Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 08/03/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-6 remain pending in the application.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicants claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) and (f). The certified copy has been filed in parent application JP2021-042124 filed on 03/16/2021.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1, 5 recites the limitation “functional unit” with the structure in specifications on page 12-13 “drive unit, motor. It is being interpreted as means plus function.
Claims 1, 5 recite the limitation “movable functional unit” with structure in the specification, on page 45 “head”. It is being interpreted as means plus function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Mackean (US20170238460) in view of Lee (US20120185684) and Ogawa (US20140005828).
Regarding claim 1, Mackean teaches a control apparatus for controlling a device, the control apparatus comprising (at least [0043]-[0050] disclosing a controller for a robotic device):
a processor configured to ([0043]-[0050] disclosing the processor):
cause the device to transition to a power-off state in response to detecting that a
voltage of a battery of the device has dropped below a movement reference ([0006]-0007] disclosing the robotic device that is de-energized when the battery drops below a predetermined level);
Mackean does not teach in a case where the device is in the power-off state and during charging of the battery, determine whether the voltage of the battery has reached or exceeded an activation reference voltage; in response to determining that the voltage of the charging battery has reached or exceeded the activation reference voltage, (i) cause the device to transition to a power- on state and (ii) control a first movement range of a functional unit of the device to be restricted; wherein the activation reference voltage is higher than the movement reference voltage of the device to control a second movement range of the functional unit during charging the battery.
Lee teaches in a case where the device is in the power-off state and during charging of the battery, determine whether the voltage of the battery has reached or exceeded an activation reference voltage ([0052]-[0057] disclosing while power is off and during charging determine if voltage reaches a power needed for rebooting a device);
in response to determining that the voltage of the charging battery has reached or exceeded the activation reference voltage, (i) cause the device to transition to a power-on state ([0052]-[0057] disclosing in response to the voltage reaching the activation voltage to turn on the device).
wherein the activation reference voltage has a higher ratio to a fully charged voltage of the battery than the movement reference voltage ([0052]-[0057] disclosing the boot threshold to activate the device is higher than a shutdown threshold to shut the device).
Mackean teaches charging the device when the battery is low and turning off the device, thus it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the method of turning on the device as taught by Lee yielding predictable results in order to determine the threshold voltage required to run the device is reached thus ensuring proper function of the device.
Mackean as modified by Lee does not teach control a functional unit of the device to perform a movement operation within a first movable range that is narrower than a second movable range within which the functional unit is operated while the device is in the power on state and the battery is not being charged, wherein the functional unit comprises a movable functional unit driven by at least one motor to move relative to a body of the device.
Ogawa teaches cause a functional unit of the device to perform a movement operation within a first movable range that is narrower than a second movable range within which the functional unit is operable while the device is in the power on state and the battery is not being charged ([0060]-[0070] disclosing the restriction of the movements of the arms while the robot is charging).
wherein the functional unit comprises a movable functional unit driven by at least one motor to move relative to a body of the device ([0060]-[0070] disclosing the restriction of the movements of the arms moved by the actuator while the robot is charging).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Ogawa to restrict movements of the robot while charging yielding predictable results in order to avoid impermissible ranges that may disconnect the charger or cause collisions and to allow movements of the robot while the robot stays stably connected to the charger.
Regarding claim 3, Mackean as modified by Lee and Kim teaches the control apparatus for the device according to claim 1,
wherein the transition to the power-off state in response to detecting that the voltage of the battery has dropped below the movement reference voltage occurs independently of detection of a user power-off operation (Mackean [0006]-[0007] disclosing the device turns off independent of a user operation by determining a lower than a threshold voltage).
Mackean teaches charging the device when the battery is low and turning off the device, thus it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the method of turning on the device as taught by Lee yielding predictable results in order to determine the threshold voltage required to run the device is reached thus ensuring proper function of the device.
Regarding claim 6, Mackean as modified by Lee and Ogawa teaches the control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein each of the first movable range and the second movable range is an angular range within which the functional unit is driven by the at least one motor to move relative to the body of the device (Ogawa [0060]-[0070] disclosing permissible angles).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Ogawa to restrict movements of the robot while charging yielding predictable results in order to avoid impermissible ranges that may disconnect the charger or cause collisions and to allow movements of the robot while the robot stays stably connected to the charger.
Claims 4-5 are rejected for similar reasons as claim 1, see above rejection. Mackean teaches a method and non-transitory computer storage medium [0043]-[0050].
Claims 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Mackean (US20170238460) in view of Lee (US20120185684) and Ogawa (US20140005828) and Kim (US20200006984).
Regarding claim 2, Mackean as modified by Lee and Ogawa teaches the control apparatus for the device according to claim 1,
Kim teaches wherein the device charges the battery by receiving power through
electromagnetic induction from an external wireless charging device, and the first
movement range is a range that prevents the device from moving away from the
external wireless charging device during charging (Kim [0187]-[0197] disclosing the device charges by wireless charging and remains in a range that prevents from leaving the area of charging).
The combination of the teaching of Kim is obvious yielding predictable results in order to allow the robot to charge while continuing its movement thus improving the robot efficiency of charging while functioning normally with some movement limitations and for selecting an efficient charging for the robot based on charge level.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 08/03/2026 has been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure. The prior art cited in PTO-892 and not mentioned above disclose related devices and methods.
US20110241616 disclosing the robot cleans and charges in the range of the wireless charging simultaneously.
US9397518 disclosing a second mode when the battery less than threshold that includes a range where wireless charging is available.
US20190087772 disclosing switching power off when battery is low.
US20200009741 disclosing the cutting off modalities of a modular robot based on threshold charge amount.
/MOHAMAD O EL SAYAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658B