DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS document submitted 12/30/2024 is acknowledged and has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings submitted 12/30/2024 are acknowledged and acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by White et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0408288).
In regard to claim 1, White et al (henceforth referred to as White) disclose a system comprising:
at least one hardware processor. White teaches a UAV drone with processor, memory storage and air quality sensors (pars. 55, 88), and
at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions, which, when executed by the at least one hardware processor, cause the system to:
determine a predicted route for a communicatively connected drone to navigate;
wherein at least a portion of the predicted route is configured to match an
actual route of a user-controlled device. The system of White generates a navigation route or predicted route based on environmental factors (par. 29);
cause the connected drone to commence navigating the predicted route. The processor instructions cause the White drone to commence navigating the route (par. 29);
determine an air quality level of an area surrounding the connected drone's
navigated predicted route based on air quality data captured with an onboard
sensor of the connected drone. White describes obtaining air quality via a sensor (par. 88);
compare the determined air quality level to a known safe air quality level. White teaches air quality data databases comparable to the sensor generated air quality (par. 56);
cause the connected drone to navigate an alternate route based on the comparison
between the determined air quality level and safe air quality level. White teaches producing an alternate route (par. 68) to avoid a sensed bad air quality (smoke plume); and
transmit a notification to a user-controlled device over a telecommunications
network and wherein the notification indicates to a user the alternate route, an air quality level along the alternate route, or a location of unsafe air quality
levels in the predicted route. The system of White includes communication between base and mobile platforms including the aerial vehicle (drone) and including information related to the altered route and/or sensor data (air quality).
In regard to claim 2, White discloses instructions cause to determine the alternate route for the connected drone, wherein the alternate route avoids areas with unsafe air quality levels. As described, the White system avoids smoke etc. by altering a planned aerial vehicle route (par. 68).
In regard to claim 3, White discloses instructions cause to generate a notification when the connected drone detects an unsafe air quality level along the predicted route. White teaches that the aerial vehicle includes a prediction module (item 209) and mapping module that monitors air quality and updates environmental quality and mapping data and further initiates an altered route to avoid the possible risk zone/area (pars. 88 and 89).
In regard to claim 4, White discloses instructions cause to measure environmental data using the onboard sensor, wherein the onboard sensor includes microphone, camera, or thermal sensor. White teaches camera, LIDAR and/or air-quality sensors. (par. 88)
In regard to claim 5, White discloses instructions cause to determine a cause of a change in the air quality level in the area surrounding the connected drone. White describes determining possible trouble areas in a drone’s flight path including the cause (manmade smog etc.).
In regard to claim 6, White discloses instructions cause to calculate an air quality severity based on the comparison of the determined air quality level to the safe air quality level. White teaches using a sensor to determine air quality which inherently requires a comparison to “normal” or “safe” levels to some degree.
In regard to claim 8, White et al (henceforth referred to as White) discloses a non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions recorded thereon. White teaches a UAV drone with processor, memory storage and air quality sensors (pars. 55, 88), wherein the instructions when executed by at least one data processor of a system, cause the system to:
determine a predicted route for a communicatively connected drone to navigate;
wherein at least a portion of the predicted route is configured to match an actual
route of a user-controlled device. The system of White generates a navigation route or predicted route based on environmental factors (par. 29);
cause the connected drone to commence navigating the predicted route. The processor instructions cause the White drone to commence navigating the route (par. 29);
determine an air quality level of an area surrounding the connected drone's navigated
predicted route based on air quality data captured with an onboard sensor of the
connected drone. White describes obtaining air quality via a sensor (par. 88);
compare the determined air quality level to a known safe air quality level. White teaches air quality data databases comparable to the sensor generated air quality (par. 56);
cause the connected drone to navigate an alternate route based on the comparison between the determined air quality level and safe air quality level. White teaches producing an alternate route (par. 68) to avoid a sensed bad air quality (smoke plume); and
transmit a notification to a user-controlled device over a telecommunications network,
wherein the notification indicates to a user the alternate route, an air quality level
along the alternate route, or a location of unsafe air quality levels in the
predicted route. The system of White includes communication between base and mobile platforms including the aerial vehicle (drone) and including information related to the altered route and/or sensor data (air quality).
In regard to claim 9, White disclose the instructions cause the system to:
determine the alternate route for the connected drone,
wherein the alternate route avoids areas with unsafe air quality levels. As described, the White system avoids smoke etc. by altering a planned aerial vehicle route (par. 68).
In regard to claim 10, White discloses that the instructions cause the system to:
generate a notification when the connected drone detects an unsafe air quality level along the predicted route. White teaches that the aerial vehicle includes a prediction module (item 209) and mapping module that monitors air quality and updates environmental quality and mapping data and further initiates an altered route to avoid the possible risk zone/area (pars. 88 and 89).
In regard to claim 11, White discloses that the instructions cause the system to:
measure environmental data using the onboard sensor,
wherein the onboard sensor includes microphone, camera, or thermal sensor. White teaches camera, LIDAR and/or air-quality sensors. (par. 88).
In regard to claim 12, White discloses that the instructions cause the system to:
determine a cause of a change in the air quality level in the area surrounding the connected drone. White describes determining possible trouble areas in a drone’s flight path including the cause (manmade smog etc.).
In regard to claim 13, White discloses that the instructions cause the system to:
calculate an air quality severity based on the comparison of the determined air quality level to the safe air quality level. White teaches using a sensor to determine air quality which inherently requires a comparison to “normal” or “safe” levels to some degree.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: With respect to claims 7 and 14, the closest prior art fails to teach or make obvious, including all the limitations of claims 7 and 14, to adjust a sequence of flight controls for navigating the connected drone based on a movement of the moving structure relative to the connected drone.
Summary/Conclusion
Claims 1-6 and 8-13 are rejected and claims 7 and 14 are objected to. Claims 15-20 are withdrawn.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Troy Chambers can be reached on 571-272-6874. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/BENJAMIN P LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641