DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed on December 27, 2024. In view of this communication, claims 1-20 are now pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7 and 18 recites the limitation "electric vehicle". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected purely from being dependent from 7 and 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated NAKAYAMA (US 20220239176 A1).
Regarding claim 1, NAKAYAMA teaches:
A motor (Fig 1; 100)comprising:
a stator assembly(Fig 1; 130); and
a rotor assembly (Fig 1; 150) configured to be rotatable relative to the stator assembly(Fig 1; 130)[0018],
wherein the stator assembly (Fig 1; 130)comprises:
a stator core (Fig 3; 132)having stator slots(Fig 3; 122)[0025];
a winding arrangement made up of windings(Fig 3; 138)(a plurality of U0shaped segments [0027]), the winding arrangement comprising a non-exposed portion where a portion of the each of the windings (Fig 3; 138)is inserted within respective ones of the stator slots(Fig 3; 122) and an exposed portion where a top-most end of each of the windings extends outward from the stator core(Fig 3; 132) (The segment coil is disposed such that one end thereof is adjacent to the other segment coil and the other end thereof is further adjacent to the other segment coil such that the end thereof is exposed from the slot)[0027] ; and
a busbar (Fig 3/4; 140) comprising at least one jumper (Fig 4; 145/146) that electrically connects one or more of the windings to one another[0042], the busbar (Fig 4; 140) being installed onto the winding arrangement (Fig 3; 138)without covering the top-most end of each of the windings(as shown in Fig 3; the busbar 140 does not cover the winding heads of 138).
Regarding claim 2, NAKAYAMA teaches the motor of claim 1:
wherein the windings (Fig 3; 138)are arranged in a hairpin configuration(U-shaped[0027]).
Regarding claim 3, NAKAYAMA teaches the motor of claim 1:
wherein the exposed portion of the winding arrangement (Fig 3; 138) contributes to a height of the motor, and the busbar (Fig 3; 140)being installed onto the winding arrangement(Fig 3; 138) without contributing any additional height to the height of the motor(the winding heads of 138 are shown to be axially hire than busbar 140).
Regarding claim 4, NAKAYAMA teaches the motor of claim 3:
wherein the busbar(Fig 4; 140) is disposed on a first side of the exposed portion of the winding arrangement(Fig 3; 138) that is closer to an inner surface (Fig 4; 145)of the stator core (Fig 3; 132)than an outer surface (Fig 4; 146)of the stator core(the busbar 140 expands the radial length of the winding arrangement 138 with inner jumper 145 and outer jumper 146 as shown in Fig 4).
Regarding claim 5, NAKAYAMA teaches the motor of claim 4:
wherein the at least one jumper (Fig 4; 146)of the busbar is disposed on a second side of the exposed portion of the winding (Fig 3; 138)that is closer to the outer surface of the stator core(Fig 3; 132) than the inner surface of the stator core(Fig 3; 132).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAKAYAMA (US 20220239176 A1)
In regards to claim 9, NAKAYAMA teaches the motor of claim 1:
wherein each of the windings (Fig 3; 138) comprises a same first thickness, and the at least one jumper (Fig 4; 145/146)of the busbar has a second thickness that is identical to the first thickness.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify NAKAYAMA because they disclosed the winding and jumper except for the size of their thickness. It would have been an obvious matter of making them the same thickness in order to simplify manufactory. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 ISPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
In regards to claim 10, NAKAYAMA teaches the motor of claim 1:
wherein each of the windings (Fig 3; 138)comprises a same first thickness, and the at least one jumper (Fig 4; 145/146)of the busbar has a second thickness that is thicker than the first thickness.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify NAKAYAMA because they disclosed the winding and jumper except for the size of their thickness. It would have been an obvious matter of making the jumper thicker than the winding in order to improve busbar strength. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 ISPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAKAYAMA (US 20220239176 A1), in view of MOYA (US 20240136878 A1).
In regards to claim 6, NAKAYAMA teaches the motor of claim 2:
wherein each of the windings(Fig 3; 138)is a hairpin winding segment(U-shaped[0027]).
NAKAYAMA does not teach:
first and second legs, each of the first and second legs having an in-slot portion that is inserted into one of the stator slots and an open end portion that is exposed outside of the stator core, the open end portion of the first and second legs being a first part of the exposed portion of the winding arrangement; and
an endturn portion formed between the first and second legs, the endturn portion being a second part of the exposed portion of the winding arrangement.
MOYA teaches:
first and second legs(Fig 16b; 22e/f), each of the first and second legs (Fig 16b; 22e/f)having an in-slot portion that is inserted into one of the stator slots and an open end portion that is exposed outside of the stator core[0164-0167], the open end portion of the first and second legs (Fig 16b; 22e/f) being a first part of the exposed portion of the winding arrangement(Fig 16b; 10); and
an endturn portion (Fig 16b; 22a-c)formed between the first and second legs(Fig 16b; 22e/f), the endturn portion(Fig 16b; 22a-c) being a second part of the exposed portion of the winding arrangement(Fig 16b; 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify NAKAYAMA by using the specific hairpin structure taught by MOYA, in order to create better compactness of the stator [MOYA 0020].
In regards to claim 7, NAKAYAMA in view of MOYA, teaches the motor of claim 6:
the busbar (Fig 4; 140)further comprising a busbar body(Fig 4; 141) that receives one or more ends of the at least one jumper (Fig 4; 145/146)and electrically connects the at least one jumper (Fig 4; 145/146)to other electrical components of the electric vehicle(Fig 4; 142), and
the busbar (Fig 3; 140)is installed onto the winding arrangement (Fig 3; 138)without any part of the busbar body (Fig 4; 141)covering the first part of the exposed portion of the winding arrangement (Fig 3; 138)formed by the open end portion of the first and second legs(Fig 3 shows.
NAKAYAMA does not teach:
the endturn portion forms a V-shape with a top-most portion of the endturn forming a tip of the V-shape and a bottom-most portion of the endturn being connected to the first and second legs.
MOYA teaches:
the endturn portion (Fig 16b; 22a-c)forms a V-shape (shown in Fig 16b)with a top-most portion of the endturn (Fig 16b; 22a)forming a tip of the V-shape and a bottom-most portion of the endturn (Fig 16b; 22b/c)being connected to the first and second legs(Fig 16b; 22e/f),
In regards to claim 8, NAKAYAMA in view of MOYA, teaches the motor of claim 7:
wherein the busbar(Fig 3; 140) is installed onto the winding arrangement (Fig 3; 138) without any part of the at least one jumper(Fig 4; 145/146) covering the first part of the exposed portion of the winding arrangement (Fig 3; 138)formed by the open end portion of the first and second legs(the jumpers 145/146 are arranged radially to the winding heads 138 as shown in Fig 4).
Claim(s) 11-16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAKAYAMA (US 20220239176 A1), in view of TAKAHASHI(US 20220216760 A1).
In regards to claim 11, NAKAYAMA teaches the motor of claim 1.
NAKAYAMA does not teach:
wherein the motor is an in-wheel motor for an electric vehicle.
TAKAHASHI teaches:
wherein the motor is an in-wheel motor (Fig 45; 500)for an electric vehicle[0419,0421].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify NAKAYAMA by using the in wheel motor application to a brake assembly of an electric vehicle taught by TAKAHASHI, in order to give the motor commercial application in the electrical vehicle space [TAKAHASHI abstract].
In regards to claim 12, NAKAYAMA teaches:
a stator assembly(Fig 1; 130); and
a rotor assembly (Fig 1; 150) configured to be rotatable relative to the stator assembly(Fig 1; 130)[0018],
wherein the stator assembly (Fig 1; 130)comprises:
a stator core (Fig 3; 132)having stator slots(Fig 3; 122)[0025];
a winding arrangement made up of windings(Fig 3; 138)(a plurality of U0shaped segments [0027]), the winding arrangement comprising a non-exposed portion where a portion of the each of the windings (Fig 3; 138)is inserted within respective ones of the stator slots(Fig 3; 122) and an exposed portion where a top-most end of each of the windings extends outward from the stator core(Fig 3; 132) (The segment coil is disposed such that one end thereof is adjacent to the other segment coil and the other end thereof is further adjacent to the other segment coil such that the end thereof is exposed from the slot)[0027] ; and
a busbar (Fig 3/4; 140) comprising at least one jumper (Fig 4; 145/146) that electrically connects one or more of the windings to one another[0042], the busbar (Fig 4; 140) being installed onto the winding arrangement (Fig 3; 138)without covering the top-most end of each of the windings(as shown in Fig 3; the busbar 140 does not cover the winding heads of 138).
NAKAYAMA does not teach:
A vehicle comprising:
one or more road wheels configured to cause the vehicle to move;
a steering wheel configured to generate an input for controlling the one or more road wheels;
a brake assembly configured to operate a vehicle brake associated with the one or more road wheels; and
one or more motors operatively connected to one or more of the one or more road wheels, the steering wheel, and the brake assembly, at least one of the motors comprising:
TAKAHASHI teaches:
A vehicle [0419]comprising:
one or more road wheels(Fig 45; 400) configured to cause the vehicle to move[0421];
a steering wheel configured to generate an input for controlling the one or more road wheels(Fig 45; 400)[0421];
a brake assembly [0424]configured to operate a vehicle brake associated with the one or more road wheels[0421]; and
one or more motors (Fig 45; 500)operatively connected to one or more of the one or more road wheels(Fig 45; 400), the steering wheel, and the brake assembly[0424], at least one of the motors comprising:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify NAKAYAMA by using the in wheel motor application to a brake assembly of an electric vehicle taught by TAKAHASHI, in order to give the motor commercial application in the electrical vehicle space [TAKAHASHI abstract].
Regarding claim 13, NAKAYAMA in view of TAKAHASHI, teaches the motor of claim 12:
wherein the windings (Fig 3; 138)are arranged in a hairpin configuration(U-shaped[0027]).
Regarding claim 14, NAKAYAMA in view of TAKAHASHI, teaches the motor of claim 12:
wherein the exposed portion of the winding arrangement (Fig 3; 138) contributes to a height of the motor, and the busbar (Fig 3; 140)being installed onto the winding arrangement(Fig 3; 138) without contributing any additional height to the height of the motor(the winding heads of 138 are shown to be axially hire than busbar 140).
Regarding claim 15, NAKAYAMA in view of TAKAHASHI ,teaches the motor of claim 14:
wherein the busbar(Fig 4; 140) is disposed on a first side of the exposed portion of the winding arrangement(Fig 3; 138) that is closer to an inner surface (Fig 4; 145)of the stator core (Fig 3; 132)than an outer surface (Fig 4; 146)of the stator core(the busbar 140 expands the radial length of the winding arrangement 138 with inner jumper 145 and outer jumper 146 as shown in Fig 4).
Regarding claim 16, NAKAYAMA in view of TAKAHASHI, teaches the motor of claim 15:
wherein the at least one jumper (Fig 4; 146)of the busbar is disposed on a second side of the exposed portion of the winding (Fig 3; 138)that is closer to the outer surface of the stator core(Fig 3; 132) than the inner surface of the stator core(Fig 3; 132).
In regards to claim 20, NAKAYAMA in view of TAKAHASHI, teaches the motor of claim 12:
wherein each of the windings (Fig 3; 138) comprises a same first thickness, and the at least one jumper (Fig 4; 145/146)of the busbar has a second thickness that is identical to the first thickness.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify NAKAYAMA because they disclosed the winding and jumper except for the size of their thickness. It would have been an obvious matter of making them the same thickness in order to simplify manufactory. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 ISPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAKAYAMA (US 20220239176 A1), in view of TAKAHASHI(US 20220216760 A1), in further view of MOYA (US 20240136878 A1).
Regarding claim 17, NAKAYAMA in view of TAKAHASHI ,teaches the motor of claim 13:
wherein each of the windings(Fig 3; 138)is a hairpin winding segment(U-shaped[0027]).
Combination NAKAYAMA/TAKAHASHI does not teach:
first and second legs, each of the first and second legs having an in-slot portion that is inserted into one of the stator slots and an open end portion that is exposed outside of the stator core, the open end portion of the first and second legs being a first part of the exposed portion of the winding arrangement; and
an endturn portion formed between the first and second legs, the endturn portion being a second part of the exposed portion of the winding arrangement.
MOYA teaches:
first and second legs(Fig 16b; 22e/f), each of the first and second legs (Fig 16b; 22e/f)having an in-slot portion that is inserted into one of the stator slots and an open end portion that is exposed outside of the stator core[0164-0167], the open end portion of the first and second legs (Fig 16b; 22e/f) being a first part of the exposed portion of the winding arrangement(Fig 16b; 10); and
an endturn portion (Fig 16b; 22a-c)formed between the first and second legs(Fig 16b; 22e/f), the endturn portion(Fig 16b; 22a-c) being a second part of the exposed portion of the winding arrangement(Fig 16b; 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify NAKAYAMA by using the specific hairpin structure taught by MOYA, in order to create better compactness of the stator [MOYA 0020].
Regarding claim 18, NAKAYAMA in view of TAKAHASHI, in further view of MOYA teaches the motor of claim 17:
the busbar (Fig 4; 140)further comprising a busbar body(Fig 4; 141) that receives one or more ends of the at least one jumper (Fig 4; 145/146)and electrically connects the at least one jumper (Fig 4; 145/146)to other electrical components of the electric vehicle(Fig 4; 142), and
the busbar (Fig 3; 140)is installed onto the winding arrangement (Fig 3; 138)without any part of the busbar body (Fig 4; 141)covering the first part of the exposed portion of the winding arrangement (Fig 3; 138)formed by the open end portion of the first and second legs(Fig 3 shows.
Combination NAKAYAMA/TAKAHASHI does not teach:
the endturn portion forms a V-shape with a top-most portion of the endturn forming a tip of the V-shape and a bottom-most portion of the endturn being connected to the first and second legs.
MOYA teaches:
the endturn portion (Fig 16b; 22a-c)forms a V-shape (shown in Fig 16b)with a top-most portion of the endturn (Fig 16b; 22a)forming a tip of the V-shape and a bottom-most portion of the endturn (Fig 16b; 22b/c)being connected to the first and second legs(Fig 16b; 22e/f),
In regards to claim 19, NAKAYAMA in view of TAKAHASHI, in further view of MOYA teaches the motor of claim 18:
wherein the busbar(Fig 3; 140) is installed onto the winding arrangement (Fig 3; 138) without any part of the at least one jumper(Fig 4; 145/146) covering the first part of the exposed portion of the winding arrangement (Fig 3; 138)formed by the open end portion of the first and second legs(the jumpers 145/146 are arranged radially to the winding heads 138 as shown in Fig 4).
Conclusion
/N.L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834