DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/30/2024 was filed on or after the effective filing date of the instant application on 12/30/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al (US 2019/0149868) in view of Zhou et al (US 2021/0051350).
Regarding claim 1, Singh discloses a method for controlling video stream transmission, performed by a pulling terminal (a receiving client device 425 and a sending client device 420 in Figures 4-5 as “a pulling terminal” and “a pushing party” respectively), the method comprising:
receiving a video stream transmitted by a pushing party (¶ [0053] and ¶ [0075]-[0076] for receiving media stream transmitted by a sending client device 420), and detecting network indicator information of the video stream in the receiving process (¶ [0077] and ¶ [0080]-[0081] for receiving network performance measurement for incoming media stream);
determining a pulling bit rate matching the network indicator information (¶ [0080]-[0086] for determining receiver-side bit rate based on the network performance measurement information).
Singh discloses a receiving client device generates a receiver side bit rate value based on the network performance measurement information (¶ [0080]) for sending to a sending client device (¶ [0087]) to assist in a determination of bitrate value used in sending the media stream (¶ [0058]), but is silent about generating a pulling request based on the pulling bit rate, the pulling request being a request to the pushing party to perform pushing processing based on the pulling bit rate, and transmitting the pulling request to the pushing party.
Zhou discloses generating a pulling request based on the pulling bit rate, the pulling request being a request to the pushing party to perform pushing processing based on the pulling bit rate, and transmitting the pulling request to the pushing party (¶ [0038]-[0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Singh system with the teaching of Zhou, so to provide an alternative way of acquiring and transmitting content in according to the network quality in the benefits of improving user viewing experience.
Regarding claim 2, Singh in view of Zhou discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. The combined system further discloses wherein the determining comprises: determining, based on the network indicator information, quality of a network environment of the pulling terminal; and determining the pulling bit rate matching the quality of the network environment, wherein the quality of the network environment is positively correlated with the pulling bit rate (taught by Singh; ¶ [0080]-[0085]; and taught by Zhou; Figure 1; ¶ [0026]-[0035]).
Regarding claim 3, Singh in view of Zhou discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 2. The combined system further discloses wherein the network indicator information comprises a value of a network indicator; and wherein the determining, based on the network indicator information, the quality of the network environment of the pulling terminal comprises: determining, based on a relationship between the value of the network indicator and a preset indicator threshold, the quality of the network environment of the pulling terminal (taught by Zhou; ¶ [0065]-[0079]).
Regarding claim 4, Singh in view of Zhou discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 3. The combined system further discloses wherein the network indicator information comprises a plurality of values of the network indicator; and wherein the determining, based on the relationship between the value of the network indicator and the preset indicator threshold, the quality of the network environment of the pulling terminal comprises: detecting a relationship between each of the plurality of values of the network indicator and the preset indicator threshold, to obtain a first detection result; and determining, if the first detection result indicates that the plurality of values comprise a specified quantity of values greater than the preset indicator threshold, that the network environment of the pulling terminal is of first-level quality (taught by Zhou; ¶ [0065]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 5, Singh in view of Zhou discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 4. The combined system further discloses wherein the determining, based on the relationship between the value of the network indicator and a preset indicator threshold, the quality of the network environment of the pulling terminal further comprises: determining, if the first detection result indicates that the plurality of values do not comprise the specified quantity of values greater than the preset indicator threshold, that the network environment of the pulling terminal is of second-level quality, the first-level quality being lower quality than the second-level quality (taught by Zhou; ¶ [0065]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 6, Singh in view of Zhou discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. The combined system further discloses wherein the network indicator information comprises at least one of delay information or packet loss rate information; and wherein the detecting network indicator information of the video stream in the receiving process comprises: obtaining, if the network indicator information comprises the delay information, a receiving moment of a data packet corresponding to the video stream, determining a transmission moment of the data packet based on time stamp information carried in the data packet, and determining the delay information of the video stream in the receiving process based on the receiving moment and the transmission moment; and obtaining, if the network indicator information comprises the packet loss rate information, a received data amount of the data packet corresponding to the video stream, determining a transmitted data amount of the data packet based on a data packet size carried in the data packet, and determining the packet loss rate information of the video stream in the receiving process based on the received data amount and the transmitted data amount (taught by Singh; ¶ [0070]-[0071], ¶ [0090]-[0092] and ¶ [0147]; and taught by Zhou; ¶ [0027]-[0030] and ¶ [0075]-[0079]).
Regarding claim 7, Singh in view of Zhou discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. The combined system further discloses wherein, based on the pushing party comprising a pushing terminal, the transmitting the pulling request to the pushing party comprises: transmitting the pulling request to the pushing terminal, wherein the pulling request is configured for indicating the pushing terminal to perform pushing processing to a video stream server based on the pulling bit rate, and push the video stream to the pulling terminal through the video stream server; and
after the transmitting the pulling request to the pushing party, the method further comprises: receiving the video stream corresponding to the pulling bit rate from the video stream server (Singh’s Figures 4-5 and 8; ¶ [0068]-[0088]).
Regarding claim 8, Singh in view of Zhou discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. The combined system further discloses wherein, based on the pushing party comprising a video stream server, the transmitting the pulling request to the pushing party comprises (Singh’s Figures 4-5):
transmitting the pulling request to the video stream server, wherein the pulling request is configured for indicating the video stream server to perform pushing processing based on the pulling bit rate; and after the transmitting the pulling request to the pushing party, the method further comprises: receiving the video stream corresponding to the pulling bit rate from the video stream server (taught by Singh; ¶ [0068]-[0088]; and taught by Zhou; ¶ [0038]-[0042]).
Regarding claims 9-16, all limitations of claims 9-16 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claims 1-8 respectively.
Regarding claims 17-20, all limitations of claims 17-20 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claims 1-4 respectively.
Conclusion
/GIGI L DUBASKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421