DETAILED ACTION
This application has been examined. Claims 21-40 are pending.
The prior art submitted on 12/30/24 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-40, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Haeusler et al. (US 2020/0282575 A1)
As per claim 21, Haeusler et al. disclose a method of updating camera calibration, the method comprising: determining an idle period in which at least a portion of a robot is not or will not be moving (see at least [0043] disclose determining whether a pose in the set of poses is reachable. In one implementation, determining reachability includes both determining whether the robot arm 102 is able to move into the defined position and also that the calibration chart 300 is within the view of the robot optical sensor 502a); receiving one or more calibration images representing a calibration pattern during the idle period and performing a calibration operation based on the one or more calibration images, wherein the calibration operation outputs updated calibration information (see at least [0044-0045] disclose at a given range and translation position, the end effector 114 holding the calibration chart 300 is stepped through a range or orientation angles in each of roll pitch, and yaw, with a sufficient number of transition angles in each orientation dimension to avoid gaps. Then, the end effector 114 is moved to a different translation position and the orientation variations are again stepped through. This is repeated until sufficient imagery covers the range of reachable 6DoF).
As per claim 22, Haeusler et al. disclose generating one or more movement commands for causing the calibration pattern to be moved to or toward one or more locations (see at least the abstract disclose moving, based at least on the pose data, the robot arm into a plurality of poses; at each pose of the plurality of poses, capturing a set of images of the calibration chart with the first optical sensor and recording a pose; calculating intrinsic calibration parameters, based at least on the set of captured images; and calculating extrinsic calibration parameters, based at least on the set of captured images).
As per claim 23, Haeusler et al. disclose the one or more location is based on calibration information (see at least [0028-0029] disclose the robot arm is then automatically moved to each pose and an image is captured and recorded along with the position and orientation of the calibration chart. The resulting set of images is used to calculate the intrinsic lens calibration).
As per claim 24, Haeusler et al. disclose the one or more locations is based on a robot task (see at least [0036] disclose specification of the movement of the robot arm 102 so that the end-effector 114 achieves a desired task is known as motion planning).
As per claims 25-26, Haeusler et al. disclose the idle period is a period of time in which one or more movement command for performing a robot task are not output, and the calibration pattern is performed during the idle period (see at least [0043] disclose determining whether a pose in the set of poses is reachable. In one implementation, determining reachability includes both determining whether the robot arm 102 is able to move into the defined position and also that the calibration chart 300 is within the view of the robot optical sensor 502a).
As per claim 27, Haeusler et al. disclose the calibration operation is performed during movement of the robot (see at least [0028-0029] disclose the robot arm is then automatically moved to each pose and an image is captured and recorded along with the position and orientation of the calibration chart. The resulting set of images is used to calculate the intrinsic lens calibration).
Claims 28-34, are system claims corresponding to method claims 21-27 above. Therefore, they art rejected for the same rationales set forth as above.
Claims 35-40, are non-transitory computer-readable medium claims corresponding to method claims 21-26 above. Therefore, they art rejected for the same rationales set forth as above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
. Maximilian Beinhofer (11559899)
. Kazuto Murase (11407102)
. Akane Nakashima (10569414)
/DALENA TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657