DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is the initial Office Action based on the 19/004,511 application filed on 12/30/2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The originally filed disclosure does not support a storage bag that includes the positioning maintaining assembly comprises a first end and a second end that are opposite to each other, wherein the first end is connected to the first bag body, and the second end is connected to the bifacial solar cell as required by claim 6 as well as the fastening nail that is secured to the ground and is connected to the second end. It is unclear as to how the second end can be simultaneously connected to the bifacial solar cell as required by claim 3 as well as being connected to the fastening nail secured to the ground as required by claim 6. Indeed, figs. 1 and 3 of the originally filed disclosure shows the second end of the position maintaining assembly can only be connected to either the bifacial solar cell or the fastening nail 134 but not both.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The limitation “the position maintaining assembly further comprises a fastening nail, wherein the fastening nail is secured to the ground, and the second end is connected to the fastening nail” (emphasis added) that renders the claims indefinite because claims 3 and 13, on which claims 6 and 16 depend on respectively, recite the second end is connected to the bifacial solar cell. Therefore, it is unclear as to how the second end of the position maintaining assembly can be simultaneously connected to the fastening nail secured to the ground and the bifacial solar cell. Indeed, figs. 1 and 3 of current application show that the second end can only be either connected to the bifacial solar cell or the fastening nail but not both.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 10-13, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by RU193323 or ‘323 with provided machine English translation.
Addressing claims 1 and 11, Ru ‘323 discloses a combined solar device, comprising a bifacial solar panel (photodetectors 4, which is bifacial according to the disclosure in paragraph [0014] of the translation document that states the photodetectors have bilateral photosensitivity, which corresponds to the claimed bifacial solar panel) and a storage bag (fig. 2 shows the module in transportation configuration where the concentrators are folded to protect both sides of the photodetectors 4 during transportation [0014], which qualifies the configuration in fig. 2 as a storage structure; the word “bag” is interpreted to include the definition “a container that is used for carrying or storing items” according to www.thefreedictionary.com; in instant situation, the concentrators are in closed position as shown in fig. 2 and the module further includes a handle 6; therefore, the module of RU’323 is the structural equivalence to the claimed storage bag), wherein
the bifacial solar panel comprises a panel assembly 4 and a support (the combination of the stands 5 and the hinge 3 shown in figs. 1-4 and described in paragraph [0014] of the translation document), an upper end of the support (the two racks 5 of the support) is connected to an upper side of the panel assembly (fig. 1), and a lower end of the support (the hinge 3 of the support) abuts against the second bag body (fig. 2 shows the lower end of the hinge 3 connects to or abuts against the reflector that corresponds to the claimed second bag body); and
the storage bag is used for storing the bifacial solar panel (fig. 2) and comprises:
a first bag body, wherein a first reflective layer is disposed on an inner side of the first bag body (the left panel of the concentrator corresponds to the claimed first bag body); and
the second bag body connected to the first bag body, wherein a second reflective layer is disposed on an inner side of the second bag body (the right panel of the concentrator corresponds to the claimed second bag body), wherein
the storage bag has a first state in which the bifacial solar panel is stored in the storage bag (fig. 2), and the storage bag has a second state in which the storage bag reflects sunlight to a back of the bifacial solar panel (fig. 1 shows the state where both sides of the bifacial solar panel, one of which corresponds to the claimed back of the bifacial solar panel, receive sunlight being reflected off of the left and right panels of the storage bag).
Addressing claims 2 and 12, fig. 1 shows the first bag body and the second bag body are maintained at an angle therebetween in unfolded position via the hinge device 3 shown in fig. 2; therefore, the hinge device 3 that maintains the shown angle corresponds to the claimed position maintaining assembly. Furthermore, the limitation “the second bag body is laid flat” does not structurally differentiate the claimed second body bag from that of RU’323 since it is drawn to the orientation at which the second bag body is positioned. In instant situation, the second bag body of RU’323 is structurally capable of being laid flat.
Addressing claims 3, 6, 13 and 16, fig. 2 shows the hinge device has a first end (the end coupled to the reflector on the left side) and a second end (the reflector coupled to the reflector on the right side) that are opposite to each other (fig. 2), wherein the first end is connected to the first bag body (the reflector on the left side), and the second end is connected the second bag body or the bifacial solar cell 4 (fig. 2). The hinge device shown in fig. 2 is also the structural equivalence to the claimed limiting strap with a first end rotatably connected to the first bag body and the second end connected to the bifacial solar cell.
Addressing claims 7, 10, 17 and 20, figs. 1-2 show the first and second bag bodies are foldable and are made of aluminum sheet [0014], which has some flexibility that qualify them as being made of flexible material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RU193323 or ‘323 with provided machine English translation in view of Fukumochi et al. (US 2013/0298966).
Addressing claims 9 and 19, RU ‘323 is silent regarding a plurality of trenches are disposed in an array on each of the first and second reflective layers.
Fukumochi discloses a reflective layer for photovoltaic cells; wherein, the reflective layer includes a plurality of trenches disposed in an array (figs. 3 and 8).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the reflective layers of RU ‘323 with the plurality of trenches disposed in an array disclosed by Bukumochi in order to accurately reflect sunlight onto the receiving surface of the corresponding photovoltaic cell.
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, 10-12, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aradate et al. (JP2010/041822) in view of Zhang et al. (CN206807369 with provided machine English translation).
Addressing claims 1, 10-11 and 20, Aradate discloses a combined solar device (the device shown in figs. 1-3), comprising a solar panel 83 and a storage bag, wherein:
the solar panel 83 comprises a panel assembly 83 and a support 85, an upper end of the support is connected to an upper side of the panel assembly (fig. 1), and a lower end of the support abuts against a second bag body 80 (figs. 1-2); and
the storage bag is sued for storing the bifacial solar panel (figs. 1a and 2a) and comprises:
a first bag body 81, wherein a first reflective layer 82 is disposed on an inner side of the first bag body 81 (fig. 1b); and
the second bag body 80 connected to the first bag body (figs. 1-3), wherein a second reflective layer 72 is disposed on an inner side of the second bag body (the layer 72 is inherently reflective because it is visible; therefore, the layer 72 has to reflect light in order to be seen), wherein
the storage bag has a first state in which the solar panel is stored in the storage bag (figs. 1a and 2a), and the storage bag has a second state in which the storage bag reflects sunlight to the solar panel (figs. 1b and 2b).
Aradate is silent regarding the bifacial solar panel positioned in the claimed manner.
Zhang discloses a solar device comprising a bifacial solar cell (double-sided photovoltaic panel, [0021]). The bifacial solar is supported by a support structure 2 and is arranged such that its back receives sunlight being reflected off of the reflecting layer 7 positioned on the vertical wall and the horizontal base 1 (fig. 1).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the solar device of Aradate with the bifacial solar panel along with the reflective layer on the horizontal base layer 72 similarly to the reflective layer on the horizontal base 1 of Zhang in order to increase the amount of power generated by the solar device by converting direct light on the upper surface of the solar panel and reflected light on the back surface of the solar panel. In the modified solar device of Aradate in view of Zhang, in the second state the storage bag reflects sunlight to the back of the bifacial solar panel via the reflective layer 82 of the first bag body 81 and the reflective layer on the layer 72 of the second bag body.
Addressing claims 2 and 12, figs. 1a-1b and 2a-2b of Aradate show the first bag body 81 is moveably connected to the second bag body 80, the second bag body is laid flat, and the storage bag further comprises a position maintaining assembly (the hinge connection between the first bag body 81 and the second bag body 80) for maintaining an included angle between the first bag body and the second bag body (figs. 1b and 2b).
Addressing claims 7 and 17, it is inherent that the materials of the first bag body and the second bag body of Aradate has a degree of flexibility; therefore, they quality as the claimed flexible material because the claim does not recite any specific material or the degree of flexibility that structurally differentiates the claimed flexible material from those of Aradate.
Claim(s) 3-6 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aradate et al. (JP2010/041822) in view of Zhang et al. (CN206807369 with provided machine English translation) as applied to claims 1-2, 7, 10-12, 17 and 20 above, and further in view of Park (KR100799520 with provided machine English translation).
Addressing claims 3 and 13, Aradate and Zhang are silent regarding the position maintain assembly comprises a first end and a second end that are opposite to each other, wherein the first end is connected to the first bag body and the second end is connected to the bifacial solar panel.
Park discloses a solar device comprises a bifacial solar panel 30 being positioned between two reflectors 40 and 50 with each reflector is connected to the bifacial solar panel via a position maintaining assembly (wire ropes 70, 74, 84 and 90, page 11 of the translation document). The wire ropes each comprises a first end connected to the corresponding reflector and a second end, opposite to the first end, connected to the bifacial solar panel 30 (figs. 1 and 7-11).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the solar device of Aradate in view of Zhang with the wire rope connecting the reflecting first bag body to the bifacial solar panel as suggested by Park in order to control and maintaining the desired angle without collapsing (Park, page 11 of the translation document).
Addressing claims 4 and 14, Park discloses the ends of the wire ropes are connected to turnbuckles and knots (figs. 7-11), which means the distance between the first and second end can be adjusted by adjusting the turnbuckles and adjusting the length of the knots.
Addressing claims 5 and 15, Park discloses that the wire rope as the claimed flexible structure of the position maintaining assembly. The wire ropes include the wire rope as the body with the end defined by the turnbuckle (76, 86 or 92) the corresponding shackle (78, 88 or 94) as the claimed second end and the end (74a, 70b, 84a or 90a) as the claimed first end, the second end is connectable to the body so that the second end and the body form an annular structure (fig. 11) configured to be sleeved on the bifacial solar panel (fig. 9), the portion of the second end is sleeved on the bifacial solar panel through pully 77 and 83), and a position where the second end is connected to the body (the turnbuckle) is adjustable (by adjusting the turnbuckle).
Addressing claims 6 and 16, the wire ropes along with the associated shackles and turnbuckles correspond to the claimed limiting strap having its first and second ends positioned in the claimed manner.
Claim(s) 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aradate et al. (JP2010/041822) in view of Zhang et al. (CN206807369 with provided machine English translation) as applied to claims 1-2, 7, 10-12, 17 and 20 above, and further in view of Ma et al. (CN201451787 with provided machine English translation).
Addressing claims 8 and 18, Aradate and Zhang are silent regarding the limitation of current claims.
Ma discloses a solar device wherein the solar panel 8 is stored between first bag body 6 and the second bag body 1 (fig. 3). The first bag body and the second bag body are connected and disconnected via zipper (paragraph [0025] of the translation document).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the solar device of Aradate in view of Zhang with the zipper for connecting and disconnecting the first and second bag bodies as disclosed by Ma in order to ensure that the first bag body and the second bag body are closed and fixed during storage of the solar panel (Ma, [0025]).
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aradate et al. (JP2010/041822) in view of Zhang et al. (CN206807369 with provided machine English translation) as applied to claims 1-2, 7, 10-12, 17 and 20 above, and further in view of Fukumochi et al. (US 2013/0298966).
Addressing claims 9 and 19, Aradate and Zhang are silent regarding a plurality of trenches are disposed in an array on each of the first and second reflective layers.
Fukumochi discloses a reflective layer for photovoltaic cells; wherein, the reflective layer includes a plurality of trenches disposed in an array (figs. 3 and 8).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the reflective layers of Aradate in view of Zhang with the plurality of trenches disposed in an array disclosed by Bukumochi in order to accurately reflect sunlight onto the receiving surface of the corresponding photovoltaic cell.
Conclusion
/BACH T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726 01/07/2026