DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 1-7B appear to include grey-scale CAD drawings, and are very difficult to interpret. For example, the drawing lines in Figure 2 are low resolution and blurry, and it is difficult to interpret what exactly the reference numbers are intended to indicate. Examiner notes that all drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning.
Additionally, the drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the configuration including “a limiter disposed on the slider or the to-be-moved apparatus and configured to limit a projection of the movable end on a cross section of the power supply apparatus to moving away from a projection of the fastened end”, as claimed in claim 7, must be shown or the features canceled from the claim. Examiner notes that no “projection of the movable end” and “projection of the fastened end” appears to be shown, and it is unclear how the claimed “limiter” would function, as the limiter (element 260) in the Figures is simply a solid line, and it is unclear how it would function to “limit a projection of the movable end”. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 14, and 20 recites the terms “a drag chain harness groove” and “a drag chain harness”. These terms are unclear, since Applicants disclosure does not appear to show a “drag chain” (i.e. no structure that would be considered a “chain” is shown in the Figures or sufficiently described in the specification), and it is therefore unclear what exactly is being claimed by the terms “a drag chain harness groove” and “a drag chain harness”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-13 and 15-19 are objected to as depending from a base claim with and objection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 7, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 19 recite “the drag chain harness groove is disposed on a side that is of the slider groove and that is away from the slider groove and the opening faces the slider groove”. This limitation is awkwardly worded and renders the claim indefinite, and the phrase “disposed on a side that is of the slider groove” is unclear (i.e. disposed on a side of what? What is “a side that is of the slider groove” claiming? How is the side “of the slider groove” and also “away from the slider groove”?) Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 recites “a limiter disposed on the slider or the to-be-moved apparatus and configured to limit a projection of the movable end on a cross section of the power supply apparatus to moving away from a projection of the fastened end”. This limitation is very awkwardly worded and entirely unclear. Examiner notes that the Applicants only description of “a limiter” is in paragraphs [0032-0034] and [0103-0106], and it is entirely unclear how element 260 as shown in Figures 2-6 would “limit a projection of the movable end”. Examiner notes that this functionality is not sufficiently described and element 260 is shown as simply a solid line in Figures 2-6, and the functionality of element 260 is unclear. Additionally, “a projection of the movable end on a cross section of the power supply apparatus to moving away from a projection of the fastened end” is further unclear, since “a projection of the movable end” and “a projection of the fastened end” do not appear to be shown in the Figures, and the phrase “on a cross section” is unclear (i.e. what is “on a cross section”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-9, 12-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by DE102021202669 (See US 2023/0406241 for English translation, Hereinafter Carl).
Regarding claim 1, Carl discloses a power supply apparatus, comprising: a slide rail (element 3); a slider (element 4) movably disposed on the slide rail and [configured to fasten a to-be-moved apparatus (element F)]*; a drag chain harness groove (Figure 2, elements 9 and10 in combination with element 5, considered area in which element 7 is movably contained) fastened to the slide rail; and a drag chain harness (element 7) disposed in the drag chain harness groove (See at least Figure 2), wherein the drag chain harness comprises: a fastened end (element 7a) fastened to the drag chain harness groove and [configured to electrically connect to a power supply (Examiner notes that guide tube 7 houses an electric cable that is necessarily connected to a power supply)]*; and a movable end (element 7b) [configured to electrically connect to the to-be-moved apparatus]*.
Examiner’s note: *The above/below statements in brackets are examples of an intended use statement that fails to further limit the structure of the claimed invention. Since the claimed invention is directed solely to the structure of a power supply apparatus, the prior art must only be capable of meeting the structural recitation in order to be applicable, and in this case, the examiner maintains that the power supply apparatus disclosed by Carl is entirely capable of the intended use statement. Note that it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding claim 5, Carl discloses wherein the drag chain harness groove is disposed on the slide rail (See Figure 2, element 9 is disposed on element 3).
Regarding claim 6, Carl discloses a support (See Figure 2, considered structure of element 3 that directly connects element 10 to element 3) fastening the drag chain harness groove to the slide rail.
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, Carl discloses further comprising a limiter disposed on the slider or the to-be-moved apparatus [and configured to limit a projection of the movable end on a cross section of the power supply apparatus to moving away from a projection of the fastened end]*. Examiner notes that, as best understood, “a limiter” is considered the direct connection between elements 4 and 7b which necessarily enables and also “limits” movement of element 7b in operation.
Regarding claim 8, Carl discloses wherein the fastened end and the movable end are distributed along a third direction; or a fourth direction, and wherein the third direction and the fourth direction form a second included angle. Examiner notes that elements 7a and 7b are three-dimensional objects and are “distributed along” numerous possible “directions” with various “angles” between 0-360 degrees.
Regarding claim 9, Carl discloses wherein the fastened end is fastened at a first position on the drag chain harness groove, and wherein the first position is located between two ends of the drag chain harness groove (See Figure 2).
Regarding claim 12, Carl discloses an extended harness (considered structure that directly couples elements 7b and 4, See at least paragraph [0045], “The other (second) tube end 7b of the guide tube 7 is retained on the carriage 4 (on the carriage side) or on the adapter 4a or also on the window pane F or is connected thereto”), wherein the movable end is fastened to the slider and is electrically connected to the to-be-moved apparatus using the extended harness.
Regarding claim 13, Carl discloses wherein the movable end is fastened to the to-be-moved apparatus (See Figure 1, element 7b is fastened to element F via element 4, See at least paragraph [0045])
Regarding claim 14, Carl discloses a vehicle door assembly, comprising: vehicle door glass (element F); and a power supply apparatus comprising: a slide rail (element 3); a slider (element 4) movably disposed on the slide rail [and configured to fasten the vehicle door glass]*; a drag chain harness groove (Figure 2, elements 9 and10 in combination with element 5, considered area in which element 7 is movably contained) disposed parallel to the slide rail; and a drag chain harness (element 7) disposed in the drag chain harness groove, wherein the drag chain harness comprises: a fastened end (element 7a) fastened to the drag chain harness groove [and configured to electrically connect to a power supply]*; and a movable end (element 7b) [configured to electrically connect to the vehicle door glass]*.
Regarding claim 15, Carl discloses wherein the drag chain harness groove is fastened to the slide rail (See Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 16, Carl discloses wherein the drag chain harness groove is fastened to a vehicle door (See at least paragraphs [0039-0040]).
Regarding claim 20, Carl discloses a vehicle, comprising: a power supply (See at least Abstract “A flexible guide tube for guiding a cable, in particular for supplying power to and/or for controlling the window pane, extends between the guide rail and the support,”. Examiner notes that, although not explicitly shown, a power supply is necessarily included in the vehicle of Carl); a to-be-moved apparatus (element F); and a power supply apparatus comprising: a slide rail (element 3); a slider (element 4) movably disposed on the slide rail and [configured to fasten the to-be-moved apparatus]*; a drag chain harness groove (Figure 2, elements 9 and10 in combination with element 5, considered area in which element 7 is movably contained) disposed parallel to the slide rail (See Figures 1-2); and a drag chain harness (element 7) disposed in the drag chain harness groove, wherein the drag chain harness comprises: a fastened end (element 7a) fastened to the drag chain harness groove and [configured to electrically connect to the power supply]*; and a movable end (element 7b) [configured to electrically connect to the to-be-moved apparatus]*.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE102021202669 (See US 2023/0406241 for English translation, Hereinafter Carl) in view of Shimura et al. (US 7,617,633) (hereinafter Shimura).
Regarding claim 2, Carl discloses wherein the slide rail comprises a slider groove (See Figures 1 and 2, considered central “groove” in element 3, coupled to element 4), wherein the slider is movably disposed in the slider groove (See Figure 1), wherein the drag chain harness groove and the slider groove are distributed along a first direction; or a second direction (Examiner notes that the “drag chain harness groove” and “slider groove” are three-dimensional features and are “disposed” along numerous “directions”), and wherein the first direction and the second direction form a first included angle. Examiner believes that element 4 is clearly disposed at least partially in the central vertical groove of element 3 for operation. However, if Applicant disagrees, and since the feature is not explicitly shown, Examiner notes that Shimura teaches that it is known in the art to configure a vehicle window lifter that includes a slide rail (element 1) including a slide groove (Figure 2, area in which element 9 is received) and a slider (element 6) wherein the slider is movably disposed in the slider groove (Figure 2, element 9 of element 6 is movably disclosed in groove of element 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the slider and slide rail of Carl such that at least a portion of the slider is disposed in the central vertical groove of the guide rail, and slides vertically within the groove during operation of the system, since this would be obvious and logical for the purpose of Carl, and since the slider necessarily slides on the slide rail for proper functionality of the system, and an arrangement of this nature would function as intended for the purpose of Carl. Additionally, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art as evidenced above, and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed, or substituted one known element for another, using known methods with no change in their respective functions. Such a combination or substitution would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, since the elements perform as expected and thus the results would be expected. MPEP 2143
Regarding claim 3, Carl discloses wherein the first direction (Figure 1, considered generally horizontal direction) is perpendicular to a track direction (Figure 1, considered generally vertical direction) of the slide rail and is parallel to a plane (Figure 1, considered plane of movable window “F”) on which the to-be-moved apparatus is located (Figure 1, both vertical and horizontal directions (generally Z and X axis as shown) are parallel to the plane of the window); and wherein, when if the drag chain harness groove and the slider groove are distributed along the first direction, openings of the drag chain harness groove and the slider groove face the plane (See Figures 1 and 2, “openings” of element 5 and element 3 face the plane of the movable window as the window is raised and lowered).
Regarding claim 4, as best understood, Carl discloses wherein the second direction (Figure 2, considered direction generally along Y axis) is perpendicular to a track direction (Figure 1, considered direction generally along Z axis) of the slide rail and is perpendicular to a plane on which the to-be-moved apparatus is located (See Figures 1 and 2); and wherein, [when the drag chain harness groove and the slider groove are distributed along the second direction, an opening of the drag chain harness groove faces the plane (Figure 2, an opening of element 5 and element 3 faces the plane), the drag chain harness groove is disposed on a side that is of the slider groove and that is away from the slider groove and the opening faces the slider groove]* (Figure 2, an opening of element 5c is considered to face the slider groove).
Regarding claim 17, Carl discloses wherein the slide rail comprises a slider groove (See Figures 1 and 2, considered central vertical “groove” in element 3, coupled to element 4), wherein the drag chain harness groove and the slider groove are distributed along a first direction or a second direction, and wherein the first direction and the second direction (Examiner notes that the “drag chain harness groove” and “slider groove” are three-dimensional features and are “disposed” along numerous “directions”) form a first included angle. Examiner believes that element 4 is clearly disposed at least partially in the central vertical groove of element 3 for operation. However, if Applicant disagrees, and since the feature is not explicitly shown, Examiner notes that Shimura teaches that it is known in the art to configure a vehicle window lifter that includes a slide rail (element 1) including a slide groove (Figure 2, area in which element 9 is received) and a slider (element 6) wherein the slider is movably disposed in the slider groove (Figure 2, element 9 of element 6 is movably disclosed in groove of element 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the slider and slide rail of Carl such that at least a portion of the slider is disposed in the central vertical groove of the guide rail, and slides vertically within the groove during operation of the system, since this would be obvious and logical for the purpose of Carl, and since the slider necessarily slides on the slide rail for proper functionality of the system, and an arrangement of this nature would function as intended for the purpose of Carl. Additionally, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art as evidenced above, and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed, or substituted one known element for another, using known methods with no change in their respective functions. Such a combination or substitution would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, since the elements perform as expected and thus the results would be expected. See MPEP 2143
Regarding claim 18, Carl discloses wherein the first direction (Figure 1, considered generally horizontal direction) is perpendicular to a track direction (Figure 1, considered generally vertical direction) of the slide rail and is parallel to a plane (Figure 1, considered plane of movable window “F”) on which the vehicle door glass is located (Figure 1, both vertical and horizontal directions (generally Z and X axis as shown) are parallel to the plane of the window), and wherein, when the drag chain harness groove and the slider groove are distributed along the first direction, openings of the drag chain harness groove and the slider groove face the plane (See Figures 1 and 2, “openings” of at element 5 and element 3 face the plane of the movable window as the window is raised and lowered).
Regarding claim 19, as best understood, Carl discloses wherein the second direction (Figure 2, considered direction generally along Y axis) is perpendicular to a track direction (Figure 1, considered direction generally along Z axis) of the slide rail and is perpendicular to a plane on which the vehicle door glass is located (See Figures 1 and 2), and wherein, [when the drag chain harness groove and the slider groove are distributed along the second direction, an opening of the drag chain harness groove faces the plane, the drag chain harness groove is disposed on a side that is of the slider groove and that is away from the slider groove and the opening faces the slider groove]* (Figure 2, an opening of element 5c is considered to face the slider groove).
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE102021202669 (See US 2023/0406241 for English translation, Hereinafter Carl) in view of Hazon et al. (US 2017/0089111) (hereinafter Hazon).
Regarding claim 10, Carl discloses a pull cable (See paragraph [0042], “An electromotive drive (cable drive) 6 is coupled in a manner not illustrated in detail to a cable drum on which a pull cable connected to the carriage 4 and guided over rail-side or carrier-side deflection elements is wound in a loop such that, during the operation of the window lifter, one cable end is wound onto the cable drum and the other cable end is unwound therefrom”) connected to the slider [and configured to pull the slider to move on the slide rail]*. Although Carl explicitly recites “a pull cable connected to the carriage 4 and guided over rail-side or carrier-side deflection elements”, Carl does not explicitly recite that the “deflection elements” are pulleys.
Hazon, however, teaches that it is known in the art to configure a window lifter assembly, comprising: a slide rail (element 12); a slider (element 14) movably disposed on the slide rail and [configured to fasten a to-be-moved apparatus]*, and a pull cable (element 18) connected to the slider [and configured to pull the slider to move on the slide rail]*; pulleys (elements 26 and 29) disposed at two ends of the slide rail (See Figure 1) and [configured to provide movement guidance and a turning radius for the pull cable]*; and a motor and winch (considered at least elements 24 and 20) [configured to provide power to pull, through rotation of the winch, the pull cable to move]*, wherein the motor is disposed between the two ends (See Figure 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the cable guiding “deflection elements” such that they are “pulleys”, and position the “motor and winch”, as taught by Hazon, since pulleys are extremely well known in the art for use as “deflection elements” for a cable of a window lifter assembly, which would be obvious and would function as intended, and since positioning the “motor and winch” would be logical and obvious and would function as intended. Additionally, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art as evidenced above, and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed, or substituted one known element for another, using known methods with no change in their respective functions. Such a combination or substitution would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, since the elements perform as expected and thus the results would be expected. MPEP 2143
Regarding claim 11, Carl as modified by Hazon for claim 10 above teaches wherein the motor is disposed between the two ends (See Carl, Figure 1, element 6 and See Hazon Figure 1, element 24 and 20) and wherein the fastened end is fastened to the motor (Examiner notes that all elements of the assembly are necessarily “fastened” either directly or indirectly to each other).
Conclusion
/JUSTIN B REPHANN/Examiner, Art Unit 3634