DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 15 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 15, line 2, “second update unit” implies that there is a first update unit, however, no first update unit is contained in the language of claim 15 or in claim 10, upon which claim 15 depends.
In claim 15, line 4, “third updating unit” implies that there is a first updating (or update) unit, however no first updating (or update) unit is contained in the language of claim 15 or in claim 10, upon which claim 15 depends.
In claim 16, lines 6 and 10, “second update unit” implies that there is a first update unit, however, no first update unit is contained in the language of claim 16 or in claims 10 and 15, upon which claim 16 indirectly or directly depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 10, 11 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeran et al. (US 2016/0173284).
Jeran et al. (…284) disclose an authentication method, comprising: acquiring first intimacy information sent by an image forming device, wherein the first intimacy information is used to indicate a confidence level of the image forming device in a consumable ([0019]); acquiring second intimacy information, wherein the second intimacy information is used as a verification benchmark for the first intimacy information ([0023]); and outputting an intimacy verification result according to the first intimacy information and the second intimacy information ([0020]-[0022]; and [0024]-[0025]), wherein the intimacy verification result is related to an authentication procedure of the consumable performed by the image forming device ([0020]-[0022]; and [0024]-[0025]) [see Applicant’s claim 1]. A control device, comprising: a first acquisition unit, configured to acquire first intimacy information sent by an image forming device, wherein the first intimacy information is used to indicate a confidence level of the image forming device in a consumable chip ([0019]); a second acquisition unit, configured to acquire second intimacy information, wherein the second intimacy information is used as a verification benchmark for a control device to verify the first intimacy information ([0023]); an intimacy verification unit, configured to obtain an intimacy verification result according to the first intimacy information and the second intimacy information ([0020]-[0022]; and [0024]-[0025]); and an output unit, configured to output the intimacy verification result ([0020]-[0022]; and [0024]-[0025]), wherein the intimacy verification result is related to an authentication procedure of the consumable chip performed by the image forming device ([0020]-[0022]; and [0024]-[0025]) [see Applicant’s claim 10]. A confidence level corresponding to the first intimacy information is negatively correlated with a duration of the authentication procedure ([0026]) [see Applicant’s claims 2 and 11]. A consumable, comprising: a housing ([0029]; and figure 1B); a developer accommodating portion (158), located in the housing, for accommodating a developer ([0029]; and figure 1B); and a control device (figure 1A) [see Applicant’s claim 19]. The consumable further comprising: a developer conveying element (154), configured for conveying the developer ([0029]; and figure 1B) [see Applicant’s claim 20]. The consumable further comprising: a photosensitive drum (152) ([0029]; and figure 1B); and a charging roller (156), configured to charge the photosensitive drum ([0029]; and figure 1B) [see Applicant’s claim 21]. A consumable, comprising: a photosensitive drum (152) ([0029]; and figure 1B); a charging roller (152), configured to charge the photosensitive drum ([0029]; and figure 1B) and a control device (figure 1A) [see Applicant’s claim 22].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5, 8, 9, 12-14, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeran et al. (US 2016/0173284) in view of Dolev et al. (US 2020/0127821).
Jeran et al. (…284) disclose the features mentioned previously. Jeran et al. (…284) disclose outputting the intimacy verification result according to the first intimacy information and the second intimacy information comprises: comparing the first intimacy information with the second intimacy information to obtain the intimacy verification result ([0020]-[0022]; and [0024]-[0025]) [see Applicant’s claim 3]. However, Jeran et al. (…284) do not disclose the claimed output of an intimacy verification result in consideration of an error range, the claimed updating intimacy information based on a confidence level and the claimed intimacy setting instruction and the output of intimacy information set. Dolev et al. (…821) disclose thresholds, averaging, weights and the like may be used to determine whether or not an entity is validated, confirmed or verified based on trust levels ([0131]), which makes the output of an intimacy verification result obvious ([see Applicant’s claims 3 and 12]. Moreover, Dolev et al. (…821) disclose each element or entry in entity details may be associated or assigned with a trust level, and trust level may be calculated based on a set of trust levels ([0122]), which makes it obvious that intimacy information can be updated based on a confidence level ([see Applicant’s claims 4 and 13]. Furthermore, Dolev et al. (…821) disclose based on the provided data, identifying entity may update or set a trust level, and a trust level and/or entity details received directly or otherwise from an entity may be sent, provided or distributed to any number of nodes ([0141]). For example, a trust level established based on data provided by a user as described may be sent, from identifying entity to nodes and nodes may update their respective trust levels and entity details based on data received from identifying entity ([0141]), which makes the claimed intimacy information setting instruction for setting up the intimacy information and the output of intimacy information set obvious, where it is also considered to be obvious to determine if the information has been correctly set [see Applicant’s claims 5, 8, 14 and 17]. It is considered to be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the intimacy setting instruction could further include: identity binding information; the authentication method further comprising: setting the identity binding information as the identity information of the consumable; or the authentication method further comprising: setting the identity binding information as the identity information of the consumable according to the identity information setting instruction sent by the image forming device, wherein the identity information setting instruction includes identity binding information, since such information would facilitate recognition [see Applicant’s claim 9]. It is also considered to be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the intimacy setting instruction further includes: identity binding information; wherein the control device further comprising: an identity setting unit, configured to set the identity binding information as the identity information of the consumable; or the control device further comprising: an identity setting unit, configured to set the identity binding information as the identity information of the consumable according to the identity information setting instruction sent by the image forming device, wherein the identity information setting instruction includes identity binding information since such information would facilitate recognition [see Applicant’s claim 18]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the claimed output of an intimacy verification result in consideration of an error range, since as disclosed by Dolev et al. (…821), such an output is considered to be obvious. Also, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the claimed updating intimacy information based on a confidence level, since as disclosed by Dolev et al. (…821), it is obvious to update information based on a confidence level. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the claimed intimacy setting instruction and the output of intimacy information set, since as disclosed by Dolev et al. (…821), it is considered to be obvious to have such a setting instruction and output of information set.
Claims 6, 7, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeran et al. (US 2016/0173284) in view of Lin (US 2015/0007273).
Jeran et al. (…284) disclose the features mentioned previously. Jeran et al. (…284) further disclose according to data synchronization information sent by the image forming device, outputting updated data corresponding to the data synchronization information, through the output unit, wherein the updated data is used to trigger the first predefined event or the second predefined event ([0019]) [see Applicant’s claims 7 and 16]. However, Jeran et al. (…284) do not disclose the claimed updating intimacy information based on an increasing or decreasing confidence level. Lin (…273) discloses a particular node may initially be assigned a default trust metric within the range that may be subsequently increased or decreased based on challenge-and-response exchanges, interactions with other nodes and resources, or other suitable criteria over time to determine the appropriate trust level to assign to the node ([0010]), and decreasing the trust level associated with the requesting node in response to receiving the requesting node providing an incorrect response ([0012]), which makes the claimed updating intimacy information based on an increasing or decreasing confidence level obvious, where it is also considered to be obvious to determine if the information has been correctly updated ([see Applicant’s claims 6, 7, 15 and 16]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the claimed updating intimacy information based on an increasing or decreasing confidence level, since as disclosed by Lin (…273), it is considered to be obvious to update intimacy information based upon a change in a confidence level.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Kim (US 7,962,051) and Yu et al. (US 2023/0359136) disclose a control device that authenticates a consumable.
Inquiry
/SANDRA BRASE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852 February 27, 2026