DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Naruko et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0278486).
Claim 1:
Naruko et al. disclose a Solid State Disk (SSD), comprising:
a flash storage medium [figs. 1, 18; pars. 0007, 0040-0045, 0164-0165 – “For example, a case in which there is no countermeasure against deterioration in an average read latency in a flash memory will be described. In this case, data of which a write frequency is high can be read at a constant delay time without depending on a data write quantity on an SSD.”]; and
a controller to access a data on the flash storage medium [fig. 18; par. 0165 – “The controller 1904 performs analyzing of a read request or a write request received from the storage controller 200 and controlling of the flash memory chips 1910 based on a request.”],
wherein the SSD is configured to advertise a physical capacity of the flash storage medium to a Virtual Storage Manager (VSM) [figs. 1, 2, 7; pars. 0068-0069, 0075-0079, 0099-0104 – “In the capacity field 610, a physical capacity per SSD 220 connected to the storage controller 200 is stored.” … “The virtual address conversion table 332 is a table indicating a correspondent relation between virtual addresses allocated to logical pages and physical addresses of physical pages allocated to the logical pages and has a row for each logical page. The rows of the virtual address conversion table 332 include an LUN field 810, a virtual address field 811, a region field 812, and a physical address field 813”], and
wherein the physical capacity includes a total actual capacity of the flash storage medium [figs. 1-2; pars. 0068-0069, 0099-0104 – “In the capacity field 610, a physical capacity per SSD 220 connected to the storage controller 200 is stored.” … “Subsequently, the processor 211 calculates a sum of the capacities of the SSDs 220 connected to the storage controller 200 (a total physical capacity) (S1104). Specifically, the processor 211 acquires a capacity per SSD and a connection number from the capacity field 610 and the connection number field 612 of the connection device management table 330 and obtains the total physical capacity by calculating a product of the capacity and the connection number.”].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naruko et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0278486) in view of Kruger (U.S. Patent No. 9,519,577).
Claim 2 (as applied to claim 1 above):
Naruko et al. discloses all the limitations above but does not specifically disclose,
wherein the SSD is configured to update the physical capacity of the flash storage medium to a second physical capacity based at least in part on a block in the flash storage medium failing.
In the same field of endeavor, Kruger discloses,
wherein the SSD is configured to update the physical capacity of the flash storage medium to a second physical capacity based at least in part on a block in the flash storage medium failing [fig. 5; column 15, lines 1-54 – “At step 504, the respective flash memory device reduces its advertised size. In some embodiments, the difference between the current (or reduced) advertised size and the previous advertised size is equal to the number of flash memory blocks comprising a logical chunk. In some embodiments, the advertised size of a flash memory device is an amount of bytes or addresses advertised to storage controller 120 that is equal to the amount of logical chunks that are storing data and are available for storing data. In some embodiments, the advertised size of a flash memory device is equal to the difference between the total amount of flash memory blocks comprising the flash memory device and the number of failed flash memory blocks.”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Naruko et al. to include reducing the advertised size of a storage device in response to failed blocks, as taught by Kruger, in order to improve performance and maintain data integrity by gradually migrating data from a failing device.
Claim 3 (as applied to claim 2 above):
Kruger discloses,
wherein the SSD is configured to advertise the updated physical capacity of the flash storage medium to the VSM [fig. 5; column 15, lines 1-54 – “At step 504, the respective flash memory device reduces its advertised size. In some embodiments, the difference between the current (or reduced) advertised size and the previous advertised size is equal to the number of flash memory blocks comprising a logical chunk. In some embodiments, the advertised size of a flash memory device is an amount of bytes or addresses advertised to storage controller 120 that is equal to the amount of logical chunks that are storing data and are available for storing data. In some embodiments, the advertised size of a flash memory device is equal to the difference between the total amount of flash memory blocks comprising the flash memory device and the number of failed flash memory blocks.”].
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naruko et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0278486) in view of Asnaashari et al. (Pub. No. US 2015/0095555).
Claim 4 (as applied to claim 1 above):
Naruko et al. disclose all the limitations above but do not specifically disclose,
wherein the SSD is further configured to support thin provisioning.
In the same field of endeavor, Asnaashari et al. disclose,
wherein the SSD is further configured to support thin provisioning [pars. 0007-0008 – “The concept of thin provisioning, known to those in the art, has been gaining ground because it leaves a host of a storage system that is in communication with the storage appliance with the impression that the physical or actual storage space, i.e. SSD, is larger than it oftentimes actually is. One might wonder how the system can effectively operate with less storage space than that which is called out by the host. It turns out that the space communicated from the host to the storage appliance is not always the entire space that is actually to be used for storage, in fact most often, a fraction of this space is actually utilized. For example, a user might think it needs 10 Giga Bytes and therefor requests such a capacity. In actuality however, it is far unlikely that the user stores data in all of the 10 Giga Bytes of space. On occasion, the user might do so, but commonly, this is not done. Thin provisioning takes advantage of such apriory knowledge to assign SSD space only when data is about to be written rather than when storage space is initially requested by the host.”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Naruko et al. to include thin provisioning, as taught by Asnaashari et al., in order to provide more efficient usage of storage space.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naruko et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0278486) in view of Colgrove (U.S. Patent No. 11,163,448).
Claim 5 (as applied to claim 1 above):
Naruko et al. disclose all the limitations above but do not specifically disclose the SSD, further comprising
a firmware to advertise the physical capacity of the flash storage medium to the VSM.
In the same field of endeavor, Colgrove discloses,
a firmware to advertise the physical capacity of the flash storage medium to the VSM [column 11, lines 24-30 – “Persons skilled in the art will recognize also that, although some of the example embodiments described in this specification are oriented to software installed and executing on computer hardware, nevertheless, alternative embodiments implemented as firmware, as hardware, or as an aggregation of hardware and software are well within the scope of embodiments of the present disclosure.”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Naruko et al. to include firmware, as taught by Colgrove, in order to improve performance by providing fast and efficient code.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 9, 14, 15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pellegrino et al. (Pub. No. US 2003/0145045) in view of Naruko et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0278486).
Claim 6:
Pellegrino et al. disclose a Virtual Storage Manager (VSM), comprising a non-transitory storage medium, the non-transitory storage medium having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by a machine [fig. 2; par. 0030], result in:
a tracking module to track a first physical capacity of a first storage device and a second physical capacity of a second storage device [fig. 3; par. 0033 – “FIG. 3 provides one exemplary arrangement and possible field sizes and contents for the volume pages 310 and volume headers 320. The storage aggregator considers the pool of available pages to be smaller by the number of pages required for the new volume 302. Actual storage device volumes 350 are created by sending a physical volume create command to the storage aggregator 130. The storage aggregator 130 also tracks storage device volume usage as shown at 304, 306 with example storage device volume entries and volume header shown at 330 and 340, respectively.”];
an aggregation module to determine a usable capacity of a virtual storage device based at least in part on the first physical capacity of the first storage device and the second physical capacity of the second storage device [fig. 3; par. 0033 – “An aggregate volume 302 may be created of equal or lesser size than the set of free pages of the storage device volumes 350.”]; and
an allocation module to allocate a first portion of the first storage device and a second portion of the second storage device to an application executing on a processor based at least in part on the usable capacity of the virtual storage device [fig. 3; par. 0032-0033 – “FIG. 3 (with reference to FIG. 1) provides a logical view 300 of the storage aggregator 130 and of data flow and storage virtualization within the data storage network 100. As shown, the aggregate volumes 302 within or created by the storage aggregator 130 are the logical LUNs presented to the outside world, i.e., consumers 112 of host server system 110.” … “The storage aggregator 130 creates an aggregate volume structure when a new volume 302 is created, but the pages of the storage device volumes 350 are not allocated directly to aggregate volume pages. FIG. 3 provides one exemplary arrangement and possible field sizes and contents for the volume pages 310 and volume headers 320. The storage aggregator considers the pool of available pages to be smaller by the number of pages required for the new volume 302. Actual storage device volumes 350 are created by sending a physical volume create command to the storage aggregator 130. The storage aggregator 130 also tracks storage device volume usage as shown at 304, 306 with example storage device volume entries and volume header shown at 330 and 340, respectively.”].
However, Pellegrino et al. do not specifically disclose,
Pellegrino et al. disclose tracking and aggregating, but not according to actual capacities
wherein the first physical capacity includes a first total actual capacity of the first storage device and the second physical capacity includes a second total actual capacity of the second storage device.
In the same field of endeavor, Naruko et al. disclose,
Naruko et al. teach tracking and aggregating according to physical capacities [figs. 1, 2, 7; pars. 0068-0069, 0075-0079, 0099-0104 – “In the capacity field 610, a physical capacity per SSD 220 connected to the storage controller 200 is stored.” … “The virtual address conversion table 332 is a table indicating a correspondent relation between virtual addresses allocated to logical pages and physical addresses of physical pages allocated to the logical pages and has a row for each logical page. The rows of the virtual address conversion table 332 include an LUN field 810, a virtual address field 811, a region field 812, and a physical address field 813”].
wherein the first physical capacity includes a first total actual capacity of the first storage device and the second physical capacity includes a second total actual capacity of the second storage device [figs. 1-2; pars. 0068-0069, 0099-0104 – “In the capacity field 610, a physical capacity per SSD 220 connected to the storage controller 200 is stored.” … “Subsequently, the processor 211 calculates a sum of the capacities of the SSDs 220 connected to the storage controller 200 (a total physical capacity) (S1104). Specifically, the processor 211 acquires a capacity per SSD and a connection number from the capacity field 610 and the connection number field 612 of the connection device management table 330 and obtains the total physical capacity by calculating a product of the capacity and the connection number.”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pellegrino et al. to include receiving the physical capacity, as taught by Naruko et al., in order to provide greater control over storage space allocation.
Claim 7 (as applied to claim 6 above):
Pellegrino et al. disclose the VSM, further comprising
an advertising module to advertise the usable capacity to the application executing on the processor [fig. 3; par. 0032-0033 – Aggregate volumes are exposed to consumers. (“FIG. 3 (with reference to FIG. 1) provides a logical view 300 of the storage aggregator 130 and of data flow and storage virtualization within the data storage network 100. As shown, the aggregate volumes 302 within or created by the storage aggregator 130 are the logical LUNs presented to the outside world, i.e., consumers 112 of host server system 110.” … “The storage aggregator 130 creates an aggregate volume structure when a new volume 302 is created, but the pages of the storage device volumes 350 are not allocated directly to aggregate volume pages. FIG. 3 provides one exemplary arrangement and possible field sizes and contents for the volume pages 310 and volume headers 320. The storage aggregator considers the pool of available pages to be smaller by the number of pages required for the new volume 302. Actual storage device volumes 350 are created by sending a physical volume create command to the storage aggregator 130. The storage aggregator 130 also tracks storage device volume usage as shown at 304, 306 with example storage device volume entries and volume header shown at 330 and 340, respectively.”)].
Claim 9 (as applied to claim 6 above):
Pellegrino et al. disclose, wherein:
the first portion of the first storage device includes a first size [fig. 3; par. 0032-0033 – Aggregate volumes are exposed to consumers. (“FIG. 3 (with reference to FIG. 1) provides a logical view 300 of the storage aggregator 130 and of data flow and storage virtualization within the data storage network 100. As shown, the aggregate volumes 302 within or created by the storage aggregator 130 are the logical LUNs presented to the outside world, i.e., consumers 112 of host server system 110.” … “The storage aggregator 130 creates an aggregate volume structure when a new volume 302 is created, but the pages of the storage device volumes 350 are not allocated directly to aggregate volume pages. FIG. 3 provides one exemplary arrangement and possible field sizes and contents for the volume pages 310 and volume headers 320. The storage aggregator considers the pool of available pages to be smaller by the number of pages required for the new volume 302. Actual storage device volumes 350 are created by sending a physical volume create command to the storage aggregator 130. The storage aggregator 130 also tracks storage device volume usage as shown at 304, 306 with example storage device volume entries and volume header shown at 330 and 340, respectively.”)];
the second portion of the second storage device includes a second size [fig. 3; par. 0032-0033 – Aggregate volumes are exposed to consumers. (“FIG. 3 (with reference to FIG. 1) provides a logical view 300 of the storage aggregator 130 and of data flow and storage virtualization within the data storage network 100. As shown, the aggregate volumes 302 within or created by the storage aggregator 130 are the logical LUNs presented to the outside world, i.e., consumers 112 of host server system 110.” … “The storage aggregator 130 creates an aggregate volume structure when a new volume 302 is created, but the pages of the storage device volumes 350 are not allocated directly to aggregate volume pages. FIG. 3 provides one exemplary arrangement and possible field sizes and contents for the volume pages 310 and volume headers 320. The storage aggregator considers the pool of available pages to be smaller by the number of pages required for the new volume 302. Actual storage device volumes 350 are created by sending a physical volume create command to the storage aggregator 130. The storage aggregator 130 also tracks storage device volume usage as shown at 304, 306 with example storage device volume entries and volume header shown at 330 and 340, respectively.”)]; and
a combination of the first size and the second size is at least as large as a storage size requested by the application executing on the processor [fig. 3; par. 0032-0033 – Aggregate volumes are exposed to consumers. (“FIG. 3 (with reference to FIG. 1) provides a logical view 300 of the storage aggregator 130 and of data flow and storage virtualization within the data storage network 100. As shown, the aggregate volumes 302 within or created by the storage aggregator 130 are the logical LUNs presented to the outside world, i.e., consumers 112 of host server system 110.” … “The storage aggregator 130 creates an aggregate volume structure when a new volume 302 is created, but the pages of the storage device volumes 350 are not allocated directly to aggregate volume pages. FIG. 3 provides one exemplary arrangement and possible field sizes and contents for the volume pages 310 and volume headers 320. The storage aggregator considers the pool of available pages to be smaller by the number of pages required for the new volume 302. Actual storage device volumes 350 are created by sending a physical volume create command to the storage aggregator 130. The storage aggregator 130 also tracks storage device volume usage as shown at 304, 306 with example storage device volume entries and volume header shown at 330 and 340, respectively.”)].
Claim 14:
Pellegrino et al. disclose a method, comprising:
receiving a first physical capacity of a first storage device from the first storage device [par. 0033 – Capacities of storage devices are determined. (“The storage aggregator 130 initially and periodically creates the aggregate volumes 302. A storage aggregator 130 advertises all the available free pages of the storage device volumes 350 for purpose of volume 302 creation and in RAID embodiments, includes the capacity at each RAID level (and a creation command will specify the RAID level desired). An aggregate volume 302 may be created of equal or lesser size than the set of free pages of the storage device volumes 350.”)];
determining a first logical capacity of the first storage device based at least in part on the first physical capacity of the first storage device [par. 0033 – Capacities of storage devices are determined. (“The storage aggregator 130 initially and periodically creates the aggregate volumes 302. A storage aggregator 130 advertises all the available free pages of the storage device volumes 350 for purpose of volume 302 creation and in RAID embodiments, includes the capacity at each RAID level (and a creation command will specify the RAID level desired). An aggregate volume 302 may be created of equal or lesser size than the set of free pages of the storage device volumes 350.”)];
receiving a second physical capacity of a second storage device from the second storage device [par. 0033 – Capacities of storage devices are determined. (“The storage aggregator 130 initially and periodically creates the aggregate volumes 302. A storage aggregator 130 advertises all the available free pages of the storage device volumes 350 for purpose of volume 302 creation and in RAID embodiments, includes the capacity at each RAID level (and a creation command will specify the RAID level desired). An aggregate volume 302 may be created of equal or lesser size than the set of free pages of the storage device volumes 350.”)];
determining a second logical capacity of the second storage device based at least in part on the second physical capacity of the second storage device [par. 0033 – Capacities of storage devices are determined. (“The storage aggregator 130 initially and periodically creates the aggregate volumes 302. A storage aggregator 130 advertises all the available free pages of the storage device volumes 350 for purpose of volume 302 creation and in RAID embodiments, includes the capacity at each RAID level (and a creation command will specify the RAID level desired). An aggregate volume 302 may be created of equal or lesser size than the set of free pages of the storage device volumes 350.”)];
aggregating the first logical capacity of the first storage device and the second logical capacity of the second storage device to produce a usable capacity [fig. 3; par. 0033 – “An aggregate volume 302 may be created of equal or lesser size than the set of free pages of the storage device volumes 350.”]; and
advertising the usable capacity to an application executing on a processor [fig. 3; par. 0032-0033 – “FIG. 3 (with reference to FIG. 1) provides a logical view 300 of the storage aggregator 130 and of data flow and storage virtualization within the data storage network 100. As shown, the aggregate volumes 302 within or created by the storage aggregator 130 are the logical LUNs presented to the outside world, i.e., consumers 112 of host server system 110.” … “The storage aggregator 130 creates an aggregate volume structure when a new volume 302 is created, but the pages of the storage device volumes 350 are not allocated directly to aggregate volume pages. FIG. 3 provides one exemplary arrangement and possible field sizes and contents for the volume pages 310 and volume headers 320. The storage aggregator considers the pool of available pages to be smaller by the number of pages required for the new volume 302. Actual storage device volumes 350 are created by sending a physical volume create command to the storage aggregator 130. The storage aggregator 130 also tracks storage device volume usage as shown at 304, 306 with example storage device volume entries and volume header shown at 330 and 340, respectively.”].
However, Pellegrino et al. do not specifically disclose,
Pellegrino et al. disclose tracking and aggregating, but not according to actual capacities
wherein the first physical capacity includes a first total actual capacity of the first storage device and the second physical capacity includes a second total actual capacity of the second storage device.
In the same field of endeavor, Naruko et al. disclose,
Naruko et al. teach tracking and aggregating according to physical capacities [figs. 1, 2, 7; pars. 0068-0069, 0075-0079, 0099-0104 – “In the capacity field 610, a physical capacity per SSD 220 connected to the storage controller 200 is stored.” … “The virtual address conversion table 332 is a table indicating a correspondent relation between virtual addresses allocated to logical pages and physical addresses of physical pages allocated to the logical pages and has a row for each logical page. The rows of the virtual address conversion table 332 include an LUN field 810, a virtual address field 811, a region field 812, and a physical address field 813”].
wherein the first physical capacity includes a first total actual capacity of the first storage device and the second physical capacity includes a second total actual capacity of the second storage device [figs. 1-2; pars. 0068-0069, 0099-0104 – “In the capacity field 610, a physical capacity per SSD 220 connected to the storage controller 200 is stored.” … “Subsequently, the processor 211 calculates a sum of the capacities of the SSDs 220 connected to the storage controller 200 (a total physical capacity) (S1104). Specifically, the processor 211 acquires a capacity per SSD and a connection number from the capacity field 610 and the connection number field 612 of the connection device management table 330 and obtains the total physical capacity by calculating a product of the capacity and the connection number.”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pellegrino et al. to include receiving the physical capacity, as taught by Naruko et al., in order to provide greater control over storage space allocation.
Claim 15 (as applied to claim 14 above):
Pellegrino et al. disclose,
wherein advertising the usable capacity to the application executing on the processor includes advertising the usable capacity of a virtual storage device to the application executing on the processor [fig. 3; par. 0032-0033 – “FIG. 3 (with reference to FIG. 1) provides a logical view 300 of the storage aggregator 130 and of data flow and storage virtualization within the data storage network 100. As shown, the aggregate volumes 302 within or created by the storage aggregator 130 are the logical LUNs presented to the outside world, i.e., consumers 112 of host server system 110.” … “The storage aggregator 130 creates an aggregate volume structure when a new volume 302 is created, but the pages of the storage device volumes 350 are not allocated directly to aggregate volume pages. FIG. 3 provides one exemplary arrangement and possible field sizes and contents for the volume pages 310 and volume headers 320. The storage aggregator considers the pool of available pages to be smaller by the number of pages required for the new volume 302. Actual storage device volumes 350 are created by sending a physical volume create command to the storage aggregator 130. The storage aggregator 130 also tracks storage device volume usage as shown at 304, 306 with example storage device volume entries and volume header shown at 330 and 340, respectively.”].
Claim 17 (as applied to claim 14 above):
Pellegrino et al. disclose the method, further comprising:
receiving a request to allocate a storage size from the application executing on the processor, wherein the storage size is less than the usable capacity [fig. 3; par. 0032-0033 – Aggregate volumes are exposed to consumers. (“FIG. 3 (with reference to FIG. 1) provides a logical view 300 of the storage aggregator 130 and of data flow and storage virtualization within the data storage network 100. As shown, the aggregate volumes 302 within or created by the storage aggregator 130 are the logical LUNs presented to the outside world, i.e., consumers 112 of host server system 110.” … “The storage aggregator 130 creates an aggregate volume structure when a new volume 302 is created, but the pages of the storage device volumes 350 are not allocated directly to aggregate volume pages. FIG. 3 provides one exemplary arrangement and possible field sizes and contents for the volume pages 310 and volume headers 320. The storage aggregator considers the pool of available pages to be smaller by the number of pages required for the new volume 302. Actual storage device volumes 350 are created by sending a physical volume create command to the storage aggregator 130. The storage aggregator 130 also tracks storage device volume usage as shown at 304, 306 with example storage device volume entries and volume header shown at 330 and 340, respectively.”)];
reserving a first portion of the first storage device to the application executing on the processor, the first portion of the first storage device including a first size [fig. 3; par. 0032-0033 – Aggregate volumes are exposed to consumers. Storage is reserved and allocated. (“FIG. 3 (with reference to FIG. 1) provides a logical view 300 of the storage aggregator 130 and of data flow and storage virtualization within the data storage network 100. As shown, the aggregate volumes 302 within or created by the storage aggregator 130 are the logical LUNs presented to the outside world, i.e., consumers 112 of host server system 110.” … “The storage aggregator 130 creates an aggregate volume structure when a new volume 302 is created, but the pages of the storage device volumes 350 are not allocated directly to aggregate volume pages. FIG. 3 provides one exemplary arrangement and possible field sizes and contents for the volume pages 310 and volume headers 320. The storage aggregator considers the pool of available pages to be smaller by the number of pages required for the new volume 302. Actual storage device volumes 350 are created by sending a physical volume create command to the storage aggregator 130. The storage aggregator 130 also tracks storage device volume usage as shown at 304, 306 with example storage device volume entries and volume header shown at 330 and 340, respectively.”)]; and
reserving a second portion of the second storage device to the application executing on the processor, the second portion of the second storage device including a second size [fig. 3; par. 0032-0033 – Aggregate volumes are exposed to consumers. Storage is reserved and allocated. (“FIG. 3 (with reference to FIG. 1) provides a logical view 300 of the storage aggregator 130 and of data flow and storage virtualization within the data storage network 100. As shown, the aggregate volumes 302 within or created by the storage aggregator 130 are the logical LUNs presented to the outside world, i.e., consumers 112 of host server system 110.” … “The storage aggregator 130 creates an aggregate volume structure when a new volume 302 is created, but the pages of the storage device volumes 350 are not allocated directly to aggregate volume pages. FIG. 3 provides one exemplary arrangement and possible field sizes and contents for the volume pages 310 and volume headers 320. The storage aggregator considers the pool of available pages to be smaller by the number of pages required for the new volume 302. Actual storage device volumes 350 are created by sending a physical volume create command to the storage aggregator 130. The storage aggregator 130 also tracks storage device volume usage as shown at 304, 306 with example storage device volume entries and volume header shown at 330 and 340, respectively.”)],
wherein a combination of the first size of the first portion of the first storage device and the second size of the second portion of the second storage device is at least as large as the storage size [fig. 3; par. 0032-0033 – Aggregate volumes are exposed to consumers. (“FIG. 3 (with reference to FIG. 1) provides a logical view 300 of the storage aggregator 130 and of data flow and storage virtualization within the data storage network 100. As shown, the aggregate volumes 302 within or created by the storage aggregator 130 are the logical LUNs presented to the outside world, i.e., consumers 112 of host server system 110.” … “The storage aggregator 130 creates an aggregate volume structure when a new volume 302 is created, but the pages of the storage device volumes 350 are not allocated directly to aggregate volume pages. FIG. 3 provides one exemplary arrangement and possible field sizes and contents for the volume pages 310 and volume headers 320. The storage aggregator considers the pool of available pages to be smaller by the number of pages required for the new volume 302. Actual storage device volumes 350 are created by sending a physical volume create command to the storage aggregator 130. The storage aggregator 130 also tracks storage device volume usage as shown at 304, 306 with example storage device volume entries and volume header shown at 330 and 340, respectively.”)].
Claim(s) 8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pellegrino et al. (Pub. No. US 2003/0145045) in view of Naruko et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0278486) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Bahirat et al. (Pub. No. US 2013/0346812).
Claim 8 (as applied to claim 6 above):
Pellegrino et al. and Naruko et al. disclose all the limitations above but do not specifically disclose, wherein:
the aggregation module includes an over-provisioning module to determine a first over-provisioning of the first storage device and to determine a second over-provisioning of the second storage device; and
the aggregation module is configured to determine the usable capacity of the virtual storage device based at least in part on the first physical capacity of the first storage device, the first over-provisioning of the first storage device, the second physical capacity of the second storage device, and the second over-provisioning of the second storage device.
In the same field of endeavor, Bahirat et al. disclose,
the aggregation module includes an over-provisioning module to determine a first over-provisioning of the first storage device and to determine a second over-provisioning of the second storage device [par. 0033 – “Some memory systems employ over-provisioning (OP) to prolong the lifetime of an SSD, for instance. OP can limit the accessible amount of memory allowed by the controller (e.g., controller 108 shown in FIG. 1) to less than the physical amount of memory present in a device. For instance, an SSD with 64 GB of physical memory can be over-provisioned to only allow 80% of its memory space to be used such that the memory space of the SSD appears (e.g., to a host) to be 51 GB. The over-provisioned 13 GB of memory can may not be accessible directly by a host, but can be treated as reserve and used by the controller in association with wear leveling, garbage collection, etc. For instance, the over-provisioned memory can be used to replace bad blocks (e.g., blocks determined to be unreliable) within the portion of the SSD accessible by the host. A block may be determined to be a bad block (e.g., via an error detection/correction component such as 118 shown in FIG. 1) based on a determined error rate corresponding thereto, for example. As another example, a block may also be determined to be a bad block once a process cycle count corresponding thereto reaches or exceeds a threshold cycle count.”]; and
the aggregation module is configured to determine the usable capacity of the virtual storage device based at least in part on the first physical capacity of the first storage device, the first over-provisioning of the first storage device, the second physical capacity of the second storage device, and the second over-provisioning of the second storage device [par. 0033 – “Some memory systems employ over-provisioning (OP) to prolong the lifetime of an SSD, for instance. OP can limit the accessible amount of memory allowed by the controller (e.g., controller 108 shown in FIG. 1) to less than the physical amount of memory present in a device. For instance, an SSD with 64 GB of physical memory can be over-provisioned to only allow 80% of its memory space to be used such that the memory space of the SSD appears (e.g., to a host) to be 51 GB. The over-provisioned 13 GB of memory can may not be accessible directly by a host, but can be treated as reserve and used by the controller in association with wear leveling, garbage collection, etc. For instance, the over-provisioned memory can be used to replace bad blocks (e.g., blocks determined to be unreliable) within the portion of the SSD accessible by the host. A block may be determined to be a bad block (e.g., via an error detection/correction component such as 118 shown in FIG. 1) based on a determined error rate corresponding thereto, for example. As another example, a block may also be determined to be a bad block once a process cycle count corresponding thereto reaches or exceeds a threshold cycle count.”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Pellegrino et al. and Naruko et al. to include over-provisioning, as taught by Bahirat et al., in order to improve performance by providing a reserve area for housekeeping operations.
Claim 16 (as applied to claim 14 above):
Pellegrino et al. and Naruko et al. disclose all the limitations above but do not specifically disclose, wherein:
determining the first logical capacity of the first storage device based at least in part on the first physical capacity of the first storage device includes:
determining a first over-provisioning of the first storage device; and
determining the first logical capacity of the first storage device based on a difference between the first physical capacity of the first storage device and the first over-provisioning of the first storage device; and
determining the second logical capacity of the second storage device based at least in part on the second physical capacity of the second storage device includes:
determining a second over-provisioning of the second storage device [par. 0033 – “Some memory systems employ over-provisioning (OP) to prolong the lifetime of an SSD, for instance. OP can limit the accessible amount of memory allowed by the controller (e.g., controller 108 shown in FIG. 1) to less than the physical amount of memory present in a device. For instance, an SSD with 64 GB of physical memory can be over-provisioned to only allow 80% of its memory space to be used such that the memory space of the SSD appears (e.g., to a host) to be 51 GB. The over-provisioned 13 GB of memory can may not be accessible directly by a host, but can be treated as reserve and used by the controller in association with wear leveling, garbage collection, etc. For instance, the over-provisioned memory can be used to replace bad blocks (e.g., blocks determined to be unreliable) within the portion of the SSD accessible by the host. A block may be determined to be a bad block (e.g., via an error detection/correction component such as 118 shown in FIG. 1) based on a determined error rate corresponding thereto, for example. As another example, a block may also be determined to be a bad block once a process cycle count corresponding thereto reaches or exceeds a threshold cycle count.”]; and
determining the second logical capacity of the second storage device based on a difference between the second physical capacity of the second storage device and the second over-provisioning of the second storage device [par. 0033 – “Some memory systems employ over-provisioning (OP) to prolong the lifetime of an SSD, for instance. OP can limit the accessible amount of memory allowed by the controller (e.g., controller 108 shown in FIG. 1) to less than the physical amount of memory present in a device. For instance, an SSD with 64 GB of physical memory can be over-provisioned to only allow 80% of its memory space to be used such that the memory space of the SSD appears (e.g., to a host) to be 51 GB. The over-provisioned 13 GB of memory can may not be accessible directly by a host, but can be treated as reserve and used by the controller in association with wear leveling, garbage collection, etc. For instance, the over-provisioned memory can be used to replace bad blocks (e.g., blocks determined to be unreliable) within the portion of the SSD accessible by the host. A block may be determined to be a bad block (e.g., via an error detection/correction component such as 118 shown in FIG. 1) based on a determined error rate corresponding thereto, for example. As another example, a block may also be determined to be a bad block once a process cycle count corresponding thereto reaches or exceeds a threshold cycle count.”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Pellegrino et al. and Naruko et al. to include over-provisioning, as taught by Bahirat et al., in order to improve performance by providing a reserve area for housekeeping operations.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pellegrino et al. (Pub. No. US 2003/0145045) in view of Naruko et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0278486) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Adler et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0364347).
Claim 11 (as applied to claim 6 above):
Pellegrino et al. disclose, wherein the allocation module is configured to:
allocate a first section of the first portion of the first storage device based at least in part on receiving a first write request from the application executing on the processor [fig. 3; par. 0032-0033 – Available space is determined and allocated to a consumer in response to a request. (“FIG. 3 (with reference to FIG. 1) provides a logical view 300 of the storage aggregator 130 and of data flow and storage virtualization within the data storage network 100. As shown, the aggregate volumes 302 within or created by the storage aggregator 130 are the logical LUNs presented to the outside world, i.e., consumers 112 of host server system 110.” … “The storage aggregator 130 creates an aggregate volume structure when a new volume 302 is created, but the pages of the storage device volumes 350 are not allocated directly to aggregate volume pages. FIG. 3 provides one exemplary arrangement and possible field sizes and contents for the volume pages 310 and volume headers 320. The storage aggregator considers the pool of available pages to be smaller by the number of pages required for the new volume 302. Actual storage device volumes 350 are created by sending a physical volume create command to the storage aggregator 130. The storage aggregator 130 also tracks storage device volume usage as shown at 304, 306 with example storage device volume entries and volume header shown at 330 and 340, respectively.”)]; and
allocate a second section of the second portion of the second storage device based at least in part on receiving a second write request from the application executing on the processor [fig. 3; par. 0032-0033 – Available space is determined and allocated to a consumer in response to a request. (“FIG. 3 (with reference to FIG. 1) provides a logical view 300 of the storage aggregator 130 and of data flow and storage virtualization within the data storage network 100. As shown, the aggregate volumes 302 within or created by the storage aggregator 130 are the logical LUNs presented to the outside world, i.e., consumers 112 of host server system 110.” … “The storage aggregator 130 creates an aggregate volume structure when a new volume 302 is created, but the pages of the storage device volumes 350 are not allocated directly to aggregate volume pages. FIG. 3 provides one exemplary arrangement and possible field sizes and contents for the volume pages 310 and volume headers 320. The storage aggregator considers the pool of available pages to be smaller by the number of pages required for the new volume 302. Actual storage device volumes 350 are created by sending a physical volume create command to the storage aggregator 130. The storage aggregator 130 also tracks storage device volume usage as shown at 304, 306 with example storage device volume entries and volume header shown at 330 and 340, respectively.”)].
However, Pellegrino et al. and Naruko et al. do not specifically disclose,
reserve the first portion of the first storage device to the application executing on the processor;
reserve the second portion of the second storage device to the application executing on the processor;
In the same field of endeavor, Adler et al. disclose,
reserve the first portion of the first storage device to the application executing on the processor [pars. 0014-0019 – “Systems and methods in accordance with various embodiments of the present disclosure overcome at least some of the above mentioned shortcomings and deficiencies by enabling techniques for segregating a monolithic computing device that contains many conventionally installed applications into separate dedicated containers or application storage volumes for each of those applications, where the containers can subsequently be attached or detached from the computing device as needed. Once the monolithic device has been segregated in such a manner, the application storage volumes can be managed remotely from a management server and can be enabled or disabled on the device based on instructions from an administrator. Additionally, the embodiments described herein enable the administrator to select which application storage volumes are migrated during an operating system (OS) upgrade on the computing device.”];
reserve the second portion of the second storage device to the application executing on the processor [pars. 0014-0019 – “Systems and methods in accordance with various embodiments of the present disclosure overcome at least some of the above mentioned shortcomings and deficiencies by enabling techniques for segregating a monolithic computing device that contains many conventionally installed applications into separate dedicated containers or application storage volumes for each of those applications, where the containers can subsequently be attached or detached from the computing device as needed. Once the monolithic device has been segregated in such a manner, the application storage volumes can be managed remotely from a management server and can be enabled or disabled on the device based on instructions from an administrator. Additionally, the embodiments described herein enable the administrator to select which application storage volumes are migrated during an operating system (OS) upgrade on the computing device.”];
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Pellegrino et al. and Naruko et al. to include dedicated containers or application storage volumes, as taught by Adler et al. in order to improve security by providing isolation.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pellegrino et al. (Pub. No. US 2003/0145045) in view of Naruko et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0278486) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Hashimoto (Pub. No. US 2014/0223088).
Claim 12 (as applied to claim 6 above):
Pellegrino et al. and Naruko et al. disclose all the limitations above but do not specifically disclose,
wherein the VSM is configured to set the first storage device in a read-only mode based at least in part on an updated physical capacity of the first storage device or an error count of the first storage device.
In the same field of endeavor, Hashimoto discloses
wherein the VSM is configured to set the first storage device in a read-only mode based at least in part on an updated physical capacity of the first storage device or an error count of the first storage device [par. 0044; claim 17 – “RO mode (Read Only Mode): mode of prohibiting all processes involving write to the NAND type flash memory. The data already written from the host is guaranteed as much as possible when the SSD comes close to the end of its lifespan by returning an error respect to all the write requests from the host so as not to perform write. The SSD transitions to the RO mode when the number of remaining entries of the bad cluster table or the bad block table becomes smaller than or equal to a predetermined number or when the free block is insufficient.” … “The host device according to claim 16, wherein the controller is further configured to determine that an operation mode of the storage device is to be recognized as a read only mode when the error count exceeds the threshold value.”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Pellegrino et al. and Naruko et al. to include placing the device in the read-only mode, as taught by Hashimoto, in order to maintain system integrity my preserving stored data when a device is nearing end of life.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pellegrino et al. (Pub. No. US 2003/0145045) in view of Naruko et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0278486) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of DeKoning et al. (Pub. No. US 2012/0185643).
Claim 13 (as applied to claim 6 above):
Pellegrino et al. and Naruko et al. disclose all the limitations above but do not specifically disclose the VSM, further comprising
a mapping module to map a logical address used by the application executing on the processor to an address on one of the first storage device or the second storage device.
In the same field of endeavor, DeKoning et al. disclose,
a mapping module to map a logical address used by the application executing on the processor to an address on one of the first storage device or the second storage device [par. 0006 – “Newer storage paradigms provide still further enhancements by distributing data over all disk drives of the entire storage system (e.g., "declustered" storage architecture). In one current embodiment of such a paradigm, the aggregate storage capacity of all storage devices in the system is treated as a pool of available physical storage and logical volumes defined by the RAID controller may be distributed in any useful manner over any of the pool of physical storage. Each logical volume is defined, in essence, by a mapping structure that identifies where blocks of data corresponding to logical block addresses of the logical volume are stored in the storage pool that is the physical disk drives of the system. These newer data distribution techniques may serve to provide, for example, faster recovery from drive failures, greater uniformity of performance across logical volumes, or lower power requirements. For example, a method known as Controlled Replication Under Scalable Hashing (CRUSH) may distribute data blocks of any single RAID level 5 stripe over any of the storage capacity of any of the storage devices of the system. CRUSH methods and structures utilize a hierarchical cluster map representing available storage devices in order to map logical to physical addresses and to permit migration of data all transparently with respect to attached host systems. CRUSH provides for a layer of virtualization above and beyond RAID logical volumes, wherein stored data may be migrated to any subset of the hundreds or even thousands of storage devices of the system. Furthermore, using CRUSH techniques, migration may occur as an online process, without interruption of processing of host I/O requests. In general, the storage controller in a storage system using the CRUSH architecture is coupled with all of the disk drives of the system to allow the controller complete flexibility to store and migrate physical storage anywhere it deems appropriate. Mapping features map all logical addresses and logical volumes to corresponding portions of physical storage. Other declustered, distributed storage management techniques are known to those of ordinary skill in the art where data is distributed over any of the storage devices of the storage system without regard to predefined, static groupings or clustering of the storage devices.”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Pellegrino et al. and Naruko et al. to include mapping addresses, as taught by DeKoning et al., in order to improve experience by providing greater uniformity of performance across logical volumes.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pellegrino et al. (Pub. No. US 2003/0145045) in view of Naruko et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0278486) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Roussos et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,024,442).
Claim 18 (as applied to claim 17 above):
Pellegrino et al. and Naruko et al. disclose all the limitations above but do not specifically disclose, wherein:
reserving the first portion of the first storage device to the application executing on the processor includes reserving the first portion of the storage device to the application executing on the processor using thin provisioning; and
reserving the second portion of the second storage device to the application executing on the processor includes reserving the second portion of the second storage device to the application executing on the processor to the application executing on the processor using thin provisioning.
In the same field of endeavor, Roussos et al. disclose,
reserving the first portion of the first storage device to the application executing on the processor includes reserving the first portion of the storage device to the application executing on the processor using thin provisioning [column 2, lines 42-56 – “Thin provisioning is a provisioning operation that allows space to be allocated to servers, on a just-enough and just-in-time basis, as compared to pre-allocating a large amount of space to account for possible data growth. Thin provisioning may be used in many applications where access to the same storage resource pool is used, allowing administrators to maintain space in the resource pool to service the data growth requirements of the many applications on an ongoing basis. Thin provisioning may allow organizations to purchase less storage capacity up front, and defer storage capacity upgrades with actual increase in usage. In contrast, in fat provisioning, typically large amounts of storage capacity are pre-allocated to individual applications. Most of the storage resources in fat provisioning remain unused (e.g., not written to), resulting in poor utilization rates.”]; and
reserving the second portion of the second storage device to the application executing on the processor includes reserving the second portion of the second storage device to the application executing on the processor to the application executing on the processor using thin provisioning [column 2, lines 42-56 – “Thin provisioning is a provisioning operation that allows space to be allocated to servers, on a just-enough and just-in-time basis, as compared to pre-allocating a large amount of space to account for possible data growth. Thin provisioning may be used in many applications where access to the same storage resource pool is used, allowing administrators to maintain space in the resource pool to service the data growth requirements of the many applications on an ongoing basis. Thin provisioning may allow organizations to purchase less storage capacity up front, and defer storage capacity upgrades with actual increase in usage. In contrast, in fat provisioning, typically large amounts of storage capacity are pre-allocated to individual applications. Most of the storage resources in fat provisioning remain unused (e.g., not written to), resulting in poor utilization rates.”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Pellegrino et al. and Naruko et al. to include thin provisioning, as taught by Roussos et al., in order to reduce costs by providing more effective storage utilization.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 19-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not disclose the limitations of the listed claims in conjunction with the limitations of the base claim and intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 and 11-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LARRY T. MACKALL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2131
20 August 2026
/LARRY T MACKALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2139