Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7 – 8, 10, and 15 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 12, “purality” should be “plurality”.
In claim 7, line 1, “accoding” should be “according”.
In claim 8, line 2, “potion” should be “portion”.
In claim 10, line 2, “urethene” should be “urethane”.
In claim 15, line 14, “alined” should be “aligned”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 7, 9, and 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 2, the claim limitation recites "a second mold resin" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding Claims 7 and 9, they are rejected because they are dependent on claim 2.
Regarding Claim 19, it has the same rejected structure presented in claim 2.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 4, 7 – 9, 15, 17, and 19 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (JP 2009112067 A) in view of Kakuda et al. (US 20160111931 A1) and further in view of Mallett et al. (US 3313983 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Tanaka et al. discloses a motor (10) (Tanaka et al. Fig. 1) comprising:
a stator (18) (Tanaka et al. Fig. 1);
a circuit board (wiring board 20) configured to supply a current to the stator (Tanaka et al. Fig. 1);
a rotor (26) rotating by the current supplied to the stator (Tanaka et al. Fig. 1);
a first mold resin (frame 22) covering at least a portion of the stator (Tanaka et al. Para [0025] lines 1 – 2),
at least a portion of the circuit board (Tanaka et al. Para [0025] lines 1 – 2),
and a portion of the lead wire (44) (Tanaka et al. Fig. 1),
and a second mold resin (bushing 42) covering a predetermined range from the first mold resin of the lead wire led out from the first mold resin (Tanaka et al. Fig. 1),
and a purality of the lead wires are formed being led out from the first mold resin or the second mold resin (Tanaka et al. Para [0010] whole paragraph discloses lead wires are led out of the bushing 42),
and at least one cover portion (also bushing 42) covering an outer circumference of each lead wire individually with the second mold resin in a predetermined range from the first mold resin or the second mold resin is provided (Tanaka et al. Fig. 1 and Fig. 7).
Tanaka et al. does not disclose:
a lead wire connecting an external power supply to the circuit board;
wherein the second mold resin has hardness lower than hardness of the first mold resin.
Kakuda et al. discloses:
a lead wire (61U, 61V, 61W – 64U, 64V, 64W) connecting an external power supply (Kakuda et al. Para [0040] lines 14 – 20).
Mallett et al. discloses:
wherein the second mold resin (insulating grommet 69) has hardness lower than hardness of the first mold resin (insulating sleeve 79) (Mallett et al. c.4, l. 45 – 49).
Tanaka et al., Kakuda et al., and Mallett et al. disclose resin molds therefore, Kakuda et al. and Mallett et al. constitute prior art. Kakuda et al. discloses a resin-molded stator and bushing covering a portion of plurality of lead lines connected to an external power supply and Mallett et al. discloses lead wires in a cable surrounded by two resin molds with different shore hardness’s. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a lead wire connecting an external power supply to the circuit board of Kakuda et al. and to modify a second mold resin to have a lower hardness than a hardness of the first mold resin of Mallett et al. for the purpose of 1) supplying power from the external power supply to other electrical components inside the motor such as a circuit board via the lead line (see Kakuda et al. Para [0011] lines 7 – 8) and 2) provide different features of protection in the surrounding of the lead wires (see Mallett c. 5, l. 51 – 59).
Regarding Claim 2, Tanaka et al., Kakuda et al., and Mallett et al. disclose the motor according to claim 1, wherein a concave portion or a cutout portion is provided at a portion of an outer circumferential part of the first mold resin where the lead wire is led out (Tanaka et al. Fig. 1 discloses a cutout portion provided by the frame 22),
and a second mold resin is provided at the concave portion or the cutout portion (Tanaka et al. Fig. 1 discloses a bushing 42 provided at the cutout portion of frame 22).
Regarding Claim 3, Tanaka et al., Kakuda et al., and Mallett et al. disclose the motor according to claim 1, wherein the second mold resin forms a protruding portion (also bushing 42) protruding from an outer circumferential portion of the first mold resin (Tanaka et al. Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 4, Tanaka et al., Kakuda et al., and Mallett et al. disclose the motor according to claim 1, wherein a concave portion or a cutout portion is provided at a portion of an outer circumferential part of the first mold resin where the lead wire is led out (Tanaka et al. Fig. 1 discloses a cutout portion provided by the frame 22),
and the second mold resin is provided at the concave portion or the cutout portion (Tanaka et al. Fig. 1 discloses a bushing 42 provided at the cutout portion of frame 22),
and the second mold resin forms a protruding portion (also bushing 42) protruding from the outer circumferential part of the first mold resin (Tanaka et al. Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 7, Tanaka et al., Kakuda et al., and Mallett et al. disclose the motor accoding to claim 2, wherein at least the portion of the stator (Tanaka et al. Fig. 1),
at least the portion of the circuit board (Tanaka et al. Fig. 1),
and the portion of the lead wire are covered with the first mold resin to form a mold body (Tanaka et al. Fig. 1),
and wherein the second mold resin is formed so as not to protrude from a contour of the mold body (Tanaka et al. Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 8, Tanaka et al., Kakuda et al., and Mallett et al. disclose the motor according to claim 4, wherein the second mold resin forming the protruding potion is provided integrally with the second mold resin provided at the concave portion or the cutout portion (Tanaka et al. Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 9, Tanaka et al., Kakuda et al., and Mallett et al. disclose the motor according to claim 2, wherein the concave portion has a cutout shape where an arc-shaped portion is missing in a plan view (Tanaka et al. Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 15, Tanaka et al. discloses a motor (10) (Tanaka et al. Fig. 1) comprising:
a stator (18) (Tanaka et al. Fig. 1);
a circuit board (wiring board 20) configured to supply a current to the stator (Tanaka et al. Fig. 1);
a rotor (26) rotating by the current supplied to the stator (Tanaka et al. Fig. 1);
a first mold resin (frame 22) covering at least a portion of the stator (Tanaka et al. Para [0025] lines 1 – 2),
at least a portion of the circuit board (Tanaka et al. Para [0025] lines 1 – 2),
and a portion of the lead wire (44) (Tanaka et al. Fig. 1),
and a second mold resin (bushing 42) covering a predetermined range from the first mold resin of the lead wire led out from the first mold resin (Tanaka et al. Fig. 1),
and at least the portion of the stator (Tanaka et al. Fig. 1),
at least the portion of the circuit board (Tanaka et al. Fig. 1),
and the portion of the lead wire are covered with the first mold resin to form a mold body (Tanaka et al. Fig. 1),
and the lead wire is alined in the first mold resin at an angle to a straight line passing through a center of the mold body in a plan view (Tanaka et al. Fig. 1).
Tanaka et al. does not disclose:
a lead wire connecting an external power supply to the circuit board;
wherein the second mold resin has hardness lower than hardness of the first mold resin.
Kakuda et al. discloses:
a lead wire (61U, 61V, 61W – 64U, 64V, 64W) connecting an external power supply (Kakuda et al. Para [0040] lines 14 – 20).
Mallett et al. discloses:
wherein the second mold resin (insulating grommet 69) has hardness lower than hardness of the first mold resin (insulating sleeve 79) (Mallett et al. c.4, l. 45 – 49).
Tanaka et al., Kakuda et al., and Mallett et al. disclose resin molds therefore, Kakuda et al. and Mallett et al. constitute prior art. Kakuda et al. discloses a resin-molded stator and bushing covering a portion of plurality of lead lines connected to an external power supply and Mallett et al. discloses lead wires in a cable surrounded by two resin molds with different shore hardness’s. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a lead wire connecting an external power supply to the circuit board of Kakuda et al. and to modify a second mold resin to have a lower hardness than a hardness of the first mold resin of Mallett et al. for the purpose of 1) supplying power from the external power supply to other electrical components inside the motor such as a circuit board via the lead line (see Kakuda et al. Para [0011] lines 7 – 8) and 2) provide different features of protection in the surrounding of the lead wires (see Mallett c. 5, l. 51 – 59).
Regarding Claim 17, Tanaka et al., Kakuda et al., and Mallett et al. disclose the motor according to claim 15, wherein the first mold resin forms a protruding portion at an outer circumferential portion of the first mold resin (Tanaka et al. Fig. 3 discloses a protruding portion is protruding towards groove portion 52 of busing 42).
Regarding Claim 19, Tanaka et al., Kakuda et al., and Mallett et al. disclose the motor according to claim 15, wherein a concave portion or a cutout portion is provided at a portion of an outer circumferential part of the first mold resin where the lead wire is led out (Tanaka et al. Fig. 1 discloses a cutout portion provided by the frame 22),
and a second mold resin is provided at the concave portion or the cutout portion (Tanaka et al. Fig. 1 discloses a bushing 42 provided at the cutout portion of frame 22).
Regarding Claim 20, Tanaka et al., Kakuda et al., and Mallett et al. disclose the motor according to claim 15, wherein the second mold resin forms a protruding portion protruding from an outer circumferential portion of the first mold resin (Tanaka et al. Fig. 1).
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka in view of Kakuda et al., Mallett et al., and further in view of Morris et al. (US 10020206 B2).
Regarding Claim 5, Tanaka et al., Kakuda et al., and Mallett et al. disclose the motor according to claim 1.
Tanaka et al. and Kakuda et al. do not disclose:
wherein the first mold resin and the second mold resin are thermosetting resins,
and a curing start temperature of the second mold resin is lower than a curing start temperature of the first mold resin.
Mallett et al. discloses:
wherein the first mold resin and the second mold resin are thermosetting resins (Mallett et al. c. 5, l. 45 – 49),
Morris et al. discloses:
a curing start temperature of the second mold resin (30) is lower than a curing start temperature of the first mold resin (26) (Morris et al. c. 5, l. 25 – 26).
Tanaka et al., Kakuda et al., Mallett et al. and Morris et al. disclose resin molds therefore, Morris et al. constitutes as prior art. Morris et al. suggests that a curing temperature of a second resin mold can be lower or higher than a normal curing temperature of the first resin mold depending on the type of material used for the second resin mold. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the first mold resin and the second mold resin are thermosetting resins of Mallett et al. and have the curing start temperature of the second mold resin be lower than a first mold resin curing start temperature of Morris et al. for the purpose of 1) providing permanent heat and structural stability to the fan motor and 2) increasing prevention of thermal damage of the second mold resin compared to the first mold resin.
Regarding Claim 13, Tanaka et al., Kakuda et al., Mallett et al. and Morris et al. disclose the motor according to claim 5.
Tanaka et al., Kakuda et al., and Mallett et al. do not disclose:
wherein a difference between the curing start temperature of the first mold resin and the curing start temperature of the second mold resin is 10°C or higher.
Morris et al. discloses:
wherein a difference between the curing start temperature of the first mold resin and the curing start temperature of the second mold resin is 10°C or higher (see Morris et al. c. 5, l. 25 – 26).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein a difference between the curing start temperature of the first mold resin and the curing start temperature of the second mold resin is 10°C or higher of Morris et al. for the purpose of increasing the prevention of thermal damage of the second mold resin compared to the first mold resin.
Claims 6 and 10 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka in view of Mallett and further in view of Hasegawa et al. (US 20110074230 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Tanaka et al., Kakuda et al., and Mallett et al. disclose the motor according to claim 1.
Tanaka et al. and Kakuda et al. do not disclose:
wherein the hardness at 23°C of the first mold resin is D70 or more,
and the hardness at 23°C of the second mold resin is A90 or less.
Mallett et al. discloses:
the hardness at 23°C of the second mold resin is A90 or less (Mallett et al. c. 4, l. 45 – 49).
Hasegawa et al. discloses:
wherein the hardness at 23°C of the first mold resin is D70 or more (Hasegawa et al. Para [0013] lines 3 – 5).
Tanaka et al., Kakuda et al., Mallett et al., and Hasegawa et al. disclose resin therefore, Hasegawa et al. constitutes as prior art. Hasegawa et al. discloses a fan motor encapsulated with an epoxy resin mold with a specific shore hardness. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the hardness at 23°C of the second mold resin is A90 or less of Mallett et al. and wherein the hardness at 23°C of the first mold resin is D70 or more of Hasegawa et al. for the purpose of 1) the second mold resin to be highly elastic, and shock absorbing to create a tight seal and 2) the first mold resin to be rigid and highly durable to prevent severe abrasion.
Regarding Claim 10, Tanaka et al., Kakuda et al., and Mallett et al. disclose the motor according to claim 1.
Tanaka et al. and Kakuda et al. do not disclose:
wherein the first mold resin is an epoxy resin and the second mold resin is a urethene resin.
Mallett et al. discloses:
wherein the second mold resin is a urethene resin (Mallett et al. c. 4, l. 45 – 49).
Hasegawa et al. discloses:
wherein the first mold resin is an epoxy resin (Hasegawa et al. Para [0011] lines 1 – 4).
Tanaka et al., Kakuda et al., Mallett et al., and Hasegawa et al. disclose resin therefore, Hasegawa et al. constitutes as prior art. Hasegawa et al. discloses a fan motor encapsulated with an epoxy resin mold with a specific shore hardness. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the second mold resin is a urethene resin of Mallett et al. and wherein the first mold resin is an epoxy resin of Hasegawa et al. for the purpose of 1) creating a flexible and protective mold, and 2) provide durable and rigid mold.
Regarding Claim 11, Tanaka et al., Kakuda et al., Mallett et al., and Hasegawa et al. disclose resin the motor according to claim 6.
Tanaka et al. and Kakuda et al. do not disclose:
wherein the hardness of the second mold resin at 23°C is from A30 to A80.
Mallett et al. discloses:
wherein the hardness of the second mold resin at 23°C is from A30 to A80 (Mallett c. 4, l. 45 – 49).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the hardness of the second mold resin at 23°C is from A30 to A80 of Mallett et al. for the purpose of providing varying degrees of flexibility and durability to the second mold resin.
Regarding Claim 12, Tanaka et al., Kakuda et al., Mallett et al., and Hasegawa et al. disclose
the motor according to claim 6.
Tanaka et al., Kakuda et al., and Mallett et al. do not disclose:
wherein the hardness of the first mold resin at 23°C is from D80 to D95,
a glass transition point of the first mold resin is 1254C or higher,
and a linear expansion coefficient of the first mold resin at or below the glass transition point is 4 x 10-5/°C or less.
Hasegawa et al. discloses:
wherein the hardness of the first mold resin at 23°C is from D80 to D95 (Hasegawa et al. Para [0013] line 3),
a glass transition point of the first mold resin is 125°C or higher (Hasegawa et al. Para [0013] lines 3 – 4),
and a linear expansion coefficient of the first mold resin below the glass transition point is 4 x 10-5/°C or less (Hasegawa et al. Para [0014] lines 1 – 3).
Tanaka et al., Kakuda et al., Mallett et al., and Hasegawa et al. disclose resin therefore, Hasegawa et al. constitutes as prior art. Hasegawa et al. discloses a fan motor encapsulated with an epoxy resin mold with a specific shore hardness, glass transition point, and linear expansion coefficient. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first mold resin a hardness, a glass transition point, and a linear expansion coefficient of Hasegawa et al. for the purpose of preventing thermal shock and damage to components within the molded body (see Hasegawa et al. Para [0015] lines 5 - 7).
Claims 14 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al., Kakuda et al., Mallett et al., and further in view of Yamasaki et al. (20180252223 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Tanaka et al., Kakuda et al., and Mallett et al. disclose the motor according to claim 1, wherein a concave portion or a cutout portion is provided at a portion of an outer circumferential part of the first mold resin where the lead wire is led out (Tanaka et al. Fig. 1 discloses a cutout portion provided by the frame 22).
Tanaka et al., Kakuda et al., and Mallett et al. do not disclose:
wherein, in a side view, the second mold resin is provided at an lower portion of the concave portion or the cutout portion and the second mold resin is not provided at an upper portion of the concave portion or the cutout portion.
Yamasaki et al. discloses:
wherein, in a side view, the second mold resin (cover portion 8) is provided at a lower portion of the concave portion or the cutout portion and the second mold resin is not provided at an upper portion of the concave portion or the cutout portion (Yamasaki et al. Fig. 4 discloses cover portion 8 is provided at a lower portion of the concave portion and the second mold resin is not provided at an upper portion of the concave portion).
Tanaka et al., Kakuda et al., Mallett et al., and Yamasaki et al. discloses resin, therefore Yamasaki et al. constitutes as prior art. Yamasaki et al. discloses a motor with a first resin mold surrounding a stator and a second resin mold covering a plurality of cables in an outward radial direction. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a second resin mold be provided at a lower portion of the concave portion and not an upper portion of the concave portion of Yamasaki et al. for the purpose to protect and restrict movement of the cables (see Yamasaki et al. Para [0122] lines 5 – 7).
Regarding Claim 16, Tanaka et al., Kakuda et al., and Mallett et al. disclose the motor according to claim 1.
Tanaka et al., Kakuda et al., and Mallett et al. do not disclose:
wherein the at least one cover portion comprises a plurality of cover portions,
and adjacent cover portions of the plurality of cover portions are joined.
Yamasaki et al. discloses:
wherein the at least one cover portion comprises a plurality of cover portions (bottom wall portion 22a and side wall portions 22b of groove portion 22) (Yamasaki et al. Fig. 8),
and adjacent cover portions of the plurality of cover portions are joined (Yamasaki et al. Fig. 8).
Tanaka et al., Kakuda et al., Mallett et al., and Yamasaki et al. discloses resin, therefore Yamasaki et al. constitutes as prior art. Yamasaki et al. discloses a motor with a first resin mold surrounding a stator and a second resin mold covering a plurality of cables in an outward radial direction. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a plurality of cover portions of Yamasaki et al. for the purpose to protect and restrict movement of the cables (see Yamasaki et al. Para [0122] lines 5 – 7).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. in view of Kakuda et al., Mallett et al., and further in view of Cowelchuk et al. (US 20060022485 A1).
Regarding Claim 18, Tanaka et al., Kakuda et al., and Mallett et al. disclose the motor according to claim 15.
Tanaka et al., Kakuda et al., and Mallett et al. do not disclose:
wherein the first mold resin and the second mold resin are made of thermoplastic resins.
Cowelchuk et al. discloses:
wherein the first mold resin (substrate member 16) and the second mold resin (grommet 38) are made of thermoplastic resins (Cowelchuk et al. Para [0008] lines 3 – 8).
Tanaka et al., Kakuda et al., Mallett et al., and Cowelchuk et al. disclose resin therefore, Cowelchuk et al. constitutes as prior art. Cowelchuk et al. discloses a grommet that has a cover and a substrate that may be formed by thermoplastic elastomers. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first mold and a second mold resin be thermoplastic resins of Cowelchuk et al. for the purpose of providing a soft surrounding to wires and prevent undesired noise (see Cowelchuk et al. Para [0022] lines 3 – 6).
Conclusion
/THEODORE L PERKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834