Prosecution History Summary
Claims 7-8 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-6 and 9-15 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-6 and 9-15) in the reply filed on 08/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/27/2026.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be amended in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(b) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. Any amendment of inventorship must be accompanied by a request under 37 CFR 1.48(b) and by the fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. A complete reply to the final rejection must include cancellation of nonelected claims or other appropriate action (37 CFR 1.144) See MPEP § 821.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mook et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,830,174) in view of Ethier et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2015/0322857).
As per claim 1, Mook teaches a thermal engine system for underwater propulsion comprising
-a first reaction chamber (Mook: figure 4.1.2A, c102);
-a second reaction chamber (Mook: figure 4.1.2A, c112);
-a pump (Mook: figure 4.1.2A, c116) downstream of the first reaction chamber and upstream of the second reaction chamber, wherein the pump is in fluid communication with the first reaction chamber and the second reaction chamber and the pump is configured to pump a first gas from the first reaction chamber to the second reaction chamber (Mook: col. 10, 3-19; Recirculation eductor utilizes intake air flowing to entrain and/or accelerate combustion gas and provide the mixture to the combustion chamber which passes to the hot-side heat exchanger to provide air to the piston chamber.);
-an ignitor that is operative to ignite the first gas to produce a second gas in the second reaction chamber (Mook: col. 14, 26-38; Fuel nozzles may include a glow plug to ignite the combustion gas in the combustion chamber.).
Mook does not explicitly teach the following, however, Ethier teaches:
-wherein the second gas is in fluid communication with a pressure tuned valve (Ethier: para. 78);
-wherein the pressure tuned valve lies upstream of an eductor and wherein the pressure tuned valve is operative to release the second gas to the eductor (Ethier: para. 78); and
-wherein the eductor is configured to provide undersea propulsion by ejection of the steam into surrounding water (Ethier: para. 81; The air amplifier stream (eductor) can move heat from the exhaust to the environment outside.).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have combined the teachings because it provides a more controlled steering and movement in water.
As per claim 2, the system of claim 1 is as described. Mook does not explicitly teach the following, however, Ethier teaches further comprising a microturbine generator (Ethier: para. 17).
The motivation to combine the teachings is same as claim 1.
As per claim 3, the system of claim 1 is as described. Mook teaches wherein the first reaction chamber comprises a first inlet and a first outlet, wherein a first valve is configured to release water into the first reaction chamber through the first inlet and a second valve is configured to release a first gas from the first reaction chamber through the first outlet (Mook: figure 4.1.2A).
As per claim 4, the system of claim 1 is as described. Mook teaches wherein the first reaction chamber is configured to contain a chemical reactant that when combined with water undergoes a chemical reaction to generate the first gas (Mook: col. 55, 13-25).
As per claim 5, the system of claim 1 is as described. Mook teaches wherein the reaction chamber is configured to contain a chemical reactant, wherein the chemical reactant comprises calcium carbide, lithium metal, sodium metal, potassium metal, or a combination thereof, and wherein the first gas is acetylene, hydrogen, or a combination thereof (Mook: col. 55, 13-25).
As per claim 6, the system of claim 1 is as described. Mook teaches wherein the second gas is a mixture of steam and carbon dioxide (Mook: col. 55, 13-25).
Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ethier et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2015/0322857) in view of Mook et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,830,174).
As per claim 10, the method of claim 9 is as described. Ethier does not teach the following, however, Mook teaches: wherein the thermal engine system further comprises
-a first reaction chamber (Mook: figure 4.1.2A, c102);
-a pump (Mook: figure 4.1.2A, c116);
-a second reaction chamber (Mook: figure 4.1.2A, c112); and
-an ignitor (Mook: col. 14, 26-38; Fuel nozzles may include a glow plug to ignite the combustion gas in the combustion chamber.);
-wherein a first gas is generated by a chemical reaction between water and a chemical reactant in the first reaction chamber (Mook: col. 11, 14-21; The fuel and combustion gas to create hot combustion gas.),
-the first gas is pumped to the second reaction chamber (Mook: col. 10, 3-19; Recirculation eductor utilizes intake air flowing to entrain and/or accelerate combustion gas and provide the mixture to the combustion chamber which passes to the hot-side heat exchanger to provide air to the piston chamber.),
-the first gas is ignited by the ignitor in the second reaction chamber to generate the propulsion gas (Mook: col. 14, 26-38; Fuel nozzles may include a glow plug to ignite the combustion gas in the combustion chamber.).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have combined the teachings because it provides a more controlled steering and movement in water.
As per claim 12, the method of claim 9 is as described. Ethier teaches wherein the thermal engine system further comprises a microturbine generator, wherein the microturbine generator generates power from the flow of the propulsion gas to the eductor (Ethier: para. 78-81).
As per claim 13, the method of claim 9 is as described. Ethier does not explicitly teach the following, however, Mook teaches wherein the propulsion gas is steam, carbon dioxide, or a combination thereof (Mook: col. 55, 13-25).
The motivation to combine the teachings is same as claim 9.
As per claim 14, the method of claim 9 is as described. Ethier teaches wherein the eductor provides control of thrust (Ethier: para. 81; The air amplifier stream (eductor) can move heat from the exhaust to the environment outside.).
As per claim 15, the method of claim 9 is as described. Ethier teaches wherein the underwater propulsion thermal engine system comprises a plurality of eductors, wherein the plurality of eductors provides steering, thrust, and a combination thereof (Ethier: para. 81; The air amplifier stream (eductor) can move heat from the exhaust to the environment outside.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ethier et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2015/0322857).
As per claim 9, Ethier teaches a method for underwater propulsion comprising
-a thermal engine system wherein the thermal engine system produces a propulsion gas (Ethier: para. 92),
-the propulsion gas is introduced into a pressure tuned valve, wherein the pressure tuned valve lies upstream of an eductor and the pressure tuned valve controls release of the gas from the thermal engine system to the eductor (Ethier: para. 78); and
-wherein the release of the propulsion gas to the eductor provides underwater propulsion by ejection of the propulsion gas into surrounding water (Ethier: para. 81; The air amplifier stream (eductor) can move heat from the exhaust to the environment outside.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wei – U.S. Publication No. 2017/0002731 – Teaches a system to generate power in a heat engine.
Goldmeer et al. – U.S. Publication No. 2006/0246790 – Teaches an underwater vehicle to initiate a combustion reaction.
/SHEETAL R PAULSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615