CTNF 19/004,650 CTNF 95432 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 30, 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 7, 13, 17-18, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claims 7 and 17, “the level of the roof of the vehicle” lacks proper antecedent basis and should read “a level of a roof of a vehicle” In claim 13, “the form of a side panel” lacks proper antecedent basis and should read “a form of a side panel” In claim 18, “the orientation of the support structure” lacks proper antecedent basis and should read “an orientation of the support structure” In claim 20, “the second antenna being a configured to receive and transmit GNSS signals” is improper and should read “the second antenna being configured to receive and transmit GNSS signals” Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 2, 4, 6, 11, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. 07-34-08 Regarding claims 2 and 11, the phrase "optionally" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Claim 4 recites the limitation "the printed circuit board" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this limitation is referring to the previous limitation “printed circuit board” in claim 3 which claim 4 is not dependent on or a new limitation. 07-34-03 AIA The term “ about ” in claim 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “ about ” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The term modifies the limitation “90 degrees” and renders it indefinite . Claim 6 recites the limitation "the housing" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this limitation is referring to the previous limitation “the antenna housing” or a new limitation . 07-34-05 AIA Claim 15 recites the limitation " the vehicle side structure " in lines 8-9 . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 16-20 inherit the deficiencies of claim 15. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-6, 8-13, 15-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Yun (US PGPUB 2020/0112101 A1) . Regarding claim 1, Yun discloses (Fig. 1) An antenna arrangement (100) for fixation on a vehicle side structure ([0052]), the antenna arrangement comprising: an antenna housing (110), a first antenna (103) being a rod antenna (113) protruding from a first end of the antenna housing (110), the first antenna (103) being configured for transmitting and receiving radio signals ([0046]), a second antenna (104, 106) arranged in the antenna housing (110) at a second end of the antenna housing (110) opposite the first end, the second antenna (104, 106) being configured at least for receiving satellite signals ([0047]), wherein, when the antenna arrangement (100) is attached to the vehicle side structure ([0052]) the rod antenna (103) is protruding downwards and the second antenna (104, 106) is facing upwards (antenna arrangement 100 is capable of being attached to a vehicle side structure such that 103 is protruding downwards and 104, 106 is facing upwards). Regarding claim 2, Yun further discloses (Fig. 1) further comprising: a support structure (109, vertical support structure for 113) for the rod antenna (113), the rod antenna (113) is electrically connected to the support structure (109, vertical support structure for 113) and a fixed end of the rod antenna is optionally attached to the support structure, the support structure (109, vertical support structure for 113) being attached to the antenna housing (110). Regarding claim 3, Yun further discloses (Fig. 1) wherein the antenna housing (110) accommodates a printed circuit board (109; [0051]). Regarding claim 4, Yun further discloses (Fig. 1) wherein the support structure (109, vertical support structure for 113) is attached to the printed circuit board (109) at an angle of about 90 degrees. Regarding claim 5, Yun further discloses (Fig. 1) wherein the support structure (109, vertical support structure for 113) is a printed circuit board ([0051]). Regarding claim 6, Yun further discloses (Fig. 1) comprising a base plate (120) attached to the housing (110), the base plate (120) being adapted to for attachment to the vehicle side structure (116), and for providing electrical ground to for the antenna arrangement ([0050]). Regarding claim 8, Yun further discloses (Fig. 1) further comprising electrical circuitry (109) for the first antenna (103), the electrical circuitry (109) being arranged at the first end of the antenna housing (110). Regarding claim 9, Yun further discloses (Fig. 1) the rod antenna (113) being configured for FM broadcast or other radiocommunication below 1 GHz ([0046]). Regarding claim 10, Yun further discloses (Fig. 1) the second antenna (104, 106) being a ceramic antenna ([0048]). Regarding claim 11, Yun further discloses (Fig. 1) the second antenna (104, 106) being configured to receive and optionally transmit GNSS signals ([0047]). Regarding claim 12, Yun further discloses (Fig. 1) A vehicle ([0018]). Regarding claim 13, Yun further discloses (Fig. 1) wherein the antenna housing (110) is attached to a side structure (116) in the form of a side panel of the vehicle via a base plate (111). Regarding claim 15, Yun discloses (Fig. 1) A method for assembling an antenna arrangement (100), the method comprising: providing a first antenna (103) being a rod antenna (113) configured for transmitting and receiving radio signals ([0046]), providing a second antenna (104, 106) configured at least for receiving satellite signals ([0047]), arranging the first antenna (103) in an antenna housing (110) such that it protrudes from a first end of the antenna housing (110), arranging the second antenna (104, 106) in the antenna housing (110) on a second end of the antenna housing (110) opposite the first end, wherein when the antenna arrangement (100) is attached to the vehicle side structure ([0052]) the rod antenna (113) is protruding downwards and the second antenna (104, 106) is facing upwards (antenna arrangement 100 is capable of being attached to a vehicle side structure such that 103 is protruding downwards and 104, 106 is facing upwards). Regarding claim 16, Yun further discloses (Fig. 1) comprising: attaching the antenna arrangement (100) on the vehicle side structure (116) via a base plate (120) of the antenna arrangement attached to the antenna housing (110). Regarding claim 18, Yun further discloses (Fig. 1) comprising: electrically connecting the rod antenna to a support structure (109, vertical support structure for 113), and attaching the support structure (109, vertical support structure for 113) to a printed circuit board (109; [0051]) of the antenna housing (110), the orientation of the support structure (109, vertical support structure for 113) with respect to the printed circuit board (109; [0051]) being such that the rod antenna (113) protrudes downwards. Regarding claim 19, Yun further discloses (Fig. 1) the rod antenna (113) being configured for FM broadcast or other radio communication below 1 GHz ([0046]). Regarding claim 20, Yun further discloses (Fig. 1) the second antenna (104, 106) being a configured to receive and transmit GNSS signals ([0047]) . 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 7, 12-13, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Tian (US Patent No. 10135519 B1) . Regarding claim 1, Tian discloses (Fig. 2, 5A, and 6) An antenna arrangement (500, 600) for fixation on a vehicle side structure (602), the antenna arrangement comprising: an antenna housing (506, 608), a first antenna (512, 610) being a rod antenna (512, 610) protruding from a first end of the antenna housing (506, 608), the first antenna (512, 610) being configured for transmitting and receiving radio signals, a second antenna (112) arranged in the antenna housing (506, 608) at a second end of the antenna housing (506, 608) opposite the first end, the second antenna (112) being configured at least for receiving satellite signals, wherein, when the antenna arrangement (500, 600) is attached to the vehicle side structure (602) the rod antenna (512, 610) is protruding downwards and the second antenna (112) is facing upwards. Regarding claim 7, Tian further discloses (Fig. 2, 5A, and 6) wherein the rod antenna (512, 610) and the second antenna (112) being below the level of the roof of the vehicle (602) when the antenna arrangement is attached to the vehicle side structure (602). Regarding claim 12, Tian further discloses (Fig. 6) A vehicle (602). Regarding claim 13, Tian further discloses (Fig. 6) wherein the antenna housing (608) is attached to a side structure (604) in the form of a side panel of the vehicle via a base plate (606). Regarding claim 15, Tian discloses (Fig. 2, 5A, and 6) A method for assembling an antenna arrangement (500, 600), the method comprising: providing a first antenna (512, 610) being a rod antenna (512, 610) configured for transmitting and receiving radio signals, providing a second antenna (112) configured at least for receiving satellite signals, arranging the first antenna (512, 610) in an antenna housing (506, 608) such that it protrudes from a first end of the antenna housing (506, 608), arranging the second antenna (112) in the antenna housing (506, 608) on a second end of the antenna housing (506, 608) opposite the first end, wherein when the antenna arrangement (500, 600) is attached to the vehicle side structure (602) the rod antenna (512, 610) is protruding downwards and the second antenna (112) is facing upwards. Regarding claim 16, Tian further discloses (Fig. 6) comprising: attaching the antenna arrangement (600) on the vehicle side structure (604) via a base plate (606) of the antenna arrangement attached to the antenna housing (608). Regarding claim 17, Tian further discloses (Fig. 2, 5A, and 6) comprising: attaching the antenna arrangement (600) on the vehicle side structure (604) such that the rod antenna (512, 610) and the second antenna (112) are below the level of the roof of the vehicle (602) when the antenna arrangement (600)is attached to the vehicle side structure (604) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun in view of Price et al. (US PGPUB 2018/0337703 A1), hereinafter known as Price . Regarding claim 14, Yun does not specifically teach the vehicle being a low-cab vehicle. However, Price teaches (Fig. 1) the vehicle being a low-cab vehicle (101). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the vehicle of Yun with Price to include “the vehicle being a low-cab vehicle,” as taught by Price, for the purpose of enabling truck to truck communication (see also [0025]). Conclusion The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to YONCHAN J KIM whose telephone number is (571)272-3204. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Dimary Lopez can be reached at (571) 270-7893. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845 /YONCHAN J KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/004,650 Page 2 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/004,650 Page 3 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/004,650 Page 5 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/004,650 Page 6 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/004,650 Page 7 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/004,650 Page 8 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/004,650 Page 9 Art Unit: 2845