CTNF 19/003,547 CTNF 87360 DETAILED ACTION Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 4-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 10-12, 15, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang US 2022/0353317 hereinafter referred to as Wang in view of Stockhammer US 2022/0007086 hereinafter referred to as Stockhammer . In regards to claim 1 , Wang teaches: “A method for processing media data, comprising: determining a first syntax element ... and wherein the first syntax element indicates whether extended dependent random access point (EDRAP) samples are allowed to be present in one or more tracks ...” Wang paragraph [0049] teaches Signaling of EDRAP pictures using a supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message is adopted into the VSEI specification. An external stream track (EST) design for the ISOBMFF and/or an external stream representation (ESR) design for DASH may be used support EDRAP based video streaming. Wang paragraph [0050] teaches An external elementary stream is an elementary stream containing access units with external pictures. An external picture is a picture that is in the external elementary stream in an ESR and is needed for inter prediction reference in decoding of the elementary stream in the MSR when random accessing from certain EDRAP pictures in the MSR. Wang paragraph [0057] teaches in the configuration illustrated, the client performs random access by obtaining a segment from an ESR 114 in adaptation set 110 and a segment from a corresponding MSR 112 in adaptation set 111. The client can then use the EDRAP picture from the ESR 114 to begin decoding the segment from the MSR 112 for display to the user. “and performing a conversion between media data and a media data file based on the determining” Wang paragraph [0070] teaches At step 4204, a conver sion is performed between a visual media data and a media presentation based on the ESR. When the method 4200 is performed on an encoder, the conver sion comprises generating the media presentation from the visual media data. The conver sion includes determining the presence of both MSR(s) and ESR(s), and coding syntax elements to indicate that the ESR should be consumed in conjunction with one or more MSRs. When the method 4200 is performed on a decoder, the conver sion comprises parsing and decoding an adaptation set and/or representations, determining the presence of an ESR, and decoding the ESR in conjunction with a corresponding MSR to obtain the visual media data. Wang does not explicitly teach: “ [determine a syntax element] in an addressable resource index (ARI) track configuration box for an ARI track, wherein the ARI track is applied to a common media application format (CMAF) switching set” and “... indexed in the ARI track” Stockhammer teaches in the Abstract retrieve data of an addressable resource information (ARI) track of a media presentation, the data of the ARI track describing addressable resources and subsets of a switching set of the media presentation, the switching set comprising a plurality of media tracks including the addressable resources. Stockhammer paragraph [0006] teaches An ARI track, per the techniques of this disclosure, may describe details of addressable resources and/or subsets of a common media application format (CMAF) switching set in a single index track. The addressable resources may generally be individually retrievable sets of media data, such as track files, segments, or chunks in CMAF. Stockhammer paragraph [0209] Table 5 teaches a CMAF ARI configuration box. As indicated below the configuration box has various syntax elements used for various functions. TABLE-US-00005 class CmafAriMetaDataSampleEntry( ) extends MetaDataSampleEntry (‘cari’) { CmafAriConfigurationBox ( ); } aligned(8) class CmafAriConfigurationBox extends FullBox(‘cari’, version = 0, flags = 0) { unsigned int(32) switching_set_identifier; unsigned int(16) num_tracks; bit (1) quality_indicator_flag; for(i=1; i <= num_tracks; i++) { unsigned int(32) track_id; // provides the order of the tracks for each sample } // additional information on the CMAF Switching Set may be provided if (quality_indicator_flag) { string quality_identifier; } } It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified Wang in view of Stockhammer to have included the features of “[determine a syntax element] in an addressable resource index (ARI) track configuration box for an ARI track, wherein the ARI track is applied to a common media application format (CMAF) switching set” to transmit and receive digital video information more efficiently (Stockhammer [0003]). In regards to claim 10 , Wang/Stockhammer teach all the limitations of claim 1 and further teach: “wherein the conversion comprises generating the media data file from the media data” Wang paragraph [0011] teaches the conversion includes encoding the visual media data into the media data file. In regards to claim 11 Wang/Stockhammer teach all the limitations of claim 1 and further teach: “wherein the conversion comprises parsing the media data from the media data file” Wang paragraph [0070] teaches the conversion comprises parsing and decoding an adaptation set and/or representations, determining the presence of an ESR, and decoding the ESR in conjunction with a corresponding MSR to obtain the visual media data. In regards to claim 12 , Wang/Stockhammer teach all the limitations of claim 1 and claim 12 contains similar limitations. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected for similar reasoning as applied to claim 1. In regards to claim 15 , Wang/Stockhammer teach all the limitations of claim 1 and claim 15 contains similar limitations. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected for similar reasoning as applied to claim 1. In regards to claim 18 , Wang/Stockhammer teach all the limitations of claim 1 and claim 18 contains similar limitations. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected for similar reasoning as applied to claim 1 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2, 13, 16, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Stockhammer and further in view of Wang US 2022/0103847 hereinafter referred to as Wang II . In regards to claim 2 , Wang/Stockhammer tech all the limitations of claim 1 but do not explicitly teach: “wherein the first syntax element is coded using an unsigned integer with one bit” Wang II teaches in paragraph [0173] In one example, a presence flag that indicates whether the RAP picture ID is present in the DRAP indication is signaled, and when the flag is equal to a particular value, e.g., 1, the RAP picture ID is signaled in the DRAP indication SEI message, and when the flag is equal to another value, e.g., 0, the RAP picture ID is not signaled in the DRAP indication SEI message. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified Wang/Stockhammer in view of Wang II to have included the features of “wherein the first syntax element is coded using an unsigned integer with one bit” because As the number of connected user devices capable of receiving and displaying video increases, it is expected that the bandwidth demand for digital video usage will continue to grow Wang II [0003]). In regards to claim 13 , Wang/Stockhammer teach all the limitations of claim 12 and claim 13 contains similar limitations as in claim 2. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected for similar reasoning as applied to claim 2. In regards to claim 16 , Wang/Stockhammer teach all the limitations of claim 15 and claim 16 contains similar limitations as in claim 2. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected for similar reasoning as applied to claim 2. In regards to claim 19 , Wang/Stockhammer teach all the limitations of claim 18 and claim 19 contains similar limitations as in claim 2. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected for similar reasoning as applied to claim 2 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3, 14, 17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Stockhammer and further in view of Denouali et al. US 2023/0164371 hereinafter referred to as Denoual . In regards to claim 3 , Wang/Stockhammer tech all the limitations of claim 1 but do not explicitly teach: “wherein the EDRAP sample is a sample for which all subsequent samples in a same track in both decoding and output order can be correctly decoded provided that a closest preceding sequence access point (SAP) sample of type 1, 2, or 3 and zero or more preceding EDRAP samples are available when decoding the sample and subsequent samples” Denoual paragraph [0341] teaches An EDRAP sample is a sample after which all samples in decoding order can be correctly decoded if the closest initial sample preceding the EDRAP sample and one or more other identified EDRAP samples earlier in decoding order than the EDRAP sample are available for reference. DRAP and EDRAP samples may be signaled in ISO Base Media Files (or segments) with ‘drap’ and ‘edrp’ sample group, respectively. Denoual paragraph [00345] teaches for each EDRAP sample in a VVC track, all APSs (or other non-VCL NAL units in a VVC track or HEVC track) needed for decoding of the corresponding video elementary stream from that decoding time forward are in the initial sample (the initial sample is a SAP sample of SAP type 1, 2 or 3 that is marked as such either by being a Sync sample or by the SAP sample group for example sample 1200 in FIG. 12) or in the zero or more other identified EDRAP samples in the EDRAP sample group or in the succeeding samples. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified Wang/Stockhammer in view of Denoual to have included the features of “wherein the EDRAP sample is a sample for which all subsequent samples in a same track in both decoding and output order can be correctly decoded provided that a closest preceding sequence access point (SAP) sample of type 1, 2, or 3 and zero or more preceding EDRAP samples are available when decoding the sample and subsequent samples” because there is a need to improve the mechanisms making it possible to access a random picture in an encapsulated video stream (Denoual [0015]). In regards to claim 14 , Wang/Stockhammer teach all the limitations of claim 12 and claim 14 contains similar limitations as in claim 3. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected for similar reasoning as applied to claim 3. In regards to claim 17 , Wang/Stockhammer teach all the limitations of claim 15 and claim 17 contains similar limitations as in claim 3. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected for similar reasoning as applied to claim 3. In regards to claim 20 , Wang/Stockhammer teach all the limitations of claim 18 and claim 20 contains similar limitations as in claim 3. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected for similar reasoning as applied to claim 3. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL E TEITELBAUM, Ph.D. whose telephone number is (571)270-5996. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30AM-5:00PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, John Miller can be reached at 571-272-7353. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MICHAEL E TEITELBAUM, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2422 Application/Control Number: 19/003,547 Page 2 Art Unit: 2422 Application/Control Number: 19/003,547 Page 3 Art Unit: 2422 Application/Control Number: 19/003,547 Page 4 Art Unit: 2422 Application/Control Number: 19/003,547 Page 5 Art Unit: 2422 Application/Control Number: 19/003,547 Page 6 Art Unit: 2422 Application/Control Number: 19/003,547 Page 7 Art Unit: 2422 Application/Control Number: 19/003,547 Page 8 Art Unit: 2422 Application/Control Number: 19/003,547 Page 9 Art Unit: 2422 Application/Control Number: 19/003,547 Page 10 Art Unit: 2422