DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
wording in Line 3. Replacing “the vehicle” with “the modular vehicle” is suggested.
wording in Line 5. Replacing “the upper surface” with “the planar upper surface” is suggested.
wording in Line 6. Replacing “the connection pad” with “the at least one connection pad” is suggested.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informality: wording in Line 1. Replacing “the connection pad” with “the at least one connection pad” is suggested.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informality: wording in Line 1. Replacing “the connection pad” with “the at least one connection pad” is suggested.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informality: wording in Line 1. Replacing “the connection pad” with “the at least one connection pad” is suggested.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informality: wording in line 1. Replacing “the at least one modular” with “the at least one module” is suggested.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
wording in Lines 2-3. Replacing “the vehicle” with “the modular vehicle” is suggested.
wording in Line 4. Replacing “the upper surface” with “the planar upper surface” is suggested.
wording in Line 5. Replacing “the connection pad” with “the at least one connection pad” is suggested.
wording in Line 7. Replacing “the at least one module to the connection pad of the upper planar surface” with “the at least one repositionable module to the at least one connection pad of the planar upper surface” is suggested.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informality: wording in Line 2. Replacing “the at least one module on the upper planar surface” with “the at least one repositionable module on the planar upper surface” is suggested.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informality: wording in Lines 2-3. Replacing “the at least one module to the connection pad of the upper planar surface” with “the at least one repositionable module to at least one connection pad of the planar upper surface” is suggested.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informality: wording in Lines 2-3. Replacing “the at least one module to the connection pad of the upper planar surface” with “the at least one repositionable module to at least one connection pad of the planar upper surface” is suggested.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informality: wording in Lines 2-3. Replacing “the at least one module to the connection pad of the upper planar surface” with “the at least one repositionable module to at least one connection pad of the planar upper surface” is suggested.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
wording in Line 2. Replacing “the vehicle” with “the modular vehicle” is suggested.
wording in Line 5. Replacing “the upper surface” with “the planar upper surface” is suggested.
wording in Line 6. Replacing “the connection pad” with “the at least one connection pad” is suggested.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informality: wording in Line 1. Replacing “The modular vehicle of claim 1” with “The modular vehicle of claim 14” is suggested.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informality: wording in Line 1. Replacing “The modular vehicle of claim 1 wherein the connection pad” with “The modular vehicle of claim 14 wherein the at least one connection pad” is suggested.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informality: wording in Line 1. Replacing “The modular vehicle of claim 1 wherein the connection pad” with “The modular vehicle of claim 14 wherein the at least one connection pad” is suggested.
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informality: wording in Line 1. Replacing “The modular vehicle of claim 1 wherein the connection pad” with “The modular vehicle of claim 14 wherein the at least one connection pad” is suggested.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informality: wording in Line 1. Replacing “The modular vehicle of claim 5” with “The modular vehicle of claim 18” is suggested.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informality: wording in Line 1. Replacing “The modular vehicle of claim 1” with “The modular vehicle of claim 14” is suggested.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,214,835. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because no new limitations are recited.
Claims 14-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 14-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,214,835. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because no new limitations are recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chernoff et al. (US 7303033 B2) (hereinafter “Chernoff”). [Note that prior art citations below are italicized and enclosed in brackets.]
Regarding Claim 1, Chernoff teaches a modular vehicle [Chernoff Annotated Figs. 1 and 5, below; Chernoff Paragraph 2: “This invention relates to vehicle chassis and bodies”; Chernoff Paragraph 39: “Referring to FIG. 1, a vehicle chassis 10, also referred to as the "rolling platform," includes a structural frame 11”; Chernoff Paragraph 42: “a body attachment interface is defined as the sum of all body connection components, i.e., connective elements that function to operably mate a vehicle body to the chassis”] comprising: an electric chassis [Chernoff Paragraph 11: A self-contained chassis has substantially all of the mechanical, electrical, and structural componentry necessary for a fully functional vehicle, including at least a structural frame, an energy conversion system, …”], the electric chassis holding at least one battery and at least one motor to power the vehicle [Chernoff Paragraph 79: “the energy conversion system includes an electric battery (not shown)”; Chernoff Paragraph 78: the energy conversion system includes a fuel cell stack located in the rear axle area 18, and an electric traction motor 127 located in the front axle area 16”], the electric chassis having a planar upper surface [Annotated Chernoff Fig. 5, below]; at least one repositionable module [Annotated Chernoff Fig. 5, below; Chernoff Paragraph 6: “FIG. 5 is a schematic illustration of a vehicle body pod and rolling platform attachment scenario, wherein body pods of differing configurations are each attachable to identical rolling platforms”; Chernoff Paragraph 52: “Referring to FIG. 5, the body-attachment interface enables compatibility between the chassis 10 and different types of bodies 85, 85', 85'' having substantially different designs.”]; and the upper surface having at least one connection pad [Annotated Chernoff Fig. 1, below; Chernoff Paragraph 43: “Paragraph 43: Load-bearing surfaces without locking or fastening features on the chassis may be used with the load-bearing body-retention couplings to support the weight of an attached vehicle body 85.”], the at least one repositionable module configured to connect directly to the connection pad of the electric chassis to facilitate an electric, physical, and/or communication connection [Chernoff Annotated Fig. 5, below; Chernoff Paragraph 42: “The body connection components of the preferred embodiment include a plurality of load-bearing body-retention couplings 89 mounted with respect to the structural frame and a single electrical connector 91.”; Chernoff Paragraph 44: The electrical connector 91 is engageable with a complementary electrical connector 95 on a vehicle body 85. The electrical connector 91 of the preferred embodiment may perform multiple functions, or select combinations thereof. First, the electrical connector 91 may function as an electrical power connector, i.e., it may be configured to transfer electrical energy generated by components on the chassis 10 to a vehicle body 85 or other non-chassis destination…Fifth, the electrical connector may function as an information conduit through which sensor information and other information is made available to a vehicle driver. The electrical connector 91 may thus function as a communications and power "umbilical" port through which all communications between the chassis 10 and an attached vehicle body 85 are transmitted.”].
Annotated Chernoff Fig. 1
Annotated Chernoff Fig. 5
Regarding Claim 2, Chernoff teaches the modular vehicle of claim 1 wherein the electric chassis includes a frame, the planar upper surface connected to the frame [Annotated Chernoff Fig. 1, above; Chernoff Paragraph 96: “[the figure] shows a chassis with rigid covering, or "skin," and an electrical connector or coupling 91 that functions as an umbilical port.”; Chernoff Paragraph 12: “The structural frame includes a plurality of rigid elongated members operably interconnected by a plurality of connectors to at least partially define the structural frame.”].
Regarding Claim 3, Chernoff teaches the modular vehicle of claim 1 wherein the connection pad includes electric connections connecting the electric chassis to the at least one repositionable module [Annotated Chernoff Figs. 1 and 5, above; Chernoff Paragraph 44: “The electrical connector 91 is engageable with a complementary electrical connector 95 on a vehicle body 85. The electrical connector 91 of the preferred embodiment may perform multiple functions, or select combinations thereof. First, the electrical connector 91 may function as an electrical power connector, i.e., it may be configured to transfer electrical energy generated by components on the chassis 10 to a vehicle body 85 or other non-chassis destination”].
Regarding Claim 4, Chernoff teaches the modular vehicle of claim 1 wherein the connection pad includes communications connections connecting the electric chassis to the at least one repositionable module [Annotated Chernoff Figs. 1 and 5, above; Chernoff Paragraph 44: The electrical connector 91 is engageable with a complementary electrical connector 95 on a vehicle body 85. The electrical connector 91 of the preferred embodiment may perform multiple functions, or select combinations thereof…Second, the electrical connector 91 may function as a control signal receiver, i.e., a device configured to transfer non-mechanical control signals from a non-chassis source to controlled systems including the energy conversion system, steering system, and braking system. Third, the electrical connector 91 may function as a feedback signal conduit through which feedback signals are made available to a vehicle driver. Fourth, the electrical connector 91 may function as an external programming interface through which software containing algorithms and data may be transmitted for use by controlled systems. Fifth, the electrical connector may function as an information conduit through which sensor information and other information is made available to a vehicle driver. The electrical connector 91 may thus function as a communications and power "umbilical" port through which all communications between the chassis 10 and an attached vehicle body 85 are transmitted.”].
Regarding Claim 5, Chernoff teaches the modular vehicle of claim 1 wherein the connection pad includes physical connections connecting the electric chassis to the at least one repositionable module [Chernoff Paragraph 42: “The body connection components of the preferred embodiment include a plurality of load-bearing body-retention couplings 89 mounted with respect to the structural frame 11”; Chernoff Paragraph 43: “the load-bearing body-retention couplings 89 are engageable with complementary attachment couplings 93 on a vehicle body 85 and function to physically fasten the vehicle body 85 to the chassis 10.”; Chernoff Paragraph 52: “the body-attachment interface 87, are each matable with the chassis 10 by positioning the body 85, 85', 85'' relative to the chassis 10 such that each complementary attachment coupling 93 is adjacent to a load-bearing body-retention coupling 89, and the complementary electrical connector 95 is adjacent to the electrical connector 91.”].
Regarding Claim 6, Chernoff teaches the modular vehicle of claim 5 wherein the physical connection is a lock [Chernoff Paragraph 43: “…the load-bearing body-retention couplings 89 are engageable with complementary attachment couplings 93 on a vehicle body 85 and function to physically fasten the vehicle body 85 to the chassis 10…Ancillary fastening elements may be used as lock downs in conjunction with the load-bearing body-retention couplings.”].
Regarding Claim 7, Chernoff teaches the modular vehicle of claim 1 wherein the at least one connection pad is a plurality of connection pads [Annotated Chernoff Figs. 1 and 5, above].
Regarding Claim 8, Chernoff teaches the modular vehicle of claim 1 wherein the at least one modular is a plurality of modules [Annotated Chernoff Fig. 5, below].
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chernoff et al. (US 7303033 B2) (hereinafter “Chernoff”). [Note that prior art citations below are italicized and enclosed in brackets.]
Regarding Claim 9, Chernoff teaches a method of configuring a modular vehicle, the modular vehicle having an electric chassis [Chernoff Abstract: “A method for assembling vehicular structural frames employing elongated members and connectors interconnecting the elongated members increases flexibility in assembling chassis frames and body frames.”; Chernoff Paragraph 11: A self-contained chassis has substantially all of the mechanical, electrical, and structural componentry necessary for a fully functional vehicle, including at least a structural frame, an energy conversion system, …”], the electric chassis holding at least one battery and at least one motor to power the vehicle [Chernoff Paragraph 79: “the energy conversion system includes an electric battery (not shown)”; Chernoff Paragraph 78: the energy conversion system includes a fuel cell stack located in the rear axle area 18, and an electric traction motor 127 located in the front axle area 16”], the electric chassis having a planar upper surface [Annotated Chernoff Fig. 5, below]; at least one repositionable module [Annotated Chernoff Fig. 5, below; Chernoff Paragraph 6: “FIG. 5 is a schematic illustration of a vehicle body pod and rolling platform attachment scenario, wherein body pods of differing configurations are each attachable to identical rolling platforms”; Chernoff Paragraph 52: “Referring to FIG. 5, the body-attachment interface enables compatibility between the chassis 10 and different types of bodies 85, 85', 85'' having substantially different designs.”]; and the upper surface having at least one connection pad [Annotated Chernoff Fig. 1, below; Chernoff Paragraph 43: “Paragraph 43: Load-bearing surfaces without locking or fastening features on the chassis may be used with the load-bearing body-retention couplings to support the weight of an attached vehicle body 85.”], the at least one repositionable module configured to connect directly to the connection pad of the electric chassis to facilitate an electric, physical, and/or communication connection, the method comprising the steps of: connecting the at least one module to the connection pad of the upper planar surface [Chernoff Annotated Fig. 5, below; Chernoff Paragraph 42: “The body connection components of the preferred embodiment include a plurality of load-bearing body-retention couplings 89 mounted with respect to the structural frame and a single electrical connector 91.”; Chernoff Paragraph 44: The electrical connector 91 is engageable with a complementary electrical connector 95 on a vehicle body 85. The electrical connector 91 of the preferred embodiment may perform multiple functions, or select combinations thereof. First, the electrical connector 91 may function as an electrical power connector, i.e., it may be configured to transfer electrical energy generated by components on the chassis 10 to a vehicle body 85 or other non-chassis destination…Fifth, the electrical connector may function as an information conduit through which sensor information and other information is made available to a vehicle driver. The electrical connector 91 may thus function as a communications and power "umbilical" port through which all communications between the chassis 10 and an attached vehicle body 85 are transmitted.”].
Regarding Claim 10, Chernoff teaches the method of configuring a modular vehicle of claim 9 further comprising the step of repositioning the at least one module on the upper planar surface of the electric chassis [Chernoff Abstract: “replacing elongated members of the first design with differently-dimensioned elongated members, or by changing the quantity of elongated members, to result in a second structural frame configuration different from the first structural frame configuration.”].
Regarding Claim 11, Chernoff teaches the method of configuring a modular vehicle of claim 9 further comprising the step of electrically connecting the at least one module to the connection pad of the upper planar surface [Annotated Chernoff Figs. 1 and 5, above; Chernoff Paragraph 44: “The electrical connector 91 is engageable with a complementary electrical connector 95 on a vehicle body 85. The electrical connector 91 of the preferred embodiment may perform multiple functions, or select combinations thereof. First, the electrical connector 91 may function as an electrical power connector, i.e., it may be configured to transfer electrical energy generated by components on the chassis 10 to a vehicle body 85 or other non-chassis destination”].
Regarding Claim 12, Chernoff teaches the method of configuring a modular vehicle of claim 9 further comprising the step of connecting communications the at least one module to the connection pad of the upper planar surface [Annotated Chernoff Figs. 1 and 5, above; Chernoff Paragraph 44: the electrical connector 91 may function as a control signal receiver, i.e., a device configured to transfer non-mechanical control signals from a non-chassis source to controlled systems including the energy conversion system, steering system, and braking system. Third, the electrical connector 91 may function as a feedback signal conduit through which feedback signals are made available to a vehicle driver. Fourth, the electrical connector 91 may function as an external programming interface through which software containing algorithms and data may be transmitted for use by controlled systems. Fifth, the electrical connector may function as an information conduit through which sensor information and other information is made available to a vehicle driver. The electrical connector 91 may thus function as a communications and power "umbilical" port through which all communications between the chassis 10 and an attached vehicle body 85 are transmitted.”].
Regarding Claim 13, Chernoff teaches the method of configuring a modular vehicle of claim 9 further comprising the step of physically connecting the at least one module to the connection pad of the upper planar surface [Chernoff Paragraph 42: “The body connection components of the preferred embodiment include a plurality of load-bearing body-retention couplings 89 mounted with respect to the structural frame 11”; Chernoff Paragraph 43: “the load-bearing body-retention couplings 89 are engageable with complementary attachment couplings 93 on a vehicle body 85 and function to physically fasten the vehicle body 85 to the chassis 10.”; Chernoff Paragraph 52: “the body-attachment interface 87, are each matable with the chassis 10 by positioning the body 85, 85', 85'' relative to the chassis 10 such that each complementary attachment coupling 93 is adjacent to a load-bearing body-retention coupling 89, and the complementary electrical connector 95 is adjacent to the electrical connector 91.”].
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chernoff et al. (US 7303033 B2) (hereinafter “Chernoff”). [Note that prior art citations below are italicized and enclosed in brackets.]
Regarding Claim 14, Chernoff teaches a modular vehicle [Chernoff Annotated Figs. 1 and 5, above; Chernoff Paragraph 2: “This invention relates to vehicle chassis and bodies”; Chernoff Paragraph 39: “Referring to FIG. 1, a vehicle chassis 10, also referred to as the "rolling platform," includes a structural frame 11”; Chernoff Paragraph 42: “a body attachment interface is defined as the sum of all body connection components, i.e., connective elements that function to operably mate a vehicle body to the chassis”] comprising: a powered chassis [Chernoff Paragraph 11: A self-contained chassis has substantially all of the mechanical, electrical, and structural componentry necessary for a fully functional vehicle, including at least a structural frame, an energy conversion system, …”], the powered chassis holding at least one motor to power the vehicle [Chernoff Paragraph 78: the energy conversion system includes a fuel cell stack located in the rear axle area 18, and an electric traction motor 127 located in the front axle area 16”], the powered chassis having a planar upper surface [Annotated Chernoff Fig. 5, above]; at least one repositionable module [Annotated Chernoff Fig. 5, above; Chernoff Paragraph 6: “FIG. 5 is a schematic illustration of a vehicle body pod and rolling platform attachment scenario, wherein body pods of differing configurations are each attachable to identical rolling platforms”; Chernoff Paragraph 52: “Referring to FIG. 5, the body-attachment interface enables compatibility between the chassis 10 and different types of bodies 85, 85', 85'' having substantially different designs.”]; and the upper surface having at least one connection pad [Annotated Chernoff Fig. 1, below; Chernoff Paragraph 43: “Paragraph 43: Load-bearing surfaces without locking or fastening features on the chassis may be used with the load-bearing body-retention couplings to support the weight of an attached vehicle body 85.”], the at least one repositionable module configured to connect directly to the connection pad of the powered chassis to facilitate an electric, physical, and/or communication connection [Chernoff Annotated Fig. 5, below; Chernoff Paragraph 42: “The body connection components of the preferred embodiment include a plurality of load-bearing body-retention couplings 89 mounted with respect to the structural frame and a single electrical connector 91.”; Chernoff Paragraph 44: The electrical connector 91 is engageable with a complementary electrical connector 95 on a vehicle body 85. The electrical connector 91 of the preferred embodiment may perform multiple functions, or select combinations thereof. First, the electrical connector 91 may function as an electrical power connector, i.e., it may be configured to transfer electrical energy generated by components on the chassis 10 to a vehicle body 85 or other non-chassis destination…Fifth, the electrical connector may function as an information conduit through which sensor information and other information is made available to a vehicle driver. The electrical connector 91 may thus function as a communications and power "umbilical" port through which all communications between the chassis 10 and an attached vehicle body 85 are transmitted.”].
Regarding Claim 15, Chernoff teaches the modular vehicle of claim 1 wherein the electric chassis includes a frame, the planar upper surface connected to the frame [Annotated Chernoff Fig. 1, above; Chernoff Paragraph 96: “[the figure] shows a chassis with rigid covering, or "skin," and an electrical connector or coupling 91 that functions as an umbilical port.”; Chernoff Paragraph 12: “The structural frame includes a plurality of rigid elongated members operably interconnected by a plurality of connectors to at least partially define the structural frame.”].
Regarding Claim 16, Chernoff teaches the modular vehicle of claim 1 wherein the connection pad includes electric connections connecting the electric chassis to the at least one repositionable module [Annotated Chernoff Figs. 1 and 5, above; Chernoff Paragraph 44: “The electrical connector 91 is engageable with a complementary electrical connector 95 on a vehicle body 85. The electrical connector 91 of the preferred embodiment may perform multiple functions, or select combinations thereof. First, the electrical connector 91 may function as an electrical power connector, i.e., it may be configured to transfer electrical energy generated by components on the chassis 10 to a vehicle body 85 or other non-chassis destination”].
Regarding Claim 17, Chernoff teaches the modular vehicle of claim 1 wherein the connection pad includes communications connections connecting the electric chassis to the at least one repositionable module [Annotated Chernoff Figs. 1 and 5, above; Chernoff Paragraph 44: The electrical connector 91 is engageable with a complementary electrical connector 95 on a vehicle body 85. The electrical connector 91 of the preferred embodiment may perform multiple functions, or select combinations thereof…Second, the electrical connector 91 may function as a control signal receiver, i.e., a device configured to transfer non-mechanical control signals from a non-chassis source to controlled systems including the energy conversion system, steering system, and braking system. Third, the electrical connector 91 may function as a feedback signal conduit through which feedback signals are made available to a vehicle driver. Fourth, the electrical connector 91 may function as an external programming interface through which software containing algorithms and data may be transmitted for use by controlled systems. Fifth, the electrical connector may function as an information conduit through which sensor information and other information is made available to a vehicle driver. The electrical connector 91 may thus function as a communications and power "umbilical" port through which all communications between the chassis 10 and an attached vehicle body 85 are transmitted.”].
Regarding Claim 18, Chernoff teaches the modular vehicle of claim 1 wherein the connection pad includes physical connections connecting the electric chassis to the at least one repositionable module [Chernoff Paragraph 42: “The body connection components of the preferred embodiment include a plurality of load-bearing body-retention couplings 89 mounted with respect to the structural frame 11”; Chernoff Paragraph 43: “the load-bearing body-retention couplings 89 are engageable with complementary attachment couplings 93 on a vehicle body 85 and function to physically fasten the vehicle body 85 to the chassis 10.”; Chernoff Paragraph 52: “the body-attachment interface 87, are each matable with the chassis 10 by positioning the body 85, 85', 85'' relative to the chassis 10 such that each complementary attachment coupling 93 is adjacent to a load-bearing body-retention coupling 89, and the complementary electrical connector 95 is adjacent to the electrical connector 91.”].
Regarding Claim 19, Chernoff teaches the modular vehicle of claim 5 wherein the physical connection is a lock [Chernoff Paragraph 43: “…the load-bearing body-retention couplings 89 are engageable with complementary attachment couplings 93 on a vehicle body 85 and function to physically fasten the vehicle body 85 to the chassis 10…Ancillary fastening elements may be used as lock downs in conjunction with the load-bearing body-retention couplings.”].
Regarding Claim 20, Chernoff teaches the modular vehicle of claim 1 wherein the at least one connection pad is a plurality of connection pads [Annotated Chernoff Figs. 1 and 5, above].
Conclusion
/MICHAEL T. WALSH/Examiner, Art Unit 3613