FINAL REJECTION
Applicant’s arguments, filed 3/10/206, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2 under U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kumar (US2020/0368786) in view of Pietzka (US2017/0232479).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar (US2020/0368786) in view of Pietzka (US2017/0232479).
Referring to claim 1. Kumar discloses a “Metal Sorter”. See Figs. 1-16 and respective portions of the specification. Kumar further discloses a system comprising: a first conveyor (103); a first sensor (109, 110) configured to visually scan articles of metal scrap on the first conveyor (See Sect. 0054, 0073); and a first actuator and a second actuator configured to sort the articles of metal scrap to one of a first sorting destination or a second sorting destination (See at least Sect. 0111-0113). Kumar further discloses that the conveyor bel conveys pieces through the sorting system where they are detected and classified and wherein a vision system (110) captures images of the scrap pieces and identifies material type based on detected features (See Sect. 0073) and wherein actuators eject scrap pieces from the conveyor into designated sorting bins (See Sect. 0111-0113). Further, Kumar discloses a controller/GPU (3401, 3415) for executing instructions to carry out operations (See Sect. 0089-0092). Thus, Kumar discloses a conveyor transporting metal scrap articles, sensors that detect features of scrap articles, and actuators that sort scrap pieces into destinations based on detected characteristics. Kumar does not disclose detecting a first or second machine-readable mark applied to a first or second article of metal scrap. Pietzka discloses a “Device and Method For Processing Metal Parent Parts and For Sorting Metal Waste Parts”. See Figs. 1-7 and respective portions of the specification. Pietzka further discloses a device for processing metal parts and sorting waste parts and further discloses applying a marking to the metal waste part that characterizes the material of the part (See Sect. 0020, discloses a marking unit applying an optically detectable marking to the waste part). Likewise, Pietzka discloses an optical detection unit configured to detect the marking or geometric feature on the waste part and generate a control signal corresponding to the detected feature (See Sect. 0013-0016). Moreover, Pietzka discloses a sorting unit configured to route the waste parts based on the control signal generated from the detected feature. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the scrap sorting system of Kumar to include the marking-based identification technique of Pietzka such that the scrap articles include detectable marking that correspond to material attributes and are detected by sensors for sorting, as this would provide a reliable and efficient mechanism for determining the material type of metal scrap prior to sorting, thereby improving sorting accuracy and enabling sorting decisions to be made based on predefined material attributes associated with the markings. Likewise, It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide additional sensors to detect markings on multiple scrap articles as this would increase capacity and throughput. It should further be noted that the provision of a second sensor and detecting a second machine-readable mark merely represent a duplication and scaling of known sensor functionality to handle multiple/separate articles.
Referring to claim 2. Kumar in view of Pietzka disclose the combination as described above in detail. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the scrap sorting method of Kumar to include detecting a machine-readable marking corresponding to a material attribute of the scrap article as taught by Pietzka and sorting the scrap article based on that detected marking. It should be noted that this modification merely applies a known marking-based identification technique to an existing scrap metal sorting method for the purposes of improving the reliability and accuracy of material identification and sorting.
Applicant is further reminded that the specification explicitly discloses a physical tag or an RFID tag being inclusive of a marking applied to a metal scrap.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TERRELL H MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653