DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings with 12 Sheets of Figs. 1-11 received on 12/30/2024 are acknowledged and accepted.
Claim Objections
Claim 8-10,13-19, objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 recites “comprises a light receiver configured to obtain, record, or both the polarized incident light” in line 2. This is missing syntax. It is suggested to be replaced with -- comprises a light receiver configured to obtain, record, or both, the polarized incident light—
Claims 9,10 are dependent on claim 8 and hence inherit its deficiencies.
Claim 10 recites “wherein subsequent to the light receiver obtaining, recording, or both the at least two polarized orientations” in lines 1-2. This is missing syntax. It is suggested to be replaced with -- wherein subsequent to the light receiver obtaining, recording, or both, the at least two polarized orientations—
Claim 10 is dependent on claim 9 and hence inherit its deficiencies.
Claim 13 recites “to obtain, record, or both the polarized incident light” in line 11. This is missing syntax. It is suggested to be replaced with -- to obtain, record, or both, the polarized incident light –
Claims 14-19 are dependent on claim 13 and hence inherit its deficiencies.
Claim 19 recites “the light receiver obtaining, recording, or both the at least two polarized orientations” in line 2. This is missing syntax. It is suggested to be replaced with -- the light receiver obtaining, recording, or both, the at least two polarized orientations --
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,2,11,12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoersch et al (US 2009/0108185 A1, of record).
Regarding Claim 1, Hoersch teaches (fig 1-4) a polarizing light filter apparatus (sensor 1, para 26), the polarizing light filter apparatus comprising,
a housing (housing 2, para 27) comprising at least one viewing window (viewing window 7, para 28);
at least one light source (light emitting source 3, para 27) temporarily affixed to at least one portion of a surface of the housing (housing 2, para 27), the at least one light source configured to output an incident light (light from light source 3) toward a structure (retroreflector 9, para 28);
a split polarizer (beam splitter 5, para 27, dielectricum, para 39, fig 2, polarization filter 10, para 31) temporarily affixed to at least one alternative portion of the surface of the housing (housing 2, para 27), the split polarizer (beam splitter 5, para 27, dielectricum, para 39, polarization filter 10, para 31) being in mechanical communication with the at least one viewing window (viewing window 7, para 28) (as in fig 1);
wherein the split polarizer (beam splitter 5, para 27, dielectricum, para 39, polarization filter 10, para 31) is configured to convert an orientation of the incident light into at least two polarized orientations (fig 2, “The remaining portion of the received light is reflected by the beam splitter via a polarization filter 10 that has a polarization direction which is perpendicular to that of polarizer 4”, para 31; “FIG. 2 shows the intensity of the reflected light portion versus the angle of incidence for s-polarized, p-polarized and unpolarized light for a simple transition of an air-glass interface. At a relatively large angle of about 45. degree., the reflection curves strongly diverge. Especially p-polarized light is significantly less reflected than the s-polarized light”, para 34) and
wherein when the incident light (light from light source 3) is outputted toward the structure (retroreflector 9), the split polarizer (beam splitter 5, para 27, dielectricum, para 39, polarization filter 10, para 31) is configured to receive a reflected incident light (as in fig 1), allowing a user to view the at least two polarized orientations (“ FIG. 2 shows the intensity of the reflected light portion versus the angle of incidence for s-polarized, p-polarized”, para 34) of the structure (retroreflector 9), in real-time.
Regarding Claim 2, Hoersch teaches the polarizing light filter apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the split polarizer (beam splitter 5, para 27, dielectricum, para 39, polarization filter 10, para 31) comprises a first polarizing filter, a second polarizing filter, or both (beam splitter 5, para 27, dielectricum, para 39, polarization filter 10, para 31).
Regarding Claim 11, Hoersch teaches the polarizing light filter apparatus of claim 1.
wherein the at least one light source (light source 3, para 27) is configured to output a coherent light (laser, para 27).
Regarding Claim 12, Hoersch teaches the polarizing light filter apparatus of claim 11, wherein the coherent light comprises a laser (laser, para 27).
Claim(s) 3-4, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoersch et al (US 2009/0108185 A1, of record) and further in view of Meglan et al (US 2020/0169724 A1, of record).
Regarding Claim 3, Hoersch teaches the polarizing light filter apparatus of claim 2.
However, Hoersch does not teach
wherein the first polarizing filter comprises a counterclockwise polarization.
Hoersch and Meglan are related as polarization splitters.
Meglan teaches (fig 3) a polarizing filter (202, para 69)
wherein the first polarizing filter (second portion 304, para 69) comprises a counterclockwise polarization (“The second portion 304 of the polarizing filter 202 is aligned with a second set of pixels 308 (in an example, even pixel rows) of the display device 122 and filters visual content displayed by the second set of pixels 308 according to a second polarization.”, para 69) (“For instance, the first and second polarizations may be clockwise circular polarization and counterclockwise circular polarization”, para 71).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hoersch to include the polarizing filter of Meglan for the purpose of using a versatile polarization filter using commonly used polarizations used in different applications such as robotic healthcare procedures (para 60).
Regarding Claim 4, Hoersch-Meglan teaches the polarizing light filter apparatus of claim 3.
However, Hoersch does not teach
wherein the second polarizing filter comprises a clockwise polarization.
Hoersch and Meglan are related as polarization splitters.
Meglan teaches (fig 3) a polarizing filter (202, para 69)
wherein the second polarizing filter (first portion 302, para 69) comprises a counterclockwise polarization (“The first portion 302 of the polarizing filter 202 is aligned with a first set of pixels 306 (in an example, odd pixel rows) of the display device 122 and filters visual content displayed by the first set of pixels 306 according to a first polarization.”, para 69) (“For instance, the first and second polarizations may be clockwise circular polarization and counterclockwise circular polarization”, para 71).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hoersch to include the polarizing filter of Meglan for the purpose of using a versatile polarization filter using commonly used polarizations used in different applications such as robotic healthcare procedures (para 60).
Claim(s) 5,6, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoersch et al (US 2009/0108185 A1, of record) in view of Meglan et al (US 2020/0169724 A1, of record) and further in view of Yamagata et al (US 2014/0055664 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Hoersch-Meglan teaches the polarizing light filter apparatus of claim 4.
However, Hoersch does not teach
wherein the first polarizing filter is configured to highlight at least one superficial aspect of the structure.
Hoersch and Yamagata are related as polarization splitters.
Yamagata teaches (fig 1,2,14, 15b),
wherein the first polarizing filter (region D3 of split polarizer SP, fig 15, para 110) is configured to highlight at least one superficial aspect of the structure (“an image which allows the viewer to observe the skin wrinkles and texture easily can be obtained based on the light that has been transmitted through the optical region D3 of the split polarizer Sp.”, para 115, “The light reflected from skin is a mixture of components of the light that has been reflected from the surface of the skin and components of the light that has been reflected from inside of the skin and that is affected by scattering”, para 112).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hoersch to include the polarizing filter of Yamagata for the purpose of using a simplified configuration for effectively checking object such as the skin state (para 10,13).
Regarding Claim 6, Hoersch-Yamagata-Meglan teaches the polarizing light filter apparatus of claim 5,
However, Hoersch does not teach
wherein the second polarizing filter is configured to highlight at least one depth aspect of the structure.
Hoersch and Yamagata are related as polarization splitters.
Yamagata teaches (fig 1,2,14, 15b),
wherein the second polarizing filter region D4 of split polarizer SP, fig 15, para 110) is configured to highlight at least one depth aspect of the structure (“an image which allows the viewer to observe the skin spots more easily can be obtained based on the light that has been transmitted through the optical region D4 of the split polarizer Sp”, para 115).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hoersch to include the polarizing filter of Yamagata for the purpose of using a simplified configuration for effectively checking object such as the skin state (para 10,13).
Claim(s) 7-10,13,14,17-20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoersch et al (US 2009/0108185 A1, of record) in view of Yamagata et al (US 2014/005564 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Hoersch teaches the polarizing light filter apparatus of claim 1.
However, Hoersch does not teach
further comprising an image capturing device in mechanical communication with the at least one viewing window, the split polarizer, or both.
Hoersch and Yamagata are related as polarization splitters.
Yamagata teaches (fig 1,2, 14, 15)
further comprising an image capturing device (image capture device A, para 109)
in mechanical communication with the at least one viewing window, the split polarizer (split polarizer Sp, para 110, fig 14), or both.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hoersch to include the image capturing device of Yamagata for the purpose of using a simplified configuration for effectively checking object such as the skin state (para 10,13).
Regarding Claim 8, Hoersch-Yamagata teaches the polarizing light filter apparatus of claim 7.
However, Hoersch does not teach
wherein the image capturing device comprises a light receiver configured to obtain, record, or both the polarized incident light translated through the split polarizer, whereby the at least two polarized orientations of the structure are displayed simultaneously, in real-time, within an image, a video, or both.
Hoersch and Yamagata are related as polarization splitters.
Yamagata teaches (fig 1,2, 14,15)
wherein the image capturing device (image capture device A, para 109) comprises a light receiver configured to obtain, record, or both the polarized incident light translated through the split polarizer (split polarizer Sp, para 110, fig 14), whereby the at least two polarized orientations (“only linearly polarized light rays vibrating in the direction of the first polarization axis are transmitted through the first polarizing portion Sp1 and only linearly polarized light rays vibrating in the direction of the second polarization axis are transmitted through the second polarizing portion Sp2. The light beams B1 and B2 are converged by the objective lens L1 and incident on the array of optical elements K”, para 61) of the structure (object Ob, para 109) are displayed simultaneously, in real-time, within an image, a video, or both (“The skin checker of this embodiment includes a light source Ls to illuminate an object Ob, an image capture device A, a display section Y to display an image shot”, para 109).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hoersch to include the setup of Yamagata to allow the user to view the at least two polarization orientations of the object simultaneously for the purpose of using a simplified configuration for effectively checking object such as the skin state (para 10,13).
Regarding Claim 9, Hoersch-Yamagata teaches the polarizing light filter apparatus of claim 8.
However, Hoersch does not teach
further comprising a computing device having at least one processor communicatively coupled to the image capturing device
Hoersch and Yamagata are related as polarization splitters.
Yamagata teaches (fig 1,2, 14,15)
further comprising a computing device (personal computer, para 126, signal processing section C, para 126) having at least one processor communicatively coupled to the image capturing device (image capture device A, para 109) (“the output signal of the image sensor may be transmitted to an external device such as a personal computer so that the arithmetic processing that should have been done by the signal processing section C is carried out by the external device instead”, para 126)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hoersch to include the computing device of Yamagata for the purpose of using a simplified configuration for effectively checking object such as the skin state (para 10,13).
Regarding Claim 10, Hoersch-Yamagata teaches the polarizing light filter apparatus of claim 9.
However, Hoersch does not teach
wherein subsequent to the light receiver obtaining, recording, or both the at least two polarized orientations of the structure within the image, the video, or both, the image capturing device is configured to transmit the at least one obtained polarized orientation of the structure to the computing device, whereby the computing device is configured to automatically display, in real-time, the at least one obtained polarized orientation of the structure on a display device associated with the computing device.
Hoersch and Yamagata are related as polarization splitters.
Yamagata teaches (fig 1,2, 14)
wherein subsequent to the light receiver (light receiver of image capture device A, para 109) obtaining, recording, or both the at least two polarized orientations (“only linearly polarized light rays vibrating in the direction of the first polarization axis are transmitted through the first polarizing portion Sp1 and only linearly polarized light rays vibrating in the direction of the second polarization axis are transmitted through the second polarizing portion Sp2. The light beams B1 and B2 are converged by the objective lens L1 and incident on the array of optical elements K”, para 61) of the structure (object Ob, para 109) within the image, the video, or both, the image capturing device (image capture device A, para 109) is configured to transmit the at least one obtained polarized orientation of the structure to the computing device (“The image that has been shot by the image capture device A is subjected to appropriate image processing by the signal processing section C and then presented on the display section Y”, para 119,
whereby the computing device (personal computer, para 126, signal processing section C, para 126) is configured to automatically display, in real-time, the at least one obtained polarized orientation of the structure on a display device (display Y, fig 14, para 119) associated with the computing device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hoersch to include the automatic display of the at least one obtained polarized orientation of Yamagata for the purpose of using a simplified configuration for effectively checking object such as the skin state (para 10,13).
Regarding Claim 13, Hoersch teaches (fig 1-4) a system for viewing, in real time, at least two polarized orientations of a structure, the system comprising:
a housing (housing 2, para 27) comprising at least one viewing window (viewing window 7, para 28);
at least one light source (light emitting source 3, para 27) temporarily affixed to at least one portion of a surface of the housing (housing 2, para 27), the at least one light source configured to output an incident light (light from light source 3) toward a structure (retroreflector 9, para 28);
a split polarizer (beam splitter 5, para 27, dielectricum, para 39, fig 2, polarization filter 10, para 31) temporarily affixed to at least one alternative portion of the surface of the housing (housing 2, para 27), the split polarizer (beam splitter 5, para 27, dielectricum, para 39, polarization filter 10, para 31) being in mechanical communication with the at least one viewing window (viewing window 7, para 28) (as in fig 1);
wherein the split polarizer (beam splitter 5, para 27, dielectricum, para 39, polarization filter 10, para 31) is configured to convert an orientation of the incident light into at least two polarized orientations (fig 2, “The remaining portion of the received light is reflected by the beam splitter via a polarization filter 10 that has a polarization direction which is perpendicular to that of polarizer 4”, para 31; “FIG. 2 shows the intensity of the reflected light portion versus the angle of incidence for s-polarized, p-polarized and unpolarized light for a simple transition of an air-glass interface. At a relatively large angle of about 45.degree., the reflection curves strongly diverge. Especially p-polarized light is significantly less reflected than the s-polarized light”, para 34) and
wherein when the incident light (light from light source 3) is outputted toward the structure (retroreflector 9), the split polarizer (beam splitter 5, para 27, dielectricum, para 39, polarization filter 10, para 31) is configured to receive a reflected incident light (as in fig 1), allowing a user to view the at least two polarized orientations (“ FIG. 2 shows the intensity of the reflected light portion versus the angle of incidence for s-polarized, p-polarized”, para 34) of the structure (retroreflector 9), in real-time.
However, Hoersch does not teach
an image capturing device in mechanical communication with the at least one viewing window, the split polarizer, or both, the image capturing device comprising at least one light receiver;
wherein the split polarizer is configured to convert an orientation of the incident light into at least two polarized orientations, whereby when the incident light is outputted toward the structure, the split polarizer is configured to receive the reflected incident light; and wherein the light receiver is configured to obtain, record, or both the polarized incident light translated through the split polarizer, whereby the at least two polarized orientations of the structure are displayed simultaneously, in real- time, within an image, a video, or both.
Hoersch and Yamagata are related as polarization splitters.
Yamagata teaches (fig 1,2, 14, 15)
further comprising an image capturing device (image capture device A, para 109)
in mechanical communication with the at least one viewing window, the split polarizer (split polarizer Sp, para 110, fig 14), or both.
wherein the image capturing device (image capture device A, para 109) comprises a light receiver configured to obtain, record, or both the polarized incident light translated through the split polarizer (split polarizer Sp, para 110, fig 14), whereby the at least two polarized orientations (“only linearly polarized light rays vibrating in the direction of the first polarization axis are transmitted through the first polarizing portion Sp1 and only linearly polarized light rays vibrating in the direction of the second polarization axis are transmitted through the second polarizing portion Sp2. The light beams B1 and B2 are converged by the objective lens L1 and incident on the array of optical elements K”, para 61) of the structure (object Ob, para 109) are displayed simultaneously, in real-time, within an image, a video, or both (“The skin checker of this embodiment includes a light source Ls to illuminate an object Ob, an image capture device A, a display section Y to display an image shot”, para 109).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hoersch to include the setup of Yamagata to allow the user to view the at least two polarization orientations of the object simultaneously for the purpose of using a simplified configuration for effectively checking object such as the skin state (para 10,13).
Regarding Claim 14, Hoersch-Yamagata teach the system of claim 13,
wherein the split polarizer (beam splitter 5, para 27, dielectricum, para 39, polarization filter 10, para 31, Hoersch) comprises a first polarizing filter, a second polarizing filter, or both (beam splitter 5, para 27, dielectricum, para 39, polarization filter 10, para 31).
Regarding Claim 17, Hoersch-Yamagata teaches the system of claim 13,
wherein the at least one light source (light source 3, para 27, Hoersch) is configured to output a coherent light (laser, para 27).
Regarding Claim 18, Hoersch-Yamagata teach the system of claim 13,
However, Hoersch does not teach
further comprising a computing device having at least one processor communicatively coupled to the image capturing device
Hoersch and Yamagata are related as polarization splitters.
Yamagata teaches (fig 1,2, 14,15)
further comprising a computing device (personal computer, para 126, signal processing section C, para 126) having at least one processor communicatively coupled to the image capturing device (image capture device A, para 109) (“the output signal of the image sensor may be transmitted to an external device such as a personal computer so that the arithmetic processing that should have been done by the signal processing section C is carried out by the external device instead”, para 126)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hoersch to include the computing device of Yamagata for the purpose of using a simplified configuration for effectively checking object such as the skin state (para 10,13).
Regarding Claim 19, Hoersch-Yamagata teach the system of claim 18.
However, Hoersch does not teach
wherein subsequent to the light receiver obtaining, recording, or both the at least two polarized orientations of the structure within the image, the video, or both, the image capturing device is configured to transmit the at least one obtained polarized orientation of the structure to the computing device, whereby the computing device is configured to automatically display, in real-time, the at least one obtained polarized orientation of the structure on a display device associated with the computing device.
Hoersch and Yamagata are related as polarization splitters.
Yamagata teaches (fig 1,2, 14)
wherein subsequent to the light receiver (light receiver of image capture device A, para 109) obtaining, recording, or both the at least two polarized orientations (“only linearly polarized light rays vibrating in the direction of the first polarization axis are transmitted through the first polarizing portion Sp1 and only linearly polarized light rays vibrating in the direction of the second polarization axis are transmitted through the second polarizing portion Sp2. The light beams B1 and B2 are converged by the objective lens L1 and incident on the array of optical elements K”, para 61) of the structure (object Ob, para 109) within the image, the video, or both, the image capturing device (image capture device A, para 109) is configured to transmit the at least one obtained polarized orientation of the structure to the computing device (“The image that has been shot by the image capture device A is subjected to appropriate image processing by the signal processing section C and then presented on the display section Y”, para 119,
whereby the computing device (personal computer, para 126, signal processing section C, para 126) is configured to automatically display, in real-time, the at least one obtained polarized orientation of the structure on a display device (display Y, fig 14, para 119) associated with the computing device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hoersch to include the automatic display of the at least one obtained polarized orientation of Yamagata for the purpose of using a simplified configuration for effectively checking object such as the skin state (para 10,13).
Regarding Claim 20, Hoersch teaches (fig 1-4) a method for viewing, in real time, at least two polarized orientations of a structure (retroreflector 9, para 28), the method comprising:
providing a polarizing light filter apparatus (sensor 1, para 26), the polarizing light filter apparatus comprising,
a housing (housing 2, para 27) comprising at least one viewing window (viewing window 7, para 28);
at least one light source (light emitting source 3, para 27) temporarily affixed to at least one portion of a surface of the housing (housing 2, para 27), the at least one light source configured to output an incident light (light from light source 3) toward a structure (retroreflector 9, para 28);
a split polarizer (beam splitter 5, para 27, dielectricum, para 39, fig 2, polarization filter 10, para 31) temporarily affixed to at least one alternative portion of the surface of the housing (housing 2, para 27), the split polarizer (beam splitter 5, para 27, dielectricum, para 39, polarization filter 10, para 31) being in mechanical communication with the at least one viewing window (viewing window 7, para 28) (as in fig 1);
wherein the split polarizer (beam splitter 5, para 27, dielectricum, para 39, polarization filter 10, para 31) is configured to convert an orientation of the incident light into at least two polarized orientations (fig 2, “The remaining portion of the received light is reflected by the beam splitter via a polarization filter 10 that has a polarization direction which is perpendicular to that of polarizer 4”, para 31; “FIG. 2 shows the intensity of the reflected light portion versus the angle of incidence for s-polarized, p-polarized and unpolarized light for a simple transition of an air-glass interface. At a relatively large angle of about 45.degree., the reflection curves strongly diverge. Especially p-polarized light is significantly less reflected than the s-polarized light”, para 34)
emitting, via the at least one light source (light source 3), the incident light, wherein the incident light is reflected off of the structure (retroreflector 9) (as in fig 1);
converting, via the split polarizer (beam splitter 5, para 27, dielectricum, para 39, polarization filter 10, para 31), an orientation of the reflected incident light into at least two polarized orientations (fig 2, “The remaining portion of the received light is reflected by the beam splitter via a polarization filter 10 that has a polarization direction which is perpendicular to that of polarizer 4”, para 31; “FIG. 2 shows the intensity of the reflected light portion versus the angle of incidence for s-polarized, p-polarized and unpolarized light for a simple transition of an air-glass interface. At a relatively large angle of about 45.degree., the reflection curves strongly diverge. Especially p-polarized light is significantly less reflected than the s-polarized light”, para 34) as it translates through the split polarizer; and
viewing, via the at least one viewing window (viewing window 7, para 28), in real-time, the at least two polarized orientations (“ FIG. 2 shows the intensity of the reflected light portion versus the angle of incidence for s-polarized, p-polarized”, para 34) of the structure (retroreflector 9).
However, Hoersch does not teach
wherein the at least two polarized orientations of the structure highlights at least one superficial aspect, at least one depth aspect, or both of the structure.
Hoersch and Yamagata are related as polarization splitters.
Yamagata teaches (fig 1,2,14, 15),
wherein the at least two polarized orientations of the structure highlights at least one superficial aspect, at least one depth aspect, or both of the structure (object Ob, fig 14) (“an image which allows the viewer to observe the skin wrinkles and texture easily can be obtained based on the light that has been transmitted through the optical region D3 of the split polarizer Sp.”, para 115, “The light reflected from skin is a mixture of components of the light that has been reflected from the surface of the skin and components of the light that has been reflected from inside of the skin and that is affected by scattering”, para 112).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hoersch to include the polarizing filter of Yamagata for the purpose of using a simplified configuration for effectively checking object such as the skin state (para 10,13).
Claim(s) 15,16, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoersch et al (US 2009/0108185 A1, of record) in view of Yamagata et al (US 2014/0055664 A1) and further in view of Meglan et al (US 2020/0169724 A1, of record).
Regarding Claim 15, Hoersch-Yamagata teaches the system of claim 14.
However, Hoersch does not teach
wherein the first polarizing filter comprises a counterclockwise polarization.
Hoersch and Meglan are related as polarization splitters.
Meglan teaches (fig 3) a polarizing filter (202, para 69)
wherein the first polarizing filter (second portion 304, para 69) comprises a counterclockwise polarization (“The second portion 304 of the polarizing filter 202 is aligned with a second set of pixels 308 (in an example, even pixel rows) of the display device 122 and filters visual content displayed by the second set of pixels 308 according to a second polarization.”, para 69) (“For instance, the first and second polarizations may be clockwise circular polarization and counterclockwise circular polarization”, para 71).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hoersch to include the polarizing filter of Meglan for the purpose of using a versatile polarization filter using commonly used polarizations used in different applications such as robotic healthcare procedures (para 60).
Regarding Claim 16, Hoersch-Yamagata-Meglan teaches the system of claim 15.
However, Hoersch does not teach
wherein the second polarizing filter comprises a clockwise polarization.
Hoersch and Meglan are related as polarization splitters.
Meglan teaches (fig 3) a polarizing filter (202, para 69)
wherein the second polarizing filter (first portion 302, para 69) comprises a counterclockwise polarization (“The first portion 302 of the polarizing filter 202 is aligned with a first set of pixels 306 (in an example, odd pixel rows) of the display device 122 and filters visual content displayed by the first set of pixels 306 according to a first polarization.”, para 69) (“For instance, the first and second polarizations may be clockwise circular polarization and counterclockwise circular polarization”, para 71).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hoersch to include the polarizing filter of Meglan for the purpose of using a versatile polarization filter using commonly used polarizations used in different applications such as robotic healthcare procedures (para 60).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bleha et al (US 2007/0146880 A1) teaches a split polarizer for splitting incident unpolarized white light into simultaneously orthogonally polarized light beams.
Itoh et al (US 2017/0293812 A1) teaches a detection device with a polarization splitter.
/JYOTSNA V DABBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 9/26/2026