DETAILED ACTION
Claim status
Claims 1-22 are pending; claim 1, 14, 21 and 22 are independent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument in page 3, that Independent claim 1 relates to a display apparatus that includes a viewing angle control pixel as well as a normal pixel and accumulates stress separately for each pixel type and compensates for image data accordingly.
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees, first of all Won’s reference as a primary reference taught that, the display panel comprises two kind of pixels, the first is a normal pixel 110a and a second is private pixel 120, and wherein the private pixel 120 is driven, the display apparatus may have a viewing angle narrower than each of a viewing angle in the normal mode, figs 2-5 and 7 Para 0081, and wherein a difference in the deterioration degree between the private pixel 120 and the normal pixel 110 may be less than a case where only the private pixel 120 is driven in the private mode. Accordingly, in such an embodiment, color bleeding and afterimages generated due to the difference in the deterioration degree may be substantially reduced), but when combined with Kim’s reference to disclose an afterimage compensator which includes an edge determiner, a first accumulator may accumulate the first stress data corresponding to the first area (one pixel, Para 0097), a second accumulator may accumulate the second stress data corresponding to the second area (one pixel, Para 0097) and a grayscale value compensator may compensate the grayscale value of the input image data based on the first stress data and the second stress data and may output the compensated grayscale value (figs 1-4 and Paras 0090-0095), and also the stress data may be accumulated for each pixel (in a block size of 1×1 pixel) and the input image data IMG may be compensated using the stress data accumulated for each pixel (in the block size of 1 xl pixel), (fig. 5A and Para 0097, that means each pixel compensated differently, and it is enough for the claim language.
In response to applicant’s argument in page 3, Won does mention the issue of afterimage that may result from driving normal pixels differently from viewing angle control pixels.
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees Kim clearly taught that a first accumulator may accumulate the first stress data and a second accumulator may accumulate the second stress data and a grayscale value compensator may compensate the grayscale value of the input image data based on the first stress data and the second stress data and may output the compensated grayscale value figs (1-4 and Paras 0090-0095).
In response to applicant's arguments that So while Won does mention the issue of afterimage that may result from driving normal pixels differently from viewing angle control pixels, Won deals with this problem by adjusting the manner in which these pixels are driven so that they age more uniformly, against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant's argument that Thus, combining the teachings of Won with Kim would not lead to the recited arrangement in which normal pixels and viewing age control pixels are grouped by viewing angle type and separately compensated for, but would rather lead to some system in which block sizes for the purpose of pixel tracking would change depending on how much accumulated age is present in a given continuous section of display, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
For the same reasons above rejection to claims 14, 21 and 22 still stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 9-11, 14-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won (US 2022/0358875), and further in view of Kim (US 2022/0383794).
Regarding claim 1, Won teaches a display apparatus (fig. 1) comprising:
a display panel (fig. 1, a display panel 100) including a viewing angle control pixel having a first viewing angle and a normal pixel having a second viewing angle that is larger than the first viewing angle (figs 2-5 and 7, a normal pixel 110a private pixel 120, wherein the private pixel 120 is driven, the display apparatus may have a viewing angle narrower than each of a viewing angle in the normal mode, Para 0081);
a data driver configured to output a data voltage to the display panel (fig. 1, a data driver 500 and Para 0063),
a driving controller configured to control the data driver (fig. 1, a driving controller 200 and Para 0058), wherein the driving controller comprises:
a subpixel renderer configured to render input image data to the viewing angle control pixel and the normal pixel according to an operation mode (fig. 12 and Para 0091, wherein the display panel driver 600 may drive the first pixels 101 and the second pixels 102 in the first mode (S710). The display panel driver 600 may drive the second pixels 102 in the first part for one frame in the second mode (S720) (or the display panel driver 600 may drive the second pixels 102 in the first time of the one frame in the second mode); and
Won does not expressly disclose an afterimage compensator configured to accumulate a first stress corresponding to the viewing angle control pixel to generate a first age of the viewing angle control pixel, accumulate a second stress corresponding to the normal pixel to generate a second age of the normal pixel, compensate data for the viewing angle control pixel having the first viewing angle based on the first age and compensate data for the normal pixel having the second viewing angle based on the second age that is differently tracked from the first age used to compensate data for the viewing angle control pixel having the first viewing angle.
However, Kim disclose “an afterimage compensator configured to accumulate a first stress corresponding to the viewing angle control pixel to generate a first age of the viewing angle control pixel, accumulate a second stress corresponding to the normal pixel to generate a second age of the normal pixel, see figs 1-4 and Paras 0090-0095; and compensate data for the viewing angle control pixel having the first viewing angle based on the first age and compensate data for the normal pixel having the second viewing angle based on the second age that is differently tracked from the first age used to compensate data for the viewing angle control pixel having the first viewing angle”, see figs 1-4, the grayscale value compensator 228 and Para 0095.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified a display apparatus of Won by applying the teaching of Kim to include an afterimage compensator which includes an edge determiner, a first accumulator may accumulate the first stress data corresponding to the first area, a second accumulator may accumulate the second stress data corresponding to the second area and a grayscale value compensator may compensate the grayscale value of the input image data based on the first stress data and the second stress data and may output the compensated grayscale value, as a known technique to yield a predictable result.
Regarding claim 2, Won in view of Kim teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the afterimage compensator (fig. 4, the afterimage compensator 220 and Para 0090, Kim) comprises:
a deterioration compensator configured to receive rendered image data and a flag signal from the subpixel renderer and output a deterioration compensation image data and the flag signal (fig. 4, The grayscale value compensator 228 and Para 0095, Kim); and
a stress accumulator configured to accumulate the first stress of the deterioration compensation image data for the viewing angle control pixel to generate the first age when the flag signal has a first value and accumulate the second stress of the deterioration compensation image data for the normal pixel to generate the second age when the flag signal has a second value (fig. 4, the first accumulator 224 and the second accumulator 226 and Paras 0093-0094, Kim), and
wherein the deterioration compensator is configured to compensate the rendered image data for the viewing angle control pixel based on the first age and compensate the rendered image data for the normal pixel based on the second age (fig. 4, The grayscale value compensator 228 and Para 0095, wherein grayscale value compensator 228 may compensate the grayscale value GIN of the input image data IMG based on the first stress data SD1 and the second stress data SD2 and may output the compensated grayscale value GOUT, Kim).
Regarding claim 9, Won in view of Kim teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the afterimage compensator (fig. 4, the afterimage compensator 220 and Para 0090, Kim) comprises:
a deterioration compensator configured to receive rendered image data and a flag signal from the subpixel renderer and output deterioration compensation image data (fig. 4, The grayscale value compensator 228 and Para 0095, Kim); and
a stress accumulator configured to accumulate the first stress of the rendered image data for the viewing angle control pixel to generate the first age when the flag signal has a first value and accumulate the second stress of the rendered image data for the normal pixel to generate the second age when the flag signal has a second value (fig. 4, the first accumulator 224 and the second accumulator 226 and Paras 0093-0094, Kim), and
wherein the deterioration compensator is configured to compensate the rendered image data for the viewing angle control pixel based on the first age and compensate the rendered image data for the normal pixel based on the second age (fig. 4, The grayscale value compensator 228 and Para 0095, wherein grayscale value compensator 228 may compensate the grayscale value GIN of the input image data IMG based on the first stress data SD1 and the second stress data SD2 and may output the compensated grayscale value GOUT, Kim).
Regarding claim 10, Won in view of Kim teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the display panel comprises: a first color first normal pixel disposed in a first pixel row; a second color 1-1 normal pixel and a second color 1-2 normal pixel sequentially disposed in a second pixel row (fig. 5 and Para 0072, Won);
Won in view of Kim a first color first viewing angle control pixel, a third color first normal pixel and a first color second viewing angle control pixel sequentially disposed in a third pixel row; a second color 1-1 viewing angle control pixel, a second color 1-2 viewing angle control pixel, a second color 2-1 viewing angle control pixel and a second color 2-2 viewing angle control pixel sequentially disposed in a fourth pixel row; a third color first viewing angle control pixel, a first color second normal pixel and a third color second viewing angle control pixel sequentially disposed in a fifth pixel row; a second color 2-1 normal pixel and a second color 2-2 normal pixel sequentially disposed in a sixth pixel row; and a third color second normal pixel disposed in a seventh pixel row.
However, WON teaches in FIG. 2 and Para 0065, wherein the display panel 100 may include the first pixels 101 and the second pixels 102. The display panel 100 may have a structure in which the first pixels 101 are surrounded by the second pixels 102, and the second pixels 102 are surrounded by the first pixels 101. Such a structure may be repeatedly arranged in the display panel 100. In FIG. 5 and Para 0072, wherein the normal pixel 110 may include a plurality of sub-pixels 111. The sub-pixels 111 of the normal pixel 110 may include a light emitting region 130. The sub-pixels 111 of the normal pixel 110 may include a plurality of the light emitting regions 130. The light emitting region 130 may include a red (R) light emitting region 130a, a green (G) light emitting region 130b, and a blue (B) light emitting region 130c. In FIG. 7 and Para 0076, wherein each of the private pixels 120 may include a plurality of sub-pixels 121. he light emitting regions 130 may include a red (R) light emitting region 130a, a green (G) light emitting region 130b, and blue (B) light emitting region 130c. So a display having normal pixels and private pixels, where the normal pixel may include a plurality of sub-pixels (fig. 5 a normal pixel 110) and the private pixels may have a plurality of sub pixels (See; Fig. 7 for private pixel 120 having up to 16 sub pixels for limiting the viewing angle of the displayed content and . Further the terms, 1-1 and 1-2 viewing angle is not a known term in the art and the specification does not further define this term with regards to the subpixel, thus any additional sub pixels would read on this term). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify WON to have additional sub pixels in the private pixels for better control of the image quality and viewing angle control in the private mode.
However WON teaches the subpixels arranged in (See; Figs 2, 5 and 7) which could reasonable be considered to be arrangement of the subpixels. Further since the disclosure offers no criticality and no unexpected results from having subpixels disposed in a specific arrangement then it is deemed a design choice. Therefore it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use an arrangement as a mere design choice based on the specific device that it will be used for.
Regarding claim 11, Won in view of Kim teaches the display apparatus of claim 10, wherein, in a normal mode, the first color first normal pixel, the second color 1-1 normal pixel, the second color 1-2 normal pixel, the third color first normal pixel, the first color second normal pixel, the second color 2-1 normal pixel, the second color 2-2 normal pixel and the third color second normal pixel are configured to emit light (fig. 3 and Para 0067, wherein in a first mode (normal mode), may drive both the first pixels 101 (a normal pixel) and the second pixels 102 (a private pixel), Won).
wherein, in the normal mode, the first color first viewing angle control pixel, the second color 1-1 viewing angle control pixel, the second color 1-2 viewing angle control pixel, the third color first viewing angle control pixel, the first color second viewing angle control pixel, the second color 2-1 viewing angle control pixel, the second color 2-2 viewing angle control pixel and the third color second viewing angle control pixel are configured to emit light (fig. 3 and Para 0067, wherein in a first mode (normal mode), may drive both the first pixels 101 (a normal pixel) and the second pixels 102 (a private pixel), Won);
wherein, in a private mode, the first color first normal pixel, the second color 1-1 normal pixel, the second color 1-2 normal pixel, the third color first normal pixel, the first color second normal pixel, the second color 2-1 normal pixel, the second color 2-2 normal pixel and the third color second normal pixel are configured not to emit light (fig. 4 and Para 0069, wherein in a second mode (the private mode), may drive the second pixels 102 (a private pixel) in a first part for one frame, the second pixel 102 may be driven more than the first pixel 101, Won), and
wherein, in the private mode, the first color first viewing angle control pixel, the second color 1-1 viewing angle control pixel, the second color 1-2 viewing angle control pixel, the third color first viewing angle control pixel, the first color second viewing angle control pixel, the second color 2-1 viewing angle control pixel, the second color 2-2 viewing angle control pixel and the third color second viewing angle control pixel are configured to emit light (fig. 4 and Para 0069, wherein in a second mode (the private mode), may drive the second pixels 102 (a private pixel) in a first part for one frame, the second pixel 102 may be driven more than the first pixel 101, Won).
Regarding claim 14, Won teaches an electronic apparatus (fig. 1) comprising:
a display panel (fig. 1, a display panel 100) including a viewing angle control pixel having a first viewing angle and a normal pixel having a second viewing angle that is larger than the first viewing angle (figs 2-5 and 7, a normal pixel 110a private pixel 120, wherein the private pixel 120 is driven, the display apparatus may have a viewing angle narrower than each of a viewing angle in the normal mode, Para 0081);
a data driver circuit configured to output a data voltage to the display panel; (fig. 1, a data driver 500 and Para 0063),
a driving controller circuit configured to control the data driver circuit(fig. 1, a gamma reference voltage generator400 and Para 0061); and
a host configured to output compensated input image data and an input control signal to the driving controller circuit (fig. 1, a driving controller 200 and Para 0058),
Won does not expressly disclose wherein the host comprises an afterimage compensator circuit configured to accumulate a first stress for the viewing angle control pixel to generate a first age of the viewing angle control pixel, accumulate a second stress for the normal pixel to generate a second age of the normal pixel, that is differently tracked from the first age of the viewing angle control pixel, and compensate data of the viewing angle control pixel based on the first age and data of the normal pixel based on the second age to generate deterioration compensation image data such that pixel age is differently compensated for based on viewing angle.
However, Kim disclose “wherein the host comprises an afterimage compensator circuit configured to accumulate a first stress for the viewing angle control pixel to generate a first age of the viewing angle control pixel, accumulate a second stress for the normal pixel to generate a second age of the normal pixel, that is differently tracked from the first age of the viewing angle control pixel, see figs 1-4 and Paras 0090-0095, and compensate data of the viewing angle control pixel based on the first age and data of the normal pixel based on the second age to generate deterioration compensation image data such that pixel age is differently compensated for based on viewing angle”, see figs 1-4, the grayscale value compensator 228 and Para 0095.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified an electronic apparatus of Won by applying the teaching of Kim to include an afterimage compensator which includes an edge determiner, a first accumulator may accumulate the first stress data corresponding to the first area, a second accumulator may accumulate the second stress data corresponding to the second area and a grayscale value compensator may compensate the grayscale value of the input image data based on the first stress data and the second stress data and may output the compensated grayscale value, as a known technique to yield a predictable result.
Regarding claim 15, Won in view of Kim teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 14, wherein the host further comprises: a first subpixel renderer circuit configured to render input image data to the viewing angle control pixel and the normal pixel according to an operation mode (fig. 12 and Para 0091, wherein the display panel driver 600 may drive the first pixels 101 and the second pixels 102 in the first mode (S710). The display panel driver 600 may drive the second pixels 102 in the first part for one frame in the second mode (S720) (or the display panel driver 600 may drive the second pixels 102 in the first time of the one frame in the second mode, Won); and
an inverse subpixel renderer circuit configured to perform inverse subpixel rendering to the deterioration compensation image data to generate the compensated input image data (Para 0095, Won), and
wherein the driving controller circuit comprises a second subpixel renderer circuit configured to render the compensated input image data to the viewing angle control pixel and the normal pixel according to the operation mode (fig. 13 and Para 0093, wherein the display panel driver 600 may drive the second pixels 102 in the first part for one frame in the second mode (S720). The display panel driver 600 may drive the first pixels 101 in the second part for the one frame in the second mode (S730), Won).
Regarding claim 16, Won in view of Kim teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 14, wherein the host further comprises a first subpixel renderer circuit configured to render input image data to the viewing angle control pixel and the normal pixel according to an operation mode and output rendered image data and a flag signal to the afterimage compensator circuit (fig. 12 and Para 0091, Won),
wherein the afterimage compensator circuit (fig. 4, the afterimage compensator 220 and Para 0090, Kim) comprises:
a deterioration compensator circuit configured to receive the rendered image data and the flag signal from the first subpixel renderer circuit and output the deterioration compensation image data and the flag signal (fig. 4, The grayscale value compensator 228 and Para 0095, Kim); and
a stress accumulator circuit configured to accumulate the first stress of the deterioration compensation image data for the viewing angle control pixel to generate the first age when the flag signal has a first value and accumulate the second stress of the deterioration compensation image data for the normal pixel to generate the second age when the flag signal has a second value (fig. 4, the first accumulator 224 and the second accumulator 226 and Paras 0093-0094, Kim), and
wherein the deterioration compensator circuit is configured to compensate the rendered image data for the viewing angle control pixel based on the first age and the rendered image data for the normal pixel based on the second age (fig. 4, The grayscale value compensator 228 and Para 0095, wherein grayscale value compensator 228 may compensate the grayscale value GIN of the input image data IMG based on the first stress data SD1 and the second stress data SD2 and may output the compensated grayscale value GOUT, Kim).
Regarding claim 17, Won in view of Kim teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 14, wherein the host further comprises a first subpixel renderer circuit configured to render input image data to the viewing angle control pixel and the normal pixel according to an operation mode and output rendered image data and a flag signal to the afterimage compensator circuit (fig. 12 and Para 0091, Won),
wherein the afterimage compensator circuit (fig. 4, the afterimage compensator 220 and Para 0090, Kim) comprises:
a deterioration compensator circuit configured to receive the rendered image data and the flag signal from the first subpixel renderer circuit and output the deterioration compensation image data (fig. 4, The grayscale value compensator 228 and Para 0095, Kim); and
a stress accumulator circuit configured to accumulate the first stress of the rendered image data for the viewing angle control pixel to generate the first age when the flag signal has a first value and accumulate the second stress of the rendered image data for the normal pixel to generate the second age when the flag signal has a second value (fig. 4, the first accumulator 224 and the second accumulator 226 and Paras 0093-0094, Kim), and
wherein the deterioration compensator circuit is configured to compensate the rendered image data for the viewing angle control pixel based on the first age and the rendered image data for the normal pixel based on the second age (fig. 4, The grayscale value compensator 228 and Para 0095, wherein grayscale value compensator 228 may compensate the grayscale value GIN of the input image data IMG based on the first stress data SD1 and the second stress data SD2 and may output the compensated grayscale value GOUT, Kim).
Regarding claim 18, Won in view of Kim teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 14, wherein the host further comprises a first subpixel renderer circuit configured to render the deterioration compensation image data to the viewing angle control pixel and the normal pixel according to an operation mode and output rendered image data and a flag signal to the afterimage compensator circuit (fig. 12 and Para 0091, Won),
wherein the afterimage compensator circuit (fig. 4, the afterimage compensator 220 and Para 0090, Kim) comprises:
a deterioration compensator circuit configured to compensate the input image data according to the operation mode and output the deterioration compensation image data (fig. 4, The grayscale value compensator 228 and Para 0095, Kim); and
a stress accumulator circuit configured to accumulate the first stress of the deterioration compensation image data for the viewing angle control pixel to generate the first age when the flag signal has a first value and accumulate the second stress of the deterioration compensation image data for the normal pixel to generate the second age when the flag signal has a second value (fig. 4, the first accumulator 224 and the second accumulator 226 and Paras 0093-0094, Kim).
Regarding claim 19, Won in view of Kim teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 18, wherein, in a normal mode, the deterioration compensator circuit is configured to compensate the input image data for the viewing angle control pixel and the input image data for the normal pixel by combining the first age and the second age (Para 0070, Won), and
wherein, in a private mode, the deterioration compensator circuit is configured to compensate the input image data for the viewing angle control pixel using the first age (Para 0082, Won).
Regarding claim 20, Won in view of Kim teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 14, wherein the host further comprises a first subpixel renderer circuit configured to render input image data to the viewing angle control pixel and the normal pixel according to an operation mode and output rendered image data and a flag signal to the afterimage compensator circuit (fig. 12 and Para 0091, Won), and
wherein the afterimage compensator circuit comprises(fig. 4, the afterimage compensator 220 and Para 0090, Kim) comprises:
a deterioration compensator circuit configured to compensate the input image data according to the operation mode and output the deterioration compensation image data (fig. 4, The grayscale value compensator 228 and Para 0095, Kim); and
a stress accumulator circuit configured to accumulate the first stress of the input image data for the viewing angle control pixel to generate the first age when the flag signal has a first value and accumulate the second stress of the input image data for the normal pixel to generate the second age when the flag signal has a second value (fig. 4, the first accumulator 224 and the second accumulator 226 and Paras 0093-0094, Kim).
Regarding claim 21, Won teaches method of driving a display panel (fig. 12), the method comprising:
rendering input image data to a viewing angle control pixel of the display panel and a normal pixel of the display panel according to an operation mode (fig. 12 and Para 0091), wherein the viewing angle control pixel has a first viewing angle and the normal pixel has a second viewing angle that is larger than the first viewing angle (figs 2-5 and 7, a normal pixel 110a private pixel 120, wherein the private pixel 120 is driven, the display apparatus may have a viewing angle narrower than each of a viewing angle in the normal mode, Para 0081);
Won does not expressly disclose accumulating a first stress associated with the viewing angle control pixel to generate a first age of the viewing angle control pixel; accumulating a second stress associated with the normal pixel to generate a second age of the normal pixel that is differently tracked from the first age used to compensate data for the viewing angle control pixel; compensating data of the viewing angle control pixel based on the first age; and compensating data of the normal pixel based on the second age that is differently tracked from the first age.
However, Kim discloses accumulating a first stress associated with the viewing angle control pixel to generate a first age of the viewing angle control pixel; accumulating a second stress associated with the normal pixel to generate a second age of the normal pixel that is differently tracked from the first age used to compensate data for the viewing angle control pixel, see fig. 4, the first accumulator 224 and the second accumulator 226 and Paras 0093-0094; and compensating data of the viewing angle control pixel based on the first age; and compensating data of the normal pixel based on the second age that is differently tracked from the first age, see fig. 4, The grayscale value compensator 228 and Para 0095.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified a method of Won by applying the teaching of Kim to include an afterimage compensator which includes an edge determiner, a first accumulator may accumulate the first stress data corresponding to the first area, a second accumulator may accumulate the second stress data corresponding to the second area and a grayscale value compensator may compensate the grayscale value of the input image data based on the first stress data and the second stress data and may output the compensated grayscale value, as a known technique to yield a predictable result.
Regarding claim 22, Won teaches a smartphone (Para 0096, a smart phone) comprising:
a display apparatus (fig. 1), comprising:
a display panel (fig. 1, a display panel 100) including a viewing angle control pixel having a first viewing angle and a normal pixel having a second viewing angle that is larger than the first viewing angle (figs 2-5 and 7, a normal pixel 110a private pixel 120, wherein the private pixel 120 is driven, the display apparatus may have a viewing angle narrower than each of a viewing angle in the normal mode, Para 0081);
a data driver configured to output a data voltage to the display panel (fig. 1, a data driver 500 and Para 0063); and
a driving controller configured to control the data driver (fig. 1, a driving controller 200 and Para 0058), wherein the driving controller comprises:
a subpixel renderer configured to render input image data to the viewing angle control pixel and the normal pixel according to an operation mode (fig. 12 and Para 0091, wherein the display panel driver 600 may drive the first pixels 101 and the second pixels 102 in the first mode (S710). The display panel driver 600 may drive the second pixels 102 in the first part for one frame in the second mode (S720) (or the display panel driver 600 may drive the second pixels 102 in the first time of the one frame in the second mode); and
Won does not expressly disclose an afterimage compensator configured to: accumulate a first stress corresponding to the viewing angle control pixel to generate a first age of the viewing angle control pixel, accumulate a second stress corresponding to the normal pixel to generate a second age of the normal pixel to generate a second age of the normal pixel; compensate data for the viewing angle control pixel based on the first age, and compensate data for the normal pixel based on the second age that is differently tracked from the first age used to compensate data for the viewing angle control pixel having the first viewing angle.
However, Kim discloses accumulating an afterimage compensator (fig. 4, the afterimage compensator 220) configured to: accumulate a first stress corresponding to the viewing angle control pixel to generate a first age of the viewing angle control pixel, accumulate a second stress corresponding to the normal pixel to generate a second age of the normal pixel, see fig. 4, the first accumulator 224 and the second accumulator 226 and Paras 0093-0094; and compensate data for the viewing angle control pixel based on the first age, and compensate data for the normal pixel based on the second age that is differently tracked from the first age used to compensate data for the viewing angle control pixel having the first viewing angle, see fig. 4, The grayscale value compensator 228 and Para 0095.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified a device of Won by applying the teaching of Kim to include an afterimage compensator which includes an edge determiner, a first accumulator may accumulate the first stress data corresponding to the first area, a second accumulator may accumulate the second stress data corresponding to the second area and a grayscale value compensator may compensate the grayscale value of the input image data based on the first stress data and the second stress data and may output the compensated grayscale value, as a known technique to yield a predictable result.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won (US 2022/0358875), and further in view of Kim (US 2022/0383794), and further in view of AN (US 2019/0221158).
Regarding claim 3, Won in view of Kim teaches the display apparatus of claim 2, wherein the stress accumulator comprises: a first stress accumulator configured to accumulate the first stress to a previous first age to generate a current first age when the flag signal has the first value (fig. 4, the first accumulator 224 and Para 0093, Kim);
a second stress accumulator configured to accumulate the second stress to a previous second age to generate a current second age when the flag signal has the second value(fig. 4, the second accumulator 226 and Para 0093, Kim); and
a stress memory configured to output the previous first age to the first stress accumulator, receive the current first age from the first stress accumulator, output the previous second age to the second stress accumulator and receive the current second age from the second stress accumulator (fig. 2, the first memory area MA1, the second memory area MA2 and Paras 0080-0087, Kim).
Won in view of Kim does not expressly disclose a first stress encoder configured to generate the first stress from the deterioration compensation image data for the viewing angle control pixel when the flag signal has the first value; and a second stress encoder configured to generate the second stress from the deterioration compensation image data for the normal pixel when the flag signal has the second value;
However, AN discloses “a first stress encoder configured to generate the first stress from the deterioration compensation image data for the viewing angle control pixel when the flag signal has the first value; and a second stress encoder configured to generate the second stress from the deterioration compensation image data for the normal pixel when the flag signal has the second value”, see fig. 5 and Paras 0102-0106.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified a display apparatus of Won in view of Kim by applying the teaching of AN to include block averaging encoder 210 may encode the accumulated stress value for the pixels into the accumulated stress value for the blocks based on the information on the addressing between the pixels and the blocks, as a known technique to yield a predictable result.
Regarding claim 4, Won in view of Kim and in view of AN teaches the display apparatus of claim 3, further comprising a nonvolatile memory configured to output the first age and the second age to the stress memory and receive the first age and the second age from the stress memory (fig. 2 and Para 0084, Kim).
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won (US 2022/0358875), and further in view of Kim (US 2022/0383794), in view of AN (US 2019/0221158), and further in view of Yang (US 2016/0372032).
Regarding claim 5, Won in view of Kim and in view of AN teaches the display apparatus of claim 3, but wherein Won in view of Kim and in view of AN does not expressly disclose the deterioration compensator comprises:
a first deterioration amount calculator configured to receive the first age from the stress memory and calculate a first deterioration amount based on the first age;
a first block interpolator configured to adjust the first deterioration amount using a first adjacent block deterioration amount of adjacent blocks to generate a first adjusted deterioration amount;
a second deterioration amount calculator configured to receive the second age from the stress memory and calculate a second deterioration amount based on the second age;
a second block interpolator configured to adjust the second deterioration amount using a second adjacent block deterioration amount of the adjacent blocks to generate a second adjusted deterioration amount; and
a compensator configured to compensate the rendered image data for the viewing angle control pixel based on the first adjusted deterioration amount and compensate the rendered image data for the normal pixel based on the second adjusted deterioration amount.
However, Yang discloses the deterioration compensator (the compensator 170) comprises:
a first deterioration amount calculator configured to receive the first age from the stress memory and calculate a first deterioration amount based on the first age (fig. 10, a first calculator 1741 and Para 0113);
a first block interpolator configured to adjust the first deterioration amount using a first adjacent block deterioration amount of adjacent blocks to generate a first adjusted deterioration amount (fig. 10, and Para 0113, wherein using interpolation from the extracted first constant values α1 and β1. Herein, each of the first constant values α1 and β1 of the first pixels 1401 that are adjacent to the specific second pixel 1402);
a second deterioration amount calculator configured to receive the second age from the stress memory and calculate a second deterioration amount based on the second age (fig. 10, a second calculator 1742 and Para 0114);
a second block interpolator configured to adjust the second deterioration amount using a second adjacent block deterioration amount of the adjacent blocks to generate a second adjusted deterioration amount (fig. 10, and Para 0114, wherein using interpolation from the extracted second constant values α2 and β2. Herein, each of the second constant values α2 and β2 of the first pixels 1401 that are adjacent to the specific second pixel 1402); and
a compensator configured to compensate the rendered image data for the viewing angle control pixel based on the first adjusted deterioration amount and compensate the rendered image data for the normal pixel based on the second adjusted deterioration amount (fig. 10, the data compensator 154 and Paras 0123-0128).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified a display apparatus of Won in view of Kim and in view of AN by applying the teaching of Yang to include a compensator which includes a storage , a first calculator, a second calculator, a current measurer, a selector, a data adjuster and a data compensator to compensate deterioration information of the organic light emitting diode included in each of the pixels corresponding to the luminance compensation amount.
Regarding claim 6, Won in view of Kim, in view of AN and in view of Yang teaches the display apparatus of claim 5, wherein the first stress, the second stress, the first age, the second age, the first deterioration amount, the second deterioration amount, the first adjusted deterioration amount and the second adjusted deterioration amount are generated in a unit of a block (fig. 5B and Para 0098, Kim).
Regarding claim 7, Won in view of Kim, in view of AN and in view of Yang teaches the display apparatus of claim 3, wherein the deterioration compensator comprises: a first deterioration amount calculator configured to receive the first age from the stress memory and calculate a first deterioration amount based on the first age (fig. 10, a first calculator 1741 and Para 0113, Yang);
a second deterioration amount calculator configured to receive the second age from the stress memory and calculate a second deterioration amount based on the second age(fig. 10, a second calculator 1742 and Para 0114, Yang); and
a compensator configured to compensate the rendered image data for the viewing angle control pixel based on the first deterioration amount and compensate the rendered image data for the normal pixel based on the second deterioration amount (fig. 10, the data compensator 154 and Paras 0123-0128, Yang).
Regarding claim 8, Won in view of Kim, in view of AN and in view of Yang teaches the display apparatus of claim 7, wherein the first stress, the second stress, the first age, the second age, the first deterioration amount and the second deterioration amount are generated in a unit of a pixel (fig. 5A and Para 0097, Kim).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won (US 2022/0358875), and further in view of Kim (US 2022/0383794), and further in view of Lee (US 2024/0212576).
Regarding claim 12, Won in view of Kim teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, but Won in view of Kim does not expressly disclose wherein the display panel comprises: a first color first normal pixel, a second color first normal pixel, a third color first normal pixel, a first color first viewing angle control pixel, a second color first viewing angle control pixel and a third color first viewing angle control pixel sequentially disposed in a first row; and
a first color second normal pixel, a second color second normal pixel, a third color second normal pixel, a first color second viewing angle control pixel, a second color second viewing angle control pixel and a third color second viewing angle control pixel sequentially disposed in a second row.
However, Lee discloses wherein the display panel comprises: a first color first normal pixel, a second color first normal pixel, a third color first normal pixel, a first color first viewing angle control pixel, a second color first viewing angle control pixel and a third color first viewing angle control pixel sequentially disposed in a first row (fig. 3, a first row and Para 0087); and
a first color second normal pixel, a second color second normal pixel, a third color second normal pixel, a first color second viewing angle control pixel, a second color second viewing angle control pixel and a third color second viewing angle control pixel sequentially disposed in a second row (fig. 3, a second row and Paras 0089-0091).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified a display apparatus of Won in view of Kim by applying the teaching of Lee to include pixels arranged in rows and covered with a first lens LENS1 and a second lens LENS2 which may be implemented as a transparent medium or transparent insulating layer pattern disposed in the display panel to switch between SMODE and PMODE, and to provide a display device that is capable of adjusting the viewing angle in each of the pixels and preventing image quality degradation when the viewing angle is changed (Para 0008, Lee)
Regarding claim 13, Won in view of Kim and in view of Lee teaches the display apparatus of claim 12, wherein, in a normal mode, the first color first normal pixel, the second color first normal pixel, the third color first normal pixel, the first color second normal pixel, the second color second normal pixel and the third color second normal pixel are configured to emit light (fig. 3 and Para 0067, wherein in a first mode (normal mode), may drive both the first pixels 101 (a normal pixel) and the second pixels 102 (a private pixel), Won),
wherein, in the normal mode, the first color first viewing angle control pixel, the second color first viewing angle control pixel, the third color first viewing angle control pixel, the first color second viewing angle control pixel, the second color second viewing angle control pixel and the third color second viewing angle control pixel are configured to emit light (fig. 3 and Para 0067, wherein in a first mode (normal mode), may drive both the first pixels 101 (a normal pixel) and the second pixels 102 (a private pixel), Won),
wherein, in a private mode, the first color first normal pixel, the second color first normal pixel, the third color first normal pixel, the first color second normal pixel, the second color second normal pixel and the third color second normal pixel are configured not to emit light (fig. 4 and Para 0069, wherein in a second mode (the private mode), may drive the second pixels 102 (a private pixel) in a first part for one frame, the second pixel 102 may be driven more than the first pixel 101 Won), and
wherein, in the private mode, the first color first viewing angle control pixel, the second color first viewing angle control pixel, the third color first viewing angle control pixel, the first color second viewing angle control pixel, the second color second viewing angle control pixel and the third color second viewing angle control pixel are configured to emit light (fig. 4 and Para 0069, wherein in a second mode (the private mode), may drive the second pixels 102 (a private pixel) in a first part for one frame, the second pixel 102 may be driven more than the first pixel 101 Won).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park (US 2021/0056912), relate generally to a data compensation. More particularly, embodiments of the invention relate to a data compensating circuit that performs a data compensation such as afterimage compensation, an optical compensation, etc., and a display device including the data compensating circuit.
Lee (US 2018/0012563), relates to a method of displaying an image by using a display device. The method includes: grouping pixels included in a display unit into pixel blocks, generating a first accumulated stress map representing a degree of a deteriorated performance of the pixels included in the pixel blocks based on first image data of a current frame image, and determining a shiftable range of the current frame image by analyzing the first accumulated stress map. The first image data is corrected to second image data in which the current frame image is shifted within the shiftable range.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.E.E/Examiner, Art Unit 2625 7/25/2026
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625