DETAILED ACTION
The office action is in response to application filed on 4-21-26. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2019/0148976 to OKADA et al. (“OKADA”).
Regarding claim 1, OKADA discloses a relay leg (fig. 3, L1 and L2) configured to connect a power source (fig. 3, system power supply 1) to a grid (1) via at least a latching relay (switch SW is a contact of a latch type relay RL l); and a control circuit (11) comprising a power bank configured to store energy (9) and provide a power pulse to open or close the latching relay ([0021], ([0099])).
Regarding claim 2, OKADA discloses the power bank is configured to store energy above a threshold ([0023], discrete charging) that corresponds to a minimum energy required to generate the power pulse that is sufficient to open or close the latching relay ([0021], ([0099])).
Regarding claim 3, OKADA discloses the control circuit is configured to control charging of the power bank to a level ([0108], control circuit configured to control a state of the charging and discharging unit and connected to a latch type first relay inserted between a system power supply and a load via a contact of a non-latch type second relay) above the threshold ([0023], discrete charging).
Regarding claim 4, OKADA discloses the control circuit is configured to ensure the power bank is charged to a level ([0108], control circuit configured to control a state of the charging and discharging unit and connected to a latch type first relay inserted between a system power supply and a load via a contact of a non-latch type second relay) above the threshold ([0023], discrete charging) throughout operation of the device.
Regarding claim 5, OKADA discloses the control circuit is configured to measure an electrical parameter ([0020], The power failure detector 6 measures the power of the power line 4 and detects whether prescribed power is present on the power line 4) of the power bank to ensure the power bank is charged to a level ([0108], control circuit configured to control a state of the charging and discharging unit and connected to a latch type first relay inserted between a system power supply and a load via a contact of a non-latch type second relay) above the threshold ([0023], discrete charging).
Regarding claim 6, OKADA discloses the control circuit is configured to charge the power bank from a plurality of power sources (fig. 3, 1, 2).
Regarding claim 7, OKADA discloses the power bank is configured to provide the power pulse to a monitoring circuit (11) configured to drive a coil (L1) of the latching relay.
Regarding claim 9, OKADA discloses the device comprises: an inverter (bidirectional converter 10) configured to connect a photovoltaic power source ([0095]) to a three-phase AC grid (1); and an automatic switching circuit (fig. 3, SW) that comprises the latching relay and is configured to disconnect the inverter from the three-phase AC grid based on a power interruption or fault.
Regarding claim 10, OKADA discloses a relay leg (fig. 3, L1 and L2) configured to connect a power source to a grid (1) via at least a latching relay (switch SW is a contact of a latch type relay RL l); a controller (11) configured to control, based on input data, the latching relay; and a power bank (9) configured to store energy and provide a power pulse ([0021]) to open or close the latching relay ([0099]).
Regarding claim 11, OKADA discloses the power bank is configured to store energy above a threshold ([0023], discrete charging) that corresponds to a minimum energy required to generate the power pulse that is sufficient to open or close the latching relay ([0021], ([0099])).
Regarding claim 12, OKADA discloses a digital signal processor ([0093]) coupled to the controller and configured to measure an electrical parameter ([0020], The power failure detector 6 measures the power of the power line 4 and detects whether prescribed power is present on the power line 4) of the power bank to ensure the power bank is charged to a level above the threshold ([0108], control circuit configured to control a state of the charging and discharging unit and connected to a latch type first relay inserted between a system power supply and a load via a contact of a non-latch type second relay).
Regarding claim 13, OKADA discloses the power bank is configured to provide the power pulse to a monitoring circuit (11) configured to drive a coil (L1) of the latching relay.
Regarding claim 16, OKADA discloses the power bank comprises a storage element (9), switching circuit (SW), and a measurement circuit (6).
Allowable Subject Matter
20. Claims 8 and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 8 indicated as containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations claim 8, especially the power bank is configured to provide the power pulse to a pre-commissioning circuit configured to test the device prior to connection with the grid.
Claim 14 indicated as containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations claim 14, especially the controller is configured to: send, to the monitoring circuit, a pulse width modulation signal that indicates when to control the latching relay; and send, to the monitoring circuit, a direct current (DC) signal that causes the monitoring circuit to control the latching relay to disconnect the power source from the grid.
Claim 15 indicated as containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations claim 15, especially the power bank is configured to provide the power pulse to a pre-commissioning circuit configured to test an inverter prior to connection with the grid.
Claims 17-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With respect to independent claim 17, the closest prior art reference OKADA (2019/0148976) discloses “a power supply apparatus includes a latch type first relay inserted between a system power supply and a load, where the latch type first relay includes a switch, a tripping coil configured to open the switch, and a closing coil configured to close the switch, an electricity storage system including a charging and discharging unit inserted between a secondary battery and the load, a non-latch type second relay including a contact and an operating coil configured to open and close the contact, where the operating coil is connected between the electricity storage system and the load, and a control circuit connected to the first relay via the contact of the second relay”, and the prior art of record, singularly or in combination, does not disclose the claimed combination of components, which include, inter alia, a second relay controlled by the second control circuit, wherein the second relay comprises a latching relay;
Response to argument
Applicant’s argument filed on 4-21-26 with respect to claims 1-20 has been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/ESAYAS G YESHAW/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2836