DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 12-13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN212313336 in view of DeCicco et al. (US 6,781,058) (hereinafter DeCicco).
Regarding claims 1 and 20, CN212313336 discloses a vehicle, comprising: a power supply; a to-be-moved apparatus; and a power supply apparatus comprising: a slide rail (element 1); a slider (considered at least elements 2 and 3) movably disposed on the slide rail and configured to fasten a to-be-moved apparatus (See at least Abstract, “seat”); a drag chain harness groove (element 1b) disposed parallel to the slide rail; and a drag chain harness (element 8) disposed in the drag chain harness groove, wherein the drag chain harness comprises: a drag chain comprising a plurality of chain sections connected by connecting pins (See Figure 3); a harness wrapped by the drag chain (See Figure 3); a fastened end (See detailed description in translation) fastened to the drag chain harness groove and configured to electrically connect to a power supply; and a movable end (end of element 8 directly connected to element 7) configured to electrically connect to the to-be-moved apparatus, wherein the drag chain harness groove encloses the drag chain harness on at least three sides along a track direction of the slide rail (Examiner notes that element 1b encloses element 8 on at least three sides).
Examiner believes that element 8 of CN212313336 clearly includes a drag chain comprising a plurality of chain sections connected by connecting pins, and a harness wrapped by the drag chain in order to function as intended (See at least Abstract and Summary of Utility Model. Examiner notes that for the drag chain 8 to move as intended within cavity 1b, a plurality of chain sections connected by connecting pins are clearly used). However, if Applicant disagrees, since “a plurality of chain sections connected by connecting pins” are not explicitly identified in the Figures, Examiner notes that DeCicco teaches that it is known in the art to configure a power supply apparatus, comprising: a slide rail (element 40); a slider (at least elements 70 and 100) movably disposed on the slide rail and configured to fasten a to-be-moved apparatus (element 60); and a drag chain harness (at least elements 200 and 230), wherein the drag chain harness comprises: a drag chain (element 200) comprising a plurality of chain sections connected by connecting pins (See at least column 3, lines 38-57, “cable carrier 200 is comprised of a plurality of like, interlocking links 202. Links 202 are connected to each other such that two adjacent links 202 are pivotable relative to each other along a generally vertical axis. In the illustrated embodiment, each link 202 includes a first wall 204, a second wall 206 and a pair of connecting walls 208 that join first and second walls 204, 206 (FIG. 4). First wall 204 and second wall 206 have pins (not shown) at one end of each link 202, and have holes 210a, 210b at the other end of each link 202. The pins and holes 210a, 210b are used to join together links 202 in a conventionally known fashion to form cable carrier 200”); a harness (element 230) wrapped by the drag chain; a fastened end (element 200d) fastened to the drag chain harness groove and configured to electrically connect to a power supply; and a movable end (element 200a) configured to electrically connect to the to-be-moved apparatus. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure CN212313336 such that the drag chain harness includes “a drag chain comprising a plurality of chain sections connected by connecting pins, and a harness wrapped by the drag chain”, since a power supply drag chain of this nature is extremely similar to that shown in CN212313336, and would function as intended for the purpose of CN212313336, and since, as taught by DeCicco, a plurality of chain sections connected by connecting pins is “a conventionally known fashion” for configuring power supply drag chain. Additionally, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art as evidenced above, and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed, or substituted one known element for another, using known methods with no change in their respective functions. Such a combination or substitution would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, since the elements perform as expected and thus the results would be expected. MPEP 2143
Regarding claim 2, CN212313336 discloses wherein the slide rail comprises a slider groove (element 1a), wherein the slider is movably disposed in the slider groove, wherein the drag chain harness groove and the slider groove are distributed along a first direction or a second direction, and wherein the first direction and the second direction form a first included angle (Examiner notes that elements 1a and 1b are three-dimensional channels, and are considered to be “distributed along” numerous “directions” that form “angles”).
Regarding claim 3, CN212313336 discloses wherein the first direction is perpendicular to the track direction and is parallel to a plane on which the to-be-moved apparatus is located, and wherein, when the drag chain harness groove and the slider groove are distributed along the first direction, openings of the drag chain harness groove and the slider groove face the plane (See at least Figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 4, CN212313336 discloses wherein the second direction is perpendicular to track direction and is perpendicular to a plane on which the to-be-moved apparatus is located, and wherein, when the drag chain harness groove and the slider groove are distributed along the second direction, an opening of the drag chain harness groove faces the plane, the drag chain harness groove is disposed on a side is of the slider groove facing away from the to-be-moved apparatus, and the opening of the drag chain harness groove faces toward the slider groove (See at least Figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 5, CN212313336 discloses wherein the drag chain harness groove is disposed on the slide rail (See at least Figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 6, CN212313336 discloses further comprising a support (See Figure 5, at least element 1c) fastening the drag chain harness groove to the slide rail.
Regarding claim 7, CN212313336 discloses a limiter (element 9) disposed on the slider the to-be-moved apparatus, or a clamp and configured to
Regarding claim 8, CN212313336 discloses wherein the fastened end and the movable end are distributed along a third direction or a fourth direction, and wherein the third direction and the fourth direction form a second included angle (Examiner notes that the fastened end and the movable end are “distributed” in a three-dimensional manner and extend in numerous directions that include numerous angles).
Regarding claim 9, CN212313336 discloses wherein the fastened end is fastened at a first position on the drag chain harness groove, and wherein the first position is located between two ends of the drag chain harness groove. Examiner believes that the fastened end of element 8 is necessarily within and between the ends of element 1b, however, since the position of the fastened end is not explicitly shown, Examiner notes that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the art in this way, since it has been held that changes in shape, form, or configuration of components of a device are obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular shape, form, or configuration would be found significant to a person of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Such modifications are not critical to the design and would have produced no unexpected results. In addition, the prior art element performs the function specified in the claim in substantially the same manner as the function is performed by the corresponding element described in the specification, and such structure are considered art recognized equivalent structures and would have functioned at least equally as well. It would have been obvious to modify the device in this way for the purpose of providing an alternative arrangement that would have functioned at least equally as well. Examiner further notes that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the fastened end is at a first position on the drag chain harness groove, and wherein the first position is located between two ends of the drag chain harness groove, since it is prima facie obvious to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143(E)), and positioning of the fastened end would logically be placed between the two ends of the drag chain harness groove, in order for the drag chain to function as intended.
Regarding claim 12, CN212313336 discloses an extended harness (element 7), wherein the movable end is fastened to the slider and is electrically connected to the to-be-moved apparatus using the extended harness.
Regarding claim 13, CN212313336 discloses wherein the movable end is fastened to the to-be-moved apparatus.
Claims 1, 5-9, 12-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE102021202669 (See US 2023/0406241 for English translation, Hereinafter Carl) in view of DeCicco et al. (US 6,781,058) (hereinafter DeCicco).
Regarding claims 1,14, and 20, Carl discloses a vehicle door assembly, comprising: vehicle door glass (element F); and a power supply apparatus comprising: a slide rail (element 3); a slider (element 4) movably disposed on the slide rail [and configured to fasten the vehicle door glass]*; a drag chain harness groove (Figure 2, elements 9 and 10 in combination with element 5, considered area in which element 7 is movably contained) disposed parallel to the slide rail; and a drag chain harness (element 7) disposed in the drag chain harness groove, wherein the drag chain harness comprises: a harness wrapped by the drag chain (See at least paragraphs [0043-0047]) a fastened end (element 7a) fastened to the drag chain harness groove [and configured to electrically connect to a power supply]*; and a movable end (element 7b) [configured to electrically connect to the vehicle door glass]*. wherein the drag chain harness groove encloses the drag chain harness on at least three sides along a track direction of the slide rail (See at least Figures 2-3, element 7 is at least partially enclosed on three sides by elements 9-10).
Carl does not explicitly disclose wherein the drag chain comprises a plurality of chain sections connected by connecting pins. DeCicco, however, teaches that it is known in the art to configure a power supply apparatus, comprising: a slide rail (element 40); a slider (at least elements 70 and 100) movably disposed on the slide rail and configured to fasten a to-be-moved apparatus (element 60); and a drag chain harness (at least elements 200 and 230), wherein the drag chain harness comprises: a drag chain (element 200) comprising a plurality of chain sections connected by connecting pins (See at least column 3, lines 38-57, “cable carrier 200 is comprised of a plurality of like, interlocking links 202. Links 202 are connected to each other such that two adjacent links 202 are pivotable relative to each other along a generally vertical axis. In the illustrated embodiment, each link 202 includes a first wall 204, a second wall 206 and a pair of connecting walls 208 that join first and second walls 204, 206 (FIG. 4). First wall 204 and second wall 206 have pins (not shown) at one end of each link 202, and have holes 210a, 210b at the other end of each link 202. The pins and holes 210a, 210b are used to join together links 202 in a conventionally known fashion to form cable carrier 200”); a harness (element 230) wrapped by the drag chain; a fastened end (element 200d) fastened to the drag chain harness groove and configured to electrically connect to a power supply; and a movable end (element 200a) configured to electrically connect to the to-be-moved apparatus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Carl such that the drag chain harness includes “a drag chain comprising a plurality of chain sections connected by connecting pins, and a harness wrapped by the drag chain”, since a drag chain as taught by DeCicco would provide a more robust, partially rigid structure when compared to the drag chain of Carl, which would provide improved durability and performance which would be desirable for the longevity of the product, and for particular applications of the system, and since a drag chain as taught by DeCicco would function as intended for the purpose of Carl, and since, as taught by DeCicco, a plurality of chain sections connected by connecting pins is “a conventionally known fashion” for configuring power supply drag chain. Additionally, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art as evidenced above, and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed, or substituted one known element for another, using known methods with no change in their respective functions. Such a combination or substitution would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, since the elements perform as expected and thus the results would be expected. MPEP 2143
Regarding claim 5, Carl discloses wherein the drag chain harness groove is disposed on the slide rail (See Figure 2, element 9 is disposed on element 3).
Regarding claim 6, Carl discloses a support (See Figure 2, considered structure of element 3 that directly connects element 10 to element 3) fastening the drag chain harness groove to the slide rail.
Regarding claim 7, Carl discloses a limiter disposed on the slider (considered the direct connection between elements 4 and 3 which necessarily enables and also “limits” movement of element 7b in operation), the to-be-moved apparatus, or a clamp and [configured to move with the movable end and restrict lateral movement of the movable end toward the fastened end in a direction transverse to the track direction to prevent shaking of the movable end during movement]*.
Regarding claim 8, Carl discloses wherein the fastened end and the movable end are distributed along a third direction; or a fourth direction, and wherein the third direction and the fourth direction form a second included angle. Examiner notes that elements 7a and 7b are three-dimensional objects and are “distributed along” numerous possible “directions” with various “angles” between 0-360 degrees.
Regarding claim 9, Carl discloses wherein the fastened end is fastened at a first position on the drag chain harness groove, and wherein the first position is located between two ends of the drag chain harness groove (See Figure 2).
Regarding claim 12, Carl discloses an extended harness (considered structure that directly couples elements 7b and 4, See at least paragraph [0045], “The other (second) tube end 7b of the guide tube 7 is retained on the carriage 4 (on the carriage side) or on the adapter 4a or also on the window pane F or is connected thereto”), wherein the movable end is fastened to the slider and is electrically connected to the to-be-moved apparatus using the extended harness.
Regarding claim 13, Carl discloses wherein the movable end is fastened to the to-be-moved apparatus (See Figure 1, element 7b is fastened to element F via element 4, See at least paragraph [0045])
Regarding claim 15, Carl discloses wherein the drag chain harness groove is fastened to the slide rail (See Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 16, Carl discloses wherein the drag chain harness groove is fastened to a vehicle door (See at least paragraphs [0039-0040]).
Claims 2-4 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE102021202669 (See US 2023/0406241 for English translation, Hereinafter Carl) in view of DeCicco et al. (US 6,781,058) (hereinafter DeCicco) and further in view of Shimura et al. (US 7,617,633) (hereinafter Shimura).
Regarding claim 2, Carl discloses wherein the slide rail comprises a slider groove (See Figures 1 and 2, considered central “groove” in element 3, coupled to element 4), wherein the slider is movably disposed in the slider groove (See Figure 1), wherein the drag chain harness groove and the slider groove are distributed along a first direction; or a second direction (Examiner notes that the “drag chain harness groove” and “slider groove” are three-dimensional features and are “disposed” along numerous “directions”), and wherein the first direction and the second direction form a first included angle. Examiner believes that element 4 is clearly disposed at least partially in the central vertical groove of element 3 for operation. However, if Applicant disagrees, and since the feature is not explicitly shown, Examiner notes that Shimura teaches that it is known in the art to configure a vehicle window lifter that includes a slide rail (element 1) including a slide groove (Figure 2, area in which element 9 is received) and a slider (element 6) wherein the slider is movably disposed in the slider groove (Figure 2, element 9 of element 6 is movably disclosed in groove of element 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the slider and slide rail of Carl such that at least a portion of the slider is disposed in the central vertical groove of the guide rail, and slides vertically within the groove during operation of the system, since this would be obvious and logical for the purpose of Carl, and since the slider necessarily slides on the slide rail for proper functionality of the system, and an arrangement of this nature would function as intended for the purpose of Carl. Additionally, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art as evidenced above, and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed, or substituted one known element for another, using known methods with no change in their respective functions. Such a combination or substitution would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, since the elements perform as expected and thus the results would be expected. MPEP 2143
Regarding claim 3, Carl discloses wherein the first direction (Figure 1, considered generally horizontal direction) is perpendicular to a track direction (Figure 1, considered generally vertical direction) of the slide rail and is parallel to a plane (Figure 1, considered plane of movable window “F”) on which the to-be-moved apparatus is located (Figure 1, both vertical and horizontal directions (generally Z and X axis as shown) are parallel to the plane of the window); and wherein, when if the drag chain harness groove and the slider groove are distributed along the first direction, openings of the drag chain harness groove and the slider groove face the plane (See Figures 1 and 2, “openings” of element 5 and element 3 face the plane of the movable window as the window is raised and lowered).
Regarding claim 4, Carl discloses wherein the second direction (Figure 2, considered direction generally along Y axis) is perpendicular to a track direction (Figure 1, considered direction generally along Z axis) of the slide rail and is perpendicular to a plane on which the to-be-moved apparatus is located (See Figures 1 and 2); and wherein, [when the drag chain harness groove and the slider groove are distributed along the second direction, an opening of the drag chain harness groove faces the plane (Figure 2, an opening of element 5 and element 3 faces the plane), the drag chain harness groove is disposed on a side is of the slider groove facing away from the to-be-moved apparatus, and the opening of the drag chain harness groove faces toward the slider groove (Figure 2, an opening of element 5c is considered to face the slider groove).
Regarding claim 17, Carl discloses wherein the slide rail comprises a slider groove (See Figures 1 and 2, considered central vertical “groove” in element 3, coupled to element 4), wherein the drag chain harness groove and the slider groove are distributed along a first direction or a second direction, and wherein the first direction and the second direction (Examiner notes that the “drag chain harness groove” and “slider groove” are three-dimensional features and are “disposed” along numerous “directions”) form a first included angle. Examiner believes that element 4 is clearly disposed at least partially in the central vertical groove of element 3 for operation. However, if Applicant disagrees, and since the feature is not explicitly shown, Examiner notes that Shimura teaches that it is known in the art to configure a vehicle window lifter that includes a slide rail (element 1) including a slide groove (Figure 2, area in which element 9 is received) and a slider (element 6) wherein the slider is movably disposed in the slider groove (Figure 2, element 9 of element 6 is movably disclosed in groove of element 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the slider and slide rail of Carl such that at least a portion of the slider is disposed in the central vertical groove of the guide rail, and slides vertically within the groove during operation of the system, since this would be obvious and logical for the purpose of Carl, and since the slider necessarily slides on the slide rail for proper functionality of the system, and an arrangement of this nature would function as intended for the purpose of Carl. Additionally, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art as evidenced above, and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed, or substituted one known element for another, using known methods with no change in their respective functions. Such a combination or substitution would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, since the elements perform as expected and thus the results would be expected. See MPEP 2143
Regarding claim 18, Carl discloses wherein the first direction (Figure 1, considered generally horizontal direction) is perpendicular to a track direction (Figure 1, considered generally vertical direction) of the slide rail and is parallel to a plane (Figure 1, considered plane of movable window “F”) on which the vehicle door glass is located (Figure 1, both vertical and horizontal directions (generally Z and X axis as shown) are parallel to the plane of the window), and wherein, when the drag chain harness groove and the slider groove are distributed along the first direction, openings of the drag chain harness groove and the slider groove face the plane (See Figures 1 and 2, “openings” of at element 5 and element 3 face the plane of the movable window as the window is raised and lowered).
Regarding claim 19, Carl discloses wherein the second direction (Figure 2, considered direction generally along Y axis) is perpendicular to the track direction (Figure 1, considered direction generally along Z axis) and is perpendicular to a plane on which the vehicle door glass is located, and wherein, when the drag chain harness groove and the slider groove are distributed along the second direction, an opening of the drag chain harness groove faces the plane, the drag chain harness groove is disposed on a side of the slider groove facing away from a to-be-moved apparatus (Examiner notes that “a to-be-moved apparatus” is considered to be extremely broad), and the opening of the drag chain harness groove faces toward the slider groove (Figure 2, an opening of element 5c is considered to face the slider groove).
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE102021202669 (See US 2023/0406241 for English translation, Hereinafter Carl) in view of Hazon et al. (US 2017/0089111) (hereinafter Hazon).
Regarding claim 10, Carl discloses a pull cable (See paragraph [0042], “An electromotive drive (cable drive) 6 is coupled in a manner not illustrated in detail to a cable drum on which a pull cable connected to the carriage 4 and guided over rail-side or carrier-side deflection elements is wound in a loop such that, during the operation of the window lifter, one cable end is wound onto the cable drum and the other cable end is unwound therefrom”) connected to the slider [and configured to pull the slider to move on the slide rail]*. Although Carl explicitly recites “a pull cable connected to the carriage 4 and guided over rail-side or carrier-side deflection elements”, Carl does not explicitly recite that the “deflection elements” are pulleys. Hazon, however, teaches that it is known in the art to configure a window lifter assembly, comprising: a slide rail (element 12); a slider (element 14) movably disposed on the slide rail and [configured to fasten a to-be-moved apparatus]*, and a pull cable (element 18) connected to the slider [and configured to pull the slider to move on the slide rail]*; pulleys (elements 26 and 29) disposed at two ends of the slide rail (See Figure 1) and [configured to provide movement guidance and a turning radius for the pull cable]*; and a motor and winch (considered at least elements 24 and 20) [configured to provide power to pull, through rotation of the winch, the pull cable to move]*, wherein the motor is disposed between the two ends (See Figure 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the cable guiding “deflection elements” such that they are “pulleys”, and position the “motor and winch”, as taught by Hazon, since pulleys are extremely well known in the art for use as “deflection elements” for a cable of a window lifter assembly, which would be obvious and would function as intended, and since positioning the “motor and winch” would be logical and obvious and would function as intended. Additionally, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art as evidenced above, and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed, or substituted one known element for another, using known methods with no change in their respective functions. Such a combination or substitution would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, since the elements perform as expected and thus the results would be expected. MPEP 2143
Regarding claim 11, Carl as modified by Hazon for claim 10 above teaches wherein the motor is disposed between the two ends (See Carl, Figure 1, element 6 and See Hazon Figure 1, element 24 and 20) and wherein the fastened end is fastened to the motor (Examiner notes that all elements of the assembly are necessarily “fastened” either directly or indirectly to each other).
Response to Arguments
Applicants arguments filed 7/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument that Carl “does not describe the feature of claim 1 related to the drag chain harness groove encloses the drag chain harness on at least three sides along a track direction of the slide rail”. Examiner disagrees and notes that Figures 2-3 of Carl explicitly illustrate the drag chain harness groove (elements 9-10) as enclosing at least a portion of element 7 on three sides.
Applicants additional arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN B REPHANN/Examiner, Art Unit 3634