DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation:
"the substrate"
in
Line 2.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation:
"the substrate"
in
Line 2.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation:
"the substrate"
in
Line 6.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation:
"the substrate"
in
Line 2.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding Claims 2-9, 11-18, and 20:
the claims are rejected for depending from a rejected claim
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Anticipated by Ide et al. (US 20220270912 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Ide discloses:
Substrate transfer equipment comprising:
a transfer robot (4B) transferring the substrate (W); and
a vertical actuating unit (40 & 41 & 42 & 43 & 44 & 51 & 91) moving the transfer robot in an up-down direction [0063], the vertical actuating unit comprises:
a vertical frame (40 & 41 & 42) having a slit (96) formed with a longitudinal direction thereof provided in the up-down direction (Fig. 4), and having a vertical space formed therein (Fig. 9);
an exhaust duct (51A) having an exhaust space connected with the vertical space and provided on a side of the vertical frame (Fig. 4 & Fig. 5 & Fig. 6); and
an actuating member (51B & 91 & 92 & 93 & 94) positioned in the vertical space (Fig. 9) and moving a supporting unit in the up-down direction [0037 & 0041 & 0045 & 0047 & 0063 & 0065 &0069],
wherein the exhaust duct is provided such that a first side is open toward the vertical space (Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 2, Ide discloses:
the transfer robot comprises:
a robot body (61 & 62) having handles (81 & 82) supporting the substrate [0037];
a base (51 & 52) supporting the robot body (Fig. 6), having a Z-axial actuating unit (53 & 56 & 57 & 58) rotating the robot body about a vertical axis (Fig. 6), and having a first exhaust passage (59) for discharging particles produced in a process of actuating the robot body to the outside [0046 & 0047 & 0052]; and
a mover (51B) connected to a first end of the base (Fig. 3 & Fig. 6), coupled to the actuating member through the slit (Fig. 4 & Fig. 9), and having a second exhaust passage (54) connected with the first exhaust passage (Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 3, Ide discloses:
the base further comprises a first exhaust fan (55) installed in the first exhaust passage to generate airflow moving from the first exhaust passage to the second exhaust passage [0047 & 0052 & 0064].
Regarding Claim 4, Ide discloses:
the mover is configured such that an outlet of the second exhaust passage faces a second side that is opposite to the open first side of the exhaust duct (Fig. 4 & Fig. 6) [0047].
Regarding Claim 5, Ide discloses:
the mover further comprises a momentum reduction member provided to reduce momentum of particles that are discharged through the outlet of the second exhaust passage [0047 & 0087].
Regarding Claim 6, Ide discloses:
the momentum reduction member comprises a porous member or a perforated plate [0047 & 0087].
Regarding Claim 7, Ide discloses:
the vertical frame further comprises an airflow block member (134) preventing airflow, which is exhausted through the second exhaust passage and collides with the second side of the exhaust duct, from leaking to the outside through the slit [0091].
Regarding Claim 8, Ide discloses:
the airflow block member comprises a projection protruding from an inner surface of the vertical frame [0091 & 0093 & 0094].
Regarding Claim 9, Ide discloses:
the exhaust duct further comprises a second exhaust fan exhausting airflow in the exhaust space to the outside [0047].
Regarding Claim 19, Ide discloses:
Substrate transfer equipment comprising:
a transfer robot (4B) transferring the substrate (W); and
a vertical actuating unit (40 & 41 & 42 & 43 & 44 & 51 & 91) moving the transfer robot in an up-down direction [0063], the vertical actuating unit comprises:
a vertical frame (40 & 41 & 42) having a slit (96) formed with a longitudinal direction thereof provided in the up-down direction (Fig. 4), and having a vertical space formed therein (Fig. 9);
an exhaust duct (51A) having an exhaust space connected with the vertical space, provided on a side of the vertical frame, and being open on a first side being in contact with the vertical space (Fig. 4 & Fig. 5 & Fig. 6); and
an actuating member (51B & 91 & 92 & 93 & 94) positioned in the vertical space (Fig. 9) and moving a supporting unit in the up-down direction [0037 & 0041 & 0045 & 0047 & 0063 & 0065 &0069],
wherein the transfer robot comprises:
a robot body (61 & 62) having handles (81 & 82) supporting the substrate [0037];
a base (51 & 52) supporting the robot body (Fig. 6), having a Z-axial actuating unit (53 & 56 & 57 & 58) rotating the robot body about a vertical axis (Fig. 6), and having a first exhaust passage (59) for discharging particles produced in a process of actuating the robot body to the outside [0046 & 0047 & 0052]; and
a mover (51B) connected to a first end of the base (Fig. 3 & Fig. 6), coupled to the actuating member through the slit (Fig. 4 & Fig. 9), and having a second exhaust passage (54) connected with the first exhaust passage (Fig. 6).
a first exhaust fan (55) installed in the first exhaust passage and providing airflow moving from the first exhaust passage to the second exhaust passage [0047 & 0052 & 0064],
wherein the mover is configured such that an outlet of the second exhaust passage faces a second side that is opposite to the open first side of the exhaust duct and comprises a momentum reduction member provided to reduce momentum of particles that are discharged through the outlet of the second exhaust passage (Fig. 4 & Fig. 6) [0047],
wherein the vertical frame comprises an airflow block member (134) preventing airflow, which is exhausted through the second exhaust passage and collides with the second side of the exhaust duct, from leaking to the outside through the slit [0091 & 0093 & 0094].
wherein the exhaust duct is provided such that a first side is open toward the vertical space (Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 20, Ide discloses:
the momentum reduction member comprises a porous member or a perforated plate [0047],
the airflow block member comprises a projection protruding from an inner surface of the vertical frame [0047], and
the exhaust duct further comprises a second exhaust fan exhausting airflow in the exhaust space to the outside [0047].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ide et al. (US 20220270912 A1) in view of Rice et al. (US 20060182535 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Ide teaches:
A substrate processing apparatus for processing a substrate, comprising:
a process chamber (31) processing the substrate (W); and
a transfer chamber (33) provided adjacent to the process chamber and having a substrate transfer equipment transferring the substrate to the process chamber (Fig. 3), wherein the transfer chamber comprises:
a transfer robot (4B) transferring the substrate; and
a pair of vertical actuating units (40 & 41 & 42 & 43 & 44 & 51 & 91), supporting the transfer robot on both sides (Fig. 4), and moving the transfer robot in an up-down direction [0063],
wherein the vertical actuating unit comprises:
a vertical frame (40 & 41 & 42) having a slit (96) formed with a longitudinal direction thereof provided in the up-down direction (Fig. 4), and having a vertical space formed therein (Fig. 9);
an exhaust duct (51A) having an exhaust space connected with the vertical space and provided on a side of the vertical frame (Fig. 4 & Fig. 5 & Fig. 6A); and
an actuating member (51B & 91 & 92 & 93 & 94) positioned in the vertical space and moving a supporting unit in the up-down direction [0037 & 0041 & 0045 & 0047 & 0063 & 0065 &0069],
wherein the exhaust duct is provided such that a first side is open toward the vertical space (Fig. 6).
Ide does not teach:
the pair of vertical actuating units configured to horizontally move along a guide rail.
Rice teaches:
A substrate processing apparatus for processing a substrate, comprising:
a process chamber (60 & 80) processing the substrate; and
a transfer chamber (Fig. 8A & Fig. 8C) provided adjacent to the process chamber and having a substrate transfer equipment transferring the substrate to the process chamber (Fig. 8A & Fig. 8C), wherein the transfer chamber comprises:
a transfer robot (11A & 11B & 11C) transferring the substrate (9A & 9B & 9C); and
a pair of vertical actuating units (560) (Fig. 15A) configured to horizontally move along a guide rail (90), supporting the transfer robot on both sides (Fig. 15A), and moving the transfer robot in an up-down direction [0133 & 0136 & 0159 & 0170],
wherein the vertical actuating unit comprises:
a vertical frame (590) having a slit (592) formed with a longitudinal direction thereof provided in the up-down direction (Fig. 15A), and having a vertical space formed therein (Fig. 13A & Fig. 13B);
an exhaust duct (581) having an exhaust space (584) connected with the vertical space (585) and provided on a side of the vertical frame (Fig. 13A) [0160]; and
an actuating member (576) positioned in the vertical space and moving a supporting unit (577) in the up-down direction [0161 & 0162],
wherein the exhaust duct is provided such that a first side is open toward the vertical space (Fig. 13A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transfer robot with vertical actuating units taught by Ide with the transfer robot with vertical actuating units configured to horizontally move along a guide rail taught by Rice in order to provide a transfer robot with greater range of travel to increase the throughput of the system without increasing the number of robots.
Regarding Claim 11, Ide teaches:
the transfer robot comprises:
a robot body (61 & 62) having handles (81 & 82) supporting the substrate [0037];
a base (51 & 52) supporting the robot body (Fig. 6), having a Z-axial actuating unit (53 & 56 & 57 & 58) rotating the robot body about a vertical axis (Fig. 6), and having a first exhaust passage (59) for discharging particles produced in a process of actuating the robot body to the outside [0046 & 0047 & 0052]; and
a mover (51B) connected to a first end of the base (Fig. 3 & Fig. 6), coupled to the actuating member through the slit (Fig. 4 & Fig. 9), and having a second exhaust passage (54) connected with the first exhaust passage (Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 12, Ide teaches:
the base further comprises a first exhaust fan (55) installed in the first exhaust passage to generate airflow moving from the first exhaust passage to the second exhaust passage [0047 & 0052 & 0064].
Regarding Claim 13, Ide teaches:
the mover is configured such that an outlet of the second exhaust passage faces a second side that is opposite to the open first side of the exhaust duct (Fig. 4 & Fig. 6) [0047].
Regarding Claim 14, Ide teaches:
the mover further comprises a momentum reduction member provided to reduce momentum of particles that are discharged through the outlet of the second exhaust passage [0047 & 0087].
Regarding Claim 15, Ide teaches:
the momentum reduction member comprises a porous member or a perforated plate [0047 & 0087].
Regarding Claim 16, Ide teaches:
the vertical frame further comprises an airflow block member (134) preventing airflow, which is exhausted through the second exhaust passage and collides with the second side of the exhaust duct, from leaking to the outside through the slit [0091].
Regarding Claim 17, Ide teaches:
the airflow block member comprises a projection protruding from an inner surface of the vertical frame [0091 & 0093 & 0094].
Regarding Claim 18, Ide teaches:
the exhaust duct further comprises a second exhaust fan exhausting airflow in the exhaust space to the outside [0047].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Patent publications US 20130323002 A1, US 20080166208 A1, US 20070147976 A1, US 20220059395 A1, US 20130078059 A1, US 20070147982 A1, US 20060182536 A1, US 20080166210 A1, and US 7357842 B2 have been cited by the examiner as pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure because they teach: transfer robots having bodily incorporated ventilation systems.
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652