DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-13, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20220022223 A1 (Yang et al., hereinafter Yang).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a method for device protocol transition (par. [0008], “first quantity of transmission layers and the second quantity of transmission layers, or (2) a number of single-port”, transitioning from a number of transmission layers to a different number of transmission layers reads on change in protocol), the method comprising:
receiving signal quality information associated with a device (par. [0043], “the signal quality may be…” reads on at least one of the BS or the UE receives a signal with certain quality);
based on the signal quality information, determining that a number of communication layers is to be reduced for the device (par. [0043], “the signal quality may be excellent… the number of layers may be reduced…”); and
causing the device to transition from a first protocol, having a higher number of communication layers than a second protocol, to the second protocol (par. [0043], “… the number of layers may be reduced…”).
Regarding claim 9, Yang discloses a system (par. [0042]) comprising:
one or more processors (par. [0042]); and
one or more computer storage hardware devices storing computer-usable instructions that, when used by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations (par. [0042], “…instructions stored on a computer readable medium…”) comprising:
receiving signal quality information associated with a device (par. [0043], “the signal quality may be…” reads on at least one of the BS or the UE receives a signal with certain quality);
based on the signal quality information, determining that a number of communication layers is to be adjusted for the device(par. [0043], “the signal quality may be excellent… the number of layers may be reduced…”); and
causing the device to transition from a first protocol, having a lower number of communication layers than a second protocol, to the second protocol (par. [0043], “… the number of layers may be reduced…”).
Regarding claim 16, Yang discloses one or more computer-readable media having computer-executable instructions embodied thereon that, when executed, perform a method (par. [0042]) comprising:
receiving signal quality information associated with a device indicating a reduced signal quality for the device (par. [0043], “the signal quality may be…” reads on at least one of the BS or the UE receives a signal with certain quality);
based on the signal quality information indicating the reduced signal quality for the device, determining that a number of communication layers is to be reduced for the device (par. [0043], “the signal quality may be excellent… the number of layers may be reduced…”); and
based on determining that the number of communication layers is to be reduced for the device, causing the device to transition from a first protocol, having a higher number of communication layers than a second protocol, to the second protocol(par. [0043], “… the number of layers may be reduced…”).
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Yang discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 9, respectively. Yang further discloses based on the signal quality information, determining a transmission power for the device; and causing the device to adjust from a first transmission power to the determined transmission power (par. [0043], “…entering a power-saving mode”).
Regarding claim 3, Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Yang further discloses wherein the first protocol and the second protocol are uplink protocols (par. [0051], “number of spatial layers, multiple-input-multiple output (MIMO) layers, or transmission layers, which may also be referred to as a transmission rank. A multi-port UL reference signal resource…” ).
Regarding claim 4, Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Yang further discloses causing the device to use two ports to transmit the same communication data over a single layer based on the device transitioning to the second protocol (par. [0051], “The number of ports may correspond to a number of spatial layers… reduce the number of layers (e.g., number of SRS resources) it transmits on from 4 to 2 or 1…”).
Regarding claims 5 and 11, Yang discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 9, respectively. Yang further discloses wherein the first protocol is a multiple layer Multiple-Input, Multiple-Output (MIMO) uplink protocol (par. [0051], “The number of ports may correspond to a number of spatial layers, multiple-input-multiple output (MIMO) layers,…”).
Regarding claim 6, Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Yang further discloses determining that the device is within a first radio frequency coverage footprint (par. [0043], [0059], “when the UE is near the BS”, reads on being within the coverage footprint of the BS); and based on determining that the device is within the first radio frequency coverage footprint and prior to causing the device to transition from the first protocol, causing the device to utilize the first protocol (pars. [0043]-[0044], where while in the coverage of the BS and based on the quality information, the UE transitions to utilizing a reduced number of layers for UL transmission).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Yang discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 9, respectively. Yang further discloses causing the device to utilize one less transmission port upon the transition to the second protocol (par. [0051], “The number of ports may correspond to a number of spatial layers… reduce the number of layers (e.g., number of SRS resources) it transmits on from 4 to 2 or 1…”).
Regarding claim 12, Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 9. Yang further discloses causing the device to utilize one additional transmission port upon the transition to the second protocol (par. [0051], “after a period of time, increase the number of layers (e.g., number of SRS ports) to 4 again”).
Regarding claim 13, Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 9. Yang further discloses prior to causing the device to transition from the first protocol, causing the device to utilize the first protocol based on the device being located within a particular radio frequency coverage footprint (pars. [0043]-[0044], [0059]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 14-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of US 20210136693 A1 (Zhang et al., hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claims 7, 14-15 and 18, Yang (and Zhang) discloses all the limitations of claims 6, 13, 14 and 16, respectively.
It is assumed that the BS knows when a device moves to a different region away from a nearby region from the BS; however, Yang does not explicitly disclose determining that the device is within a second radio frequency coverage footprint; and based on determining that the device is within the second radio frequency coverage footprint, causing the device to transition to the second protocol.
In related art concerning power saving in New Radio multicast, Zhang discloses determining that the device is within a second radio frequency coverage footprint; and based on determining that the device is within the second radio frequency coverage footprint, causing the device to transition to the second protocol (Fig. 2 and pars. [0126]-[0128], “base station 105-a may configure the transmission to the multicast group of UEs 115-a, 115-b, and 115-c, to a low transmission rate (e.g., a low number of MIMO layers”, where different bandwidths are utilized for devices located at different distances or coverage areas; therefore, the number of layers will be different based on the quality of the signals, the bandwidth or power signal strength. Where device 115-a and 115-c can be the same device moving between different regions within a global coverage area of the BS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Zhang’s teachings about determining that the device is within a second radio frequency coverage footprint; and based on determining that the device is within the second radio frequency coverage footprint, causing the device to transition to the second protocol with the uplink rank adaptation for MIMO communication disclosed by Yang because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that in order to save resources, a network would dynamically change the protocol (number of layers, etc.) based on the region/distances of the devices.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of US 20230107064 A1 (Bergljung et al., hereinafter Bergljung).
Regarding claim 17, Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 16.
Yang does not disclose wherein the second protocol has a greater transmit power per layer value than the first protocol.
In related art concerning extended power class for uplink MIMO communications, Bergljung disclose wherein the second protocol has a greater transmit power per layer value than the first protocol (pars. [0030], [0193], [0207]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Bergljung’s teachings wherein the second protocol has a greater transmit power per layer value than the first protocol with the uplink rank adaptation for MIMO communication disclosed by Yang because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that in order to save resources, utilizing a higher power level for the second protocol that uses less layers, would compensate for the lack of additional ports while saving power.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20220078887 A1 relates to multiple-layer wireless station implementation and method.
US 20220337360 A1 relates techniques for modifying component carrier or layer configuration in multi-subscription wireless communications.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the TC 2600's customer service number is 703-306-0377.
/Angelica M. Perez/
Patent Examiner AU 2649