Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finding et al. (US 20180253900 A1) in view of Simari et al. (US 20190371067 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Finding et al. does not expressly disclose the medium wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving, by the computer system, a request to view the first data model, determining, by the computer system and from an identifier included in the request, that a user associated with the request does not have permissions to at least one of the first virtual display, the first media content, or the second media content and providing, by the computer system for output via a user input/output system, any portion of the first data model for which the user has permission to consume while preventing the at least one of the first virtual display, the first media content, or the second media content from being consumed.
Simari et al. teaches content object 122 may be displayed to users of the AR application, including the first user 101 and potentially other users who satisfy certain criteria, such as being within a threshold distance of the content object 122, having real-world object 120 or the designated location 124 in their field of view, and having sufficient access permissions. An access-permission check may be performed to determine whether a first user 101 has permission to access (e.g., view an image of) the content object 122. If the first user 101 has permission, then the object may be displayed to the first user 101, e.g., in the AR application on a display of the first user 101's client system 103. If the first user 101 does not have permission, then the object may not be displayed to the first user 101. The determination of whether the first user 101 has permission to access the content object 122 may be made based on information in the social-networking system, such as friend relationships or privacy controls. For example, if the first user 101 is a friend of a second user 102 who created the content object 122, and the second user 102 has indicated that the content object
122 is accessible by friends of the second user 102, then the first user 101 has sufficient permission to access the content object 122. The second user 102 may indicate that the content object 122 is visible to friends by configuring a privacy control option in the social-networking system that applies to content created by the second user 102 and indicates that the content is visible to friends of the second user 102, para. 0043.
Finding et al. in view of Simari et al. are analogous art because they are from the similar problem-solving area of displayed content. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add the display control permissions of Simari et al. to the medium of Finding et al. in order to obtain a mode of permission controlled display. The motivation for doing so would be to control content viewed by certain users.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finding et al. (US 20180253900 A1) in view of Rice (US 20210279695 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Finding et al. does not expressly disclose the medium of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: generating, by the computer system based on the first data model, a non-fungible token according to a non-fungible token standard.
Rice teaches that a “virtual goods object” may be, by way of non-limiting example, 3D polygonal or voxel objects or other representations in Augmented Reality or Virtual Reality, para. 0037; the virtual goods object can be tokenized and considered a Non-Fungible Token (NFT) which may then be stored, para. 0049; a user creates the NFT token and associates it with the referenced item as represented by a photo or image of the referenced item, para. 0061.
Finding et al. in view of Rice are analogous art because they are from the similar problem solving area of virtual objects. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add the assets of virtual goods of Rice to the medium of Finding et al. in order to obtain ownership of virtual goods. The motivation for doing so would be to create rights to virtual goods.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10, 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Finding et al. (US 20180253900 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Finding et al. discloses a non-transitory, machine-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (para. 0029), effectuate operations comprising:
associating, by a computer system, a first virtual display of a first object with first media content (client device 108 generates media content (e.g., a video, an animation, audio content) related the virtual object associated with the physical object 102, para. 0036; local context recognition dataset module may include a library of virtual objects associated with real-world physical object 102 or references, para. 0035 placing the media content at the selected spatial coordinates in the entry in the AR authoring template, para. 0122) including a first type media content;
associating, by the computer system, the first virtual display of the object with second media content that includes second type media content (media content (e.g., a video, an animation, audio content) related the virtual object, para. 0036; AR rendering engine 218 may render virtual content such as, and without limitation, three-dimensional models (e.g., virtual object), media content (e.g. videos, pictures, audio, social media
content, instructions, 2D images and scenes), manipulations/changes of three dimensional models (e.g. a virtual object with registered alteration states), graphics, previously displayed virtual content, or substantially any combination thereof, para. 0047);
generating, by the computer system, a first data model that includes the first virtual display associated with the first media content and the second media content (recorded content dataset 616 includes, for example, media content, audio recording, recorded images of virtual objects, notes, and corresponding 3D coordinates); and
storing, by the computer system, the first data model in a storage device coupled to the computer system [the database 650 stores an AR authoring template dataset 614, a recorded content dataset 616, an AR instructions dataset 618, para. 0079).
Regarding claim 2, Finding et al. discloses the medium wherein the first object is a physical object (user 105 points the AR device 106 at the physical object 102; virtual objects associated with real-world physical object 102 or references, para. 0035).
Regarding claim 3, Finding et al. discloses the medium wherein the first virtual display includes a three-dimensional virtual model of the physical object (storage
device 226 may store a three-dimensional model of the physical object 102, para. 0060).
Regarding claim 4, Finding et al. discloses the medium wherein the operations further comprise: generating, by the computer system, the first virtual display of the object [display application 212 generates virtual content for display in the display 204, para. 0047; AR instructions generator 608 generates AR content based on the content provided in the AR authoring template, para. 0076].
Regarding claim 5, Finding et al. discloses the medium wherein the association of the first virtual display with the first media content or the association of the first virtual display with the second media content is performed by associating each with a common identifier [the playback parameters may identify a video content portion associated with a combination of a task, a machine identification, a user identification, para. 0082].
Regarding claim 6, Finding et al. discloses the medium wherein the operations further comprise: receiving, by the computer system, a request to view the first data model and providing, by the computer system for output via a user input/output system, at least one of the first virtual display, the first media content, or the second media content [generates additional information corresponding to the image (e.g., a three-dimensional model) and presents this additional information in a display of the AR device 106, para. 0035].
Regarding claim 7, Finding et al. discloses the medium wherein the operations further comprise:
generating, by the computer system, a quick response code that identifies an address to send the request, wherein the request is received in response to the quick response code being scanned [visual reference may include a bar code, a quick response (QR) code, para. 0047].
Regarding claim 10, Finding et al. discloses the medium wherein the operations further comprise:
generating, by the computer system, the first media content [generating media content using the image data, para.0119].
Regarding claim 11, Finding et al. discloses the medium of claim 1, wherein the generating the first media content includes:
at least one of receiving content inputs from a user or receiving content inputs from a content generations algorithm that includes a machine learning algorithm that generates content from information obtained from the virtual display and the user (the graphics animation may be based on the user 105 manipulating a virtual object or a physical object , para. 0067; the AR authoring template may be formed based on a flow diagram or entries provided by a user 105 via a webpage, para. 0075).
Claim 20, a method claim, is rejected for the same reason as claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/THOMAS J LETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611