DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: L1, L2, L3, and L4
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the self-moving device from claim 20 and the snow removal device from claim 20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-7, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “close” in claims 3, 4, and 6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “close” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. What one person considers as close may not be the same as what another person considers as close thus the metes and bounds of the limitation cannot be determined.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the upper and lower sides" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20, lines 2-3, recites “a plurality of crawlers of any of claim 1” which is indefinite because it is unclear exactly what the Applicant is trying to claim with “any of claim 1”. Should claim 20 be amended to recite --a plurality of crawlers of claim 1--?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Puglise (US 4,235,479 A).
Regarding claim 13, Puglise discloses a crawler, comprising:
a frame (12), wherein the frame comprises a first frame body (the frame that 14 and 14 are connected to) and a second frame body (the frame on the other side of the tractor that supports the other track);
a first wheel (16) and a second wheel (14), wherein the first wheel and the second wheel are rotatably connected to the frame respectively, and the first wheel and the second wheel are opposite to each other and arranged at intervals;
one of the first wheel and the second wheel is a driving wheel (16), and another is a driven wheel (14);
a crawler body (18) is sleeved on a periphery of the first wheel and a periphery of the second wheel, and the crawler body is engaged with the first wheel and the second wheel; and
a snow scraping component (40, 42), wherein the snow scraping component is at least a part of a first barrier (40) and a second barrier (42), the snow scraping component is connected to the frame and positioned between the first wheel and the second wheel (see Figure 1), and the snow scraping component has a gap “d” with an outer wheel face of the first wheel (40 is spaced from 16 as shown in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 15, Puglise discloses a length direction (the up-and-down direction of 40 in Figure 2) of the snow scraping component is consistent with an axial direction (the axial centerline of 16) of the first wheel.
Regarding claim 16, Puglise discloses that the snow scraping component is arranged obliquely downward from the frame (see Figure 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 2, and 8-12 are allowed over the prior art of record.
Claims 14, 17, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 3-7, 19, and 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach or render obvious the claimed combination of elements recited in claim 1, wherein a crawler is comprised of a crawler body, a driving wheel, and a driven wheel, a first frame body and a second frame body, the first frame body and the second frame body are respectively arranged at two opposite sides of an axis direction of the driving wheel, so that the driving wheel and the driven wheel are connected, a first barrier and a second barrier that are arranged between the driving wheel and the driven wheel, a distance between the first barrier and the driving wheel is L1, and 0<L1<5mm, and a distance between the second barrier and the driven wheel is L2, and 0<L2<5mm.
Ito et al. (US 6,578,934 B2) discloses a snow removal machine with a body, a driving wheel, a driven wheel, a frame, and a scraper that removes debris from one of the wheels of the snow removal machine. Ito et al. does not disclose that a distance (L1, L2) between scraper and the wheel, and 0<L1, L2<5mm.
Puglise (US 4,235,479 A) discloses a crawler vehicle that is comprised of a crawler body, a driving wheel, a driven wheel, frame bodies, and two pusher plates i.e. barriers. Puglise does not disclose that the pusher plates are arranged a distance (L1, L2) from the driving and driven wheels of 0<L1, L2<5mm.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/ADAM D ROGERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617