Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on July 9, 2026 amends claims 1, 3, 11, 13, and 19, cancels claims 14-18, and adds claims 20-25. Claims 1-13 and 19-25 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on July 9, 2026 regarding the newly presented claim limitations have been fully considered and are moot as shown in the rejections that follow. The amended or new independent claims, which necessitate a new ground of rejection, are taught by Chen (CN-114234538-B) in combination with newly cited reference, Waldschmidt (US 4,766,736), as shown in the rejections that follow.
Applicant alleges that Chen does not disclose or suggest the features of claims 8 and 9. Examiner stated that the cited portions of Chen that were used in the rejections of claims 6-7 teach the limitations recited in claims 8-9. For example, Chen at page 3 discloses judging whether there is frost on the fin according to the resistance value detected on the controller. Chen, at page 3, further discloses that if the resistance value detected on the controller is equal to the sum of the resistance value of all the fixed value resistance device, judging that there is no frost on the fin; see Chen at page 3 which discloses that the resistance change rule accords with the resistance change rule after the probe frosting, judging whether there is frost layer between the related probes, the thickness of the frost layer being greater than or equal to the distance between the two probes, or the distance of the related probe to the adjacent fin surface. Based on the foregoing, Chen discloses a resistance change based on a frost layer and that the frost layer or distance between a related probe and an adjacent fin surface is determined. Examiner notes that resistance change associated with probe frosting between probes, the thickness of the frost layer being greater than or equal to the distance between the two probes, or the distance of the related probe to an adjacent fin surface affects the measured resistance. Thus, a resistance change associated with probe frosting may be a function of several factors, which may cause a decrease (or an increase) in the resistance measured between a related probe and an adjacent fin surface. Examiner has shown a teaching based on a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed language in light of what is written in the specification. Thus, Chen teaches the features recited in each of claims 8-9.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN-114234538-B) in view of Waldschmidt (US 4,766,736).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a system to detect frost in an evaporator coil, comprising: a controller; (see Chen at page 2 which discloses that the invention belongs to evaporator defrosting device manufacturing technology field, specifically to a frost
layer identifying device and using method and probe automatic defrosting system. Furthermore, see Chen at page 2 which discloses that the purpose of the invention is aiming at the disadvantages of the existing technology, using conductive characteristics the ice, using several probes and resistor electrically connected to detect whether there is frost on the surface of the fin, designing a frost layer identification device, can reach a certain thickness frosting condition into resistance change of resistance value, to be convenient to be collected by the controller. Examiner notes that the published specification, at [0079], [0091-0092], in conjunction with Fig. 3, element 305, depicts and/or discloses that an evaporator coil includes the surface of a fin (i.e., fin of the evaporator coil). Thus, Examiner has shown a teaching based on a broadest reasonable interpretation in light of what is written in the specification.)
and a probe comprising one or more electrodes, the probe being attached to a component of an evaporator coil, the probe being configured to transmit detection of an environmental condition in proximity to the component of the evaporator coil to the controller, (see Chen at page 2 which discloses that the purpose of the invention is aiming at the disadvantages of the existing technology, using conductive characteristics the ice, using several probes and resistor electrically connected to detect whether there is frost on the surface of the fin, designing a frost layer identification device, can reach a certain thickness frosting condition into resistance change of resistance value, to be convenient to be collected by the controller …, and that a frost layer identification device, wherein it comprises N fixed value resistance device, N + 1 probe, several lead, all the fixed value resistance device and N + 1 of the probe are connected in series on the closed circuit through the lead. Also, see Chen at page 3 which discloses that using method of frost layer identification device, the frost layer identification device comprises N fixed value resistors, N + 1 probe, and several leads. Examiner maps lead and/or several leads to the recited one or more electrodes. Examiner maps fin to the recited component of an evaporator coil. Examiner notes that detecting, using the probe, using several probes and resistor electrically connected to detect whether there is a frost layer or frost on the surface of the fin, corresponds to the probe being configured to transmit detection of an environmental condition in proximity to the component of the evaporator coil to the controller. Examiner notes that the presence of frost corresponds to the environmental condition in proximity to the component or the fin.)
wherein the controller initiates and terminates a defrost operation based on the environmental condition reported by the probe (see Chen at page 3 which discloses a probe defrosting system comprising the frost layer identification device according to claim 1, comprising a controller, wherein the controller is electrically connected with the heating body, when the resistance value or voltage or current detected by the controller is changed to a set range, the controller turn on for removing the defrosting operation of the fin of the heat exchanger, at the same time, the heating body also works; until the defrosting operation of the controller is finished, the heating body stops working.)
While Chen at pages 2-3 discloses that the probe is provided with a temperature sensor or a heating body and that the shape of the probe 2 can be deformed into a clamp spring type or a pipe buckle type, Chen does not expressly disclose and wherein the probe is configured to latch onto one or more tubes of the evaporator coil, which in a related art, Waldschmidt teaches (see at least Waldschmidt at the Abstract which discloses a plurality of low cost spring retainer clips which have one portion which extends between two closely spaced cooling fins to hook a refrigerant carrying tube and another portion which holds the heating element against edges of the cooling fins with a spring force; see Waldschmidt at col. 2 which discloses that a curved handle is formed adjacent the second end of the wire which enables the retainer clip to be easily held as the first end is inserted between two heat exchanger fins and the first curved section is hooked over a coolant tube; see Waldschmidt at col. 4 which discloses a curved section 40 that functions as a hook for “hooking” a coolant tube 14; see Waldschmidt at col. 4 which discloses that the diameter of the coolant tube 14 it will be "hooked" over, with a radius of about 0.19 inch (5 mm) being suitable for a coolant tube having a diameter of about 0.4 inch (10 mm), for example. Examiner notes that Chen’s probe, which may include a heating body, may be configured to latch onto one or more tubes of the evaporator coil by using the curved section of one or more spring retainer clips by way of a spring force as taught by Waldschmidt.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to include wherein the probe is configured to latch onto one or more tubes of the evaporator coil, as taught by Waldschmidt.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide for quickly snapping a plurality of spring retainer clips 32 over the heating element 22, to hold it in the desired position, as suggested by Waldschmidt at the end of col. 5.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Chen teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the environmental condition includes a thickness of frost on the evaporator coil as measured by at least one of the electrodes (see Chen at page 2 which discloses that the purpose of the invention is aiming at the disadvantages of the existing technology, using conductive characteristics the ice, using several probes and resistor electrically connected to detect whether there is frost on the surface of the fin, designing a frost layer identification device, can reach a certain thickness frosting condition into resistance change of resistance value, to be convenient to be collected by the controller …, and that a frost layer identification device, wherein it comprises N fixed value resistance device, N + 1 probe, several lead, all the fixed value resistance device and N + 1 of the probe are connected in series on the closed circuit through the lead. Also, see Chen at page 3 which discloses that using method of frost layer identification device, the frost layer identification device comprises N fixed value resistors, N + 1 probe, and several leads. Examiner maps certain thickness frosting condition, frost on the surface of the fin, and/or a frost layer to the thickness of frost. Examiner previously noted that in light of the specification, as depicted in Fig. 3 and disclosed at [0079], an evaporator coil includes the surface of a fin.)
Regarding claim 3, the modified Chen teaches wherein the probe is configured to: detect frost on the component of the evaporator coil; (see Chen at page 3 which discloses that the invention uses conductive characteristics of ice, using several probes and fixed value resistor electrically connected to detect whether the surface of the fin has frost.)
transmit detection of the environmental condition in proximity to the component of the evaporator coil to the controller by transmitting data indicating the detection of frost on the component of the evaporator coil to the controller, (see Chen at page 3 which discloses designing a frost layer identification device, which can reach a certain thickness frosting condition into resistance value change, so as to be collected by the controller, solves the problem that the traditional frost layer identification device cannot be considered in the special condition of humidity change "cold medium deficiency" so as to affect the frost layer detection result problem and the detection result is not quasi-caused by "false” and at the same time, the invention claims a use method of the frost layer identification device, which can timely detect the thickness of the frost according to the formation of the frost, and can intuitively obtain the frost formation condition. Examiner notes that for the resistance value change to be collected by the controller that such resistance value data must be transmitted from the frost layer identification device to the controller.)
wherein the controller is configured to initiate the defrost operation upon receiving the data indicating the detection of a threshold amount of frost on the component of the evaporator coil; detect reduction of frost on the component of the evaporator coil; and transmit the environmental condition in proximity to the component of the evaporator coil to the controller by transmitting data indicating the reduction of frost on the component of the evaporator coil, wherein the controller is configured to suspend the defrost operation upon receiving the data indicating the detection of a threshold reduction of frost on the component of the evaporator coil (see Chen at page 3 which discloses designing a frost layer identification device, which can reach a certain thickness frosting condition into resistance value change, so as to be collected by the controller; see Chen at page 3 which discloses a probe defrosting system comprising the frost layer identification device according to claim 1, comprising a controller, wherein the controller is electrically connected with the heating body, when the resistance value or voltage or current detected by the controller is changed to a set range, the controller turn on for removing the defrosting operation of the fin of the heat exchanger, at the same time, the heating body also works; until the defrosting operation of the controller is finished, the heating body stops working. Examiner notes that a resistance value being changed to a set range corresponds to the resistance value being at least a threshold amount. Examiner notes that the defrosting operation of the controller finishes or the heating body stops working when the resistance value changes, which is collected by the controller, falls below the set range or below the threshold amount. Examiner notes that data must be transmitted to the collector for the resistance value change to be collected by the controller.)
Regarding claim 4, the modified Chen teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the probe is attached so that the one or more electrodes are disposed between fins of the evaporator coil to detect frost or an absence of frost (see Chen at page 3 which discloses a distance of the related probe to the adjacent fin surface; see Chen at Fig. 1 which discloses probe 2 located between or disposed between fins 9.)
Regarding claim 5, the modified Chen teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the probe is attached so that one of the one or more electrodes is disposed within a predetermined distance from a fin of the evaporator coil to detect frost or an absence of frost (see Chen at page 2 which discloses that the purpose of the invention is aiming at the disadvantages of the existing technology, using conductive characteristics the ice, using several probes and resistor electrically connected to detect whether there is frost on the surface of the fin; see Chen at page 3 which discloses a distance of the related probe to the adjacent fin surface; see Chen at Fig. 1 which discloses probe 2 located between or disposed between fins 9.)
Regarding claim 6, the modified Chen teaches the system of Claim 4, wherein the data indicating the detection of a threshold amount of frost on the component of the evaporator coil is based on at least one of: an increase of resistance between at least two of the electrodes; and an increase of resistance between one of the at least two of the electrode and a fin of the evaporator coil (see Chen at page 2 which discloses that a frost layer identification device, wherein it comprises N fixed value resistance device, N + 1 probe, several lead, all the fixed value resistance device and N + 1 of the probe are connected in series on the closed circuit through the lead; see Chen at page 3 which discloses that using method of frost layer identification device, the frost layer identification device comprises N fixed value resistors, N + 1 probe, and several leads. Examiner notes that the connection between the probe and the coil is made by way of a lead connected to the fin of the evaporator coil. Also, see Chen at page 3 which discloses that judging whether there is frost on the fin according to the resistance value detected on the controller and if the resistance value detected on the controller is equal to the sum of the resistance value of all the fixed value resistance device, judging that there is no frost on the fin; see Chen at page 3 which discloses that the resistance change rule accords with the resistance change rule after the probe frosting, judging whether there is frost layer between the related probes, the thickness of the frost layer being greater than or equal to the distance between the two probes, or the distance of the related probe to the adjacent fin surface. Examiner notes that the published specification at [0082] discloses that resistance values between the permutations of electrode parings of at least a threshold resistance value may be indicative of frost and/or ice and that the controller is configured to, based on the determined resistance values indicative of a formation of at least frost, initiate a defrost operation and that flaked ice, hard ice, clear ice, etc., have different resistance values. Hence, the resistance value measured between the permutations of electrode pairs may vary based on various frost formations. Examiner notes that resistance change associated with probe frosting between probes, the thickness of the frost layer being greater than or equal to the distance between the two probes, or the distance of the related probe to an adjacent fin surface affects the measured resistance. Thus, a resistance change, as taught by Chen, associated with probe frosting, may be a function of several factors, that may cause an increase (or decrease) in the resistance measured between the leads of the one or more probes. Examiner has shown a teaching based on a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed language in light of what is written in the specification.)
Regarding claim 7, the modified Chen teaches the system of claim 4, wherein the data indicating the reduction of frost on the component of the evaporator coil is based on at least one of: a decrease of resistance between at least two of the electrodes; and a decrease of resistance between one of the one or more electrodes and a fin of the evaporator coil (see Chen at page 2 which discloses that a frost layer identification device, wherein it comprises N fixed value resistance device, N + 1 probe, several lead, all the fixed value resistance device and N + 1 of the probe are connected in series on the closed circuit through the lead; see Chen at page 3 which discloses that using method of frost layer identification device, the frost layer identification device comprises N fixed value resistors, N + 1 probes, and several leads. Examiner notes that the connection between the probe and the coil is made by way of a lead connected to the fin of the evaporator coil. Also, see Chen at page 3 which discloses that judging whether there is frost on the fin according to the resistance value detected on the controller and if the resistance value detected on the controller is equal to the sum of the resistance value of all the fixed value resistance device, judging that there is no frost on the fin; see Chen at page 3 which discloses that the resistance change rule accords with the resistance change rule after the probe frosting, judging whether there is frost layer between the related probes, the thickness of the frost layer being greater than or equal to the distance between the two probes, or the distance of the related probe to the adjacent fin surface. Examiner notes that the published specification at [0082] discloses that resistance values between the permutations of electrode parings of at least a threshold resistance value may be indicative of frost and/or ice and that the controller is configured to, based on the determined resistance values indicative of a formation of at least frost, initiate a defrost operation and that flaked ice, hard ice, clear ice, etc., have different resistance values. Hence, the resistance value measured between the permutations of electrode pairs may vary based on various frost formations. Examiner notes that resistance change associated with probe frosting between probes, the thickness of the frost layer being greater than or equal to the distance between the two probes, or the distance of the related probe to an adjacent fin surface affects the measured resistance. Thus, a resistance change associated with probe frosting may be a function of several factors, which may cause a decrease (or an increase) in the resistance measured between the leads of the one or more probes. Examiner has shown a teaching based on a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed language in light of what is written in the specification.)
Claims 8-9 recite systems that are configured to perform the steps recited in systems of claims 6-7. The cited portions of Chen used in the rejection of claims 6-7 teach the limitations recited in the systems of claims 8-9. Therefore, claims 8-9 are rejected under the same rationale as stated for claims 6-7 above.
Regarding claim 10, the modified Chen teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein the component of the evaporator coil includes at least one of a fin, a duct, a drain pan, or a surface of the evaporator coil (see Chen at the Abstract which discloses that the invention adopts several probes and a fixed value resistor electrically connected to detect whether there is frost on the surface of the fin; see Chen at Fig. 1 which discloses probe 2 located between or disposed between fins 9.)
Regarding claim 11, Chen teaches a method for regulating a buildup of frost, comprising: (see Chen at page 2 which discloses that the invention belongs to evaporator defrosting device manufacturing technology field, specifically to a frost layer identifying device and using method and probe automatic defrosting system.)
periodically receiving a measured resistance value between a pairing of at least two electrodes from a probe to which the at least two electrodes are configured, (see Chen at page 3 which discloses that the invention uses conductive characteristics of ice, using several probes and fixed value resistor electrically connected to detect whether the surface of the fin has frost, designing a frost layer identification device, which can reach a certain thickness frosting condition into resistance value change, so as to be collected by the controller, solves the problem that the traditional frost layer identification device cannot be considered in the special condition of humidity change "cold medium deficiency " so as to affect the frost layer detection result problem and the detection result is not quasi-caused by " false" and at the same time, the invention claims a use method of the frost layer identification device, which can timely detect the thickness of the frost according to the formation of the frost, and can intuitively obtain the frost formation condition. Examiner notes that identifying a certain thickness frosting condition into resistance value change and the timely detection of the thickness of the frost corresponds to periodically receiving a measured resistance value between a pairing of at least two electrodes from a probe to which the at least two electrodes are configured. Also, see Chen at page 2 which discloses that a frost layer identification device, wherein it comprises N fixed value resistance device, N + 1 probe, several lead, all the fixed value resistance device and N + 1 of the probe are connected in series on the closed circuit through the lead. Also, see Chen at page 3 which discloses that using method of frost layer identification device, the frost layer identification device comprises N fixed value resistors, N + 1 probe, and several leads. Examiner maps lead and/or several leads to the recited one or more electrodes. Examiner has shown a teaching based on a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed language.)
and the probe is configured to transmit the measured resistance in proximity to the component of the evaporator coil to the controller; (see Chen at page 2 which discloses that the purpose of the invention is aiming at the disadvantages of the existing technology, using conductive characteristics the ice, using several probes and resistor electrically connected to detect whether there is frost on the surface of the fin, designing a frost layer identification device, can reach a certain thickness frosting condition into resistance change of resistance value, to be convenient to be collected by the controller. Examiner maps fin to the recited component of an evaporator coil. Examiner notes that a resistance change of the resistance value is measured. Examiner has shown a teaching based on a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed language.)
implementing a defrost operation when the periodically received measured resistance value is at least a threshold resistance value; and suspending the defrost operation when the periodically received measured resistance value is below threshold resistance value (see Chen at page 3 which discloses a probe defrosting system comprising the frost layer identification device according to claim 1, comprising a controller, wherein the controller is electrically connected with the heating body, when the resistance value or voltage or current detected by the controller is changed to a set range, the controller turn on for removing the defrosting operation of the fin of the heat exchanger, at the same time, the heating body also works; until the defrosting operation of the controller is finished, the heating body stops working. Examiner notes that when a detected resistance value is changed to a set range corresponds to the resistance value being at least a threshold resistance value. Examiner notes that the defrosting operation of the controller finishes or the heating body stops working when the resistance value is below the set range or below the threshold resistance value. Also, see Chen at page 3 which discloses that the invention uses conductive characteristics of ice, using several probes and fixed value resistor electrically connected to detect whether the surface of the fin has frost, designing a frost layer identification device, which can reach a certain thickness frosting condition into resistance value change, so as to be collected by the controller, solves the problem that the traditional frost layer identification device cannot be considered in the special condition of humidity change " cold medium deficiency " so as to affect the frost layer detection result problem and the detection result is not quasi-caused by " false" and at the same time, the invention claims a use method of the frost layer identification device, which can timely detect the thickness of the frost according to the formation of the frost, and can intuitively obtain the frost formation condition. Examiner notes that identifying a certain thickness frosting condition and the timely detection of the thickness of the frost corresponds to implementing a defrost operation when the periodically received measured resistance is at least a threshold resistance value, and suspending the defrost operation when the periodically received measured resistance value is below threshold resistance value. Examiner has shown a teaching based on a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed language.)
While Chen at pages 2-3 discloses that the probe is provided with a temperature sensor or a heating body and that the shape of the probe 2 can be deformed into a clamp spring type or a pipe buckle type, Chen does not expressly disclose and wherein the probe is configured to at least one of latch onto one or more tubes of the evaporator coil and wedge between consecutive fins of the evaporator coil, which in a related art, Waldschmidt teaches (see at least Waldschmidt at the Abstract which discloses a plurality of low cost spring retainer clips which have one portion which extends between two closely spaced cooling fins to hook a refrigerant carrying tube and another portion which holds the heating element against edges of the cooling fins with a spring force; see Waldschmidt at col. 2 which discloses that a curved handle is formed adjacent the second end of the wire which enables the retainer clip to be easily held as the first end is inserted between two heat exchanger fins and the first curved section is hooked over a coolant tube; see Waldschmidt at col. 4 which discloses a curved section 40 that functions as a hook for “hooking” a coolant tube 14; see Waldschmidt at col. 4 which discloses that the diameter of the coolant tube 14 it will be "hooked" over, with a radius of about 0.19 inch (5 mm) being suitable for a coolant tube having a diameter of about 0.4 inch (10 mm), for example. Examiner notes that Chen’s probe, which may include a heating body, may be configured to latch onto one or more tubes of the evaporator coil by using the curved section of one or more spring retainer clips by way of a spring force as taught by Waldschmidt.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to include wherein the probe is configured to at least one of latch onto one or more tubes of the evaporator coil and wedge between consecutive fins of the evaporator coil, as taught by Waldschmidt.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide for quickly snapping a plurality of spring retainer clips 32 over the heating element 22, to hold it in the desired position, as suggested by Waldschmidt at the end of col. 5.
Regarding claim 12, the modified Chen teaches the method of Claim 11, further comprising: calculating a thickness of frost on the evaporator coil in proximity to the probe based on at least one received measured resistance value that is at least the threshold resistance value (see Chen at page 2 which discloses that the purpose of the invention is aiming at the disadvantages of the existing technology, using conductive characteristics the ice, using several probes and resistor electrically connected to detect whether there is frost on the surface of the fin, designing a frost layer identification device, can reach a certain thickness frosting condition into resistance change of resistance value, to be convenient and to be collected by the controller and that the invention claims a use method of the frost layer identification device, which can timely detect the thickness of the frost according to the formation of the frost; see Chen at page 3 which discloses that the invention claims a use method of the frost layer identification device, which can timely detect the thickness of the frost according to the formation of the frost, and can intuitively obtain the frost formation condition. Examiner maps detecting the thickness of the frost to calculating a thickness of frost.)
Regarding claim 13, the modified Chen teaches the method of Claim 11, wherein the defrost operation includes warming at least one of a heating element disposed in proximity to the probe and a heating bar having a portion thereof disposed in proximity to the probe (see Chen at Fig. 1 elements 2, 6 which depicts heating element 6 located in close proximity to a probe 2; see Chen at page 3 which discloses that preferably, the probe is a hollow structure with opening at the bottom end, the probe is provided with a temperature sensor or a heating body. Examiner maps heating body to heating bar.)
Regarding claim 20, the modified Chen teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the probe includes a plurality of curved surfaces, wherein each of the plurality of curved surfaces is configured to partially hang over at least a portion of one of the one or more tubes of the evaporator coil (see Chen at page 3 which discloses that the probe is provided with a temperature sensor or a heating body; see Chen at page 4 which discloses that the shape of the probe can be a clamp spring type, a pipe buckle type, and so on; see Waldschmidt at the Abstract which discloses the use of a plurality of low cost spring retainer clips which have one portion which extends between two closely spaced cooling fins to hook a refrigerant carrying tube; see Waldschmidt at col. 4 which discloses that spring retainer clip 32 has at least first and second curved sections 40 and 42; see Waldschmidt at Figs. 1-4, for example, which illustratively depict curved surfaces of the clip for partially hanging over at least a portion of one of the one or more tubes of the refrigerant carrying tube or evaporator coil. Examiner notes that Chen teaches that the probe which may incorporate a heating body, for example, may also comprise a clamp spring type, which is tantamount to incorporating a spring retaining clip 32 as depicted in Waldschmidt at Figs. 1-4. Examiner has shown a teaching based on a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed language.)
Regarding claim 21, the modified Chen teaches the system of claim 20, wherein two of the plurality of curved surfaces are configured to partially hang over two different portions of one of the one or more tubes of the evaporator coil, and wherein another two of the plurality of curved surfaces are configured to partially hang over two different portions of another of the one or more tubes of the evaporator coil (see at least Waldschmidt at Fig. 1 which illustratively depicts at least four different spring retainer clip being used to partially hang over at least four different portions of the one or more refrigerant carrying tubes. Examiner maps refrigerant carrying tubes to evaporator coil.)
Regarding claim 22, the modified Chen teaches the system of Claim 20, wherein at least two fins of the evaporator coil are disposed within a space defined by two of the plurality of curved surfaces (see at least Waldschmidt at Fig. 1 which illustratively depicts a plurality of fins disposed within a space defined by two of the spring retainer clips 32; see Waldschmidt at col. 4 which discloses that spring retainer clip 32 has at least first and second curved sections 40 and 42. Examiner notes that a plurality of fins corresponds to at least two fins. Examiner notes that each of the two spring retainer clips comprises at least one curved surface.)
Regarding claim 23, Chen teaches a system to detect frost in an evaporator coil, comprising: a controller; (see Chen at page 2 which discloses that the invention belongs to evaporator defrosting device manufacturing technology field, specifically to a frost
layer identifying device and using method and probe automatic defrosting system. Furthermore, see Chen at page 2 which discloses that the purpose of the invention is aiming at the disadvantages of the existing technology, using conductive characteristics the ice, using several probes and resistor electrically connected to detect whether there is frost on the surface of the fin, designing a frost layer identification device, can reach a certain thickness frosting condition into resistance change of resistance value, to be convenient to be collected by the controller. Examiner notes that the published specification, at [0079], [0091-0092], in conjunction with Fig. 3, element 305, depicts and/or discloses that an evaporator coil includes the surface of a fin (i.e., fin of the evaporator coil). Thus, Examiner has shown a teaching based on a broadest reasonable interpretation in light of what is written in the specification.)
and a probe comprising one or more electrodes, the probe being attached to a component of an evaporator coil, the probe being configured to transmit detection of an environmental condition in proximity to the component of the evaporator coil to the controller, (see Chen at page 2 which discloses that the purpose of the invention is aiming at the disadvantages of the existing technology, using conductive characteristics the ice, using several probes and resistor electrically connected to detect whether there is frost on the surface of the fin, designing a frost layer identification device, can reach a certain thickness frosting condition into resistance change of resistance value, to be convenient to be collected by the controller …, and that a frost layer identification device, wherein it comprises N fixed value resistance device, N + 1 probe, several lead, all the fixed value resistance device and N + 1 of the probe are connected in series on the closed circuit through the lead. Also, see Chen at page 3 which discloses that using method of frost layer identification device, the frost layer identification device comprises N fixed value resistors, N + 1 probe, and several leads. Examiner maps lead and/or several leads to the recited one or more electrodes. Examiner maps fin to the recited component of an evaporator coil. Examiner notes that detecting, using the probe, using several probes and resistor electrically connected to detect whether there is a frost layer or frost on the surface of the fin, corresponds to the probe being configured to transmit detection of an environmental condition in proximity to the component of the evaporator coil to the controller. Examiner notes that the presence of frost corresponds to the environmental condition in proximity to the component or the fin.)
wherein the controller initiates and terminates a defrost operation based on the environmental condition reported by the probe, and (see Chen at page 3 which discloses a probe defrosting system comprising the frost layer identification device according to claim 1, comprising a controller, wherein the controller is electrically connected with the heating body, when the resistance value or voltage or current detected by the controller is changed to a set range, the controller turn on for removing the defrosting operation of the fin of the heat exchanger, at the same time, the heating body also works; until the defrosting operation of the controller is finished, the heating body stops working.)
While Chen at pages 2-3 discloses that the probe is provided with a temperature sensor or a heating body and that the shape of the probe 2 can be deformed into a clamp spring type or a pipe buckle type, Chen does not expressly disclose wherein the probe is configured to be wedged between two or more consecutive fins of the evaporator coil, which in a related art Waldschmidt teaches (see at least Waldschmidt at the Abstract which discloses a plurality of low cost spring retainer clips which have one portion which extends between two closely spaced cooling fins to hook a refrigerant carrying tube and another portion which holds the heating element against edges of the cooling fins with a spring force; see Waldschmidt at col. 2 which discloses that the curved sections are all disposed in a common plane to enable the retainer clip to be easily inserted between two adjacent heat exchanger fins. Examiner notes that disposing the curved sections into a common plane to enable the retainer clip to be easily inserted between two adjacent heat exchanger fins corresponds to wherein the probe is configured to be wedged between two or more consecutive fins of the evaporator coil.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to include wherein the probe is configured to be wedged between two or more consecutive fins of the evaporator coil, as taught by Waldschmidt.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide for quickly snapping a plurality of spring retainer clips 32 over the heating element 22, to hold it in the desired position, as suggested by Waldschmidt at the end of col. 5.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN-114234538-B) in view of Waldschmidt (US 4,766,736) and further in view of Wang (CN 114546773 A).
Regarding claim 19, Chen teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the control implements the defrost operation [when at least two consecutively received] measured resistance values are at least the threshold resistance value, and the controller suspends the defrost operation [when at least two consecutively received] measured resistance values are below the threshold resistance value (see Chen at Abstract which discloses that the invention belongs to evaporator defrosting device technology field, specifically to a frost layer identification device and use method and probe automatic defrosting system; see Chen at page 3 which discloses controller turn on for a defrosting operation of the fin of the heat exchanger until the defrosting operation of the controller is finished; Examiner notes that a controller turning on a defrosting operation corresponds to implementing the defrost operation. Further, see Chen at page 3 which discloses controller turn on for a defrosting operation of the fin of the heat exchanger until the defrosting operation of the controller is finished, the heating body stops working. Examiner notes that stopping the heating body from working corresponds to suspending the defrost operation. Furthermore, see Chen at page 3 which discloses that the invention uses conductive characteristics of ice, using several probes and fixed value resistor electrically connected to detect whether the surface of the fin has frost, designing a frost layer identification device, which can reach a certain thickness frosting condition into resistance value change, so as to be collected by the controller. Examiner notes that collecting resistance values detected by the probes corresponds to measuring resistance values. Also, see Chen at page 3 which discloses a probe defrosting system comprising the frost layer identification device according to claim 1, comprising a controller, wherein the controller is electrically connected with the heating body, when the resistance value or voltage or current detected by the controller is changed to a set range, the controller turn on for removing the defrosting operation of the fin of the heat exchanger, at the same time, the heating body also works; until the defrosting operation of the controller is finished, the heating body stops working. Examiner notes that a detected resistance value in a set range corresponds to the resistance value being at least a threshold resistance value or below a threshold resistance value.)
Chen does not expressly disclose when at least two consecutively received [measured resistance values are at least the threshold resistance value] or when at least two consecutively received [measured resistance values are below the threshold resistance value] which in a related art, Wang teaches (see Wang at page 7 which discloses that if the ratio of the repeated data of the monitored field in the total amount exceeds the preset threshold value, to consider the data as abnormal. Examiner maps receiving repeated data to at least two consecutively received values.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to include at least two consecutively received values, as taught by Wang.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to a data monitoring system by way of implementing an intelligent refrigerator, as suggested by Wang at page 4.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROY RHEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664