DETAILED ACTION
-Claims 1, 4, 9, 12, 15 and 18 are amended.
-Claims 7-8, 13-14 and 19-20 are cancelled.
-Objection to the drawings is withdrawn based on the filed replacement figures.
-The 112(a) rejection is withdrawn based on the claim amendments.
-The 101 rejections are withdrawn based on the claim amendments.
-Claims 1-6, 9-12 and 15-18 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Remarks filed on 8/6/2026 have been fully considered.
The 101 and 112 rejections are withdrawn based on the claim amendments.
The double patenting rejection is maintained until the final scope of the claims has been determined.
The argument regarding the newly added features is moot in view of the new ground of rejections necessitated by the claim amendments.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 9-12 and 15-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,277,097 in view of Chen et al (US Pub.No.2021/0049283) because the current claims are obvious over the claims of the issued patent in view of Chen. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the issued patent with Chen because a need arises for techniques to provide host side encryption while maintaining compression and deduplication benefits while providing communication between the host and the storage system that does not leak information about the data compressibility/ deduplication properties [Chen, para.0005].
Claims 1-6, 9-12 and 15-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,917,072 in view of Chen because the current claims are obvious over the claims of the issued patent in view of Chen. The same motivation to modify with Chen as above applies.
Claims 1-6, 9-12 and 15-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,601,257 in view of Chen because the current claims are obvious over the claims of the issued patent in view of Chen. The same motivation to modify with Chen as above applies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-12 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US Pub.No.2021/0049283) in view of Gopal et al (US Pub.No.2016/0380772).
Re Claim 1. Chen discloses a computer-implemented method of data encryption, comprising: [reading] an input data block; determining a compressibility of the input data block; compressing the input data block to generate an encrypted data block when the compressibility exceeds a predetermined threshold;
Chen does not explicitly disclose whereas Gopal does: selecting an encryption mode from a plurality of encryption modes (i.e. select one of multiple support cryptographic hash algorithms to be used) [Gopal, para.0041];
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chen with Gopal because it may also help to accelerate the implementation of keyed-hash MAC algorithms [Gopal, para.0024]. This motivation applies to the rest of the claim.
Chen further discloses: encrypting the compressed data block (i.e. may compress a data sector if it is sufficiently compressible ………………Host side write process 200 may begin at 202, in which a sector (or block or chunk) of data to be stored 108 may be compressed. Let x be the size of the sector after compression. ……. At 206, if the sector 108 has been compressed at 204 by k or more bytes, then a prefix (or suffix, the present techniques may be applied to either or both) may be created, the prefix having a size equal to the original sector size minus the size of the sector after compression (SECTOR_SIZE-x). The prefix may include metadata (for example, an encoding of the compressed length) plus a compressible sequence of, for example, zeros. At 208, the prefix of size (SECTOR_SIZE-x) 210 may be concatenated with the x bytes of the compressed sector that has been encrypted using the DEK 212) [Chen, para.0024, 0029, Fig.2] based on a keyed hash to generate an encrypted data block (i.e. the result of a sector encryption may depend on the data, on the encryption key, and on an initialization vector (IV)……………….. embodiments may derive the IV from a keyed-hash (the key being, for example, the DEK) of the plaintext data) [Chen, para.0038-0039],
Gopal further discloses: wherein a subset of the keyed hash is used for encrypting the compressed data block based on the selected encryption mode (i.e. the encryption of the key information is to include an encryption of at least one evaluation of a portion of the keyed-hash MAC algorithm that is to involve a cryptographic key) [Gopal, para.0165, 0041];
Chen further discloses: and providing the encrypted data block and associated metadata in parallel to a storage controller (i.e. A data sector may be compressed and encrypted using the DEK. The encrypted compressed sector data may then be concatenated with compressible padding to form a sector of the original length. Some metadata may also be added as part of the padding. The new padded block may then be encrypted with the DRK and sent to the storage) [Chen, para.0028], (i.e. the prefix of size (SECTOR_SIZE-x) 210 may be concatenated with the x bytes of the compressed sector that has been encrypted using the DEK 212. At 214, the concatenated data may be encrypted using the Data Reduction Key (DRK) 126 and the encrypted compressed sector data may be sent to storage system 104 for storage) [Chen, para.0029], the associated metadata comprising an indication of the compressibility and the keyed hash (i.e. if the sector 108 has been compressed at 204 by k or more bytes, then a prefix (or suffix, the present techniques may be applied to either or both) may be created, the prefix having a size equal to the original sector size minus the size of the sector after compression (SECTOR_SIZE-x). The prefix may include metadata (for example, an encoding of the compressed length) plus a compressible sequence of, for example, zeros. ……………..this IV may be added to the encrypted sector in order to allow decryption) [Chen, para. 0029, 0039, see also 0048. Note: the IV as, described in 0039 may be the keyed-hash].
Chen does not explicitly disclose reading the input data block; however, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chen to include “reading” because it is expected to obtain an input via a read operation.
Chen further discloses: and performing deduplication of the encrypted data block against a plurality of additional encrypted data blocks where the deduplication is performed by the storage controller (i.e. The key-compressible algorithm described allows a storage with deduplication capabilities to identify sequences of identical sectors among the compressible sectors……………. Once these hashes are decrypted on the storage system, the storage system may utilize the information regarding the hashes of both compressible and uncompressible sectors to perform deduplication on all the encrypted data) [Chen, para.0049].
Re Claim 2. Chen in view of Gopal discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein reading the input data block comprises reading a data stream and extracting the input data block therefrom (i.e. embodiments of processes may be carried out at the host for each data block, sector, or chunk) [Chen, para.0028, Note: since the process is repeated for each data block, this teaches a plurality of blocks and therefore it implies reading a data stream].
Re Claim 3. Chen in view of Gopal discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein determining the compressibility of the input data block comprises compressing the input data and comparing a compressed length thereof to an uncompressed length thereof (i.e. if the sector 108 has been compressed at 204 by k or more bytes, then a prefix (or suffix, the present techniques may be applied to either or both) may be created, the prefix having a size equal to the original sector size minus the size of the sector after compression (SECTOR_SIZE-x). The prefix may include metadata (for example, an encoding of the compressed length) plus a compressible sequence of, for example, zeros. ……………..this IV may be added to the encrypted sector in order to allow decryption) [Chen, para. 0029].
Re Claim 4. Chen in view of Gopal discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein said encrypting comprises applying a convergent encryption scheme (i.e. derive the IV from a keyed-hash (the key being, for example, the DEK) of the plaintext data) [Chen, para.0039].
Re Claim 5. Chen in view of Gopal discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the keyed hash is computed from the data block (i.e. derive the IV from a keyed-hash (the key being, for example, the DEK) of the plaintext data………. the prefix of compressed sectors may contain the hash of the data (the initialization vector)) [Chen, para.0039, 0048].
Re Claim 6. Chen in view of Gopal discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the indication of the compressibility is a binary flag (i.e. When determining whether the sector sent by the host side was originally compressible, the storage system may attempt to decrypt just the beginning of the sector using the DRK. If the beginning of the sector does not contain the compressible data pattern (for example, a sequence of zeros), then the storage needs not decrypt the rest of the sector, and may store it without further modifications) [Chen, para.0010, 0040].
Re Claims 9-12. These claims recite features similar to 1-4, respectively, therefore they are rejected in a similar manner.
Re Claims 15-18. These claims recite features similar to 1-4 and 7-8, respectively, therefore they are rejected in a similar manner.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NOURA ZOUBAIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434