DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the reinforcing plate" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation should most likely read as “the at least one reinforcing plate”.
Claim 14 is rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7-9, 13, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ducros (US Pat. 10,988,954 B2) in view of Reyes (US Pub. 2018/0371783 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ducros discloses a modular common pole, comprising:
a main-pole structure, comprising:
a main-pole body (Fig. 1, pole 104);
and a chassis, comprising a chassis shell and a chassis appearance part, the chassis shell having a top surface, a bottom surface and a body surface, the top surface and the bottom surface being opposite, the body surface being connected to the top surface and the bottom surface and forming an accommodation space (Fig. 2, locker 200), and the chassis appearance part being hung on the body surface of the chassis shell (Fig. 2, surface 208).
However, Ducros fails to disclose as taught by Reyes, similarly drawn to a stealth pole, a main-pole body, and a main-pole appearance module, comprising a first main-pole portion and a second main-pole portion, the first main-pole portion having a first top end and a first bottom end that are opposite, the second main-pole portion having a second top end and a second bottom end that are opposite, and the second top end being connected to the first bottom end such that the second main-pole portion is longitudinally connected to the first main-pole portion (Fig. 2, a plurality of canister sections 100 are shown attached longitudinally to one another);
a plurality of main-pole appearance parts, the main-pole appearance parts being hung on the main-pole body (Fig. 1, a plurality of canister sections 100 are shown);
the second main-pole portion being longitudinally inserted into the top surface of the chassis shell with the second bottom end located in the accommodation space, (Fig. 1, the canisters span the length of the pole and are securely fastened to a base portion).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modular common pole of Ducros to include the main-pole portions of Reyes for improved structural integrity.
Regarding claim 2, Ducros in view of Reyes discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Ducros, wherein the chassis further comprises a chassis door, the chassis door is arranged on one side of the body surface (Fig. 2, door 202), the top surface of the chassis is provided with a chassis connection opening (Fig. 2, opening 210), and the second main-pole portion is longitudinally inserted into the chassis shell through the chassis connection opening (Col. 14, lines 3-6: “The top plate 204 can have an opening 210. The opening 210 can used to allow wiring, cords, optical fibers, and/or other devices through the top plate 204 and into and/or out of a cavity 220 of the pole base cabinet 200”).
Regarding claim 5, Ducros in view of Reyes discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Ducros, wherein the main-pole body further comprises a support structure arranged around the second bottom end and located in the accommodation space, and the support structure is further connected to the top surface of the chassis shell (Fig. 21, stiffener 456).
Regarding claim 7, Ducros in view of Reyes discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Reyes, at least one component fixing bar, wherein the at least one component fixing bar is longitudinally arranged on the main-pole structure, an elongated slot longitudinally extends on the at least one component fixing bar, and the elongated slot is suitable for an arrangement of light bars (Fig. 1, stiffener members 180).
Regarding claim 8, Ducros in view of Reyes discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Ducros, a top device, wherein the top device is arranged on the first top end, and the top device is an electronic device base or a cover (Fig. 1, light source 106).
Regarding claim 9, Ducros in view of Reyes discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Reyes, a plurality of fixing members, wherein the main-pole body has a plurality of fixing holes, and the fixing members are suitable to be locked to the fixing holes (Fig. 2, first splice plate 140 and second splice plate 160 are fastened together with bolts).
Regarding claim 13, Ducros in view of Reyes discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Ducros, wherein the chassis further comprises at least one reinforcing plate, the reinforcing plate being arranged in the accommodation space, and the at least one reinforcing plate being partially connected to the chassis shell (Fig. 4, support panel 234).
Regarding claim 15, Ducros in view of Reyes discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Ducros, wherein the chassis further comprises at least one fan, the fan is arranged in the accommodation space (Fig. 42A, fan 2084), and the body surface of the chassis shell is formed with at least one heat dissipation hole (Col. 16, lines 12-13: “In a configuration, the peripheral wall 208 can include vents”).
Regarding claim 16, Ducros in view of Reyes discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Ducros, a base, wherein the base is arranged under the chassis (Fig. 4, periphery 232).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ducros (US Pat. 10,988,954 B2) in view of Reyes (US Pub. 2018/0371783 A1), and further in view of Magargee (US Pat. 9,752,344 B2).
Regarding claim 3, Ducros in view of Reyes discloses the claimed invention except for as taught by Magargee, similarly drawn to a light pole, wherein an inside of the main-pole body has at least one conduit channel running through the first bottom end, the second top end and the second bottom end and communicating with the accommodation space of the chassis, wherein at least one conduit via communicating with the at least one conduit channel is formed in a side wall of the first main-pole portion and/or a side wall of the second main-pole portion (Fig. 19, fitter 106 comprises a conduit which extends through the top surface of collar portion 182, providing communication into the inner chamber of pole portion 104).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modular common pole of Ducros in view of Reyes to include the conduit of Magargee to allow for the routing of electrical components between compartments.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ducros (US Pat. 10,988,954 B2) in view of Reyes (US Pub. 2018/0371783 A1), and further in view of Bouchard (US Pat. 10,135,130 B1).
Regarding claim 10, Ducros in view of Reyes discloses the claimed invention except for as taught by Bouchard, similarly drawn to a utility pole, at least one external device (Fig. 1C, arm 12), wherein at least part of the main-pole appearance parts have at least one through opening (Fig. 4, slot 30), the at least one external device comprises an external plate (Fig. 4, curved panel 26) and at least one external rod (Fig. 1C, arm 12), the external plate is detachably fixed to the main-pole body through part of the fixing members, one end of the at least one external rod is connected to the external plate (Fig. 1C, the curved panel 26 is shown removed from the structure), the at least one external rod extends away from the main-pole body (See Fig. 1C), the at least one external rod runs out through the at least one through opening (See Fig. 5A), and the other end of the at least one external rod is suitable to be connected to an external electronic device (Fig. 5A, lamp 14).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modular common pole of Ducros in view of Reyes to include the external device of Bouchard for as a means of creating a seal at the junction of the pole and the electronic device.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ducros (US Pat. 10,988,954 B2) in view of Reyes (US Pub. 2018/0371783 A1), and further in view of Bryant (US Pat. 9,188,317 B1).
Regarding claim 12, Ducros in view of Reyes discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Ducros, wherein the platform is arranged at a joint of the second main-pole portion and the chassis shell (Fig. 2, top plate 204).
However, Ducros in view of Reyes fails to disclose as taught by Bryant, similarly drawn to a streetlight mounting system, the platform comprises a notch plate and a sealing plate, and the notch plate and the sealing plate are suitable to be combined with each other to surround the second main-pole portion (Fig. 1A, collar sections 110, 115).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modular common pole of Ducros in view of Reyes to include the notch and sealing plates of Bryant to seal the interior compartment from moisture.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 4, 6, 11 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HENRY HOOPER MUDD/Examiner, Art Unit 3642 /JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642