DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
2. The preliminary amendment to the claims filed on 1/30/2025 is accepted and examined below.
Claim Status
3. Claim 1 is canceled.
4. Claims 2-21 are new.
5. Claims 2-21 are pending in the present application.
Double Patenting
7. Claims 14-18 and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, and 18-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,182,948 (patent 948). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are broader.
8. The following table shows correspondence between the claims of present application and claims of patent 948.
Claims of present application
14
15
16
17
18
21
Claims of patent 948
1
2
1
4
5
7
14
18
21
18
20
19
9. The following table shows correspondence between the limitations of claim 14 of present application and claim 1 of patent 948.
Claim 14 of present application
Clam 1 of patent 948
14. A method for projecting one or more images onto a surface, comprising:
1. A system for projecting an image onto a surface, comprising:
a projector module, the projector module having a matrix of lighting devices, wherein the projector module comprises at least a microLED matrix;
a processor; and
a memory having instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the system to:
receiving one or more image parameters;
receiving sensor information from one or more sensors;
one or more sensors, the one or more sensors to obtain at least one or more image parameters associated with the image;
receive one or more image parameters from the one or more sensors;
determining one or more image projection properties based, at least in part, on the one or more image parameters and the sensor information; and
causing a projection module to project the one or more images onto the surface based, at least in part, on the one or more image projection properties.
determine one or more image projection properties based, at least in part, on the one or more image parameters, the one or more image projection properties adjusting features of the projector module to display the image according to a selected output format; and
cause the image to be projected, by the projector module, in accordance with the one or more image projection properties.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 2-3, 8-9, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinya Hoshino (US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0154819 A1) in view of Bernard DeMersseman (US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0175491 A1) and further in view of Osterman et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0166221 A1).
13. Regarding Claim 2 (New), Hoshino discloses A system for projecting an image onto a surface, (Abstract reciting “A vehicle lighting apparatus that emits light diagonally toward a road surface from a vehicle includes: …”) comprising: a projector module; (paragraph [0032] reciting “The vehicle lighting apparatus
10 of the present embodiment is an apparatus that emits light, which has an image, diagonally toward a road surface from a vehicle.” Vehicle lighting apparatus 10 corresponds to a projector module.) a vehicle controller; (paragraph [0033] reciting “As shown in FIG. 1, the vehicle lighting apparatus 10 includes a projection module 11 that illuminates a frontward direction of a vehicle, a control device 13 that controls the projection module 11, and an imaging device 15 that detects frontward circumstances and that transmits the frontward circumstances to the control device 13.” Control device 13 corresponds to a vehicle controller.)
an input device configured to allow a user to provide one or more commands to the vehicle controller, (paragraph [0057] reciting “The control part 51 controls the image by the slant mode of each mirror element of the image generation part 31 via the drive part 54 and controls a switch mode in which any of the reflection parts 45 of the reflection device 44 is arranged at the light-receiving position based on a detection condition of the object detection part 52 or an input operation of a driver and the like.” Input operation of the driver correspond to a user providing one more commands to the vehicle controller (via control part 51 located in control device 13).)
wherein the one or more commands are transmitted or executed by the processor thereby directing the projector module to project the image onto the surface; (paragraph [0033] reciting “As shown in FIG. 1, the vehicle lighting apparatus 10 includes a projection module 11 that illuminates a frontward direction of a vehicle, a control device 13 that controls the projection module 11, and an imaging device 15 that detects frontward circumstances and that transmits the frontward circumstances to the control device 13.“ Element 15 and 52 appear to be same element and 52 receives input operation (commands) from driver and the information is sent to control device 13 which controls projection module that illuminates frontward direction of a vehicle.)
and one or more sensors, the one or more sensors to obtain sensor information associated with the image. (paragraph [0058] reciting “In such a vehicle lighting apparatus 10, as shown in part (a) and part (b) of FIG. 4, when the presence of a pedestrian 56 at a road shoulder in the vicinity of the frontward position of the vehicle is detected by the imaging device 15, the short-distance reflection part 45X is switched to and arranged at the light-receiving position in the reflection device 44. In the image generation part 31, a transversely directed image that is adapted for the pedestrian
56 at the road shoulder is generated, and light from the light source 21 is emitted from the light-focusing optical system 42. Thereby, it is possible to display an image having an appropriate direction when seen from the pedestrian 56, on the road surface 57.” Image device 15 also serves as a sensor (detector) or pedestrians or oncoming vehicles, etc. This information is associated with the image since it will influence how the image is displayed.)
While Hoshino does not explicitly disclose, DeMersseman discloses a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) receiver; (paragraph [0052] reciting “… The SAW filter 218 may be configured to couple a GPS (global positioning system) or GNSS (global navigation satellite system) antenna (e.g., antenna 108) to a low noise amplifier (LNA) input of the processor 202. The modem 220 may be connected to a universal …”) a processor; (paragraph [0051] reciting “… In an example, the electronic circuitry may comprise a processing (or control) circuit 200. In various embodiments, the control circuit 200 comprises a processor 202 and rain light sensor module 204. In an example, the rain light sensor module 204 communicates with the processor 202 via a serial …”)
a cellular modem; (paragraph [0068] reciting “… The processor 602 may be connected to a number of blocks (or circuits) 614-626. In an example, the block
614 may represent a vehicle CAN (controller are network) bus, a block 616 may implement a removable memory slot (e.g., SD, MMC, etc.), a block 618 implements a flash memory, a block 620 may implement a random access memory (RAM), a block 622 may implement a surface acoustic wave (SAW) filter, a block 624 implementing a radio communication (e.g., cellular, GSM, UMTS, LTE, WiFi, IEEE 802.11n, etc.) modem, and the block 626 may implement a clock crystal.”)
by the processor (paragraph [0051] reciting “… In an example, the electronic circuitry may comprise a processing (or control) circuit 200. In various embodiments, the control circuit 200 comprises a processor 202 and rain light sensor module 204. In an example, the rain light sensor module 204 communicates with the processor 202 via a serial …”)
It would have been obvious to a person or ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Hoshino with DeMersseman so that the vehicle is equipment with a processor, GNSS, and cellular model. These are obviously beneficial devices to incorporate into the vehicle as they help with vehicle positioning, functioning, and navigation.
While the combination of Hoshino and DeMersseman does not explicitly disclose, Osterman discloses an input device configured to (paragraph [0056] reciting “
In certain embodiments, the vehicle controller 70 may be configured to deactivate or turn off the projectors 164 to cease display of the virtual reward 134 or virtual obstacle 136 after a predetermined time and/or in response to feedback from the user input device 34 (e.g., the reward button 156 or the obstacle button 158). …” Therefore, a projector is configured to be controlled by a input device with respect to being activated/deactivated or with regards to the type of content being projected, etc.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Hoshino and DeMersseman with Osterman so that the projection module 11 inside the vehicle lighting apparatus 10 can be controlled to display content or to be deactivated. This is an obviously beneficial modification since the user should have access control the projection module 11.
14. Regarding Claim 3 (New), DeMersseman further discloses The system of claim 2, wherein the GNSS receiver provides location information to the processor. (paragraph [0052] reciting “The processor 202 may be connected to a number of blocks (or circuits) 210-222. … The SAW filter 218 may be configured to couple a GPS (global positioning system) or GNSS (global navigation satellite system) antenna (e.g., antenna 108) to a low noise amplifier (LNA) input of the processor 202. …” Therefore, processor 202 is connected to GNSS through filter 218 and receives information from GNSS through filter 218.)
15. Regarding Claim 8 (New), Hoshino further discloses The system of claim 2, further comprising: one or more optics for focusing the image onto the surface. (Abstract reciting “A vehicle lighting apparatus that emits light diagonally toward a road surface from a vehicle includes: a light source; an image generation part that modulates light emitted from the light source and that generates an image; a light-focusing optical system that focuses light having the image generated by the image generation part; and a reflection part that reflects light focused by the light-focusing optical system toward the road surface, wherein the reflection part has a reflection surface having a curvature that is gradually increased from a projection direction rearward side toward a projection direction frontward side.”)
16. Regarding Claim 9 (New), Hoshino further discloses The system of claim 8, wherein the one or more optics are movable via a command from the processor based on the sensor information. (see FIG. 6; paragraph [0062] reciting “As shown in part (a) and part (b) of FIG. 6, when the presence of an oncoming vehicle 58 is detected by the
imaging device 15, the long-distance reflection part 45Z is switched to and arranged at the light-receiving position in the reflection device 44. In the image generation part 31, an inversely directed image that is adapted for the driver of the oncoming vehicle 58 is generated, and light from the light source 21 is emitted from the light-focusing optical system 42. Thereby, it is possible to display an image having an appropriate direction when seen from the driver of the oncoming vehicle 58, on the road surface 57.”
The reflection device 44 has movable optics so that the projection image is projected onto the side lane.)
17. Regarding Claim 11 (New), Osterman further discloses The system of claim 2, further comprising: a housing, wherein the projector module and the input device are integrated into the housing. (paragraph [0023] reciting “In the illustrated embodiment, the at least one user input device 34 includes a steering wheel 36, a gas pedal 38, a brake pedal 40, one or more buttons 42, and a joystick 44 (e.g., to move sideways and/or diagonally or to control movement in all directions), a touch-screen display (not shown). …”
Joysticks, buttons, and touchscreen, etc. are all integrated into the vehicle or same housing with the projector.)
18. Regarding Claim 12 (New), Osterman further discloses The system of claim 2, wherein the input device is a wireless device remote from the projector module. (paragraph [0026] reciting “In addition, the system controller 72 may be configured to communicate over wired or wireless communication paths with the multi-passenger ride vehicles 12 and any other components of the interactive ride system 12. …” Thus, the user input device 34 can be wireless as well. It would have obvious to have components wireless connected to the vehicle as they facilitate usage.)
19. Regarding Claim 13 (New), Hoshino further discloses The system of claim 2, wherein the vehicle controller comprises one or more predetermined configurations selectable by the user. (paragraph [0057] reciting “The control part 51 controls the image by the slant mode of each mirror element of the image generation part 31 via the drive part 54 and controls a switch mode in which any of the reflection parts 45 of the reflection device 44 is arranged at the light-receiving position based on a detection condition of the object detection part 52 or an input operation of a driver and the like.” Slant or non-slant of the mirrors within the light module can be controlled by control part 51 via user input.)
20. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshino in view of DeMersseman in view of Osterman and further in view of Hajime Oyama (US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0039673 A1).
21. Regarding Claim 4 (New), while the combination of Hoshino, DeMersseman, and Osterman does not explicitly disclose, Oyama discloses The system of claim 3, wherein the processor is configured to receive mapping data comprising traffic information. (paragraph [0025] reciting “… The own vehicle traveling information acquisition unit 40 recognizes an external environment surrounding the own vehicle from detection information of objects around the own vehicle detected using a camera or a radar or the like, traffic information acquired by infrastructure communication such as road-vehicle communication or vehicle-to-vehicle communication, position information of the own vehicle measured by receiving signals from a GNSS satellite and the like, and acquires various kinds of control information on vehicle control via an in-vehicle network.”;
paragraph [0065] reciting “In addition to the above-described computer, the traveling control system 10 illustrated in FIG. 1 can be implemented by circuitry including at least one semiconductor integrated circuit such as at least one processor (e.g., a central processing unit (CPU)), at least one application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), and/or at least one field programmable gate array (FPGA). At least one processor can be configured, by reading instructions from at least one machine readable tangible medium, to perform all or a part of functions of the path plan setter 21, the cloud information acquisition unit 30, the own vehicle traveling information acquisition unit 40, …” Processor receives traffic information from acquisition unit 40.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Hoshino, DeMersseman, and Osterman with Oyama so traffic information can be obtained and beneficially displayed for the driver to comprehend his surroundings.
22. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshino in view of DeMersseman in view of Osterman and further in view of Matthew MacGregor Roy (US Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0182073 A1).
23. Regarding Claim 5 (New), while the combination of Hoshino, DeMersseman, and Osterman does not explicitly disclose, Roy further discloses The system of claim 3, wherein the location information is incorporated into the image from the projector module. (paragraph [0102] reciting “In the embodiment depicted in FIG. 36, the
autonomous vehicle 10 comprises a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) 164 to determine a current location of the autonomous vehicle 10 to enable the processor to determine a local language based on the current location. In the embodiment of FIG.
36, the AV 10 further includes a translator 165 (e.g. a computerized translation module) to translate the speech in a user language into a translated message 167 in the local language for projecting in the local language to the pedestrian or cyclist. For example, if the rider or driver of the AV speaks aloud “Please go ahead” in English, the AV will detect that it is traveling in Mexico using the GNSS 164 and will translate the English words into Spanish, i.e. the local language, and will project the words as the translated message (“Por favor adelante”) onto the road surface.” If the text can be projected based on GNSS information, then GNSS information can obviously be project onto surface floor as well.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Hoshino, DeMersseman, and Osterman with Roy so traffic information such as GNSS location can be projected onto the road surface to better allow the driver or pedestrians to view it. This is beneficial as it shows viewer where the location of the car is.
24. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshino in view of DeMersseman in view of Osterman and further in view of Kato et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0202465 A1).
25. Regarding Claim 6 (New), while the combination of Hoshino, DeMersseman, and Osterman does not explicitly disclose, Kato discloses The system of claim 2, wherein the one or more sensors include at least one camera, LIDAR sensor, or range finder. (paragraph [0048] reciting “… The information associated with the distance and/or direction to a nearby object detected by the LIDAR 21 is an example of the “information associated with surroundings of the moving body” according to the present invention.”)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Hoshino, DeMersseman, and Osterman with Kato so that Hoshino can be modified to use LIDAR 21 to detect pedestrians or oncoming nearby vehicles.
26. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshino in view of DeMersseman in view of Osterman and further in view of Chen et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0352423 A1).
27. Regarding Claim 7 (New), while the combination of Hoshino, DeMersseman, and Osterman does not explicitly disclose, Chen discloses The system of claim 2, wherein the projector module comprises at least a microLED matrix. (paragraph [0106] reciting “Active-matrix micro-LED micro display according to example embodiments can be applied in Augmented Reality (AR)/Mixed Reality(MR) and Heads-up display (HUD), and can also be used in video projector, 3D printing, mask-less lithography applications.”)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Hoshino, DeMersseman, and Osterman with Chen so that the projector module in Hoshino is made of matrix micro-LED display. This is an obviously beneficial modification as matrix micro-LED displays project detail clearly imageries.
28. Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshino in view of DeMersseman in view of Osterman and further in view of Yamaguchi et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0018087 A1).
29. Regarding Claim 10 (New), while the combination of Hoshino, DeMersseman, and Osterman does not explicitly disclose, Yamaguchi discloses The system of claim 2, wherein the sensor information comprises distance information of a distance between the projector module and a roadway. (paragraph [0061] reciting “It should be noted that in the embodiment, the distance and orientation angle of the camera 12 relative to the road surface 31 are calculated as an example of the distance and orientation angle of the vehicle 10 relative to the road surface 31 since the position of installation of the camera 12 in the vehicle 10 and the angle for the camera 12 to capture images are already known. In other words, the distance between the road surface 31 and the vehicle 10, as well as the orientation angle of the vehicle 10 relative to the road surface 31 can be obtained by calculating the distance and orientation angle of the camera 12 relative to the road surface 31.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Hoshino, DeMersseman, and Osterman with Yamaguchi so that distance between projector and road surface can be calculated. This allows the projector more information to determine the size of projected image.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
31. Claims 14-15 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hoshino.
32. Regarding Claim 14 (New), Hoshino discloses A method for projecting one or more images onto a surface, comprising: (Abstract reciting “A vehicle lighting apparatus that emits light diagonally toward a road surface from a vehicle includes: a light source; an image generation part that modulates light emitted from the light source and that generates an image; …” The method involves using vehicle lighting apparatus to project images onto the road surface.)
receiving one or more image parameters; (paragraph [0052] reciting “As shown in FIG. 3, the reflection device 44 of the present embodiment has a short-distance reflection part 45X, a middle-distance reflection part 45Y, and a long-distance reflection part 45Z. The reflection surface 45 a of each of the reflection parts 45X, 45Y, and 45Z is set so as to reflect light toward each of regions on the road surface 57
having a different distance from one another. …” Short, middle, and long distance reflections are multiple parameters of the image for distance of the projection.)
receiving sensor information from one or more sensors; (paragraph [0058] reciting “In such a vehicle lighting apparatus 10, as shown in part (a) and part (b) of FIG. 4, when the presence of a pedestrian 56 at a road shoulder in the vicinity of the frontward position of the vehicle is detected by the imaging device 15, the short-distance reflection part 45X is switched to and arranged at the light-receiving position in the reflection device 44. In the image generation part 31, a transversely directed image that is adapted for the pedestrian 56 at the road shoulder is generated, and light from the light source 21 is emitted from the light-focusing optical system 42. Thereby, it is possible to display an image having an appropriate direction when seen from the pedestrian 56, on the road surface 57.” Image device 15 also serves as a sensor (detector) or pedestrians or oncoming vehicles, etc. This information is associated with the image since it will influence how the image is displayed.)
determining one or more image projection properties (see FIGS. 4-6 wherein the distance of projection and the inversion of the displayed characters together corresponds to one or more image projection properties) based, at least in part, on the one or more image parameters (paragraph [0052] reciting “As shown in FIG. 3, the reflection device 44 of the present embodiment has a short-distance reflection part 45X, a middle-distance reflection part 45Y, and a long-distance reflection part 45Z. The reflection surface 45 a of each of the reflection parts 45X, 45Y, and 45Z is set so as to reflect light toward each of regions on the road surface 57
having a different distance from one another. …” Short, middle, and long distance reflections are multiple parameters of the image for distance of the projection.) and the sensor information; (paragraph [0063] reciting “For example, when notifying a far oncoming vehicle 58 of a pedestrian 56 who is crossing the road and the like, it is possible to display an image in a state where characters are inverted such that the display is appropriate when seen from the oncoming vehicle 58.” Sensor information can be sending pedestrian or oncoming cars which causes the projection to be inverted or not inverted.) and causing a projection module to project the one or more images onto the surface (see FIG. 1 wherein object 10 is a projection module that projects the actual image onto a road surface wherein the properties of the projected image includes distance of projection in addition to invertedness.) based, at least in part, on the one or more image projection properties. (see FIGS. 4-6 wherein the distance of projection and the inversion of the displayed characters together corresponds to one or more image projection properties)
33. Regarding Claim 15 (New), Hoshino further discloses The method of claim 14, wherein the one or more image parameters comprise a type of the one or more images, a message associated with the one or more images, a color of the one or more images, or a position of the one or more images. (paragraph [0052] reciting “As shown in FIG. 3, the reflection device 44 of the present embodiment has a short-distance reflection part 45X, a middle-distance reflection part 45Y, and a long-distance reflection part 45Z. The reflection surface 45 a of each of the reflection parts 45X, 45Y, and 45Z is set so as to reflect light toward each of regions on the road surface 57
having a different distance from one another. …” Short, middle, and long distance reflections are multiple parameters of the image for distance of the projection.)
34. Regarding Claim 18 (New), Hoshino further discloses The method of claim 14, wherein the one or more projection properties adjust one of more of a size of the one or more images, a position of the one or more images, (see FIGS. 4-6 wherein the position of the image is adjusted along with the proper inversion..) and a curvature of one or more images.
35. Regarding Claim 19 (New), Hoshino further discloses The method of claim 14, wherein the one or more projection properties further comprises known properties intrinsic to the projector. (paragraph [0045] reciting “The reflection device 44 has a plurality of (three in the present embodiment) reflection parts 45 and a switch part 46. The reflection part 45 reflects light focused by the light-focusing optical system 42 toward a road surface 57. The switch part 46 has a shaft part 46 a and a drive part 46 b that drives the shaft part 46 a to be rotated around the shaft.” Reflected parts and switch part are intrinsic properties of the projector.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
38. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshino in in view of Chen.
39. Regarding Claim 16 (New), while Hoshino does not explicitly disclose, Chen discloses The method of claim 14, wherein the projector module comprises at least a microLED matrix. (paragraph [0106] reciting “Active-matrix micro-LED micro display according to example embodiments can be applied in Augmented Reality (AR)/Mixed Reality(MR) and Heads-up display (HUD), and can also be used in video projector, 3D printing, mask-less lithography applications.”)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hoshino with Chen so that the projector module in Hoshino is made of matrix micro-LED display. This is an obviously beneficial modification as matrix micro-LED displays project detail clearly imageries.
40. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshino in view of Kato.
41. Regarding Claim 17 (New), while Hoshino does not explicitly disclose, Kato discloses The method of claim 14, wherein the one or more sensors include at least one camera, LIDAR sensor, or range finder. (paragraph [0048] reciting “… The information associated with the distance and/or direction to a nearby object detected by the LIDAR 21 is an example of the “information associated with surroundings of the moving body” according to the present invention.”)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hoshino with Kato so that Hoshino can be modified to use LIDAR 21 to detect pedestrians or oncoming nearby vehicles.
42. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshino in view of Shah et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0088257 A1).
43. Regarding Claim 20 (New), while Hoshino does not explicitly disclose, Shah discloses The method of claim 14, further comprising: adjusting the one or more images based on ambient lighting level. (paragraph [0073] reciting “Furthermore, as discussed above, computing device 402 may compensate for artifacts of projection before projecting image 416, such as an angle or distance that may result in a non-regular or otherwise distorted image on surface 404. For instance, without compensation, image 416 projected onto surface 404 may appear as a trapezoidal shape, while with compensation applied by computing device 402, image 416 projected onto surface 404 may appear as a rectangle. Futhermore, compensating for artifacts of projection may include adjusting a brightness or contrast of image 416 based on a reading of ambient light in environment 400, an indication of reflectivity of surface 404, a setting indicated by user 406-2, combinations thereof, and the like.”)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hoshino with Shah so the brightness of the projected image changes due to detected ambient light. This is obviously a beneficial modification since it allows the projected to be better seen by others.
44. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshino in view of Shinha et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0139811 A1).
45. Regarding Claim 21 (New), while Hoshino does not explicitly disclose, Shinha discloses The method of claim 14, further comprising: adjusting one or more optics to focus the one or more images. (paragraph [0113] reciting “The light diffusion controller 8 may measure the distance between the projector 100 and the projection surface every time the image projection is initiated and make adjustment in such a way that the projected light is brought into focus, or the light diffusion controller 8 may not measure the distance every time but may store the position of the lens so adjusted that the projected light is brought into focus and control the focus lens in such a way that it is moved to the stored position in response to switching operation from the illumination projection to the image projection.” Lens positions are adjusted to focus projected image.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hoshino with Shinha so the images are projected with focus. This is an obviously beneficial modification since a focused projected image is more articulately visible.
CONTACT
/FRANK S CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611