DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being Anticipated by Hafner et al. (US 20200400698 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Hafner discloses:
A distribution system, comprising:
a transport plane (110) comprising logical positions (ni & nj & nk);
a plurality of carriers (140) for transporting objects (145);
a drive system for moving the carriers on the transport plane between the logical positions [0089]; and
a control system (150) configured for controlling the carriers to move on a planned route from a start position to a final destination position on the transport plane [0082 & 0092 & 0094], wherein the planned route comprises partial routes [0107 & 0108 & 0109 & 0110 & 0111 & 0112], wherein the control system comprises a routing system configured for calculating routing plans for carriers on the transport plane by modeling the transport plane with graphs of nodes (Fig. 8 & Fig. 9 & Fig. 10) [0003 & 0019 & 0038 & 0041 & 0042 & 0062 & 0104], wherein the routing system is configured for calculating the routing plans considering moving time periods and waiting time periods [0049 & 0065 & 0127 & 0128], wherein the routing system is configured for assigning waiting time periods for carriers depending on a reservation of logical positions of the partial routes of other carriers [0065 & 0128 & 0129], wherein, if a carrier experiences a time delay during execution of a move, the routing system is configured for shifting the experienced time delay to at least one upcoming waiting time period of a carrier [0064 & 0065 & 0066 & 0131].
Regarding Claim 2, Hafner discloses:
the routing system is configured for determining if the delay of the carrier affects at least one further carrier, wherein the routing system is configured for shifting the time delay to at least one waiting time of the at least one further affected carrier [0064 & 0065 & 0066 & 0131].
Regarding Claim 3, Hafner discloses:
the routing system is configured for recursively resolving the routing plans of carriers which are directly and/or indirectly affected by the delay of the carrier [0043 & 0064 & 0065 & 0066 & 0131].
Regarding Claim 4, Hafner discloses:
the routing system is configured for compensating the time delay at least partially by shortening the at least one upcoming waiting time period of a carrier depending on the time delay [0064 & 0065 & 0066 & 0131].
Regarding Claim 5, Hafner discloses:
in case of a residual time delay, the routing system is configured for at least partially shifting the residual time delay to second upcoming waiting time period [0064 & 0065 & 0066 & 0131].
Regarding Claim 6, Hafner discloses:
the first upcoming waiting time period is followed in time by the second upcoming waiting time period [0005 & 0065 & 0093 & 0094].
Regarding Claim 7, Hafner discloses:
the routing system is configured for calculating routing plans considering a constraint of a maximal number of simultaneous moves per transport plane or per area of the transport plane, wherein the moves allowed to be performed simultaneously form a simultaneous moves group, wherein the total transport surface is divided into one or multiple areas and an allowed maximum number of simultaneous moves is different per area [0003 & 0019 & 0038 & 0041 & 0042 & 0062 & 0104].
Regarding Claim 8, Hafner discloses:
the routing system is configured for adapting originally planned routing plans of the carriers that would violate the constraint of maximal number of simultaneous moves [0058 & 0059 & 0099].
Regarding Claim 9, Hafner discloses:
the control system comprises at least one executing unit configured for executing the routing plans for transporting the carriers from their respective start position to their respective final position [0070 & 0071 & 0074 & 0093].
Regarding Claim 10, Hafner discloses:
the routing system is configured for using a cooperative path finding algorithm for calculating the routing plans, specifically a Windowed Hierarchical Cooperative A*-algorithm (WHCA*) [0039 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0061 & 0062 & 0106].
Regarding Claim 11, Hafner discloses:
A method for distributing a plurality of carriers using a distribution system according to claim 1 [see rejection of Claim 1 above], wherein the method comprises moving the plurality of carriers on the transport plane of the distribution system between the logical positions by using the drive system [0089], wherein the method comprises controlling the carriers to move on a planned route from the start position to the final destination position on the transport plane by using the control system [0082 & 0092 & 0094], wherein the planned route comprises partial routes [0107 & 0108 & 0109 & 0110 & 0111 & 0112], wherein the method comprises calculating routing plans for carriers on the transport plane by modeling the transport plane with graphs of nodes by using the routing system (Fig. 8 & Fig. 9 & Fig. 10) [0003 & 0019 & 0038 & 0041 & 0042 & 0062 & 0104], wherein the calculated routing plans comprise moving time periods and waiting time periods [0049 & 0065 & 0127 & 0128], wherein the calculating comprises assigning waiting time periods for carriers depending on a reservation of logical positions of the partial routes of other carriers [0065 & 0128 & 0129], wherein the calculating comprises, if a carrier experiences a time delay during execution of a move, shifting the experienced time delay to at least one upcoming waiting time period of a carrier [0064 & 0065 & 0066 & 0131].
Regarding Claim 12, Hafner discloses:
the method further comprises determining if the delay of the carrier affects at least one further carrier and shifting the time delay to at least one waiting time of the at least one further affected carrier [0064 & 0065 & 0066 & 0131].
Regarding Claim 13, Hafner discloses:
the method further comprises recursively resolving the routing plans of carriers which are directly and/or indirectly affected by the delay of the carrier [0043 & 0064 & 0065 & 0066 & 0131].
Regarding Claim 14, Hafner discloses:
the method comprises compensating the time delay at least partially by shortening the at least one upcoming waiting time period of a carrier depending on the time delay [0064 & 0065 & 0066 & 0131].
Regarding Claim 15, Hafner discloses:
in case of a residual time delay, the method comprises at least partially shifting the residual time delay to at least one second upcoming waiting time period, wherein the first upcoming waiting time period is followed in time by the second upcoming waiting time period [0064 & 0065 & 0066 & 0131].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Patent publications US 20070293978 A1, US 20080275582 A1, US 20100175943 A1, US 20140202829 A1, US 20160341751 A1, and US 20190152057 A1 have been cited by the examiner as pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure because they teach: transfer systems utilizing magnetic levitation systems.
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652