DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-6, 8-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura et al. (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 20220165508).
With respect to claim 1, Nakamura discloses a solid electrolytic capacitor (see abstract) comprising: an anode plate (see FIG. 1, element 3a, and paragraph [0041]) including a porous layer at least on at least one a main surface thereof (see FIG. 1, element 3b, and paragraph [0041]); a dielectric layer on a surface of the porous layer (see paragraph [0042], noting that the dielectric layer, while not shown in the figures, but is formed on the surfaces of the porous portions 3b); a solid electrolyte layer on a surface of the dielectric layer (see FIG.1, element 7a, and paragraph [0043]); a conductor layer on a surface of the solid electrolyte layer (see FIG. 1, elements 7b/7c, and paragraph [0045]); and an insulating layer on the surface of the dielectric layer (see FIG. 1, element 52, and paragraph [0087]), wherein the insulating layer covers at least a part of an end portion of the solid electrolyte layer in a region surrounding the solid electrolyte layer (see FIG. 1, noting that insulating layer 52 covers the ends of solid electrolyte layer 7a and is in contact with porous portion (and by extension dielectric layer) 3b.
With respect to claim 2, Nakamura discloses that, in a plan view in a thickness direction of the solid electrolytic capacitor, the part of the end portion of the solid electrolyte layer covered by the insulating layer has a shortest length from the end portion of the solid electrolyte layer to an end portion of the conductor layer among all end portions of the solid electrolyte layer. See FIG. 1, where the insulating layer 52 covers the edges of all four sides of the solid electrolyte layer 7a.
With respect to claim 3, Nakamura discloses that, wherein the solid electrolyte layer has a quadrilateral shape when viewed in a thickness direction of the solid electrolytic capacitor (see paragraph [0052]), and, in a plan view in the thickness direction, the insulating layer covers at least one side of the solid electrolyte layer that includes a part at which a length from the end portion of the solid electrolyte layer to an end portion of the conductor layer is the shortest among all end portions of the solid electrolyte layer (see FIG. 1, where the insulating layer 52 covers the edges of all four sides of the solid electrolyte layer 7a).
With respect to claim 4, Nakamura discloses that, in a plan view in a thickness direction of the solid electrolytic capacitor, the insulating layer covers all end portions of the solid electrolyte layer. See FIG. 1, where the insulating layer 52 covers the edges of all four sides of the solid electrolyte layer 7a.
With respect to claim 5, Nakamura discloses that the conductor layer covers at least a part of an end portion of the insulating layer. See FIG. 1, noting that layer 7b prevents the end face of the end portion of insulating layer 52 from being exposed.
With respect to claim 6, Nakamura discloses that, in a plan view in a thickness direction of the solid electrolytic capacitor, an end portion of the conductor layer on an opposite side thereof from the solid electrolyte layer is on an outer side relative to the end portion of the solid electrolyte layer. See FIG. 1, element 7b.
With respect to claim 8, Nakamura discloses a sealing layer covering the conductor layer. See FIG. 1, element 53.
With respect to claim 9, Nakamura discloses a through hole conductor passing through the sealing layer in a thickness direction of the solid electrolytic capacitor. See FIG. 1, element 40, and paragraph [0035].
With respect to claim 10, Nakamura discloses a capacitor array comprising: a plurality of the solid electrolytic capacitors according to Claim 1. See FIG. 1, noting that at least 3 capacitors are formed.
With respect to claim 11, Nakamura discloses that in at least one solid electrolytic capacitor of the plurality of solid electrolytic capacitors, in a plan view in a thickness direction of the capacitor array, the part of the end portion of the solid electrolyte layer covered by the insulating layer has a shortest length from the end portion of the solid electrolyte layer to an end portion of the conductor layer among all end portions of the solid electrolyte layer. See FIG. 1, where the insulating layer 52 covers the edges of all four sides of the solid electrolyte layer 7a.
With respect to claim 12, Nakamura discloses that in at least one solid electrolytic capacitor of the plurality of solid electrolytic capacitors: the solid electrolyte layer has a quadrilateral shape when viewed in a thickness direction of the solid electrolytic capacitor (see paragraph [0052]), and, in a plan view in the thickness direction, the insulating layer covers at least one side of the solid electrolyte layer that includes a part at which a length from the end portion of the solid electrolyte layer to an end portion of the conductor layer is the shortest among all end portions of the solid electrolyte layer (see FIG. 1, where the insulating layer 52 covers the edges of all four sides of the solid electrolyte layer 7a).
With respect to claim 13, Nakamura discloses that, wherein in at least one solid electrolytic capacitor of the plurality of solid electrolytic capacitors, in a plan view in a thickness direction of the solid electrolytic capacitor, the insulating layer covers all end portions of the solid electrolyte layer. See FIG. 1, where the insulating layer 52 covers the edges of all four sides of the solid electrolyte layer 7a.
With respect to claim 14, Nakamura discloses that in at least one solid electrolytic capacitor of the plurality of solid electrolytic capacitors, the conductor layer covers at least a part of an end portion of the insulating layer. See FIG. 1, noting that layer 7b prevents the end face of the end portion of insulating layer 52 from being exposed.
With respect to claim 15, Nakamura discloses that in at least one solid electrolytic capacitor of the plurality of solid electrolytic capacitors, in a plan view in a thickness direction of the solid electrolytic capacitor, an end portion of the conductor layer on an opposite side thereof from the solid electrolyte layer is on an outer side relative to the end portion of the solid electrolyte layer. See FIG. 1, element 7b.
With respect to claim 17, Nakamura discloses that at least one solid electrolytic capacitor of the plurality of solid electrolytic capacitors further comprises a sealing layer covering the conductor layer. See FIG. 1, element 53.
With respect to claim 18, Nakamura discloses that wherein at least one solid electrolytic capacitor of the plurality of solid electrolytic capacitors further comprises a through hole conductor passing through the sealing layer in a thickness direction of the solid electrolytic capacitor. See FIG. 1, element 40, and paragraph [0035].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 20220165508) in view of Furukawa (using US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2020/0312576).
With respect to claim 7, Nakamura fails to teach that the insulating layer includes a first insulating layer on the surface of the dielectric layer in a region surrounding the solid electrolyte layer and a second insulating layer on a surface of the first insulating layer, and the second insulating layer covers at least the part of the end portion of the solid electrolyte layer.
Furukawa, on the other hand, teaches disposing a first insulating layer to surround the solid electrolyte layer, with a thickness the same thereof, and then layering a second insulating layer on top of the first insulating layer. See FIG. 1, elements 30 and 12. Such an arrangement provides an effective demarcation between the capacitor elements. See paragraph [0095].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Nakamura, as taught by Furukawa, in order to effectively demarcate and insulate the capacitor elements.
With respect to claim 16, Nakamura fails to teach wherein in at least one solid electrolytic capacitor of the plurality of solid electrolytic capacitors: the insulating layer includes a first insulating layer on the surface of the dielectric layer in a region surrounding the solid electrolyte layer and a second insulating layer on a surface of the first insulating layer, and the second insulating layer covers at least the part of the end portion of the solid electrolyte layer.
Furukawa, on the other hand, teaches disposing a first insulating layer to surround the solid electrolyte layer, with a thickness the same thereof, and then layering a second insulating layer on top of the first insulating layer. See FIG. 1, elements 30 and 12. Such an arrangement provides an effective demarcation between the capacitor elements. See paragraph [0095].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Nakamura, as taught by Furukawa, in order to effectively demarcate and insulate the capacitor elements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Suzuki et al. (US 2023/0062760), Kumakawa et al. (US 2020/0194187), and Tsutsumi (US 2019/0237266) each disclose solid electrolytic capacitors having insulating layers disposed on the dielectric layers, but fail to teach the specific details recited in claim 1.
/DION R. FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847