DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1 is pending in Instant Application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of 63616022 filed 12/29/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 07/28/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mathews (U.S. Patent Application: 20170093654) in view of Cella et al., “hereinafter Cella” (U.S. Patent Application: 20180284736) and further in view of Moskal (U.S. Patent Application: 20170351841).
As per Claim 1, Mathews discloses a system comprising:
a QoE environment comprising a data aggregator and one or more wireless routers (Mathews, Para.196, The router 546 may also include a quality of service (QoS) module 2826. The QoS module 2826 applies a quality of service policy to the communication signals passing therethrough., Para.95, the gateway device 22 may include an aggregation and transformation module 466. The aggregation and transformation module 466 aggregates content from broadband sources, video sources such as the satellite and other sources available through the wide area network, Para.193, The gateway device 22 may include the router 546 illustrated in FIG. 1, Para.109, A router 546 within the network processor 410B is used to route signals to the WAN, Para.110, The WAN module 552 provides wired access to the internet through a wide area network connection. Both wired and wireless connections may be used.);
and one or more QoE monitors, wherein the QoE monitors are capable of connecting to the environment's wireless router to communicate with the data aggregator (Mathews, Para.118, monitors the heartbeat of the connection to determine if a connection is still in place. In step 722, when the connection is active, the gateway device and mobile device continue to use the connection through the exchange of signals, Para.208, monitored by the monitoring module 3110 may include, but are not limited to, the network processor functions, the media processor functions, the Wi-Fi and MoCa® interfacing, the packet processing and DVR communication.);
However Mathews does not disclose wherein upon connecting to the QoE environment the QoE monitors obtain an active or inactive status, and if active automatically begin collecting and communicating QoE data to the data aggregator without user input.
Cella discloses upon connecting to the QoE environment the QoE monitors obtain an active or inactive status, and if active automatically begin collecting and communicating QoE data to the data aggregator without user input (Cella, Para.496, A system for data collection in such an assembly environment may include sensors that detect a wide range of conditions as well as at a large number of positions along the transport path. As a product progresses down the path, some sensors may be active and others, such as those that the product has passed may be inactive. A data collection system may use an analog crosspoint switch to select only those sensors that are currently or anticipated to be active by switching from inputs that connect to inactive sensors to those that connect to active sensors and thereby provide the most useful sensor signals to data detection and/or collection and/or processing facilities. In embodiments, the analog crosspoint switch may be configured by a conveyor control system that monitors product activity and instructs the analog crosspoint switch to direct different inputs to specific outputs based on a control program or data collection template associated with the assembly environment.).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Mathews with the teachings as in Cella. The motivation for doing so would have been for a monitoring system for data collection in an industrial environment, the system according to one disclosed non-limiting embodiment of the present disclosure can include a data collector communicatively coupled to a plurality of input channels and to a network infrastructure, wherein the data collector collects data from a subset of the plurality of input channels based on a selected data collection routine, a data storage structured to store a plurality of collector routes and collected data that correspond to the subset of the plurality of input channels, wherein the plurality of collector routes each includes a different data collection routine, a data acquisition circuit structured to interpret a plurality of detection values from the collected data, each of the plurality of detection values corresponding to at least one of the plurality of input channels, and a data analysis circuit structured to analyze the collected data and determine an aggregate rate of data being collected from the subset of the plurality of input channels, wherein if the aggregate rate exceeds a current bandwidth allocation rate associated with the network infrastructure, then the data analysis circuit requests an increase to the current bandwidth allocation rate from the network infrastructure. (Cella, Para.06).
However Mathews in view of Cella does not disclose automatically begin collecting without user input.
Moskal discloses automatically begin collecting without user input (Para.24, Reports may also be sent automatically, without requiring user input, on a scheduled basis, or in response to certain rules being met (e.g., alarm triggered, a certain number of alarms triggered, a certain number of override or reprogram events, loss of connection, etc.).)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Mathews, Cella with the teachings as in Moskal. The motivation for doing so would have been for directed to a server computer configured to monitor and process medical device data for presentation on a user interface. The server computer comprises a network interface circuit configured to provide communications over a network and also comprises a processing circuit. The processing circuit is configured to receive at configurable time intervals a medical device status message from a medical device over the network; set a device last connection time, comprising a date and time that a most recent status message was received over the network by the server computer from the medical device (Moskal, Para.06).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NORMIN ABEDIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449