Claim Status
Claims 21-40 are pending. This Office action is a corrected non-final rejection addressing inadvertently (hidden under wrong document type) overlooked Preliminary Amended set of claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21, 28 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites “in accordance with a determination, based on the new hierarchy-issue type
association data record, that the first issue type and a second issue type of the second issue
are not hierarchically related via the different hierarchy level.”
The above limitation is indefinite because the specification does not support second issue. The broadest reasonable interpretation will be given to “second issue” as would be obvious to one of ordinary skill ion the art. Furthermore, the relationship, if any, to first issue cannot be determined.
Claims 28 and 35 include similar language as claim 21.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 26-27, 29-30, 34 and 36-37 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
26. The computer-implemented method of claim 21, further comprising:
prior to storing the new hierarchy-issue type association data record, identifying an initial
set of hierarchy-issue type associations based on the configurable project hierarchy;
subsequent to storing the new hierarchy-issue type association data record, identifying a
modified set of hierarchy-issue type associations based on the configurable project hierarchy;
evaluating the initial set of hierarchy-issue type associations against the modified set of
hierarchy-issue type associations to identify a set of non-matched issue type pairs; and
modifying one or more records of the configurable project hierarchy that are associated
with the non-matched issue type pairs to break a set of relationships corresponding to the set of
non-matched issue type pairs within the configurable project hierarchy.
27. The computer-implemented method of claim 26, wherein modifying the one or
more records of the configurable project hierarchy is performed asynchronously; and
one or more additional user interactions with the user interface are received prior to
modifying all of the one or more records of the configurable project hierarchy.
29 The method of claim 28, wherein prior to creating the new hierarchy-issue type
association data record, the method further comprises:
determining whether the new hierarchy level is a topmost hierarchy level or a
bottommost hierarchy level; and
in response to determining that the new hierarchy level is a topmost hierarchy level or
bottommost hierarchy level, evaluating a user permissions associated with a user accessing the
user interface to determine whether the user satisfies a permissions criteria for adding the
topmost hierarchy level or the bottommost hierarchy level.
30. The method of claim 29, wherein the first issue type is a restricted issue type and the method further comprises: evaluating the user permissions associated with the user to determine whether the user satisfies a permissions criteria for creating the new hierarchy-issue type association data record.
34. The computer-implemented method of claim 31, the method further comprising:
in response to receiving a user selection of a particular issue of the set of issues,
updating the window to display an additional set of issues to which the particular issue is
associated.
36. The computer system of claim 35, wherein prior to creating the new hierarchy-issue type association data record, the executable instructions, upon execution by the processor
unit, are further configured to:
determine whether the new hierarchy level is a bottommost hierarchy level; and
in response to determining that the new hierarchy level is a bottommost hierarchy level,
evaluate a user permissions associated with a user accessing the user interface to determine
whether the user satisfies a permissions criteria for adding the bottommost hierarchy level.
37. The computer system of claim 36, wherein the first issue type is a restricted issue type, and the executable instructions, upon execution by the processor unit, are further configured to: evaluate the user permissions associated with the user accessing the user interface to determine whether the user satisfies a permissions criteria for creating the new hierarchy-issue
type association data record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vlasov (US 2021/0256474) in view of Zhang (US 11,238,030) in view of Bigelow (US 2009/0234721).
Examiner Note: Hereafter, above references will be entered as reference combination A.
Regarding claim 21, Vlasov discloses:
causing display, on a user device, of a user interface showing a hierarchical relationship
between a first issue and a second issue;
Vlasov [0041] Initially, an example environment in which the features of the present disclosure can be implemented and computer processing system will be described. Following this, various user interface features for displaying, creating, and editing work item dependencies and associated information are described.
receiving, from the user device, a request to change a hierarchy level associated with
the first issue to a different hierarchy level, the hierarchical relationship between the first issue
and the second issue defined by the configurable project hierarchy, the hierarchy level and the
different hierarchy level defined by the configurable project hierarchy; and
Vlasov discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Zhang discloses:
Zhang column 11 lines 35-45, At 416, the ITS client receives the hierarchy level added notification. The user can then perform various operations regarding the hierarchy level, for example by renaming the hierarchy level, moving (i.e. changing the level of) the hierarchy level, deleting the hierarchy level, querying issue types or issues associated with the hierarchy level, associating issue types with the hierarchy level, deleting issue types associated with the hierarchy level, and/or other operations.
Zhang abstract Described herein is a computer implemented method for maintaining a configurable project hierarchy. The method comprises creating a new hierarchy level data record and storing the new hierarchy level data record in a data store. The method further comprises receiving a request to associate a particular issue type with the new hierarchy level and, in response, creating a new hierarchy/issue type association data record including an identifier of the particular issue type and an identifier of the new hierarchy level identifier.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vlasov to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Zhang for the purpose of providing an issue tracking system to allow users to create their own types of issues (with associated data and workflows) and use those issue types for managing a given project (e.g. a helpdesk, a software development project, an alternative project) [column 1 lines 25-30].
Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to look to Zhang’s analogous art from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, see abstract, described herein is a computer implemented method for maintaining a configurable project hierarchy.
Based on the above there is reasonable expectation of success when combining Vlasov and Zhang to meet limitations of the claimed invention.
in response to receiving the request to change the hierarchy level associated with the
first issue to the different hierarchy level: creating a new hierarchy-issue type association data record including: an identifier for a first issue type of the first issue; and
Zhang col 9 lines 35-45 ER diagram 300 includes a hierarchy/issue type association data structure 308 (e.g. a database table) for creating records to store hierarchy/issue type association data 132. In the present example, the hierarchy/issue type association data structure 308 includes: a hierarchy level identifier and an issue type identifier. The hierarchy level identifier is used to identify a particular hierarchy level and thereby associate it with a particular issue type (as identified by the issue type identifier). Fields for storing additional data associated with a given hierarchy/issue type association could be provided (for example a date created field and/or other fields).
a new hierarchy level identifier corresponding to the different hierarchy
level;
Zhang abstract Described herein is a computer implemented method for maintaining a configurable project hierarchy. The method comprises creating a new hierarchy level data record and storing the new hierarchy level data record in a data store. The method further comprises receiving a request to associate a particular issue type with the new hierarchy level and, in response, creating a new hierarchy/issue type association data record including an identifier of the particular issue type and an identifier of the new hierarchy level identifier.
associating the first issue type with the different hierarchy level by storing the
new hierarchy-issue type association data record in a data store for the configurable project
hierarchy;
Zhang col 9 lines 35-45, ER diagram 300 includes a hierarchy/issue type association data structure 308 (e.g. a database table) for creating records to store hierarchy/issue type association data 132. In the present example, the hierarchy/issue type association data structure 308 includes: a hierarchy level identifier and an issue type identifier. The hierarchy level identifier is used to identify a particular hierarchy level and thereby associate it with a particular issue type (as identified by the issue type identifier). Fields for storing additional data associated with a given hierarchy/issue type association could be provided (for example a date created field and/or other fields).
in accordance with a determination, based on the new hierarchy-issue type
association data record, that the first issue type and a second issue type of the second issue
are not hierarchically related via the different hierarchy level,
Vlasov discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Bigelow discloses:
Bigelow claim 8, The system of claim 5, wherein the virtual sticky notes have hierarchical relationships, wherein when a child sticky note is associated with a parent sticky note a hierarchical relationship is established between the child sticky note and the parent sticky note, movement of the parent sticky note also moves the child sticky note, and movement of the child sticky note breaks the hierarchical relationship between the parent sticky note and the child sticky note [claim 8]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vlasov to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Bigelow for the purpose of using user contributed objects and content, virtual sticky notes, organizer tools and other items, and can support multiple security levels.
Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to look to Bigelow’s analogous art from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, i.e., the virtual sticky notes have hierarchical relationships, see above.
causing the user interface to indicate that no hierarchical relationship between the first issue and the second issue exists.
Vlasov claim 10, The computer implemented method claim 9, wherein the method further comprises: determining if the dependency relationship between the first and second work items is a broken dependency relationship; and in response to determining that the dependency relationship between the first and second work items is a broken dependency relationship, displaying the dependency path with a visual appearance indicating the dependency path represents a broken dependency relationship.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A.
Regarding claim 22, reference combination A discloses wherein causing the user
interface to indicate that no hierarchical relationship between the first issue and the second
issue exists includes:
causing display of a window displaying a hierarchical relationship between the first issue
and one or more other issues, wherein the second issue is not included in the one or more other
issues.
Vlasov claim 10, The computer implemented method claim 9, wherein the method further comprises: determining if the dependency relationship between the first and second work items is a broken dependency relationship; and in response to determining that the dependency relationship between the first and second work items is a broken dependency relationship, displaying the dependency path with a visual appearance indicating the dependency path represents a broken dependency relationship.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Weber (US 2003/0046308).
Regarding claim 23, reference combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein each issue of the one or more other issues is displayed proximate to a respective graphical element indicating whether the issue has been completed. However, Weber discloses:
Weber [0072] Once the user has successfully completed entering new issue data elements in issue display screen 32 and clicks next button 46, the user is preferably prompted to type additional details as displayed in FIG. 7. Display areas 50 and 52 of second issue data entry screen 56 preferably show data entered during the previous step of data entry in first issue data entry screen 32 shown in FIG. 6. Display areas 50, 52 afford the user the opportunity to review data entry already entered.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Weber for the purpose of providing an issue tracking system and method.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Weber in view of Caudron (US 2014/0074526).
Regarding claim 24, reference combination A in view of Weber discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein the window includes an issue progress bar comprising a visual representation of a number of issues of the one or more other issues that have been completed. However, Caudron discloses:
Caudron [0050] In one embodiment aggregation can be used to display the level of completion. FIG. 10 illustrates a user interface 1000 of the client application 130 for displaying the tasks of a project using aggregation. Certain task properties are represented as numeric data. The hierarchical tree can be traversed and aggregates for the specified task properties are calculated and displayed. Such aggregation can be represented as a progress indicator, for example, progress bar to display the progress or completion of a node. For example, the progress of tasks in "version 1" is displayed as shown in 1010. Progress of tasks at the child level such as "task 1" 245, "task 2" 250, "task 3" 255, etc., are represented using progress indicator 1020 to display the progress or completion of each task. For example, when the user needs to know the remaining hours for each task type, progress indicator display is more helpful.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A in view of Weber to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Caudron for the purpose of customizing workflow to define any number of actions and transitions. Customization in workflows can be performed by defining actions and transitions based on the business needs [0019].
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Keith (US 5,943,675).
Regarding claim 25, reference combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose subsequent to storing the new hierarchy-issue type association data record, creating an audit log comprising an indication of changes to the configurable project hierarchy occurring in response to receiving the request to change the hierarchy level. However, Keith discloses:
Keith col 7 lines 25-40. However, since the ASA protocol is hierarchical, it is possible to vary the specificity with which change is denoted by varying the hierarchy level specified. With reference to the above example, if it is desirable to indicate that an entire program has changed, the address sub-entry could be simply "102, 001." On the other hand, if it is desirable to indicate that only one rung of one routine of the program has changed, the address sub-entry could be "102, 001, 208, 002, 3500." The use of a hierarchical addressing scheme thus significantly enhances the communication efficiency of the present invention by allowing the precision of the change identification to be varied depending on the type of change made.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Keith for the purpose of providing memory shared by multiple workstations wherein a change log historian system forms a log of changes made by the workstations to the shared memory and is used to dynamically correlate the shared memory with images of the shared memory stored on the workstations, see col 1 lines 5-10.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vlasov (US 2021/0256474) in view of Zhang (US 11,238,030) in view of Bigelow (US 2009/0234721).
Examiner Note: Hereafter, above references will be entered as reference combination A.
Regarding claim 28, Vlasov discloses:
causing display, on a user device, of a user interface showing a hierarchical relationship
between a first issue and a second issue;
Vlasov [0041] Initially, an example environment in which the features of the present disclosure can be implemented and computer processing system will be described. Following this, various user interface features for displaying, creating, and editing work item dependencies and associated information are described.
receiving, from the user device, a request to change a hierarchy level associated with
the first issue to a different hierarchy level, the hierarchical relationship between the first issue
and the second issue defined by the configurable project hierarchy, the hierarchy level and the
different hierarchy level defined by the configurable project hierarchy; and
Vlasov discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Zhang discloses:
Zhang column 11 lines 35-45, At 416, the ITS client receives the hierarchy level added notification. The user can then perform various operations regarding the hierarchy level, for example by renaming the hierarchy level, moving (i.e. changing the level of) the hierarchy level, deleting the hierarchy level, querying issue types or issues associated with the hierarchy level, associating issue types with the hierarchy level, deleting issue types associated with the hierarchy level, and/or other operations.
Zhang abstract Described herein is a computer implemented method for maintaining a configurable project hierarchy. The method comprises creating a new hierarchy level data record and storing the new hierarchy level data record in a data store. The method further comprises receiving a request to associate a particular issue type with the new hierarchy level and, in response, creating a new hierarchy/issue type association data record including an identifier of the particular issue type and an identifier of the new hierarchy level identifier.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vlasov to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Zhang for the purpose of providing an issue tracking system to allow users to create their own types of issues (with associated data and workflows) and use those issue types for managing a given project (e.g. a helpdesk, a software development project, an alternative project) [column 1 lines 25-30].
Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to look to Zhang’s analogous art from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, see abstract, described herein is a computer implemented method for maintaining a configurable project hierarchy.
Based on the above there is reasonable expectation of success when combining Vlasov and Zhang to meet limitations of the claimed invention.
in response to receiving the request to change the hierarchy level associated with the
first issue to the different hierarchy level:
creating a new hierarchy-issue type association data record including:
an identifier for a first issue type of the first issue; and
Zhang col 9 lines 35-45 ER diagram 300 includes a hierarchy/issue type association data structure 308 (e.g. a database table) for creating records to store hierarchy/issue type association data 132. In the present example, the hierarchy/issue type association data structure 308 includes: a hierarchy level identifier and an issue type identifier. The hierarchy level identifier is used to identify a particular hierarchy level and thereby associate it with a particular issue type (as identified by the issue type identifier). Fields for storing additional data associated with a given hierarchy/issue type association could be provided (for example a date created field and/or other fields).
a new hierarchy level identifier corresponding to the different hierarchy
level;
Zhang abstract Described herein is a computer implemented method for maintaining a configurable project hierarchy. The method comprises creating a new hierarchy level data record and storing the new hierarchy level data record in a data store. The method further comprises receiving a request to associate a particular issue type with the new hierarchy level and, in response, creating a new hierarchy/issue type association data record including an identifier of the particular issue type and an identifier of the new hierarchy level identifier.
associating the first issue type with the different hierarchy level by storing the
new hierarchy-issue type association data record in a data store for the configurable project
hierarchy;
Zhang col 9 lines 35-45, ER diagram 300 includes a hierarchy/issue type association data structure 308 (e.g. a database table) for creating records to store hierarchy/issue type association data 132. In the present example, the hierarchy/issue type association data structure 308 includes: a hierarchy level identifier and an issue type identifier. The hierarchy level identifier is used to identify a particular hierarchy level and thereby associate it with a particular issue type (as identified by the issue type identifier). Fields for storing additional data associated with a given hierarchy/issue type association could be provided (for example a date created field and/or other fields).
in accordance with a determination, based on the new hierarchy-issue type
association data record, that the first issue type and a second issue type of the second issue
are not hierarchically related via the different hierarchy level,
Vlasov discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Bigelow discloses:
Bigelow claim 8, The system of claim 5, wherein the virtual sticky notes have hierarchical relationships, wherein when a child sticky note is associated with a parent sticky note a hierarchical relationship is established between the child sticky note and the parent sticky note, movement of the parent sticky note also moves the child sticky note, and movement of the child sticky note breaks the hierarchical relationship between the parent sticky note and the child sticky note [claim 8]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vlasov to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Bigelow for the purpose of using user contributed objects and content, virtual sticky notes, organizer tools and other items, and can support multiple security levels.
Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to look to Bigelow’s analogous art from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, i.e., the virtual sticky notes have hierarchical relationships, see above.
causing the user interface to indicate that no hierarchical relationship between the first issue and the second issue exists.
Vlasov 10. The computer implemented method claim 9, wherein the method further comprises: determining if the dependency relationship between the first and second work items is a broken dependency relationship; and in response to determining that the dependency relationship between the first and second work items is a broken dependency relationship, displaying the dependency path with a visual appearance indicating the dependency path represents a broken dependency relationship.
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Official Notice.
Regarding claim 31, reference combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein causing the user interface to indicate that no
hierarchical relationship between the first issue and the second issue exists includes displaying
a window with respect to the first issue including a set of issues to which the first issue is
associated, wherein the second issue is not in the set of issues.
One of ordinary skill in the art would consider the claim limitation to be without merit because it is obvious that there is no relationship between the first issue and second issue given that the second issue does not exist because the second issue is not in the specification.
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Official Notice in view of Caudron.
Regarding claim 32, reference combination A in view of Official Notice discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein each issue of the set of issues is displayed proximate to a respective graphical element indicating whether the issue has been completed. However, Caudron discloses:
Caudron [0050] In one embodiment aggregation can be used to display the level of completion. FIG. 10 illustrates a user interface 1000 of the client application 130 for displaying the tasks of a project using aggregation. Certain task properties are represented as numeric data. The hierarchical tree can be traversed and aggregates for the specified task properties are calculated and displayed. Such aggregation can be represented as a progress indicator, for example, progress bar to display the progress or completion of a node. For example, the progress of tasks in "version 1" is displayed as shown in 1010. Progress of tasks at the child level such as "task 1" 245, "task 2" 250, "task 3" 255, etc., are represented using progress indicator 1020 to display the progress or completion of each task. For example, when the user needs to know the remaining hours for each task type, progress indicator display is more helpful.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A in view of Weber to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Caudron for the purpose of customizing workflow to define any number of actions and transitions. Customization in workflows can be performed by defining actions and transitions based on the business needs [0019].
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Official Notice in view of Caudron.
Regarding claim 33, reference combination A in view of Official Notice discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein the window includes an issue progress bar comprising a visual representation of a number of issues of the set of issues that have been completed. However, Caudron discloses:
Caudron [0050] In one embodiment aggregation can be used to display the level of completion. FIG. 10 illustrates a user interface 1000 of the client application 130 for displaying the tasks of a project using aggregation. Certain task properties are represented as numeric data. The hierarchical tree can be traversed and aggregates for the specified task properties are calculated and displayed. Such aggregation can be represented as a progress indicator, for example, progress bar to display the progress or completion of a node. For example, the progress of tasks in "version 1" is displayed as shown in 1010. Progress of tasks at the child level such as "task 1" 245, "task 2" 250, "task 3" 255, etc., are represented using progress indicator 1020 to display the progress or completion of each task. For example, when the user needs to know the remaining hours for each task type, progress indicator display is more helpful.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A in view of Weber to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Caudron for the purpose of customizing workflow to define any number of actions and transitions. Customization in workflows can be performed by defining actions and transitions based on the business needs [0019].
Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vlasov (US 2021/0256474) in view of Zhang (US 11,238,030) in view of Bigelow (US 2009/0234721).
Examiner Note: Hereafter, above references will be entered as reference combination A.
Regarding claim 35, Vlasov discloses
a memory storing executable instructions; and
a processor unit communicably coupled to the memory, wherein upon execution by the
processor unit, the executable instructions are configured to:
Vlasov [0056] [0057]
cause display, on a user device, of a user interface showing a hierarchical relationship
between a first issue and a second issue;
Vlasov [0041] Initially, an example environment in which the features of the present disclosure can be implemented and computer processing system will be described. Following this, various user interface features for displaying, creating, and editing work item dependencies and associated information are described.
receive, from the user device, a request to change a hierarchy level associated with
the first issue to a different hierarchy level, the hierarchical relationship between the first issue
and the second issue defined by the configurable project hierarchy, the hierarchy level and the
different hierarchy level defined by the configurable project hierarchy; and
Vlasov discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Zhang discloses:
Zhang column 11 lines 35-45, At 416, the ITS client receives the hierarchy level added notification. The user can then perform various operations regarding the hierarchy level, for example by renaming the hierarchy level, moving (i.e. changing the level of) the hierarchy level, deleting the hierarchy level, querying issue types or issues associated with the hierarchy level, associating issue types with the hierarchy level, deleting issue types associated with the hierarchy level, and/or other operations.
Zhang abstract Described herein is a computer implemented method for maintaining a configurable project hierarchy. The method comprises creating a new hierarchy level data record and storing the new hierarchy level data record in a data store. The method further comprises receiving a request to associate a particular issue type with the new hierarchy level and, in response, creating a new hierarchy/issue type association data record including an identifier of the particular issue type and an identifier of the new hierarchy level identifier.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vlasov to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Zhang for the purpose of providing an issue tracking system to allow users to create their own types of issues (with associated data and workflows) and use those issue types for managing a given project (e.g. a helpdesk, a software development project, an alternative project) [column 1 lines 25-30].
Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to look to Zhang’s analogous art from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, see abstract, described herein is a computer implemented method for maintaining a configurable project hierarchy.
Based on the above there is reasonable expectation of success when combining Vlasov and Zhang to meet limitations of the claimed invention.
in response to receiving the request to change the hierarchy level associated with the
first issue to the different hierarchy level: creating a new hierarchy-issue type association data record including: an identifier for a first issue type of the first issue; and
Zhang col 9 lines 35-45 ER diagram 300 includes a hierarchy/issue type association data structure 308 (e.g. a database table) for creating records to store hierarchy/issue type association data 132. In the present example, the hierarchy/issue type association data structure 308 includes: a hierarchy level identifier and an issue type identifier. The hierarchy level identifier is used to identify a particular hierarchy level and thereby associate it with a particular issue type (as identified by the issue type identifier). Fields for storing additional data associated with a given hierarchy/issue type association could be provided (for example a date created field and/or other fields).
a new hierarchy level identifier corresponding to the different hierarchy
level;
Zhang abstract Described herein is a computer implemented method for maintaining a configurable project hierarchy. The method comprises creating a new hierarchy level data record and storing the new hierarchy level data record in a data store. The method further comprises receiving a request to associate a particular issue type with the new hierarchy level and, in response, creating a new hierarchy/issue type association data record including an identifier of the particular issue type and an identifier of the new hierarchy level identifier.
associate the first issue type with the different hierarchy level by storing the
new hierarchy-issue type association data record in a data store for the configurable project
hierarchy;
Zhang col 9 lines 35-45, ER diagram 300 includes a hierarchy/issue type association data structure 308 (e.g. a database table) for creating records to store hierarchy/issue type association data 132. In the present example, the hierarchy/issue type association data structure 308 includes: a hierarchy level identifier and an issue type identifier. The hierarchy level identifier is used to identify a particular hierarchy level and thereby associate it with a particular issue type (as identified by the issue type identifier). Fields for storing additional data associated with a given hierarchy/issue type association could be provided (for example a date created field and/or other fields).
in accordance with a determination, based on the new hierarchy-issue type
association data record, that the first issue type and a second issue type of the second issue
are not hierarchically related via the different hierarchy level,
Vlasov discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Bigelow discloses:
Bigelow claim 8, The system of claim 5, wherein the virtual sticky notes have hierarchical relationships, wherein when a child sticky note is associated with a parent sticky note a hierarchical relationship is established between the child sticky note and the parent sticky note, movement of the parent sticky note also moves the child sticky note, and movement of the child sticky note breaks the hierarchical relationship between the parent sticky note and the child sticky note [claim 8]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vlasov to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Bigelow for the purpose of using user contributed objects and content, virtual sticky notes, organizer tools and other items, and can support multiple security levels.
Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to look to Bigelow’s analogous art from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, i.e., the virtual sticky notes have hierarchical relationships, see above.
causing the user interface to indicate that no hierarchical relationship between the first issue and the second issue exists.
Vlasov 10. The computer implemented method claim 9, wherein the method further comprises: determining if the dependency relationship between the first and second work items is a broken dependency relationship; and in response to determining that the dependency relationship between the first and second work items is a broken dependency relationship, displaying the dependency path with a visual appearance indicating the dependency path represents a broken dependency relationship.
Claim(s) 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Official Notice.
Regarding claim 38, reference combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein causing the user interface to indicate that no
hierarchical relationship between the first issue and the second issue exists includes displaying
a window with respect to the first issue including a set of issues to which the first issue is
associated, wherein the second issue is not in the set of issues.
One of ordinary skill in the art would consider the claim limitation to be without merit because it is obvious that there is no relationship between the first issue and second issue given that the second issue does not exist because the second issue is not in the specification.
Claim(s) 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Official Notice in view of Caudron.
Regarding claim 39, reference combination A in view of Official Notice discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein each issue of the set of issues is displayed proximate to a respective graphical element indicating whether the issue has been completed. However, Caudron discloses:
Caudron [0050] In one embodiment aggregation can be used to display the level of completion. FIG. 10 illustrates a user interface 1000 of the client application 130 for displaying the tasks of a project using aggregation. Certain task properties are represented as numeric data. The hierarchical tree can be traversed and aggregates for the specified task properties are calculated and displayed. Such aggregation can be represented as a progress indicator, for example, progress bar to display the progress or completion of a node. For example, the progress of tasks in "version 1" is displayed as shown in 1010. Progress of tasks at the child level such as "task 1" 245, "task 2" 250, "task 3" 255, etc., are represented using progress indicator 1020 to display the progress or completion of each task. For example, when the user needs to know the remaining hours for each task type, progress indicator display is more helpful.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A in view of Official Notice to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Caudron for the purpose of customizing workflow to define any number of actions and transitions. Customization in workflows can be performed by defining actions and transitions based on the business needs [0019].
Claim(s) 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Official Notice in view of Caudron.
Regarding claim 40, reference combination A in view of Official Notice discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein the window includes an issue progress bar comprising a visual representation of a number of issues of the set of issues that have been completed. However, Caudron discloses:
Caudron [0050] In one embodiment aggregation can be used to display the level of completion. FIG. 10 illustrates a user interface 1000 of the client application 130 for displaying the tasks of a project using aggregation. Certain task properties are represented as numeric data. The hierarchical tree can be traversed and aggregates for the specified task properties are calculated and displayed. Such aggregation can be represented as a progress indicator, for example, progress bar to display the progress or completion of a node. For example, the progress of tasks in "version 1" is displayed as shown in 1010. Progress of tasks at the child level such as "task 1" 245, "task 2" 250, "task 3" 255, etc., are represented using progress indicator 1020 to display the progress or completion of each task. For example, when the user needs to know the remaining hours for each task type, progress indicator display is more helpful.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A in view of Official Notice to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Caudron for the purpose of customizing workflow to define any number of actions and transitions. Customization in workflows can be performed by defining actions and transitions based on the business needs [0019].
/ETIENNE P LEROUX/Primary Examiner of Art Unit 2161