DETAILED ACTION
This is a final office action in response to Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on 16 June 2026. Claims 1, 8, 10, 15 and 20 are currently amended. Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10, 11 and 13-22 are pending review in this action. The previous 35 U.S.C 112 rejections are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s corresponding amendment.
New grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments are presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation: “wherein the welding mark comprising ….” (line 2).
Claim 8 depends on claim 1.
Claim 1 defines “a plurality of welding marks” (last paragraph of the claim).
The use of the singular form in the limitation of claim 8 creates ambiguity as to whether all of the welding marks are required to have the structure described in claim 8 or only a specific, but unidentified welding mark is required to have the structure described in claim 8.
For the purposes of examination, either interpretation will be considered to meet the claim.
When making an appropriate amendment to address this rejection, applicant should be careful to correspondingly amend claim 11, which also uses the singular form “the welding mark”.
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Following the amendment, claim 15 continues to be unclear. The subject matter of claim 15 is found in paragraph [0146] of the specification and is illustrated in figures 24, 26 and 27.
The extension length itself is defined along the second direction. The “close” and “away” from the center of the first groove is meaningful along the first direction.
The intent of the claim appears to be to describe the shape of the notch and specifically the relationship shown in the annotated figure below – the figure is instant figure 26 with annotations by the examiner. Double-sided arrow A represents the “extension length located on a side of the notch away from a center of the first groove”. Double-sided arrow B represents the “extension length located on a side of the notch close to the center of the first groove”.
Applicant is invited to rephrase the claim to reflect this arrangement in a manner that is clear and unambiguous.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation: “a distance between a top edge of the weld mark … ” (line 2).
There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 22 depends on claim 1 via claim 14.
Claim 1 defines “a plurality of welding marks” (last paragraph of the claim).
If applicant intends for the limitation “the weld mark” to be interpreted as “the welding mark”, claim 22 would further be subject to a rejection on the following grounds.
Claim 22 depends on claim 1 via claim 14.
Claim 1 defines “a plurality of welding marks” (last paragraph of the claim).
It is unclear which welding mark is to be used to measure the claimed distance.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitation: “the shape of the welding mark is polygonal” (lines 1-2).
Claim 23 depends on claim 1.
Claim 1 defines “a plurality of welding marks” (last paragraph of the claim).
The use of the singular form in the limitation of claim 23 creates ambiguity as to whether all of the welding marks are required to have the structure described in claim 23 or only a specific, but unidentified welding mark is required to have the structure described in claim 23.
For the purposes of examination, either interpretation will be considered to meet the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2023/0155161, hereinafter Kim in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0352605, hereinafter Dai, U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0252638, hereinafter Roh and Chinese Patent Publication No. 209822770U, hereinafter Zhao. (A machine translation of Zhao was provided with the previous office action).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches an electrode assembly (110). The electrode assembly (110) comprises a positive (“first”) electrode plate and a negative (“second”) electrode plate stacked on each other (paragraph [0101] and figure 4A).
The positive (“first”) electrode plate includes a positive electrode substrate (410, “first current collector”) and a positive (“first”) active material layer (paragraph [0065]). The positive electrode substrate (410, “first current collector”) comprises an outer (“first”) surface and an inner (“second”) surface arranged opposite to each other. The outer (“first”) surface and the inner (“second”) surface are covered by the positive (“first”) active material layer (411, 413) (paragraph [0101] and figures 4A and 6A).
The negative (“second”) electrode plate includes a negative electrode substrate (420, “second current collector”) and a negative (“second”) active material layer (paragraph [0071]). The negative electrode substrate (420, “second current collector”) comprises an outer (“third”) surface and an inner (“fourth”) surface arranged opposite to each other. The outer (“third”) surface and an inner (“fourth”) surface are covered by the negative (“second”) active material layer (421, 423) (paragraph [0101] and figures 4A and 6A).
The positive (“first”) electrode plate is provided with a first groove (see Figure 1 below). A slot of the first groove is located on a surface of the positive (“first”) active material layer (413) covering the outer (“first”) surface of the positive electrode substrate (410, “first current collector”). A bottom wall of the first groove is the outer (“first”) surface of the positive electrode substrate (410, “first current collector”). The positive electrode substrate (410, “first current collector”) is connected to positive tab (415, “first tab”) in the first groove (paragraph [0104] and figures 4A, 4B and 6A).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 1 - Kim's assembly. The uncoated area formed to accommodate the positive tab (415) is equivalent to the instantly claimed first groove.)]
The negative (“second”) electrode plate is provided with a first uncoated region (429b, “avoidance groove”). A slot of the first uncoated region (429b, “avoidance groove”) is located on a surface of the negative (“second”) active material layer (421) covering the inner (“fourth”) surface of the negative electrode substrate (420, “second current collector”). A bottom wall of the first uncoated region (429b, “avoidance groove”) is the inner (“fourth”) surface of the negative electrode substrate (420, “second current collector”) (paragraph [0106] and figures 4A, 4B and 6A).
The first uncoated region (429b, “avoidance groove”) and the first groove are disposed opposite to each other along a stacking direction (z-direction) of the positive (“first”) electrode plate and the negative (“second”) electrode plate (paragraph [0106] and figures 4A, 4B).
The negative (“second”) electrode plate is provided with a second groove. A slot of the second groove is located on a surface of the negative active material layer (421) covering the inner (“fourth”) surface of the negative electrode substrate (420, “second current collector”). A bottom wall of the second groove is the inner (“fourth”) surface of the negative electrode substrate (420, “second current collector”). The negative electrode substrate (420, “second current collector”) is connected to negative tab (425, “second tab”) in the second groove (paragraph [0105] and figures 4A and 6A).
Kim teaches that the positive (“first”) electrode plate and the negative (“second”) electrode plate each has a y-direction (“1st direction”) and an x-direction (“2nd direction”). The y-direction (“1st direction”) is perpendicular to the x-direction (“2nd direction”) (figure 3). The z-direction (“stacking direction”) of the electrode plates is perpendicular to both the y-direction (“1st direction”) and the x-direction (“2nd direction”).
In an embodiment, Kim teaches that there may be multiple negative tabs (425, “second tabs”) and multiple first uncoated regions (429b, “avoidance grooves”) arranged along the x-direction (2nd direction) of the negative (“second”) electrode plate (paragraph [0245] and figure 20).
The positive tab (415, “first tab”) is attached to the outer (“first”) surface of the positive electrode substrate (410, “first current collector”) via ultrasonic welding (paragraph [0070]).
Kim does not: 1) explicitly teach a distance between a first uncoated region (429b, “avoidance groove”) and an end of the negative (“second”) electrode plate; 2) teach a welding mark with a first protrusion and a second protrusion; and 3) teach a plurality of welding marks arranged in a matrix.
Regarding 1), given that the pairs of negative tabs (425, “second tabs”) and first uncoated regions (429b, “avoidance grooves”) are arranged along the length of the negative (“second”) electrode plate, it is expected that at least one first uncoated region (429b, “avoidance groove”) would be located at a distance in the range ¼ to ¾ of the length of the negative (“second”) electrode plate.
Alternatively, Dai teaches an analogous electrode assembly, comprising a plurality of electrode tabs arranged along the length of an electrode plate (paragraph [0045] and figures 1-4). Dai teaches that it is advantageous to space the tabs evenly along the length of the electrode plate because this reduces the current passing through each segment and thereby reduces the heat generated by the battery. In an embodiment, Dai teaches two electrode tabs and the distance from each tab to the end of the electrode plate is in the range ¼ to ¾ of the length of electrode plate (paragraph [0048]). In embodiments, including more tabs, there would necessarily be tabs located at a distance in the range ¼ to ¾ of the length of electrode plate from an end of the electrode plate.
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to space Kim’s negative tabs (425, “second tabs”) as taught by Dai for the purpose of reducing the current passing through each segment of the negative (“second”) electrode plate and thereby reducing the heat generated by the battery.
In the combination of Kim and Dai, given its location relative to each negative tab (425, “second tab”), there would necessarily be a first uncoated region (429b, “avoidance groove”) located a distance in the range ¼ to ¾ of the length of the negative (“second”) electrode plate from the end of the negative (“second”) electrode plate.
Regarding 2), Roh teaches that laser welding is preferred to ultrasonic welding, because it provides for greater strength and more easily verifiable weld quality (paragraphs [0005, 0049]). Roh teaches laser welding together an electrode base (410 or 420) and an electrode lead (430). The laser welding melts the material of the electrode base (410 or 420) and the electrode lead (430) to form a welding mark. The welding mark includes a front bead (510a) that protrudes from the surface of the electrode lead (430) away from the electrode base (410 or 420) and a back bead (510b) that protrudes from the surface of the electrode base (410 or 420) away from the electrode lead (430) (paragraphs [0048, 0054, 0055] and figure 3C).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement laser welding to attach Kim’s positive tab (415, “first tab”) to the outer (“first”) surface of the positive electrode substrate (410, “first current collector”) for the purpose of forming a stronger bond and to be able to easily verify the quality of the weld as taught by Roh.
In the combination of Kim and Roh, a portion of the welding mark would be formed on a surface of the positive tab (415, “first tab”), away from the positive electrode substrate (410, “first current collector”), and protruding toward a direction away from the positive electrode substrate (410, “first current collector”) – this portion would be equivalent to Roh’s front bead (510a). Due to the melting, the welding mark would penetrate through the positive tab (415, “first tab”) and the positive electrode substrate (410, “first current collector”). Another portion of the welding mark would be formed on a surface of the positive electrode substrate (410, “first current collector”), away from the positive tab (415, “first tab”), and protruding toward a direction away from the positive tab (415, “first tab”) – this portion would be equivalent to Roh’s back bead (510b).
Regarding 3), Zhang teaches forming a plurality of welding marks joining a tab (11) and a current collector (13) (paragraph [0045]). The plurality of welding marks are arranged at intervals to form a welding area. The plurality of welding marks are disposed in multiple matrices disposed in an array (figures 3 and 4). Zhang teaches that this increases the tensile strength of the weld and reduces contact resistance between the tab (11) and the current collector (13) (paragraph [0050]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a plurality of welding marks and to arrange them in multiple matrices disposed in an array for the purpose of increasing the tensile strength of the weld and reducing contact resistance between the positive tab (415, “first tab”) and the positive electrode substrate (410, “first current collector”).
Given the nature of the welding process, it is expected that there will be variations in morphology of the individual marks and thus they may be said to have “different shapes”.
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches that the positive (“first”) electrode plate is provided with a second uncoated region (419a, “avoidance groove”). A slot of the second uncoated region (419a, “avoidance groove”) is located on a surface of the positive (“first”) active material layer (413) covering the outer (“first”) surface of the positive electrode substrate (410, “first current collector”). A bottom wall of the second uncoated region (419a, “avoidance groove”) is the outer (“first”) surface of the positive electrode substrate (410, “first current collector”) (paragraph [0106] and figures 4A and 6A).
The second uncoated region (419a, “avoidance groove”) and the second groove are disposed opposite to each other along the stacking direction (z-direction) of the positive (“first”) electrode plate and the negative (“second”) electrode plate (paragraph [0106] and figure 4A).
The second uncoated region (419a, “avoidance groove”) is shown to be larger than the negative tab (425, “second tab”) along the x-direction (2nd direction) of the negative electrode substrate (420, “second current collector”) (figure 4A). Therefore, a projection of the second uncoated region (419a, “avoidance groove”) onto the negative electrode substrate (420, “second current collector”) is understood to completely cover the negative tab (425, “second tab”) along the x-direction (2nd direction) of the negative electrode substrate (420, “second current collector”).
The first uncoated region (429b, “avoidance groove”) is shown to be larger than the positive tab (415, “first tab”) along the x-direction (2nd direction) of the positive electrode substrate (410, “first current collector”) (figures 4A and 4B and Figure 1 above). Therefore, a projection of the first uncoated region (429b, “avoidance groove”) onto the positive electrode substrate (410, “first current collector”) is understood to completely cover the positive tab (415, “first tab”) along the x-direction (2nd direction) of the positive electrode substrate (410, “first current collector”).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches that the negative (“second”) electrode plate is provided with a third uncoated region (429a, “avoidance groove”). A slot of the third uncoated region (429a, “avoidance groove”) is located on a surface of the negative (“second”) active material layer (423) covering the outer (“third”) surface of the negative electrode substrate (420, “second current collector”). A bottom wall of the third uncoated region (429a, “avoidance groove”) is the outer (“third”) surface of the negative electrode substrate (420, “second current collector”) (paragraph [0106] and figures 4A, 6A).
The third uncoated region (429a, “avoidance groove”) and the second groove are disposed opposite to each other on the negative (“second”) electrode plate along the stacking direction (figures 4A and 6A).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches that a separator (430) is disposed between the positive (“first”) electrode plate and the negative (“second”) electrode plate (paragraph [0101] and figure 4B/Figure 1 above).
An insulating tape (417, “protective layer”) is disposed between the separator (430) and the positive tab (415, “first tab”). The insulating tape (417, “protective layer”) completely covers the first groove (paragraph [0104] and figures 4B and 6B).
An insulating layer (441, “isolation layer”) is disposed between the separator (430) and the first uncoated region (429b, “avoidance groove”) (paragraph [0114] and figure 4B/Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches that the thickness of the positive tab (415, “first tab”) is equal to a depth of the first groove (figure 4B/Figure 1 above).
A portion of the insulating layer (441, “insulation layer”) is inserted in the first uncoated region (429b, “avoidance groove”) (figure 4B/Figure 1 above).
The first uncoated region (429b, “avoidance groove”) opposite the positive tab (415, “first tab”) with the portion of the insulating layer (441, “insulation layer”) inserted in it remains largely unfilled (figure 4B/Figure 1 above). Therefore, it is expected that under pressure, a portion of the separator (430) and a portion of the insulating tape (417, “protective layer”) would become inserted in the cavity of the first uncoated region (429b, “avoidance groove”).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches that along the x-direction (“2nd direction”), a ratio of a length of the first uncoated region (429b, “avoidance groove”) and the first groove is 1 (figure 4B/Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 20, Kim teaches a battery comprising an electrode assembly (110). The electrode assembly (110) comprises a positive (“first”) electrode plate and a negative (“second”) electrode plate stacked on each other (paragraph [0101] and figure 4A).
The positive (“first”) electrode plate includes a positive electrode substrate (410, “first current collector”) and a positive (“first”) active material layer (paragraph [0065]). The positive electrode substrate (410, “first current collector”) comprises an outer (“first”) surface and an inner (“second”) surface arranged opposite to each other. The outer (“first”) surface and the inner (“second”) surface are covered by the positive (“first”) active material layer (411, 413) (paragraph [0101] and figures 4A and 6A).
The negative (“second”) electrode plate includes a negative electrode substrate (420, “second current collector”) and a negative (“second”) active material layer (paragraph [0071]). The negative electrode substrate (420, “second current collector”) comprises an outer (“third”) surface and an inner (“fourth”) surface arranged opposite to each other. The outer (“third”) surface and an inner (“fourth”) surface are covered by the negative (“second”) active material layer (421, 423) (paragraph [0101] and figures 4A and 6A).
The positive (“first”) electrode plate is provided with a first groove (see Figure 1 above). A slot of the first groove is located on a surface of the positive (“first”) active material layer (413) covering the outer (“first”) surface of the positive electrode substrate (410, “first current collector”). A bottom wall of the first groove is the outer (“first”) surface of the positive electrode substrate (410, “first current collector”). The positive electrode substrate (410, “first current collector”) is connected to positive tab (415, “first tab”) in the first groove (paragraph [0104] and figures 4A, 4B and 6A).
The negative (“second”) electrode plate is provided with a first uncoated region (429b, “avoidance groove”). A slot of the first uncoated region (429b, “avoidance groove”) is located on a surface of the negative (“second”) active material layer (421) covering the inner (“fourth”) surface of the negative electrode substrate (420, “second current collector”). A bottom wall of the first uncoated region (429b, “avoidance groove”) is the inner (“fourth”) surface of the negative electrode substrate (420, “second current collector”) (paragraph [0106] and figures 4A, 4B and 6A).
The first uncoated region (429b, “avoidance groove”) and the first groove are disposed opposite to each other along a stacking direction (z-direction) of the positive (“first”) electrode plate and the negative (“second”) electrode plate (paragraph [0106] and figures 4A, 4B).
The first uncoated region (429b, “avoidance groove”) is shown to be larger than the positive tab (415, “first tab”) (figures 4A and 4B). Therefore, a projection of the first uncoated region (429b, “avoidance groove”) onto the positive electrode substrate (410, “first current collector”) is understood to completely cover the positive tab (415, “first tab”).
Kim teaches that the positive (“first”) electrode plate and the negative (“second”) electrode plate each has a y-direction (“1st direction”) and an x-direction (“2nd direction”). The y-direction (“1st direction”) is perpendicular to the x-direction (“2nd direction”) (figure 3). The z-direction (“stacking direction”) of the electrode plates is perpendicular to both the y-direction (“1st direction”) and the x-direction (“2nd direction”).
In an embodiment, Kim teaches that there may be multiple negative tabs (425, “second tabs”) and multiple first uncoated regions (429b, “avoidance grooves”) arranged along the x-direction (2nd direction) of the negative (“second”) electrode plate (paragraph [0245] and figure 20).
The positive tab (415, “first tab”) is attached to the outer (“first”) surface of the positive electrode substrate (410, “first current collector”) via ultrasonic welding (paragraph [0070]).
Kim does not: 1) explicitly teach a distance between a first uncoated region (429b, “avoidance groove”) and an end of the negative (“second”) electrode plate; 2) teach a welding mark with a first protrusion and a second protrusion; and 3) teach a plurality of welding marks arranged in a matrix.
Regarding 1), given that the pairs of negative tabs (425, “second tabs”) and first uncoated regions (429b, “avoidance grooves”) are arranged along the length of the negative (“second”) electrode plate, it is expected that at least one first uncoated region (429b, “avoidance groove”) would be located at a distance in the range ¼ to ¾ of the length of the negative (“second”) electrode plate.
Alternatively, Dai teaches an analogous electrode assembly, comprising a plurality of electrode tabs arranged along the length of an electrode plate (paragraph [0045] and figures 1-4). Dai teaches that it is advantageous to space the tabs evenly along the length of the electrode plate because this reduces the current passing through each segment and thereby reduces the heat generated by the battery. In an embodiment, Dai teaches two electrode tabs and the distance from each tab to the end of the electrode plate is in the range ¼ to ¾ of the length of electrode plate (paragraph [0048]). In embodiments, including more tabs, there would necessarily be tabs located at a distance in the range ¼ to ¾ of the length of electrode plate from an end of the electrode plate.
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to space Kim’s negative tabs (425, “second tabs”) as taught by Dai for the purpose of reducing the current passing through each segment of the negative (“second”) electrode plate and thereby reducing the heat generated by the battery.
In the combination of Kim and Dai, given its location relative to each negative tab (425, “second tab”), there would necessarily be a first uncoated region (429b, “avoidance groove”) located a distance in the range ¼ to ¾ of the length of the negative (“second”) electrode plate from the end of the negative (“second”) electrode plate.
Regarding 2), Roh teaches that laser welding is preferred to ultrasonic welding, because it provides for greater strength and more easily verifiable weld quality (paragraphs [0005, 0049]). Roh teaches laser welding together an electrode base (410 or 420) and an electrode lead (430). The laser welding melts the material of the electrode base (410 or 420) and the electrode lead (430) to form a welding mark. The welding mark includes a front bead (510a) that protrudes from the surface of the electrode lead (430) away from the electrode base (410 or 420) and a back bead (510b) that protrudes from the surface of the electrode base (410 or 420) away from the electrode lead (430) (paragraphs [0048, 0054, 0055] and figure 3C).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement laser welding to attach Kim’s positive tab (415, “first tab”) to the outer (“first”) surface of the positive electrode substrate (410, “first current collector”) for the purpose of forming a stronger bond and to be able to easily verify the quality of the weld as taught by Roh.
In the combination of Kim and Roh, a portion of the welding mark would be formed on a surface of the positive tab (415, “first tab”), away from the positive electrode substrate (410, “first current collector”), and protruding toward a direction away from the positive electrode substrate (410, “first current collector”) – this portion would be equivalent to Roh’s front bead (510a). Due to the melting, the welding mark would penetrate through the positive tab (415, “first tab”) and the positive electrode substrate (410, “first current collector”). Another portion of the welding mark would be formed on a surface of the positive electrode substrate (410, “first current collector”), away from the positive tab (415, “first tab”), and protruding toward a direction away from the positive tab (415, “first tab”) – this portion would be equivalent to Roh’s back bead (510b).
Regarding 3), Zhang teaches forming a plurality of welding marks joining a tab (11) and a current collector (13) (paragraph [0045]). The plurality of welding marks are arranged at intervals to form a welding area. The plurality of welding marks are disposed in multiple matrices disposed in an array (figures 3 and 4). Zhang teaches that this increases the tensile strength of the weld and reduces contact resistance between the tab (11) and the current collector (13) (paragraph [0050]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a plurality of welding marks and to arrange them in multiple matrices disposed in an array for the purpose of increasing the tensile strength of the weld and reducing contact resistance between the positive tab (415, “first tab”) and the positive electrode substrate (410, “first current collector”).
Given the nature of the welding process, it is expected that there will be variations in morphology of the individual marks and thus they may be said to have “different shapes”.
Regarding claim 23, Kim as modified by Roh teaches a welding mark produced by laser welding. The shape of the welding mark produced by Kim as modified by Roh is circular (Roh’s paragraph [0054]).
Kim as modified by Roh fails to teach that the welding mark is polygonal.
The formation of polygonal welding marks during laser welding is known in the art – see, e.g. Zhao who teaches various welding marks including circular and polygonal (figures 8, 9, 12-15).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the welding mark in a polygonal shape without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 13, 14, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2023/0155161, hereinafter Kim and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0352605, hereinafter Dai, U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0252638, hereinafter Roh and Chinese Patent Publication No. 209822770U, hereinafter Zhao as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2018/0190963, hereinafter Guo ‘963.
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches a first groove accommodating positive tab (415, “first tab”) (paragraph [0104] and Figure 1 above).
Kim fails to report the size of the first groove.
Guo ‘963 teaches an analogous electrode assembly comprising a cathode electrode plate (103). The cathode electrode plate (103) includes a current collector (1031) and a receiving groove (1033), which holds cathode tab (104) (paragraph [0127] and figure 3). Guo ‘963 reports that the receiving groove (1033) has a length of 12 mm and a width of 8 mm (paragraph [0185]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a size of 8 mm along the x-direction (“2nd direction”) and a size of 12 mm along the y-direction (“1st direction”) for the first groove in Kim’s assembly without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches a first groove, which accommodates positive tab (415, “first tab”) (paragraph [0104] and Figure 1 above).
Kim fails to teach a notch on an edge of the first groove.
Guo ‘963 teaches an analogous electrode assembly comprising a cathode electrode plate (103). The cathode electrode plate (103) includes a current collector (1031) and a receiving groove (1033), which holds cathode tab (104) (paragraph [0127] and figure 3). Guo ‘963 teaches forming a notch (1034) on an edge of the receiving groove (1033). The notch (1034) penetrates through the edge of the cathode electrode plate (103) along the stacking direction. The purpose of the notch (1034) is to remove burs at the edge of the current collector (1031) and to improve the energy density of the electrode assembly (paragraphs [0128, 0129] and figure 5b).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a notch on an edge of Kim’s first groove for the purpose of removing burs at the edge of the positive electrode substrate (410, “first current collector”) and improving the energy density of the electrode assembly.
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Kim as modified by Guo ‘963 teaches that the shape of the notch is rectangular (figure 5b). Thus, the inner wall surface of the notch comprises a first inner wall section, a second inner wall section and a third inner wall section connected in sequence. A distance between the first inner wall section and the third inner wall section is constant.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2023/0155161, hereinafter Kim, U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0352605, hereinafter Dai, U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0252638, hereinafter Roh, Chinese Patent Publication No. 209822770U, hereinafter Zhao and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2018/0190963, hereinafter Guo ‘963 as applied to claim 14 above and further in view of Chinese Patent Publication No. 205828567, hereinafter Guo.
Regarding claim 19, Kim teaches a first groove, which accommodates positive tab (415, “first tab”) (paragraph [0104] and Figure 1 above). Kim further teaches that the first groove has a dimension (w2) larger than the dimension (w1) of the positive tab (415, “first tab”) along the x-direction (“2nd direction”) (paragraph [0094] and figure 3).
Kim as modified by Guo ‘963 teaches that along the x-direction (“2nd direction”) (labeled “L” in Guo‘963), the notch has a dimension that is 0.9 to 1.2 times the dimension of the receiving groove (1033) (Guo ‘963’s paragraph [0132] and figure 5b).
Kim as modified by Guo ‘963 fails to teach the minimum distance between the positive tab (415, “first tab”) and the inner wall surface of the notch.
Guo teaches an analogous electrode assembly comprising a receiving groove (G11) and a tab (2) accommodated in the receiving groove (G11). Guo teaches that the dimension of the receiving groove (G11) along the 2nd direction may be 1 to 5 times the dimension of the tab (2) along the 2nd direction (paragraph [0095]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose a size for the first groove that is 1 to 5 times the size of the positive tab (415, “first tab”) for the purpose of providing sufficient clearance for the positive tab (415, “first tab”) while not excessively reducing the active material of the positive (“first”) electrode plate.
Within the combination of Kim, Guo ‘963 and Guo, there is a range of values which would satisfy the instantly claimed requirements. For example, selecting a first groove with a size of 1.5 times the size of the positive tab (415, “first tab”) and a notch with the same size as the first groove would result in a notch that is 1.5 times the size of the positive tab (415, “first tab”). Positioning the positive tab (415, “first tab”) in the middle of the notch along the x-direction (“2nd direction”) would result in a distance (on each side) between the positive tab (415, “first tab”) and an inner wall surface of the notch of 0.25 times the size of the positive tab (415, “first tab”).
The optimum range for the minimum distance in the combination of Kim, Guo ‘963 and Guo overlaps the instant application's optimum range of 0.2 to 0.5 times the size of the first tab. It has been held that in the case where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claims 14, 15, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2023/0155161, hereinafter Kim, U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0352605, hereinafter Dai, U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0252638, hereinafter Roh and Chinese Patent Publication No. 209822770U, hereinafter Zhao as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2024/0006585, hereinafter Wu.
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches a first groove, which accommodates positive tab (415, “first tab”) (paragraph [0104] and Figure 1 above).
Kim fails to teach a notch on an edge of the first groove.
Wu teaches an analogous electrode assembly comprising an electrode plate (110). The electrode plate (101) includes a current collector (112) and a tab slot (120), which holds an electrode tab (121) (paragraphs [0059, 0061, 0062, 0070] and figures 1-7). Wu teaches forming a notch (140) on an edge of the tab slot (120). The notch (140) penetrates through the edge of the electrode plate (101) along a stacking direction. The purpose of the notch (140) is to remove an unneeded part of the current collector (112) and reduce the thickness of the electrode plate (101) (paragraphs [0010, 0030, 0099] and figures 1 and 2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a notch on an edge of Kim’s first groove for the purpose of removing an unneeded part of the positive electrode substrate (410, “first current collector”), reducing the thickness of the positive electrode plate and improving the energy density of the electrode assembly.
Regarding claim 15, Kim as modified by Wu teaches that the notch (140) has an extension length (L1) along a second direction (labeled L in Wu) (Wu’s figure 2).
The extension length (L1) is on a side of the notch (140) away from a center of the tab slot (120). The extension length of the notch (140) at the side of the notch (140) closest to the center of the tab slot (120) is less than L1 due to the curvature at the corners of the notch (140) (Wu’s figure 2).
Regarding claim 21, Kim as modified by Wu teaches applying an insulating protective tape (150, “adhesive layer”) on a surface of the positive (“first”) electrode plate away from the positive tab (415, “first tab”). The protective tape (150, “adhesive layer”) covers all edges of the notch (140) (Wu’s paragraphs [0086, 0087] and figures 8 and 9).
Regarding claim 22, Wu teaches a welding region (122) positioned in the tab slot (120). The distance from a top edge (1221) of the welding region (122) to the bottom edge of the tab slot (120) in the W direction (“1st direction) is 4.5 mm to 15 mm (paragraph [0071] and figure 5). The size of the tab slot (120) in the W direction (“1st direction”) is 5 mm to 30 mm (paragraph [0064] and figure 2). At the lower bounds of these ranges, the distance in the W direction (“1st direction”) from the top edge (1221) of the welding region (122) to the bottom edge of the notch is 5 mm – 4.5 mm = 0.5 mm.
Wu teaches that a depth of the notch measured in the W direction (“1st direction”) is in the range 1 mm to 6 mm (paragraph [0074] and figure 2).
It would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the welding mark such that its top edge is located at a distance from the bottom edge of the notch that is less than a depth of the notch without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2023/0155161, hereinafter Kim, U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0352605, hereinafter Dai, U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0252638, hereinafter Roh and Chinese Patent Publication No. 209822770U, hereinafter Zhao as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2024/0363974, hereinafter Suzuki.
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches a first groove, which accommodates positive tab (415, “first tab”) (paragraph [0104] and Figure 1 above). Kim’s assembly includes multiple first grooves and positive tabs arranged along the length of the negative (“second”) electrode plate (paragraph [0245] and figure 20). Kim’s electrode assembly is ultimately wound into a jelly-roll shape (figure 1).
Kim fails to teach a notch on an edge of the first groove.
Suzuki teaches an analogous electrode assembly and electrode plates having multiple tabs and wound into a jelly-roll shape (paragraphs [0031-0034, 0043, 0044] and figure 7). Suzuki teaches forming a notch (311f) adjacent to one of the tabs for the purposes of marking its location and assisting in proper alignment when winding the assembly (paragraphs [0126, 0127]). The notch (311f) is a cutout formed at the edge of the electrode plate (311) and penetrates the edge in the stacking direction (paragraphs [0118, 0119] and figure 17).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a notch at an edge of Kim’s first groove for the purpose of forming a mark and assisting in proper alignment when winding the assembly.
Regarding claim 18, Kim as modified by Suzuki teaches that the notch may have a semi-arcuate (“semicircular”) shape (paragraph [0119]). Given the semi-arcuate (“semicircular”) shape, the notch would have an extension length along the second direction (labeled y in Suzuki). The extension length would increase from a midpoint of the first groove towards a midpoint of the notch.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s newly added limitations have been considered. However, after further search and consideration, the combination of the Kim, Dai, Roh and Zhao references has been provided, as recited above, to address the amended claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LILIA V. NEDIALKOVA
Examiner
Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724