DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Claims 13-27 and 32 in the reply filed on 09/14/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the method claims read like a product claim. This is not found persuasive and the Restriction Requirement dated 07/14/2026 is hereby withdrawn.
Double Patenting
Claims 13-27 and 32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 11214428; claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11597581; claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11919700; and claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12269665. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each claim a folded box comprising four sides extending from a bottom panel; a top panel including a closure tab; an opposing securing panel for securing the top panel by inserting the closure tab through cuts, or slots, on the securing panel; and said cuts further subdivide the securing panel into two distinct subpanels.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-15, 22-24, and 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mittelstaedt (US 7673787 B2).
Regarding claims 13-15, 22-24, and 28-30, Mittelstaedt discloses a storage container and blank for making comprising a storage portion, including a bottom panel (102; see Fig. 1), a pair of end panels (116), and a pair of side panels (104/106); a top panel (110) comprising a tab (128), the top panel being attached to one of the pair of side panels and pivotable relative thereto about a fold line (124; see Fig. 1); and a securing panel (108) for securing the box in a closed position, the securing panel being attached to the other one of the pair of side panels and pivotable relative thereto about a fold line (130; see Fig. 1); wherein the securing panel defines an opening (136) through which the tab of the top panel extends (see Fig. 3) when the box is in the closed position and the securing panel is folded over the top panel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16, 25, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mittelstaedt in view of Westerman et al. (US 6736309 B1; hereinafter Westerman).
Regarding claims 16, 25, and 31, Mittelstaedt discloses the claimed invention except for a water-resistant coating. Westerman teaches a quick erecting foldable portable cooler wherein a waterproof or water-resistant coating is applied to a sheet of material for forming the portable cooler (Col 4 lines 1-15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to modify Mittelstaedt’s container to have a coating in order to protect and preserve the container, as taught by Westerman.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mittelstaedt in view of Gullickson (US 3193176 A).
Regarding claim 17, Mittelstaedt discloses the claimed invention except for a collapsed configuration. Gullickson teaches a collapsible reusable carton with reinforced end panel hand holes (see Figure 1-6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to modify Mittelstaedt’s container to be collapsible in order to allow for the container to be re-used multiple times and take up minimal storage space while not in use (Gullickson; Col 1 lines 9-20).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-21, 26-27, and 32 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734