DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 25, 2026 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed December 27, 2024 are accepted.
Abstract
The Abstract filed December 27, 2024 is accepted.
Specification
The specification filed December 27, 2024has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 - 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Palumbo II et al. (US Pub. No. 2002/0062570 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Palumbo II et al. discloses a light emitting targeting device (1) comprising a body (tapered body 101), said body extending between a first end (i.e. front end) and a second end (i.e. back end); said body having a central recess running along a central axis of said body (Figure 20); a light emitter (110) positioned within said central recess, said light emitter for emitting a focused beam of light therefrom (Figures 11 and 15, for example); said body configured at said first end for a coupled engagement to a distal end of a pipe (X; figure 11); and said focused beam of light being aligned with said central axis with said body in said coupled engagement, whereby said focused beam of light forms a target for the positioning of an opening through a surface upon contact with said surface (Figures 15 and 17).
Referring to claim 2, Palumbo II et al. sets forth a light emitting targeting device additionally comprising at least one annular shoulder (101, Figure 11a) positioned at said first end of said body; and said annular shoulder (101) having an exterior surface sized for forming said coupled engagement with said distal end of said pipe (See Figures 11 and 11a).
In regards to claim 3, Palumbo II et al. teaches a light emitting targeting device additionally comprising said annular shoulder (101) having an exterior circumferential surface sized for a frictional engagement with an interior circumferential surface of a wall forming said pipe (Paragraph [0051]).
With regards to claim 4, Palumbo II et al. discloses a light emitting targeting device additionally comprising said annular shoulder (101) having an annular recess therein defining an interior circumferential surface of said annular shoulder; and said interior circumferential surface of said annular shoulder for forming a frictional engagement with an exterior circumferential surface of a wall forming said pipe (See Figure 1; Paragraphs [0051]-[0052]).
Referring to claim 5, Palumbo II et al. sets forth a light emitting targeting device additionally comprising a plurality of annular shoulders (101) positioned at said first end of said body; and each of said annular shoulders of said plurality thereof having a respective said exterior surface sized for forming said coupled engagement with a different sized distal end (Figure 1).
In regards to claim 6, Palumbo II et al. teaches a light emitting targeting device additionally comprising a plurality of said annular shoulders (101) positioned at said first end of said body each said annular shoulder having an annular recess adjacent thereto defining an interior circumferential surface of said respective annular shoulder; and each respective said interior circumferential surface of each said annular shoulder for forming a frictional engagement with a different sized said exterior circumferential surface of a wall forming said pipe (Paragraphs [0051]-[0052]).
Regarding claim 7, Palumbo II et al. shows a light emitting targeting device additionally comprising gaps formed in said annular shoulder (See Figure 11a; as defined by the stepped configuration).
With respect to claim 8, the method of use of the device comprising the steps of positioning said first end of said body (101) to said coupled engagement with said distal end of said pipe (X); determining a position of contact of said focused light beam with a surface adjacent said body (Figures 15 and 17); and forming an opening in said surface for positioning of an extension of said pipe therethrough will be achieved by the regular operation of the device disclosed by Palumbo II et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references are considered relevant but fail to teach the combination as claimed:
Bellikka (US Pub. 2022/0316878 A1) laser alignment tool for projecting a laser spot onto a target object for alignment purposes. The laser alignment tool generally includes a tool body having a rear surface that is normal to a central axis of the laser alignment tool, a laser emitter mounted on the tool body such that the laser emitter projects a laser beam along the central axis of the laser alignment tool, and a centering element on the tool body adapted to position the laser alignment tool on an end of an elongated member such that an axis of the elongated member is substantially coaxial with the central axis of the laser alignment tool (See Figure 5).
YARITZA GUADALUPE-MCCALL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
October 1, 2026
/YARITZA GUADALUPE-MCCALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855