “first restraining block has a first position and a second position, and when the first restraining block is in the first position, the first hot-pressing plate is configured to move toward the second hot-pressing plate, so that the first restraining block abuts against the second restraining block before the first hot-pressing plate abuts against the second hot-pressing plate; when the first restraining block is in the second position, it is capable of giving way to the second restraining block”
is not met by either the primary reference Wuxi1 or the secondary reference Guo (CN203859945U) with machine translation used in the rejection of claim 19 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as they do not disclose or suggest a restraining block capable of switch to a second position to “give way.” Furthermore, the combination of Wuxi1 and Guo would incorporate rigid, dead-stop blocks into the apparatus of Wuxi1 to a fixed minimum gap Because hot-pressing battery cells inherently require the plates to fully contact and press against cells of varying thicknesses, applying these rigid dead-stops of Guo would directly destroy the core functionality of Wuxi1, making it inoperable for its intended purpose. (Applicant arguments/remarks 08/07/2026 p. 10).
The examiner counterargues that Guo appears to provide a restraining block capable of switching to a second position to “give way” in that there is a set of restraining blocks that have a “movable shaft sleeve” – 14 and a “positioning shaft” – 15 where a “barrier strip” – 13 (restraining block) is sleeved on the positioning shaft through the “movable shaft sleeve” – 14 where this “barrier strip – 13” can rotate 360 degrees by taking the positioning shaft as a fulcrum (paragraph [0019]). The examiner contends that this feature at least describes a “restraining block capable of switching to a second position to give way.” Additionally, for the same reasons given above, the examiner counter-argues that these same barrier strips act as blocks allowing varying thicknesses of diaphragms where the rotating baffle (block) can be utilized depending on the size and shape of the part and matches the design (paragraph [0021]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-11 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wuxi (applicant), hereinafter known as Wuxi1 (CN219017721U) with machine translation.
Regarding Claim 1, Wuxi1 discloses a hot-pressing apparatus (abs), comprising: a hot-pressing drive mechanism (Fig. 2 paragraph [0039] battery cell – 200 placed between first hot pressing plate – 10 and second hot pressing plate – 20 of hot pressing device – 100 by means of gripper – 101, so as to perform hot pressing treatment on the battery cell – 200),
at least a first hot-pressing mechanism with a first hot-pressing plate (Fig. 2 paragraph [0039])
at least a second hot-pressing mechanism with a second hot-pressing plate (Fig. 2 paragraph [0039]),
a diaphragm clamping mechanism configured to provide a diaphragm positioned between the first hot-pressing plate and the second hot-pressing plate (Figs.4-7 paragraphs [0013] [0039] two ends of the protective film are respectively connected to the first clamping mechanism and the second clamping mechanism so as to keep the protective film in a tensioned state; protective film assembly – 30 protective film – 31 tensioning mechanism – 32); and
a jacking mechanism (Fig. 7 paragraphs [0064] second drive part – 3231 with two spacing adjustment mechanisms – 323 having a first movable part – 3232 and a second movable part – 3233 are respectively connected to the second drive part – 3231) comprising at least a driving assembly (Fig. 7. paragraph [0064] so that the first movable part – 3232 and the second movable part – 3233 can move relative to the second drive part – 3231 and a supporting assembly (Figs. 2-7 paragraphs [0009] [0039] support assembly comprising a support plate where support plate abuts against protective film which protrudes toward the second hot-pressing plate; support assembly – 40 support plate – 41)
wherein the driving assembly is configured to move the supporting assembly between the diaphragm and the second hot-pressing plate, and to jack the diaphragm toward the first hot-pressing plate, with a part of the diaphragm jacked by the supporting assembly forming a transferring-supporting surface for bearing a battery cell (Figs. 4-7 paragraph [0040] transfer mechanism – 42 used to drive the support plate – 41 toward the second hot pressing plate – 20 so that the support plate – 41 abuts against the protective film – 31, causing the center of the protective film – 31 to bulge toward the second hot press plate – 20 and since the dimension of the support plate – 41 is smaller than the dimension of the battery cell – 200 when battery cell – 200 is placed on the protective film – 31, the battery cell is at least partially suspended relative to the protective film – 31 conducive to the gripper – 101 to grasp it).
Wuxi1 further anticipates that the supporting assembly comprises at least two elongated jacking elements, which are arranged parallel to and spaced apart from each other (Fig. 3 paragraph [0059] tow spacing adjustment mechanisms – 323 are respectively disposed on both sides of the first hot press plate – 10 with the two ends of the first clamping mechanism – 321 and the second clamping mechanism – 322 respectively connected to the two spacing adjustment mechanisms – 323) and
wherein that the jacking elements comprise a first jacking element and a second jacking element, the driving assembly is configured to drive the first jacking element and the second jacking element close to or away from each other so that the first jacking element and the second jacking element enter into or exit from between the diaphragm and the second hot-pressing plate (Figs.4-7 paragraphs [0061] [0062] spacing adjustment mechanism – 323 made up of the first movable part – 3232 and the second movable part – 3233 whereby the distance between the first clamping mechanism – 321 and the second clamping mechanism – 322 is adjusted by the adjusting the distance between the first movable part – 323 and the second movable part – 3233; the driving assembly is configured to drive the first jacking element and the second jacking element to ascend and descend synchronously along the compression direction so as to lift or flatten the diaphragm ), and further (Figs. 4-7 paragraphs [0060] [0062] the two spacing adjustment mechanisms – 323 move synchronously during operation so that the two ends of the first clamping mechanism – 321 and the second clamping mechanism – 322 move simultaneously and thereby allowing the protective film – 31 to adjust its shape as the support plate – 41 or the second hot press plate – 20 moves).
Regarding Claim 2, Wuxi1 anticipates all the limitations of claim 1 and further anticipates that each of the first hot-pressing plate and the second hot- pressing plate is embedded with a heating rod therein. While Wuxi1 does not explicitly disclose that its heating plates are embedded with a heating rod, it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus, in this case heating plates with embedded heating rods, is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed invention. The manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself, In re Casey 152 USPQ 235.
Regarding Claim 5, Wuxi1 anticipates all the limitations of claim 1 and further anticipates that the diaphragm clamping mechanism is configured to provide a tensioning force for the diaphragm to tension the diaphragm (Figs. 2-4 paragraph [0039] two ends of the protective film – 31 are respectively connected to the tensioning mechanism – 32 so that the protective film is tensioned and set in the hot-pressing zone), and in a process of the driving assembly driving the supporting assembly to retract (Figs. 4, 6 paragraph [0056] support plate – 41 moves toward the first hot press plate – 10 to release its supporting effect on the protective film – 31), the diaphragm is configured to gradually flatten, driven by the tensioning force of the diaphragm clamping mechanism (Fig. 7 paragraph [0056] when the first clamping mechanism – 321 and the second clamping mechanism – 322 move away from each other the protective film – 31 returns to a flat and unfolded state)
Regarding Claim 6, Wuxi1 anticipates all the limitations of claim 5 and further anticipates that the diaphragm clamping mechanism comprises a tensioning element and clamping plates distributed on opposing edges of the second hot-pressing plate (Figs. 3, 6 paragraph [0061] the end of the first movable part – 3232 is connected to the first clamping mechanism – 321 and the end of the second movable part – 3233 is connected to the second clamping mechanism – 322 both away from the second driving part – 3231 uses to drive the movable part to move closer to or further away from each other to adjust the first and second clamping mechanisms), and two ends of the diaphragm are clamped respectively by the clamping plates on two sides and are tensioned by the tensioning element (Figs. 3, 6 paragraph [0062] in this way the second driving part -3231 is indirectly connected to the first and second clamping mechanism through the first and second movable parts to adjust the distance between the clamping mechanisms thereby allowing the protective film to adjust its shape as the support plate – 41 or the second hot press plate – 20 moves).
Regarding Claim 7, Wuxi1 anticipates all the limitations of claim 6 and further anticipates that the diaphragm clamping mechanism further comprises a supporting plate extending from the clamping plate on one side to the clamping plate on the other side, and the clamping plates on the two sides are slidably mounted on the supporting plate (Fig.3. paragraphs [0052] [0053] first driving part – 4221 drives support plate – 41 to move along a track – 4222 outside the hot pressing zone where the track can be a slide rail).
Regarding Claim 8, Wuxi1 anticipates all the limitations of claim 1 and further anticipates that the hot-pressing drive mechanism is configured to drive the first hot-pressing plate and the second hot-pressing plate close to each other (Figs. 2-7 paragraph [0055] spacing adjustment mechanism – 323 used to drive the first clamping mechanism – 321 and the second clamping mechanism – 322 to closer to each other), so that the first hot-pressing mechanism drive the diaphragm to move in order to conform to a bearing surface of the second hot- pressing plate (Figs. 2-7 paragraph [0055] so that he protective film – 31 is in a first state or a second state and the protective film – 31 remains in a tensioned state when switching between the first state and the second state).
Regarding Claim 9, Wuxi1 anticipates all the limitations of claim 1and further anticipates that the diaphragm clamping mechanism is configured to releasing or tightening the diaphragm which has been clamped, and the hot-pressing drive mechanism is configured to drive the first hot-pressing plate and the second hot-pressing plate close to each other (Figs. 2-7 paragraph [0055] when the third drive mechanism drives the first clamping mechanism -= 321 and the second clamping mechanism – 322 to move toward each other reducing the distance between them), so that the first hot-pressing mechanism forces the diaphragm clamping mechanism to release the diaphragm in order for the diaphragm being driven to move to conform to a bearing surface of the second hot- pressing plate (Figs. 2-7 paragraphs [0055] [0056] this adjusts the shape of the protective film – 31 changing it from a flat, stretched tension state to a tension state where it partially protrudes relative to the first hot press plate -10).
Regarding Claim 10, Wuxi1 anticipates all the limitations of claim 1 and further anticipates that the diaphragm clamping mechanism is slidably provided along a compressing direction (Fig. 2-7 paragraphs [0053] [0054] first adjusting mechanism slidably driven to move along the track – 4222 to drive the support plate – 41 to move toward the second hot press plate – 20 the third drive mechanism drives the first clamping mechanism – 321 and the second clamping mechanism – 322 to move toward each other reducing the distance between them ensuring that the protective film – 31 can adaptively adjust its shape to follow the movement of the support plate – 41),
the first hot-pressing mechanism further comprises a down- pressing element, and the hot-pressing drive mechanism is configured to drive the first hot-pressing plate and the second hot-pressing plate close to each other, so that the down-pressing element is configured to press against and drive the diaphragm clamping mechanism to move along the compressing direction in order for the diaphragm to conform to the bearing surface of the second hot-pressing plate (Figs. 4-7 paragraph [0066] under the drive of the first clamping mechanism – 321 and the second clamping mechanism – 322 the protective film – 31 moves toward the first hot press plate – 10 along the first direction – X until the protective film – 31 adheres to the first hot press plate – 10 so that the protective film – 31 switches to the second state).
Regarding Claim 11, Wuxi1 anticipates all the limitations of claim 10 and further anticipates that the second hot-pressing mechanism further comprises a guide pillar and an elastic element, the guide pillar extends in the compressing direction (Fig. 7 paragraphs [0065] [0068] [0069] abutment block – 326 elastic member – 325) , the diaphragm clamping mechanism is sleeved onto the guide pillar (Figs. 6-7 paragraph [0068] tensioning mechanism – 32 further includes an abutment block – 326 disposed on the side of the first movable portion – 3232 and the second movable portion – 3233 of the spacing adjustment mechanism – 323),
the diaphragm clamping mechanism under support of the elastic element drives the diaphragm to be arranged spaced from the bearing surface of the second hot-pressing plate (paragraph [0013] spacing adjustment mechanism is used to drive the first clamping mechanism and the second clamping mechanism to move closer to or further away from each other to adjust the distance between the first and second clamping mechanisms, so as to keep the protective film in a tensioned state), and
the hot-pressing drive mechanism is configured to drive the first hot-pressing plate and the second hot-pressing plate close to each other, so that the down-pressing element overcomes elastic force of the elastic element and drives the diaphragm clamping mechanism to move along the compressing direction (Fig. 5 paragraph [0069] second hot press plate – 20 moves toward the first hot press plate – 10 so that the elastic member – 325 is compressed and deformed whereby the first and second clamping mechanisms (321, 322) move along and drive the protective film – 31 toward the first hot press plate – 10 until the protective film – 31 adheres to the first hot press plate – 10).
Regarding Claim 15, Wuxi1 anticipates all the limitations of claim 14 and further anticipates that the driving assembly comprises an elevation drive element, an elevation plate, a translation drive element, and an installation plate (Fig. 5 paragraphs [0039] [0076] second mounting plate (elevation plate) – 324– abutment block – 326 (elevation drive element) provides a force to the second mounting plate – 324; transfer mechanism – 42 (transfer drive element) first mounting plate – 50 (installation plate)) , the elevation plate is installed on a driving end of the elevation drive element and configured of ascending and descending along the compressing direction driven by the elevation drive element (Figs 5-6 paragraph [0069] the abutment block – 326 provides a force to the second mounting plate – 324 toward the first hot press plate – 10 so that the elastic member – 325 is compressed an deformed causing the second mounting plate – 324 to move toward the first mounting plate – 50) ,
the translation drive element and the installation plate are both installed on the elevation plate (Figs. 4-7 paragraph [0045] transfer mechanism – 42 (translation drive element) disposed on the first mounting plate – 50 (installation plate) second mounting plate (elevation plate) – 324 is movably connected to the first mounting plate (installation plate) – 50),
the first jacking element and the second jacking element are slidably installed on the installation plate (Fig. 3 paragraph [0053] the first adjustment mechanism – 421 movably connected to the track – 4222 which can be a slide rail) and the translation drive element is configured to drive the first jacking element and the second jacking element close to or away from each other along the installation plate (Fig. 3 paragraph [0039] the first adjustment mechanism – 421 and the support plate – 41 driven by the transfer mechanism – 42 to move towards the second hot press plate – 20) .
Regarding Claim 16, Wuxi1 anticipates all the limitations of claim 15 and further anticipates that the installation plate is provided with a restraining plate (Fig. 5 paragraph [0068] auxiliary plate (restraining plate not referenced) disposed on second hot pressing plate – 20 abuts against the abutment block – 326 so and extends toward the first hot pressing plate – 10 so that the tensioning mechanism – 32 moves toward the first mounting plate (installation plate) – 50), and
the translation drive element is configured to drive the first jacking element and the second jacking element close to each other along the installation plate so that the first jacking element and the second jacking element abut against the restraining plate (Figs 2-7 paragraphs [0014] [0048] two spacing adjustment mechanisms and the two transfer mechanisms are respectively disposed on both sides of the first hot press plate where the auxiliary plate is disposed on the second hot pressing plate – 20 and extends toward the first hot pressing plate – 10 and when the second hot pressing plate – 20 moves toward the first hot pressing plate – 10 the auxiliary plate abuts against the abutment block – 326)
Regarding Claim 17, Wuxi1 anticipates all the limitations of claim 15 and further anticipates that two driving assemblies are located on two sides of an extending direction of the first jacking element and the second jacking element, and each driving assembly comprises two translation drive elements which are in transmission connection with the first jacking element and the second jacking element respectively Fig. 2 paragraphs [0014] [0046] [0047]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wuxi (applicant) and an anonymous inventor, hereinafter known as Wuxi1 (CN219017721U) with machine translation in view of Wuxi (applicant) and an anonymous inventor, hereinafter known as Wuxi2 (CN116093407U) with machine translation.
Regarding Claim 3, Wuxi1 discloses all the limitations of claim 1 but is silent as to a plurality of first hot-pressing mechanisms and a plurality of second hot-pressing mechanisms.
Wuxi2 discloses a plurality of first hot-pressing mechanisms and the plurality of second hot-pressing mechanisms are alternately laminated in a compressing direction (Fig. 2 paragraphs [0078] [0079] [0109]where first and second hot-pressed parts are slid and switched between first and second hot-pressing loading and unloading stations and platforms with first, second, third and fourth hot press platforms with switching), and the first hot-pressing plate of each first hot-pressing mechanism and the second hot-pressing plate of an each adjacent second hot-pressing mechanism are provided oppositely to form a laminating space for placing the battery cell (Fig. 1 paragraph [0067] second hot pressing platform – 312 is disposed opposite to the first hot pressing plat form – 311).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined Wuxi1 with Wuxi2 whereby a plurality of first hot-pressing mechanisms and a plurality of second hot pressing mechanisms would be included in the disclosure of Wuxi1. This would be considered by one with ordinary skill as advantageous because this integrates multiple functions and therefore can reduce the number of parts in the entire hot press and reduces the manufacturing cost of the hot press (paragraph [0109]).
Regarding Claim 18, Wuxi1 discloses all the limitations of claim 1 but is silent wherein the first hot-pressing mechanism further comprises a short circuit detection assembly.
Wuxi2 discloses that a first hot pressing platform comprises a short circuit detection assembly (Fig.1 paragraph [0089] pressing platform – 311 may be equipped with a Hi-pot (High Potential Test Electrical Safety Test) component where the resistance value of the battery cell can be tested and the presence of a micro short circuit can be detected, thus enriching the functions of the hot press – 100).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wuxi (applicant) and an anonymous inventor, hereinafter known as Wuxi1 (CN219017721U) with machine translation in view of Wuxi (applicant) and an anonymous inventor, hereinafter known as Wuxi2 (CN116093407U) with machine translation as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Wuxi (applicant) and an anonymous inventor, hereinafter known as Wuxi3 (CN213936291U) with machine translation.
Regarding Claim 4, Wuxi1 discloses all the limitations of claim 3 but does not disclose that the hot-pressing assembly comprises a blowing assembly.
Wuxi3 discloses a first hot-pressing mechanism comprising a blowing assembly, configured to blow air to the battery cell in the laminating space. (Fig. 6 paragraphs [0015] [0080] pressure plate – 411 has an air blowing hole in the side facing the support plate – 421 used to blow air into the batter cell between the pressure plate -411 and the support plate – 421.
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill to have combined these disclosures because the blown air directed into the laminating space so that after the hot press plate flattens the battery cell and rises, the plate will separate from the battery cell because the blown air prevents the plate from taking the battery cell away (Fig. 6 paragraph [0080]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wuxi (applicant) and an anonymous inventor, hereinafter known as Wuxi1 (CN219017721U) with machine translation.
Regarding Claim 13, Wuxi1 anticipates all the limitations of claim 12, but is silent as to the jacking elements configured as jacking rollers.
However, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to have used rollers as the jacking elements of claim 12 to jack up the diaphragm using the supporting assembly because this would be an example of applying a known technique to a known device (or “base” device) ready for improvement (using rollers as a technique) to yield predictable results (MPEP § 2143 I (D))
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wuxi (applicant) and an anonymous inventor, hereinafter known as Wuxi1 (CN219017721U) with machine translation in view Guo (CN203859945U) with machine translation.
Regarding Claim 19, Wuxi1 discloses all the limitations of claim 1 but is silent as to the first hot-pressing mechanism further comprising a first and second restraining block, configured of moving synchronously with a first and second hot- pressing plate, respectively.
Guo, in an analogous art of hot pressing from both sides a printed circuit board (PCB), discloses that the first hot-pressing mechanism further comprises a first restraining block, configured of moving synchronously with the first hot- pressing plate (Fig. 1 paragraph [0020] , heating plate – 6 with upper stop blocks – 9 are respectively arranged on two sides of the heating plate – 6 at the bottom of the pressing plate – 5 where the pressing plate – 5 penetrates through the guide pillars – 8 and can move up and down along the guide pillars – 8) the second hot-pressing mechanism further comprise a second restraining block which is provided fixed relative to the second hot-pressing plate (Fig. 1 paragraphs [0008] [0020] hot-pressing table – 1 with two lower stop blocks – 10, where hot-pressing table – 1 is fixed).
the second hot-pressing mechanism further comprises a second restraining block which is provided fixedly relative to the second hot-pressing plate; the first restraining block has a first position and a second position, and when the first restraining block is in the first position, the first hot-pressing plate configured to move toward the second hot-pressing plate, so that the first restraining block abuts against the second restraining block, before the first hot-pressing plate abuts against the second hot-pressing plate (Fig. 1 paragraphs [0013] [0021] sides of hot plate – 6 are provided with two upper blocks (dog) – 9 respectively, and correspondingly on the hot pressing platform – 1 are provided with two lower blocks (dog) – 10 whereby when an abnormal working state is reached the upper block – 9 and the lower block – 10 are in mutual contact – and a better protection effect is achieved; when the first restraining block is in the second position, it is configured to give way to the second restraining block (Fig. 2, paragraph [0019] movable shaft sleeve – 14 and a positioning shaft – 15 where a barrier strip – 13 (restraining block) is sleeved on the positioning shaft through the movable shaft sleeve – 14 where this barrier strip – 13 can rotate 360 degrees by taking the positioning shaft as a fulcrum).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the disclosure of Wuxi1 with the teachings of Guo whereby a first hot-pressing mechanism and a second hot-pressing mechanism further comprises a first and second restraining block, respectively, such that when the first restraining block abuts against the second restraining block before the first hot-pressing plate abuts against the second hot-pressing plate, when in this second position, it is configured to give way to the second restraining block, as taught by Guo.
The skilled artisan would favor this configuration for the hot-pressing apparatus because the presence of first and second restraining blocks on the respective first and second hot-pressing plates prevents the hot plate to crush the article (PCB or battery) and being damaged by the second hot-pressing plate (paragraphs [0013] [0021]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wuxi (applicant) and an anonymous inventor, hereinafter known as Wuxi1 (CN219017721U) with machine translation in view of Wuxi (applicant) an anonymous inventor, hereinafter known as Wuxi4 (CN209843853U) with machine translation
Regarding Claim 20, Wuxi1 anticipates all the limitations of claim 20, but does not disclose that it comprises a rack with a guiding rod.
Wuxi4 discloses a hot pressing device for manufacturing batteries with a rack (Fig. 1 paragraphs [0014] [0033] hot pressing device – 100 includes a frame – 10) which is provided with a guiding rod extending along a compressing direction (Fig.1 paragraph [0039] drive mechanism – 60 includes a telescopic rod – 62 driven to reciprocate) and a guiding sleeve slidably sleeved onto the guiding rod (Fig. 1 paragraph [0039] drive body – 61 which may be a booster cylinder), the second hot-pressing mechanism is fixedly installed on the rack, and the first hot-pressing mechanism is provided on the guiding sleeve and is in a transmission connection with the hot-pressing drive mechanism (Fig.1 paragraph [0039] driving force of the drive mechanism – 60 with drive body and telescopic rod is greater than the driving force of the first clamping mechanism – 40. The drive mechanism will compress the first drive member – 41 at the same time and forms a pressure plane, to further pressurize the battery cell – 50 clamped by the pressure plane).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to have modified the disclosure of Wuxi1 with the teachings of Wuxi4 whereby a hot-pressing apparatus with a first hot-pressing mechanism and a second hot-pressing mechanism and with a driving assembly for making a battery cell would provide a feature of a rack provided with a guiding rod extending along a compressing direction and guiding sleeve slidably sleeved onto the guiding rod and is in a transmission connection with the hot-pressing drive mechanism.
This would be considered by the one with ordinary skill to be an improvement because in this way the hot pressing efficiency of the battery cell is improved (abs, paragraph [0020]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WAYNE K. SWIER/Examiner, Art Unit 1748 /JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748