DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-16 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Each of claims 2-16 recites “The method” in line 1, which should be amended to instead recite --The vehicle control method-- for consistency and proper antecedent basis with “A vehicle control method” in line 1 of claim 1.
Claim 13 recites “a Controller Area Network, CAN, interface” in lines 6-7, which appears to be a misstating of --a Controller Area Network (CAN) interface--.
Claim 20 should be amended to include a semicolon immediately following “a second track” at the end of line 4.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 introduces “at least one steering wheel” in lines 1-2. Claim 11 is dependent from claim 1, and claim 1 previously introduces each of “at least one steering wheel” in line 1 and “a to-be-controlled steering wheel” in line 10. First, it is unclear whether the “at least one steering wheel” introduced in lines 1-2 of claim 11 is intended to be the same as or different from the “at least one steering wheel” previously introduced in line 1 of claim 1. Next, it is unclear whether the “at least one steering wheel” introduced in lines 1-2 of claim 11 is intended to be the same as or different from the “to-be-controlled steering wheel” previously introduced in line 10 of claim 1. Thus, there is improper antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim. To overcome the rejection, one suggestion is to amend lines 1-2 of claim 1 to instead recite --the at least one steering wheel--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 11, 14-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 3747827 A1 to Ringius et al. (hereinafter: “Ringius”); or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ringius in view of JP 2003-182991 A to Chin (hereinafter: “Chin”).
With respect to claim 1, Ringius teaches a vehicle control method, applied to a vehicle (1) comprising at least one steering wheel (35), wherein the vehicle is drivable between a first track (e.g., 12) and a second track (e.g., 13) (apparent from at least Figs. 1 & 7), and the method comprises: detecting a first distance (e.g., 32) between the vehicle and the first track, and detecting a second distance (e.g., 33) between the vehicle and the second track (apparent from at least Figs. 1 & 7 in view of at least ¶ 0039-0045 & 0050-0051); determining, according to the first distance and the second distance, offset information of a symmetrical centerline of the vehicle relative to a track centerline (34); wherein the first track and the second track are axisymmetric with respect to the track centerline [for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 1 & 7 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0046 & 0051-0054, the vehicle 1 is determined to be not centered on the center line 34 of an aisle 22 between the wall-ribbon 12 and the wall-ribbon 13 (e.g., “offset information of a symmetrical centerline of the vehicle relative to a track centerline”) based on comparisons between the detected distance 32 and the detected distance 33 (e.g., “according to the first distance and the second distance”)]; determining, according to the offset information and position information corresponding to a to-be-controlled steering wheel, a first rotation angle control quantity of the to-be-controlled steering wheel; wherein the position information corresponding to the to-be-controlled steering wheel is used to indicate a set position of the to-be-controlled steering wheel on the vehicle, and the to-be-controlled steering wheel is any one of the at least one steering wheel [for example, as depicted by at least Fig. 7 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0045 & 0051-0054, an angle for a steering maneuver (e.g., “first rotation angle control quantity”) to control the steerable wheel 35 to most quickly achieve centering of the vehicle 1 on the center line 34 is determined based on the determination that the vehicle 1 is not centered on the center line 34 (e.g., “according to the offset information”); also, absent coincidence, the angle for the steering maneuver would fail to most quickly achieve centering of the vehicle 1 on the center line 34 via the controlling of the steerable wheel 35 if the determination of the angle for the steering maneuver completely disregards a set position of the steerable wheel 35 on the vehicle 1 given that varying of the set position of the steerable wheel 35 on the vehicle 1 would necessarily vary the steering maneuver for a given angle for the steering maneuver, such that the angle for the steering maneuver to control the steerable wheel 35 to most quickly achieve centering of the vehicle 1 on the center line 34 is necessarily further determined according to the set position of the steerable wheel 35 on the vehicle 1]; and controlling, according to the first rotation angle control quantity, rotation of the to-be-controlled steering wheel, to change a travel direction of the to-be-controlled steering wheel, such that during travel of the vehicle, the symmetrical centerline of the vehicle overlaps with the track centerline (for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 1 & 7 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0045 & 0051-0054, the steerable wheel 35 is controlled according to the angle for the steering maneuver to control the steerable wheel 35 to most quickly achieve centering of the vehicle 1 on the center line 34 during travel of the vehicle 1).
As discussed in detail above, Ringius teaches each and every limitation of the vehicle control method of claim 1 so as to anticipate the claim under a broadest reasonable interpretation. However, in such a case where Applicant is able to sufficiently show that Ringius does not necessarily fully teach determining the first rotation angle control quantity of the to-be-controlled steering wheel further according to the position information corresponding to the to-be-controlled steering wheel and/or in such a case where Ringius is not interpreted or relied upon to teach determining the first rotation angle control quantity of the to-be-controlled steering wheel further according to the position information corresponding to the to-be-controlled steering wheel, it is also noted that Chin teaches determining a steering wheel angle of a steering wheel of a vehicle according to position information corresponding to the to-be-controlled steering wheel [as depicted by at least Figs. 1-4 (especially Fig. 2) and as discussed by at least ¶ 0024-0025].
Therefore, even if Ringius is not interpreted or relied upon to teach determining the first rotation angle control quantity of the to-be-controlled steering wheel further according to the position information corresponding to the to-be-controlled steering wheel, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the vehicle control method of Ringius with the teachings of Chin, if even necessary, to include determining the first rotation angle control quantity of the to-be-controlled steering wheel further according to the position information corresponding to the to-be-controlled steering wheel because Chin demonstrates that a steering wheel angle of a steering wheel of a vehicle varies according to position information corresponding to the steering wheel, such that the angle for the steering maneuver to control the steerable wheel 35 in Ringius must necessarily be further determined according to the set position of the steerable wheel 35 on the vehicle 1 in order to actually achieve the objective of Ringius to most quickly achieve centering of the vehicle 1 on the center line 34.
With respect to claim 2, Ringius (alternatively, Ringius modified supra) teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein determining, according to the offset information and the position information corresponding to the to-be-controlled steering wheel, the first rotation angle control quantity of the to-be-controlled steering wheel comprises: calculating, according to the offset information, a second rotation angle control quantity, wherein the second rotation angle control quantity corresponds to an angle that the symmetrical centerline needs to rotate (as discussed by at least ¶ 0013 & 0039); and determining, according to the second rotation angle control quantity and the position information corresponding to the to-be-controlled steering wheel, the first rotation angle control quantity of the to-be-controlled steering wheel (as depicted by at least Figs. 1 & 7 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0013, 0039, 0045 & 0051-0054).
With respect to claim 8, Ringius (alternatively, Ringius modified supra) teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the vehicle comprises an angular motion detection sensor (e.g., 18-21), determining, according to the first distance and the second distance, offset information of the symmetrical centerline of the vehicle relative to the track centerline comprises: determining a travel direction of the vehicle through the angular motion detection sensor (as depicted by at least Figs. 1 & 7 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0013, 0028, 0039 & 0051), and according to the travel direction of the vehicle and a difference value between the first distance and the second distance, determining offset information of the symmetrical centerline of the vehicle relative to the track centerline (as depicted by at least Figs. 1 & 7 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0013, 0028, 0039, 0046 & 0051-0054).
With respect to claim 9, Ringius (alternatively, Ringius modified supra) teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein determining, according to the offset information and position information corresponding to the to-be-controlled steering wheel, the first rotation angle control quantity of the to-be-controlled steering wheel comprises: determining, according to the offset information and position information of the to-be-controlled steering wheel, first offset information corresponding to the to-be-controlled steering wheel, wherein the first offset information comprises a first distance vector between the set position of the to-be-controlled steering wheel and the track centerline, and a first deflection steering angle between a current travel direction of the to-be-controlled steering wheel and the track centerline; and determining, according to the first offset information, the first rotation angle control quantity of the to-be-controlled steering wheel (as discussed in detail above with respect to claim 1, and as depicted by at least Figs. 1 & 7 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0013, 0028, 0039, 0046 & 0051-0054).
With respect to claim 11, Ringius (alternatively, Ringius modified supra) teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein a chassis of the vehicle is provided with at least one steering wheel and at least one directional wheel, the at least one directional wheel is configured to drive the vehicle to perform translational movement (apparent from at least Figs. 1 & 2 in view of at least ¶ 0037-0038), the vehicle is configured to send the first rotation angle control quantity to the to-be-controlled steering wheel of the at least one steering wheel, to drive the to-be-controlled steering wheel to rotate, to change a travel direction of the to-be-controlled steering wheel, thereby changing a travel direction of the vehicle (as discussed in detail above with respect to claim 1).
With respect to claim 14, Ringius (alternatively, Ringius modified supra) teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the vehicle comprises a first distance detection sensor (e.g., 18 or 20) arranged on a first side surface of the vehicle (apparent from at least Fig. 1) and a second distance detection sensor (e.g., 19 or 21) arranged on a second side surface of the vehicle (apparent from at least Fig. 1), and detecting the first distance between the vehicle and the first track, and detecting the second distance between the vehicle and the second track comprises: detecting the first distance between the vehicle and the first track through the first distance detection sensor, and detecting the second distance between the vehicle and the second track through the second distance detection sensor (apparent from at least Figs. 1 & 7 in view of at least ¶ 0039-0045 & 0050-0051).
With respect to claim 15, Ringius (alternatively, Ringius modified supra) teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein determining, according to the first distance and the second distance, offset information of the symmetrical centerline of the vehicle relative to the track centerline comprises: determining, by the vehicle, the travel direction of the vehicle through an angular motion detection sensor (as depicted by at least Figs. 1 & 7 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0013, 0028, 0039 & 0051), calculating a difference value between the first distance and the second distance as a fifth difference value (as depicted by at least Figs. 1 & 7 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0046 & 0051-0054), and determining, according to the travel direction of the vehicle and the fifth difference value, offset information of the symmetrical centerline of the vehicle relative to the track centerline (as depicted by at least Figs. 1 & 7 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0013, 0028, 0039, 0046 & 0051-0054).
With respect to claim 16, Ringius (alternatively, Ringius modified supra) teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein determining, according to the offset information and the position information corresponding to the to-be-controlled steering wheel, the first rotation angle control quantity of the to-be-controlled steering wheel comprises: determining, according to the offset information and the position information corresponding to the to-be-controlled steering wheel, a first rotation angle that the to-be-controlled steering wheel needs to rotate, and determining, according to the first rotation angle, the first rotation angle control quantity (as discussed in detail above with respect to claim 1).
With respect to claim 17, Ringius (alternatively, Ringius modified supra) teaches a vehicle, wherein the vehicle is drivable between a first track and a second track, and the vehicle comprises: at least one steering wheel, being used to drive the vehicle to perform translational movement and rotary movement; and a memory (e.g., “a device for storing such as a server, USB-stick, or in another material handling vehicle, or any other appropriate storage medium”) and a processor (e.g., 7), wherein the memory stores a computer program (e.g., “computer software”), and when the computer program is executed by the processor, the processor is enabled to perform operations comprising: obtaining a first distance between the vehicle and the first track, and obtaining a second distance between the vehicle and the second track; determining, according to the first distance and the second distance, offset information of a symmetrical centerline of the vehicle relative to a track centerline; wherein the first track and the second track are axisymmetric with respect to the track centerline; determining, according to the offset information and position information corresponding to a to-be-controlled steering wheel, a first rotation angle control quantity of the to-be-controlled steering wheel; wherein the position information corresponding to the to-be-controlled steering wheel is used to indicate a set position of the to-be-controlled steering wheel on the vehicle, the to-be-controlled steering wheel is any one of the at least one steering wheel; and controlling, according to the first rotation angle control quantity, rotation of the to-be-controlled steering wheel, to change a travel direction of the to-be-controlled steering wheel, such that during travel of the vehicle, the symmetrical centerline of the vehicle overlaps with the track centerline (as discussed in detail above with respect to claim 1 in view of at least ¶ 0049-0054).
With respect to claim 18, Ringius (alternatively, Ringius modified supra) teaches the method according to claim 17, wherein determining, according to the offset information and position information corresponding to the to-be-controlled steering wheel, the first rotation angle control quantity of the to-be-controlled steering wheel comprises: calculating, according to the offset information, a second rotation angle control quantity, wherein the second rotation angle control quantity corresponds to an angle that the symmetrical centerline needs to rotate; and determining, according to the second rotation angle control quantity and the position information corresponding to the to-be-controlled steering wheel, the first rotation angle control quantity of the to-be-controlled steering wheel (as discussed in detail above with respect to at least claims 2 and 17).
With respect to claim 20, Ringius (alternatively, Ringius modified supra) teaches a non-volatile computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, the computer program is executed by one or more processors to perform operations comprising: obtaining a first distance between a vehicle and a first track, and obtaining a second distance between the vehicle and a second track determining, according to the first distance and the second distance, offset information of a symmetrical centerline of the vehicle relative to a track centerline; wherein the first track and the second track are axisymmetric with respect to the track centerline; determining, according to the offset information and position information corresponding to a to-be-controlled steering wheel on the vehicle, a first rotation angle control quantity of the to-be-controlled steering wheel; wherein the position information corresponding to the to-be-controlled steering wheel is used to indicate a set position of the to-be-controlled steering wheel on the vehicle; and controlling, according to the first rotation angle control quantity, rotation of the to-be-controlled steering wheel, to change a travel direction of the to-be-controlled steering wheel, such that during travel of the vehicle, the symmetrical centerline of the vehicle overlaps with the track centerline (as discussed in detail above with respect to claims 1 and 17).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ringius in view of Chin.
With respect to claim 3, Ringius (alternatively, Ringius modified supra) teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the vehicle further comprises two directional wheels (as discussed by at least ¶ 0037-0038); and determining, according to the second rotation angle control quantity and the position information corresponding to the to-be-controlled steering wheel, the first rotation angle control quantity of the to-be-controlled steering wheel comprises: according to the position information corresponding to the to-be-controlled steering wheel and the second rotation angle control quantity, determining the first rotation angle control quantity of the to-be-controlled steering wheel (as discussed in detail above with respect to claims 1 and 2).
Ringius appears to lack a clear teaching as to whether a line connecting centers of the two directional wheels is perpendicular to the symmetrical centerline. Ringius also appears to lack a clear teaching as to whether the position information corresponding to the to-be-controlled steering wheel comprises coordinate information of a center point of the to-be-controlled steering wheel in a preset planar coordinate system, a first axis direction of the preset planar coordinate system is parallel to the symmetrical centerline of the vehicle, a second axis direction of the preset planar coordinate system is perpendicular to the symmetrical centerline, and an origin of the preset planar coordinate system is a midpoint of the line connecting the centers of the two directional wheels. Ringius further appears to lack a clear teaching as to whether the center point of the to-be-controlled steering wheel is not on the symmetrical centerline.
Chin further teaches a line connecting centers of two directional wheels of the vehicle is perpendicular to a symmetrical centerline of the vehicle (apparent from at least Figs. 2-4); the center point of the steering wheel is not on the symmetrical centerline (apparent from at least Figs. 2-4); and the position information corresponding to the steering wheel comprises coordinate information of a center point of the steering wheel in a preset planar coordinate system, a first axis direction of the preset planar coordinate system is parallel to the symmetrical centerline of the vehicle, a second axis direction of the preset planar coordinate system is perpendicular to the symmetrical centerline, and an origin of the preset planar coordinate system is a midpoint of the line connecting the centers of the two directional wheels (apparent from at least Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the vehicle control method of Ringius with the teachings of Chin, if even necessary, such that a line connecting centers of the two directional wheels is perpendicular to the symmetrical centerline; the center point of the to-be-controlled steering wheel is not on the symmetrical centerline; and the position information corresponding to the to-be-controlled steering wheel comprises coordinate information of a center point of the to-be-controlled steering wheel in a preset planar coordinate system, a first axis direction of the preset planar coordinate system is parallel to the symmetrical centerline of the vehicle, a second axis direction of the preset planar coordinate system is perpendicular to the symmetrical centerline, and an origin of the preset planar coordinate system is a midpoint of the line connecting the centers of the two directional wheels because Chin further teaches that such an arrangement of the two directional wheels and the steering wheel on the vehicle is normal for a forklift-type vehicle (as discussed by at least ¶ 0004 of Chin).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ringius in view of U.S. Patent No. 4,595,331 to Thompson et al. (hereinafter: “Thompson”); or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ringius in view of Chin, and in view of Thompson.
With respect to claim 4, Ringius (alternatively, Ringius modified supra) teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein determining, according to the second rotation angle control quantity and the position information corresponding to the to-be-controlled steering wheel, the first rotation angle control quantity of the to-be-controlled steering wheel comprises: determining the second rotation angle control quantity as the first rotation angle control quantity of the to-be-controlled steering wheel (as discussed in detail above with respect to claims 1 and 2).
Ringius appears to lack a clear teaching as to whether a center point of the to-be-controlled steering wheel is on the symmetrical centerline.
Thompson teaches arranging a center point of a steering wheel of a vehicle is on a symmetrical centerline of the vehicle (apparent from at least Figs. 1 & 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the vehicle control method of Ringius with the teachings of Thompson, if even necessary, such that a center point of the to-be-controlled steering wheel is on the symmetrical centerline because Thompson teaches that such an arrangement of two directional wheels and the steering wheel on the vehicle is normal for a forklift-type vehicle (apparent from at least Figs. 1 & 2 of Chin).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ringius alone; or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ringius in view of Chin.
With respect to claim 12, Ringius (alternatively, Ringius modified supra) teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the to-be-controlled steering wheel comprises a steering motor (3) and a steering wheel body (35) (as depicted by at least Figs 1 & 2 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0037-0038), and the steering motor is configured to receive the first rotation angle control quantity, rotate according to the first rotation angle control quantity, and drive the steering wheel body to rotate, to change a travel direction of the to-be-controlled steering wheel (as discussed in detail above with respect to claim 1, and as depicted by at least Figs. 1, 2 & 7 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0037-0038 & 0051-0054); however, Ringius appears to lack a clear teaching as to whether the to-be-controlled steering wheel further comprises a first transmission mechanism that is respectively connected with the steering motor and the steering wheel body. Therefore, Ringius also appears to lack a clear teaching as to whether the steering motor is configured to drive the steering wheel body to rotate through the first transmission mechanism.
Even so, the examiner takes Official Notice (e.g., see: MPEP 2144.03) that it was well-kwon and conventional at the time the invention was made to connect a steering motor and a steering wheel body via a transmission mechanism, including to drive the steering wheel body to rotate through the transmission mechanism via the steering motor to, for example, beneficially provide an indirect rotatable connection between the steering motor and the steering wheel body in a vehicle, thereby beneficially enabling the steering motor to be arranged separate from the steering wheel body on the vehicle. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the vehicle control method of Ringius, if even necessary, such that the to-be-controlled steering wheel further comprises a first transmission mechanism that is respectively connected with the steering motor and the steering wheel body, where the steering motor is configured to drive the steering wheel body to rotate through the first transmission mechanism.
With respect to claim 13, Ringius modified supra teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein the to-be-controlled steering wheel further comprises a drive motor, the drive motor is configured to drive the steering wheel body to rotate to drive the vehicle to perform translational movement (as depicted by at least Figs 1 & 2 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0037-0038), and the vehicle is configured to send a rotation speed instruction to the drive motor through a Controller Area Network, CAN, interface, and control a rotation speed of the drive motor to control a translation speed of the vehicle (as depicted by at least Figs 1 & 2 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0037-0038); however, Ringius appears to lack a clear teaching as to whether the to-be-controlled steering wheel further comprises a second transmission mechanism that is respectively connected to the drive motor and the steering wheel body. Therefore, Ringius also appears to lack a clear teaching as to whether the drive motor is configured to drive the steering wheel body to rotate through the second transmission mechanism.
Even so, the examiner takes Official Notice (e.g., see: MPEP 2144.03) that it was well-kwon and conventional at the time the invention was made to connect a drive motor and a steering wheel body via a transmission mechanism, including to drive the steering wheel body to rotate through the transmission mechanism via the drive motor to, for example, beneficially provide an indirect rotatable connection between the drive motor and the steering wheel body in a vehicle, thereby beneficially enabling the drive motor to be arranged separate from the steering wheel body on the vehicle. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the vehicle control method of Ringius, if even necessary, such that the to-be-controlled steering wheel further comprises a second transmission mechanism that is respectively connected to the drive motor and the steering wheel body, where the steering motor is configured to drive the steering wheel body to rotate through the second transmission mechanism.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 10, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited form.
/JOHN M ZALESKAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747