DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-13 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tuttle US 20090289771 in view of Rosenbaum et al. US 20140302869.
Regarding claim 1, Tuttle teach A system comprising: an interrogator device comprising: at least one processor, and a communications module comprising at least one radio-frequency (RF) transceiver and a directional antenna array; (Tuttle US 20090289771 abstract; paragraphs [0002]-[0008]; [0022]-[0029]; [0035]-[0040]; figures 1-8;)
FIG. 1 illustrates an exemplary RFID system 10 that includes a computer 3 coupled to a network 2 and to an RFID interrogator 4. The RFID interrogator 4, which may sometimes be referred to as an RFID reader, includes a processor 5, a transceiver 6, a memory 7, a power supply 8, and an antenna 9. The RFID interrogator 4 is programmable and performs transmitting and receiving functions with the transceiver 6 and antenna 9. Alternatively, multiple antennas may be connected to transmitters and receivers. Through antenna 9, the RFID interrogator 4 can communicate with one or more RFID devices 11 that are within communication range of the RFID interrogator 4. Data downloaded from an RFID device 11 can be stored in memory 7, or transferred by the processor 5 to computer 3. Thereafter, this transferred data can be further processed or distributed to network 2 (Tuttle par. 23). It should be noted that although dipole antennas are specifically depicted in the figures, other antennas are possible, such as log periodic dipole array, triband Yagi antennas, multiple parallel antennas joined at a common feedpoint (dipoles, patches, etc.), multiple antennas connected serially, and quarter wave dipoles, monopoles and whips (Tuttle par. 29).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets antenna as a directional antenna like dipole array and yagi antennas disclose in par. 29.
and a responder device comprising: at least one processor, and a communications module comprising at least one radio-frequency (RF) transceiver and a directional antenna array,
The exemplary RFID device 11 includes device antenna 16 and RFID circuit 17. The RFID circuit 17 can include a transceiver 12, a processor 13, memory 14, and depending on whether or not RFID device 11 is active, semi-active or passive, a battery 15. Any RF interrogation signal 18 transmitted by the RFID interrogator 4 to the RFID device 11 is received by the antenna 16, and passed to transceiver 12 in RFID circuit 17. When triggered by the transceiver 12, processor 13 fetches the data (e.g., time stamp, unique RFID code, and so forth) from memory 14 and transmits a return signal 19 through antenna 16 to RFID interrogator 4, as multiplexed data packets from transceiver 12 (Tuttle par. 24). It should be noted that although dipole antennas are specifically depicted in the figures, other antennas are possible, such as log periodic dipole array, triband Yagi antennas, multiple parallel antennas joined at a common feedpoint (dipoles, patches, etc.), multiple antennas connected serially, and quarter wave dipoles, monopoles and whips (Tuttle par. 29).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets antenna as a directional antenna like dipole array and yagi antennas disclose in par. 29. Examiner interpret RFID device 11 as a responder device.
Tuttle do not explicitly teach wherein said interrogator device is configured to generate and transmit a directional RF enquiry having a specified spatial volume in a direction-of-interest within an area-of-interest, wherein, when said responder device is located within said specified spatial volume of said RF enquiry, said responder device is configured to receive said RF enquiry and to generate and transmit in a direction-of-arrival of said RF enquiry a directional RF response having encoded therein values associated with an electronic analysis by said responder device of said received RF enquiry, and wherein said interrogator device is configured to determine, based, at least in part, on an electronic analysis of said RF response and on said values encoded in said RF response, whether said direction-of-interest intersects a predetermined volume-of-interest (VOI) defined relative to said responder device.
Rosenbaum et al. teach wherein said interrogator device is configured to generate and transmit a directional RF enquiry having a specified spatial volume in a direction-of-interest within an area-of-interest, wherein, when said responder device is located within said specified spatial volume of said RF enquiry, said responder device is configured to receive said RF enquiry and to generate and transmit in a direction-of-arrival of said RF enquiry a directional RF response having encoded therein values associated with an electronic analysis by said responder device of said received RF enquiry, (Rosenbaum et al. US 20140302869 abstract; paragraphs [0004]-[0011]; [0045]-[0054]; [0081]-[0089]; [0099]-[0110]; [0146]-[0150]; figures 1-23)
As illustrated in FIG. 3, the ranging system can provide geographical-location (geo-location) capability with a resolution within a meter at a 100 meter distance from transceiver beacons 110 A-C, which can locate the user node (e.g., person 132 or object) inside an area or perimeter, such as a cafeteria, an arena, a hotel, a school, a hardware store, a stadium, a park, a wilderness area, a ship, and a water front. The perimeter ranging system uses narrow RF beams 140A-C generated by an electronic-scanned-array (ESA) antenna or phased-array antenna at the beacon which can scan across and up and down a perimeter of interest, such as a building, using angle-of-arrival angles 142 and/or time of flight (ToF) range distances 144 to triangulate if applicable and determine position. This relates to the angle-of-arrival (AoA) algorithms (described herein) which provides lateral range resolution close to 10% of the ESA beam width; which for example a 5.6 degree beamwidth at 100 meters distance gives 1 meter cross resolution. The geolocation capability also relates to the time-of-flight (ToF) information in collaboration. The rising time constant implementation is described herein, for example, to provide 1 meter distance accuracy as a function of accurate mapping of the charging voltage against time of propagation. Another factor which applies to ToF is the empirical determination and subration of the latency through the end user node. Yet another variable is the step size capability of the analog to digital (A/D) convertor which limits the resolution steps. The composite AoA (angle) and ToF (distance) provide a total three dimensional geolocation solution provided by one beacon. Multiple beacons may also be used in triangulation to provide best solution fits, increasing the area of coverage, accuracy and reliability (Rosenbaum et al. par. 50). In the angle-of-arrival (AoA) location solution, the array antenna can provide a narrow beam which can electronically scan across the perimeter-of-interest, where the antenna is fixed but different beams are formed from the phase shifting of the signal by the apertures of the ESA antenna. The signal can be similar to radio detection and ranging (RADAR), except that the beam may be not reflected for determining the range. Instead, the narrow beam signal can received by the end user node, and upon interrogation by the beacon, the end user node can return an RF signal to the interrogator (i.e., beacon). The three dimensional angle of the narrow beam emitted and received by the ESA antenna inherently gives directionality. The received signal strength (RSS) of the narrow beam can be measured by the end user and the RSS of the response signal from the end user node can be measured by the control station. The RSS measurement of the narrow beam can be included in the response signal. When the response signal is returned and identified with an end user node and specified AoA, the AoA having the greatest received signal strength indicator (RSSI) strength can be used to determine the angle of the end user node to the beacon. Two or more of these beams can produce angle projections that intersect at the location of the end user node (as shown in FIG. 1), thus providing a total geo-location solution. The narrow beam can also provide a significant bi-directional RF gain (e.g., 20-30 decibel [dB]) for the signal used to penetrate the building or other obstruction. The decibel (dB) is a logarithmic unit that indicates the ratio of a physical quantity (usually power or intensity) relative to a specified or implied reference level. Thus, a ratio in decibels is ten times the logarithm to base 10 of the ratio of two power quantities (Rosenbaum et al. par. 51). The range solutions can be relative to each beacon in contact with a targeted user (e.g., end user node). The range solutions can generate magnitude values (related to meters) for the TOF solution, and three dimensional `vector` values (in degrees) for the AoA solution. The relative range values can be used to derive absolute geo-location positioning via averaging (Rosenbaum et al. par. 85). In an example TOF solution, ranging can determined directly with propagation timing measurements or tone ranging and phase determination. The associated hardware circuitry can be tied into the beacon transceiver structure. Any impacts to the end user node may be minimal to the hardware, and may be related to software encoding. The TOF solution can typically provide +/1 m distance stand alone positioning accuracy (Rosenbaum et al. par. 87).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the value for AoA (angle of arrival) and the value for Tof (time of flight) as the encode values.
and wherein said interrogator device is configured to determine, based, at least in part, on an electronic analysis of said RF response and on said values encoded in said RF response, whether said direction-of-interest intersects a predetermined volume-of-interest (VOI) defined relative to said responder device.
In the angle-of-arrival (AoA) location solution, the array antenna can provide a narrow beam which can electronically scan across the perimeter-of-interest, where the antenna is fixed but different beams are formed from the phase shifting of the signal by the apertures of the ESA antenna. The signal can be similar to radio detection and ranging (RADAR), except that the beam may be not reflected for determining the range. Instead, the narrow beam signal can received by the end user node, and upon interrogation by the beacon, the end user node can return an RF signal to the interrogator (i.e., beacon). The three dimensional angle of the narrow beam emitted and received by the ESA antenna inherently gives directionality. The received signal strength (RSS) of the narrow beam can be measured by the end user and the RSS of the response signal from the end user node can be measured by the control station. The RSS measurement of the narrow beam can be included in the response signal. When the response signal is returned and identified with an end user node and specified AoA, the AoA having the greatest received signal strength indicator (RSSI) strength can be used to determine the angle of the end user node to the beacon. Two or more of these beams can produce angle projections that intersect at the location of the end user node (as shown in FIG. 1), thus providing a total geo-location solution. The narrow beam can also provide a significant bi-directional RF gain (e.g., 20-30 decibel [dB]) for the signal used to penetrate the building or other obstruction. The decibel (dB) is a logarithmic unit that indicates the ratio of a physical quantity (usually power or intensity) relative to a specified or implied reference level. Thus, a ratio in decibels is ten times the logarithm to base 10 of the ratio of two power quantities (Rosenbaum et al. par. 51). The range solutions can be relative to each beacon in contact with a targeted user (e.g., end user node). The range solutions can generate magnitude values (related to meters) for the TOF solution, and three dimensional `vector` values (in degrees) for the AoA solution. The relative range values can be used to derive absolute geo-location positioning via averaging (Rosenbaum et al. par. 85). In an example TOF solution, ranging can determined directly with propagation timing measurements or tone ranging and phase determination. The associated hardware circuitry can be tied into the beacon transceiver structure. Any impacts to the end user node may be minimal to the hardware, and may be related to software encoding. The TOF solution can typically provide +/1 m distance stand alone positioning accuracy (Rosenbaum et al. par. 87). As illustrated in FIG. 2, the ranging system can provide a dual ranging solution (e.g., AoA and ToF), which can work together to provide reliability. The angle-of-arrival (AoA) solution can give an angular pointing direction towards the end user node (e.g., a field agent) using a narrow beam (e.g., high RF gain) implementation. The time-of-flight (ToF) solution can give the distance information. Either the AoA or ToF solution can provide total positioning by triangulation or intersection of multiple beams from around the perimeter. Both solutions can be used together from a single beacon to provide total positioning (as a stand alone beacon) (Rosenbaum et al. par. 108).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the value for AoA (angle of arrival) and the value for Tof (time of flight) as the encode values. Examiner interprets the perimeter of interest as the volume of interest.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the narrow beam, AoA (angle of arrival) and ToF (time-of-flight) geolocation techniques as taught by Rosenbaum et al. reference into the RFID system of Tuttle reference and the result of the substitution would be predictable for determine the location of the user carried a node.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Tuttle and Rosenbaum et al. disclose The system of claim 1, wherein said VOI comprises a virtual spatial volume designated surroundingly with respect to said responder device
In the angle-of-arrival (AoA) location solution, the array antenna can provide a narrow beam which can electronically scan across the perimeter-of-interest, where the antenna is fixed but different beams are formed from the phase shifting of the signal by the apertures of the ESA antenna. The signal can be similar to radio detection and ranging (RADAR), except that the beam may be not reflected for determining the range. Instead, the narrow beam signal can received by the end user node, and upon interrogation by the beacon, the end user node can return an RF signal to the interrogator (i.e., beacon). The three dimensional angle of the narrow beam emitted and received by the ESA antenna inherently gives directionality. The received signal strength (RSS) of the narrow beam can be measured by the end user and the RSS of the response signal from the end user node can be measured by the control station. The RSS measurement of the narrow beam can be included in the response signal. When the response signal is returned and identified with an end user node and specified AoA, the AoA having the greatest received signal strength indicator (RSSI) strength can be used to determine the angle of the end user node to the beacon. Two or more of these beams can produce angle projections that intersect at the location of the end user node (as shown in FIG. 1), thus providing a total geo-location solution. The narrow beam can also provide a significant bi-directional RF gain (e.g., 20-30 decibel [dB]) for the signal used to penetrate the building or other obstruction. The decibel (dB) is a logarithmic unit that indicates the ratio of a physical quantity (usually power or intensity) relative to a specified or implied reference level. Thus, a ratio in decibels is ten times the logarithm to base 10 of the ratio of two power quantities (Rosenbaum et al. par. 51).
The combination of Tuttle and Rosenbaum et al. do not explicitly teach defined as a three-dimensional virtual envelope extending between 20-500 cm in all directions relative to said responder device.
However, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to select a particular spatial envelope size is a matter of routine optimization of a result-effective variable (threshold range) as claim accordance to the MPEP 2144.05 (II) (A) Optimization withing prior art conditions of through routine experimentation. For example, a three-dimensional virtual envelope extending between 20-500 cm in all directions relative to said responder device is an experimentation for user desire design.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Tuttle and Rosenbaum et al. disclose The system of claim 1, wherein said interrogator device is further configured to manipulate said RF enquiry to adapt said specified spatial volume based on a measured distance to said responder device, and wherein, when said responder device is located within said adapted spatial volume, said responder device is configured to receive said RF enquiry, and to transmit in a direction-of-arrival of said RF enquiry a directional RF response having encoded therein values associated with an electronic analysis of said RF enquiry.
In the angle-of-arrival (AoA) location solution, the array antenna can provide a narrow beam which can electronically scan across the perimeter-of-interest, where the antenna is fixed but different beams are formed from the phase shifting of the signal by the apertures of the ESA antenna. The signal can be similar to radio detection and ranging (RADAR), except that the beam may be not reflected for determining the range. Instead, the narrow beam signal can received by the end user node, and upon interrogation by the beacon, the end user node can return an RF signal to the interrogator (i.e., beacon). The three dimensional angle of the narrow beam emitted and received by the ESA antenna inherently gives directionality. The received signal strength (RSS) of the narrow beam can be measured by the end user and the RSS of the response signal from the end user node can be measured by the control station. The RSS measurement of the narrow beam can be included in the response signal. When the response signal is returned and identified with an end user node and specified AoA, the AoA having the greatest received signal strength indicator (RSSI) strength can be used to determine the angle of the end user node to the beacon. Two or more of these beams can produce angle projections that intersect at the location of the end user node (as shown in FIG. 1), thus providing a total geo-location solution. The narrow beam can also provide a significant bi-directional RF gain (e.g., 20-30 decibel [dB]) for the signal used to penetrate the building or other obstruction. The decibel (dB) is a logarithmic unit that indicates the ratio of a physical quantity (usually power or intensity) relative to a specified or implied reference level. Thus, a ratio in decibels is ten times the logarithm to base 10 of the ratio of two power quantities (Rosenbaum et al. par. 51). FIG. 4 illustrates a narrow pulsed beam 140 from an antenna array 160 (e.g., an ESA antenna with a plurality of apertures 164) that can penetrate an outside wall 152, which can usually have the most metal, and therefore the most RF shielding (e.g., typically 8 dB loss). Inner walls typically have a minor contribution to attenuation (e.g., <1 dB per wall). However, building walls, ceilings, floors and other materials can attenuate RF signals. The high intensity directional phased-array narrow RF beams or pulses can be capable of penetrating most building construction and foliage obstructions with over a 70 dB link budget margin of penetration (in addition to approximately 51 dB free space loss). Due the reciprocity properties of antennas, the antenna can emit a high intensity directional phased-array narrow RF beam in a specified phase-shifted direction and can receive a weak signal from the omni-directional antenna in a direction of the specified phase-shifted direction. A link budget is an accounting of all of the gains and losses from the transmitter, through the medium (e.g., free space, air, obstruction, cable, waveguide, or fiber) to the receiver in a telecommunication system. The link budget accounts for the attenuation of the transmitted signal due to propagation, as well as the antenna gains, feedline and miscellaneous losses. The enhance RF signal strength of the phased-array antenna (e.g., the ESA antenna) can have an increased intensity by 3 orders of magnitude (.times.1000 or 30 dB) over an omni-directional antenna. The omni-directional antenna can generate a reduced signal power response in an omni-directional beam 146. In an example, the narrow beams in a raster pattern scan can carry an interrogation message which can received and responded to automatically by the end user node (carried by a person 132A-B or object of interest), inside the perimeter. The information of the person's location, direction of travel 134A-B and/or status can be communicated back thru a secure (encrypted) dedicated network to a control and command center, which initiated the inquiry. In an example, the perimeter ranging system can provide user node ranging for up to 7-8 levels of a typical building structure. In an example, the control station can include a graphical user interface 122 (GUI) for tracking the end user nodes. The beacon can include a beacon ESA ZigBee module for communicating with the control station via the LAN, generating the RF signals 190 for the antenna array, and providing signals for the beam forming network 178 (Rosenbaum et al. par. 53).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Tuttle and Rosenbaum et al. disclose The system of claim 1, wherein said RF enquiry comprises two or more beams arranged in a predetermined pattern relative to said direction-of-interest, wherein said electronic analysis of said RF enquiry comprises determining a vector of distribution of measured values associated with each of said two or more beams, and wherein said determining by said interrogator device comprises comparing said vector of distribution to an expected vector of distribution when said RF enquiry is received by said responder device in direct transmission along said direction-of-interest.
The beam width of the beacon can provide an enhanced RF signal strength. As the beam narrows, as compared to an omni-directional beam pattern, the narrow beam's intensity increases two to three orders of magnitude (.times.1000 or 30 dB). Due to the reciprocity of antenna operation the gain is generated both in the transmission and the reception. The RF signal strength can be sufficient to penetrate inside the perimeter, such as a large industrial grade building or dense foliage outdoors. The dual solution of calculating the AoA and TOF of a narrow beam can provide accurate and reliable ranging information (Rosenbaum et al. par. 82). The range solutions can be relative to each beacon in contact with a targeted user (e.g., end user node). The range solutions can generate magnitude values (related to meters) for the TOF solution, and three dimensional `vector` values (in degrees) for the AoA solution. The relative range values can be used to derive absolute geo-location positioning via averaging (Rosenbaum et al. par. 85). In an example TOF solution, ranging can determined directly with propagation timing measurements or tone ranging and phase determination. The associated hardware circuitry can be tied into the beacon transceiver structure. Any impacts to the end user node may be minimal to the hardware, and may be related to software encoding. The TOF solution can typically provide +/1 m distance stand alone positioning accuracy (Rosenbaum et al. par. 87). Using two adjacent segments with a strongest RSSI can be used generate a finer AoA resolution, thereby improving accuracy. A finer resolution of the RSSI value can assist in the fine resolution of the AoA, thereby improving accuracy. Using two adjacent segments can improve beacon angle of arrival (AoA) estimates compared to the RSSI approach that selects a single angle for the antenna beam pointed at the remote user (e.g., end user node). The method can measure the amplitude from the received remote user signal in two adjacent beacon beams, where RSSI quantization can be used and smaller quantization values can improve accuracy. The ratio of amplitudes from the two beams can results in an improved estimate of the angle of arrival rather than only estimating the beam of arrival. Beams can include every other beam rather than adjacent as long as the two beams used are less than one beamwidth apart (Rosenbaum et al. par. 146).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Tuttle and Rosenbaum et al. disclose The system of claim 1, wherein said respective electronic analyses of said RF enquiry and RF response comprise determining at least one of the following values with respect to each of said RF inquiry and RF response: received signal level (RSL), signal-to-noise (SNR) ratio values, amplitude, frequency, phase, and/or time-or-arrival.
Using two adjacent segments with a strongest RSSI can be used generate a finer AoA resolution, thereby improving accuracy. A finer resolution of the RSSI value can assist in the fine resolution of the AoA, thereby improving accuracy. Using two adjacent segments can improve beacon angle of arrival (AoA) estimates compared to the RSSI approach that selects a single angle for the antenna beam pointed at the remote user (e.g., end user node). The method can measure the amplitude from the received remote user signal in two adjacent beacon beams, where RSSI quantization can be used and smaller quantization values can improve accuracy. The ratio of amplitudes from the two beams can results in an improved estimate of the angle of arrival rather than only estimating the beam of arrival. Beams can include every other beam rather than adjacent as long as the two beams used are less than one beamwidth apart (Rosenbaum et al. par. 146). The following shows the derivation and quantifies the performance of using two beacon beams. AoA estimation can be based on amplitude from two similar (or near identical) beams, where the signal of the signal is similar but in slightly different direction. N1 and N2 can represent thermal noises in beacon beam 1 and beam 2, where beam 1 and beam 2 has a less than or equal to one beamwidth distance orientation from each other. .THETA. (e.g., .THETA.) denotes beacon AoA, and .THETA.1 and .THETA.2 denote beam pointing of beam 1 and beam 2. The derivation assumes a relatively stationary user, but the derivation can be adapted if the rate of movement is known or can be predicted. The thermal noise N1 and N2 can be assumed to have the same magnitude (i.e., <N1>=<N2>). S1=S*P1(.THETA.) and S2=S*P2(.THETA.) are the receiver user signal in the two beams, where S1 represent the signal of beam 1, S2 represents the signal of beam 2, S represents the generated signal, P1 represents the power of the signal of beam 1, and P2 represents the power of the signal of beam 2. The signal power can be represented in term of a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) (Rosenbaum et al. par. 147).
According to cited passages and figures, examiner interprets RSSI as RSL.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Tuttle and Rosenbaum et al. disclose The system of claim 1, wherein said determining by said interrogator device is based, at least in part, on a direction finding calculation, based on said electronic analysis of said RF response and on said values.
In another example, this technology can be used for determining a location of an end user node relative to the at least one beacon. One method can include at least one beacon scanning each of a plurality of segments in an arc with a separate narrow radio frequency (RF) beam transmitted. The arc is in a direction of the end user node. The at least one beacon can receive a response signal from the end user node based on a received narrow RF beam at the end user node. The technology can determine at least one of an angle-of-arrival (AOA) and a time-of-flight (TOF) of the response signal, and calculate an end user node location relative at least one beacon location using at least one of the AOA and TOF of the response signal (Rosenbaum et al. par. 11). In the time-of-flight (ToF) location solution, each beacon can measure the ToF of the signal from the interrogated end user node to beacon or a round trip signal path from the beacon to the end user node back to the beacon. In another example, the end user node can measure the ToF of the narrow beam from the beacon and return the measurement in the response signal or message. The ToF information can allow the determination of the distance to the end user node. Multiple beacons (e.g., three beacons in FIG. 3) with ToF information can then `triangulate` and simultaneously solve for the location to derive the end user node's (e.g., person's 132) geo-location. A single beacon having both AoA directionality and ToF distance can be configured to derive an end user node's position (as shown in FIG. 2). Multiple beacons can confirm the location information and provide enhanced reliability and accuracy (as shown in FIG. 1) (Rosenbaum et al. par. 52).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets AOA (angle-of-arrival) and TOF (time-of-flight) as a technique for determine a direction finding calculation.
Regarding claim 8, Tuttle teach A method comprising: providing an interrogator device comprising: at least one processor, and a communications module comprising at least one radio-frequency (RF) transceiver and a directional antenna array; (Tuttle US 20090289771 abstract; paragraphs [0002]-[0008]; [0022]-[0029]; [0035]-[0040]; figures 1-8;)
FIG. 1 illustrates an exemplary RFID system 10 that includes a computer 3 coupled to a network 2 and to an RFID interrogator 4. The RFID interrogator 4, which may sometimes be referred to as an RFID reader, includes a processor 5, a transceiver 6, a memory 7, a power supply 8, and an antenna 9. The RFID interrogator 4 is programmable and performs transmitting and receiving functions with the transceiver 6 and antenna 9. Alternatively, multiple antennas may be connected to transmitters and receivers. Through antenna 9, the RFID interrogator 4 can communicate with one or more RFID devices 11 that are within communication range of the RFID interrogator 4. Data downloaded from an RFID device 11 can be stored in memory 7, or transferred by the processor 5 to computer 3. Thereafter, this transferred data can be further processed or distributed to network 2 (Tuttle par. 23). It should be noted that although dipole antennas are specifically depicted in the figures, other antennas are possible, such as log periodic dipole array, triband Yagi antennas, multiple parallel antennas joined at a common feedpoint (dipoles, patches, etc.), multiple antennas connected serially, and quarter wave dipoles, monopoles and whips (Tuttle par. 29).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets antenna as a directional antenna like dipole array and yagi antennas disclose in par. 29.
providing a responder device comprising: at least one processor, and a communications module comprising at least one radio-frequency (RF) transceiver and a directional antenna array;
The exemplary RFID device 11 includes device antenna 16 and RFID circuit 17. The RFID circuit 17 can include a transceiver 12, a processor 13, memory 14, and depending on whether or not RFID device 11 is active, semi-active or passive, a battery 15. Any RF interrogation signal 18 transmitted by the RFID interrogator 4 to the RFID device 11 is received by the antenna 16, and passed to transceiver 12 in RFID circuit 17. When triggered by the transceiver 12, processor 13 fetches the data (e.g., time stamp, unique RFID code, and so forth) from memory 14 and transmits a return signal 19 through antenna 16 to RFID interrogator 4, as multiplexed data packets from transceiver 12 (Tuttle par. 24). It should be noted that although dipole antennas are specifically depicted in the figures, other antennas are possible, such as log periodic dipole array, triband Yagi antennas, multiple parallel antennas joined at a common feedpoint (dipoles, patches, etc.), multiple antennas connected serially, and quarter wave dipoles, monopoles and whips (Tuttle par. 29).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets antenna as a directional antenna like dipole array and yagi antennas disclose in par. 29. Examiner interpret RFID device 11 as a responder device.
Tuttle do not explicitly teach generating and transmitting, by said interrogator device, a directional RF enquiry having a specified spatial volume in a direction-of-interest within an area-of-interest; receiving, by said responder device, when said responder device is located within said specified spatial volume of said RF enquiry, said RF enquiry; generating and transmitting, by said responder device, in a direction-of-arrival of said RF enquiry, a directional RF response having encoded therein values associated with an electronic analysis by said responder device of said received RF enquiry; and determining, by said interrogator device, based, at least in part, on an electronic analysis by said interrogator device of said RF response and on said values encoded in said RF response, whether said direction-of-interest intersects a predetermined volume-of-interest (VOI) defined relative to said responder device.
Rosenbaum et al. teach generating and transmitting, by said interrogator device, a directional RF enquiry having a specified spatial volume in a direction-of-interest within an area-of-interest; receiving, by said responder device, when said responder device is located within said specified spatial volume of said RF enquiry, said RF enquiry; generating and transmitting, by said responder device, in a direction-of-arrival of said RF enquiry, a directional RF response having encoded therein values associated with an electronic analysis by said responder device of said received RF enquiry; (Rosenbaum et al. US 20140302869 abstract; paragraphs [0004]-[0011]; [0045]-[0054]; [0081]-[0089]; [0099]-[0110]; [0146]-[0150]; figures 1-23)
As illustrated in FIG. 3, the ranging system can provide geographical-location (geo-location) capability with a resolution within a meter at a 100 meter distance from transceiver beacons 110 A-C, which can locate the user node (e.g., person 132 or object) inside an area or perimeter, such as a cafeteria, an arena, a hotel, a school, a hardware store, a stadium, a park, a wilderness area, a ship, and a water front. The perimeter ranging system uses narrow RF beams 140A-C generated by an electronic-scanned-array (ESA) antenna or phased-array antenna at the beacon which can scan across and up and down a perimeter of interest, such as a building, using angle-of-arrival angles 142 and/or time of flight (ToF) range distances 144 to triangulate if applicable and determine position. This relates to the angle-of-arrival (AoA) algorithms (described herein) which provides lateral range resolution close to 10% of the ESA beam width; which for example a 5.6 degree beamwidth at 100 meters distance gives 1 meter cross resolution. The geolocation capability also relates to the time-of-flight (ToF) information in collaboration. The rising time constant implementation is described herein, for example, to provide 1 meter distance accuracy as a function of accurate mapping of the charging voltage against time of propagation. Another factor which applies to ToF is the empirical determination and subration of the latency through the end user node. Yet another variable is the step size capability of the analog to digital (A/D) convertor which limits the resolution steps. The composite AoA (angle) and ToF (distance) provide a total three dimensional geolocation solution provided by one beacon. Multiple beacons may also be used in triangulation to provide best solution fits, increasing the area of coverage, accuracy and reliability (Rosenbaum et al. par. 50). In the angle-of-arrival (AoA) location solution, the array antenna can provide a narrow beam which can electronically scan across the perimeter-of-interest, where the antenna is fixed but different beams are formed from the phase shifting of the signal by the apertures of the ESA antenna. The signal can be similar to radio detection and ranging (RADAR), except that the beam may be not reflected for determining the range. Instead, the narrow beam signal can received by the end user node, and upon interrogation by the beacon, the end user node can return an RF signal to the interrogator (i.e., beacon). The three dimensional angle of the narrow beam emitted and received by the ESA antenna inherently gives directionality. The received signal strength (RSS) of the narrow beam can be measured by the end user and the RSS of the response signal from the end user node can be measured by the control station. The RSS measurement of the narrow beam can be included in the response signal. When the response signal is returned and identified with an end user node and specified AoA, the AoA having the greatest received signal strength indicator (RSSI) strength can be used to determine the angle of the end user node to the beacon. Two or more of these beams can produce angle projections that intersect at the location of the end user node (as shown in FIG. 1), thus providing a total geo-location solution. The narrow beam can also provide a significant bi-directional RF gain (e.g., 20-30 decibel [dB]) for the signal used to penetrate the building or other obstruction. The decibel (dB) is a logarithmic unit that indicates the ratio of a physical quantity (usually power or intensity) relative to a specified or implied reference level. Thus, a ratio in decibels is ten times the logarithm to base 10 of the ratio of two power quantities (Rosenbaum et al. par. 51). The range solutions can be relative to each beacon in contact with a targeted user (e.g., end user node). The range solutions can generate magnitude values (related to meters) for the TOF solution, and three dimensional `vector` values (in degrees) for the AoA solution. The relative range values can be used to derive absolute geo-location positioning via averaging (Rosenbaum et al. par. 85). In an example TOF solution, ranging can determined directly with propagation timing measurements or tone ranging and phase determination. The associated hardware circuitry can be tied into the beacon transceiver structure. Any impacts to the end user node may be minimal to the hardware, and may be related to software encoding. The TOF solution can typically provide +/1 m distance stand alone positioning accuracy (Rosenbaum et al. par. 87).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the value for AoA (angle of arrival) and the value for Tof (time of flight) as the encode values.
and determining, by said interrogator device, based, at least in part, on an electronic analysis by said interrogator device of said RF response and on said values encoded in said RF response, whether said direction-of-interest intersects a predetermined volume-of-interest (VOI) defined relative to said responder device.
In the angle-of-arrival (AoA) location solution, the array antenna can provide a narrow beam which can electronically scan across the perimeter-of-interest, where the antenna is fixed but different beams are formed from the phase shifting of the signal by the apertures of the ESA antenna. The signal can be similar to radio detection and ranging (RADAR), except that the beam may be not reflected for determining the range. Instead, the narrow beam signal can received by the end user node, and upon interrogation by the beacon, the end user node can return an RF signal to the interrogator (i.e., beacon). The three dimensional angle of the narrow beam emitted and received by the ESA antenna inherently gives directionality. The received signal strength (RSS) of the narrow beam can be measured by the end user and the RSS of the response signal from the end user node can be measured by the control station. The RSS measurement of the narrow beam can be included in the response signal. When the response signal is returned and identified with an end user node and specified AoA, the AoA having the greatest received signal strength indicator (RSSI) strength can be used to determine the angle of the end user node to the beacon. Two or more of these beams can produce angle projections that intersect at the location of the end user node (as shown in FIG. 1), thus providing a total geo-location solution. The narrow beam can also provide a significant bi-directional RF gain (e.g., 20-30 decibel [dB]) for the signal used to penetrate the building or other obstruction. The decibel (dB) is a logarithmic unit that indicates the ratio of a physical quantity (usually power or intensity) relative to a specified or implied reference level. Thus, a ratio in decibels is ten times the logarithm to base 10 of the ratio of two power quantities (Rosenbaum et al. par. 51). The range solutions can be relative to each beacon in contact with a targeted user (e.g., end user node). The range solutions can generate magnitude values (related to meters) for the TOF solution, and three dimensional `vector` values (in degrees) for the AoA solution. The relative range values can be used to derive absolute geo-location positioning via averaging (Rosenbaum et al. par. 85). In an example TOF solution, ranging can determined directly with propagation timing measurements or tone ranging and phase determination. The associated hardware circuitry can be tied into the beacon transceiver structure. Any impacts to the end user node may be minimal to the hardware, and may be related to software encoding. The TOF solution can typically provide +/1 m distance stand alone positioning accuracy (Rosenbaum et al. par. 87). As illustrated in FIG. 2, the ranging system can provide a dual ranging solution (e.g., AoA and ToF), which can work together to provide reliability. The angle-of-arrival (AoA) solution can give an angular pointing direction towards the end user node (e.g., a field agent) using a narrow beam (e.g., high RF gain) implementation. The time-of-flight (ToF) solution can give the distance information. Either the AoA or ToF solution can provide total positioning by triangulation or intersection of multiple beams from around the perimeter. Both solutions can be used together from a single beacon to provide total positioning (as a stand alone beacon) (Rosenbaum et al. par. 108).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the value for AoA (angle of arrival) and the value for Tof (time of flight) as the encode values. Examiner interprets the perimeter of interest as the volume of interest.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the narrow beam, AoA (angle of arrival) and ToF (time-of-flight) geolocation techniques as taught by Rosenbaum et al. reference into the RFID method of Tuttle reference and the result of the substitution would be predictable for determine the location of the user carried a node.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Tuttle and Rosenbaum et al. teach The method of claim 8, wherein said VOI comprises a virtual spatial volume designated surroundingly with respect to said responder device
In the angle-of-arrival (AoA) location solution, the array antenna can provide a narrow beam which can electronically scan across the perimeter-of-interest, where the antenna is fixed but different beams are formed from the phase shifting of the signal by the apertures of the ESA antenna. The signal can be similar to radio detection and ranging (RADAR), except that the beam may be not reflected for determining the range. Instead, the narrow beam signal can received by the end user node, and upon interrogation by the beacon, the end user node can return an RF signal to the interrogator (i.e., beacon). The three dimensional angle of the narrow beam emitted and received by the ESA antenna inherently gives directionality. The received signal strength (RSS) of the narrow beam can be measured by the end user and the RSS of the response signal from the end user node can be measured by the control station. The RSS measurement of the narrow beam can be included in the response signal. When the response signal is returned and identified with an end user node and specified AoA, the AoA having the greatest received signal strength indicator (RSSI) strength can be used to determine the angle of the end user node to the beacon. Two or more of these beams can produce angle projections that intersect at the location of the end user node (as shown in FIG. 1), thus providing a total geo-location solution. The narrow beam can also provide a significant bi-directional RF gain (e.g., 20-30 decibel [dB]) for the signal used to penetrate the building or other obstruction. The decibel (dB) is a logarithmic unit that indicates the ratio of a physical quantity (usually power or intensity) relative to a specified or implied reference level. Thus, a ratio in decibels is ten times the logarithm to base 10 of the ratio of two power quantities (Rosenbaum et al. par. 51).
The combination of Tuttle and Rosenbaum et al. do not explicitly teach defined as a three-dimensional virtual envelope extending between 20-500 cm in all directions relative to said responder device.
However, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to select a particular spatial envelope size is a matter of routine optimization of a result-effective variable (threshold range) as claim accordance to the MPEP 2144.05 (II) (A) Optimization withing prior art conditions of through routine experimentation. For example, a three-dimensional virtual envelope extending between 20-500 cm in all directions relative to said responder device is an experimentation for user desire design.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Tuttle and Rosenbaum et al. disclose The method of claim 8, further comprising:
(i) manipulating, by said interrogator device, said RF enquiry to adapt said specified spatial volume based on a measured distance to said responder device;
(ii) receiving, by said responder device, when said responder device is located within said adapted spatial volume of said RF enquiry, said RF enquiry; and
(iii) generating and transmitting, by said responder device, in a direction-of-arrival of said RF enquiry, a directional RF response having encoded therein values associated with an electronic analysis by said responder device of said received RF enquiry.
In the angle-of-arrival (AoA) location solution, the array antenna can provide a narrow beam which can electronically scan across the perimeter-of-interest, where the antenna is fixed but different beams are formed from the phase shifting of the signal by the apertures of the ESA antenna. The signal can be similar to radio detection and ranging (RADAR), except that the beam may be not reflected for determining the range. Instead, the narrow beam signal can received by the end user node, and upon interrogation by the beacon, the end user node can return an RF signal to the interrogator (i.e., beacon). The three dimensional angle of the narrow beam emitted and received by the ESA antenna inherently gives directionality. The received signal strength (RSS) of the narrow beam can be measured by the end user and the RSS of the response signal from the end user node can be measured by the control station. The RSS measurement of the narrow beam can be included in the response signal. When the response signal is returned and identified with an end user node and specified AoA, the AoA having the greatest received signal strength indicator (RSSI) strength can be used to determine the angle of the end user node to the beacon. Two or more of these beams can produce angle projections that intersect at the location of the end user node (as shown in FIG. 1), thus providing a total geo-location solution. The narrow beam can also provide a significant bi-directional RF gain (e.g., 20-30 decibel [dB]) for the signal used to penetrate the building or other obstruction. The decibel (dB) is a logarithmic unit that indicates the ratio of a physical quantity (usually power or intensity) relative to a specified or implied reference level. Thus, a ratio in decibels is ten times the logarithm to base 10 of the ratio of two power quantities (Rosenbaum et al. par. 51). FIG. 4 illustrates a narrow pulsed beam 140 from an antenna array 160 (e.g., an ESA antenna with a plurality of apertures 164) that can penetrate an outside wall 152, which can usually have the most metal, and therefore the most RF shielding (e.g., typically 8 dB loss). Inner walls typically have a minor contribution to attenuation (e.g., <1 dB per wall). However, building walls, ceilings, floors and other materials can attenuate RF signals. The high intensity directional phased-array narrow RF beams or pulses can be capable of penetrating most building construction and foliage obstructions with over a 70 dB link budget margin of penetration (in addition to approximately 51 dB free space loss). Due the reciprocity properties of antennas, the antenna can emit a high intensity directional phased-array narrow RF beam in a specified phase-shifted direction and can receive a weak signal from the omni-directional antenna in a direction of the specified phase-shifted direction. A link budget is an accounting of all of the gains and losses from the transmitter, through the medium (e.g., free space, air, obstruction, cable, waveguide, or fiber) to the receiver in a telecommunication system. The link budget accounts for the attenuation of the transmitted signal due to propagation, as well as the antenna gains, feedline and miscellaneous losses. The enhance RF signal strength of the phased-array antenna (e.g., the ESA antenna) can have an increased intensity by 3 orders of magnitude (.times.1000 or 30 dB) over an omni-directional antenna. The omni-directional antenna can generate a reduced signal power response in an omni-directional beam 146. In an example, the narrow beams in a raster pattern scan can carry an interrogation message which can received and responded to automatically by the end user node (carried by a person 132A-B or object of interest), inside the perimeter. The information of the person's location, direction of travel 134A-B and/or status can be communicated back thru a secure (encrypted) dedicated network to a control and command center, which initiated the inquiry. In an example, the perimeter ranging system can provide user node ranging for up to 7-8 levels of a typical building structure. In an example, the control station can include a graphical user interface 122 (GUI) for tracking the end user nodes. The beacon can include a beacon ESA ZigBee module for communicating with the control station via the LAN, generating the RF signals 190 for the antenna array, and providing signals for the beam forming network 178 (Rosenbaum et al. par. 53).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Tuttle and Rosenbaum et al. disclose The method of claim 8, wherein said RF enquiry comprises two or more beams arranged in a predetermined pattern relative to said direction-of-interest, wherein said electronic analysis of said RF enquiry comprises determining a vector of distribution of measured values associated with each of said two or more beams, and wherein said determining by said interrogator device comprises comparing said vector of distribution to an expected vector of distribution when said RF enquiry is received by said responder device in direct transmission along said direction-of-interest.
The beam width of the beacon can provide an enhanced RF signal strength. As the beam narrows, as compared to an omni-directional beam pattern, the narrow beam's intensity increases two to three orders of magnitude (.times.1000 or 30 dB). Due to the reciprocity of antenna operation the gain is generated both in the transmission and the reception. The RF signal strength can be sufficient to penetrate inside the perimeter, such as a large industrial grade building or dense foliage outdoors. The dual solution of calculating the AoA and TOF of a narrow beam can provide accurate and reliable ranging information (Rosenbaum et al. par. 82). The range solutions can be relative to each beacon in contact with a targeted user (e.g., end user node). The range solutions can generate magnitude values (related to meters) for the TOF solution, and three dimensional `vector` values (in degrees) for the AoA solution. The relative range values can be used to derive absolute geo-location positioning via averaging (Rosenbaum et al. par. 85). In an example TOF solution, ranging can determined directly with propagation timing measurements or tone ranging and phase determination. The associated hardware circuitry can be tied into the beacon transceiver structure. Any impacts to the end user node may be minimal to the hardware, and may be related to software encoding. The TOF solution can typically provide +/1 m distance stand alone positioning accuracy (Rosenbaum et al. par. 87). Using two adjacent segments with a strongest RSSI can be used generate a finer AoA resolution, thereby improving accuracy. A finer resolution of the RSSI value can assist in the fine resolution of the AoA, thereby improving accuracy. Using two adjacent segments can improve beacon angle of arrival (AoA) estimates compared to the RSSI approach that selects a single angle for the antenna beam pointed at the remote user (e.g., end user node). The method can measure the amplitude from the received remote user signal in two adjacent beacon beams, where RSSI quantization can be used and smaller quantization values can improve accuracy. The ratio of amplitudes from the two beams can results in an improved estimate of the angle of arrival rather than only estimating the beam of arrival. Beams can include every other beam rather than adjacent as long as the two beams used are less than one beamwidth apart (Rosenbaum et al. par. 146).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Tuttle and Rosenbaum et al. disclose The method of claim 8, wherein said respective electronic analyses of said RF enquiry and RF response comprise determining at least one of the following values with respect to each of said RF inquiry and RF response: received signal level (RSL), signal-to-noise (SNR) ratio values, amplitude, frequency, phase, and/or time-or-arrival.
Using two adjacent segments with a strongest RSSI can be used generate a finer AoA resolution, thereby improving accuracy. A finer resolution of the RSSI value can assist in the fine resolution of the AoA, thereby improving accuracy. Using two adjacent segments can improve beacon angle of arrival (AoA) estimates compared to the RSSI approach that selects a single angle for the antenna beam pointed at the remote user (e.g., end user node). The method can measure the amplitude from the received remote user signal in two adjacent beacon beams, where RSSI quantization can be used and smaller quantization values can improve accuracy. The ratio of amplitudes from the two beams can results in an improved estimate of the angle of arrival rather than only estimating the beam of arrival. Beams can include every other beam rather than adjacent as long as the two beams used are less than one beamwidth apart (Rosenbaum et al. par. 146). The following shows the derivation and quantifies the performance of using two beacon beams. AoA estimation can be based on amplitude from two similar (or near identical) beams, where the signal of the signal is similar but in slightly different direction. N1 and N2 can represent thermal noises in beacon beam 1 and beam 2, where beam 1 and beam 2 has a less than or equal to one beamwidth distance orientation from each other. .THETA. (e.g., .THETA.) denotes beacon AoA, and .THETA.1 and .THETA.2 denote beam pointing of beam 1 and beam 2. The derivation assumes a relatively stationary user, but the derivation can be adapted if the rate of movement is known or can be predicted. The thermal noise N1 and N2 can be assumed to have the same magnitude (i.e., <N1>=<N2>). S1=S*P1(.THETA.) and S2=S*P2(.THETA.) are the receiver user signal in the two beams, where S1 represent the signal of beam 1, S2 represents the signal of beam 2, S represents the generated signal, P1 represents the power of the signal of beam 1, and P2 represents the power of the signal of beam 2. The signal power can be represented in term of a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) (Rosenbaum et al. par. 147).
According to cited passages and figures, examiner interprets RSSI as RSL.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Tuttle and Rosenbaum et al. disclose The method of claim 8, wherein said determining by said interrogator device is based, at least in part, on a direction finding calculation, based on said electronic analysis of said RF response and on said values.
In another example, this technology can be used for determining a location of an end user node relative to the at least one beacon. One method can include at least one beacon scanning each of a plurality of segments in an arc with a separate narrow radio frequency (RF) beam transmitted. The arc is in a direction of the end user node. The at least one beacon can receive a response signal from the end user node based on a received narrow RF beam at the end user node. The technology can determine at least one of an angle-of-arrival (AOA) and a time-of-flight (TOF) of the response signal, and calculate an end user node location relative at least one beacon location using at least one of the AOA and TOF of the response signal (Rosenbaum et al. par. 11). In the time-of-flight (ToF) location solution, each beacon can measure the ToF of the signal from the interrogated end user node to beacon or a round trip signal path from the beacon to the end user node back to the beacon. In another example, the end user node can measure the ToF of the narrow beam from the beacon and return the measurement in the response signal or message. The ToF information can allow the determination of the distance to the end user node. Multiple beacons (e.g., three beacons in FIG. 3) with ToF information can then `triangulate` and simultaneously solve for the location to derive the end user node's (e.g., person's 132) geo-location. A single beacon having both AoA directionality and ToF distance can be configured to derive an end user node's position (as shown in FIG. 2). Multiple beacons can confirm the location information and provide enhanced reliability and accuracy (as shown in FIG. 1) (Rosenbaum et al. par. 52).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets AOA (angle-of-arrival) and TOF (time-of-flight) as a technique for determine a direction finding calculation.
Regarding claim 15, Tuttle teach A system comprising: an interrogator device comprising: at least one processor, and a communications module comprising at least one radio-frequency (RF) transceiver and a directional antenna array; (Tuttle US 20090289771 abstract; paragraphs [0002]-[0008]; [0022]-[0029]; [0035]-[0040]; figures 1-8;)
FIG. 1 illustrates an exemplary RFID system 10 that includes a computer 3 coupled to a network 2 and to an RFID interrogator 4. The RFID interrogator 4, which may sometimes be referred to as an RFID reader, includes a processor 5, a transceiver 6, a memory 7, a power supply 8, and an antenna 9. The RFID interrogator 4 is programmable and performs transmitting and receiving functions with the transceiver 6 and antenna 9. Alternatively, multiple antennas may be connected to transmitters and receivers. Through antenna 9, the RFID interrogator 4 can communicate with one or more RFID devices 11 that are within communication range of the RFID interrogator 4. Data downloaded from an RFID device 11 can be stored in memory 7, or transferred by the processor 5 to computer 3. Thereafter, this transferred data can be further processed or distributed to network 2 (Tuttle par. 23). It should be noted that although dipole antennas are specifically depicted in the figures, other antennas are possible, such as log periodic dipole array, triband Yagi antennas, multiple parallel antennas joined at a common feedpoint (dipoles, patches, etc.), multiple antennas connected serially, and quarter wave dipoles, monopoles and whips (Tuttle par. 29).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets antenna as a directional antenna like dipole array and yagi antennas disclose in par. 29.
and a plurality of responder devices, each comprising: at least one processor, and a communications module comprising at least one radio-frequency (RF) transceiver and a directional antenna array,
A typical RFID system includes a reader (interrogator) and a plurality of tags. A reader includes an antenna and a transceiver, and transmits a radio frequency signal to a tag to initiate a response from the tag. The tag (RFID device) contains an antenna, circuitry, and information to be transmitted to the reader. The tag antenna enables the circuitry to transmit its information to the interrogator, which converts the radio waves reflected back from the RFID device into digital information that can then be passed on to computers that can analyze the data (Tuttle par. 2) The exemplary RFID device 11 includes device antenna 16 and RFID circuit 17. The RFID circuit 17 can include a transceiver 12, a processor 13, memory 14, and depending on whether or not RFID device 11 is active, semi-active or passive, a battery 15. Any RF interrogation signal 18 transmitted by the RFID interrogator 4 to the RFID device 11 is received by the antenna 16, and passed to transceiver 12 in RFID circuit 17. When triggered by the transceiver 12, processor 13 fetches the data (e.g., time stamp, unique RFID code, and so forth) from memory 14 and transmits a return signal 19 through antenna 16 to RFID interrogator 4, as multiplexed data packets from transceiver 12 (Tuttle par. 24). It should be noted that although dipole antennas are specifically depicted in the figures, other antennas are possible, such as log periodic dipole array, triband Yagi antennas, multiple parallel antennas joined at a common feedpoint (dipoles, patches, etc.), multiple antennas connected serially, and quarter wave dipoles, monopoles and whips (Tuttle par. 29).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets antenna as a directional antenna like dipole array and yagi antennas disclose in par. 29. Examiner interpret RFID device 11 as a responder device.
Tuttle do not explicitly teach wherein said interrogator device is configured to generate and transmit a directional RF enquiry having a specified spatial volume in a direction-of-interest within an area-of-interest, wherein, each respective one of said plurality of responder devices that is located within said specified spatial volume of said RF enquiry, receives said RF enquiry and generates and transmits in a direction-of-arrival of said RF enquiry a directional RF response having encoded therein values associated with an electronic analysis by said respective responder device of said received RF enquiry, and wherein said interrogator device is configured to determine, based, at least in part, on an electronic analysis of each of said RF responses and on said values encoded in each of said RF response from each of said respective responder devices, whether said direction-of-interest intersects a predetermined volume-of-interest (VOI) defined relative to said respective responder device.
Rosenbaum et al. teach wherein said interrogator device is configured to generate and transmit a directional RF enquiry having a specified spatial volume in a direction-of-interest within an area-of-interest, wherein, each respective one of said plurality of responder devices that is located within said specified spatial volume of said RF enquiry, receives said RF enquiry and generates and transmits in a direction-of-arrival of said RF enquiry a directional RF response having encoded therein values associated with an electronic analysis by said respective responder device of said received RF enquiry, (Rosenbaum et al. US 20140302869 abstract; paragraphs [0004]-[0011]; [0045]-[0054]; [0081]-[0089]; [0099]-[0110]; [0146]-[0150]; figures 1-23)
As illustrated in FIG. 3, the ranging system can provide geographical-location (geo-location) capability with a resolution within a meter at a 100 meter distance from transceiver beacons 110 A-C, which can locate the user node (e.g., person 132 or object) inside an area or perimeter, such as a cafeteria, an arena, a hotel, a school, a hardware store, a stadium, a park, a wilderness area, a ship, and a water front. The perimeter ranging system uses narrow RF beams 140A-C generated by an electronic-scanned-array (ESA) antenna or phased-array antenna at the beacon which can scan across and up and down a perimeter of interest, such as a building, using angle-of-arrival angles 142 and/or time of flight (ToF) range distances 144 to triangulate if applicable and determine position. This relates to the angle-of-arrival (AoA) algorithms (described herein) which provides lateral range resolution close to 10% of the ESA beam width; which for example a 5.6 degree beamwidth at 100 meters distance gives 1 meter cross resolution. The geolocation capability also relates to the time-of-flight (ToF) information in collaboration. The rising time constant implementation is described herein, for example, to provide 1 meter distance accuracy as a function of accurate mapping of the charging voltage against time of propagation. Another factor which applies to ToF is the empirical determination and subration of the latency through the end user node. Yet another variable is the step size capability of the analog to digital (A/D) convertor which limits the resolution steps. The composite AoA (angle) and ToF (distance) provide a total three dimensional geolocation solution provided by one beacon. Multiple beacons may also be used in triangulation to provide best solution fits, increasing the area of coverage, accuracy and reliability (Rosenbaum et al. par. 50). In the angle-of-arrival (AoA) location solution, the array antenna can provide a narrow beam which can electronically scan across the perimeter-of-interest, where the antenna is fixed but different beams are formed from the phase shifting of the signal by the apertures of the ESA antenna. The signal can be similar to radio detection and ranging (RADAR), except that the beam may be not reflected for determining the range. Instead, the narrow beam signal can received by the end user node, and upon interrogation by the beacon, the end user node can return an RF signal to the interrogator (i.e., beacon). The three dimensional angle of the narrow beam emitted and received by the ESA antenna inherently gives directionality. The received signal strength (RSS) of the narrow beam can be measured by the end user and the RSS of the response signal from the end user node can be measured by the control station. The RSS measurement of the narrow beam can be included in the response signal. When the response signal is returned and identified with an end user node and specified AoA, the AoA having the greatest received signal strength indicator (RSSI) strength can be used to determine the angle of the end user node to the beacon. Two or more of these beams can produce angle projections that intersect at the location of the end user node (as shown in FIG. 1), thus providing a total geo-location solution. The narrow beam can also provide a significant bi-directional RF gain (e.g., 20-30 decibel [dB]) for the signal used to penetrate the building or other obstruction. The decibel (dB) is a logarithmic unit that indicates the ratio of a physical quantity (usually power or intensity) relative to a specified or implied reference level. Thus, a ratio in decibels is ten times the logarithm to base 10 of the ratio of two power quantities (Rosenbaum et al. par. 51). The range solutions can be relative to each beacon in contact with a targeted user (e.g., end user node). The range solutions can generate magnitude values (related to meters) for the TOF solution, and three dimensional `vector` values (in degrees) for the AoA solution. The relative range values can be used to derive absolute geo-location positioning via averaging (Rosenbaum et al. par. 85). In an example TOF solution, ranging can determined directly with propagation timing measurements or tone ranging and phase determination. The associated hardware circuitry can be tied into the beacon transceiver structure. Any impacts to the end user node may be minimal to the hardware, and may be related to software encoding. The TOF solution can typically provide +/1 m distance stand alone positioning accuracy (Rosenbaum et al. par. 87).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the value for AoA (angle of arrival) and the value for Tof (time of flight) as the encode values.
and wherein said interrogator device is configured to determine, based, at least in part, on an electronic analysis of each of said RF responses and on said values encoded in each of said RF response from each of said respective responder devices, whether said direction-of-interest intersects a predetermined volume-of-interest (VOI) defined relative to said respective responder device.
In the angle-of-arrival (AoA) location solution, the array antenna can provide a narrow beam which can electronically scan across the perimeter-of-interest, where the antenna is fixed but different beams are formed from the phase shifting of the signal by the apertures of the ESA antenna. The signal can be similar to radio detection and ranging (RADAR), except that the beam may be not reflected for determining the range. Instead, the narrow beam signal can received by the end user node, and upon interrogation by the beacon, the end user node can return an RF signal to the interrogator (i.e., beacon). The three dimensional angle of the narrow beam emitted and received by the ESA antenna inherently gives directionality. The received signal strength (RSS) of the narrow beam can be measured by the end user and the RSS of the response signal from the end user node can be measured by the control station. The RSS measurement of the narrow beam can be included in the response signal. When the response signal is returned and identified with an end user node and specified AoA, the AoA having the greatest received signal strength indicator (RSSI) strength can be used to determine the angle of the end user node to the beacon. Two or more of these beams can produce angle projections that intersect at the location of the end user node (as shown in FIG. 1), thus providing a total geo-location solution. The narrow beam can also provide a significant bi-directional RF gain (e.g., 20-30 decibel [dB]) for the signal used to penetrate the building or other obstruction. The decibel (dB) is a logarithmic unit that indicates the ratio of a physical quantity (usually power or intensity) relative to a specified or implied reference level. Thus, a ratio in decibels is ten times the logarithm to base 10 of the ratio of two power quantities (Rosenbaum et al. par. 51). The range solutions can be relative to each beacon in contact with a targeted user (e.g., end user node). The range solutions can generate magnitude values (related to meters) for the TOF solution, and three dimensional `vector` values (in degrees) for the AoA solution. The relative range values can be used to derive absolute geo-location positioning via averaging (Rosenbaum et al. par. 85). In an example TOF solution, ranging can determined directly with propagation timing measurements or tone ranging and phase determination. The associated hardware circuitry can be tied into the beacon transceiver structure. Any impacts to the end user node may be minimal to the hardware, and may be related to software encoding. The TOF solution can typically provide +/1 m distance stand alone positioning accuracy (Rosenbaum et al. par. 87). As illustrated in FIG. 2, the ranging system can provide a dual ranging solution (e.g., AoA and ToF), which can work together to provide reliability. The angle-of-arrival (AoA) solution can give an angular pointing direction towards the end user node (e.g., a field agent) using a narrow beam (e.g., high RF gain) implementation. The time-of-flight (ToF) solution can give the distance information. Either the AoA or ToF solution can provide total positioning by triangulation or intersection of multiple beams from around the perimeter. Both solutions can be used together from a single beacon to provide total positioning (as a stand alone beacon) (Rosenbaum et al. par. 108).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the value for AoA (angle of arrival) and the value for Tof (time of flight) as the encode values. Examiner interprets the perimeter of interest as the volume of interest.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the narrow beam, AoA (angle of arrival) and ToF (time-of-flight) geolocation techniques as taught by Rosenbaum et al. reference into the RFID system of Tuttle reference and the result of the substitution would be predictable for determine the location of the user carried a node.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Tuttle and Rosenbaum et al. teach The system of claim 15, wherein said VOI comprises a virtual spatial volume designated surroundingly with respect to each of said plurality of responder devices
In the angle-of-arrival (AoA) location solution, the array antenna can provide a narrow beam which can electronically scan across the perimeter-of-interest, where the antenna is fixed but different beams are formed from the phase shifting of the signal by the apertures of the ESA antenna. The signal can be similar to radio detection and ranging (RADAR), except that the beam may be not reflected for determining the range. Instead, the narrow beam signal can received by the end user node, and upon interrogation by the beacon, the end user node can return an RF signal to the interrogator (i.e., beacon). The three dimensional angle of the narrow beam emitted and received by the ESA antenna inherently gives directionality. The received signal strength (RSS) of the narrow beam can be measured by the end user and the RSS of the response signal from the end user node can be measured by the control station. The RSS measurement of the narrow beam can be included in the response signal. When the response signal is returned and identified with an end user node and specified AoA, the AoA having the greatest received signal strength indicator (RSSI) strength can be used to determine the angle of the end user node to the beacon. Two or more of these beams can produce angle projections that intersect at the location of the end user node (as shown in FIG. 1), thus providing a total geo-location solution. The narrow beam can also provide a significant bi-directional RF gain (e.g., 20-30 decibel [dB]) for the signal used to penetrate the building or other obstruction. The decibel (dB) is a logarithmic unit that indicates the ratio of a physical quantity (usually power or intensity) relative to a specified or implied reference level. Thus, a ratio in decibels is ten times the logarithm to base 10 of the ratio of two power quantities (Rosenbaum et al. par. 51).
The combination of Tuttle and Rosenbaum et al. do not explicitly teach defined as a three-dimensional virtual envelope extending between 20-500 cm in all directions relative to said responder device.
However, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to select a particular spatial envelope size is a matter of routine optimization of a result-effective variable (threshold range) as claim accordance to the MPEP 2144.05 (II) (A) Optimization withing prior art conditions of through routine experimentation. For example, a three-dimensional virtual envelope extending between 20-500 cm in all directions relative to said responder device is an experimentation for user desire design.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Tuttle and Rosenbaum et al. disclose The system of claim 15, wherein said interrogator device is further configured to manipulate said RF enquiry to adapt said specified spatial volume with respect to each of said respective responder devices, based on a measured distance to each of said respective responder devices, and wherein each of said respective responder devices that is located within said respective adapted spatial volume receives said RF enquiry and generates and transmits in a direction-of-arrival of said RF enquiry a directional RF response having encoded therein values associated with an electronic analysis by said respective responder device of said received RF enquiry.
In the angle-of-arrival (AoA) location solution, the array antenna can provide a narrow beam which can electronically scan across the perimeter-of-interest, where the antenna is fixed but different beams are formed from the phase shifting of the signal by the apertures of the ESA antenna. The signal can be similar to radio detection and ranging (RADAR), except that the beam may be not reflected for determining the range. Instead, the narrow beam signal can received by the end user node, and upon interrogation by the beacon, the end user node can return an RF signal to the interrogator (i.e., beacon). The three dimensional angle of the narrow beam emitted and received by the ESA antenna inherently gives directionality. The received signal strength (RSS) of the narrow beam can be measured by the end user and the RSS of the response signal from the end user node can be measured by the control station. The RSS measurement of the narrow beam can be included in the response signal. When the response signal is returned and identified with an end user node and specified AoA, the AoA having the greatest received signal strength indicator (RSSI) strength can be used to determine the angle of the end user node to the beacon. Two or more of these beams can produce angle projections that intersect at the location of the end user node (as shown in FIG. 1), thus providing a total geo-location solution. The narrow beam can also provide a significant bi-directional RF gain (e.g., 20-30 decibel [dB]) for the signal used to penetrate the building or other obstruction. The decibel (dB) is a logarithmic unit that indicates the ratio of a physical quantity (usually power or intensity) relative to a specified or implied reference level. Thus, a ratio in decibels is ten times the logarithm to base 10 of the ratio of two power quantities (Rosenbaum et al. par. 51). FIG. 4 illustrates a narrow pulsed beam 140 from an antenna array 160 (e.g., an ESA antenna with a plurality of apertures 164) that can penetrate an outside wall 152, which can usually have the most metal, and therefore the most RF shielding (e.g., typically 8 dB loss). Inner walls typically have a minor contribution to attenuation (e.g., <1 dB per wall). However, building walls, ceilings, floors and other materials can attenuate RF signals. The high intensity directional phased-array narrow RF beams or pulses can be capable of penetrating most building construction and foliage obstructions with over a 70 dB link budget margin of penetration (in addition to approximately 51 dB free space loss). Due the reciprocity properties of antennas, the antenna can emit a high intensity directional phased-array narrow RF beam in a specified phase-shifted direction and can receive a weak signal from the omni-directional antenna in a direction of the specified phase-shifted direction. A link budget is an accounting of all of the gains and losses from the transmitter, through the medium (e.g., free space, air, obstruction, cable, waveguide, or fiber) to the receiver in a telecommunication system. The link budget accounts for the attenuation of the transmitted signal due to propagation, as well as the antenna gains, feedline and miscellaneous losses. The enhance RF signal strength of the phased-array antenna (e.g., the ESA antenna) can have an increased intensity by 3 orders of magnitude (.times.1000 or 30 dB) over an omni-directional antenna. The omni-directional antenna can generate a reduced signal power response in an omni-directional beam 146. In an example, the narrow beams in a raster pattern scan can carry an interrogation message which can received and responded to automatically by the end user node (carried by a person 132A-B or object of interest), inside the perimeter. The information of the person's location, direction of travel 134A-B and/or status can be communicated back thru a secure (encrypted) dedicated network to a control and command center, which initiated the inquiry. In an example, the perimeter ranging system can provide user node ranging for up to 7-8 levels of a typical building structure. In an example, the control station can include a graphical user interface 122 (GUI) for tracking the end user nodes. The beacon can include a beacon ESA ZigBee module for communicating with the control station via the LAN, generating the RF signals 190 for the antenna array, and providing signals for the beam forming network 178 (Rosenbaum et al. par. 53).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Tuttle and Rosenbaum et al. disclose The system of claim 15, wherein said RF enquiry comprises two or more beams arranged in a predetermined pattern relative to said direction-of-interest, wherein said electronic analysis of said RF enquiry comprises determining a vector of distribution of measured values associated with each of said two or more beams, and wherein said determining by said interrogator device comprises comparing said vector of distribution to an expected vector of distribution when said RF enquiry is received in direct transmission along said direction-of-interest.
The beam width of the beacon can provide an enhanced RF signal strength. As the beam narrows, as compared to an omni-directional beam pattern, the narrow beam's intensity increases two to three orders of magnitude (.times.1000 or 30 dB). Due to the reciprocity of antenna operation the gain is generated both in the transmission and the reception. The RF signal strength can be sufficient to penetrate inside the perimeter, such as a large industrial grade building or dense foliage outdoors. The dual solution of calculating the AoA and TOF of a narrow beam can provide accurate and reliable ranging information (Rosenbaum et al. par. 82). The range solutions can be relative to each beacon in contact with a targeted user (e.g., end user node). The range solutions can generate magnitude values (related to meters) for the TOF solution, and three dimensional `vector` values (in degrees) for the AoA solution. The relative range values can be used to derive absolute geo-location positioning via averaging (Rosenbaum et al. par. 85). In an example TOF solution, ranging can determined directly with propagation timing measurements or tone ranging and phase determination. The associated hardware circuitry can be tied into the beacon transceiver structure. Any impacts to the end user node may be minimal to the hardware, and may be related to software encoding. The TOF solution can typically provide +/1 m distance stand alone positioning accuracy (Rosenbaum et al. par. 87). Using two adjacent segments with a strongest RSSI can be used generate a finer AoA resolution, thereby improving accuracy. A finer resolution of the RSSI value can assist in the fine resolution of the AoA, thereby improving accuracy. Using two adjacent segments can improve beacon angle of arrival (AoA) estimates compared to the RSSI approach that selects a single angle for the antenna beam pointed at the remote user (e.g., end user node). The method can measure the amplitude from the received remote user signal in two adjacent beacon beams, where RSSI quantization can be used and smaller quantization values can improve accuracy. The ratio of amplitudes from the two beams can results in an improved estimate of the angle of arrival rather than only estimating the beam of arrival. Beams can include every other beam rather than adjacent as long as the two beams used are less than one beamwidth apart (Rosenbaum et al. par. 146).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Tuttle and Rosenbaum et al. disclose The system of claim 15, wherein said respective electronic analyses of said RF enquiry and RF response comprise determining at least one of the following values with respect to each of said RF inquiry and RF responses: received signal level (RSL), signal-to-noise (SNR) ratio values, amplitude, frequency, phase, and/or time-or-arrival.
Using two adjacent segments with a strongest RSSI can be used generate a finer AoA resolution, thereby improving accuracy. A finer resolution of the RSSI value can assist in the fine resolution of the AoA, thereby improving accuracy. Using two adjacent segments can improve beacon angle of arrival (AoA) estimates compared to the RSSI approach that selects a single angle for the antenna beam pointed at the remote user (e.g., end user node). The method can measure the amplitude from the received remote user signal in two adjacent beacon beams, where RSSI quantization can be used and smaller quantization values can improve accuracy. The ratio of amplitudes from the two beams can results in an improved estimate of the angle of arrival rather than only estimating the beam of arrival. Beams can include every other beam rather than adjacent as long as the two beams used are less than one beamwidth apart (Rosenbaum et al. par. 146). The following shows the derivation and quantifies the performance of using two beacon beams. AoA estimation can be based on amplitude from two similar (or near identical) beams, where the signal of the signal is similar but in slightly different direction. N1 and N2 can represent thermal noises in beacon beam 1 and beam 2, where beam 1 and beam 2 has a less than or equal to one beamwidth distance orientation from each other. .THETA. (e.g., .THETA.) denotes beacon AoA, and .THETA.1 and .THETA.2 denote beam pointing of beam 1 and beam 2. The derivation assumes a relatively stationary user, but the derivation can be adapted if the rate of movement is known or can be predicted. The thermal noise N1 and N2 can be assumed to have the same magnitude (i.e., <N1>=<N2>). S1=S*P1(.THETA.) and S2=S*P2(.THETA.) are the receiver user signal in the two beams, where S1 represent the signal of beam 1, S2 represents the signal of beam 2, S represents the generated signal, P1 represents the power of the signal of beam 1, and P2 represents the power of the signal of beam 2. The signal power can be represented in term of a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) (Rosenbaum et al. par. 147).
According to cited passages and figures, examiner interprets RSSI as RSL.
Claims 7, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tuttle US 20090289771 in view of Rosenbaum et al. US 20140302869 and further in view of Bloy et al. US 20100225480.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Tuttle and Rosenbaum et al. teach device azimuthal direction relative to a reference azimuth, device angle of elevation relative to the horizontal plane, device altitude
As part of the dual ranging capability, the beacon 110 can provide information about beacon's attitude (positioning) and pointing direction. Different sensors, such as a GPS receiver, can be used to gather attitude and/or pointing direction information. The beacon platform can be configured to adjust the beacon's orientation for uneven terrain. The ESA antenna 162 can include an angle of adjustment, so the center of the antenna's scan can be midway up an area (e.g., a building) to be scanned. The attitudes setting for the beacon can include GPS coordinates (e.g., latitude, longitude, or elevation), a horizontal level adjust, an ESA antenna rotational face direction, or an ESA antenna angle adjustment (Rosenbaum et al. par. 99).
The combination of Tuttle and Rosenbaum et al. do not explicitly teach The system of claim 1, wherein said RF enquiry and said RF response each has further encoded therein at least one of the following datapoints, respectively, with respect to said interrogator device and said responder device: device ID, device location, device velocity, and/or device acceleration.
Bloy et al. teach The system of claim 1, wherein said RF enquiry and said RF response each has further encoded therein at least one of the following datapoints, respectively, with respect to said interrogator device and said responder device: device ID, device location, device velocity, and/or device acceleration. (Bloy et al. US 20100225480 abstract; paragraphs [0003]; [0005]-[0010]; [0019]-[0026]; [0029]-[0036]; [0048]; [0056]-[0058]; figures 1-6;)
The processor 28 is preferably provided with a data storage 26, for example a hard drive, semi-conductor memory or network connected memory, for storing a signal data record for each of at least one response signal(s) received by the RF transceiver 12. The signal data record including at least a signal identification, a received signal strength indicator and an RF signal direction along which respective signal(s) are received by the antenna 14. The RF signal direction is derived from the electronic steering circuit 16 and a position logic operative upon the signal data record(s) is applied to derive a three dimensional signal origin location of each response signal (Bloy et al. par. 29). The edge server 34 and or processor 28 of each SASL module10 may also perform comparisons of changes between the three dimensional signal origin location resulting from successive interrogation signal sweeps of the zone and apply same as inputs to a velocity and or direction logic, to determine a speed and direction indication for each response signal. The velocity logic comparing the position change to the time elapsed between same and the direction logic applying a vector beginning at the previous three dimensional position and ending at the present three dimensional position to generate a direction of travel (Bloy et al. par. 48). If multiple SASL modules are present, the data storage contents and or three dimensional signal origin data at the edge server and or a master SASL is processed for higher level higher order three dimensional signal origin locations, DV. Further, as the data from multiple scans is received, comparisons between the different scan results for a single signal identification may be performed, S7, to determine velocity, S8, and direction, S9, of individual response signals, and thereby the related RFID tags (Bloy et al. par. 56).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the storing signal data records include device identification, three-dimensional location and calculating velocity and direction movement as taught by Bloy et al. reference into the modify system of Tuttle and Rosenbaum et al. reference and the result of the substitution would be predictable for enhancement level of tracking the object with RFID system.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Tuttle, Rosenbaum et al. and Bloy et al. disclose The method of claim 8, wherein said RF enquiry and said RF response each has further encoded therein at least one of the following datapoints, respectively, with respect to said interrogator device and said responder device: device ID, device location, device velocity, and/or device acceleration. (Bloy et al. US 20100225480 abstract; paragraphs [0003]; [0005]-[0010]; [0019]-[0026]; [0029]-[0036]; [0048]; [0056]-[0058]; figures 1-6;)
The processor 28 is preferably provided with a data storage 26, for example a hard drive, semi-conductor memory or network connected memory, for storing a signal data record for each of at least one response signal(s) received by the RF transceiver 12. The signal data record including at least a signal identification, a received signal strength indicator and an RF signal direction along which respective signal(s) are received by the antenna 14. The RF signal direction is derived from the electronic steering circuit 16 and a position logic operative upon the signal data record(s) is applied to derive a three dimensional signal origin location of each response signal (Bloy et al. par. 29). The edge server 34 and or processor 28 of each SASL module10 may also perform comparisons of changes between the three dimensional signal origin location resulting from successive interrogation signal sweeps of the zone and apply same as inputs to a velocity and or direction logic, to determine a speed and direction indication for each response signal. The velocity logic comparing the position change to the time elapsed between same and the direction logic applying a vector beginning at the previous three dimensional position and ending at the present three dimensional position to generate a direction of travel (Bloy et al. par. 48). If multiple SASL modules are present, the data storage contents and or three dimensional signal origin data at the edge server and or a master SASL is processed for higher level higher order three dimensional signal origin locations, DV. Further, as the data from multiple scans is received, comparisons between the different scan results for a single signal identification may be performed, S7, to determine velocity, S8, and direction, S9, of individual response signals, and thereby the related RFID tags (Bloy et al. par. 56).
device azimuthal direction relative to a reference azimuth, device angle of elevation relative to the horizontal plane, device altitude,
As part of the dual ranging capability, the beacon 110 can provide information about beacon's attitude (positioning) and pointing direction. Different sensors, such as a GPS receiver, can be used to gather attitude and/or pointing direction information. The beacon platform can be configured to adjust the beacon's orientation for uneven terrain. The ESA antenna 162 can include an angle of adjustment, so the center of the antenna's scan can be midway up an area (e.g., a building) to be scanned. The attitudes setting for the beacon can include GPS coordinates (e.g., latitude, longitude, or elevation), a horizontal level adjust, an ESA antenna rotational face direction, or an ESA antenna angle adjustment (Rosenbaum et al. par. 99).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Tuttle, Rosenbaum et al. and Bloy et al. disclose The system of claim 15, wherein said RF enquiry and said RF responses all have further encoded therein at least one of the following datapoints, respectively, with respect to said interrogator device and said responder device: device ID, device location, device velocity, and/or device acceleration. (Bloy et al. US 20100225480 abstract; paragraphs [0003]; [0005]-[0010]; [0019]-[0026]; [0029]-[0036]; [0048]; [0056]-[0058]; figures 1-6;)
The processor 28 is preferably provided with a data storage 26, for example a hard drive, semi-conductor memory or network connected memory, for storing a signal data record for each of at least one response signal(s) received by the RF transceiver 12. The signal data record including at least a signal identification, a received signal strength indicator and an RF signal direction along which respective signal(s) are received by the antenna 14. The RF signal direction is derived from the electronic steering circuit 16 and a position logic operative upon the signal data record(s) is applied to derive a three dimensional signal origin location of each response signal (Bloy et al. par. 29). The edge server 34 and or processor 28 of each SASL module10 may also perform comparisons of changes between the three dimensional signal origin location resulting from successive interrogation signal sweeps of the zone and apply same as inputs to a velocity and or direction logic, to determine a speed and direction indication for each response signal. The velocity logic comparing the position change to the time elapsed between same and the direction logic applying a vector beginning at the previous three dimensional position and ending at the present three dimensional position to generate a direction of travel (Bloy et al. par. 48). If multiple SASL modules are present, the data storage contents and or three dimensional signal origin data at the edge server and or a master SASL is processed for higher level higher order three dimensional signal origin locations, DV. Further, as the data from multiple scans is received, comparisons between the different scan results for a single signal identification may be performed, S7, to determine velocity, S8, and direction, S9, of individual response signals, and thereby the related RFID tags (Bloy et al. par. 56).
device azimuthal direction relative to a reference azimuth, device angle of elevation relative to the horizontal plane, device altitude,
As part of the dual ranging capability, the beacon 110 can provide information about beacon's attitude (positioning) and pointing direction. Different sensors, such as a GPS receiver, can be used to gather attitude and/or pointing direction information. The beacon platform can be configured to adjust the beacon's orientation for uneven terrain. The ESA antenna 162 can include an angle of adjustment, so the center of the antenna's scan can be midway up an area (e.g., a building) to be scanned. The attitudes setting for the beacon can include GPS coordinates (e.g., latitude, longitude, or elevation), a horizontal level adjust, an ESA antenna rotational face direction, or an ESA antenna angle adjustment (Rosenbaum et al. par. 99).
Conclusion
/THANG D TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/THOMAS D ALUNKAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686