DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action represents the first action on the merits.
Claim(s) 1-17 are pending
Priority
This Application claims priority to Provisional Application No. 63616150, filed 29 December 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1,16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites a system, method and non-transitory computer readable medium, which are within a statutory category. The limitations of:
Claim(s) 1,16-17 (Claim 1 being representative)
receive, a request for a risk prediction for a future endoscopic procedure, wherein the request includes procedural information related to at least one of historical endoscopic procedure information or proposed endoscopic procedural information for the future endoscopic procedure;
and output, a risk prediction alert associated with performance of the future endoscopic procedure, wherein the risk prediction is based on risk information associated with one or more risks to at least one of a patient, a physician, or an additional healthcare professional based on at least one of biographical information or the proposed endoscopic procedural information.
as drafted, is a process that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers certain methods of organizing human activity (i.e., managing personal behavior including following rules or instructions) but for recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting a medical alert system comprising memory and processor, and non-transitory computer-readable medium, the claimed invention amounts to managing personal behavior or interaction between people. For example, but for the medical alert system comprising memory and processor, and non-transitory computer-readable medium, this claim encompasses receiving requests for a risk prediction and outputting said risk prediction, in the manner described in the identified abstract idea, supra. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing personal behavior or interactions between people but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements of a medical alert system comprising memory and processor, and non-transitory computer-readable medium that implement the identified abstract idea. The medical alert system comprising memory and processor, and non-transitory computer-readable medium are not described by the applicant and is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a generic server performing generic computer functions) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims further recite the additional element of a communication interface. The communication interface merely generally links the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) indicates that generally linking an abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use cannot provide a practical application. Accordingly, even in combination, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a medical alert system comprising memory and processor, and non-transitory computer-readable medium to perform the noted steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept (“significantly more”).
Also, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of a communication interface was determined to generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. This has been re-evaluated under the “significantly more” analysis and has also been found insufficient to provide significantly more. MPEP 2106.05(A) indicates that generally linking an abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use cannot provide significantly more. Accordingly, even in combination, this additional element does not provide significantly more. As such the claims are not patent eligible.
Claims 2-14 are similarly rejected because they either further define/narrow the abstract idea and/or do not further limit the claim to a practical application or provide as inventive concept such that the claims are subject matter eligible even when considered individually or as an ordered combination.
Claim(s) 2 merely describe(s) using a model based on historical data, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 3 merely describe(s) what the model comprises, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 3 also includes “training a machine learning model.” When given its broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the disclosure, the training of a machine learning model by supervised learning represents the creation of mathematical interrelationships between data. As such, the training of the machine learning model represents a mathematical concept that is interpreted to be part of the identified abstract idea, supra. The types of identified abstract ideas are considered together as a single abstract idea for analysis purposes.
Claim(s) 4 merely describe(s) receiving feedback, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 5 merely describe(s) receiving and displaying feedback information, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 5 also includes the additional elements of a “device” and “user interface” which is analyzed the same as the “a communication interface” and does not provide a practical application or significantly more for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 6 merely describe(s) what the feedback information contains, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 2,6 also includes the additional element of using a trained machine learning model to generate a risk prediction. This represents mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer. Implementing an abstract idea using a generic computer or components thereof does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. See, e.g., Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox Corp., No. 2023-2437 at 10 (Fed. Cir. April 18, 2025) (finding that claims that do no more than apply established methods of machine learning to a new data environment are ineligible). Alternatively, or in addition, the implementation of the trained machine learning model to generate a risk prediction merely confines the use of the abstract idea (i.e., the trained model) to a particular technological environment or field of use (neural network) and thus fails to add an inventive concept to the claims.
Claim(s) 6 also includes the additional elements of a “camera” which is analyzed the same as the “a communication interface” and does not provide a practical application or significantly more for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 7 merely describe(s) receiving risk tolerances or goals of the procedure, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 8 merely describe(s) outputting recommendation, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 9-11 merely describe(s) the ergonomic interventions, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 12-14 merely describe(s) the biographic information, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The Examiner notes that the rejection will reference the translated documents (attached) corresponding to any foreign documents recited in the rejection.
Claims 1-4, 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wolf et al (US Publication No. 20200273575) in view of BALASUBRAMANIAN et al (US Publication No. 20170154162) in view of WOLF’216 et al (Foreign Publication WO-2021207016-A1).
Regarding Claim 1
Wolf teaches a medical alert system for predicted risks in endoscopic procedures, comprising:
a communication interface [Wolf at Para. 0218 teaches the request of the user may be received from a computing device which may include a user interface enabling the user to make the request];
memory; at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to [Wolf at Para. 0314 teaches similarly, systems and devices consistent with the present disclosure may include at least one processor and memory, and the memory may be a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. As used herein, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium refers to any type of physical memory on which information or data readable by at least one processor can be stored]:
[ … ] … wherein the request includes procedural information related to at least one of historical endoscopic procedure information or proposed endoscopic procedural information for the future endoscopic procedure [Wolf at Para. 0010 teaches the embodiments may further include accessing historical data associated with historical surgical footage of prior surgical procedures, wherein the historical data includes information that distinguishes portions of the historical surgical footage into frames associated with intraoperative surgical events and frames not associated with surgical activity];
Wolf does not teach receive, at the communication interface of the medical alert system, a request for a risk prediction for a future endoscopic procedure, … [ … ]
and output, via the communication interface, a risk prediction alert associated with performance of the future endoscopic procedure, wherein the risk prediction is based on risk information associated with one or more risks to at least one of a patient, a physician, or an additional healthcare professional based on at least one of biographical information or the proposed endoscopic procedural information.
BALASUBRAMANIAN teaches receive, at the communication interface of the medical alert system, a request for a risk prediction for a future endoscopic procedure [BALASUBRAMANIAN at Para. 0018 teaches the system further includes a risk assessment unit programmed to compute a risk of an adverse reaction in the patient based on the information about the patient and the information about the upcoming medical procedure acquired by the data acquisition unit. The system also includes a risk alert unit programmed to present an indication of the risk in a visually perceptible form in advance of the medical procedure (interpret to combine with endoscopic procedure of Wolf); BALASUBRAMANIAN at Para. 0042 teaches assessment can be done automatically once the information is collected, or it can be done at a later time, such as upon request of a user], … [ … ]
[ … ] … wherein the risk prediction is based on risk information associated with one or more risks to at least one of a patient, a physician, or an additional healthcare professional based on at least one of biographical information or the proposed endoscopic procedural information [BALASUBRAMANIAN at Para. 0013 teaches in some non-limiting embodiments, the information about the patient includes one or more of a patient's age, sex, underlying medical conditions, hematologic conditions, medications, and history of adverse reactions to contrast media. Further, the patient information may be acquired from a hospital system selected from a radiology information system, an electronic medical record system, and a laboratory information system; BALASUBRAMANIAN at Para. 0014 teaches in certain non-limiting embodiments, the risk is predicted by comparing the information about the patient and the medical procedure to one or more risk factors stored in memory].
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine processor of Wolf with the prediction of BALASUBRAMANIAN with the motivation to improve the effectiveness of risk assessments.
Wolf/BALASUBRAMANIAN do not teach and output, via the communication interface, a risk prediction alert associated with performance of the future endoscopic procedure, … [ … ]
WOLF’216 teaches and output, via the communication interface, a risk prediction alert associated with performance of the future endoscopic procedure [WOLF’216 at Para. 000233 teaches some aspects of the disclosure may involve operations may include triggering an intra- surgical warning of a risk in an upcoming portion of the ongoing surgical procedure. The warning may be triggered using artificial intelligence by predicting a future event in the ongoing surgical procedure that may be associated with increased probabilities of patient complications], … [ … ]
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine the references of Wolf, BALASUBRAMANIAN with the alert of WOLF’216 with the motivation to improve efficiency and accuracy in data analysis.
Regarding Claim 2
Wolf/BALASUBRAMANIAN/WOLF’216 teach the medical alert system of claim 1,
Wolf/BALASUBRAMANIAN/WOLF’216 further teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
generate the risk prediction using a model based on historical endoscopic procedural information [WOLF’216 at Para. 000233 teaches Some aspects of the disclosure may involve operations may include triggering an intra- surgical warning of a risk in an upcoming portion of the ongoing surgical procedure. The warning may be triggered using artificial intelligence by predicting a future event in the ongoing surgical procedure that may be associated with increased probabilities of patient complications; WOLF’216 at Para. 000345 teaches a process of analyzing video frames may be performed by a suitable machine-learning model such as an image recognition algorithm, as described herein. In various embodiments, information obtained from stored historical data based on prior surgical procedures may be used to train the image recognition algorithm to assess aspects of surgical procedures by recognizing and comparing specific intraoperative events, actions, timings, etc. base on accessed frames of surgical footage, as described herein].
Regarding Claim 3
Wolf/BALASUBRAMANIAN/WOLF’216 teach the medical alert system of claim 2,
Wolf/BALASUBRAMANIAN/WOLF’216 further teach wherein the model comprises an artificial intelligence (AI) or machine learning (ML) model that is trained based on the historical endoscopic procedural information [Wolf at Para. 0198 teaches in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure, the historical data may include information that distinguishes portions of surgical footage into frames associated with intraoperative surgical events and frames not associated with surgical activity. The information may distinguish the portions of surgical footage in various ways. For example, in connection with historical surgical footage, frames associated with surgical and non-surgical activity may already have been distinguished. This may have previously occurred, for example, through manual flagging of surgical activity or through training of an artificial intelligence engine to distinguish between surgical and non-surgical activity. The historical information may identify, for example, a set of frames (e.g., using a starting frame number, a number of frames, an end frame number, etc.) of the surgical footage].
Regarding Claim 4
Wolf/BALASUBRAMANIAN/WOLF’216 teach the medical alert system of claim 3,
Wolf/BALASUBRAMANIAN/WOLF’216 further teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive, via the communication interface, feedback information for an endoscopy procedure of the patient including one or more of outcome information for the patient, the physician, or the additional healthcare professional [WOLF’216 at Para. 000274 teaches disclosed embodiments may involve updating a personnel record of the subject with a competency score. For example, an evaluation section of the subject in a personnel record of the subject may be updated based on the at least one competency score. Similarly, the method may include causing a competency score to populate an evaluation form of the subject. An evaluation form may permit a subject to receive feedback on his or her performance in a surgical procedure. An evaluation form may be related to an evaluation of a particular surgical procedure, a series of surgical procedures, intern rotation, etc].
Regarding Claim 12
Wolf/BALASUBRAMANIAN/WOLF’216 teach the medical alert system of claim 1,
Wolf/BALASUBRAMANIAN/WOLF’216 further teach wherein the biographical information of the patient comprises information related to one or more of physical features of the patient, medical conditions of the patient, or surgical history of the patient [Wolf at Para. 0126 teaches for example, patient characteristics (such as a patient's medical condition, age, weight, medical history, or other characteristics), surgeon skill level, difficulty of the procedure, type of procedure, or other factors may be considered in determining the estimated outcomes].
Regarding Claim 13
Wolf/BALASUBRAMANIAN/WOLF’216 teach the medical alert system of claim 1,
Wolf/BALASUBRAMANIAN/WOLF’216 further teach wherein the biographical information of the physician comprises information related to one or more of physical conditions of the physician, medical conditions of the physician, or experience of the physician in performing multiple endoscopic procedures [Wolf at Para. 0128 teaches these characteristics may include, but are not limited to, the medical professional's age, medical background, experience level (e.g., the number of times the surgeon has performed this or similar surgical procedures, the total number of surgical procedures the surgeon has performed, etc.), skill level, training history, success rate for this or other surgical procedures, or other characteristics that may be relevant].
Regarding Claim 14
Wolf/BALASUBRAMANIAN/WOLF’216 teach the medical alert system of claim 1,
Wolf/BALASUBRAMANIAN/WOLF’216 further teach wherein the biographical information of the additional healthcare professional comprises information related to physical conditions of the additional healthcare professional, medical conditions of the additional healthcare professional, or experience of the additional healthcare professional in performing multiple endoscopic procedures [Wolf at Para. 0126 (see Claim 12 for explanation)].
Regarding Claim 15
Wolf/BALASUBRAMANIAN/WOLF’216 teach the medical alert system of claim 1,
Wolf/BALASUBRAMANIAN/WOLF’216 further teach further comprising: receiving, via the communication interface of the medical alert system, the biographical information related to at least one of the patient, the physician, or the additional healthcare professional involved in an endoscopic procedure [Wolf at Para. 0180 teaches in another example, the stored event characteristic may include a patient characteristic. The term “patient characteristic” refers to any physical, sociological, economical, demographical or behavioral characteristics of the patient, and to characteristics of the medical history of the patient].
Claims 5-6, 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wolf, BALASUBRAMANIAN, WOLF’216 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of SHELTON et al (Foreign Publication WO-2022249093-A2).
Regarding Claim 5
Wolf/BALASUBRAMANIAN/WOLF’216 teach medical alert system of claim 4,
Wolf/BALASUBRAMANIAN/WOLF’216 do not teach wherein the feedback information is received at a device at or near a treatment room for the endoscopy procedure via a user interface that displays a question about one or more of whether manual pressure was used, whether the patient was repositioned, or an effect on the physician or the additional healthcare professional.
SHELTON teaches wherein the feedback information is received at a device at or near a treatment room for the endoscopy procedure via a user interface that displays a question about one or more of whether manual pressure was used, whether the patient was repositioned, or an effect on the physician or the additional healthcare professional [SHELTON at Para. 00420 teaches for example, based on the monitored data and the determined recommended position of the patient, the surgical computing system may determine whether the current patient position is proper. The surgical computing system may determine feedback based on the determination of whether the current patient position is proper. For example, feedback to change (e.g., and how to change) the patient positioning may be determined based on an improper positioning. Feedback confirming proper patient positioning may be determined if the monitored data indicates proper positioning].
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine the references of Wolf, BALASUBRAMANIAN, WOLF’216 with the feedback of SHELTON with the motivation to improve the wear and fatigue on the HCPs.
Regarding Claim 6
Wolf/BALASUBRAMANIAN/WOLF’216 teach the medical alert system of claim 4,
Wolf/BALASUBRAMANIAN/WOLF’216 further teach wherein the feedback information comprises video from a camera at a treatment room for the endoscopy procedure [Wolf at Para. 1038 teaches wherein the video footage includes images from at least one of an endoscope and an intracorporeal camera], … [ … ]
Wolf/BALASUBRAMANIAN/WOLF’216 do not teach [ … ] … and wherein the model is configured to associate a behavior, posture, or positioning identified from the video with a potential injury risk.
SHELTON teaches [ … ] … and wherein the model is configured to associate a behavior, posture, or positioning identified from the video with a potential injury risk [SHELTON at Para. 0053 teaches a computing system may analyze motions and postures of HCPs, for example, throughout a surgical procedure. The computing system may analyze motions and postures of HCPs throughout a procedure to identify improvements for posture, weightlifting, standing, and the like; SHELTON at Para. 00306 teaches at 37120, the surgical computing system may determine, based on the monitored data, a risk level to a healthcare professional in the OR. The surgical computing system may determine based on monitored data associated with air-born particles in the OR that the risk level is an elevated risk level. The surgical computing system may determine, based on one or more determine risk levels, one or more parameters for operating one or more systems in the OR. If the surgical computing system determines that the monitored data indicates an elevated risk, the surgical computing system may determine one or more parameters for an air filtration system associated with the OR (interpret to combine with video of Wolf)].
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine the references of Wolf, BALASUBRAMANIAN. WOLF’216 with the positioning of SHELTON with the motivation to improve surgical outcomes, and improve experience and/or wellbeing of the patient and the healthcare professional.
Regarding Claim 8
Wolf/BALASUBRAMANIAN/WOLF’216 teach the medical alert system of claim 1,
Wolf/BALASUBRAMANIAN/WOLF’216 do not teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: output a recommendation of one or more ergonomic interventions to be implemented by at least one of the patient, the physician, or the additional healthcare professional for an endoscopic procedure based on identification of the one or more risks.
SHELTON teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: output a recommendation of one or more ergonomic interventions to be implemented by at least one of the patient, the physician, or the additional healthcare professional for an endoscopic procedure based on identification of the one or more risks [SHELTON at Para. 0052 teaches systems, methods, and instrumentalities are disclosed for monitoring HCPs in a surgical procedure and providing parameters associated with improving wear on HCPs. The parameters may be indicated in control signals, recommendations, adjustments, and/or feedback. The parameters may be associated with ergonomic positioning. For example, a computing system may monitor surgeon motion, posture, and surgical access to create recommendations to improve wear on HCP; SHELTON at Para. 0053, 00306 (see Claim 6 for explanation)].
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine the references of Wolf/BALASUBRAMANIAN/WOLF’216 with the output of SHELTON with the motivation to improve surgical outcomes, and improve experience and/or wellbeing of the patient and the healthcare professional.
Claims 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wolf, BALASUBRAMANIAN, WOLF’216, SHELTON as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Srivastava et al (US Publication No. 8655682).
Regarding Claim 7
Wolf/BALASUBRAMANIAN/WOLF’216 teach the medical alert system of claim 1,
Wolf/BALASUBRAMANIAN/WOLF’216 further teach [ … ] … wherein the risk prediction alert is based on the preference information received at the communication interface [WOLF’216 at Para. 000233 (see Claim 2 for explanation)].
Wolf/BALASUBRAMANIAN/WOLF’216 do not teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, via the communication interface, preference information related to risk tolerances or goals of an endoscopy procedure, … [ … ]
Srivastava teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, via the communication interface, preference information related to risk tolerances or goals of an endoscopy procedure [Srivastava at Para. 89 teaches the system illustratively queries the patient with a patient preference tool specific to the question, and assesses a patient preference score for each option. The patient preference score may be based on, for example, the patient's risk tolerance, lifestyle values, and cost considerations. In addition, the patient preference score may be computed at least in part using a risk tolerance score (RTS). Specifically, the RTS assesses how the patient judges and prioritizes the inherent risks and benefits of each of the options. The RTS is a score/value designed to understand the general risk tolerance of the patient to each option], … [ … ]
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine the references of Wolf, BALASUBRAMANIAN, WOLF’216 with the preference of Srivastava with the motivation to improve treatment decisions.
Claims 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wolf, BALASUBRAMANIAN, WOLF’216 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of HATHORN et al (US Publication No. 20170042752).
Regarding Claim 9
Wolf/BALASUBRAMANIAN/WOLF’216/SHELTON teach the medical alert system of claim 8,
Wolf/BALASUBRAMANIAN/WOLF’216/SHELTON do not teach wherein the one or more ergonomic interventions comprises at least one of the patient utilizing a compression device during the endoscopic procedure, receiving a sedation, or physical manipulation.
HATHORN teaches wherein the one or more ergonomic interventions comprises at least one of the patient utilizing a compression device during the endoscopic procedure, receiving a sedation, or physical manipulation [HATHORN at Para. 0027 teaches compression may be applied to the abdomen of the patient using various compression devices. One example of a compression device that may be used to apply constant pressure to the abdomen of the patient during withdrawal of an endoscope is an elongated elastic band that is wrapped around the abdomen of the patient and secured].
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine the references of Wolf, BALASUBRAMANIAN, WOLF’216, SHELTON with the compression device of HATHORN with the motivation to improve adenoma detection during an endoscopy procedure.
Claims 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wolf, BALASUBRAMANIAN, WOLF’216, SHELTON as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Kaforey et al (US Publication No. 10188570).
Regarding Claim 10
Wolf/BALASUBRAMANIAN/WOLF’216/SHELTON teach the medical alert system of claim 8,
Wolf/BALASUBRAMANIAN/WOLF’216/SHELTON do not teach wherein the one or more ergonomic interventions comprises at least one of the physician utilizing hand dials, an anti-fatigue mat, or increasing a scheduled time duration for the endoscopic procedure.
Kaforey teaches wherein the one or more ergonomic interventions comprises at least one of the physician utilizing hand dials, an anti-fatigue mat, or increasing a scheduled time duration for the endoscopic procedure [Kaforey at Para. 3 teaches this application relates generally to absorbent, anti-fatigue, disposable floor mats for use during medical procedures, specifically absorbent, anti-fatigue, disposable floor mats that can be used during surgical procedures for the absorption of bodily fluids or medical liquids over the course of a surgical procedure, which fluids or liquids must be sanitarily contained and later removed from the procedural area (interpreted as anti-fatigue mat)].
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine the references of Wolf, BALASUBRAMANIAN, WOLF’216, SHELTON with the anti-fatigue mat of Kaforey with the motivation to increase energy and awareness for the medical personnel during the medical or surgical procedure.
Claims 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wolf, BALASUBRAMANIAN, WOLF’216, SHELTON as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of DEFONZO et al (Foreign Publication WO-2020005370-A1).
Regarding Claim 11
Wolf/BALASUBRAMANIAN/WOLF’216/SHELTON teach the medical alert system of claim 8,
Wolf/BALASUBRAMANIAN/WOLF’216/SHELTON do not teach wherein the one or more ergonomic interventions comprises at least one of the additional healthcare professional utilizing assistive equipment to assist in an application of external pressure on the patient or repositioning of the patient.
DEFONZO teaches wherein the one or more ergonomic interventions comprises at least one of the additional healthcare professional utilizing assistive equipment to assist in an application of external pressure on the patient or repositioning of the patient [DEFONZO at Para. 0080 teaches for example, pitch adjustments are particularly useful when trying to position the table in a Trendelenburg position, i.e., position the patient’s lower abdomen at a higher position from the floor than the patient’s lower abdomen, for lower abdominal surgery].
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine the references of Wolf, BALASUBRAMANIAN, WOLF’216, SHELTON with the patient positioning of DEFONZO with the motivation to improve the efficiency of the surgical workflow.
Claim 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over BALASUBRAMANIAN et al (US Publication No. 20170154162) in view of WOLF’216 et al (Foreign Publication WO-2021207016-A1).
Regarding Claim 16
BALASUBRAMANIAN teaches a method for providing a medical alert via a medical alert system for endoscopic procedures, comprising:
receiving, at a communication interface of the medical alert system, proposed endoscopic procedural information for a future endoscopic procedure [BALASUBRAMANIAN at Para. 0018, 0042 (see Claim 1 for explanation)];
[ … ] … wherein the risk prediction alert is based on risk information associated with one or more risks to at least one of a patient, a physician, or an additional healthcare professional based on at least one of biographical information or the proposed endoscopic procedural information [BALASUBRAMANIAN at Para. 0013-0014 (see Claim 1 for explanation)].
BALASUBRAMANIAN do not teach and outputting, via the communication interface, a risk prediction alert associated with performance of the future endoscopic procedure, … [ … ]
WOLF’216 teaches and outputting, via the communication interface, a risk prediction alert associated with performance of the future endoscopic procedure [WOLF’216 at Para. 000233 (see Claim 1 for explanation)], … [ … ]
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine information of BALASUBRAMANIAN with the alert of WOLF’216 with the motivation to improve efficiency and accuracy in data analysis.
Regarding Claim 17
BALASUBRAMANIAN teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for a medical alert system for endoscopic procedures, the code when executed by one or more processors causes the one or more processors to:
receive, at a communication interface of the medical alert system, proposed endoscopic procedural information for a future endoscopic procedure [BALASUBRAMANIAN at Para. 0018, 0042 (see Claim 1 for explanation)];
[ … ] … wherein the risk prediction alert is based on risk information associated with one or more risks to at least one of a patient, a physician, or an additional healthcare professional based on at least one of biographical information or the proposed endoscopic procedural information [BALASUBRAMANIAN at Para. 0013-0014 (see Claim 1 for explanation)].
BALASUBRAMANIAN does not teach and output, via the communication interface, a risk prediction alert associated with performance of the future endoscopic procedure, … [ … ]
WOLF’216 teaches and output, via the communication interface, a risk prediction alert associated with performance of the future endoscopic procedure [WOLF’216 at Para. 000233 (see CLaim 1 for explanation)], … [ … ]
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine information of BALASUBRAMANIAN with the alert of WOLF’216 with the motivation to improve efficiency and accuracy in data analysis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon in the present basis of rejection are noted in the attached PTO 892 and include:
Holmstrom et al (US Publication No. 20220046166) discloses methods, systems and techniques for analyzing images from endoscopic procedures.
Imler et al (US Publication No. 20170220743) discloses a method for making clinical recommendations.
/JONATHAN C EDOUARD/Examiner, Art Unit 3683
/JASON S TIEDEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3683