DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/25/25 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8, 10-12, 15 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (US Patent Publication 2022/0038934 herein after referenced as Kumar) in view of CHIU (US Patent Publication 2010/0067490 herein after referenced as Chiu).
Regarding claim 1 and claim 8 and claim 15, Kumar discloses:
A method comprising: and A wireless device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to perform: and A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a wireless device, cause the wireless device to perform: communicating, by a wireless device with a first base station, (Kumar, [0147] discloses At 325, UE 305 and serving base station 310 may establish a communication link. The communication link may be established during a procedure, such as an initial access procedure, a cell reselection procedure, or the like. The communication link may be configured with various time, frequency, spatial, code, etc., resources used for performing communications (i.e. reads on communicating) between UE 305 (i.e. reads on by a wireless device) and serving base station 310 (i.e. reads on first base station); Kumar, [0064] discloses A UE 115 may include or may be referred to as a mobile device, a wireless device, a remote device, a handheld device, or a subscriber device, or some other suitable terminology; Kumar, [0008] discloses An apparatus for wireless communication at a UE is described. The apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to establish a communication link between the UE and a serving base station).
first packets of a service; (Kumar, [0148] discloses At 330, UE 305 may measure a set of QoE variables at the application layer 315. The set of QoE variables may be used for the optimization of the communication link between UE 305 and serving base station 310. Examples of the QoE variables may include, but are not limited to, a service type for service be communicated (i.e. reads on first packets of a service) over the communication link e.g., type of service(s) being utilized by application(s) operating at the application layer 315, packet drop rate, etc.; Kumar, [0100] discloses A few examples of service types can be streaming video, Virtual Reality VR, Multimedia Telephony Service for IMS MTSI, or Multicast Broadcast Services MBS; Kumar, [0106] discloses Another example of a QoE variable may include the application layer measuring, monitoring, or otherwise determining, a round trip time RTT at the application layer. That is, the application layer may determine the time that it takes for a packet to be transmitted from the application layer of a transmitting device until a responsive packet is received from the receiving device at the application layer of the transmitting device).
transmitting, by the wireless device to the first base station, a measurement report comprising a received signal strength value; (Kumar, [0055] discloses The UE may also measure, observe, or otherwise identify a set of radio resource management RRM variables at, for example, an access stratum of the UE, e.g., reference signal received power RSRP, reference signal strength indicator RSSI (i.e. reads on a received signal strength value), channel state information CSI, etc. The RRM variables may be for the communication link between the UE and its serving base station as well as communication link(s) between the UE and target base station(s) of the UE e.g., neighboring base stations that may be able to support wireless communication link(s) with the UE. The UE (i.e. reads on by the wireless device) may transmit (i.e. reads on transmitting) or otherwise provide a measurement report (i.e. reads on a measurement report) to its serving base station (i.e. reads on to the first base station) indicating information associated with the set of QoE variables in addition to the set up RRM variables (i.e. reads on comprising a received signal strength value)).
receiving, by the wireless device from the first base station, a handover command for a handover to a second base station, (Kumar, [0179] discloses Accordingly, at 475 serving base station 410 (i.e. reads on from the first base station) may transmit (i.e. reads on receiving) or otherwise convey a connection reconfiguration message e.g., an RRCConnectionReconfiguration message to UE 405 (i.e. reads on by the wireless device) that identifies the target base station (i.e. reads on to a second base station) to perform the handover procedure with (i.e. reads on a handover command for a handover) to establish a new communication link. For example, the connection reconfiguration message may identify target base station 415 or target base station 420 that UE 405 is to perform a handover procedure with to establish the new communication link. Accordingly, UE 405 may perform a handover procedure with the target base station identified in the connection reconfiguration message to establish the new communication link in response to the QoE variable(s) failing to satisfy the corresponding threshold e.g., QoE constraint).
wherein the handover is determined after the transmitting the measurement report and receiving quality-of-experience (QoE) information of the service from the second base station; (Kumar, [0057] discloses In this handover example, the serving base station may transmit a resource status request to the target base station(s) indicated in the measurement report (i.e. reads on after the transmitting the measurement report). The resource status request may carry or otherwise convey an indication of the QoE constraint of the UE e.g., the requested QoE level of the UE and the set of QoE variables of the UE. The target base station(s) (i.e. reads on from the second base station) may each determine whether their respective capability to satisfy the QoE constraint of the UE and, if so, transmit a resource status response to the serving base station indicating the ability to support the QoE constraint (i.e. receiving QoE information of the service) of the UE. In some aspects, each resource status response may indicate its capability to satisfy the UE QoE constraints of the sending target base station e.g., indicate the QoE level that the target base station can support. The serving base station may select the target base station(s) to perform the handover procedure (i.e. reads on wherein the handover is determined) of the UE to based on the resource status response(s) received from the target base station(s), e.g., based on the QoE variables/RRM variables of the UE and each target base station capability to satisfy the UE QoE constraints, where the target base station is capable of providing the best QoE level to the UE).
and communicating, by the wireless device with the second base station, (Kumar, [0179] discloses Accordingly, UE 405 (i.e. reads on by the wireless device) may perform a handover procedure with the target base station (i.e. reads on with the second base station) identified in the connection reconfiguration message to establish the new communication link (i.e. reads on communicating) in response to the QoE variable(s) failing to satisfy the corresponding threshold e.g., QoE constraint).
Kumar discloses a mobile device receiving packets of an MBS service with a serving base station and performing a handover from a serving base station to a target base station to establish a new communication link but fails to explicitly recite that said new communication link comprises second packets of the same MBS service type and therefore fails to disclose “and communicating, by the wireless device with the second base station, second packets of the service.”
In a related field of endeavor, Chiu discloses:
and communicating, by the wireless device with the second base station, second packets of the service (Chiu, [0054] discloses TBS 306 stores packets i+1 to j-1 identified in data forwarding 320. At some later time, MS 302 seeks network re-entry 322 with TBS 306. MS 302 and TBS 306 synchronize and exchange connection information to enable MS 302 to be able to receive the MBS service from TBS 306. For example, MS 302 updates its connection information to reflect the zoneID of TBS 306, which belongs to a different zone than SBS 304. After the network re-entry 322 is completed, TBS 306 sends packets i+1 to j-1, to MS 302 via unicast 324. TBS 306 (i.e. reads on with the second base station) may send additional packets (i.e. reads on communicating second packets) of the MBS service (i.e. reads on of the service) to MS 302 (i.e. reads on by the wireless device) via a separate multicast connection. In this way, packets i+1 to j-1, which would have been missed by MS 302, are sent to MS 302, thereby enabling service continuity during handover; Chiu, [0045] discloses Diagram 300 includes a mobile station MS 302, a serving base station SBS 304, a target base station TBS 306, and a gateway 308. MS 302 operates in a connected state and receives content of the MBS service, such as streaming content, from SBS 304. MS 302 may monitor a signal strength of nearby base stations, such as TBS 306, which belongs to a different zone than SBS 304. Moreover, MS 302 may compile a list of candidate base station(s) having a signal strength above a predetermined threshold. The candidate base station(s) are ones that MS 302 may seek to receive content from, instead of receiving content from SBS 304. MS 302 may compile the list as it moves away from SBS 304 and closer to TBS 306; Chiu, [0046] discloses After receiving the optional HO initiation 310, SBS 304 may send a handover request HO REQ 312 to all of the candidate base stations, including TBS 306; Chiu, [0048] discloses Upon receiving HO REQ 312, TBS 306 may examine the services that it provides, and determine which of those services can support an additional user. This determination may be made by examining the load of the service and/or a number of users currently receiving the service. After determining any available service(s), TBS 306 determines if the service needed by MS 302 for handover, which is identified in HO REQ 312 based on the SID, is one of the available service(s) that TBS 306 can provide; Chiu, [0051] discloses SBS 304 receives HO RSP 314 from TBS 306, and also may receive similar responses from the remaining candidate base station(s). SBS 304 may aggregate information received about candidate base station(s), and sends a handover command HO Command 316 to MS 302. HO command 316 includes a list of the candidate base station(s), and their corresponding update connection information. After receiving HO command 316, MS 302 may choose a preferred base station from the listed candidate base stations according to one or more of various criteria).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Kumar to incorporate the teachings of Chiu for the purpose of providing the system with a means to ensure service continuity for the mobile device during handover (Chiu, [0054]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario (Kumar, [0376]) and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device receiving packets of an MBS service with a serving base station and performing a handover from a serving base station to a target base station to establish a new communication link as taught by Kumar) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device receiving packets of an MBS service with a serving base station and performing a handover from a serving base station to a target base station to establish a new communication link, wherein the mobile device receives packets of the service via the target base station after handover as taught by Chiu) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a mobile device receiving packets of an MBS service with a serving base station and performing a handover from a serving base station to a target base station to establish a new communication link (i.e. as taught by both Kumar & Chiu) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 3 and claim 10 and claim 17, Kumar in view of Chiu discloses:
The method of claim1, further comprising: (see claim 1) and The wireless device of claim 8, wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to perform: (see claim 8) and The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to perform: (see claim 15).
measuring the received signal strength value before transmitting the measurement report (Kumar, [0055] discloses The UE may also measure, observe, or otherwise identify a set of radio resource management RRM variables at, for example, an access stratum of the UE, e.g., reference signal received power RSRP, reference signal strength indicator RSSI, channel state information CSI, etc. The RRM variables may be for the communication link between the UE and its serving base station as well as communication link(s) between the UE and target base station(s) of the UE e.g., neighboring base stations that may be able to support wireless communication link(s) with the UE. The UE may transmit or otherwise provide a measurement report to its serving base station indicating information associated with the set of QoE variables in addition to the set up RRM variables).
Regarding claim 4 and claim 11 and claim 18, Kumar in view of Chiu discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: (see claim 1) and The wireless device of claim 8, wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to perform: (see claim 8) and The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to perform: (see claim 15).
handing over to the second base station based on the handover command (Kumar, [0179] discloses Accordingly, at 475 serving base station 410 may transmit or otherwise convey a connection reconfiguration message e.g., an RRCConnectionReconfiguration message to UE 405 that identifies the target base station to perform the handover procedure with to establish a new communication link. For example, the connection reconfiguration message may identify target base station 415 or target base station 420 that UE 405 is to perform a handover procedure with to establish the new communication link. Accordingly, UE 405 may perform a handover procedure with the target base station identified in the connection reconfiguration message to establish the new communication link in response to the QoE variable(s) failing to satisfy the corresponding threshold e.g., QoE constraint).
Regarding claim 5 and claim 12 and claim 19, Kumar in view of Chiu discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: (see claim 1) and The wireless device of claim 8, wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to perform: (see claim 8) and The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to perform: (see claim 15).
using an application via the second packets of the service (Kumar, [0109] discloses That is, the application layer may have a number of applications in operation, with at least some of those operations including the application communicating via the communication link. Accordingly, each application may have a corresponding application type indicative of, or otherwise associated with, the type of service being provided for the application. A few examples of service types can be streaming video, Virtual Reality VR, Multimedia Telephony Service for IMS MTSI, or Multicast Broadcast Services MBS; Chiu, [0054] discloses TBS 306 stores packets i+1 to j-1 identified in data forwarding 320. At some later time, MS 302 seeks network re-entry 322 with TBS 306. MS 302 and TBS 306 synchronize and exchange connection information to enable MS 302 to be able to receive the MBS service from TBS 306. For example, MS 302 updates its connection information to reflect the zoneID of TBS 306, which belongs to a different zone than SBS 304. After the network re-entry 322 is completed, TBS 306 sends packets i+1 to j-1, to MS 302 via unicast 324. TBS 306 may send additional packets of the MBS service to MS 302 via a separate multicast connection. In this way, packets i+1 to j-1, which would have been missed by MS 302, are sent to MS 302, thereby enabling service continuity during handover).
Claim(s) 2, 9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (US Patent Publication 2022/0038934 herein after referenced as Kumar) in view of CHIU (US Patent Publication 2010/0067490 herein after referenced as Chiu) and further in view of BAEK et al. (US Patent Publication 2023/0111248 herein after referenced as Baek).
Regarding claim 2 and claim 9 and claim 16, Kumar in view of Chiu discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: (see claim 1) and The wireless device of claim 8, wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to perform: (see claim 8) and The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to perform: (see claim 15).
Kumar in view of Chiu discloses a mobile device receiving an MBS service from a base station but fails to explicitly recite that said MBS service is requested by the user or the wireless device and therefore fails to disclose “transmitting, to the first base station, an indication that the wireless device, or a user of the wireless device, uses or wants to use the service.”
In a related field of endeavor, Baek discloses:
transmitting, to the first base station, an indication that the wireless device, (Baek, [0063] discloses According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, in order to receive data for MBS communication from the base station 400, the terminal 410 may transmit a message for requesting an MBS service to the base station 400. For example, the message for requesting an MBS service may include MBS service request information and/or list information of an MBS service of interest. When the base station 400 receives the message for requesting an MBS service from the terminal 410, the base station 400 may transmit a message for configuring an MBS service to the terminal 410. The message for configuring an MBS service may include MBS service configuration information for the terminal 410 to receive data for MBS communication. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “or a user of the wireless device, uses or”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Kumar in view of Chiu to incorporate the teachings of Baek for the purpose of providing the system with a means to receive the desired service (Baek, [0063]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario (Kumar, [0376]) and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device receiving an MBS service from a base station as taught by Kumar) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device receiving an MBS service from a base station, wherein the service is received in response to the mobile device transmitting a request to receive the service as taught by Baek) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a mobile device receiving an MBS service from a base station (i.e. as taught by both Kumar & Baek) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 6-7, 13-14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (US Patent Publication 2022/0038934 herein after referenced as Kumar) in view of CHIU (US Patent Publication 2010/0067490 herein after referenced as Chiu) and further in view of BABAEI (US Patent Publication 2024/0381405 herein after referenced as Baba).
Regarding claim 6 and claim 13 and claim 20, Kumar in view of Chiu discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: (see claim 1) and The wireless device of claim 8, wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to perform: (see claim 8) and The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to perform: (see claim 15).
Kumar in view of Chiu discloses a mobile device receiving a reconfiguration request from a base station but fails to explicitly recite the request comprises a request to add the first base station as a secondary node and therefore fails to disclose “receiving a reconfiguration request from the second base station, wherein the reconfiguration request comprises a request to add the first base station as a secondary node.”
In a related field of endeavor, Baba discloses:
receiving a reconfiguration request from the second base station, wherein the reconfiguration request comprises a request to add the first base station as a secondary node (Baba, [0188] discloses In an example embodiment as shown in FIG. 23, a first base station BS may receive, from a second BS, an addition request message e.g., a secondary addition request message. The addition request message may indicate a request for radio resources of the second BS for dual connectivity operation. The secondary addition request message may comprise one or more information elements IEs indicating that the request is for a user equipment UE that requires e.g., based on applications and/or service types QoE measurement and reporting. In response to transmission of the addition request message, the first BS may receive, from the second BS, one of an addition request acknowledge message or an addition request reject message based on the first base station supporting or not supporting QoE-related functionalities. In some examples, the second base station may support QoE-related functionalities e.g., QoE measurement and/or reporting and may transmit a secondary addition request acknowledge message to the first base station. In response to receiving the addition request acknowledge message, the first BS may transmit a reconfiguration message to the UE. The reconfiguration message may comprise configuration parameters of one or more cells of the second BS; Baba, [0179] discloses Quality of Experience QoE measurement and reporting is an important functionality for various services and applications including streaming, virtual/augmented reality VR/AR and URLLC applications. In some examples, a UE may operate in a multi-connectivity scenario e.g., dual connectivity, wherein multiple base stations may serve and provide resources to the UE. Existing signaling mechanisms for multi-connectivity may be insufficient when a candidate secondary base station supports or does not support QoE-related functionalities. Example embodiments enhance the messages and procedures for multi-connectivity when a UE is configured with applications/service that requires QoE measurement and reporting).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Kumar in view of Chiu to incorporate the teachings of Baba for the purpose of providing the system with a means to enhance quality of service by providing the mobile device dual connectivity when a current base station is unable to provide a requested service (Baba, [0179] & [0188]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario (Kumar, [0376]) and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device receiving a reconfiguration request from a base station as taught by Kumar) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device receiving a reconfiguration request from a base station, wherein the reconfiguration request includes parameters for dual connectivity as taught by Baba) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a mobile device receiving a reconfiguration request from a base station (i.e. as taught by both Kumar & Baba) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 7 and claim 14, Kumar in view of Chiu and further in view of Baba discloses:
The method of claim 6, further comprising: (see claim 6) and The wireless device of claim 13, wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to perform: (see claim 13).
accessing the first base station and the second base station via dual connectivity (Baba, [0179] discloses Quality of Experience QoE measurement and reporting is an important functionality for various services and applications including streaming, virtual/augmented reality VR/AR and URLLC applications. In some examples, a UE may operate in a multi-connectivity scenario e.g., dual connectivity, wherein multiple base stations may serve and provide resources to the UE. Existing signaling mechanisms for multi-connectivity may be insufficient when a candidate secondary base station supports or does not support QoE-related functionalities. Example embodiments enhance the messages and procedures for multi-connectivity when a UE is configured with applications/service that requires QoE measurement and reporting; Baba, [0188] discloses In an example embodiment as shown in FIG. 23, a first base station BS may receive, from a second BS, an addition request message e.g., a secondary addition request message. The addition request message may indicate a request for radio resources of the second BS for dual connectivity operation. The secondary addition request message may comprise one or more information elements IEs indicating that the request is for a user equipment UE that requires e.g., based on applications and/or service types QoE measurement and reporting. In response to transmission of the addition request message, the first BS may receive, from the second BS, one of an addition request acknowledge message or an addition request reject message based on the first base station supporting or not supporting QoE-related functionalities. In some examples, the second base station may support QoE-related functionalities e.g., QoE measurement and/or reporting and may transmit a secondary addition request acknowledge message to the first base station. In response to receiving the addition request acknowledge message, the first BS may transmit a reconfiguration message to the UE. The reconfiguration message may comprise configuration parameters of one or more cells of the second BS).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bongaarts et al. (US Patent Publication 2019/0037468) discloses a system wherein a handover decision can be based at least in part on characteristics of the serving cell and/or on characteristics of the candidate cell. For example, characteristics of the cells can include, but are not limited to, a signal strength indicator (e.g., received signal strength indication (RSSI), received channel power indicator (RCPI), etc.), travel time measurement (e.g., time of arrival), base station capability (e.g., an amount of unused bandwidth, frequencies, channels, timeslots, etc.), signal to noise ratios (SNR), rates of changes of any of the metrics discussed herein (e.g., a rate of change of the RSSI of the serving cell compared to a rate of change of the RSSI of the candidate cell), sizes of cells (e.g., geographic coverage), Quality of Experience (QoE), Quality of Service (QoS), delay associated with channels, a type of traffic associated with the UE (e.g., voice, data, web browsing, E911, guaranteed bit rate, etc.), a parameter indicating that motion data can be considered in handover decisions associated with the cell, etc.
/MICHAEL Y MAPA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645