Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 7, which depends from claims 6 and 1, recites the limitation: “the insulation member” which lacks antecedent basis. Claim 2 first introduces “an insulation member”, it is suggested that claim 6 be amended to depend from claim 2. Appropriate correction is required. For the purpose of examination, claim 6 will be examined as if it depends on claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 5320960 (hereinafter referred to as JP ‘960).
Regarding claim 1, JP ‘960 discloses a capacitor comprising: a capacitor element (fig, 1 (1)) that includes a first electrode (fig. 1 N-pole (bottom) electrode, page 4, paragraph 4) disposed on one end surface of the capacitor element, a second electrode (fig. 1 P-pole (top) electrode, page 4, paragraph 4) disposed on another end surface of the capacitor element, and a circumferential surface connecting the first electrode to the second electrode (fig. 1); a first bus bar (figs. 1 and 2 (3)) and a second bus bar (figs. 1 and 2 (2)) that are connected to the first electrode and the second electrode, respectively (figs. 1 and 2); a case (fig. 4 (8)) that houses the capacitor element (fig. 4); and a filler resin (page 4, paragraph 4 – resin mold (not shown)) in which the capacitor element, a part of the first bus bar, and a part of the second bus bar are embedded, the filler resin being filled inside the case (fig. 4, see also Background art section and fig. 13 for resin filled case), wherein: the circumferential surface includes a plane face (fig. 1 and 2), the first bus bar includes an opposing portion that has a flat-plate-shape and faces the plane face (fig. 2), and the opposing portion includes a protrusion (fig. 2 (4)) that protrudes toward the plane face and abuts the plane face (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, JP’ ‘960 discloses the capacitor according to claim 1, wherein the protrusion includes a flat surface that abuts the plane face (figs. 2 and 12b, note the multiple embodiments in JP ‘960 may be used together, where fig. 12 specifically shows a flat surface for the protrusion abutting the plane face of the capacitor element (1)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP ‘960 in view of Kawahata (US 2021/0343474).
Regarding claim 2, JP ‘960 discloses the capacitor according to claim 1, wherein: the opposing portion faces the plane face from the first electrode to the second electrode (fig. 2).
JP ‘960 fails to disclose an insulation member is disposed between the plane face and the opposing portion at a side close to the second electrode.
Kawahata discloses a similar capacitor arrangement wherein an insulation member (fig. 4A and 6B (400)) is disposed between the plane face (fig. 6B, plane face of capacitor element 100) and the opposing portion (fig. 6B, opposing portion of bus bar 300) at a side close to the second electrode (fig. 6B, note the second electrode is the top electrode of the capacitor connected to bus bar 200).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the insulation member of Kawahata, in the invention of JP ‘960 for the purpose of fixing the bus bars together more securely (paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claim 3, JP ‘960 discloses the capacitor according to claim 2, wherein the protrusion is provided on the opposing portion at a position closer to the first electrode than to the second electrode (figs. 2 and 5, noting figure 5 shows multiple additional locations for the placement of element 4, with some locations positioned closer to the first electrode than the second electrode).
Regarding claim 4, JP’960 discloses the capacitor according to claim 3, wherein: the case includes an opening (fig. 4), a bottom portion facing the opening (fig. 4), and a side wall extending from an end of the bottom portion toward the opening (fig. 4), the capacitor element is arranged inside the case in a manner that the first electrode faces the bottom portion, and the opposing portion extends along the side wall inside the case (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, JP’ ‘960 discloses the capacitor according to claim 1 (claim 2 based on examiner interpretation, above), wherein the opposing portion is parallel to the plane face (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, JP ‘960 as modified by Kawahata discloses the capacitor according to claim 6, wherein a thickness of the insulation member is equal to a protrusion length of the protrusion (Kawahata fig. 6B, noting the insulation member is the thickness of the gap between capacitor 100 and bus bar 300, similar to the thickness of element 4 between capacitor 1 and bus bar 3 in JP ‘960).
Regarding claim 8, JP ‘960 discloses the capacitor according to claim 6, wherein the opposing portion includes a plurality of protrusions arranged in a direction perpendicular to a direction of arranging the first electrode and the second electrode, the plurality of protrusions including the protrusion (figs. 2 and 5, noting figure 5 shows multiple additional locations for the placement of element 4, e.g. (4d) and (4e), wherein there is an element 4 for each capacitor element 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2022/0013298 – includes capacitor elements with bus bars, a case and resin filler.
US 2019/0080850 – includes capacitor elements with bus bars, an insulation member, a case and resin filler, wherein the bus bar 400 is held in place by a hook 322 during resin filling.
US 9,824,823 - includes capacitor elements with bus bars, a case and resin filler wherein bus bar 2 includes a bend that projects towards the capacitor element 1.
/Timothy J. Dole/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847