DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to the patent application 19/004,192 originally filed on December 27, 2024. Claims 1-24 are presented for examination. Claims 1 and 13 are independent.
Priority
This application claims priority of US Provisional Application 63/569,085, filed March 22, 2024.
Drawings
Regarding FIG. 2A, 37 CFR 1.84(a)(1), stated in part, normally requires black and white drawings. India ink, or its equivalent that secures solid black lines, must be used for drawings. In the present case, the drawings have very faint lines. Therefore, the failure to use solid black lines render FIG. 2A from complying with 37 CFR 1.84(a)(1).
Regarding FIGS. 39-41, 44-62, and 65-96, 37 CFR 1.84(b)(1), stated in part, indicates that black and white photographs, including photocopies of photographs, are not ordinarily permitted in utility and design patent applications. The Office will accept photographs in utility and design patent applications, however, if photographs are the only practicable medium for illustrating the claimed invention. The photographs must be of sufficient quality so that all details in the photographs are reproducible in the printed patent. Therefore, the use of a black and white photographs (or in this case, screenshots) lacking sufficient reproducible quality prevents FIGS. 39-41, 44-62, and 65-96 from complying with 37 CFR 1.84(b)(1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
35 U.S.C. § 101 reads as follows:
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim 1 is directed to “a computerized gaming system” (i.e. a machine) and claim 13 is directed to “a computerized gaming method” (i.e. a process), hence the claims are directed to one of the four statutory categories (i.e. process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter). In other words, Step 1 of the subject-matter eligibility analysis is “Yes.”
However, the claims are drawn to an abstract idea of “providing advantage spin to slot games,” either in the form of “certain methods of organizing human activity,” in terms of managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching and following rules or instructions), or reasonably in the form of “mental processes,” in terms of processes that can be performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement or opinion). Claims that require a computer may also recite a mental process, as described in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C).
Regardless, the claims are reasonably understood as either “certain methods of organizing human activity” or “mental processes,” which require the following limitations (exemplary claim 13):
“manage and track transactions… involving a plurality of different credit types, including a cash credit type which is redeemable for cash, and an advantage spin credit type having no cash value;
…initiating… a first gaming session of a first wager-based game for a first player… tracking cash credit related transactions… tracking advantage spin credit related transactions…
tracking… cash credit related transactions…
tracking… advantage spin credit related transactions…
processing… a first deposit transaction involving a first amount of cash credits, wherein the processing of the first deposit transaction includes adjusting a value… to reflect a deposit of the first amount of cash credits;
processing… a second deposit transaction involving a second amount of advantage spin credits, wherein the processing of the second deposit transaction includes adjusting a value… to reflect a deposit of the second amount of advantage spin credits;
adjusting at least one cash credit… in response to game play activity…
adjusting at least one advantage spin credit… in response to game play activity…
detecting at least one predefined game session-ending condition…
initiate, in response to detecting the at least one predefined game session-ending condition, a first credit withdrawal process, including: (i) determining a third amount of advantage spin credits to be withdrawn… (ii) …transferring… the third amount of advantage spin credits… to at least one of: an advantage spin credit management method, a first player account, or a first advantage spin credit voucher;
identifying a fourth amount of advantage spin credits for withdrawal from a first external source and deposit… the first external source being one of: the advantage spin credit management method, the first player account, or the first advantage spin credit voucher;
causing the fourth amount of advantage spin credits to be… withdrawn from the first external source and… deposited… tracking cash credit related transactions… tracking advantage spin credit related transactions…
processing… a fourth deposit transaction involving a deposit of the fourth amount of advantage spin credits… wherein the processing of the fourth deposit transaction includes adjusting a value… to reflect the deposit of the fourth amount of advantage spin credits;
initiating… a second gaming session of a second wager-based game;
executing game play activity… using at least one advantage spin credit associated with the fourth deposit; and
…accept the use of advantage spin credits to facilitate additional gameplay actions, including targeted advantage spin opportunities presented via a graphical user interface.”
These limitations simply describe a process of data gathering and manipulation, which is partially analogous to “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection analysis” (i.e. Electric Power Group, LLC, v. Alstom, 830 F.3d 1350, 119 U.S.P.Q.2d 1739 (Fed. Cir. 2016)). Hence, these limitations are akin to an abstract idea which has been identified among non-limiting examples to be an abstract idea. In other words, Step 2A, Prong 1 of the subject-matter eligibility analysis is “Yes.”
Furthermore, the claims do not include additional elements that either alone or in combination are sufficient to claim a practical application because to the extent that, e.g., “a casino management system,” “wager-based gaming machines (EGDs),” “a network,” “electronic display,” “hardware processor,” “non-transient memory,” “cash credit meter,” and “advantage spin credit meter” are claimed, as these are merely claimed to add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (e.g., data gathering) and/or do no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. In other words, the claimed “providing advantage spin to slot games,” is not providing a practical application, thus Step 2A, Prong 2 of the subject-matter eligibility analysis is “No.”
Likewise, the claims do not include additional elements that either alone or in combination are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because to the extent that, e.g. “a casino management system,” “wager-based gaming machines (EGDs),” “a network,” “electronic display,” “hardware processor,” “non-transient memory,” “cash credit meter,” and “advantage spin credit meter” are claimed these are all generic, well-known, and conventional computing elements. As evidence that these are generic, well-known, and conventional computing elements, Applicant’s specification discloses them in a manner that indicates that the additional elements are sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of such additional elements to satisfy 35 U.S.C. § 112(a), per MPEP § 2106.07(a) III (a), which satisfies the Examiner’s evidentiary burden requirement per the Berkheimer memo.
Specifically, the Applicant’s claimed “a casino management system” is described in instant application publication [0583], “The Casino Management System (CMS) 1280 is the technological backbone of modern casino operations, orchestrating the seamless integration of gaming machines, patron management, financial transactions, and regulatory compliance. This centralized system provides a comprehensive suite of tools for managing every aspect of the casino floor, including game monitoring, accounting, security, and customer relations. By aggregating data from various sources, the CMS offers valuable insights into operational efficiency, player behavior, and revenue generation.”
Applicant’s claimed “wager-based gaming machines (EGDs)” are described in the instant specification as being synonymous with Electronic Game Devices, described in paragraph [0318] of the application publication as, “Electronic Game Device(s) (EGDs) may include one or more of the following (or combinations thereof): mechanical slot machines, electronic slot machines, electronic gaming machines, mobile gaming devices, video gaming machines, server-based gaming machines, and/or other types of devices or components which provide capabilities for enabling casino patrons to participate in gaming and/or wagering activities. In some embodiments, at least some mobile gaming devices may be implemented using personal mobile computing devices such as tablets, smartphones, laptops, PC's, and the like. As illustrated in the example embodiment of FIG. 6, one or more EGDs may be configured or designed to include one or more of the following components (or combinations thereof): at least one master gaming controller (MGC) 611, communication components 612, printer components 614, Bill/coin acceptor components 616, sensor components 618, data collection and reporting components 613.”
Applicant’s claimed “network,” “electronic display,” “hardware processor,” and “non-transient memory” are described in the disclosure as being generic computer components.
The claimed “advantage spin credit meter” is described in publication paragraph [0245], “Advantage Spin Meter(s) 420 function as integral components of the gaming machine's interface, meticulously tracking and displaying the accumulated Advantage Spin credits that players earn during gameplay. These meters are a visual representation of the player's current Advantage Spin credit balance, enabling them to easily ascertain how many extra spins they have at their disposal for use within the game. The meter(s) update in real-time, reflecting credits earned through gameplay events or promotional activities, as well as deductions when credits are utilized.”
The claimed “cash credit meter” is similar to the “advantage spin credit meter,” except that it tracks standard monetary credits instead of advantage spin credits.
All of the above elements are reasonably interpreted as being generic computers or generic computing components, which provides no details of anything beyond ubiquitous standard equipment. As such, the claimed limitations are reasonably understood as not providing anything significantly more. Therefore, Step 2B, of the subject-matter eligibility analysis is “No.”
In addition, dependent claims 2-12 and 14-24 do not provide a practical application and are insufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As such, dependent claims 2-12 and 14-24 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101, based on their respective dependencies to independent claims 1 and 13.
Therefore, claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiss et al. (hereinafter “Kiss,” US 2021/0295654) in view of Baerlocher et al. (hereinafter “Baerlocher,” US 8,376,836).
Regarding claim 1, and substantially similar limitations in claim 13, Kiss discloses a computerized gaming system implemented in a wager-based gaming network, the system comprising:
at least one interface for communicating with a casino management system and a plurality of electronic, wager-based gaming machines (EGDs) within the network (Kiss [0102], “the gaming system includes an EGM (or personal gaming device) in combination with a central server, central controller, or remote host. In such embodiments, the EGM (or personal gaming device) is configured to communicate with the central server, central controller, or remote host through a data network or remote communication link”);
the plurality of EGDs including a first EGD having a first electronic display, and a second EGD having a second electronic display, the second EGD being different from first EGD (Kiss [0102], “the gaming system includes a plurality of EGMs”; also Kiss [0104], “the EGM (or personal gaming device) is utilized to display such games”);
the casino management system being configured or designed to manage and track transactions in the network involving a plurality of different credit types, including a cash credit type which is redeemable for cash (Kiss [0054], “The cash-in device 240 may include a bill acceptor, a coin acceptor, a chip acceptor or reader, or the like. In some embodiments, the cash-in device may also include credit card reader hardware and/or software. The cash-out device 244, like the ticket issuance device 270, may operate and issue cash, coins, tokens, or chips based on an amount indicated within the credit meter 224. In some embodiments, the cash-out device 244 may include a coin tray or the like and counting hardware configured to count and distribute an appropriate amount of coins or tokens based on a player's 112 winnings or available credit within the credit meter 224.”) …
at least one hardware processor (Kiss [0032], “The processor 120 may correspond to one or many computer processing devices”);
a non-transient memory storing executable instructions (Kiss [0032], “plurality of microprocessors that are configured to execute the instructions sets stored in memory 124”);
the system being operable to cause the at least one processor to execute instructions stored in the memory (Kiss [0032], “plurality of microprocessors that are configured to execute the instructions sets stored in memory 124”) for:
initiating, at the first EGD, a first gaming session of a first wager-based game for a first player, the first EGD comprising a first cash credit meter for tracking cash credit related transactions at the first EGD (Kiss [0040], “the gaming device management instruction set 140 may cause a gaming device 108 to update an appropriate credit meter for the player 112 within the gaming device 108 used by the player 112.”) …
tracking, at the first EGD in substantially real-time, cash credit related transactions at the first EGD (Kiss [0048], “The credit meter 224 may correspond to a data structure within the gaming device 108 that facilitates a tracking of activity at the gaming device 108.”);
…
processing, at the first EGD, a first deposit transaction involving a first amount of cash credits, wherein the processing of the first deposit transaction includes adjusting a value of the first cash meter to reflect a deposit of the first amount of cash credits (Kiss [0054], “The cash-in device 240 may include a bill acceptor, a coin acceptor, a chip acceptor or reader, or the like. In some embodiments, the cash-in device may also include credit card reader hardware and/or software.”);
…
adjusting at least one cash credit of the first cash credit meter in response to game play activity at the first EGD (Kiss [0040], “the gaming device management instruction set 140 may cause a gaming device 108 to update an appropriate credit meter for the player 112 within the gaming device 108 used by the player 112”);
…
detecting at least one predefined game session-ending condition at the first EGD (Kiss [0054], “The cash-out device 244, like the ticket issuance device 270, may operate and issue cash, coins, tokens, or chips based on an amount indicated within the credit meter 224”).
Kiss does not explicitly teach an advantage spin credit type having no cash value … a first advantage spin credit meter for tracking advantage spin credit related transactions at the first EGD … tracking, at the first EGD in substantially real-time, advantage spin credit related transactions at the first EGD … processing, at the first EGD, a second deposit transaction involving a second amount of advantage spin credits, wherein the processing of the second deposit transaction includes adjusting a value of the first advantage spin credit meter to reflect a deposit of the second amount of advantage spin credits … adjusting at least one advantage spin credit of the first advantage spin credit meter in response to game play activity at the first EGD … causing the first EGD to initiate, in response to detecting the at least one predefined game session-ending condition, a first credit withdrawal process, including: (i) determining a third amount of advantage spin credits to be withdrawn from the first EGD, (ii) electronically transferring, via the network, the third amount of advantage spin credits from the first EGD to at least one of: an advantage spin credit management system, a first player account, or a first advantage spin credit voucher; identifying a fourth amount of advantage spin credits for withdrawal from a first external source and deposit to the second EGD, the first external source being one of: the advantage spin credit management system, the first player account, or the first advantage spin credit voucher; causing the fourth amount of advantage spin credits to be electronically withdrawn from the first external source and electronically deposited to the second EGD, the second EGD comprising a second cash credit meter for tracking cash credit related transactions at the second EGD, and a second advantage spin credit meter for tracking advantage spin credit related transactions at the second EGD; processing, at the second EGD, a fourth deposit transaction involving a deposit of the fourth amount of advantage spin credits to the second EGD, wherein the processing of the fourth deposit transaction includes adjusting a value of the second advantage spin credit meter to reflect the deposit of the fourth amount of advantage spin credits; initiating, at the second EGD, a second gaming session of a second wager-based game; executing game play activity at the second EGD using at least one advantage spin credit associated with the fourth deposit; and wherein the second EGD is configured or designed to accept the use of advantage spin credits to facilitate additional gameplay actions, including targeted advantage spin opportunities presented via a graphical user interface.
However, Baerlocher discloses an advantage spin credit type having no cash value … a first advantage spin credit meter for tracking advantage spin credit related transactions at the first EGD … tracking, at the first EGD in substantially real-time, advantage spin credit related transactions at the first EGD … processing, at the first EGD, a second deposit transaction involving a second amount of advantage spin credits, wherein the processing of the second deposit transaction includes adjusting a value of the first advantage spin credit meter to reflect a deposit of the second amount of advantage spin credits … adjusting at least one advantage spin credit of the first advantage spin credit meter in response to game play activity at the first EGD … causing the first EGD to initiate, in response to detecting the at least one predefined game session-ending condition, a first credit withdrawal process, including: (i) determining a third amount of advantage spin credits to be withdrawn from the first EGD, (ii) electronically transferring, via the network, the third amount of advantage spin credits from the first EGD to at least one of: an advantage spin credit management system, a first player account, or a first advantage spin credit voucher; identifying a fourth amount of advantage spin credits for withdrawal from a first external source and deposit to the second EGD, the first external source being one of: the advantage spin credit management system, the first player account, or the first advantage spin credit voucher; causing the fourth amount of advantage spin credits to be electronically withdrawn from the first external source and electronically deposited to the second EGD, the second EGD comprising a second cash credit meter for tracking cash credit related transactions at the second EGD, and a second advantage spin credit meter for tracking advantage spin credit related transactions at the second EGD; processing, at the second EGD, a fourth deposit transaction involving a deposit of the fourth amount of advantage spin credits to the second EGD, wherein the processing of the fourth deposit transaction includes adjusting a value of the second advantage spin credit meter to reflect the deposit of the fourth amount of advantage spin credits; initiating, at the second EGD, a second gaming session of a second wager-based game; executing game play activity at the second EGD using at least one advantage spin credit associated with the fourth deposit; and wherein the second EGD is configured or designed to accept the use of advantage spin credits to facilitate additional gameplay actions, including targeted advantage spin opportunities presented via a graphical user interface (Baerlocher col. 53 lines 25-52, “the gaming system maintains a different bonus event component meter for each available or upcoming bonus event. In this embodiment, upon the occurrence of a bonus event unit accumulation event, the gaming system automatically converts any accumulated bonus event units into one or more bonus event components and increments the appropriate bonus event component meter accordingly… the gaming system is utilizing accumulated bonus event units to build or increment a bonus event component, if the player decides to participate in a different bonus event than the bonus event which the bonus event component is incrementing for, the gaming system enables the player to transfer the balance of one bonus component meter to another bonus component meter. In another embodiment, if the player decides to participate in a different bonus event than the bonus event which the bonus event component is incrementing for, the gaming system requires the player to increment the bonus event component meter for the different bonus event from a base or designated level or amount.”; also Baerlocher col. 54 lines 37-60, “the gaming system funds a bonus event component meter”; also Baerlocher col. 40 lines 26-47, “since the bonus event units are stored by the gaming system in the player's account, such bonus event units are transferable and the player may earn and redeem such bonus event units at a plurality of different gaming devices in the gaming establishment.”).
Baerlocher is analogous to Kiss, as both are drawn to the art of electronic gaming systems. It would be obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as taught by Kiss, to include an advantage spin credit type having no cash value … a first advantage spin credit meter for tracking advantage spin credit related transactions at the first EGD … tracking, at the first EGD in substantially real-time, advantage spin credit related transactions at the first EGD … processing, at the first EGD, a second deposit transaction involving a second amount of advantage spin credits, wherein the processing of the second deposit transaction includes adjusting a value of the first advantage spin credit meter to reflect a deposit of the second amount of advantage spin credits … adjusting at least one advantage spin credit of the first advantage spin credit meter in response to game play activity at the first EGD … causing the first EGD to initiate, in response to detecting the at least one predefined game session-ending condition, a first credit withdrawal process, including: (i) determining a third amount of advantage spin credits to be withdrawn from the first EGD, (ii) electronically transferring, via the network, the third amount of advantage spin credits from the first EGD to at least one of: an advantage spin credit management system, a first player account, or a first advantage spin credit voucher; identifying a fourth amount of advantage spin credits for withdrawal from a first external source and deposit to the second EGD, the first external source being one of: the advantage spin credit management system, the first player account, or the first advantage spin credit voucher; causing the fourth amount of advantage spin credits to be electronically withdrawn from the first external source and electronically deposited to the second EGD, the second EGD comprising a second cash credit meter for tracking cash credit related transactions at the second EGD, and a second advantage spin credit meter for tracking advantage spin credit related transactions at the second EGD; processing, at the second EGD, a fourth deposit transaction involving a deposit of the fourth amount of advantage spin credits to the second EGD, wherein the processing of the fourth deposit transaction includes adjusting a value of the second advantage spin credit meter to reflect the deposit of the fourth amount of advantage spin credits; initiating, at the second EGD, a second gaming session of a second wager-based game; executing game play activity at the second EGD using at least one advantage spin credit associated with the fourth deposit; and wherein the second EGD is configured or designed to accept the use of advantage spin credits to facilitate additional gameplay actions, including targeted advantage spin opportunities presented via a graphical user interface, as taught by Baerlocher, since it combines prior art elements of bonus game credit meters with the gaming system according to known methods to yield predictable results. Doing so is a predictable solution that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, and substantially similar limitations in claim 14, Kiss does not explicitly teach cause the at least one processor to execute additional instructions for: synchronizing credit-related data from the first EGD with the casino management system via the network, wherein the synchronization enables substantially real-time updates of the first player's available advantage spin credit balance across multiple different EGDs connected to the network.
However, Baerlocher discloses cause the at least one processor to execute additional instructions for: synchronizing credit-related data from the first EGD with the casino management system via the network, wherein the synchronization enables substantially real-time updates of the first player's available advantage spin credit balance across multiple different EGDs connected to the network (Baerlocher col. 40 lines 26-47, “since the bonus event units are stored by the gaming system in the player's account, such bonus event units are transferable and the player may earn and redeem such bonus event units at a plurality of different gaming devices in the gaming establishment.”).
Baerlocher is analogous to Kiss, as both are drawn to the art of electronic gaming systems. It would be obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as taught by Kiss, to include cause the at least one processor to execute additional instructions for: synchronizing credit-related data from the first EGD with the casino management system via the network, wherein the synchronization enables substantially real-time updates of the first player's available advantage spin credit balance across multiple different EGDs connected to the network, as taught by Baerlocher, since it combines prior art elements of bonus game credit meters with the gaming system according to known methods to yield predictable results. Doing so is a predictable solution that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 3, and substantially similar limitations in claim 15, Kiss does not explicitly teach cause the at least one processor to execute additional instructions for: causing the system to generate a third unique identifier representing the third amount of advantage spin credits withdrawn from the first EGD; and causing the system to authenticate and validate the fourth deposit transaction using the third unique identifier.
However, Baerlocher discloses cause the at least one processor to execute additional instructions for: causing the system to generate a third unique identifier representing the third amount of advantage spin credits withdrawn from the first EGD; and causing the system to authenticate and validate the fourth deposit transaction using the third unique identifier (Baerlocher col. 40 lines 26-47, “since the bonus event units are stored by the gaming system in the player's account, such bonus event units are transferable and the player may earn and redeem such bonus event units at a plurality of different gaming devices in the gaming establishment,” credit withdrawal is necessarily authenticated and validated).
Baerlocher is analogous to Kiss, as both are drawn to the art of electronic gaming systems. It would be obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as taught by Kiss, to include cause the at least one processor to execute additional instructions for: causing the system to generate a third unique identifier representing the third amount of advantage spin credits withdrawn from the first EGD; and causing the system to authenticate and validate the fourth deposit transaction using the third unique identifier, as taught by Baerlocher, since it combines prior art elements of bonus game credit meters with the gaming system according to known methods to yield predictable results. Doing so is a predictable solution that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 4, and substantially similar limitations in claim 16, Kiss does not explicitly teach cause the at least one processor to execute additional instructions for: causing the fourth amount of advantage spin credits to be electronically withdrawn from the first player account and electronically deposited to the second EGD.
However, Baerlocher discloses cause the at least one processor to execute additional instructions for: causing the fourth amount of advantage spin credits to be electronically withdrawn from the first player account and electronically deposited to the second EGD (Baerlocher col. 40 lines 26-47, “since the bonus event units are stored by the gaming system in the player's account, such bonus event units are transferable and the player may earn and redeem such bonus event units at a plurality of different gaming devices in the gaming establishment,” credits may be transferred to different machines any number of times).
Baerlocher is analogous to Kiss, as both are drawn to the art of electronic gaming systems. It would be obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as taught by Kiss, to include cause the at least one processor to execute additional instructions for: causing the fourth amount of advantage spin credits to be electronically withdrawn from the first player account and electronically deposited to the second EGD, as taught by Baerlocher, since it combines prior art elements of bonus game credit meters with the gaming system according to known methods to yield predictable results. Doing so is a predictable solution that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 5, and substantially similar limitations in claim 17, Kiss does not explicitly teach cause the at least one processor to execute additional instructions for: causing the fourth amount of advantage spin credits to be electronically redeemed from a physical or digital advantage spin credit voucher and electronically deposited to the second EGD.
However, Baerlocher discloses cause the at least one processor to execute additional instructions for: causing the fourth amount of advantage spin credits to be electronically redeemed from a physical or digital advantage spin credit voucher and electronically deposited to the second EGD (Baerlocher col. 40 lines 26-47, “since the bonus event units are stored by the gaming system in the player's account, such bonus event units are transferable and the player may earn and redeem such bonus event units at a plurality of different gaming devices in the gaming establishment,” credits may be used on different machines).
Baerlocher is analogous to Kiss, as both are drawn to the art of electronic gaming systems. It would be obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as taught by Kiss, to include cause the at least one processor to execute additional instructions for: causing the fourth amount of advantage spin credits to be electronically redeemed from a physical or digital advantage spin credit voucher and electronically deposited to the second EGD, as taught by Baerlocher, since it combines prior art elements of bonus game credit meters with the gaming system according to known methods to yield predictable results. Doing so is a predictable solution that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 6, and substantially similar limitations in claim 18, Kiss in view of Baerlocher discloses wherein the at least one predefined game session-ending condition is triggered by at least of: a cashout request initiated by the first player; the first credit meter having a zero value; or a free spin credit meter at the first EGD having a value of zero (Kiss [0061], “The wager information field 308 may further store information describing a player's 112 available credit over time, cash out events for the player 112, winning events for the player 112, and the like”).
Regarding claim 7, and substantially similar limitations in claim 19, Kiss does not explicitly teach cause the at least one processor to execute additional instructions for: synchronizing cash credit-related data from the first EGD with the casino management system via the network, wherein the synchronization enables substantially real-time updates of the first player's available cash credit balance across multiple different EGDs connected to the network; and synchronizing advantage spin credit-related data from the first EGD with the casino management system via the network, wherein the synchronization enables substantially real-time updates of the first player's available advantage spin credit balance across multiple different EGDs connected to the network.
However, Baerlocher discloses cause the at least one processor to execute additional instructions for: synchronizing cash credit-related data from the first EGD with the casino management system via the network, wherein the synchronization enables substantially real-time updates of the first player's available cash credit balance across multiple different EGDs connected to the network; and synchronizing advantage spin credit-related data from the first EGD with the casino management system via the network, wherein the synchronization enables substantially real-time updates of the first player's available advantage spin credit balance across multiple different EGDs connected to the network (Baerlocher col. 40 lines 26-47, “since the bonus event units are stored by the gaming system in the player's account, such bonus event units are transferable and the player may earn and redeem such bonus event units at a plurality of different gaming devices in the gaming establishment,” credit values are stored in the player’s account, effectively synchronizing the credit values between different machines).
Baerlocher is analogous to Kiss, as both are drawn to the art of electronic gaming systems. It would be obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as taught by Kiss, to include cause the at least one processor to execute additional instructions for: synchronizing cash credit-related data from the first EGD with the casino management system via the network, wherein the synchronization enables substantially real-time updates of the first player's available cash credit balance across multiple different EGDs connected to the network; and synchronizing advantage spin credit-related data from the first EGD with the casino management system via the network, wherein the synchronization enables substantially real-time updates of the first player's available advantage spin credit balance across multiple different EGDs connected to the network, as taught by Baerlocher, since it combines prior art elements of bonus game credit meters with the gaming system according to known methods to yield predictable results. Doing so is a predictable solution that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 8, and substantially similar limitations in claim 20, Kiss does not explicitly teach cause the at least one processor to execute additional instructions for: causing the system to determine, using a first set of predefined criteria, whether at least a portion of the advantage spin credits associated with the fourth deposit transaction are eligible for funding gameplay activity at the second EGD.
However, Baerlocher discloses cause the at least one processor to execute additional instructions for: causing the system to determine, using a first set of predefined criteria, whether at least a portion of the advantage spin credits associated with the fourth deposit transaction are eligible for funding gameplay activity at the second EGD (Baerlocher col. 40 lines 26-47, “since the bonus event units are stored by the gaming system in the player's account, such bonus event units are transferable and the player may earn and redeem such bonus event units at a plurality of different gaming devices in the gaming establishment,” credit values are necessarily validated for eligibility for use on a different machine).
Baerlocher is analogous to Kiss, as both are drawn to the art of electronic gaming systems. It would be obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as taught by Kiss, to include cause the at least one processor to execute additional instructions for: causing the system to determine, using a first set of predefined criteria, whether at least a portion of the advantage spin credits associated with the fourth deposit transaction are eligible for funding gameplay activity at the second EGD, as taught by Baerlocher, since it combines prior art elements of bonus game credit meters with the gaming system according to known methods to yield predictable results. Doing so is a predictable solution that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 9, and substantially similar limitations in claim 21, Kiss does not explicitly teach cause the at least one processor to execute additional instructions for: causing the system to determine, using a first set of predefined criteria, whether at least a portion of the advantage spin credits associated with the fourth deposit transaction are eligible for funding gameplay activity at the second EGD; and preventing a first portion of advantage spin credits associated with the fourth deposit transaction from being eligible for funding specific gameplay activity at the second EGD.
However, Baerlocher discloses cause the at least one processor to execute additional instructions for: causing the system to determine, using a first set of predefined criteria, whether at least a portion of the advantage spin credits associated with the fourth deposit transaction are eligible for funding gameplay activity at the second EGD; and preventing a first portion of advantage spin credits associated with the fourth deposit transaction from being eligible for funding specific gameplay activity at the second EGD (Baerlocher col. 40 lines 26-47, “since the bonus event units are stored by the gaming system in the player's account, such bonus event units are transferable and the player may earn and redeem such bonus event units at a plurality of different gaming devices in the gaming establishment,” credit values are necessarily validated for eligibility or ineligibility for use on a different machine).
Baerlocher is analogous to Kiss, as both are drawn to the art of electronic gaming systems. It would be obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as taught by Kiss, to include cause the at least one processor to execute additional instructions for: causing the system to determine, using a first set of predefined criteria, whether at least a portion of the advantage spin credits associated with the fourth deposit transaction are eligible for funding gameplay activity at the second EGD; and preventing a first portion of advantage spin credits associated with the fourth deposit transaction from being eligible for funding specific gameplay activity at the second EGD, as taught by Baerlocher, since it combines prior art elements of bonus game credit meters with the gaming system according to known methods to yield predictable results. Doing so is a predictable solution that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 10, and substantially similar limitations in claim 22, Kiss does not explicitly teach cause the at least one processor to execute additional instructions for: processing, at the second EGD, a fifth deposit transaction involving a deposit of at least one promotional advantage spin credit to the second EGD, the at least one promotional advantage spin credit having associated therewith a first set of restriction criteria; causing the system to determine, using the first set of restriction criteria, whether the at least one promotional advantage spin credit is eligible for funding gameplay activity of the second gaming session; and preventing the at least one promotional advantage spin credit from being eligible for funding gameplay activity of the second gaming session.
However, Baerlocher discloses cause the at least one processor to execute additional instructions for: processing, at the second EGD, a fifth deposit transaction involving a deposit of at least one promotional advantage spin credit to the second EGD, the at least one promotional advantage spin credit having associated therewith a first set of restriction criteria; causing the system to determine, using the first set of restriction criteria, whether the at least one promotional advantage spin credit is eligible for funding gameplay activity of the second gaming session; and preventing the at least one promotional advantage spin credit from being eligible for funding gameplay activity of the second gaming session (Baerlocher col. 40 lines 26-47, “since the bonus event units are stored by the gaming system in the player's account, such bonus event units are transferable and the player may earn and redeem such bonus event units at a plurality of different gaming devices in the gaming establishment,” credit values are necessarily validated for eligibility or ineligibility for use on a different machine).
Baerlocher is analogous to Kiss, as both are drawn to the art of electronic gaming systems. It would be obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as taught by Kiss, to include cause the at least one processor to execute additional instructions for: processing, at the second EGD, a fifth deposit transaction involving a deposit of at least one promotional advantage spin credit to the second EGD, the at least one promotional advantage spin credit having associated therewith a first set of restriction criteria; causing the system to determine, using the first set of restriction criteria, whether the at least one promotional advantage spin credit is eligible for funding gameplay activity of the second gaming session; and preventing the at least one promotional advantage spin credit from being eligible for funding gameplay activity of the second gaming session, as taught by Baerlocher, since it combines prior art elements of bonus game credit meters with the gaming system according to known methods to yield predictable results. Doing so is a predictable solution that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 11, and substantially similar limitations in claim 23, Kiss does not explicitly teach cause the at least one processor to execute additional instructions for: processing a request to deposit at least one promotional advantage spin credit at the second EGD, the at least one promotional advantage spin credit having associated therewith a first set of restriction criteria; causing the system to determine, using the first set of restriction criteria, whether the at least one promotional advantage spin credit is eligible for funding gameplay activity at the second EGD; and preventing the at least one promotional advantage spin credit from being deposited at the second EGD in response to determining that the at least one advantage spin credit is not eligible for funding gameplay activity at the second EGD.
However, Baerlocher discloses cause the at least one processor to execute additional instructions for: processing a request to deposit at least one promotional advantage spin credit at the second EGD, the at least one promotional advantage spin credit having associated therewith a first set of restriction criteria; causing the system to determine, using the first set of restriction criteria, whether the at least one promotional advantage spin credit is eligible for funding gameplay activity at the second EGD; and preventing the at least one promotional advantage spin credit from being deposited at the second EGD in response to determining that the at least one advantage spin credit is not eligible for funding gameplay activity at the second EGD (Baerlocher col. 40 lines 26-47, “since the bonus event units are stored by the gaming system in the player's account, such bonus event units are transferable and the player may earn and redeem such bonus event units at a plurality of different gaming devices in the gaming establishment,” credit values are necessarily validated for eligibility or ineligibility for use on a different machine).
Baerlocher is analogous to Kiss, as both are drawn to the art of electronic gaming systems. It would be obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as taught by Kiss, to include cause the at least one processor to execute additional instructions for: processing a request to deposit at least one promotional advantage spin credit at the second EGD, the at least one promotional advantage spin credit having associated therewith a first set of restriction criteria; causing the system to determine, using the first set of restriction criteria, whether the at least one promotional advantage spin credit is eligible for funding gameplay activity at the second EGD; and preventing the at least one promotional advantage spin credit from being deposited at the second EGD in response to determining that the at least one advantage spin credit is not eligible for funding gameplay activity at the second EGD, as taught by Baerlocher, since it combines prior art elements of bonus game credit meters with the gaming system according to known methods to yield predictable results. Doing so is a predictable solution that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 12, and substantially similar limitations in claim 24, Kiss does not explicitly teach cause the at least one processor to execute additional instructions for: withdrawing at least a portion of advantage spin credits from a first player account during an active or inactive gaming session; transferring the withdrawn advantage spin credits to one or more of a physical advantage spin credit voucher or a digital advantage spin credit voucher; and facilitating usage or redemption of the physical or digital advantage spin credit voucher across at least one of: a plurality of EGDs, a plurality of different gaming devices, a plurality of different game types, or a plurality of different casino venues.
However, Baerlocher discloses cause the at least one processor to execute additional instructions for: withdrawing at least a portion of advantage spin credits from a first player account during an active or inactive gaming session; transferring the withdrawn advantage spin credits to one or more of a physical advantage spin credit voucher or a digital advantage spin credit voucher; and facilitating usage or redemption of the physical or digital advantage spin credit voucher across at least one of: a plurality of EGDs, a plurality of different gaming devices, a plurality of different game types, or a plurality of different casino venues (Baerlocher col. 40 lines 26-47, “since the bonus event units are stored by the gaming system in the player's account, such bonus event units are transferable and the player may earn and redeem such bonus event units at a plurality of different gaming devices in the gaming establishment,” use of player accounts to maintain credit values allows bonus game credits to be used on any compatible machine at any venue).
Baerlocher is analogous to Kiss, as both are drawn to the art of electronic gaming systems. It would be obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as taught by Kiss, to include cause the at least one processor to execute additional instructions for: withdrawing at least a portion of advantage spin credits from a first player account during an active or inactive gaming session; transferring the withdrawn advantage spin credits to one or more of a physical advantage spin credit voucher or a digital advantage spin credit voucher; and facilitating usage or redemption of the physical or digital advantage spin credit voucher across at least one of: a plurality of EGDs, a plurality of different gaming devices, a plurality of different game types, or a plurality of different casino venues, as taught by Baerlocher, since it combines prior art elements of bonus game credit meters with the gaming system according to known methods to yield predictable results. Doing so is a predictable solution that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Nores (US 2008/0318660) Slot machine game with respin feature which identifies potential wins
Roukis (US 9,123,212) Gaming machine including a feature gamble
Delekta (US 2021/0375095) Electronic gaming machine and method with transformable grid pick selections and multi-state reveal mechanics
/STEPHEN ALVESTEFFER/Examiner, Art Unit 3715