DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the preliminary amendment filed 30 December 2024
Claims 7, 9, and 10 have been amended and are hereby entered.
Claims 1-10 are currently pending and have been examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: S2021 on page 11, S2022 on page 13, S2023 on page 14. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because in Figure 3B the labels of S and T should be replaced with SR and TR as described on page 10 of the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On page 11 of the specification “S2021” was described, however the examiner notes that his reference number is not in the drawing. believes this should be replaced with “S201”.
On page 12 of the specification, in the equation describing the current direction of the specific force, the variable S should be replaced with SR and ||S|| should be replaced with ||SR||.
On page 12, lines 3-4 of the specification, “the current specific force” should be replaced with the “current direction of the specific force” because as explained on line 1 of page 12, the ns is defined as the current direction of the specific force.
On page 12, line 4, “Fig. 5” should be replaced with “Fig. 4”.
On page 13 of the specification “S2022” was described, however the examiner notes that his reference number is not in the drawing. believes this should be replaced with “S202”.
On page 14 of the specification “S2023” was described, however the examiner notes that his reference number is not in the drawing. believes this should be replaced with “S203”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 recites “an INDI controller”. The examiner recommend when using an acronym for the first time providing the full term followed by the acronym in parentheses. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an acquisition module configured to acquire …” in claim 8
“an obtaining module configured to…” in claim 8
“an adjustment module configured to adjust …” in claim 8
Structural support can be found in the specification in pages 16-20 of the instant specification and Figures 5 and 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation of “the adjustment of a flight speed" in lines 8-9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites “forming an acceleration adjustment command” in line 8. Claim 2 depends from claim 1 which previously recited “obtaining an acceleration adjustment command”. It is not clear if the acceleration adjustment command of claim 2 is the same or different than that of claim 1.
Claim 3 recites “a target acceleration” in line 4 and again in line 8. Claim 3 depends from claim 2 which previously recited “a target acceleration” in line 6. It is not clear if the target acceleration of claim 3 line 8 is the same as that recited in claim 3, line 4 and/or that of claim 2. Similarly, it is not clear if the target acceleration of claim 3, line 4 is the same as that recited in claim 2.
Claim 4 recites “obtaining a target angular acceleration adjustment command” in line 13. Claim 4 depends from claim 3 which previously recited “obtaining a target angular acceleration adjustment command in line 4. It is not clear if there are two separate steps of obtaining the target angular acceleration adjustment command. Further, it Is not clear if the “target angular acceleration adjustment command of claim 4 is the same or different than that of claim 3.
Claim 6 recites “the drag acceleration” in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites “the allocation result” in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation of “the adjustment of a flight speed" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-7 and 9-10 depend from claim 1 and are similarly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, based on their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims could be considered signal per se.
Claim 10 recites a computer-readable medium that is not limited to non-transitory tangible media. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer readable medium typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media, particularly when the specification is silent. See MPEP 2111.01. When the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim covers a signal per se, the claim must be rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as covering non-statutory subject matter. See In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 1356-57 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (transitory embodiments are not directed to statutory subject matter) and Interim Examination Instructions for Evaluating Subject Matter Eligibility Under 35 U.S.C. § 101, Aug. 24, 2009; p. 2. 1351 Off. Gaz. Pat. Off. 212 (2010). The computer readable medium recited in claim 10 encompasses a transitory, propagating signal, which is not a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. The claim "covers material not found in any of the four statutory categories [and thus] falls outside the plainly expressed scope of § 101." Id. at 1354. Although the specification discusses that the program may be stored in a storage device wherein the storage device includes a non-transitory storage medium (see e.g. page 20) the specification it does not definitively state that the storage medium is non-transitory. Accordingly, because the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim covers both subject matter that falls within a statutory category (hard disk drive, flash device , RAM, tape, etc.), as well as subject matter that does not (signals distributed over network), the claim as a whole does not to a fall within a statutory category and thus fail the first criterion for eligibility.
The Examiner respectfully recommends amending the claim(s) to recite “non-transitory storage medium”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jager (US-20230410669-A1, hereinafter “Jager”) in view of Yan et al. US-20240199219-A1, hereinafter “Yan”).
Regarding claim 1, Jager discloses a speed control method, wherein the speed control method is applied to a multi- rotor unmanned aerial vehicle, the method comprising:
acquiring a speed adjustment command and obtaining an acceleration adjustment command according to the speed adjustment command (see at least Jager “[0050] The user interface 502 receives user input from the remote controller 102 requesting movement of the set point of the aerial vehicle 110. The user input from remote controller 120 may request a change in the speed, direction, trajectory, or location of the set point of the aerial vehicle 110. Such requests received by the user interface 502 are routed to the navigation engine 505 for implementation. The navigation engine 505 is discussed in greater detail below. By changing the parameters of the set point of the aerial vehicle 110, the speed, direction, trajectory, and location of the aerial vehicle 110 subsequently change as the aerial vehicle adjusts its movement in an attempt to reach the set point.” See also abstract “The flight controller in response to the UAV crossing a switch point, located at an intersection of the distal section and the proximal section, changing a deceleration rate of the UAV from a first deceleration rate to a second deceleration rate by adjusting the electric speed controller and the thrust motors.” See also [0093-0098]…wherein pertinent excerpts include “[0094] When the set point of the aerial vehicle 110 enters the distal section of the zone of deceleration of the virtual wall 903 as depicted in step 2 of FIG. 9B, the velocity of the set point of the aerial vehicle 110 is restricted based on the set point's distance from the virtual wall 903. …Specifically, the overall velocity of the aerial vehicle 110 adheres to a maximum velocity that is determined by multiplying the maximum possible velocity of the aerial vehicle 110 by the velocity scaling factor associated with the point along the width of the zone of deceleration at which the set point is located. Because the array of velocity scaling factors of the zone of deceleration of the virtual wall 903 linearly decreases from 1 to 0 from the outer edge of the zone of deceleration to the inner edge of the zone of deceleration, the overall velocity of the set point of the aerial vehicle 110 decreases linearly as the set point approaches the proximal section of the zone of deceleration of the virtual wall 903. For example, if the overall maximum velocity of the aerial vehicle 110 is 15 m/s and the set point of the aerial vehicle 110 is located at the midpoint of the distal section of the zone of deceleration where the velocity scaling factor is equal to 0.75, the overall velocity of the set point is restricted to 11.25 m/s. ….” and “[0096] Specifically, the component of the velocity perpendicular to the virtual wall 903 adheres to a maximum velocity that is determined by multiplying the maximum possible velocity of the aerial vehicle 110 by the velocity scaling factor associated with the point along the width of the zone of deceleration at which the set point is located. Because the array of velocity scaling factors of the zone of deceleration of the virtual wall 903 linearly decreases from 1 to 0 from the outer edge of the zone of deceleration to the inner edge of the zone of deceleration, the component of the velocity perpendicular to the virtual wall 903 decreases linearly as the set point approaches the virtual wall 903. For example, if the overall maximum velocity of the aerial vehicle 110 is 15 m/s and the set point of the aerial vehicle 110 is located at the midpoint of the proximal section of the zone of deceleration where the velocity scaling factor is equal to 0.25, the component of the velocity perpendicular to the virtual wall 903 is restricted to 3.75 m/s.” from [0096] See also additional description in [0078-0079]);
[[obtaining a specific force acceleration adjustment command according to the acceleration adjustment command;]] and
adjusting a current thrust of the multi-rotor unmanned aerial vehicle to a target thrust [[according to the specific force acceleration adjustment command,]] so as to realize the adjustment of a flight speed of the multi-rotor unmanned aerial vehicle (see at least Jager abstract “The flight controller in response to the UAV crossing a switch point, located at an intersection of the distal section and the proximal section, changing a deceleration rate of the UAV from a first deceleration rate to a second deceleration rate by adjusting the electric speed controller and the thrust motors.” See also [0005] “The flight controller, in response to the distance being less than a threshold distance, is configured to control a speed and thrust applied by the thrust motors through the electric speed controller to reduce both the first component and the second component of the velocity of the UAV based on the distance.” See also [0010} “… The electronic speed controller (ESC) is in communication with one or more thrust motors and configured to control a speed and a thrust of the one or more thrust motors. The sensor subsystem includes a navigation to determine a location and orientation of the UAV. The virtual wall behavior engine is configured to determine a no-fly zone and determine a zone of deceleration comprising a distal section, a proximal section, and a switch point located at an intersection of the distal section and the proximal sec See also claim 1tion. A power subsystem is configured to manage and supply power to the one or more thrust motors so that a rate of deceleration is changed from a first deceleration rate to a second deceleration rate as the UAV crosses the switch point.” See also claim 1. ).
Jager does not explicitly teach obtaining a specific force acceleration adjustment command according to the acceleration adjustment command and wherein the thrust is adjusted according to the specific force acceleration adjustment command.
Yan teaches obtaining a specific force acceleration adjustment command according to the acceleration adjustment command and wherein the thrust is adjusted according to the specific force acceleration adjustment command (see at least Yan, wherein drag corresponds to the special force acceleration adjustment, [0068-0076] “[0071] Optionally, when a deceleration command is received during the cruise of the aerial vehicle, the rotational speed of the horizontal thruster may be controlled based on the current airspeed of the aerial vehicle so as to cause a drag on the horizontal propulsion assembly. For example, a current wind resistance of the horizontal thruster is determined based on the current airspeed of the aerial vehicle, and the rotational speed of the horizontal thruster is controlled to be reduced based on the current wind resistance of the horizontal thruster such that the horizontal thruster provides less pull or thrust than the current wind resistance of the horizontal thruster.” See also [0075] “In some embodiments, during the cruise of the aerial vehicle, when a deceleration command is received, a change in the operating state of the horizontal thruster is controlled to cause the horizontal propulsion assembly to generate drag; and when the deceleration is complete, a change in the operating state of the horizontal thruster is controlled to provide horizontal thrust for the cruise of the aerial vehicle. It will be appreciated that the horizontal thruster can be used both to generate drag when decelerating and to provide horizontal thrust for cruising to keep the aerial vehicle at a constant speed or to accelerate it, resulting in better maneuverability of the aerial vehicle.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jager with the teaching of Yan to determine the drag based on the acceleration adjustment command, with a reasonable expectation of success, because as Yan teaches it allows the aerial vehicle to quickly respond to deceleration commands and improve obstacle avoidance performance and improve safety (see [0076]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Jager and Yan discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the acquiring the speed adjustment command and obtaining the acceleration adjustment command according to the speed adjustment command comprises:
acquiring a target speed in the speed adjustment command when the speed adjustment command is received (see at least Jager “[0050] The user interface 502 receives user input from the remote controller 102 requesting movement of the set point of the aerial vehicle 110. The user input from remote controller 120 may request a change in the speed, direction, trajectory, or location of the set point of the aerial vehicle 110. Such requests received by the user interface 502 are routed to the navigation engine 505 for implementation. The navigation engine 505 is discussed in greater detail below. By changing the parameters of the set point of the aerial vehicle 110, the speed, direction, trajectory, and location of the aerial vehicle 110 subsequently change as the aerial vehicle adjusts its movement in an attempt to reach the set point.” See also Jager [0093-0098]…wherein pertinent excerpts include “[0094] When the set point of the aerial vehicle 110 enters the distal section of the zone of deceleration of the virtual wall 903 as depicted in step 2 of FIG. 9B, the velocity of the set point of the aerial vehicle 110 is restricted based on the set point's distance from the virtual wall 903. …Specifically, the overall velocity of the aerial vehicle 110 adheres to a maximum velocity that is determined by multiplying the maximum possible velocity of the aerial vehicle 110 by the velocity scaling factor associated with the point along the width of the zone of deceleration at which the set point is located. Because the array of velocity scaling factors of the zone of deceleration of the virtual wall 903 linearly decreases from 1 to 0 from the outer edge of the zone of deceleration to the inner edge of the zone of deceleration, the overall velocity of the set point of the aerial vehicle 110 decreases linearly as the set point approaches the proximal section of the zone of deceleration of the virtual wall 903. For example, if the overall maximum velocity of the aerial vehicle 110 is 15 m/s and the set point of the aerial vehicle 110 is located at the midpoint of the distal section of the zone of deceleration where the velocity scaling factor is equal to 0.75, the overall velocity of the set point is restricted to 11.25 m/s. ….” and “[0096] Specifically, the component of the velocity perpendicular to the virtual wall 903 adheres to a maximum velocity that is determined by multiplying the maximum possible velocity of the aerial vehicle 110 by the velocity scaling factor associated with the point along the width of the zone of deceleration at which the set point is located. Because the array of velocity scaling factors of the zone of deceleration of the virtual wall 903 linearly decreases from 1 to 0 from the outer edge of the zone of deceleration to the inner edge of the zone of deceleration, the component of the velocity perpendicular to the virtual wall 903 decreases linearly as the set point approaches the virtual wall 903. For example, if the overall maximum velocity of the aerial vehicle 110 is 15 m/s and the set point of the aerial vehicle 110 is located at the midpoint of the proximal section of the zone of deceleration where the velocity scaling factor is equal to 0.25, the component of the velocity perpendicular to the virtual wall 903 is restricted to 3.75 m/s.”.);
calculating a target acceleration from the target speed and the current speed of the multi-rotor unmanned aerial vehicle from a proportion controller (see at least Jager “[0050] The user interface 502 receives user input from the remote controller 102 requesting movement of the set point of the aerial vehicle 110. The user input from remote controller 120 may request a change in the speed, direction, trajectory, or location of the set point of the aerial vehicle 110. Such requests received by the user interface 502 are routed to the navigation engine 505 for implementation. The navigation engine 505 is discussed in greater detail below. By changing the parameters of the set point of the aerial vehicle 110, the speed, direction, trajectory, and location of the aerial vehicle 110 subsequently change as the aerial vehicle adjusts its movement in an attempt to reach the set point.” See also abstract “The flight controller in response to the UAV crossing a switch point, located at an intersection of the distal section and the proximal section, changing a deceleration rate of the UAV from a first deceleration rate to a second deceleration rate by adjusting the electric speed controller and the thrust motors.” See also Jager [0093-0098]…wherein pertinent excerpts include “[0094] When the set point of the aerial vehicle 110 enters the distal section of the zone of deceleration of the virtual wall 903 as depicted in step 2 of FIG. 9B, the velocity of the set point of the aerial vehicle 110 is restricted based on the set point's distance from the virtual wall 903. …Specifically, the overall velocity of the aerial vehicle 110 adheres to a maximum velocity that is determined by multiplying the maximum possible velocity of the aerial vehicle 110 by the velocity scaling factor associated with the point along the width of the zone of deceleration at which the set point is located. Because the array of velocity scaling factors of the zone of deceleration of the virtual wall 903 linearly decreases from 1 to 0 from the outer edge of the zone of deceleration to the inner edge of the zone of deceleration, the overall velocity of the set point of the aerial vehicle 110 decreases linearly as the set point approaches the proximal section of the zone of deceleration of the virtual wall 903. For example, if the overall maximum velocity of the aerial vehicle 110 is 15 m/s and the set point of the aerial vehicle 110 is located at the midpoint of the distal section of the zone of deceleration where the velocity scaling factor is equal to 0.75, the overall velocity of the set point is restricted to 11.25 m/s. ….” and “[0096] Specifically, the component of the velocity perpendicular to the virtual wall 903 adheres to a maximum velocity that is determined by multiplying the maximum possible velocity of the aerial vehicle 110 by the velocity scaling factor associated with the point along the width of the zone of deceleration at which the set point is located. Because the array of velocity scaling factors of the zone of deceleration of the virtual wall 903 linearly decreases from 1 to 0 from the outer edge of the zone of deceleration to the inner edge of the zone of deceleration, the component of the velocity perpendicular to the virtual wall 903 decreases linearly as the set point approaches the virtual wall 903. For example, if the overall maximum velocity of the aerial vehicle 110 is 15 m/s and the set point of the aerial vehicle 110 is located at the midpoint of the proximal section of the zone of deceleration where the velocity scaling factor is equal to 0.25, the component of the velocity perpendicular to the virtual wall 903 is restricted to 3.75 m/s.” from [0096] See also additional description in Jager [0078-0079]. Further, Yan [0109] teaches that attitude of a UAV can be controlled with a proportional controller or a (PID) and a PID is a common feedback control system for correction to a controlled variable.); and
forming an acceleration adjustment command according to the target acceleration (see at least Jager “[0050] The user interface 502 receives user input from the remote controller 102 requesting movement of the set point of the aerial vehicle 110. The user input from remote controller 120 may request a change in the speed, direction, trajectory, or location of the set point of the aerial vehicle 110. Such requests received by the user interface 502 are routed to the navigation engine 505 for implementation. The navigation engine 505 is discussed in greater detail below. By changing the parameters of the set point of the aerial vehicle 110, the speed, direction, trajectory, and location of the aerial vehicle 110 subsequently change as the aerial vehicle adjusts its movement in an attempt to reach the set point.” See also abstract “The flight controller in response to the UAV crossing a switch point, located at an intersection of the distal section and the proximal section, changing a deceleration rate of the UAV from a first deceleration rate to a second deceleration rate by adjusting the electric speed controller and the thrust motors.” See also [0093-0098]…wherein pertinent excerpts include “[0094] When the set point of the aerial vehicle 110 enters the distal section of the zone of deceleration of the virtual wall 903 as depicted in step 2 of FIG. 9B, the velocity of the set point of the aerial vehicle 110 is restricted based on the set point's distance from the virtual wall 903. …Specifically, the overall velocity of the aerial vehicle 110 adheres to a maximum velocity that is determined by multiplying the maximum possible velocity of the aerial vehicle 110 by the velocity scaling factor associated with the point along the width of the zone of deceleration at which the set point is located. Because the array of velocity scaling factors of the zone of deceleration of the virtual wall 903 linearly decreases from 1 to 0 from the outer edge of the zone of deceleration to the inner edge of the zone of deceleration, the overall velocity of the set point of the aerial vehicle 110 decreases linearly as the set point approaches the proximal section of the zone of deceleration of the virtual wall 903. For example, if the overall maximum velocity of the aerial vehicle 110 is 15 m/s and the set point of the aerial vehicle 110 is located at the midpoint of the distal section of the zone of deceleration where the velocity scaling factor is equal to 0.75, the overall velocity of the set point is restricted to 11.25 m/s. ….” and “[0096] Specifically, the component of the velocity perpendicular to the virtual wall 903 adheres to a maximum velocity that is determined by multiplying the maximum possible velocity of the aerial vehicle 110 by the velocity scaling factor associated with the point along the width of the zone of deceleration at which the set point is located. Because the array of velocity scaling factors of the zone of deceleration of the virtual wall 903 linearly decreases from 1 to 0 from the outer edge of the zone of deceleration to the inner edge of the zone of deceleration, the component of the velocity perpendicular to the virtual wall 903 decreases linearly as the set point approaches the virtual wall 903. For example, if the overall maximum velocity of the aerial vehicle 110 is 15 m/s and the set point of the aerial vehicle 110 is located at the midpoint of the proximal section of the zone of deceleration where the velocity scaling factor is equal to 0.25, the component of the velocity perpendicular to the virtual wall 903 is restricted to 3.75 m/s.” from [0096] See also additional description in [0078-0079]).
Claim 8 is rejected under the same rationale, mutatis mutandis, as claim 1, above. The combination of Jager and Yan teach the limitations of claim 8, as rejected above. Further the examiner notes that the combination teaches an acquisition module, an obtaining module, and an adjustment module configured to perform the operations as claimed (see at least Jager Figure 5, wherein the user interface 502 corresponds to the acquisition module , the virtual wall behavior engine corresponds to the adjustment module See at least [0050] “The user interface 502 receives user input from the remote controller 102 requesting movement of the set point of the aerial vehicle 110. The user input from remote controller 120 may request a change in the speed, direction, trajectory, or location of the set point of the aerial vehicle 110. Such requests received by the user interface 502 are routed to the navigation engine 505 for implementation.” See at least [0070]” FIG. 8 describes one embodiment of the general operation of the virtual wall behavior engine 506. However, additional nuanced embodiments of the operation of the virtual wall behavior engine 506 are available depending on the mode of operation under which the virtual wall behavior engine 506 operates. Three example modes of operation available to the virtual wall behavior engine 506 include: a free-sliding mode of operation, a restricted-sliding mode of operation, and a no-sliding mode of operation. Each mode of operation provides a different set of behavior nuances to the operation of the virtual wall behavior engine 506. These modes of operation are meant to enable smoother navigation of the aerial vehicle 110 around virtual walls of an NFZ. The three modes of operation listed above are described in further detail with regard to FIGS. 9A, 9B, and 9C respectively.” See also Yan Figure 8, processor 601 which corresponds to the obtaining module because [0071-0075] teaches determining the drag force with corresponds to the special force acceleration adjustment which is executed by processor 601. See at least Yan, [0208] “The control device 600 includes one or more processors 601, the one or more processors 601 operating individually or together for performing the control method of the aerial vehicle as previously described.”
Claim 9 is rejected under the same rationale, mutatis mutandis, as claim 1, above. Further the combination of Jager and Yan teach a multi-rotor unmanned aerial vehicle, comprising a memory, a processor coupled to the processor for executing one or more computer programs stored in the memory, the processor, when executing the one or more computer programs, causing the multi- rotor unmanned aerial vehicle to implement the method according to claim 1 (see at least Jager Fig. 5 and [0119] “Unless specifically stated otherwise, discussions herein using words such as “processing,” “computing,” “calculating,” “determining,” “presenting,” “displaying,” or the like may refer to actions or processes of a machine (e.g., a computer) that manipulates or transforms data represented as physical (e.g., electronic, magnetic, or optical) quantities within one or more memories (e.g., volatile memory, non-volatile memory, or a combination thereof), registers, or other machine components that receive, store, transmit, or display information.” Yan Figure 8 and [0208-0222]. For example Yan [0218] “Exemplarily, the processor 601 is used to run a computer program stored in memory 602 and to implement the following steps in executing the computer program: [0219] during the cruise of the aerial vehicle, all rotors of the multi-rotor assembly are controlled to rotate so that the multi-rotor assembly and the fixed wing together provide lift to the aerial vehicle; [0220] controlling the rotational speed of a plurality of rotors in the multi-rotor assembly to adjust the attitude of the aerial vehicle during the cruise of the aerial vehicle; and [0221] during the cruise of the aerial vehicle, when a deceleration command is received, a change in the operating state of the horizontal thruster is controlled to create drag on the horizontal propulsion assembly.”)
Claim 10 is rejected under the same rationale, mutatis mutandis, as claim 1, above. Further the combination of Jager and Yan the computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer- readable storage medium has stored thereon a computer program comprising program commands which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method according to claim 1 see at least Jager Fig. 5 and [0119] “Unless specifically stated otherwise, discussions herein using words such as “processing,” “computing,” “calculating,” “determining,” “presenting,” “displaying,” or the like may refer to actions or processes of a machine (e.g., a computer) that manipulates or transforms data represented as physical (e.g., electronic, magnetic, or optical) quantities within one or more memories (e.g., volatile memory, non-volatile memory, or a combination thereof), registers, or other machine components that receive, store, transmit, or display information.” Yan Figure 8 and [0208-0222]. For example Yan [0218] “Exemplarily, the processor 601 is used to run a computer program stored in memory 602 and to implement the following steps in executing the computer program: [0219] during the cruise of the aerial vehicle, all rotors of the multi-rotor assembly are controlled to rotate so that the multi-rotor assembly and the fixed wing together provide lift to the aerial vehicle; [0220] controlling the rotational speed of a plurality of rotors in the multi-rotor assembly to adjust the attitude of the aerial vehicle during the cruise of the aerial vehicle; and [0221] during the cruise of the aerial vehicle, when a deceleration command is received, a change in the operating state of the horizontal thruster is controlled to create drag on the horizontal propulsion assembly.”)
Claim(s) 3 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jager and Yan in further view of Yu (US-20180292842-A1, hereinafter “Yu”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Jager and Yan teach the method according to claim 2, including obtaining a target specific force acceleration magnitude adjustment command according to a target acceleration in the acceleration adjustment command see at least Jager “[0050] The user interface 502 receives user input from the remote controller 102 requesting movement of the set point of the aerial vehicle 110. The user input from remote controller 120 may request a change in the speed, direction, trajectory, or location of the set point of the aerial vehicle 110. Such requests received by the user interface 502 are routed to the navigation engine 505 for implementation. The navigation engine 505 is discussed in greater detail below. By changing the parameters of the set point of the aerial vehicle 110, the speed, direction, trajectory, and location of the aerial vehicle 110 subsequently change as the aerial vehicle adjusts its movement in an attempt to reach the set point.” See also abstract “The flight controller in response to the UAV crossing a switch point, located at an intersection of the distal section and the proximal section, changing a deceleration rate of the UAV from a first deceleration rate to a second deceleration rate by adjusting the electric speed controller and the thrust motors.” See also [0093-0098]…wherein pertinent excerpts include “[0094] When the set point of the aerial vehicle 110 enters the distal section of the zone of deceleration of the virtual wall 903 as depicted in step 2 of FIG. 9B, the velocity of the set point of the aerial vehicle 110 is restricted based on the set point's distance from the virtual wall 903. …Specifically, the overall velocity of the aerial vehicle 110 adheres to a maximum velocity that is determined by multiplying the maximum possible velocity of the aerial vehicle 110 by the velocity scaling factor associated with the point along the width of the zone of deceleration at which the set point is located. Because the array of velocity scaling factors of the zone of deceleration of the virtual wall 903 linearly decreases from 1 to 0 from the outer edge of the zone of deceleration to the inner edge of the zone of deceleration, the overall velocity of the set point of the aerial vehicle 110 decreases linearly as the set point approaches the proximal section of the zone of deceleration of the virtual wall 903. For example, if the overall maximum velocity of the aerial vehicle 110 is 15 m/s and the set point of the aerial vehicle 110 is located at the midpoint of the distal section of the zone of deceleration where the velocity scaling factor is equal to 0.75, the overall velocity of the set point is restricted to 11.25 m/s. ….” and “[0096] Specifically, the component of the velocity perpendicular to the virtual wall 903 adheres to a maximum velocity that is determined by multiplying the maximum possible velocity of the aerial vehicle 110 by the velocity scaling factor associated with the point along the width of the zone of deceleration at which the set point is located. Because the array of velocity scaling factors of the zone of deceleration of the virtual wall 903 linearly decreases from 1 to 0 from the outer edge of the zone of deceleration to the inner edge of the zone of deceleration, the component of the velocity perpendicular to the virtual wall 903 decreases linearly as the set point approaches the virtual wall 903. For example, if the overall maximum velocity of the aerial vehicle 110 is 15 m/s and the set point of the aerial vehicle 110 is located at the midpoint of the proximal section of the zone of deceleration where the velocity scaling factor is equal to 0.25, the component of the velocity perpendicular to the virtual wall 903 is restricted to 3.75 m/s.” from [0096] See also additional description in [0078-0079]); and
forming the specific force acceleration adjustment command of the multi-rotor unmanned aerial vehicle according to the [[target angular acceleration adjustment command]] and the target specific force acceleration magnitude adjustment command (see at least Yan, wherein drag corresponds to the special force acceleration adjustment, [0068-0076] “[0071] Optionally, when a deceleration command is received during the cruise of the aerial vehicle, the rotational speed of the horizontal thruster may be controlled based on the current airspeed of the aerial vehicle so as to cause a drag on the horizontal propulsion assembly. For example, a current wind resistance of the horizontal thruster is determined based on the current airspeed of the aerial vehicle, and the rotational speed of the horizontal thruster is controlled to be reduced based on the current wind resistance of the horizontal thruster such that the horizontal thruster provides less pull or thrust than the current wind resistance of the horizontal thruster.” See also [0075] “In some embodiments, during the cruise of the aerial vehicle, when a deceleration command is received, a change in the operating state of the horizontal thruster is controlled to cause the horizontal propulsion assembly to generate drag; and when the deceleration is complete, a change in the operating state of the horizontal thruster is controlled to provide horizontal thrust for the cruise of the aerial vehicle. It will be appreciated that the horizontal thruster can be used both to generate drag when decelerating and to provide horizontal thrust for cruising to keep the aerial vehicle at a constant speed or to accelerate it, resulting in better maneuverability of the aerial vehicle.”)
However, the combination of Jager and Yan does not disclose wherein the obtaining the specific force acceleration adjustment command for the multi-rotor unmanned aerial vehicle according to the acceleration adjustment command comprises:
obtaining a target angular acceleration adjustment command according to a target acceleration in the acceleration adjustment command, wherein the target angular acceleration adjustment command is used for achieving control over a thrust direction;
forming the specific force acceleration adjustment command of the multi-rotor unmanned aerial vehicle according to the target angular acceleration adjustment command.
Yu teaches wherein the obtaining the specific force acceleration adjustment command for the multi-rotor unmanned aerial vehicle according to the acceleration adjustment command comprises:
obtaining a target angular acceleration adjustment command according to a target acceleration in the acceleration adjustment command, wherein the target angular acceleration adjustment command is used for achieving control over a thrust direction (see at least Yu Figure 6A and 6B and [0122-0139] For example [0122] “The flight controller 520 may generate a command signal to the one or more actuators 560a, 560b of the aircraft, which may result in operation of the propulsion units to control the flight of the aircraft. This may include attitude control of the aircraft about three orthogonal axes (e.g., pitch, yaw, and roll). The flight controller may calculate the command signal based on one or more aircraft configuration parameters 530 that may be derived from and represent physical characteristics of the aircraft, feedback input about the aircraft attitude (e.g., information about the aircraft's attitude, angular velocity, and/or angular acceleration about the three orthogonal axes), and one or more flight instructions from a flight control device 550, which may optionally be external to the aircraft. The flight controller may use feedback control, incorporating the flight configuration parameters, to control the attitude of the aircraft.” See for example [0130-135] “[0130] A target angular velocity ω_Tar may result. The target angular velocity may be compared with a measured angular velocity ω 623. The measured angular velocity may be part of the aircraft dynamics 650 that may be measured via one or more sensors. The target angular velocity may be compared with the measured angular velocity to determine an error in angular velocity ω_Err….[0132] A target angular acceleration α_Tar may result. The target angular acceleration may be compared with a measured angular acceleration α 625. The measured angular acceleration may be part of the aircraft dynamics 650 that may be measured via one or more sensors. The target angular acceleration may be compared with the measured angular acceleration to determine an error in angular acceleration α_Err…[0134] A feedforward loop 627 may also be provided. The feedforward loop may be provided for angular acceleration. For example, the target angular acceleration α_Tar may be used in the feedforward loop. In some instances, one or more aircraft configuration parameters 660 that may be derived from one or more physical characteristics of the aircraft may be incorporated into the feedforward loop…[0135] Thus, both feedforward and feedback may be used for control of the angular acceleration. The feedforward model parameters can improve response time of the control system, while the feedback control can compensate for model errors and dynamic disturbances.” See also [0139] The output from the motors 640a, 640b, 640c, 640d may be used to drive one or more propulsion units of the aircraft. This may determine positioning, velocity, and/or acceleration of the aircraft. The output from the motor may affect the attitude, angular velocity, and/or angular acceleration of the aircraft. Any number of motors and/or propulsion units may be provided. The command signal to be generated to determine the output for each motor may be individually determined to direct the aircraft to target attitude from the remote controller.”); and
forming the specific force acceleration adjustment command of the multi-rotor unmanned aerial vehicle according to the target angular acceleration adjustment command (see at least Yu which teaches that the special force acceleration or drag force is dependent on the angular acceleration [0079-0080] “As shown, when the aircraft center of gravity is situated under the lift surface, when the aircraft lateral flight may reach a constant equilibrium velocity, the horizontal component of the lift force may counteract the drag force, and/or the vertical component may counteract gravity0079] FIG. 3 shows an example of various physical characteristics that may be considered for one or more physical parameters of an aircraft, in accordance with an embodiment of the disclosure. FIG. 3A shows an example of how a center of gravity of an aircraft may be calculated. As shown, when the aircraft center of gravity is situated under the lift surface, when the aircraft lateral flight may reach a constant equilibrium velocity, the horizontal component of the lift force may counteract the drag force, and/or the vertical component may counteract gravity. In some instances, the aerodynamic center and gravity may or may not coincide. In a situation where the aerodynamic center and the center of gravity do not coincide, the vertical lift component and gravity may form a force couple, causing the aircraft to experience a nose-up pitching moment. This may cause the aircraft to tend towards the horizontal, which may permit the aircraft to become a stable system. Thus during aircraft design, the position of the center of gravity can be changed to adjust the aircraft's stability. The center of gravity of the aircraft may be calculated based on the physical parameters. In some instances, the weight distributions and positioning of various components of the aircraft may be considered to determine the center of gravity of the aircraft. The center of gravity may differ from aircraft model to aircraft model….[0080] FIG. 3B shows an example of how a moment of inertia of the aircraft may be calculated. In some embodiments, the entire aircraft's moment of inertia distribution may be analyzed. The influence of the aircraft model and the configuration of the payload may be assessed for their effect on the entire aircraft's moment of inertia. These can be used as a reference to adjust the aircraft's entire configuration.…” See also [0082-0086] and Figure 3B. )
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Jager, Yan and Yu teach the method according to claim 3, wherein the obtaining the target specific force acceleration magnitude adjustment command according to the target acceleration in the acceleration adjustment command comprises:
calculating a magnitude of the target specific force acceleration from the target acceleration in the acceleration adjustment command (see at least Yan, wherein drag corresponds to the special force acceleration adjustment, [0068-0076] “[0071] Optionally, when a deceleration command is received during the cruise of the aerial vehicle, the rotational speed of the horizontal thruster may be controlled based on the current airspeed of the aerial vehicle so as to cause a drag on the horizontal propulsion assembly. For example, a current wind resistance of the horizontal thruster is determined based on the current airspeed of the aerial vehicle, and the rotational speed of the horizontal thruster is controlled to be reduced based on the current wind resistance of the horizontal thruster such that the horizontal thruster provides less pull or thrust than the current wind resistance of the horizontal thruster.” See also [0075] “In some embodiments, during the cruise of the aerial vehicle, when a deceleration command is received, a change in the operating state of the horizontal thruster is controlled to cause the horizontal propulsion assembly to generate drag; and when the deceleration is complete, a change in the operating state of the horizontal thruster is controlled to provide horizontal thrust for the cruise of the aerial vehicle. It will be appreciated that the horizontal thruster can be used both to generate drag when decelerating and to provide horizontal thrust for cruising to keep the aerial vehicle at a constant speed or to accelerate it, resulting in better maneuverability of the aerial vehicle.”)
calculating a target thrust acceleration magnitude of the multi-rotor unmanned aerial vehicle from the magnitude of the target specific force acceleration and the magnitude of the drag acceleration received by the multi-rotor unmanned aerial vehicle (see at least the combination of Jager and Yan; for example see at least Jager teaching determining the target thrust as cited above [0068-0076] and Jager abstract “The flight controller in response to the UAV crossing a switch point, located at an intersection of the distal section and the proximal section, changing a deceleration rate of the UAV from a first deceleration rate to a second deceleration rate by adjusting the electric speed controller and the thrust motors.” See also [0005] “The flight controller, in response to the distance being less than a threshold distance, is configured to control a speed and thrust applied by the thrust motors through the electric speed controller to reduce both the first component and the second component of the velocity of the UAV based on the distance.” See also [0010} “… The electronic speed controller (ESC) is in communication with one or more thrust motors and configured to control a speed and a thrust of the one or more thrust motors. The sensor subsystem includes a navigation to determine a location and orientation of the UAV. The virtual wall behavior engine is configured to determine a no-fly zone and determine a zone of deceleration comprising a distal section, a proximal section, and a switch point located at an intersection of the distal section and the proximal sec See also claim 1tion. A power subsystem is configured to manage and supply power to the one or more thrust motors so that a rate of deceleration is changed from a first deceleration rate to a second deceleration rate as the UAV crosses the switch point.” See also claim 1., See also Yan which teaches a specific force acceleration adjustment command according to the acceleration adjustment command and wherein the thrust is adjusted according to the specific force acceleration adjustment command . For example see at least Yan, wherein drag corresponds to the special force acceleration adjustment, [0068-0076] “[0071] Optionally, when a deceleration command is received during the cruise of the aerial vehicle, the rotational speed of the horizontal thruster may be controlled based on the current airspeed of the aerial vehicle so as to cause a drag on the horizontal propulsion assembly. For example, a current wind resistance of the horizontal thruster is determined based on the current airspeed of the aerial vehicle, and the rotational speed of the horizontal thruster is controlled to be reduced based on the current wind resistance of the horizontal thruster such that the horizontal thruster provides less pull or thrust than the current wind resistance of the horizontal thruster.” See also [0075] “In some embodiments, during the cruise of the aerial vehicle, when a deceleration command is received, a change in the operating state of the horizontal thruster is controlled to cause the horizontal propulsion assembly to generate drag; and when the deceleration is complete, a change in the operating state of the horizontal thruster is controlled to provide horizontal thrust for the cruise of the aerial vehicle. It will be appreciated that the horizontal thruster can be used both to generate drag when decelerating and to provide horizontal thrust for cruising to keep the aerial vehicle at a constant speed or to accelerate it, resulting in better maneuverability of the aerial vehicle.”); and
forming a target specific force acceleration magnitude adjustment command according to the target thrust acceleration magnitude (see at least Yan, wherein drag corresponds to the special force acceleration adjustment, [0068-0076] “[0071] Optionally, when a deceleration command is received during the cruise of the aerial vehicle, the rotational speed of the horizontal thruster may be controlled based on the current airspeed of the aerial vehicle so as to cause a drag on the horizontal propulsion assembly. For example, a current wind resistance of the horizontal thruster is determined based on the current airspeed of the aerial vehicle, and the rotational speed of the horizontal thruster is controlled to be reduced based on the current wind resistance of the horizontal thruster such that the horizontal thruster provides less pull or thrust than the current wind resistance of the horizontal thruster.” See also [0075] “In some embodiments, during the cruise of the aerial vehicle, when a deceleration command is received, a change in the operating state of the horizontal thruster is controlled to cause the horizontal propulsion assembly to generate drag; and when the deceleration is complete, a change in the operating state of the horizontal thruster is controlled to provide horizontal thrust for the cruise of the aerial vehicle. It will be appreciated that the horizontal thruster can be used both to generate drag when decelerating and to provide horizontal thrust for cruising to keep the aerial vehicle at a constant speed or to accelerate it, resulting in better maneuverability of the aerial vehicle.”)
Regarding claim 7, the combination Jager, Yan and Yu teach the method according to claim 3, wherein the forming the specific force acceleration adjustment command of the multi-rotor unmanned aerial vehicle according to the target angular acceleration adjustment command and the target specific force acceleration magnitude adjustment command comprises:
performing control allocation on the target angular acceleration adjustment command and the target specific force acceleration magnitude adjustment command by using an unmanned aerial vehicle dynamic model, and forming the specific force acceleration adjustment command of the multi-rotor unmanned aerial vehicle according to the allocation result (see at least Yan for the target specific force acceleration magnitude adjustment command, for example see at least Yan, wherein drag corresponds to the special force acceleration adjustment, [0068-0076] “[0071] Optionally, when a deceleration command is received during the cruise of the aerial vehicle, the rotational speed of the horizontal thruster may be controlled based on the current airspeed of the aerial vehicle so as to cause a drag on the horizontal propulsion assembly. For example, a current wind resistance of the horizontal thruster is determined based on the current airspeed of the aerial vehicle, and the rotational speed of the horizontal thruster is controlled to be reduced based on the current wind resistance of the horizontal thruster such that the horizontal thruster provides less pull or thrust than the current wind resistance of the horizontal thruster.” See also [0075] “In some embodiments, during the cruise of the aerial vehicle, when a deceleration command is received, a change in the operating state of the horizontal thruster is controlled to cause the horizontal propulsion assembly to generate drag; and when the deceleration is complete, a change in the operating state of the horizontal thruster is controlled to provide horizontal thrust for the cruise of the aerial vehicle. It will be appreciated that the horizontal thruster can be used both to generate drag when decelerating and to provide horizontal thrust for cruising to keep the aerial vehicle at a constant speed or to accelerate it, resulting in better maneuverability of the aerial vehicle.” See at least Yu for performing control allocation on the target angular acceleration adjustment command by using an unmanned aerial vehicle dynamic model. For example see at least Yu [0135] “Thus, both feedforward and feedback may be used for control of the angular acceleration. The feedforward model parameters can improve response time of the control system, while the feedback control can compensate for model errors and dynamic disturbances. Since the angular velocity control can be directly regarded as the entire aircraft's roll torque control, the response time to external disturbances can be even shorter and the suppression effect better than system that do not use this control scheme. The feedforward loop may enable the angular acceleration loop to act as a direct control, so the response time may be short. Disturbances may be directly suppressed, reducing response time.” See also [0102-0103] of Yu discussing models of the dynamics of flight “The systems and methods described herein may model the dynamics of aircraft flight and develop a control scheme to stabilize the attitude of a multi-rotor aircraft, of which the configuration manifold can be nonlinear. …Modeling of the multi-rotor aircraft can include kinematics and dynamics analysis of the multi-rotor and system identification of the actuators (e.g., motor, rotor, and/or propeller).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4-5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the references, taken alone, or in combination discloses “calculating a direction of the target specific force acceleration from the target acceleration in the acceleration adjustment command”, “taking a unit vector perpendicular to the direction of the target specific force acceleration and the direction of the current specific force acceleration of the multi-rotor unmanned aerial vehicle as an axis vector”, “calculating an included angle value from the direction of the target specific force acceleration and the direction of the current specific force acceleration”, “rotating the current specific force acceleration about the axis vector by the included angle value to obtain a target angular speed” and “obtaining a target angular acceleration adjustment command of the multi-rotor unmanned aerial vehicle according to the target angular speed” in combination with the other limitations of claim 4.
Claim 5 is allowable because it depends from claim 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
D’Andrea (US-20160152321-A1) is cited for showing control of the parameters of a UAV in flight including angular acceleration, angular velocity [0089-0090] and thrust force (abstract0, drag [0043], gravity [0078] relevant to the claims in the instant application.
/JENNIFER M ANDA/Examiner, Art Unit 3662