Status of Claims
This office action for the 19/004143 application is in response to the communications filed June 23, 2025.
Claims 1-67 were initially submitted December 27, 2024.
Claims 26-67 were cancelled June 23, 2025.
Claims 1-25 are currently pending and considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 15-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Clemente et al. (US 2025/0352731; herein referred to as Clemente).
As per claim 1,
Clemente teaches glucose monitoring system, comprising: a sensor control device comprising a glucose sensor coupled with sensor electronics, the sensor control device configured to transmit data indicative of a glucose level; and a reader device comprising a display, wireless communication circuitry coupled with one or more processors, one or more processors coupled with a first memory, the first memory storing a glucose monitoring software application that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: cause transmission of a scan response from the sensor control device to the reader device according to a first wireless communication protocol; and determine, based on the scan response, whether the glucose sensor is a first sensor type or a second sensor type:
(Paragraphs [0025]-[0029] and [0041] of Clemente. The teaching describes a medication delivery and management system 100. The system 100 includes an analyte sensor system 102, one or more medication delivery device(s) 110, a mobile application 104, and optionally, one or more secondary device(s) 106. The analyte sensor system 102 is configured to obtain various analyte measurement data and communicate the obtained analyte measurement data to the medication delivery device(s) 110. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include a glucose sensor system adapted to determine glucose values including, for example, a blood glucose meter (BGM), a flash glucose monitor [first sensor type], a continuous glucose monitor [second sensor type] (CGM), etc. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 can act as a flash glucose monitor, a continuous glucose monitor, or both by permitting intermittent and/or on-demand transmissions of glucose data. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 may monitor the change of glucose values in a given period of time and provide glucose trend data. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 can wirelessly transmit data when interrogated by a reader device (e.g., using NFC communication). In some cases, the glucose sensor can wirelessly transmit data at predetermined intervals (e.g., using radio frequencies) using any suitable communication standard (e.g., Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE)). In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include multiple glucose sensor systems (e.g., one or more of a continuous glucose monitor, a flash glucose monitor, a glucose meter, etc.). The analyte sensor system 102 can transmit analyte measurement data (e.g., glucose data) using multiple communication techniques. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may include an NFC reader adapted to obtain analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 when brought within an interrogation distance of the analyte sensor system 102. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may wirelessly receive analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 that is broadcast at predetermined periods of time (e.g., every 30 seconds, every minute, every 2 minutes, every 3 minutes, every 5 minutes, every 10 minutes, every 15 minutes, etc.). Generally, the embodiments of the disclosure may use any suitable wireless communication protocol for communication among the medication delivery device(s), the analyte sensor system, the secondary device(s), other electronic devices, and/or other mobile devices of the system 100. Examples of suitable wireless communication protocols include near-field-communication (ISO/IEC 14443 and 18092 compliant technology), wireless modems and routers (IEEE 802.11 compliant technology), and Bluetooth®/Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) (IEEE 802.15 compliant technology).)
Clemente does not explicitly teach wherein the glucose monitoring software application is configured to be modified to a first configuration if the glucose sensor is determined to be the first sensor type, and wherein the glucose monitoring software application is further configured to be modified to a second configuration if the glucose sensor is determined to be the second sensor type.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing that the software that is implemented by the glucose monitoring system would have had different configurations based on the disclosed flash glucose monitor [first sensor type], and continuous glucose monitor [second sensor type] (CGM). These types of sensors would have understandably needed different drivers, and therefore software, for these distinct physical sensors to interact with the monitoring software. Such an understanding of Clemente would have been readily apparent and obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art without yielding unexpected results.
As per claim 2,
Clemente teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Clemente further teaches wherein in the first configuration, the glucose monitoring software application, when executed by the one or more processors, further causes the one or more processors to: establish, between the sensor control device and the reader device, a wireless communication link according to a second wireless communication protocol, wherein the reader device is configured to receive the data indicative of the glucose level according to the second wireless communication protocol:
(Paragraphs [0025]-[0029] and [0041] of Clemente. The teaching describes a medication delivery and management system 100. The system 100 includes an analyte sensor system 102, one or more medication delivery device(s) 110, a mobile application 104, and optionally, one or more secondary device(s) 106. The analyte sensor system 102 is configured to obtain various analyte measurement data and communicate the obtained analyte measurement data to the medication delivery device(s) 110. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include a glucose sensor system adapted to determine glucose values including, for example, a blood glucose meter (BGM), a flash glucose monitor [first sensor type], a continuous glucose monitor [second sensor type] (CGM), etc. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 can act as a flash glucose monitor, a continuous glucose monitor, or both by permitting intermittent and/or on-demand transmissions of glucose data. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 may monitor the change of glucose values in a given period of time and provide glucose trend data. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 can wirelessly transmit data when interrogated by a reader device (e.g., using NFC communication). In some cases, the glucose sensor can wirelessly transmit data at predetermined intervals (e.g., using radio frequencies) using any suitable communication standard (e.g., Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE)). In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include multiple glucose sensor systems (e.g., one or more of a continuous glucose monitor, a flash glucose monitor, a glucose meter, etc.). The analyte sensor system 102 can transmit analyte measurement data (e.g., glucose data) using multiple communication techniques. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may include an NFC reader adapted to obtain analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 when brought within an interrogation distance of the analyte sensor system 102. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may wirelessly receive analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 that is broadcast at predetermined periods of time (e.g., every 30 seconds, every minute, every 2 minutes, every 3 minutes, every 5 minutes, every 10 minutes, every 15 minutes, etc.). Generally, the embodiments of the disclosure may use any suitable wireless communication protocol for communication among the medication delivery device(s), the analyte sensor system, the secondary device(s), other electronic devices, and/or other mobile devices of the system 100. Examples of suitable wireless communication protocols include near-field-communication (ISO/IEC 14443 and 18092 compliant technology), wireless modems and routers (IEEE 802.11 compliant technology), and Bluetooth®/Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) (IEEE 802.15 compliant technology).)
As per claim 3,
Clemente teaches the limitations of claim 2.
Clemente further teaches wherein the reader device is further configured to receive the data indicative of the glucose level according to the first wireless communication protocol:
(Paragraphs [0025]-[0029] and [0041] of Clemente. The teaching describes a medication delivery and management system 100. The system 100 includes an analyte sensor system 102, one or more medication delivery device(s) 110, a mobile application 104, and optionally, one or more secondary device(s) 106. The analyte sensor system 102 is configured to obtain various analyte measurement data and communicate the obtained analyte measurement data to the medication delivery device(s) 110. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include a glucose sensor system adapted to determine glucose values including, for example, a blood glucose meter (BGM), a flash glucose monitor [first sensor type], a continuous glucose monitor [second sensor type] (CGM), etc. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 can act as a flash glucose monitor, a continuous glucose monitor, or both by permitting intermittent and/or on-demand transmissions of glucose data. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 may monitor the change of glucose values in a given period of time and provide glucose trend data. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 can wirelessly transmit data when interrogated by a reader device (e.g., using NFC communication). In some cases, the glucose sensor can wirelessly transmit data at predetermined intervals (e.g., using radio frequencies) using any suitable communication standard (e.g., Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE)). In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include multiple glucose sensor systems (e.g., one or more of a continuous glucose monitor, a flash glucose monitor, a glucose meter, etc.). The analyte sensor system 102 can transmit analyte measurement data (e.g., glucose data) using multiple communication techniques. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may include an NFC reader adapted to obtain analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 when brought within an interrogation distance of the analyte sensor system 102. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may wirelessly receive analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 that is broadcast at predetermined periods of time (e.g., every 30 seconds, every minute, every 2 minutes, every 3 minutes, every 5 minutes, every 10 minutes, every 15 minutes, etc.). Generally, the embodiments of the disclosure may use any suitable wireless communication protocol for communication among the medication delivery device(s), the analyte sensor system, the secondary device(s), other electronic devices, and/or other mobile devices of the system 100. Examples of suitable wireless communication protocols include near-field-communication (ISO/IEC 14443 and 18092 compliant technology), wireless modems and routers (IEEE 802.11 compliant technology), and Bluetooth®/Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) (IEEE 802.15 compliant technology).)
As per claim 4,
Clemente teaches the limitations of claim 3.
Clemente further teaches wherein the second wireless communication protocol is different than the first wireless communication protocol:
(Paragraphs [0025]-[0029] and [0041] of Clemente. The teaching describes a medication delivery and management system 100. The system 100 includes an analyte sensor system 102, one or more medication delivery device(s) 110, a mobile application 104, and optionally, one or more secondary device(s) 106. The analyte sensor system 102 is configured to obtain various analyte measurement data and communicate the obtained analyte measurement data to the medication delivery device(s) 110. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include a glucose sensor system adapted to determine glucose values including, for example, a blood glucose meter (BGM), a flash glucose monitor [first sensor type], a continuous glucose monitor [second sensor type] (CGM), etc. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 can act as a flash glucose monitor, a continuous glucose monitor, or both by permitting intermittent and/or on-demand transmissions of glucose data. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 may monitor the change of glucose values in a given period of time and provide glucose trend data. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 can wirelessly transmit data when interrogated by a reader device (e.g., using NFC communication). In some cases, the glucose sensor can wirelessly transmit data at predetermined intervals (e.g., using radio frequencies) using any suitable communication standard (e.g., Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE)). In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include multiple glucose sensor systems (e.g., one or more of a continuous glucose monitor, a flash glucose monitor, a glucose meter, etc.). The analyte sensor system 102 can transmit analyte measurement data (e.g., glucose data) using multiple communication techniques. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may include an NFC reader adapted to obtain analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 when brought within an interrogation distance of the analyte sensor system 102. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may wirelessly receive analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 that is broadcast at predetermined periods of time (e.g., every 30 seconds, every minute, every 2 minutes, every 3 minutes, every 5 minutes, every 10 minutes, every 15 minutes, etc.). Generally, the embodiments of the disclosure may use any suitable wireless communication protocol for communication among the medication delivery device(s), the analyte sensor system, the secondary device(s), other electronic devices, and/or other mobile devices of the system 100. Examples of suitable wireless communication protocols include near-field-communication (ISO/IEC 14443 and 18092 compliant technology), wireless modems and routers (IEEE 802.11 compliant technology), and Bluetooth®/Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) (IEEE 802.15 compliant technology).)
As per claim 5,
Clemente teaches the limitations of claim 3.
Clemente further teaches wherein the second wireless communication protocol is a Bluetooth or Bluetooth Low Energy protocol, and wherein the first wireless communication protocol is an NFC protocol:
(Paragraphs [0025]-[0029] and [0041] of Clemente. The teaching describes a medication delivery and management system 100. The system 100 includes an analyte sensor system 102, one or more medication delivery device(s) 110, a mobile application 104, and optionally, one or more secondary device(s) 106. The analyte sensor system 102 is configured to obtain various analyte measurement data and communicate the obtained analyte measurement data to the medication delivery device(s) 110. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include a glucose sensor system adapted to determine glucose values including, for example, a blood glucose meter (BGM), a flash glucose monitor [first sensor type], a continuous glucose monitor [second sensor type] (CGM), etc. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 can act as a flash glucose monitor, a continuous glucose monitor, or both by permitting intermittent and/or on-demand transmissions of glucose data. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 may monitor the change of glucose values in a given period of time and provide glucose trend data. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 can wirelessly transmit data when interrogated by a reader device (e.g., using NFC communication). In some cases, the glucose sensor can wirelessly transmit data at predetermined intervals (e.g., using radio frequencies) using any suitable communication standard (e.g., Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE)). In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include multiple glucose sensor systems (e.g., one or more of a continuous glucose monitor, a flash glucose monitor, a glucose meter, etc.). The analyte sensor system 102 can transmit analyte measurement data (e.g., glucose data) using multiple communication techniques. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may include an NFC reader adapted to obtain analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 when brought within an interrogation distance of the analyte sensor system 102. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may wirelessly receive analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 that is broadcast at predetermined periods of time (e.g., every 30 seconds, every minute, every 2 minutes, every 3 minutes, every 5 minutes, every 10 minutes, every 15 minutes, etc.). Generally, the embodiments of the disclosure may use any suitable wireless communication protocol for communication among the medication delivery device(s), the analyte sensor system, the secondary device(s), other electronic devices, and/or other mobile devices of the system 100. Examples of suitable wireless communication protocols include near-field-communication (ISO/IEC 14443 and 18092 compliant technology), wireless modems and routers (IEEE 802.11 compliant technology), and Bluetooth®/Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) (IEEE 802.15 compliant technology).)
As per claim 6,
Clemente teaches the limitations of claim 2.
Clemente further teaches wherein the reader device is configured to receive the data indicative of the glucose level at a predetermined interval:
(Paragraphs [0025]-[0029] and [0041] of Clemente. The teaching describes a medication delivery and management system 100. The system 100 includes an analyte sensor system 102, one or more medication delivery device(s) 110, a mobile application 104, and optionally, one or more secondary device(s) 106. The analyte sensor system 102 is configured to obtain various analyte measurement data and communicate the obtained analyte measurement data to the medication delivery device(s) 110. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include a glucose sensor system adapted to determine glucose values including, for example, a blood glucose meter (BGM), a flash glucose monitor [first sensor type], a continuous glucose monitor [second sensor type] (CGM), etc. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 can act as a flash glucose monitor, a continuous glucose monitor, or both by permitting intermittent and/or on-demand transmissions of glucose data. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 may monitor the change of glucose values in a given period of time and provide glucose trend data. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 can wirelessly transmit data when interrogated by a reader device (e.g., using NFC communication). In some cases, the glucose sensor can wirelessly transmit data at predetermined intervals (e.g., using radio frequencies) using any suitable communication standard (e.g., Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE)). In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include multiple glucose sensor systems (e.g., one or more of a continuous glucose monitor, a flash glucose monitor, a glucose meter, etc.). The analyte sensor system 102 can transmit analyte measurement data (e.g., glucose data) using multiple communication techniques. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may include an NFC reader adapted to obtain analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 when brought within an interrogation distance of the analyte sensor system 102. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may wirelessly receive analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 that is broadcast at predetermined periods of time (e.g., every 30 seconds, every minute, every 2 minutes, every 3 minutes, every 5 minutes, every 10 minutes, every 15 minutes, etc.). Generally, the embodiments of the disclosure may use any suitable wireless communication protocol for communication among the medication delivery device(s), the analyte sensor system, the secondary device(s), other electronic devices, and/or other mobile devices of the system 100. Examples of suitable wireless communication protocols include near-field-communication (ISO/IEC 14443 and 18092 compliant technology), wireless modems and routers (IEEE 802.11 compliant technology), and Bluetooth®/Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) (IEEE 802.15 compliant technology).)
As per claim 7,
Clemente teaches the limitations of claim 6.
Clemente further teaches wherein the predetermined interval is every minute:
(Paragraphs [0025]-[0029] and [0041] of Clemente. The teaching describes a medication delivery and management system 100. The system 100 includes an analyte sensor system 102, one or more medication delivery device(s) 110, a mobile application 104, and optionally, one or more secondary device(s) 106. The analyte sensor system 102 is configured to obtain various analyte measurement data and communicate the obtained analyte measurement data to the medication delivery device(s) 110. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include a glucose sensor system adapted to determine glucose values including, for example, a blood glucose meter (BGM), a flash glucose monitor [first sensor type], a continuous glucose monitor [second sensor type] (CGM), etc. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 can act as a flash glucose monitor, a continuous glucose monitor, or both by permitting intermittent and/or on-demand transmissions of glucose data. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 may monitor the change of glucose values in a given period of time and provide glucose trend data. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 can wirelessly transmit data when interrogated by a reader device (e.g., using NFC communication). In some cases, the glucose sensor can wirelessly transmit data at predetermined intervals (e.g., using radio frequencies) using any suitable communication standard (e.g., Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE)). In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include multiple glucose sensor systems (e.g., one or more of a continuous glucose monitor, a flash glucose monitor, a glucose meter, etc.). The analyte sensor system 102 can transmit analyte measurement data (e.g., glucose data) using multiple communication techniques. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may include an NFC reader adapted to obtain analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 when brought within an interrogation distance of the analyte sensor system 102. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may wirelessly receive analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 that is broadcast at predetermined periods of time (e.g., every 30 seconds, every minute, every 2 minutes, every 3 minutes, every 5 minutes, every 10 minutes, every 15 minutes, etc.). Generally, the embodiments of the disclosure may use any suitable wireless communication protocol for communication among the medication delivery device(s), the analyte sensor system, the secondary device(s), other electronic devices, and/or other mobile devices of the system 100. Examples of suitable wireless communication protocols include near-field-communication (ISO/IEC 14443 and 18092 compliant technology), wireless modems and routers (IEEE 802.11 compliant technology), and Bluetooth®/Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) (IEEE 802.15 compliant technology).)
As per claim 8,
Clemente teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Clemente further teaches wherein in the second configuration, the glucose monitoring software application, when executed by the one or more processors, further causes the one or more processors to: establish, between the sensor control device and the reader device, a wireless communication link according to a second wireless communication protocol, wherein the reader device is configured to receive the data indicative of the glucose level according to the second wireless communication protocol:
(Paragraphs [0025]-[0029] and [0041] of Clemente. The teaching describes a medication delivery and management system 100. The system 100 includes an analyte sensor system 102, one or more medication delivery device(s) 110, a mobile application 104, and optionally, one or more secondary device(s) 106. The analyte sensor system 102 is configured to obtain various analyte measurement data and communicate the obtained analyte measurement data to the medication delivery device(s) 110. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include a glucose sensor system adapted to determine glucose values including, for example, a blood glucose meter (BGM), a flash glucose monitor [first sensor type], a continuous glucose monitor [second sensor type] (CGM), etc. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 can act as a flash glucose monitor, a continuous glucose monitor, or both by permitting intermittent and/or on-demand transmissions of glucose data. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 may monitor the change of glucose values in a given period of time and provide glucose trend data. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 can wirelessly transmit data when interrogated by a reader device (e.g., using NFC communication). In some cases, the glucose sensor can wirelessly transmit data at predetermined intervals (e.g., using radio frequencies) using any suitable communication standard (e.g., Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE)). In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include multiple glucose sensor systems (e.g., one or more of a continuous glucose monitor, a flash glucose monitor, a glucose meter, etc.). The analyte sensor system 102 can transmit analyte measurement data (e.g., glucose data) using multiple communication techniques. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may include an NFC reader adapted to obtain analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 when brought within an interrogation distance of the analyte sensor system 102. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may wirelessly receive analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 that is broadcast at predetermined periods of time (e.g., every 30 seconds, every minute, every 2 minutes, every 3 minutes, every 5 minutes, every 10 minutes, every 15 minutes, etc.). Generally, the embodiments of the disclosure may use any suitable wireless communication protocol for communication among the medication delivery device(s), the analyte sensor system, the secondary device(s), other electronic devices, and/or other mobile devices of the system 100. Examples of suitable wireless communication protocols include near-field-communication (ISO/IEC 14443 and 18092 compliant technology), wireless modems and routers (IEEE 802.11 compliant technology), and Bluetooth®/Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) (IEEE 802.15 compliant technology).)
As per claim 9,
Clemente teaches the limitations of claim 8.
Clemente further teaches wherein the second wireless communication protocol is different than the first wireless communication protocol;
(Paragraphs [0025]-[0029] and [0041] of Clemente. The teaching describes a medication delivery and management system 100. The system 100 includes an analyte sensor system 102, one or more medication delivery device(s) 110, a mobile application 104, and optionally, one or more secondary device(s) 106. The analyte sensor system 102 is configured to obtain various analyte measurement data and communicate the obtained analyte measurement data to the medication delivery device(s) 110. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include a glucose sensor system adapted to determine glucose values including, for example, a blood glucose meter (BGM), a flash glucose monitor [first sensor type], a continuous glucose monitor [second sensor type] (CGM), etc. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 can act as a flash glucose monitor, a continuous glucose monitor, or both by permitting intermittent and/or on-demand transmissions of glucose data. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 may monitor the change of glucose values in a given period of time and provide glucose trend data. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 can wirelessly transmit data when interrogated by a reader device (e.g., using NFC communication). In some cases, the glucose sensor can wirelessly transmit data at predetermined intervals (e.g., using radio frequencies) using any suitable communication standard (e.g., Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE)). In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include multiple glucose sensor systems (e.g., one or more of a continuous glucose monitor, a flash glucose monitor, a glucose meter, etc.). The analyte sensor system 102 can transmit analyte measurement data (e.g., glucose data) using multiple communication techniques. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may include an NFC reader adapted to obtain analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 when brought within an interrogation distance of the analyte sensor system 102. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may wirelessly receive analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 that is broadcast at predetermined periods of time (e.g., every 30 seconds, every minute, every 2 minutes, every 3 minutes, every 5 minutes, every 10 minutes, every 15 minutes, etc.). Generally, the embodiments of the disclosure may use any suitable wireless communication protocol for communication among the medication delivery device(s), the analyte sensor system, the secondary device(s), other electronic devices, and/or other mobile devices of the system 100. Examples of suitable wireless communication protocols include near-field-communication (ISO/IEC 14443 and 18092 compliant technology), wireless modems and routers (IEEE 802.11 compliant technology), and Bluetooth®/Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) (IEEE 802.15 compliant technology).)
As per claim 10,
Clemente teaches the limitations of claim 8.
Clemente further teaches wherein the second wireless communication protocol is a Bluetooth or Bluetooth Low Energy protocol, and wherein the first wireless communication protocol is an NFC protocol:
(Paragraphs [0025]-[0029] and [0041] of Clemente. The teaching describes a medication delivery and management system 100. The system 100 includes an analyte sensor system 102, one or more medication delivery device(s) 110, a mobile application 104, and optionally, one or more secondary device(s) 106. The analyte sensor system 102 is configured to obtain various analyte measurement data and communicate the obtained analyte measurement data to the medication delivery device(s) 110. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include a glucose sensor system adapted to determine glucose values including, for example, a blood glucose meter (BGM), a flash glucose monitor [first sensor type], a continuous glucose monitor [second sensor type] (CGM), etc. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 can act as a flash glucose monitor, a continuous glucose monitor, or both by permitting intermittent and/or on-demand transmissions of glucose data. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 may monitor the change of glucose values in a given period of time and provide glucose trend data. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 can wirelessly transmit data when interrogated by a reader device (e.g., using NFC communication). In some cases, the glucose sensor can wirelessly transmit data at predetermined intervals (e.g., using radio frequencies) using any suitable communication standard (e.g., Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE)). In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include multiple glucose sensor systems (e.g., one or more of a continuous glucose monitor, a flash glucose monitor, a glucose meter, etc.). The analyte sensor system 102 can transmit analyte measurement data (e.g., glucose data) using multiple communication techniques. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may include an NFC reader adapted to obtain analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 when brought within an interrogation distance of the analyte sensor system 102. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may wirelessly receive analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 that is broadcast at predetermined periods of time (e.g., every 30 seconds, every minute, every 2 minutes, every 3 minutes, every 5 minutes, every 10 minutes, every 15 minutes, etc.). Generally, the embodiments of the disclosure may use any suitable wireless communication protocol for communication among the medication delivery device(s), the analyte sensor system, the secondary device(s), other electronic devices, and/or other mobile devices of the system 100. Examples of suitable wireless communication protocols include near-field-communication (ISO/IEC 14443 and 18092 compliant technology), wireless modems and routers (IEEE 802.11 compliant technology), and Bluetooth®/Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) (IEEE 802.15 compliant technology).)
As per claim 11,
Clemente teaches the limitations of claim 8.
Clemente further teaches wherein the reader device is configured to receive the data indicative of the glucose level at a predetermined interval:
(Paragraphs [0025]-[0029] and [0041] of Clemente. The teaching describes a medication delivery and management system 100. The system 100 includes an analyte sensor system 102, one or more medication delivery device(s) 110, a mobile application 104, and optionally, one or more secondary device(s) 106. The analyte sensor system 102 is configured to obtain various analyte measurement data and communicate the obtained analyte measurement data to the medication delivery device(s) 110. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include a glucose sensor system adapted to determine glucose values including, for example, a blood glucose meter (BGM), a flash glucose monitor [first sensor type], a continuous glucose monitor [second sensor type] (CGM), etc. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 can act as a flash glucose monitor, a continuous glucose monitor, or both by permitting intermittent and/or on-demand transmissions of glucose data. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 may monitor the change of glucose values in a given period of time and provide glucose trend data. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 can wirelessly transmit data when interrogated by a reader device (e.g., using NFC communication). In some cases, the glucose sensor can wirelessly transmit data at predetermined intervals (e.g., using radio frequencies) using any suitable communication standard (e.g., Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE)). In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include multiple glucose sensor systems (e.g., one or more of a continuous glucose monitor, a flash glucose monitor, a glucose meter, etc.). The analyte sensor system 102 can transmit analyte measurement data (e.g., glucose data) using multiple communication techniques. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may include an NFC reader adapted to obtain analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 when brought within an interrogation distance of the analyte sensor system 102. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may wirelessly receive analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 that is broadcast at predetermined periods of time (e.g., every 30 seconds, every minute, every 2 minutes, every 3 minutes, every 5 minutes, every 10 minutes, every 15 minutes, etc.). Generally, the embodiments of the disclosure may use any suitable wireless communication protocol for communication among the medication delivery device(s), the analyte sensor system, the secondary device(s), other electronic devices, and/or other mobile devices of the system 100. Examples of suitable wireless communication protocols include near-field-communication (ISO/IEC 14443 and 18092 compliant technology), wireless modems and routers (IEEE 802.11 compliant technology), and Bluetooth®/Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) (IEEE 802.15 compliant technology).)
As per claim 12,
Clemente teaches the limitations of claim 11.
Clemente further teaches wherein the predetermined interval is every minute:
(Paragraphs [0025]-[0029] and [0041] of Clemente. The teaching describes a medication delivery and management system 100. The system 100 includes an analyte sensor system 102, one or more medication delivery device(s) 110, a mobile application 104, and optionally, one or more secondary device(s) 106. The analyte sensor system 102 is configured to obtain various analyte measurement data and communicate the obtained analyte measurement data to the medication delivery device(s) 110. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include a glucose sensor system adapted to determine glucose values including, for example, a blood glucose meter (BGM), a flash glucose monitor [first sensor type], a continuous glucose monitor [second sensor type] (CGM), etc. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 can act as a flash glucose monitor, a continuous glucose monitor, or both by permitting intermittent and/or on-demand transmissions of glucose data. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 may monitor the change of glucose values in a given period of time and provide glucose trend data. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 can wirelessly transmit data when interrogated by a reader device (e.g., using NFC communication). In some cases, the glucose sensor can wirelessly transmit data at predetermined intervals (e.g., using radio frequencies) using any suitable communication standard (e.g., Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE)). In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include multiple glucose sensor systems (e.g., one or more of a continuous glucose monitor, a flash glucose monitor, a glucose meter, etc.). The analyte sensor system 102 can transmit analyte measurement data (e.g., glucose data) using multiple communication techniques. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may include an NFC reader adapted to obtain analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 when brought within an interrogation distance of the analyte sensor system 102. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may wirelessly receive analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 that is broadcast at predetermined periods of time (e.g., every 30 seconds, every minute, every 2 minutes, every 3 minutes, every 5 minutes, every 10 minutes, every 15 minutes, etc.). Generally, the embodiments of the disclosure may use any suitable wireless communication protocol for communication among the medication delivery device(s), the analyte sensor system, the secondary device(s), other electronic devices, and/or other mobile devices of the system 100. Examples of suitable wireless communication protocols include near-field-communication (ISO/IEC 14443 and 18092 compliant technology), wireless modems and routers (IEEE 802.11 compliant technology), and Bluetooth®/Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) (IEEE 802.15 compliant technology).)
As per claim 15,
Clemente teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Clemente further teaches wherein in the first configuration, the glucose monitoring software application, when executed by the one or more processors, further causes the one or more processors to: cause autonomous communication of the data indicative of the glucose level at a predetermined interval between the sensor control device and the reader device or cause communication of the data indicative of the glucose level according to the first wireless communication protocol; and in response to a reconnection through the first wireless communication protocol following an interruption of a communication link between the sensor control device and the reader device, the reader device is configured to request historical data indicative of the glucose level from the sensor control device, wherein the historical data indicative of the glucose level is associated with a specific life count range; and upon receiving the request, the sensor control device is further configured to retrieve the requested historical data indicative of the glucose level from a second memory and transmit the requested historical data indicative of the glucose level to the reader device, wherein the reader device is further configured to store the transmitted historical requested historical data indicative of the glucose level in the first memory:
(Paragraphs [0025]-[0029], [0041] and [0043] of Clemente. The teaching describes a medication delivery and management system 100. The system 100 includes an analyte sensor system 102, one or more medication delivery device(s) 110, a mobile application 104, and optionally, one or more secondary device(s) 106. The analyte sensor system 102 is configured to obtain various analyte measurement data and communicate the obtained analyte measurement data to the medication delivery device(s) 110. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include a glucose sensor system adapted to determine glucose values including, for example, a blood glucose meter (BGM), a flash glucose monitor [first sensor type], a continuous glucose monitor [second sensor type] (CGM), etc. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 can act as a flash glucose monitor, a continuous glucose monitor, or both by permitting intermittent and/or on-demand transmissions of glucose data. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 may monitor the change of glucose values in a given period of time and provide glucose trend data. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 can wirelessly transmit data when interrogated by a reader device (e.g., using NFC communication). In some cases, the glucose sensor can wirelessly transmit data at predetermined intervals (e.g., using radio frequencies) using any suitable communication standard (e.g., Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE)). In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include multiple glucose sensor systems (e.g., one or more of a continuous glucose monitor, a flash glucose monitor, a glucose meter, etc.). The analyte sensor system 102 can transmit analyte measurement data (e.g., glucose data) using multiple communication techniques. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may include an NFC reader adapted to obtain analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 when brought within an interrogation distance of the analyte sensor system 102. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may wirelessly receive analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 that is broadcast at predetermined periods of time (e.g., every 30 seconds, every minute, every 2 minutes, every 3 minutes, every 5 minutes, every 10 minutes, every 15 minutes, etc.). By broadcasting at predetermined periods of time, the broadcasts are construed to be interrupted or stopped in between broadcast intervals (e.g., reconnection following an interruption in connection of communication link between the devices). Generally, the embodiments of the disclosure may use any suitable wireless communication protocol for communication among the medication delivery device(s), the analyte sensor system, the secondary device(s), other electronic devices, and/or other mobile devices of the system 100. Examples of suitable wireless communication protocols include near-field-communication (ISO/IEC 14443 and 18092 compliant technology), wireless modems and routers (IEEE 802.11 compliant technology), and Bluetooth®/Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) (IEEE 802.15 compliant technology). In some cases, the one or more medication delivery device(s) 110 may be paired with the system 100 via a profile created by the mobile application 104. In one embodiment, the mobile application 104 may query web services 105 for whether a profile for a device already exists for a specific user, and, if it does, request that it be sent. The user profile may include a user's personalization pattern data including, for example, determination algorithms to determine an intended dose for the user, historical data or physiological attributes of the user (e.g., insulin sensitivity), historical or current data related to actual glucose measurements and glucose response analysis, etc. Upon creating the user profile, the mobile application 104 may save insulin therapy related settings with the profile. The insulin therapy related settings may include user-specific dosage parameters for a user, delivery characteristics of the device, specific techniques that may be used to determine an intended dose, etc. In one embodiment, each delivery device profile may include, or be part of a user profile that includes, pre-configured correction doses for particular analyte measurement data (e.g., particular glucose ranges), or for particular therapeutic relevant conditions (e.g., different meal sizes). In one embodiment, the pre-configured doses may be entered at the mobile application 104. In another embodiment the pre-configured doses may be entered at one of the web services 105 (e.g., by a healthcare provider or parent), and downloaded to the mobile application 104. The medication delivery device(s) 110 interrogates the glucose sensor system 102, it may receive stored glucose data from the previous 1 hour, 2 hours, 3, hours, 4 hours, 5 hours, 6 hours, 7 hours, 8 hours, etc)
As per claim 16,
Clemente teaches the limitations of claim 15.
Clemente further teaches wherein the life count range includes up to a last eight hours of historical data indicative of the glucose level:
(Paragraphs [0025]-[0029], [0041] and [0043] of Clemente. The teaching describes a medication delivery and management system 100. The system 100 includes an analyte sensor system 102, one or more medication delivery device(s) 110, a mobile application 104, and optionally, one or more secondary device(s) 106. The analyte sensor system 102 is configured to obtain various analyte measurement data and communicate the obtained analyte measurement data to the medication delivery device(s) 110. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include a glucose sensor system adapted to determine glucose values including, for example, a blood glucose meter (BGM), a flash glucose monitor [first sensor type], a continuous glucose monitor [second sensor type] (CGM), etc. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 can act as a flash glucose monitor, a continuous glucose monitor, or both by permitting intermittent and/or on-demand transmissions of glucose data. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 may monitor the change of glucose values in a given period of time and provide glucose trend data. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 can wirelessly transmit data when interrogated by a reader device (e.g., using NFC communication). In some cases, the glucose sensor can wirelessly transmit data at predetermined intervals (e.g., using radio frequencies) using any suitable communication standard (e.g., Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE)). In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include multiple glucose sensor systems (e.g., one or more of a continuous glucose monitor, a flash glucose monitor, a glucose meter, etc.). The analyte sensor system 102 can transmit analyte measurement data (e.g., glucose data) using multiple communication techniques. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may include an NFC reader adapted to obtain analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 when brought within an interrogation distance of the analyte sensor system 102. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may wirelessly receive analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 that is broadcast at predetermined periods of time (e.g., every 30 seconds, every minute, every 2 minutes, every 3 minutes, every 5 minutes, every 10 minutes, every 15 minutes, etc.). Generally, the embodiments of the disclosure may use any suitable wireless communication protocol for communication among the medication delivery device(s), the analyte sensor system, the secondary device(s), other electronic devices, and/or other mobile devices of the system 100. Examples of suitable wireless communication protocols include near-field-communication (ISO/IEC 14443 and 18092 compliant technology), wireless modems and routers (IEEE 802.11 compliant technology), and Bluetooth®/Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) (IEEE 802.15 compliant technology). In some cases, the one or more medication delivery device(s) 110 may be paired with the system 100 via a profile created by the mobile application 104. In one embodiment, the mobile application 104 may query web services 105 for whether a profile for a device already exists for a specific user, and, if it does, request that it be sent. The user profile may include a user's personalization pattern data including, for example, determination algorithms to determine an intended dose for the user, historical data or physiological attributes of the user (e.g., insulin sensitivity), historical or current data related to actual glucose measurements and glucose response analysis, etc. Upon creating the user profile, the mobile application 104 may save insulin therapy related settings with the profile. The insulin therapy related settings may include user-specific dosage parameters for a user, delivery characteristics of the device, specific techniques that may be used to determine an intended dose, etc. In one embodiment, each delivery device profile may include, or be part of a user profile that includes, pre-configured correction doses for particular analyte measurement data (e.g., particular glucose ranges), or for particular therapeutic relevant conditions (e.g., different meal sizes). In one embodiment, the pre-configured doses may be entered at the mobile application 104. In another embodiment the pre-configured doses may be entered at one of the web services 105 (e.g., by a healthcare provider or parent), and downloaded to the mobile application 104. The medication delivery device(s) 110 interrogates the glucose sensor system 102, it may receive stored glucose data from the previous 1 hour, 2 hours, 3, hours, 4 hours, 5 hours, 6 hours, 7 hours, 8 hours, etc)
As per claim 17,
Clemente teaches the limitations of claim 15.
Clemente further teaches wherein the first wireless communication protocol is an NFC protocol:
(Paragraphs [0025]-[0029], [0041] and [0043] of Clemente. The teaching describes a medication delivery and management system 100. The system 100 includes an analyte sensor system 102, one or more medication delivery device(s) 110, a mobile application 104, and optionally, one or more secondary device(s) 106. The analyte sensor system 102 is configured to obtain various analyte measurement data and communicate the obtained analyte measurement data to the medication delivery device(s) 110. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include a glucose sensor system adapted to determine glucose values including, for example, a blood glucose meter (BGM), a flash glucose monitor [first sensor type], a continuous glucose monitor [second sensor type] (CGM), etc. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 can act as a flash glucose monitor, a continuous glucose monitor, or both by permitting intermittent and/or on-demand transmissions of glucose data. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 may monitor the change of glucose values in a given period of time and provide glucose trend data. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 can wirelessly transmit data when interrogated by a reader device (e.g., using NFC communication). In some cases, the glucose sensor can wirelessly transmit data at predetermined intervals (e.g., using radio frequencies) using any suitable communication standard (e.g., Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE)). In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include multiple glucose sensor systems (e.g., one or more of a continuous glucose monitor, a flash glucose monitor, a glucose meter, etc.). The analyte sensor system 102 can transmit analyte measurement data (e.g., glucose data) using multiple communication techniques. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may include an NFC reader adapted to obtain analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 when brought within an interrogation distance of the analyte sensor system 102. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may wirelessly receive analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 that is broadcast at predetermined periods of time (e.g., every 30 seconds, every minute, every 2 minutes, every 3 minutes, every 5 minutes, every 10 minutes, every 15 minutes, etc.). Generally, the embodiments of the disclosure may use any suitable wireless communication protocol for communication among the medication delivery device(s), the analyte sensor system, the secondary device(s), other electronic devices, and/or other mobile devices of the system 100. Examples of suitable wireless communication protocols include near-field-communication (ISO/IEC 14443 and 18092 compliant technology), wireless modems and routers (IEEE 802.11 compliant technology), and Bluetooth®/Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) (IEEE 802.15 compliant technology). In some cases, the one or more medication delivery device(s) 110 may be paired with the system 100 via a profile created by the mobile application 104. In one embodiment, the mobile application 104 may query web services 105 for whether a profile for a device already exists for a specific user, and, if it does, request that it be sent. The user profile may include a user's personalization pattern data including, for example, determination algorithms to determine an intended dose for the user, historical data or physiological attributes of the user (e.g., insulin sensitivity), historical or current data related to actual glucose measurements and glucose response analysis, etc. Upon creating the user profile, the mobile application 104 may save insulin therapy related settings with the profile. The insulin therapy related settings may include user-specific dosage parameters for a user, delivery characteristics of the device, specific techniques that may be used to determine an intended dose, etc. In one embodiment, each delivery device profile may include, or be part of a user profile that includes, pre-configured correction doses for particular analyte measurement data (e.g., particular glucose ranges), or for particular therapeutic relevant conditions (e.g., different meal sizes). In one embodiment, the pre-configured doses may be entered at the mobile application 104. In another embodiment the pre-configured doses may be entered at one of the web services 105 (e.g., by a healthcare provider or parent), and downloaded to the mobile application 104. The medication delivery device(s) 110 interrogates the glucose sensor system 102, it may receive stored glucose data from the previous 1 hour, 2 hours, 3, hours, 4 hours, 5 hours, 6 hours, 7 hours, 8 hours, etc)
As per claim 18,
Clemente teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Clemente further teaches wherein in the second configuration, the glucose monitoring software application, when executed by the one or more processors, further causes the one or more processors to: cause autonomous communication of the data indicative of the glucose level at a predetermined interval between the sensor control device and the reader device; and in response to a reconnection following an interruption of a communication link between the sensor control device and the reader device, the reader device is configured to request historical data indicative of the glucose level from the sensor control device according to a life count metric; and upon receiving the request, the sensor control device is further configured to retrieve the requested historical data indicative of the glucose level from a second memory and transmit the requested historical data indicative of the glucose level to the reader device, wherein the reader device is further configured to store the transmitted historical requested historical data indicative of the glucose level in the first memory:
(Paragraphs [0025]-[0029], [0041] and [0043] of Clemente. The teaching describes a medication delivery and management system 100. The system 100 includes an analyte sensor system 102, one or more medication delivery device(s) 110, a mobile application 104, and optionally, one or more secondary device(s) 106. The analyte sensor system 102 is configured to obtain various analyte measurement data and communicate the obtained analyte measurement data to the medication delivery device(s) 110. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include a glucose sensor system adapted to determine glucose values including, for example, a blood glucose meter (BGM), a flash glucose monitor [first sensor type], a continuous glucose monitor [second sensor type] (CGM), etc. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 can act as a flash glucose monitor, a continuous glucose monitor, or both by permitting intermittent and/or on-demand transmissions of glucose data. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 may monitor the change of glucose values in a given period of time and provide glucose trend data. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 can wirelessly transmit data when interrogated by a reader device (e.g., using NFC communication). In some cases, the glucose sensor can wirelessly transmit data at predetermined intervals (e.g., using radio frequencies) using any suitable communication standard (e.g., Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE)). In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include multiple glucose sensor systems (e.g., one or more of a continuous glucose monitor, a flash glucose monitor, a glucose meter, etc.). The analyte sensor system 102 can transmit analyte measurement data (e.g., glucose data) using multiple communication techniques. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may include an NFC reader adapted to obtain analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 when brought within an interrogation distance of the analyte sensor system 102. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may wirelessly receive analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 that is broadcast at predetermined periods of time (e.g., every 30 seconds, every minute, every 2 minutes, every 3 minutes, every 5 minutes, every 10 minutes, every 15 minutes, etc.). By broadcasting at predetermined periods of time, the broadcasts are construed to be interrupted or stopped in between broadcast intervals (e.g., reconnection following an interruption in connection of communication link between the devices). Generally, the embodiments of the disclosure may use any suitable wireless communication protocol for communication among the medication delivery device(s), the analyte sensor system, the secondary device(s), other electronic devices, and/or other mobile devices of the system 100. Examples of suitable wireless communication protocols include near-field-communication (ISO/IEC 14443 and 18092 compliant technology), wireless modems and routers (IEEE 802.11 compliant technology), and Bluetooth®/Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) (IEEE 802.15 compliant technology). In some cases, the one or more medication delivery device(s) 110 may be paired with the system 100 via a profile created by the mobile application 104. In one embodiment, the mobile application 104 may query web services 105 for whether a profile for a device already exists for a specific user, and, if it does, request that it be sent. The user profile may include a user's personalization pattern data including, for example, determination algorithms to determine an intended dose for the user, historical data or physiological attributes of the user (e.g., insulin sensitivity), historical or current data related to actual glucose measurements and glucose response analysis, etc. Upon creating the user profile, the mobile application 104 may save insulin therapy related settings with the profile. The insulin therapy related settings may include user-specific dosage parameters for a user, delivery characteristics of the device, specific techniques that may be used to determine an intended dose, etc. In one embodiment, each delivery device profile may include, or be part of a user profile that includes, pre-configured correction doses for particular analyte measurement data (e.g., particular glucose ranges), or for particular therapeutic relevant conditions (e.g., different meal sizes). In one embodiment, the pre-configured doses may be entered at the mobile application 104. In another embodiment the pre-configured doses may be entered at one of the web services 105 (e.g., by a healthcare provider or parent), and downloaded to the mobile application 104. The medication delivery device(s) 110 interrogates the glucose sensor system 102, it may receive stored glucose data from the previous 1 hour, 2 hours, 3, hours, 4 hours, 5 hours, 6 hours, 7 hours, 8 hours, etc)
As per claim 19,
Clemente teaches the limitations of claim 18.
Clemente further teaches wherein the life count metric comprises a numerical value configured to be incremented and tracked on the reader device, wherein the life count metric is configured to be indicative of an amount of time elapsed since activation of the sensor control device:
(Paragraphs [0025]-[0029], [0041] and [0043] of Clemente. The teaching describes a medication delivery and management system 100. The system 100 includes an analyte sensor system 102, one or more medication delivery device(s) 110, a mobile application 104, and optionally, one or more secondary device(s) 106. The analyte sensor system 102 is configured to obtain various analyte measurement data and communicate the obtained analyte measurement data to the medication delivery device(s) 110. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include a glucose sensor system adapted to determine glucose values including, for example, a blood glucose meter (BGM), a flash glucose monitor [first sensor type], a continuous glucose monitor [second sensor type] (CGM), etc. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 can act as a flash glucose monitor, a continuous glucose monitor, or both by permitting intermittent and/or on-demand transmissions of glucose data. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 may monitor the change of glucose values in a given period of time and provide glucose trend data. This is construed as an amount of time elapsed since activation of the sensor control device. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 can wirelessly transmit data when interrogated by a reader device (e.g., using NFC communication). In some cases, the glucose sensor can wirelessly transmit data at predetermined intervals (e.g., using radio frequencies) using any suitable communication standard (e.g., Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE)). In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include multiple glucose sensor systems (e.g., one or more of a continuous glucose monitor, a flash glucose monitor, a glucose meter, etc.). The analyte sensor system 102 can transmit analyte measurement data (e.g., glucose data) using multiple communication techniques. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may include an NFC reader adapted to obtain analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 when brought within an interrogation distance of the analyte sensor system 102. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may wirelessly receive analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 that is broadcast at predetermined periods of time (e.g., every 30 seconds, every minute, every 2 minutes, every 3 minutes, every 5 minutes, every 10 minutes, every 15 minutes, etc.). Generally, the embodiments of the disclosure may use any suitable wireless communication protocol for communication among the medication delivery device(s), the analyte sensor system, the secondary device(s), other electronic devices, and/or other mobile devices of the system 100. Examples of suitable wireless communication protocols include near-field-communication (ISO/IEC 14443 and 18092 compliant technology), wireless modems and routers (IEEE 802.11 compliant technology), and Bluetooth®/Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) (IEEE 802.15 compliant technology). In some cases, the one or more medication delivery device(s) 110 may be paired with the system 100 via a profile created by the mobile application 104. In one embodiment, the mobile application 104 may query web services 105 for whether a profile for a device already exists for a specific user, and, if it does, request that it be sent. The user profile may include a user's personalization pattern data including, for example, determination algorithms to determine an intended dose for the user, historical data or physiological attributes of the user (e.g., insulin sensitivity), historical or current data related to actual glucose measurements and glucose response analysis, etc. Upon creating the user profile, the mobile application 104 may save insulin therapy related settings with the profile. The insulin therapy related settings may include user-specific dosage parameters for a user, delivery characteristics of the device, specific techniques that may be used to determine an intended dose, etc. In one embodiment, each delivery device profile may include, or be part of a user profile that includes, pre-configured correction doses for particular analyte measurement data (e.g., particular glucose ranges), or for particular therapeutic relevant conditions (e.g., different meal sizes). In one embodiment, the pre-configured doses may be entered at the mobile application 104. In another embodiment the pre-configured doses may be entered at one of the web services 105 (e.g., by a healthcare provider or parent), and downloaded to the mobile application 104. The medication delivery device(s) 110 interrogates the glucose sensor system 102, it may receive stored glucose data from the previous 1 hour, 2 hours, 3, hours, 4 hours, 5 hours, 6 hours, 7 hours, 8 hours, etc)
As per claim 20,
The glucose monitoring system of claim 18.
Clemente further teaches wherein the data indicative of the glucose level is autonomously communicated between the sensor control device and the reader device according to a second wireless communication protocol:
(Paragraphs [0025]-[0029], [0041] and [0043] of Clemente. The teaching describes a medication delivery and management system 100. The system 100 includes an analyte sensor system 102, one or more medication delivery device(s) 110, a mobile application 104, and optionally, one or more secondary device(s) 106. The analyte sensor system 102 is configured to obtain various analyte measurement data and communicate the obtained analyte measurement data to the medication delivery device(s) 110. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include a glucose sensor system adapted to determine glucose values including, for example, a blood glucose meter (BGM), a flash glucose monitor [first sensor type], a continuous glucose monitor [second sensor type] (CGM), etc. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 can act as a flash glucose monitor, a continuous glucose monitor, or both by permitting intermittent and/or on-demand transmissions of glucose data. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 may monitor the change of glucose values in a given period of time and provide glucose trend data. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 can wirelessly transmit data when interrogated by a reader device (e.g., using NFC communication). In some cases, the glucose sensor can wirelessly transmit data at predetermined intervals (e.g., using radio frequencies) using any suitable communication standard (e.g., Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE)). In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include multiple glucose sensor systems (e.g., one or more of a continuous glucose monitor, a flash glucose monitor, a glucose meter, etc.). The analyte sensor system 102 can transmit analyte measurement data (e.g., glucose data) using multiple communication techniques. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may include an NFC reader adapted to obtain analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 when brought within an interrogation distance of the analyte sensor system 102. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may wirelessly receive analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 that is broadcast at predetermined periods of time (e.g., every 30 seconds, every minute, every 2 minutes, every 3 minutes, every 5 minutes, every 10 minutes, every 15 minutes, etc.). Generally, the embodiments of the disclosure may use any suitable wireless communication protocol for communication among the medication delivery device(s), the analyte sensor system, the secondary device(s), other electronic devices, and/or other mobile devices of the system 100. Examples of suitable wireless communication protocols include near-field-communication (ISO/IEC 14443 and 18092 compliant technology), wireless modems and routers (IEEE 802.11 compliant technology), and Bluetooth®/Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) (IEEE 802.15 compliant technology). In some cases, the one or more medication delivery device(s) 110 may be paired with the system 100 via a profile created by the mobile application 104. In one embodiment, the mobile application 104 may query web services 105 for whether a profile for a device already exists for a specific user, and, if it does, request that it be sent. The user profile may include a user's personalization pattern data including, for example, determination algorithms to determine an intended dose for the user, historical data or physiological attributes of the user (e.g., insulin sensitivity), historical or current data related to actual glucose measurements and glucose response analysis, etc. Upon creating the user profile, the mobile application 104 may save insulin therapy related settings with the profile. The insulin therapy related settings may include user-specific dosage parameters for a user, delivery characteristics of the device, specific techniques that may be used to determine an intended dose, etc. In one embodiment, each delivery device profile may include, or be part of a user profile that includes, pre-configured correction doses for particular analyte measurement data (e.g., particular glucose ranges), or for particular therapeutic relevant conditions (e.g., different meal sizes). In one embodiment, the pre-configured doses may be entered at the mobile application 104. In another embodiment the pre-configured doses may be entered at one of the web services 105 (e.g., by a healthcare provider or parent), and downloaded to the mobile application 104. The medication delivery device(s) 110 interrogates the glucose sensor system 102, it may receive stored glucose data from the previous 1 hour, 2 hours, 3, hours, 4 hours, 5 hours, 6 hours, 7 hours, 8 hours, etc)
As per claim 21,
Clemente teaches the limitations of claim 20.
Clemente further teaches wherein the second wireless communication protocol is a Bluetooth or Bluetooth Low Energy protocol, and wherein the first wireless communication protocol is an NFC protocol:
(Paragraphs [0025]-[0029], [0041] and [0043] of Clemente. The teaching describes a medication delivery and management system 100. The system 100 includes an analyte sensor system 102, one or more medication delivery device(s) 110, a mobile application 104, and optionally, one or more secondary device(s) 106. The analyte sensor system 102 is configured to obtain various analyte measurement data and communicate the obtained analyte measurement data to the medication delivery device(s) 110. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include a glucose sensor system adapted to determine glucose values including, for example, a blood glucose meter (BGM), a flash glucose monitor [first sensor type], a continuous glucose monitor [second sensor type] (CGM), etc. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 can act as a flash glucose monitor, a continuous glucose monitor, or both by permitting intermittent and/or on-demand transmissions of glucose data. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 may monitor the change of glucose values in a given period of time and provide glucose trend data. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 can wirelessly transmit data when interrogated by a reader device (e.g., using NFC communication). In some cases, the glucose sensor can wirelessly transmit data at predetermined intervals (e.g., using radio frequencies) using any suitable communication standard (e.g., Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE)). In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include multiple glucose sensor systems (e.g., one or more of a continuous glucose monitor, a flash glucose monitor, a glucose meter, etc.). The analyte sensor system 102 can transmit analyte measurement data (e.g., glucose data) using multiple communication techniques. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may include an NFC reader adapted to obtain analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 when brought within an interrogation distance of the analyte sensor system 102. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may wirelessly receive analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 that is broadcast at predetermined periods of time (e.g., every 30 seconds, every minute, every 2 minutes, every 3 minutes, every 5 minutes, every 10 minutes, every 15 minutes, etc.). Generally, the embodiments of the disclosure may use any suitable wireless communication protocol for communication among the medication delivery device(s), the analyte sensor system, the secondary device(s), other electronic devices, and/or other mobile devices of the system 100. Examples of suitable wireless communication protocols include near-field-communication (ISO/IEC 14443 and 18092 compliant technology), wireless modems and routers (IEEE 802.11 compliant technology), and Bluetooth®/Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) (IEEE 802.15 compliant technology). In some cases, the one or more medication delivery device(s) 110 may be paired with the system 100 via a profile created by the mobile application 104. In one embodiment, the mobile application 104 may query web services 105 for whether a profile for a device already exists for a specific user, and, if it does, request that it be sent. The user profile may include a user's personalization pattern data including, for example, determination algorithms to determine an intended dose for the user, historical data or physiological attributes of the user (e.g., insulin sensitivity), historical or current data related to actual glucose measurements and glucose response analysis, etc. Upon creating the user profile, the mobile application 104 may save insulin therapy related settings with the profile. The insulin therapy related settings may include user-specific dosage parameters for a user, delivery characteristics of the device, specific techniques that may be used to determine an intended dose, etc. In one embodiment, each delivery device profile may include, or be part of a user profile that includes, pre-configured correction doses for particular analyte measurement data (e.g., particular glucose ranges), or for particular therapeutic relevant conditions (e.g., different meal sizes). In one embodiment, the pre-configured doses may be entered at the mobile application 104. In another embodiment the pre-configured doses may be entered at one of the web services 105 (e.g., by a healthcare provider or parent), and downloaded to the mobile application 104. The medication delivery device(s) 110 interrogates the glucose sensor system 102, it may receive stored glucose data from the previous 1 hour, 2 hours, 3, hours, 4 hours, 5 hours, 6 hours, 7 hours, 8 hours, etc)
As per claim 22,
Clemente teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Clemente further teaches wherein the first configuration is different from the second configuration:
(Paragraphs [0025]-[0029] and [0041] of Clemente. The teaching describes a medication delivery and management system 100. The system 100 includes an analyte sensor system 102, one or more medication delivery device(s) 110, a mobile application 104, and optionally, one or more secondary device(s) 106. The analyte sensor system 102 is configured to obtain various analyte measurement data and communicate the obtained analyte measurement data to the medication delivery device(s) 110. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include a glucose sensor system adapted to determine glucose values including, for example, a blood glucose meter (BGM), a flash glucose monitor [first sensor type], a continuous glucose monitor [second sensor type] (CGM), etc. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 can act as a flash glucose monitor, a continuous glucose monitor, or both by permitting intermittent and/or on-demand transmissions of glucose data. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 may monitor the change of glucose values in a given period of time and provide glucose trend data. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 can wirelessly transmit data when interrogated by a reader device (e.g., using NFC communication). In some cases, the glucose sensor can wirelessly transmit data at predetermined intervals (e.g., using radio frequencies) using any suitable communication standard (e.g., Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE)). In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include multiple glucose sensor systems (e.g., one or more of a continuous glucose monitor, a flash glucose monitor, a glucose meter, etc.). The analyte sensor system 102 can transmit analyte measurement data (e.g., glucose data) using multiple communication techniques. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may include an NFC reader adapted to obtain analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 when brought within an interrogation distance of the analyte sensor system 102. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may wirelessly receive analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 that is broadcast at predetermined periods of time (e.g., every 30 seconds, every minute, every 2 minutes, every 3 minutes, every 5 minutes, every 10 minutes, every 15 minutes, etc.). Generally, the embodiments of the disclosure may use any suitable wireless communication protocol for communication among the medication delivery device(s), the analyte sensor system, the secondary device(s), other electronic devices, and/or other mobile devices of the system 100. Examples of suitable wireless communication protocols include near-field-communication (ISO/IEC 14443 and 18092 compliant technology), wireless modems and routers (IEEE 802.11 compliant technology), and Bluetooth®/Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) (IEEE 802.15 compliant technology).)
As per claim 23,
Clemente teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Clemente further teaches wherein the first sensor type is different from the second sensor type:
(Paragraphs [0025]-[0029] and [0041] of Clemente. The teaching describes a medication delivery and management system 100. The system 100 includes an analyte sensor system 102, one or more medication delivery device(s) 110, a mobile application 104, and optionally, one or more secondary device(s) 106. The analyte sensor system 102 is configured to obtain various analyte measurement data and communicate the obtained analyte measurement data to the medication delivery device(s) 110. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include a glucose sensor system adapted to determine glucose values including, for example, a blood glucose meter (BGM), a flash glucose monitor [first sensor type], a continuous glucose monitor [second sensor type] (CGM), etc. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 can act as a flash glucose monitor, a continuous glucose monitor, or both by permitting intermittent and/or on-demand transmissions of glucose data. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 may monitor the change of glucose values in a given period of time and provide glucose trend data. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 can wirelessly transmit data when interrogated by a reader device (e.g., using NFC communication). In some cases, the glucose sensor can wirelessly transmit data at predetermined intervals (e.g., using radio frequencies) using any suitable communication standard (e.g., Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE)). In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include multiple glucose sensor systems (e.g., one or more of a continuous glucose monitor, a flash glucose monitor, a glucose meter, etc.). The analyte sensor system 102 can transmit analyte measurement data (e.g., glucose data) using multiple communication techniques. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may include an NFC reader adapted to obtain analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 when brought within an interrogation distance of the analyte sensor system 102. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may wirelessly receive analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 that is broadcast at predetermined periods of time (e.g., every 30 seconds, every minute, every 2 minutes, every 3 minutes, every 5 minutes, every 10 minutes, every 15 minutes, etc.). Generally, the embodiments of the disclosure may use any suitable wireless communication protocol for communication among the medication delivery device(s), the analyte sensor system, the secondary device(s), other electronic devices, and/or other mobile devices of the system 100. Examples of suitable wireless communication protocols include near-field-communication (ISO/IEC 14443 and 18092 compliant technology), wireless modems and routers (IEEE 802.11 compliant technology), and Bluetooth®/Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) (IEEE 802.15 compliant technology).)
As per claim 24,
Clemente teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Clemente further teaches wherein in the first configuration, the glucose monitoring software application, when executed by the one or more processors, further causes the one or more processors to: output a first set of GUIs corresponding to the first sensor type:
(Paragraphs [0025]-[0029], [0039] and [0041] of Clemente. The teaching describes a medication delivery and management system 100. The system 100 includes an analyte sensor system 102, one or more medication delivery device(s) 110, a mobile application 104, and optionally, one or more secondary device(s) 106. The analyte sensor system 102 is configured to obtain various analyte measurement data and communicate the obtained analyte measurement data to the medication delivery device(s) 110. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include a glucose sensor system adapted to determine glucose values including, for example, a blood glucose meter (BGM), a flash glucose monitor [first sensor type], a continuous glucose monitor [second sensor type] (CGM), etc. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 can act as a flash glucose monitor, a continuous glucose monitor, or both by permitting intermittent and/or on-demand transmissions of glucose data. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 may monitor the change of glucose values in a given period of time and provide glucose trend data. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 can wirelessly transmit data when interrogated by a reader device (e.g., using NFC communication). In some cases, the glucose sensor can wirelessly transmit data at predetermined intervals (e.g., using radio frequencies) using any suitable communication standard (e.g., Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE)). In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include multiple glucose sensor systems (e.g., one or more of a continuous glucose monitor, a flash glucose monitor, a glucose meter, etc.). The analyte sensor system 102 can transmit analyte measurement data (e.g., glucose data) using multiple communication techniques. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may include an NFC reader adapted to obtain analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 when brought within an interrogation distance of the analyte sensor system 102. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may wirelessly receive analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 that is broadcast at predetermined periods of time (e.g., every 30 seconds, every minute, every 2 minutes, every 3 minutes, every 5 minutes, every 10 minutes, every 15 minutes, etc.). Generally, the embodiments of the disclosure may use any suitable wireless communication protocol for communication among the medication delivery device(s), the analyte sensor system, the secondary device(s), other electronic devices, and/or other mobile devices of the system 100. Examples of suitable wireless communication protocols include near-field-communication (ISO/IEC 14443 and 18092 compliant technology), wireless modems and routers (IEEE 802.11 compliant technology), and Bluetooth®/Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) (IEEE 802.15 compliant technology). The mobile application 104 may allow a graphical user interface (GUI) that enables users to interact with the mobile application 104.)
As per claim 25,
Clemente teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Clemente further teaches wherein in the second configuration, the glucose monitoring software application, when executed by the one or more processors, further causes the one or more processors to: output a second set of GUIs corresponding to the second sensor type:
(Paragraphs [0025]-[0029], [0039] and [0041] of Clemente. The teaching describes a medication delivery and management system 100. The system 100 includes an analyte sensor system 102, one or more medication delivery device(s) 110, a mobile application 104, and optionally, one or more secondary device(s) 106. The analyte sensor system 102 is configured to obtain various analyte measurement data and communicate the obtained analyte measurement data to the medication delivery device(s) 110. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include a glucose sensor system adapted to determine glucose values including, for example, a blood glucose meter (BGM), a flash glucose monitor [first sensor type], a continuous glucose monitor [second sensor type] (CGM), etc. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 can act as a flash glucose monitor, a continuous glucose monitor, or both by permitting intermittent and/or on-demand transmissions of glucose data. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 may monitor the change of glucose values in a given period of time and provide glucose trend data. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 can wirelessly transmit data when interrogated by a reader device (e.g., using NFC communication). In some cases, the glucose sensor can wirelessly transmit data at predetermined intervals (e.g., using radio frequencies) using any suitable communication standard (e.g., Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE)). In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include multiple glucose sensor systems (e.g., one or more of a continuous glucose monitor, a flash glucose monitor, a glucose meter, etc.). The analyte sensor system 102 can transmit analyte measurement data (e.g., glucose data) using multiple communication techniques. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may include an NFC reader adapted to obtain analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 when brought within an interrogation distance of the analyte sensor system 102. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may wirelessly receive analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 that is broadcast at predetermined periods of time (e.g., every 30 seconds, every minute, every 2 minutes, every 3 minutes, every 5 minutes, every 10 minutes, every 15 minutes, etc.). Generally, the embodiments of the disclosure may use any suitable wireless communication protocol for communication among the medication delivery device(s), the analyte sensor system, the secondary device(s), other electronic devices, and/or other mobile devices of the system 100. Examples of suitable wireless communication protocols include near-field-communication (ISO/IEC 14443 and 18092 compliant technology), wireless modems and routers (IEEE 802.11 compliant technology), and Bluetooth®/Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) (IEEE 802.15 compliant technology). The mobile application 104 may allow a graphical user interface (GUI) that enables users to interact with the mobile application 104.)
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clemente in view of Sjolund et al. (US 2024/0293624; herein referred to as Sjolund).
As per claim 13,
Clemente teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Clemente further teaches wherein in the first configuration, the glucose monitoring software application, when executed by the one or more processors, further causes the one or more processors to: output a graphical user interface (GUI):
(Paragraphs [0025]-[0029], [0039] and [0041] of Clemente. The teaching describes a medication delivery and management system 100. The system 100 includes an analyte sensor system 102, one or more medication delivery device(s) 110, a mobile application 104, and optionally, one or more secondary device(s) 106. The analyte sensor system 102 is configured to obtain various analyte measurement data and communicate the obtained analyte measurement data to the medication delivery device(s) 110. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include a glucose sensor system adapted to determine glucose values including, for example, a blood glucose meter (BGM), a flash glucose monitor [first sensor type], a continuous glucose monitor [second sensor type] (CGM), etc. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 can act as a flash glucose monitor, a continuous glucose monitor, or both by permitting intermittent and/or on-demand transmissions of glucose data. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 may monitor the change of glucose values in a given period of time and provide glucose trend data. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 can wirelessly transmit data when interrogated by a reader device (e.g., using NFC communication). In some cases, the glucose sensor can wirelessly transmit data at predetermined intervals (e.g., using radio frequencies) using any suitable communication standard (e.g., Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE)). In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include multiple glucose sensor systems (e.g., one or more of a continuous glucose monitor, a flash glucose monitor, a glucose meter, etc.). The analyte sensor system 102 can transmit analyte measurement data (e.g., glucose data) using multiple communication techniques. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may include an NFC reader adapted to obtain analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 when brought within an interrogation distance of the analyte sensor system 102. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may wirelessly receive analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 that is broadcast at predetermined periods of time (e.g., every 30 seconds, every minute, every 2 minutes, every 3 minutes, every 5 minutes, every 10 minutes, every 15 minutes, etc.). Generally, the embodiments of the disclosure may use any suitable wireless communication protocol for communication among the medication delivery device(s), the analyte sensor system, the secondary device(s), other electronic devices, and/or other mobile devices of the system 100. Examples of suitable wireless communication protocols include near-field-communication (ISO/IEC 14443 and 18092 compliant technology), wireless modems and routers (IEEE 802.11 compliant technology), and Bluetooth®/Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) (IEEE 802.15 compliant technology). The mobile application 104 may allow a graphical user interface (GUI) that enables users to interact with the mobile application 104.)
Clemente does not explicitly teach a GUI comprising a first sensor type indicator, wherein the first sensor type indicator comprises a textual description of a brand name associated with the first sensor type:
However, Sjolund teaches a GUI comprising a first sensor type indicator, wherein the first sensor type indicator comprises a textual description of a brand name associated with the first sensor type:
(Paragraph [0150] and Figure 20 of Sjolund. The teaching describes an example welcome screen in a mobile application of a mobile device 140 for a diabetes management system, such as those depicted in FIGS. 1A, 1B, or IC. In the welcome screen, the user can click a get started button to enter their settings, which might be dictated by a healthcare professional. The user may be given the opportunity to enter information relating to their insulin therapy (e.g., the brand and/or generic name of the long-acting and/or rapid-acting insulin, average dosage information, etc.). In some embodiments, a user may be asked to select long-acting insulin brands and/or rapid-acting insulin brands from a list of known brands. In some cases, a user may also be asked about whether they use two insulin pens or one, and the product configuration may occur on the fly during setup. For example, some therapy settings may be automatically set responsive to selected insulin brands. In some embodiments, prescription information may be associated with a pen cap (for example, downloaded from a therapy management system or entered by a medical provider), and list of insulin brands may be curated based on the prescription information. Moreover, therapy settings may be automatically set responsive to the prescription information. As can be seen, when the glucose monitoring/injection system is detected by the mobile device, the brand name of “Bigfoot Inject” appears in the GUI of the mobile application. This is an indicator for a brand name associated with a sensor type in a textual description.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to add glucose monitoring application GUI of Clemente, the glucose monitoring application GUI of Sjolund. Both references in the prior art include each element claimed although not necessarily in a single reference. Both references exist in the same field of endeavor and are assigned to the same Assignee. One of ordinary skill int eh art could have combined these elements in the prior art by known methods and each element would have merely performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a combination of these references would have been predictable without yielding unpredictable results.
As per claim 14,
Clemente teaches the limitations of claim 1.
wherein in the second configuration, the glucose monitoring software application, when executed by the one or more processors, further causes the one or more processors to: output a graphical user interface:
(Paragraphs [0025]-[0029], [0039] and [0041] of Clemente. The teaching describes a medication delivery and management system 100. The system 100 includes an analyte sensor system 102, one or more medication delivery device(s) 110, a mobile application 104, and optionally, one or more secondary device(s) 106. The analyte sensor system 102 is configured to obtain various analyte measurement data and communicate the obtained analyte measurement data to the medication delivery device(s) 110. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include a glucose sensor system adapted to determine glucose values including, for example, a blood glucose meter (BGM), a flash glucose monitor [first sensor type], a continuous glucose monitor [second sensor type] (CGM), etc. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 can act as a flash glucose monitor, a continuous glucose monitor, or both by permitting intermittent and/or on-demand transmissions of glucose data. In some cases, the glucose sensor system 102 may monitor the change of glucose values in a given period of time and provide glucose trend data. In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 can wirelessly transmit data when interrogated by a reader device (e.g., using NFC communication). In some cases, the glucose sensor can wirelessly transmit data at predetermined intervals (e.g., using radio frequencies) using any suitable communication standard (e.g., Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE)). In some cases, the analyte sensor system 102 may include multiple glucose sensor systems (e.g., one or more of a continuous glucose monitor, a flash glucose monitor, a glucose meter, etc.). The analyte sensor system 102 can transmit analyte measurement data (e.g., glucose data) using multiple communication techniques. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may include an NFC reader adapted to obtain analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 when brought within an interrogation distance of the analyte sensor system 102. In some embodiments, the mobile application 104 and/or one or more of the medication delivery device(s) 110 may wirelessly receive analyte measurement data from the analyte sensor system 102 that is broadcast at predetermined periods of time (e.g., every 30 seconds, every minute, every 2 minutes, every 3 minutes, every 5 minutes, every 10 minutes, every 15 minutes, etc.). Generally, the embodiments of the disclosure may use any suitable wireless communication protocol for communication among the medication delivery device(s), the analyte sensor system, the secondary device(s), other electronic devices, and/or other mobile devices of the system 100. Examples of suitable wireless communication protocols include near-field-communication (ISO/IEC 14443 and 18092 compliant technology), wireless modems and routers (IEEE 802.11 compliant technology), and Bluetooth®/Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) (IEEE 802.15 compliant technology). The mobile application 104 may allow a graphical user interface (GUI) that enables users to interact with the mobile application 104.)
Clemente does not explicitly teach a GUI comprising a second sensor type indicator, wherein the second sensor type indicator comprises a textual description of a brand name associated with the second sensor type.
However, Sjolund teaches a GUI comprising a second sensor type indicator, wherein the second sensor type indicator comprises a textual description of a brand name associated with the second sensor type:
(Paragraph [0150] and Figure 20 of Sjolund. The teaching describes an example welcome screen in a mobile application of a mobile device 140 for a diabetes management system, such as those depicted in FIGS. 1A, 1B, or IC. In the welcome screen, the user can click a get started button to enter their settings, which might be dictated by a healthcare professional. The user may be given the opportunity to enter information relating to their insulin therapy (e.g., the brand and/or generic name of the long-acting and/or rapid-acting insulin, average dosage information, etc.). In some embodiments, a user may be asked to select long-acting insulin brands and/or rapid-acting insulin brands from a list of known brands. In some cases, a user may also be asked about whether they use two insulin pens or one, and the product configuration may occur on the fly during setup. For example, some therapy settings may be automatically set responsive to selected insulin brands. In some embodiments, prescription information may be associated with a pen cap (for example, downloaded from a therapy management system or entered by a medical provider), and list of insulin brands may be curated based on the prescription information. Moreover, therapy settings may be automatically set responsive to the prescription information. As can be seen, when the glucose monitoring/injection system is detected by the mobile device, the brand name of “Bigfoot Inject” appears in the GUI of the mobile application. This is an indicator for a sensor type in a textual description.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to add glucose monitoring application GUI of Clemente, the glucose monitoring application GUI of Sjolund. Both references in the prior art include each element claimed although not necessarily in a single reference. Both references exist in the same field of endeavor and are assigned to the same Assignee. One of ordinary skill int eh art could have combined these elements in the prior art by known methods and each element would have merely performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a combination of these references would have been predictable without yielding unpredictable results.
Conclusion
/CHAD A NEWTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3681