DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sambhy et al. (US 2012/0039648).
Sambhy et al. (…648) disclose a fixing member ([0008]; [0027]; and figure 1) comprising: a surface layer having a sliding angle of 1-30o measured with various materials including one containing wax (abstract; [0016]-[0018]; [0027]; and [0035]-[0037]) [see Applicant’s claim 1]. The sliding angle can be 1-15o ([0036]) [see Applicant’s claim 2]. A fixing device (figure 1) comprising: a first rotary member (10); and a second rotary member (30) that is arranged to be in contact with an outer surface of the first rotary member, wherein at least one of the first rotary member or the second rotary member is the fixing member ([0008]; [0010]; [0027]; and figure 1) [see Applicant’s claims 8 and 9]. However, Sambhy et al. (…648) do not disclose measuring the sliding angle with respect to a Fischer-Tropsch wax. The specific material used to measure the sliding angle is considered to be an obvious engineering decision [see Applicant’s claim 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the sliding angle measured with the claimed Fischer-Tropsch wax, since the material used for the sliding angle measurement is considered to be an engineering decision.
Claims 3-7 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sambhy et al. (US 2012/0039648) in view of Ferrar et al. (US 2012/0107559).
Sambhy et al. (…648) disclose the features mentioned previously. Sambhy et al. (…648) further disclose a fixing device (figure 1) comprising: a first rotary member (10); and a second rotary member (30) that is arranged to be in contact with an outer surface of the first rotary member, wherein at least one of the first rotary member or the second rotary member is the fixing member ([0008]; [0010]; [0027]; and figure 1) [see Applicant’s claims 10-14]. However, Sambhy et al. (…648) do not disclose the claimed surface layer material. Ferrar et al. (…559) disclose a rotary member having a low adhesion surface layer that includes a siloxane compound having a structure A of Formula: [RSiO1.5]n (provided that in the formula, R represents an organic group, and n represents an integer of 2 or more), and at least one R among a plurality of R's present in the structure A is a group including an alkyl group ([0070]) [see Applicant’s claim 3]. The group including an alkyl group is a trialkylsiloxy group ([0070]) [see Applicant’s claim 4]. The specific content of the siloxane compound with respect to the surface layer is considered to be an engineering decision [see Applicant’s claim 5]. The surface layer contains a resin ([0069]-[0070]) [see Applicant’s claim 6]. The resin is a silicone resin ([0060]-[0070]) [see Applicant’s claim 7]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the claimed surface layer material, since as disclosed by Ferrar et al. (…559), such a material is well known in the art for a low adhesion surface layer.
Claim 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sambhy et al. (US 2012/0039648) in view of Hoshio et al. (US 2020/0026229).
Sambhy et al. (…648) disclose the features mentioned previously, but do not disclose the claimed image forming apparatus containing the claimed components. Hoshio et al. (…229) disclose an image forming apparatus comprising: an image holder (11); a charging unit (12) that charges a surface of the image holder; a latent image forming unit (1) that forms a latent image on the charged surface of the image holder; a developing unit (14) that develops the latent image with a toner to form a toner image; a transfer unit that transfers the toner image to a recording medium ([0141]); and a fixing unit (60) that fixes the toner image onto the recording medium, the fixing unit being the fixing device ([0126]-[0141]; and figure 4) [see Applicant’s claims 15 and 16]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the claimed image forming apparatus having the claimed components, since as disclosed by Hoshio et al. (…229), such an image forming apparatus having the claimed components is well known in the art to form images.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sambhy et al. (US 2012/0039648) in view of Ferrar et al. (US 2012/0107559) as applied to claims 10-13 above, and further in view of Hoshio et al. (US 2020/0026229).
Sambhy et al. (…648) in view of Ferrar et al. (…559) disclose the features mentioned previously, but do not disclose the claimed image forming apparatus containing the claimed components. Hoshio et al. (…229) disclose an image forming apparatus comprising: an image holder (11); a charging unit (12) that charges a surface of the image holder; a latent image forming unit (1) that forms a latent image on the charged surface of the image holder; a developing unit (14) that develops the latent image with a toner to form a toner image; a transfer unit that transfers the toner image to a recording medium ([0141]); and a fixing unit (60) that fixes the toner image onto the recording medium, the fixing unit being the fixing device ([0126]-[0141]; and figure 4) [see Applicant’s claims 17-20]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the claimed image forming apparatus having the claimed components, since as disclosed by Hoshio et al. (…229), such an image forming apparatus having the claimed components is well known in the art to form images.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Law et al. (US 2011/0206902) disclose an outer surface of a fuser member having a sliding angle of 1-30o.
Inquiry
/SANDRA BRASE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852 March 11, 2026