DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/30/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2, delete “wherein”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 (and corresponding dependent claims) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Specifically, in line 4 of claim 1, applicant discloses wherein “the eye/iris imaging optical unit is for physical imaging on eye/iris near-infrared incident light” making it unclear how imaging is done “on” light and thus rendering the claim vague and indefinite. For purpose of examination, it was presumed applicant intended to disclose wherein “the eye/iris imaging optical unit is for physical imaging of eye/iris near-infrared incident light,” which is also in agreement with what is disclosed in the Specification. The dependent claims inherit the rejection from their parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou et al (CN 110956054 A) in view of Yin et al (US 2019/0353909 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Hou et al discloses a biometric system (page 7, paragraph 5 – page 8, paragraph 7, Figure 6, re: face recognition), comprising: an eye/iris imaging optical unit (page 7, paragraph 6, re: iris image collecting terminal), a near-infrared illumination optical unit (page 7, paragraph 6, re: near infrared light sources), and an eye/iris image imaging control unit, wherein the eye/iris imaging optical unit is for physical imaging of eye/iris near-infrared incident light, the near-infrared illumination optical unit generates related near-infrared light to be emitted to an eye for illuminating an eye/iris, and the eye/iris image imaging control unit is configured to control the eye/iris imaging optical unit and the near-infrared illumination optical unit to generate an eye/iris image in a joint imaging mode (page 7, paragraph 16 – page 8, paragraph 1, re: iris image collecting terminal comprising a processor to perform: detecting the target, adjusting the radiating angle of the near infrared light source such that the eye is in the irradiation range of the near infrared light source, and the iris camera collects the iris image), but does not specifically disclose wherein the biometric system is for an extended reality (XR) head-mounted device.
However, Hou et al discloses said biometric system is for a mobile phone (page 4, paragraph 13) and within the same field of endeavor, Yin et al teaches that it is desirable for extended reality head-mounted devices to comprise mobile phones installed in a VR head-mounted apparatus (page 5, section [0054], Figure 8, “9”) or to comprise biometric systems utilizing near-infrared illumination to capture images of eye/iris for the purpose of providing an extended reality head-mounted apparatus (i.e. VR apparatus) that can quickly and accurately acquire an eye image (page 1, sections [0003]-[0004] and page 2, section [0035], Figure 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the biometric system of Hou et al to be for an extended reality (XR) head-mounted device since Hou et al discloses said biometric system is for a mobile phone and Yin et al teaches that it is desirable for extended reality head-mounted devices to comprise mobile phones installed in a VR head-mounted apparatus or to comprise biometric systems utilizing near-infrared illumination to capture images of eye/iris for the purpose of providing an extended reality head-mounted apparatus that can quickly and accurately acquire an eye image.
Regarding claim 2, Hou et al discloses said biometric system comprising a display imaging optical unit, wherein the display imaging optical unit comprises an image display source and a display imaging assembly, and an image of the image display source is imaged and emitted to an eye through an optical path of the display imaging assembly for image projection (page 4, paragraph 13, re: mobile phone or smart phone display).
Regarding claim 6, Hou et al discloses wherein the eye/iris imaging optical unit directly images near-infrared light emitted from the eye/iris (page 7, paragraph 6, re: iris image collecting terminal), or employs reverse optical/optical path conversion to realize indirect imaging of the near-infrared light emitted from the eye/iris; the reverse optical/optical path conversion is configured to an optical combination with at least once refraction and/or reflection or optical waveguide total internal reflection (TIR) coupling to the imaging optical path of the display imaging assembly and has predetermined optical power for providing virtual distance extension; the near-infrared illumination optical unit directly illuminates emergent near-infrared light to the eye/iris (page 7, second to last paragraph, re: human eye in the irradiation range of the near infrared light source) or indirectly illuminates emergent near-infrared light to the eye/iris using forward optical/optical path conversion; and the forward optical/optical path conversion is configured to an optical combination with at least once refraction and/or reflection or optical waveguide TIR coupling to the imaging optical path of the display imaging assembly and has predetermined optical power for providing virtual distance extension.
Regarding claim 33, Yin et al further teaches an XR head-mounted device, being applied to biometrics of at least one of an eye/iris, a retina, subcutaneous tissue of eyes, an ophthalmic artery/vein, and a sclera in the biometric system for said XR head-mounted device (page 3, section [0035]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 7-32, and 34 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claims 3-4: a biometric system as claimed, specifically wherein the illumination region (RXr, RYr) of the near-infrared illumination optical unit covers and is greater than the imaging region (RXi, RYi) of the eye/iris imaging optical unit; the near-infrared illumination optical unit controls the field of view for illumination (FOI),FOVr of the near-infrared illumination optical unit through an illumination radiation angle to cover and be greater than the field of view for imaging, FOVi, of the eye/iris imaging optical unit; and the illumination angle of emergence Or of the near-infrared illumination optical unit is greater than the imaging incident angle Gi of the eye/iris imaging optical unit.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 5: a biometric system as claimed, specifically wherein an effective focal length, EFL, of the eye/iris imaging optical unit is greater than a predetermined imaging focal length β*s/( β- β1) in the eye relief, Reyerelief; s represents a combined virtual object distance of the eye/iris imaging optical unit; β=-PR*PS, representing the magnification of a vertical axis of combined imaging for a predetermined image quality standard, β1 represents the magnification of a vertical axis provided by the imaging optical path of the display imaging assembly, PS represents the unit pixel resolution with the unit of pm/pixel of an image imaging sensor; an imaging depth of field, RZ, of the eye/iris imaging optical unit is greater than a predetermined imaging depth of field; the predetermined imaging depth of field is an eye relief, Reyerelief, of the display imaging optical unit; the imaging depth of field, RZ, of the eye/iris imaging optical unit is configured as follows: RZ=Kz*Reyerelif, and Kz=[1,2].
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 7: a biometric system as claimed, specifically wherein the eye/iris imaging optical unit is combined with a predetermined incident angle/angle of emergence conversion for off-axis optical imaging within a predetermined region/field of view for imaging, FOVi; the predetermined incident angle/angle of emergence conversion is configured as: the incident angle and the associated angle of emergence respond to the predetermined angle conversion relationship within a predetermined region/FOVi; and the predetermined angle conversion relationship is configured as an inverse transformation of optical characteristics responsive to oblique off-axis incidence imaging within a predetermined region/FOVi; and an imaging optical axis of the predetermined imaging incident angle as a normal axis of a symmetry center.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 8: a biometric system as claimed, specifically wherein the near-infrared illumination optical unit is combined with a predetermined incident angle/angle of emergence conversion for off-axis optical illumination within a predetermined region/field of view for illumination, FOVr; and the predetermined incident angle/angle of emergence conversion is configured as: the angle of emergence and an associated incident angle respond to the predetermined angle conversion relationship within a predetermined region/FOVr, and the predetermined angle conversion relationship is configured as an inverse transformation of optical characteristics responsive to oblique off-axis emergence illumination within a predetermined region/FOVr; and an illumination optical axis of the predetermined illumination angle of emergence as a normal axis of a symmetry center.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 9: a biometric system as claimed, specifically wherein the optical waveguide TIR is combined with a predetermined incident angle/angle of emergence conversion for optical coupling in/out a TIR angle within a predetermined region/FOV of illumination and imaging.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claims 10-22: a biometric system as claimed, specifically wherein the near-infrared illumination optical unit and/or the eye/iris imaging optical unit comprises at least one or more metasurface optical elements operating in the NIR wavelength.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claims 23-26: a biometric system as claimed, specifically wherein the eye/iris image imaging control unit controls imaging parameter setting of image frames of the eye/iris imaging optical unit and the near-infrared illumination optical unit to generate an eye/iris image in a joint imaging mode, and is configured with a working mode of image frame period parallel synchronization logical time sequence imaging; and the image frame period comprises an image frame imaging parameter configuration effective period, an image frame exposure integration period/synchronous illumination period, an image frame readout period and an image frame processing calculation period.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claims 27-32: a biometric system as claimed, specifically wherein the time TI of the synchronization pulse global exposure integration period is configured to be equal to the time TF of the synchronization pulse illumination radiation period; the image frame rate FR is configured to be equal to the frequency of the synchronization pulse global exposure integration period and the frequency FP of the synchronization pulse illumination radiation period; and the intensity of radiation, IR, of the near-infrared illumination optical unit and the time TF of the synchronization pulse illumination radiation period are configured as follows: IR and TF keep inverse correlated for executing joint optimization.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 34: an XR head-mounted device, being multiplexed for eye tracking by the biometric system for said XR head-mounted device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Choi et al (US 2024/0069632 A1) is being cited herein to show an extended reality display utilizing near-infrared illumination for eye imaging. However, additional rejections would have been repetitive.
/WILLIAM CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 October 25, 2026