DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is responsive to claims filed on December 29, 2024.
Claims 1-20 are being examined in this office action.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” (or “step”) and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Such claim limitations are:
A means for reversibly retracting (Claim 20)
A means for reversibly latching (Claim 20)
The means (claim 20)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is:
fastener driving mechanism (Claim 14)
**Examiner notes that the limitation “pusher assembly” recited in claims 1-20 is not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) due to the following recitations:
having a pusher assembly knob and a pusher (claim 1);
comprises a spring located between the pusher assembly knob and the pusher (claim 5)
free of a compressive spring between the pusher assembly knob and a portion of the pusher (claim 6)
a pivot about which a pivot stem can move to release the pusher assembly knob from the detent (claim 8)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
A means for reversibly maintaining is disclosed briefly in Applicant’s Specification [27] [29] as being a detent, latch, or stop, however no further structure is provided for the means for reversibly latching, as recited in claim 20. Please note, that because the recitation differs (i.e. maintaining vs latching), the Specification is not deemed to provide structure. Furthermore, no further structure is provided for the means for reversibly retracting, recited in claim 20, or the fastener driving mechanism, recited in claim 14.
Claims 15-17 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claims 14-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations: “fastener driving mechanism” recited in claim 14 and “means for reversibly latching” and “means for reversibly retracting” recited in claim 20 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
A means for reversibly latching and retracting are deemed to be exemplary of the common state of the art whereby a means for reversibly latching is most commonly used to hold an object in place, whereas a means for reversibly retracting is most commonly used to withdraw, or pull back an object. A means for reversibly maintaining is disclosed briefly in Applicant’s Specification [27] [29] as being a detent, latch, or stop, however no further structure is provided for the means for reversibly latching, as recited in claim 20. Please note, that because the recitation differs (i.e. maintaining vs latching), the Specification is not deemed to provide structure. Furthermore, no further structure is provided for the means for reversibly retracting, recited in claim 20.
Furthermore, a is fastener driving mechanism is deemed to be exemplary of the common state of the art whereby a fastener driving mechanism is most commonly used to impart a force, or drive, a fastener in a desired direction. However, no structure is provided in Applicant’s Specification.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the means” in line 20. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 15-17 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-3 of prior U.S. Patent No. 11,179,836 B2. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 9,827,658 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant application and the U.S. Patent No. ‘658 recite a fastening device and a magazine for a fastening device.
In addition, claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,179,836 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant application and the U.S. Patent No. ‘836 recite a magazine for a fastening device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arata et al. (US 2009/0200354 A1, herein Arata).
Regarding claim 1, Arata discloses [0060-0063] a magazine (magazine 30, Fig. 7) for a fastening device (fastener driving tool 1, Fig. 1), comprising:
a pusher assembly (pusher holding device 70, Fig. 7) adapted to have an engaged state and a retracted state,
the pusher assembly (70) having a pusher assembly knob (push button 71a and stopper rod 71, Fig. 7) and a pusher (pusher 32 having a feeding claw 32a, Figs. 4 and 7);
the pusher adapted to contact a fastener and to impart a force upon the fastener in a direction (fastener feeding direction P, Fig. 7) toward a nose end of the magazine when the pusher assembly (70) is in the engaged state;
a recess (31b) (Fig. 4) [0038] into which the pusher (32, 32a) is reversibly retracted at least in part when the pusher assembly knob (71a, 71) is moved to reversibly retract the pusher (32, 32a) to achieve the retracted state;
a detent (L-shaped notch-like engaging recess 74, Fig. 7) adapted to reversibly maintain the pusher assembly (70) in the retracted state; and
the pusher assembly knob (71 a, 71) adapted to reversibly latch (via hook portion 71b, Fig. 7) to the detent (74).
Regarding claim 2, Arata discloses wherein the detent (74) has a latch portion (71b) to which the pusher assembly knob (71 a, 71) is reversibly latched when the pusher assembly (70) is in the retracted state.
Regarding claim 3, Arata discloses wherein the detent (74) has a detent base end (as shown in an annotated Fig. 7, below) to which the pusher assembly knob (71a, 71) is reversibly latched when the pusher assembly (70) is in the retracted state.
Fig. 7, Arata, annotated
Regarding claim 5, Arata discloses wherein the pusher assembly (70) comprises a spring (73) located between the pusher assembly knob (71a, 71) and the pusher (32).
Please note, regarding the recitation, “the spring allowing the pusher assembly knob to be tilted to achieve an unlatched state from a latched state," is a statement of intended use. Accordingly, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding claim 10, Arata discloses wherein a guide frame (magazine body, 31) comprises the detent (74).
Regarding claim 11, Arata discloses wherein the detent (74) is located proximate to a pusher assembly (70) guide path (in the direction of feeding direction, P, as shown in Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 12, Arata discloses wherein the pusher assembly (70) is biased by a constant force spring (73, Fig. 7).
Regarding claims 13 and 17, Arata discloses in which the fastening tool (1) is a nailer and the fastener is a nail [0036].
Regarding claim 14, Arata discloses [0060-0063] a fastening device (1), comprising:
a nosepiece adapted to receive a fastener (n) from a magazine (30) (Figs. 1,3);
a power source (i.e. switch lever coupled to a control device for controlling a compressed air as a drive source) [0034-0035] adapted to power a fastener driving mechanism which can drive the fastener into a workpiece when triggered;
a pusher assembly (70) (Fig. 7) adapted to have an engaged state and a retracted state;
the pusher assembly (70) having a pusher assembly knob (71a, 71) and a pusher (32, 32a);
the pusher (32, 32a) adapted to contact a fastener and to impart a force upon the fastener in a direction (P) toward the nosepiece when the pusher assembly (70) is in the engaged state;
a recess (31b) (Fig. 4) [0038] into which the pusher (32, 32a) is reversibly retracted at least in part when the pusher assembly knob (71a, 71) is moved to reversibly retract the pusher (32, 32a) to achieve the retracted state; and
a detent (74) adapted to reversibly maintain the pusher assembly (70) in the retracted state.
Regarding claim 15, Arata discloses wherein the detent (74) has a latch (hook portion 71b, Fig. 7) to which the pusher assembly knob (70) is reversibly latched when the pusher (32, 32a) is in the retracted state.
Regarding claim 18, Arata discloses [0060-0063] a method for loading fasteners into a magazine (magazine 30, Fig. 7) of a fastening device (fastener driving tool 1, Fig. 1), comprising the steps of:
providing the magazine having a pusher assembly (pusher holding device 70, Fig. 7) adapted to have an engaged state and a retracted state, the pusher assembly (70) having a pusher assembly knob (push button 71a and stopper rod 71, Fig. 7) connected to a pusher (pusher 32 having a feeding claw 32a, Figs. 4 and 7), the pusher adapted to contact a fastener and to impart a force upon the fastener in a direction (fastener feeding direction P, Fig. 7) [0036] [0040] toward a nose end of the magazine when the pusher assembly (70) is in the engaged state;
providing a recess (31b) (Fig. 4) [0038] of the magazine into which the pusher (32, 32a) is reversibly retracted at least in part when the pusher assembly knob (71a, 71) is moved to reversibly retract the pusher (32, 32a) to achieve the retracted state;
providing a detent (L-shaped notch-like engaging recess 74, Fig. 7) of the magazine adapted to reversibly maintain the pusher assembly (70) in the retracted state, and the pusher assembly knob is adapted to reversibly latch (via hook portion 71b, Fig. 7) to the detent (74);
reversibly retracting the pusher assembly into the retracted state (see annotated Fig. 7, Arata, above);
maintaining the pusher assembly in the retracted state [0040];
feeding one or more fasteners to the track [0040]; and
engaging the pusher assembly from the retracted state into the engaged state [0040].
Regarding claim 19, Arata discloses in which the step of feeding one or more fasteners into the track, further comprises feeding one or more nails into the track [0036] (“fastener stick N consists of a plurality of parallel fasteners n that are joined in series with each other. For example, the fasteners n may be nails.”)
Alternatively, regarding claim 1, Arata discloses [0057-0059] a magazine (magazine 30, Fig. 6) for a fastening device (fastener driving tool 1, Fig. 1), comprising:
a pusher assembly adapted to have an engaged state and a retracted state,
the pusher assembly having a pusher assembly knob (stopper, 61, Fig. 6) and a pusher (pusher, 32);
the pusher adapted to contact a fastener and to impart a force upon the fastener in a direction (fastener feeding direction P, Fig. 7) toward a nose end of the magazine when the pusher assembly is in the engaged state;
a recess (31b) (Fig. 4) [0038] into which the pusher (32) is reversibly retracted at least in part when the pusher assembly knob (61) is moved to reversibly retract the pusher (32) to achieve the retracted state; and
a detent (engaging recess, 63, Fig. 6) adapted to reversibly maintain the pusher assembly in the retracted state; and
the pusher assembly knob (61) adapted to reversibly latch to the detent (63).
Regarding claim 6, Arata discloses (i.e. third embodiment, [0057-0059]) the claimed invention, as stated above.
The third embodiment of Arata further teaches wherein the pusher assembly is free of a compressive spring between the pusher assembly knob (61) (Fig. 6) and a portion of the pusher (32).
Regarding claim 7, Arata discloses (i.e. third embodiment, [0057-0059]) the claimed invention as stated above.
The third embodiment of Arata further teaches wherein the pusher assembly knob (61) can be pivoted to release the pusher assembly knob (61) (Fig. 6) from the detent (63) to achieve an unlatched state from a latched state.
Regarding claim 8, Arata discloses (i.e. third embodiment, [0057-0059]) the claimed invention as stated above.
The third embodiment of Arata further teaches a pivot (support shaft, 62) (Fig. 6) about which a pivot stem (61) can move to release the pusher assembly knob from the detent to achieve an unlatched state from a latched state.
Regarding claim 20, Arata discloses [0057-0059] a means for reversibly retracting (Fig. 6) a pusher assembly, comprising:
a means for reversibly latching (i.e. support shaft, 62, Fig. 6; Arata) a pusher assembly knob (61) to a detent (63);
wherein the means for reversibly latching (62) the pusher assembly knob (61) to the detent (63) is adapted to reversibly latch a portion of the pusher assembly knob to the detent when the pusher assembly is in a retracted state; and
wherein the means (62) is adapted to unlatch the pusher assembly knob (61) when a pivoting motion is imparted to the pusher assembly knob (61).
Alternatively, claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Perra et al. (US 5,297,713, herein Perra).
Regarding claim 18, Perra discloses a method for loading fasteners into a magazine (16) of a fastening device (10), comprising the steps of:
providing a magazine (16) having a pusher assembly (110,116) adapted to have an engaged state and a retracted state, the pusher assembly (110,116) having a pusher assembly knob (116) connected to a pusher (110), the pusher (110) adapted to contact a fastener and to impart a force upon the fastener in a direction toward a nose end (14) of the magazine (16) when the pusher assembly (110,116) is in the engaged state;
providing a recess (160) of the magazine (16) into which the pusher (110) is reversibly retracted at least in part when the pusher assembly knob (116) is moved to reversibly retract the pusher (110) to achieve the retracted state;
providing a detent (150,152, Fig. 3) of the magazine adapted to reversibly maintain the pusher assembly (110,116) in the retracted state, and the pusher assembly knob (116) is adapted to reversibly latch to the detent (Col. 6, lines 62-68);
reversibly retracting the pusher assembly (110,116) into the retracted state;
maintaining the pusher assembly (110,116) in the retracted state;
feeding one or more fasteners to the track; and
engaging the pusher assembly from the retracted state into the engaged state (by reversing the steps).
Regarding claim 19, Perra discloses (Col. 4, lines 48-54) in which the step of feeding one or more fasteners into the track, further comprises feeding one or more nails into the track.
Regarding claim 20, Perra discloses a means for reversibly retracting (142) a pusher assembly (110, Fig. 1), comprising:
a means for reversibly latching (112,Fig. 3) a pusher assembly knob (116, Figs. 1,3) to a detent (150,152, Fig. 3);
wherein the means for reversibly latching (112) a pusher assembly knob (116) to the detent (150,152) is adapted to reversibly latch a portion of the pusher assembly knob (116) to the detent (150,152) when the pusher assembly knob (116) is in a retracted state; and
wherein the means (112) is adapted to unlatch the pusher assembly knob when a pivoting motion is imparted to the pusher assembly knob.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arata.
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Arata discloses (i.e. fourth embodiment, [0060-0063]) the claimed invention as stated above.
The fourth embodiment of Arata does not expressly disclose wherein said detent (74) has a spring latch.
Arata (i.e. second embodiment; [0054-0056]) teaches a detent (engaging member 51, Fig. 5) having a spring latch (i.e. leaf spring) to which the pusher assembly knob is reversibly latched when the pusher assembly is in the retracted state.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time applicant's invention was made, to have modified the detent (74, Fig. 7) as taught by Arata (i.e. fourth embodiment), by incorporating the spring loaded detent (51, Fig. 5) as taught by Arata (i.e. second embodiment). Doing so would provide an alternative rapid, manual means to easily remove clogged fasteners within the fastener driving channel [0056].
Regarding claim 9, Arata discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the pusher assembly knob has a knob clearance of 0.05 mm or greater when the pusher assembly is in an engaged state. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to adjust the pusher assembly knob clearance, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
/Praachi M Pathak/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
February 10, 2026