DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 7/16/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Page 12, line 20 "speed sensor 15" should be --speed sensor 11--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SHIMOGO et al. (JP 2013112074 A).
Regarding claim 1, SHIMOGO discloses a powertrain for a vehicle, comprising: a first drive unit (4) adapted to drive a propeller shaft (5), the first drive unit (4) is a first electric machine (4), a power take-off device (10) adapted to be driven by the first electric machine (4), a power take-off clutch (11) adapted to be positioned in engaged or disengaged position to mechanically engage or disengage the power take-off device (10) in relation to the first electric machine (4), a control unit (100) to control rotational speed of the first electric machine (4) and to control the power take-off clutch (11) to one of the engaged or disengaged position, and a transmission (2) comprising shafts to drivingly connect the first electric machine (4) to drive the power take-off device (10) and the propeller shaft (5), and where upon an operation demand to disengage the power take-off device (10), the control unit (100) is adapted to first control the first electric machine (4) to brake rotational speed of the power take-off device (10) to zero (see paragraph 0065), and then the control unit (100) is adapted to control the power take-off clutch (11) to a disengaged position, in order to disengage the power take-off device (10) with zero rotational speed.
Regarding claim 2, SHIMOGO discloses the power take-off clutch (11) is a dog clutch.
Regarding claim 3, SHIMOGO discloses the transmission (2) comprises a clutch actuator adapted to be controlled by the control unit (100) and thereby disengage or engage the PTO clutch.
Regarding claim 4, SHIMOGO discloses the transmission (2) comprises: a first input shaft drivingly connected to the first electric machine (4), an output shaft drivingly connected to the propeller shaft (5), a second shaft to which the power take-off device (10) is drivingly connectable or connected via the power take-off clutch (11), and a gearwheel pair to drivingly connect the second shaft to one of the first input shaft or the output shaft.
Regarding claim 5, SHIMOGO discloses the transmission (2) further comprises: additional gearwheel pairs to drivingly connect the first input shaft to the second shaft, and the second shaft to the output shaft, the second shaft is a countershaft.
Regarding claim 6, SHIMOGO discloses a second drive unit is adapted to drive the propeller shaft (5) via a second input shaft and a gearwheel pair.
Regarding claim 7, SHIMOGO discloses the second drive unit is one of an electric machine or an internal combustion engine or a gas turbine engine.
Regarding claim 8, SHIMOGO discloses vehicle comprising a powertrain according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIMOGO et al. (JP 2013112074 A) as applied to claims 1-8 above, and further in view of WYATT et al. (US 2009/0065273).
Regarding claim 9, SHIMOGO discloses a method for controlling a powertrain, the method comprising: disengaging the power take-off device.
SHIMOGO does not disclose registering a request to disengage the power take-off device, braking rotational speed of the power take-off device, and registering zero rotational speed of the power take-off device.
WYATT teaches a powertrain and a method to control the powertrain, wherein the method comprises: registering a request to disengage the power take-off device (PTO switch deactivation), braking rotational speed of the power take-off device (paragraph 0051), and registering zero rotational speed of the power take-off device (the cutting blades stopped, paragraph (0071).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of controlling the powertrain disclosed by SHIMOGO to include registering a request to disengage the power take-off device, braking rotational speed of the power take-off device, and registering zero rotational speed of the power take-off device, as taught by WYATT to enable the use of regenerative braking in the slowing of the mower blades to potentially increase the working time of the vehicle (WYATT, [0051]).
Regarding claim 11, SHIMOGO-WYATT discloses the control unit registering zero rotational speed of the power take-off device by registering that the first electric machine has reached zero rotational speed. (WYATT, [0051])
Regarding claim 13, SHIMOGO-WYATT discloses a control unit (100) configured to perform the method according to one of claim 9.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Shimogo does not disclose “the control unit adapted to first control the first electric machine to brake rotational speed of the power take-off device to zero, and then the control unit is adapted to control the power take-off clutch to a disengaged position, in order to disengage the power take-off device with zero rotational speed.” (Emphasis added).
As the claim is written, the prior art need only be capable of preforming the control function that is recited. As the claims are apparatus claims, and are defined by what the invention is, not by functional language. The prior art has all the structure that would enable it to perform the recited control functions. See MPEP 2114 (II).
Because the prior art discloses all the claimed structural elements, and is capable of preforming the control functions, Examiner finds applicant’s arguments not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEREK D KNIGHT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655